View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65

HotShoeShuffle
21 Jun 2006, 11:51
What a shock to see that A.Bajric of Lalor got reported recently Such a charming and polite man .I cant understand how such an intelligent person could forget to turn up (or do a stat dec) at the tribunal.

I was told it was to be his last game, so he went out swinging. Thats probably why he did not bother rocking to the tribunal

jetpak_1
21 Jun 2006, 12:50
A lot is said or impied about the wealthier DV clubs such as Heidelberg in that can go and get any player they need such as a Caddy.Contrary to this theory HBERG play many players who graduated from their junior club.Regular ex juniors in the firsts this season include Craig Shearer,Mark Favrin,Hayden Young,Jake Williams,Stuart McLeod,Matt Laing,Dave Maltby,Andy Martin&,Scott Blade. Chad Walker and Brett McQueen have also had a game each. Money isnt everything.You cant beat loyalty!!

you heidelberg people consistantly talk yourselves up telling us how good all the players you have maybe thats why not many people like yous not just for the fact taht you buy all your players....i confidently think bundoora will beat yous based on the fact that that they are a team that play with heart each and every player loves to play footy for the club and have many players work hard to get their spot in the senoir team it seems to me that most of the hiedleberg players only play there for the money not the passion of the club thats how i think you gotta be to be a succesfull team

Dwight
21 Jun 2006, 13:16
Got your wirest crossed ther Jetpak, wasn't saying how good they are just that they are locals.

I think BergerKing was saying how contrary to popular belief a lot of the Heidelberg boys are home grown. Like most sides they have half imports and I agree they do pay top dollar for that half but they do have some local product in there team, even playing one of there under 15's for a game in the ones earlier in the year. The club has a thriving junior club which plays in the much better officiated and administered Yarra League. DVFL junior comps are a bigger brothel then the open age stuff. Ferrel parents, clubs not punished fro deplorable behaviour and so on. Goes through all the way from Auskick to u17's.

Giveyathemail
21 Jun 2006, 13:17
Heidelberg dont need Caddy to win the flag this year anyway.

I agree. But they do need less injuries to key players.

AndyBoy
21 Jun 2006, 13:17
no match winners (maybe Shearer) amongst that lot of heidelberg juniors.... with the exception of shearer, laing and favrin the rest will probably find themselves in the two once the superstars get fit....

ifyoucandodgeawrench
21 Jun 2006, 13:44
no match winners (maybe Shearer) amongst that lot of heidelberg juniors.... with the exception of shearer, laing and favrin the rest will probably find themselves in the two once the superstars get fit....

Macleod, Young, Maltby in the deuces?

AndyBoy
21 Jun 2006, 13:49
Macleod, Young, Maltby in the deuces?

webber in for young.....

abe in for mcleod.....

trew in for maltby......

mattyr
21 Jun 2006, 13:51
Got your wirest crossed ther Jetpak, wasn't saying how good they are just that they are locals.

I think BergerKing was saying how contrary to popular belief a lot of the Heidelberg boys are home grown. Like most sides they have half imports and I agree they do pay top dollar for that half but they do have some local product in there team, even playing one of there under 15's for a game in the ones earlier in the year. The club has a thriving junior club which plays in the much better officiated and administered Yarra League. DVFL junior comps are a bigger brothel then the open age stuff. Ferrel parents, clubs not punished fro deplorable behaviour and so on. Goes through all the way from Auskick to u17's.

they played a kid from under 15's?????? why did they do that? howdid he go?

ifyoucandodgeawrench
21 Jun 2006, 13:53
webber in for young.....

abe in for mcleod.....

trew in for maltby......

All played side by side in the early rounds when the club was at full strength...:thumbsu:

kanga fan man
21 Jun 2006, 14:02
All played side by side in the early rounds when the club was at full strength...:thumbsu:

is Abe Williams the brother of Jake?

AndyBoy
21 Jun 2006, 14:16

hope u are right...... good to see the juniors in the team.... just when and if everyone is back the money boys will be the first ones picked.....

ifyoucandodgeawrench
21 Jun 2006, 14:24
is Abe Williams the brother of Jake?

They don't look-a-like, but then again, neither do Venus and Serina.

Dwight
21 Jun 2006, 15:23
Luke Trew on the move.

Watirnia South with Jason Heatley very close to getting the deal done.

Heatley also trying to lure Saul Caddy before the deadline.

Would be two handy pickups for second divi Eastern.
WS officals confident of getting one at least, hopefull of both.

kanga fan man
21 Jun 2006, 15:35
How come Trew has left ?

journeyman
21 Jun 2006, 15:36
Luke Trew on the move.

Watirnia South with Jason Heatley very close to getting the deal done.

It seems strange that Trew would leave Heidelberg when they are on their way to winning a flag (or at least going very close).

And I thought Caddy and Trew hated each other.

22 matches
21 Jun 2006, 16:08
It seems strange that Trew would leave Heidelberg when they are on their way to winning a flag (or at least going very close).

that would be nice little scrap to watch:)

diamolad
21 Jun 2006, 19:47
just watching the news and fawlkner park are in some trouble. Anyone know anything about it? officially?

Howsised
21 Jun 2006, 19:56
Probably don't need him but could do with a bit of insurance the way the Bergs year has unfolded. An ambulance was called at training last night with a recent B&F player carted off to the Austin for assessment. Another couple of highly rated players in Shearer and Walker pulled up a bit sore and will face fitness tests on Thurs. Also noticed Young on the sidelines but should come up for the match against the Panthers this w/e.

