View Full Version : Team Rnd 3 v Port Adelaide (AS)

wizard_9
9 Apr 2006, 21:34
Whats changes can we expect to come this weekend in the big game against the Power?
Is Gilmore on the way out? Has M. Carr ran out of chances? Will Hase be back? Is it time to bring in Cooky and Polly?

For mine Polly, Murphy or Warren must play especially with all of Ports talls.

Ins:
Hasleby, Polak

Outs:
Gilmore, ??? maybe M.Carr

sabre_ac
9 Apr 2006, 21:52
Whats changes can we expect to come this weekend in the big game against the Power?
Is Gilmore on the way out? Has M. Carr ran out of chances? Will Hase be back? Is it time to bring in Cooky and Polly?

For mine Polly, Murphy or Warren must play especially with all of Ports talls.

Ins:
Hasleby, Polak

Outs:
Gilmore, ??? maybe M.Carr

Has Polak earned his place in the side?

I hate to say it but a spanking at the hands of the power seems to be on the cards

docker_johnno
9 Apr 2006, 22:08
IN: Murphy, Polak, Hasleby, Walker

Out: Peake, Gilmore, M.Carr, Schammer

wizard_9
10 Apr 2006, 09:59
IN: Murphy, Polak, Hasleby, Walker

Out: Peake, Gilmore, M.Carr, Schammer

Schammer out? Get a grip.

Ysaye
10 Apr 2006, 13:18
The players I would kick out were those that stuffed around with the ball in the second half, had bad skills and generally made bad decision errors all game...

Unfortunately that includes most of the players that got over 25 possessions and those that were lauded as some of the best on ground. In fact, looking at the stats, the ones who played better generally got less possessions than the ones that almost cost us the game!

For example; Hayden got only 7 possessions for the whole game and yet most people would I talked to after the game thought he was one of the best on ground. His disposal was probably the best of all the guys running through the middle. In contrast; Bell, McManus, Crowley, the Carr brothers and Black all got 25 or more possessions but collectively were some of the worst offenders.

Gilmore is the only easy one to drop because he didn't get that many possessions AND he made bad errors. Hasleby is a must to come back in - so the obvious one instant swap. Peake didn't have such a good game either so put pressure on him to get it right and drop him as well - Cook can come in his place.

But I also think you have to drop at least one of the above mentioned (Many experienced) midfielders. Seeing that Black wasn't meant to play anyway and still played pretty badly at times, I would drop him and another (Probably Mathew Carr). But name me a coach that would be brave enough to do that?

dockers_bengals
10 Apr 2006, 17:41
the trouble is we have too many good defenders and not enough midfielders to change with.hayden and walker both played out of the defense so they struggled.perhaps hayden can play a defensive type midfield role coming of half back.apart from gilmore its hard to drop any one for cook because his diposals are bad as well.

Cassius_Clay
10 Apr 2006, 18:15
Agree but this week he is out injured.

Cassius_Clay
10 Apr 2006, 18:15
the trouble is we have too many good defenders and not enough midfielders to change with.hayden and walker both played out of the defense so they struggled.perhaps hayden can play a defensive type midfield role coming of half back.apart from gilmore its hard to drop any one for cook because his diposals are bad as well.
Thats funny. Why does CC persist to play a midfielder in the backline when he is clearly not suited there?

Dr Ralph Dagg
10 Apr 2006, 20:08
But I also think you have to drop at least one of the above mentioned (Many experienced) midfielders. Seeing that Black wasn't meant to play anyway and still played pretty badly at times, I would drop him and another (Probably Mathew Carr). But name me a coach that would be brave enough to do that?

Sheedy.

docker_johnno
10 Apr 2006, 21:43

He is in the team as a defender and is not one of the best 8 defenders on our list.
My argument is, if schammer is to be in our best 22 it would be as a midfielder. Therefore if blunders Connolly is to play him as a defender he is not in the best 22.

Grover, Hayden, Bell, Johnson, Parker, Walker, Thornton, Hadrill, duffield, drum are all far superior defenders.

wizard_9
11 Apr 2006, 10:49
Just from an Adelaide based perspective, so reports on a likely Port team.

According to 10 and 7 news Warren Tredrea is unlikely to play again this week. Dean Brogan under a cloud still had his arm in a sling yesterday unlikely to play. Steven Salopek under a cloud with a groin, but will probably be avaliable. Wanganeen and Chaplin likely to miss again.

dockers_bengals
11 Apr 2006, 18:28
Thats funny. Why does CC persist to play a midfielder in the backline when he is clearly not suited there?

teams only have four forwards at the most in the 50mtr and you need players who can run off the backline,except for grover at the moment no other defenders do it enough.hayden is also good so he should free up one of the midfielders eventually.thorton does also but he is injured.

Dr Ralph Dagg
11 Apr 2006, 18:48
Just from an Adelaide based perspective, so reports on a likely Port team.

According to 10 and 7 news Warren Tredrea is unlikely to play again this week. Dean Brogan under a cloud still had his arm in a sling yesterday unlikely to play. Steven Salopek under a cloud with a groin, but will probably be avaliable. Wanganeen and Chaplin likely to miss again.

