View Full Version : Carlton are coming!
linchpin
8 Apr 2006, 12:56
I am surprised at the amount of negetive press that Connolly is getting on theis board. Obviously, I don't have the inside knowledge that most of you guys do. Is it true that he has lost the players? Harvey is no doubt ready to go and will put his immaculate and toughened stamp on this group. Is the talent depth there? Pavlich and Sandilands are guns. The midfield is good. What about the defence?
Being a Carlton supporter, I am extremely confident about today's game. I have been to training during the pre-season and our boys are now becoming solid men. Many of our younger kids have now in there 3rd and 4th seasons. Our forward setup, i ssecond to none. The backline is settled and our new game plan is coming to fruition. The midfield is also functioning well. I think this game could be a defining moment in our respective seasons. Even during our darkest times, Freo have only won by about 4-5 goals. I think that we will trouble you guys this afternoon. If we get supply to Fevola, Waite, Deluca, Betts, will you have the coverage to stop it? Walker, Simpson, Bentick, Stevens and our young gun Murphy could create some real pressure today. What do you guys think? Where will you win the game? How confident are you ?
I am surprised at the amount of negetive press that Connolly is getting on theis board. Obviously, I don't have the inside knowledge that most of you guys do. Is it true that he has lost the players? Harvey is no doubt ready to go and will put his immaculate and toughened stamp on this group. Is the talent depth there? Pavlich and Sandilands are guns. The midfield is good. What about the defence?
Being a Carlton supporter, I am extremely confident about today's game. I have been to training during the pre-season and our boys are now becoming solid men. Many of our younger kids have now in there 3rd and 4th seasons. Our forward setup, i ssecond to none. The backline is settled and our new game plan is coming to fruition. The midfield is also functioning well. I think this game could be a defining moment in our respective seasons. Even during our darkest times, Freo have only won by about 4-5 goals. I think that we will trouble you guys this afternoon. If we get supply to Fevola, Waite, Deluca, Betts, will you have the coverage to stop it? Walker, Simpson, Bentick, Stevens and our young gun Murphy could create some real pressure today. What do you guys think? Where will you win the game? How confident are you ?
Linchpin..I think the Blues will go ok, but won't win...I'd be very surprised if you get within 4 goals. Freo, will play hard footy tonight & the wide expanses at Subi will not be to your liking. Fevola has never had a good game against the Dockers...he was smashed twice last year by Old Man Shane Parker & prior to that by our regular Full Back Robbie Haddrill. Hayden will kill Betts, Crowley will tag Stevens again, as he did at the Mcg last year & win. Pavlich's last 3 games against the Blues have been superb, including 9 goals at the G last year. I'd imagine Thornton & Livingstone will both get a crack at Pav, & maybe Lance if he gets away from them...which doesn't sound like a "sound" defensive unit to me? Then of course, you must still man up on McPharlin & Longmuir & occasionally Sandilands.
Waite looks good, but he will be taken by Grover, both similar build & height & a good match up for Freo. Simpson...Murphy....Bentick...all probably never played at Subi, so unknown how well they will go, but rest assured the Carr brothers would have been threatened with the axe this week & if there is anything to be taken from Josh Carr's hair cut this week (he shaved his head nude), they will be fired up. Peake returns & his pace on the wings may cause you worry. Medhurst always does well against you guys as well, I think he kicked 7 or 8 against you in 2004?
Anyway...don't put your hard earned on your beloved Blues...is all I'm saying...at least your club is finally moving in the right direction & no longer exploiting the salary cap!
dirk pitt
8 Apr 2006, 14:40
Linchpin..I think the Blues will go ok, but won't win...I'd be very surprised if you get within 4 goals. Freo, will play hard footy tonight & the wide expanses at Subi will not be to your liking. Fevola has never had a good game against the Dockers...he was smashed twice last year by Old Man Shane Parker & prior to that by our regular Full Back Robbie Haddrill. Hayden will kill Betts, Crowley will tag Stevens again, as he did at the Mcg last year & win. Pavlich's last 3 games against the Blues have been superb, including 9 goals at the G last year. I'd imagine Thornton & Livingstone will both get a crack at Pav, & maybe Lance if he gets away from them...which doesn't sound like a "sound" defensive unit to me? Then of course, you must still man up on McPharlin & Longmuir & occasionally Sandilands.