On a brighter note, Trew, Webber & Kemp trained the house down and should return on Sat. Encouraging to see two U17 players train with the senior group last night and could make their debut. Haydock is a week away and the Bergs will get the services of Maltby, Dodgson and Seiter after the break. Look out Epping!

What training were you watching? I saw no ambulance.

bronco27
21 Jun 2006, 20:06
can anyone tell me about caddy.why his leaving what position he plays.herd he has put a clearence to port colts in the wrfl.

Brutal
21 Jun 2006, 20:38
I understand where you are coming from and you are correct, it is never their fault and until they understand that they will get nowhere. I don't doubt your sources and you are also correct that the runner is the assistant coach, what was stated was that he had only been at the club for three weeks and that is incorrect. I think they are all very frustrated at their lack of success on and off the field and when it looked like they had picked up a couple of good players money issues meant that these players have now left. It is a sad situation and as I said in the earlier post I don't think they will survive.

I was a keen supporter for many years but have dropped of almost totally and only attend home games and even then I am lucky to last the game out. Once I thought if the club went under I would miss it but if it ceases to exist I will be sorry but won't miss it. I know I am one of many who feel like this.

I have not been trying to make excuses for them just trying to explain the situation in an open forum where not much can be said.

Understand totally sross, there may be a decision pending very soon on the immediate playing future of F/P, stay tuned.

melbdocker
21 Jun 2006, 20:42
straight out like him or not he is a gun can play chf jumps into the guts from time to time and ruck if needed, was at the western bulldogs for a while but got let go for some reason heard rumors but wont spread them here and b4 ne one says ne thing yes i have seen him play more than the 1 game he played against creek this yr (which he kicked the winning goal but was not the key player that turned the bulldogs around that day)

apparntly loves a blew and maybe a little cocky but i know a friend of a friend that reckons he is a great bloke 1 on 1 to have a drink wit and looks out for his mates. i cant comment on the bloke from me personaly just what i have been told and only eva said hi to him passing him but generaly thats the low down on saul

Brutal
21 Jun 2006, 20:45
just watching the news and fawlkner park are in some trouble. Anyone know anything about it? officially?

Did not watch the news, but if you read previous posts you get the gissed of what`s going on. I was informed there may be an emergency delegates meeting tomorow night to decide there fate.

AndyBoy
21 Jun 2006, 21:16
tell me boys did the fog roll in at diamo last nite???

how was training???

mitch_fc
21 Jun 2006, 21:29
Saul Caddy would be a valuable on field asset at any club he plays with. I think he should move away from the Valley and make a new start at a new club. If he goes anywhere withing the DVFL there will probably be blokes hes had blews with, and who knows what could happen when he plays against the doggies.

speculator
21 Jun 2006, 21:31
can anyone tell me about caddy.why his leaving what position he plays.herd he has put a clearence to port colts in the wrfl.

My mate sunline says he is a back pocket player, who will struggle in the wrfl, not sure why if he is leaving if true?

tess
21 Jun 2006, 21:49
I understand where you are coming from and you are correct, it is never their fault and until they understand that they will get nowhere. I don't doubt your sources and you are also correct that the runner is the assistant coach, what was stated was that he had only been at the club for three weeks and that is incorrect. I think they are all very frustrated at their lack of success on and off the field and when it looked like they had picked up a couple of good players money issues meant that these players have now left. It is a sad situation and as I said in the earlier post I don't think they will survive.

I was a keen supporter for many years but have dropped of almost totally and only attend home games and even then I am lucky to last the game out. Once I thought if the club went under I would miss it but if it ceases to exist I will be sorry but won't miss it. I know I am one of many who feel like this.

I have not been trying to make excuses for them just trying to explain the situation in an open forum where not much can be said.

Interesting guys.

They have the players and Fawkner is still a young area. Why can't we fight for the Club? We have industry in and around Fawkner that probably just need to be asked to help out, a little gentle persuasion does wonders.

Is anyone else prepared to help out?

melbdocker
21 Jun 2006, 22:10
yeah just saw on a news break that levi wallace is going to take cival action agaisnt someone for racial abuse

and specualtor ur mail is very incorect i dont reckon saul would have ever been in the backline lol and my club creek beat hoppers crossing in a pracy game this yr and it was a very evan game and hoppers are alright while creek seem to be struggling atm so i dont think he would struggle in the wrfl can see him playin gvfl or omfl next yr

to u diamolad not sure who u are but u seem to be sayin a fair bit u are a spectator is that cause are suspended for quite a few games? btw could u imigine if that rummor was correct about saul to creek was true considering we have to play at shelly park in a few weeks

Brutal
21 Jun 2006, 22:11
Interesting guys.

They have the players and Fawkner is still a young area. Why can't we fight for the Club? We have industry in and around Fawkner that probably just need to be asked to help out, a little gentle persuasion does wonders.

Is anyone else prepared to help out?

The bottom line is that the club does not understand its moral responsabilities to the competition, opposition suppoprters and clubs and the code in general. They continue to have this victim mentality where it`s everyone else`s fault but there own and that is probably why the issue`s that are affecting the club have not been addressed. I know there are people who have tried hard and I know one of those people personally and have spoken to him at great length about F/P and tried to assist with ideas, but at the end of the day F/P don`t have enough people pulling in the one direction, the answer to why they are in the **** is probably looking back at them in the mirror.

tess
21 Jun 2006, 22:31
The bottom line is that the club does not understand its moral responsabilities to the competition, opposition suppoprters and clubs and the code in general. They continue to have this victim mentality where it`s everyone else`s fault but there own and that is probably why the issue`s that are affecting the club have not been addressed. I know there are people who have tried hard and I know one of those people personally and have spoken to him at great length about F/P and tried to assist with ideas, but at the end of the day F/P don`t have enough people pulling in the one direction, the answer to why they are in the **** is probably looking back at them in the mirror.