All of that just makes it a danger game for us. We're not noted for winning games where we might be favourites.

(I know, I know ... where's my belief.)

wizard_9
11 Apr 2006, 19:01
Schammer trained last night and moved well, should be avaliable to play Sunday especially with the 7.5 day break.

masai
11 Apr 2006, 19:01
All of that just makes it a danger game for us. We're not noted for winning games where we might be favourites.

I'm with you Daggy, not that I think the bookies would have us favourites.

My belief goes walkabout now and then.

Dwayo
11 Apr 2006, 19:46
Don't change a winning team except for injuries and weather.

darrend05
11 Apr 2006, 22:01

since when have you been the favourites.....

freo have been the rabble of the comp since you joined....
feel free to prove me wrong.

history port 10 freo 3

Dwayo
12 Apr 2006, 00:12
Port are now one of the soft touches in the comp.
Pav to fire and we will belt them this weekend.

Cassius_Clay
12 Apr 2006, 12:47
Schammer trained last night and moved well, should be avaliable to play Sunday especially with the 7.5 day break.
Thanks for the news mate. However if he doesn't play I'll kill you. Joking :D

oporto
12 Apr 2006, 14:21

Interesting use of words. Fremantle doesnt belt anyone. On the other hand, IIRC, it was Fremantle that "rolled over" in round 22 last year to relinquish a finals series apprearance..... to which team ?

oporto
12 Apr 2006, 14:27

Interesting use of words. Fremantle doesnt belt anyone. On the other hand, IIRC, it was Fremantle that "rolled over" in round 22 last year to relinquish a finals series apprearance..... to which team ?

fat wombat
12 Apr 2006, 22:29
Freos copped its fair share of verbal knocks over the years. But honestly I think most teams (warranted or not) look at Port as a bit of a soft touch atm. I think that goes with the Port youth and new blood they have injected into the team and the loss of Josh Carr. Here's hoping Josh has a firey blinder for us this weekend!

Dixie Flatline
13 Apr 2006, 00:09
Fantasy footy question - is Polak likely to play?

docker_johnno
13 Apr 2006, 00:28

Seen you on ten tenths dixie.

Every week Polak is getting closer to selection, if not this week definitly the next. He will play forward and will likely have the weakest tall defender. If he has a good day expect 5 goals max.

dugrene
13 Apr 2006, 00:28

From my own perspective, no.
From the match committee's perspective I think he is better than 50/50.
On ch10 in Perth tonight CC mentioned Polak, Walker and Cookie as players who performed well in the WAFL. CC has is reported as saying more changes this week. Even though Polak played as a forward for East Fremantle, CC indicated he would be used as down back.

I'm guessing Polly will be in. I hope he puts in a blinder.

dugrene
13 Apr 2006, 00:32
Even though Polak played as a forward for East Fremantle, CC indicated he would be used as down back.

He will play forward and will likely have the weakest tall defender. If he has a good day expect 5 goals max.

LOL. One of us could be right :)

fat wombat
13 Apr 2006, 01:03
Wouldn't 5 goals double his career total of goals in the AFL? It'd have to come close! Not likely! :)

Ted38
13 Apr 2006, 01:07
I hate to say it but a spanking at the hands of the power seems to be on the cards

That will be 1 and 2, then just three more losses and it will be 1 and 5 just as I predicted!

prO
13 Apr 2006, 11:55
Thanks for the news mate. However if he doesn't play I'll kill you. Joking :D

werd..

schammer and hasleby are in my DT :c

oh and salopek ( from what ive gathered from this thread may not play ) : /

sante
13 Apr 2006, 12:42
Is Hasleby in?

DaVe86
13 Apr 2006, 15:04
yes i must know if hazleby is in terribly...was it said on the footyshow at all

ImperialPurple
13 Apr 2006, 15:47
Was in the newspaper this morning that he will... but footage from training yesterday saw him in his jeans and t-shirt standing among the rest of the guys in their training gear. So unless he was on lighter training and finished early, it didn't appear as if he took part. But the pictures don't always tell the full story of course.

The short answer.... dunno.

Forzaport
13 Apr 2006, 16:30
I think it doesn't matter at all who is in or who is out for both teams. If my boys play like they did last week we'll win - if we play like we did against the kangaroos we'll probably lose. Same with freo - if your mob plays like you did in the first half of last week you'll be in with a solid chance - play like the last half of last week, you'll get rolled.

ImperialPurple
13 Apr 2006, 16:35
I think it doesn't matter at all who is in or who is out for both teams. If my boys play like they did last week we'll win - if we play like we did against the kangaroos we'll probably lose. Same with freo - if your mob plays like you did in the first half of last week you'll be in with a solid chance - play like the last half of last week, you'll get rolled.

You're dead right.

Personally I hope that both teams play like they did in that practice match a month or so back at Freo Oval. :thumbsu:

;)

docker_johnno
13 Apr 2006, 16:36

Good post, dead right. Team who plays to the best of their potential will win.