Waite looks good, but he will be taken by Grover, both similar build & height & a good match up for Freo. Simpson...Murphy....Bentick...all probably never played at Subi, so unknown how well they will go, but rest assured the Carr brothers would have been threatened with the axe this week & if there is anything to be taken from Josh Carr's hair cut this week (he shaved his head nude), they will be fired up. Peake returns & his pace on the wings may cause you worry. Medhurst always does well against you guys as well, I think he kicked 7 or 8 against you in 2004?
Anyway...don't put your hard earned on your beloved Blues...is all I'm saying...at least your club is finally moving in the right direction & no longer exploiting the salary cap!
You sound like the Dees fans did last week before the game. Complacent and living off past exploits. Good to see ;)
Good luck boys, if you beat us this time you'll have earnt it.
carlton are goooooorrrrrrnnnnnnn
docker_azza
8 Apr 2006, 15:00
I reckon Freo by three goals. Carlton will be competitive, but Freo will do enough to cross the line. Like the corresponding match last year.
The key to beating Freo is belting them in the clearances and tight midfield contests and moving the ball direct and quickly.
Kapow!!!
8 Apr 2006, 15:25
I'm not scared of Carlton because, lets face it, you've done nothing to really earn respect. I'm more scared of what will occur if we lose to Carlton and with last weeks performance I can never be sure of a win again
I reckon Freo by three goals. Carlton will be competitive, but Freo will do enough to cross the line. Like the corresponding match last year.
The key to beating Freo is belting them in the clearances and tight midfield contests and moving the ball direct and quickly.
Nah, we get belted in the clearances just about every week and still manage to generally beat the crap sides. The key is playing hard one on one footy. We're as soft as marshmallows, so if you play tough hard intimidating footy, we usually back off.
A 3 goal win would be the worst possible result. It means CC gets a reprieve, and we all realise that we're still a crap side.
I don't know why but I've tipped us by 75.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
8 Apr 2006, 23:34
eh ... it was a good effort ... the umpiring was woefull
Kapow!!!
8 Apr 2006, 23:45
Yo`DooR']eh ... it was a good effort ... the umpiring was woefull
Probably the best Carlton could've offered and I didn't rate it that much because all you did was get enough pressure into the packs and up the ground and we did the rest for about 75-90% of Carlton goals.
EDIT: Credit where credit's due, Fevola, Kouta, Simpson and co played very well
Docker_Brat
9 Apr 2006, 00:26
.. out.
The Old Dark Navy's
9 Apr 2006, 11:07
Probably the best Carlton could've offered and I didn't rate it that much because all you did was get enough pressure into the packs and up the ground and we did the rest for about 75-90% of Carlton goals.
That's pretty rough. You don't think we would have scored most of our goals if it wasn't for Freo's errors? Carlton could have done heaps better with Stevens, Scotland and Murphy pretty much ineffective and too much being left to too few in the midfield. Lappin too had a shocker and Fev got no assistance from the other forwards on the scoreboard. We could have done a lot better.
Having said that, these are the types of games we usually get blown away in after giving away an early lead. We did well to persist and show we are made of sterner stuff than last year.
The Old Dark Navy's
9 Apr 2006, 11:09
A 3 goal win would be the worst possible result. It means CC gets a reprieve, and we all realise that we're still a crap side.Interesting call. How do you feel about it this morning?
Interesting call. How do you feel about it this morning?
It was an insipid performance that confirms that we're still a crap side with a crap coach.
It was the first time in memory that I haven't seen the team walk off the ground after a win. As soon as the siren went I left.
linchpin
12 Apr 2006, 09:59
Carlton's inability to find a target cost us dearly. Freo were very hard at the man and footy, beat up on our younger guys. I look forward to seeing Freo over here later in the year, at Telstra Dome.
But credit where it is due, Josh Carr was great, as was McPharlin. Jeff Farmer, he is so, so, frustrating as an opposition supporter!!!!
His antics!! I better just leave it there! best of luck this week guys!
Jeff Farmer, he is so, so, frustrating as an opposition supporter!!!!
His antics!! I better just leave it there! best of luck this week guys!
I've heard this comment from alot of Carlton supporters, I thought he has been very passive this year and kept his emotions under control. I see it as a mature Jeff Farmer, very team orientated.
Obviously the Carlton supporters irked by him on Saturday, didn't see him play during his "wild days".