OK fair enough, but what would you prefer the Aussie Rules Club to fold and hand The Mutton Road Oval over to a Soccer Club. Or if possible, if the Club showing a bit of spirit and getting itself out of the shizzer. Would you help them out.

There is also a Gridiron Club looking at Mutton Rd!

Maybe a few like minded people need to get together.....:cool:

diamolad
21 Jun 2006, 22:57
yeah just saw on a news break that levi wallace is going to take cival action agaisnt someone for racial abuse

and specualtor ur mail is very incorect i dont reckon saul would have ever been in the backline lol and my club creek beat hoppers crossing in a pracy game this yr and it was a very evan game and hoppers are alright while creek seem to be struggling atm so i dont think he would struggle in the wrfl can see him playin gvfl or omfl next yr

to u diamolad not sure who u are but u seem to be sayin a fair bit u are a spectator is that cause are suspended for quite a few games? btw could u imigine if that rummor was correct about saul to creek was true considering we have to play at shelly park in a few weeks

Not suspended melb. Just a keen watcher. Gotta lot of mates down at creek and played a bit of junior footy down there. Played in the yr with joel mcconville, brad kinnane, joel burrell, daniel o regan who are all down there doing well. Played a few games of nineteens footy in 2003 and that was the end of me. How about u mate? whats ur connection to the creek?

Also, andy boy, a few boys came over after training last night to watch the soccer and races, and they commented that the fog rolled in a treat. Couldnt see one end of the ground from thew other.

melbdocker
21 Jun 2006, 23:44
haha very funny diamo lad who is having a bit of a joke here cause he has just described me. all those guys u mentioned though are a bit younger and filled in from the 17's at the time, so i reckon ur around that age maybe not suspened
what u should have said is played wit such blokes as john liddiard and simon trewarne more my age dont worry i will revel ur identity in the coming weeks

muesli
22 Jun 2006, 06:46
Luke Trew on the move.

Wantirna South with Jason Heatley very close to getting the deal done.

What position does Luke Trew play?

AndyBoy
22 Jun 2006, 11:00
haha very funny diamo lad who is having a bit of a joke here cause he has just described me. all those guys u mentioned though are a bit younger and filled in from the 17's at the time, so i reckon ur around that age maybe not suspened
what u should have said is played wit such blokes as john liddiard and simon trewarne more my age dont worry i will revel ur identity in the coming weeks

Big game this week for your 2's diamo & docker.... Always dangerous at West Pres..... Think your boys will come out winners??? If so wat or who is the key???

sunline 11
22 Jun 2006, 11:24

I haven't spoken to anyone about Saul and if I did it would be positive. I played on him last year and he can play the game (deffinately not in the backline even when he plays in the guts). As for your club beating Hoppers Crossing in a praccy, you are incorrect. Diamond creek lost that praccy by around 4 goals to us and we had 8 players out of our side and resting 4 key players in the last quarter(34 degrees that day). I know, because I played in the game.

Muttley
22 Jun 2006, 11:54
What position does Luke Trew play?

HBF, was adjudged Heidelberg's 2004 player of the finals. Teammates walk taller when he's on the paddock and it will be terific to see him out there on the w/e.

rioli brownlow
22 Jun 2006, 12:17
OK fair enough, but what would you prefer the Aussie Rules Club to fold and hand The Mutton Road Oval over to a Soccer Club. Or if possible, if the Club showing a bit of spirit and getting itself out of the shizzer. Would you help them out.

the great cricket club pascoe vale united, play cricket there during summer though

Giveyathemail
22 Jun 2006, 13:16

Couldnt be further from the truth... I can understand on field, they would be ultra competitive, both being a bit wild and keys to their respective sides, but ive been out with the North boys and had Trewy come over and there was no dramas. I agree with 22 matches, it would be a great scrap to watch though. Team-mates might walk taller with Trewy out there Muttley, because out of all the blokes at H'berg, Trewy is the only one who is GUARANTEED to have a crack at ya in a scuffle. He isnt the type of bloke to shirk the issue.

Both good blokes, both a bit mental....

BlueBoy41
22 Jun 2006, 14:00
What do people think about the Fawkner Park racial abuse story that led the National Nine News bulletin last night?

Muttley
22 Jun 2006, 14:09
Couldnt be further from the truth... I can understand on field, they would be ultra competitive, both being a bit wild and keys to their respective sides, but ive been out with the North boys and had Trewy come over and there was no dramas. I agree with 22 matches, it would be a great scrap to watch though. Team-mates might walk taller with Trewy out there Muttley, because out of all the blokes at H'berg, Trewy is the only one who is GUARANTEED to have a crack at ya in a scuffle. He isnt the type of bloke to shirk the issue.

He's the modern day Andy Viola.......

Howsised
22 Jun 2006, 14:18

You obviously haven't met Scott Blade then.

Giveyathemail
22 Jun 2006, 14:24
You obviously haven't met Scott Blade then.

Played against him a few times in junior and senior footy. Never seen him fire to be honest.

Giveyathemail
22 Jun 2006, 14:25
He's the modern day Andy Viola.......

Andy Viola.... now there is a good bloke from h'berg, along with Marty Kemp.

greatguy
22 Jun 2006, 14:32
The DVFL is the best footy around.
It's Juniors are the best Junior comp around, the closest league to them the Yarra, how soft are they.The umpires pay free kicks if the spectators bag themand they grade the divisions so players who shouldn't be playing get a game.

Mill Park will play Eltham in the most important one, the Under 17's D1 Grand Final this season, with Mill park winning easily, they are all close mates and really respect each other, that is why they will win and they don't hit nthe booze Saturday night before the Game.

I also think the League should get together and have a comp with all the Under 17 D1 premiers playing, Mill Park will win that as well.

Jewelsandbullet
22 Jun 2006, 14:39
Andy Viola.... now there is a good bloke from h'berg, along with Marty Kemp.

Anyone remember a H'berg bloke from the late 80's Terry "Tugga" Stanley - one of my earliest DV memories was watching him slide into the boundary at Para road in front of the Mont home rooms, pick up two handfuls of mud and spray it all over the Mont faithful - myself as a 10 year old included. Great DV character - ended up being my school teacher too. Good bloke.

Giveyathemail
22 Jun 2006, 14:41
Anyone remember a H'berg bloke from the late 80's Terry "Tugga" Stanley - one of my earliest DV memories was watching him slide into the boundary at Para road in front of the Mont home rooms, pick up two handfuls of mud and spray it all over the Mont faithful - myself as a 10 year old included. Great DV character - ended up being my school teacher too. Good bloke.

I dont J&B but I gotta admit that did bring a smile to the dial just imagining a bloke doing that :D

Dwight
22 Jun 2006, 15:04

Good stuff. His son is now at Collingwood. Mad as a cut snake on the ground but you would struggle to find a nicer bloke off it.

Jewelsandbullet
22 Jun 2006, 15:29
Good stuff. His son is now at Collingwood. Mad as a cut snake on the ground but you would struggle to find a nicer bloke off it.

Yeah it was a pi$$er, you have to pay that move respect.
I remember him doing a few other things on the ground that did not match his off ground personality. What's his son's first name?

HotShoeShuffle
22 Jun 2006, 15:40
I remember him doing a few other things on the ground that did not match his off ground personality. What's his son's first name?

Low profile lately J&B, just keeping the bosses happy ? No news to report from the pit ? I saw A Swindon kicked a few in the magoos last week, due for a recall ?

Jimmy Gwilt
22 Jun 2006, 15:43

his son is danny stanley on collingwoods senior list

Jewelsandbullet
22 Jun 2006, 15:50
Low profile lately J&B, just keeping the bosses happy ? No news to report from the pit ? I saw A Swindon kicked a few in the magoos last week, due for a recall ?

G'day Shoe, unfortunately work has been interrupting my browsing of late.

Curtly played well first game back on Saturday - the magoos are good. I say keep him down for one or two more games, find his touch, nothing to lose really over the next few weeks. Plus give him a chance to play some footy with his great brother Jerry :D

mattyr
22 Jun 2006, 16:15
The DVFL is the best footy around.
It's Juniors are the best Junior comp around, the closest league to them the Yarra, how soft are they.The umpires pay free kicks if the spectators bag themand they grade the divisions so players who shouldn't be playing get a game.

Mill Park will play Eltham in the most important one, the Under 17's D1 Grand Final this season, with Mill park winning easily, they are all close mates and really respect each other, that is why they will win and they don't hit nthe booze Saturday night before the Game.

I also think the League should get together and have a comp with all the Under 17 D1 premiers playing, Mill Park will win that as well.

mate thats a fair call but ask anyone one has played dvfl juniors and moved to yarra and they will tell you thats its not as hard but the skill level is as at a far better level.

mitch_fc
22 Jun 2006, 16:31
What do people think about the Fawkner Park racial abuse story that led the National Nine News bulletin last night?
Levi Wallace is sueing the Sth Morang club and the DVFL. Not sure what will come out of it, but once again makes our great DVFL look like a disgraceful place to be. They probably didn't mention on the news that the Fawk Park reserves ran onto the ground for the punch on....

DV the place to be

Mr Cannons
22 Jun 2006, 16:37
does anyone know of a player in the late 70's early 80's called Gary Dyring for Templstowe, apparently he was as tough as nails.

sunline 11
22 Jun 2006, 16:58
Can anyone tell me how Big Daniel King is going this year for Epping?

WRFLfan
22 Jun 2006, 17:16
My mate sunline says he is a back pocket player, who will struggle in the wrfl, not sure why if he is leaving if true?
Come on dill sunlines been giving him a rap already do you homework before you try to be funny

blackjack44
22 Jun 2006, 17:20
mate thats a fair call but ask anyone one has played dvfl juniors and moved to yarra and they will tell you thats its not as hard but the skill level is as at a far better level.

I played junior footy in the DV. Then went on to play in a combined side for 4 years of DV and Yarra juniors. At the beginning it was obvious that the Yarra boys were more skilled than physical and the DV boys were more physical than skilled. The coaches even said that theres more depth in skill in the Yarra, where in the DV players are use to the body contact side of the game. But how can you split the leagues on those differences, when they're both apart of the game..... thats why they have the metro junior championships :D

WRFLfan
22 Jun 2006, 17:21
HBF, was adjudged Heidelberg's 2004 player of the finals. Teammates walk taller when he's on the paddock and it will be terific to see him out there on the w/e.
did Trew and Pierre Haddad (from Northcote)an incident one week were Trew went got changed and came back at Pierre Haddad on his own bench(might be wrong)? Heard Trew to be a tough player

rioli brownlow
22 Jun 2006, 17:28
Levi Wallace is sueing the Sth Morang club and the DVFL. Not sure what will come out of it, but once again makes our great DVFL look like a disgraceful place to be. They probably didn't mention on the news that the Fawk Park reserves ran onto the ground for the punch on....

DV the place to be

yeah dv the place to be racially abused.

what a fair dinkum disgrace.

sth morang should be the ones looking for a new comp to play in and they should be find heavily aswell.

mattyr
22 Jun 2006, 18:46
I played junior footy in the DV. Then went on to play in a combined side for 4 years of DV and Yarra juniors. At the beginning it was obvious that the Yarra boys were more skilled than physical and the DV boys were more physical than skilled. The coaches even said that theres more depth in skill in the Yarra, where in the DV players are use to the body contact side of the game. But how can you split the leagues on those differences, when they're both apart of the game..... thats why they have the metro junior championships :D

yeh thats true i wouldnt care i like the physical side of the game wouldnt worry me changing leages either way ;)

mattyr
22 Jun 2006, 18:48
daniel howse for bundoora is one of the toughest players i have seen play got a huge knock on saturday v the bergers the home crowd loved seeing him down...but i dont think they liked seeing his come back on in the third quarter to stir up some trouble :D

tess
22 Jun 2006, 19:02

The hearing went into the wee early hours this morning, at 2.00am it was adjourned and will continue tonight.

greatguy
22 Jun 2006, 22:06
The hearing went into the wee early hours this morning, at 2.00am it was adjourned and will continue tonight.

It's a joke he can call the oposition white this, aussie that, yet he can't be called anything.

Fawkner Park are a joke as a Club and should be kicked out, the two Clubs who amalgamated to become fawkner Park: Moomba Park & Fawkner Amatuers, both were thug clubs.

Have A Crack
22 Jun 2006, 22:33
Just read on the Western Region Football Website under the Port Melb Colts site under clearances that Saul Caddy put in for a clearance yesterday.

touch of class
22 Jun 2006, 22:44
saul will be lineing up for the port colts saturday and with him and kane cooper in the team anything is possible

tess
22 Jun 2006, 22:49
It's a joke he can call the oposition white this, aussie that, yet he can't be called anything.

Thats just the way of the world though isn't it.

Fawkner Park are a joke as a Club and should be kicked out, the two Clubs who amalgamated to become fawkner Park: Moomba Park & Fawkner Amatuers, both were thug clubs.

Campbellfield has gone under and soccer is being played opposite Nestle' during the cooler months these days.

Lossing an Aussie Rules Club in Fawkner would make Hadfield and North Coburg nervous wouldn't it.

Howsised
23 Jun 2006, 01:59
Trew back in the ones this week for his first game of 2006 after a long term shoulder problem. Eltham beware.

Brutal
23 Jun 2006, 09:03

I understand your passion, unfortunately the issue`s confronting Fawkner Park should have been addressed years ago. The club seems to have a culture which is not acceptable in todays football environment, there supporters need to be educated in what is acceptable behaviour, players have no discipline and resort to violence and physical threats. The responsability for this falls with those with those running the organisation who have failed to grasp the fundamentals and thought that it could all be changed by just recruiting players and trying to win a few game. The off field culture is the starting point which would require a recruitment of a decent supporter base (hard without juniors), once you do that and have people there for the right reasons, hopefully it would become a welcoming environment which would then gradually start to reflect on the type of player that wanted to play at your club. All in all it`s hard work, the easy part is recogniseing the problems, the hard bit is finding the people with the balls to implement the solutions and being completely focussed on the task, and thats where the league could and should have been of assistance.

Good luck.

Muttley
23 Jun 2006, 09:17
did Trew and Pierre Haddad (from Northcote)an incident one week were Trew went got changed and came back at Pierre Haddad on his own bench(might be wrong)? Heard Trew to be a tough player

That's right, both players were sent off for the game with Trewy leaving the ground guaranteeing Pierre there'd be a square up. At 3qtr time, 1 up, Trewy casually walked over to the NP bench and belted the said player. No one in the NP camp retaliated and Trewy casually walked back around to the Tigers den!

Brutal
23 Jun 2006, 09:18

DV the place to be

Probably right Mitch, but interestesting to read in yesterdays paper that the Fawkner Park spokesperson said "I have been involved in football since the 50`s, been at games where shotguns have been fired, been a wharfie and mixed with the best of them and that was the worst abuse I have heard in my life footballing life" must of been bad considering he was watching Lower Plenty play West heidelberg at the time at Para Rd, long way away from Sth Morang. Do you know if anyone else at Lower heard it Mitch? I didn`t but then again I was on the Para Rd side of Lower, maybe some people on the clubroom side at Lower heard this abuse comeing from Sth Morang football ground. Can you check it out Mitcha, cheers m8.

Muttley
23 Jun 2006, 09:21
Trew back in the ones this week for his first game of 2006 after a long term shoulder problem. Eltham beware.

Don't forget about Kent Webber aswell. Great to see Thorney from Panton Hill get his first taste of Divvy 1 1's this w/e. He's roved unchanged for the past month in the 2's and no one is more deserving of selection.

Brutal
23 Jun 2006, 09:32
Heard a whisper last night that Peter Floyd will not be in the position of D.V.F.L Secretary/Administrator next season. The chap who told me has official positions in the V.F.L. as well as a V.F.L. club, my source also indicated that he would be interested in applying for the job. His credentials are not bad, he played football at Richmond, was a copper for 16 years, has been involved at coaching with Oakleigh Chargers, Northern Knights, Box Hill Hawks and is also on the V.F.L. investigation panel, has a good football brain and is a top bloke. Any thoughts?

Also I know alot of people bag Floydy, but I think it`s important to understand people that he is the paid help and it`s his job to administer, all his instruction comes from the Executive, headed by Roy Ward and the clubs, so even if Pete does go at the end of the season, don`t forget the decision makers will still be there and it`s the clubs responsability to insure that these people are made accountable.

touch of class
23 Jun 2006, 10:38
hey muttley you forgot to mention the 6 players that run off the ground and helped pierre give trewy a touch up so im not sure where your information from but i wasa at the game at the huddle when it happened

Giveyathemail
23 Jun 2006, 13:54
Heard a whisper last night that Peter Floyd will not be in the position of D.V.F.L Secretary/Administrator next season. The chap who told me has official positions in the V.F.L. as well as a V.F.L. club, my source also indicated that he would be interested in applying for the job. His credentials are not bad, he played football at Richmond, was a copper for 16 years, has been involved at coaching with Oakleigh Chargers, Northern Knights, Box Hill Hawks and is also on the V.F.L. investigation panel, has a good football brain and is a top bloke. Any thoughts?

Also I know alot of people bag Floydy, but I think it`s important to understand people that he is the paid help and it`s his job to administer, all his instruction comes from the Executive, headed by Roy Ward and the clubs, so even if Pete does go at the end of the season, don`t forget the decision makers will still be there and it`s the clubs responsability to insure that these people are made accountable.

I agree Brutal, Floydys name is the one in the paper and on the news all the time, I cant see to many people wanting his job at the moment. I cant cop that Roy Ward, not once have you seen him taking any of the brunt, but is the first to stick his dirty little head in when its time for glory. Has been as useful as a c o c k flavoured lollypop over the years.

I dont blame Floydy for wanting to move on. Watch the decline in administration then. Has been the shining light in a well of disappointment for too long.

mitch_fc
23 Jun 2006, 14:15
Probably right Mitch, but interestesting to read in yesterdays paper that the Fawkner Park spokesperson said "I have been involved in football since the 50`s, been at games where shotguns have been fired, been a wharfie and mixed with the best of them and that was the worst abuse I have heard in my life footballing life" must of been bad considering he was watching Lower Plenty play West heidelberg at the time at Para Rd, long way away from Sth Morang. Do you know if anyone else at Lower heard it Mitch? I didn`t but then again I was on the Para Rd side of Lower, maybe some people on the clubroom side at Lower heard this abuse comeing from Sth Morang football ground. Can you check it out Mitcha, cheers m8.
from where i was standing at LOWER PLENTY i could hear quite a bit of bagging of players. However 100% of this was directed at LPFC and HWFC players and the umpires in charge.... So either the spokesperson FPFC has some superman hearing, or someone is passing on little fibs.
Then again, maybe he was talking about the spray that the Heidelberg west suppoter gave big super which had a racial abuse flavour to it?

Giveyathemail
23 Jun 2006, 14:36
I went into bat for FP the other day on this site, but it seems I was mislead in information I had received. It seems nothing has changed at all down there, and after what happened over there against Lower a few weeks ago, they shoulda shut the doors on them then and there.

The comp doesnt need them. I do not condone Sth Morangs involvement in this either, but it would be no big loss if they booted off as well.

Coach Hollywood
23 Jun 2006, 16:43
Don't forget about Kent Webber aswell. Great to see Thorney from Panton Hill get his first taste of Divvy 1 1's this w/e. He's roved unchanged for the past month in the 2's and no one is more deserving of selection.

Muttley, good to hear Thorny's finally broken into the 1's at Heidelberg.
I tried to get him to come to Ivanhoe instead of Heidelberg playing the card that he probably won't get to plays 1's there? But he told me he would make it, and has now backed that up! Good luck to him on the weekend.

joshooaa
23 Jun 2006, 17:01
I haven't spoken to anyone about Saul and if I did it would be positive. I played on him last year and he can play the game (deffinately not in the backline even when he plays in the guts). As for your club beating Hoppers Crossing in a praccy, you are incorrect. Diamond creek lost that praccy by around 4 goals to us and we had 8 players out of our side and resting 4 key players in the last quarter(34 degrees that day). I know, because I played in the game.

Shouldnt a club that is one of the top in their league and recent premiers easily account for a club that has just come back into division 1 football for the 1st time in 10 years and was a massive upset winner in the div 2 grand final to get there? Regardless of 8 players missing? Hoppers are 1 of the best in the WRFL and Creek are fighting admirably this year but are clearly a bottom team.

Howsised
23 Jun 2006, 17:40
That's right, both players were sent off for the game with Trewy leaving the ground guaranteeing Pierre there'd be a square up. At 3qtr time, 1 up, Trewy casually walked over to the NP bench and belted the said player. No one in the NP camp retaliated and Trewy casually walked back around to the Tigers den!

I was there that day, funniest thing ive ever seen.

22 matches
23 Jun 2006, 18:22
I was there that day, funniest thing ive ever seen.

tough player trewy. alot stronger than he looks. i had a bit of an incident last year with him never takes a backward step, and also a very handy player good on him.:D

Wayde Petersen
23 Jun 2006, 19:31
Does anyone know what's happening with the DVFL's investigation from the South Morang vs Fawkner Park match ?, and what's Fawkner Park future within the league ?,

And about that bloke that want's to sue everyone because his feelings got hurt, god what a joke (although Racial Abuse is not on, and if he went to the league first instead of running to the media, and that bastion of accurate news, Channel Ed, I would be a lot more supportive, but going through the courts in a situation like this is a joke, and symbolic of the dangers of having an American Style legal system), and I hate people that go through to the legal system like this when an alternative arrangement could be met, (Tribunal/Mediation/addition the the DVFL's charter, etc.).

One of the biggest mistakes in recent DVFL history, would have to be admitting this club in the first place (especially when they had a bad reputation in the VAFA, when they were Fawkner Amateurs, and also that they are in Essendon League territory for one), and considering that they still haven't paid thier DVFL Fees as yet (as far as i'm aware), I'm sure that some clubs would like to see that back of them.

But, considering that Watsonia were given time to get themselves out of the mire by the DVFL, and by a group of hark woking people, Fawkner Park at least deserve the chance to get thier house in order (even if some people think that they don't deserve to).

beerbandit
23 Jun 2006, 19:47
tough player trewy. alot stronger than he looks. i had a bit of an incident last year with him never takes a backward step, and also a very handy player good on him.:D

i kicked 4 goals on him 3 years ago... he didnt seem to loose his temper at all.. actually he was not a bad bloke what so ever

tess
23 Jun 2006, 20:52
But, considering that Watsonia were given time to get themselves out of the mire by the DVFL, and by a group of hark woking people, Fawkner Park at least deserve the chance to get thier house in order (even if some people think that they don't deserve to).

Every Club has it's bad characters, and in a way they add to what makes up a good clubs backbone(as long as they can be "controlled"). I'm not sure what if any help is wanted/Needed at Fawkner Park, but I'd be prepared to try and help best I can.

Fawkner had a bad rep towards the end of its involvement with the Armatures, but they also became one of the more successful Clubs as well before it all went pear shaped.

Maybe a few Clubs in the DVFL are a bit worried about Fawkner Park getting their act together and becoming a powerhouse again.

beerbandit
23 Jun 2006, 22:05
Every Club has it's bad characters, and in a way they add to what makes up a good clubs backbone(as long as they can be "controlled"). I'm not sure what if any help is wanted/Needed at Fawkner Park, but I'd be prepared to try and help best I can.

Fawkner had a bad rep towards the end of its involvement with the Armatures, but they also became one of the more successful Clubs as well before it all went pear shaped.

Maybe a few Clubs in the DVFL are a bit worried about Fawkner Park getting their act together and becoming a powerhouse again.

when i was in the juniors of the DVFL i played fawkner park at there ground and it was under 15's and i was playin full forward and had blokes who were early to mid 20's telling me that they were gunna bash me in the car park behind the club rooms... its not a nice place to play at, at all

BERGER KING
23 Jun 2006, 23:34
Who is this Webber at Heidelberg? I played with a Kenny Webber at Bullants twos for several seasons.He struggled but was highly rated ( by himself) Could it be one of the same??

Howsised
24 Jun 2006, 00:10
Who is this Webber at Heidelberg? I played with a Kenny Webber at Bullants twos for several seasons.He struggled but was highly rated ( by himself) Could it be one of the same??

Thats a pretty fair asessment. Holds his own on a flank and has been in charge of kick out duties over the last few seasons for Heidelberg until the arrival of Murphy.

melbdocker
24 Jun 2006, 00:30
played his juniors at creek b4 he went to the bullants we tried to get him back this yr but cracked it after 1 training session and back to tiger land

watchalot
24 Jun 2006, 01:15
went to south morang for a junior game (under 15's) and i can tell you that their abuse isn't just from there senior surporters. The way they abused the kids on this day was nothing short of a disgrace..... i thought coburg juniors was the worst club to play in front of but after that day they showed there true colours and how much of a bunch of small minded surporters they are.:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

sross
24 Jun 2006, 13:13

That statement is not correct. I asked the question last night of a friend whose son plays and was at the game and the person you are talking about was definitely at South Morang.

sross
24 Jun 2006, 13:45
Does anyone know what's happening with the DVFL's investigation from the South Morang vs Fawkner Park match ?, and what's Fawkner Park future within the league ?,

And about that bloke that want's to sue everyone because his feelings got hurt, god what a joke (although Racial Abuse is not on, and if he went to the league first instead of running to the media, and that bastion of accurate news, Channel Ed, I would be a lot more supportive, but going through the courts in a situation like this is a joke, and symbolic of the dangers of having an American Style legal system), and I hate people that go through to the legal system like this when an alternative arrangement could be met, (Tribunal/Mediation/addition the the DVFL's charter, etc.).

One of the biggest mistakes in recent DVFL history, would have to be admitting this club in the first place (especially when they had a bad reputation in the VAFA, when they were Fawkner Amateurs, and also that they are in Essendon League territory for one), and considering that they still haven't paid thier DVFL Fees as yet (as far as i'm aware), I'm sure that some clubs would like to see that back of them.

Fawkner's preference was the Essendon District league but they were not admitted because the EDFL said they were not in their area. They were told their area boundary was Sydney Rd and Fawkner is on the other side. Whether that was the real reason I don't know but that was the reason they were given.

I will also take you to task on the mistake statement. Fawkner were a club who rose from F to B grade in the Amateurs in the least amount of time possible. i.e. they went up every year. They had a few problems like every district club does in the Amateurs. They tried to get into both Essendon and Diamond Valley but were knocked back so they went to the WRFL and kept applying to both leagues until the DVFL finally agreed.

As said in earlier posts , the club is struggling with numbers and finances and these sort of incidents don't help but they are not the only club in the DVFL that have them are they? Their foe in this case, SM, certainly don't appear to be a bunch of angels.

I have read your potifications on football before and thought you were quite knowledgeable but you can always pick where your bias lies and in this case it is not FP.

sross
24 Jun 2006, 16:00
[quote=Wayde Petersen]Does anyone know what's happening with the DVFL's investigation from the South Morang vs Fawkner Park match ? /quote]

Just skipped home at qtr time of Fawkner V Macleod.

Levi Wallace suspended for 1 week. Fawkner coach reprimanded and Fawkner fined $200. South Morang nothing. Fawkner president is not very happy. Both he and Levi have been interviewed by Ch9 this afternoon.

greatguy
24 Jun 2006, 17:18

A guy called Michael McLaughlin has got this job sown up. He has ben after it for years and is the current media voice of DVFL and is currently CEO of Vic Touch Association. A least Lower and Mill park wil finalyy get a good go.

wonderman
24 Jun 2006, 17:41
I went into bat for FP the other day on this site, but it seems I was mislead in information I had received. It seems nothing has changed at all down there, and after what happened over there against Lower a few weeks ago, they shoulda shut the doors on them then and there.

The comp doesnt need them. I do not condone Sth Morangs involvement in this either, but it would be no big loss if they booted off as well.

The sooner clubs like FP , watsonia, Parkside, Kinglake and South morang play in a 3rd division the better or just roll up and fold would be even better. GO EFL

wonderman
24 Jun 2006, 17:44
also any new news on saul caddy heard he sussed out the bulls :confused: :confused:

Is it true he left NTh because he didn't make there all star team.

flipout
24 Jun 2006, 19:01
Yeah apparently left because he didn't make the team of the century or something.

Brutal
24 Jun 2006, 21:10
That statement is not correct. I asked the question last night of a friend whose son plays and was at the game and the person you are talking about was definitely at South Morang.

I beg to differ sross, the person in question told me personally that he was watching the Lower Plenty v Heidelberg West game when he received a phone call saying that he should get up to Sth Morang because a riot was takeing place (his words). The abuse he was talking about took place before the phone call, he may have been up there but it was after the event. He also told the same story to three other people and the D.V.F.L. are also aware that he was not there at time of the abuse. If he reckons he heard the abuse then he did so second or third hand or perhaps he was quoted out of context.

Brutal
24 Jun 2006, 21:33
[quote=Wayde Petersen]Does anyone know what's happening with the DVFL's investigation from the South Morang vs Fawkner Park match ? /quote]

Just skipped home at qtr time of Fawkner V Macleod.

Levi Wallace suspended for 1 week. Fawkner coach reprimanded and Fawkner fined $200. South Morang nothing. Fawkner president is not very happy. Both he and Levi have been interviewed by Ch9 this afternoon.

I week for jumping the fence and belting a spectator, not happy, what was he expecting, a Knighthood? I have heard from a independant witness who was at the game who reckons the abuse Levi copped from said spectator was a disgrace and I for one minute do not condone that spectators action and the apparent lack of action from Sth Morang who it was reorted turned a blind eye, but it is not upto players or anyone else to take the law into there own hands and on that basis 1 week I would think is pretty lenient. So please have a good hard look, they should have gone through the right process in the first place and forget the excuse that the League would not touch it because F/P are not financial, because if they had gone through the right channels then I can guarantee my club and probably many others would have supported F/P going through that process instead of straight into the arms of the media virtually straight after the game. F/P intentions were quite calculated in this regard, they knew the **** was going to hit the fan over there involvment in another incident and bypassed the League and the clubs altogether. Is everyone aware that there was 3 racial abuse/villification incidents in the Eastern League that weekend also, no news reports, because a D.V.F.L. club new they could get a headline and ran with it. Very poor form to say the least.

sparksy
24 Jun 2006, 21:48
A guy called Michael McLaughlin has got this job sown up. He has ben after it for years and is the current media voice of DVFL and is currently CEO of Vic Touch Association. A least Lower and Mill park wil finalyy get a good go.current media of DVFL isnt that flash

Brutal
24 Jun 2006, 21:54
The top sides in div one seemed to struggle a bit today, I assume the weather may have been a factor in this but I`m interested to hear from anyone who was at the Epping v Mont game as to how the game panned out, because there is a theory that Mont will always struggle to win a Premiership untill they learn how to master the Epping ground and judgeing by the closeness of the score it may still be a struggle. For those interested, the LP Bears ventured up the hill to Kinglake and struggled big time with the conditions, full credit to Kinglake for playing the conditions well after half time and as far as the Bears are concerned it`s still 4 points and congrats to another couple of debutants in Matt Canty and Dylan Cresp in being part of there first Senior victory.

BERGER KING
24 Jun 2006, 21:55
How did Webber go today for Hberg ? I believe it was his first game for the season.Hall,Murphy and Lee out of last weeks side that drew with Bundoora??Did Trew play or was he cleared to Wantirna??

Brutal
24 Jun 2006, 22:09
current media of DVFL isnt that flash

I don`t have a problem with Michael, at the end of the day it`s an administration role and for all we know he could have great skills in that area. The bigger issue is getting rid of the drift wood at the top of power chain who are the reason why this league is stumbling from one disaster to the next and the only people who can make change here are the clubs who have the voting rights to empower these people. Quite simply if the organisation continues to make decisions and judgements which are unpopular then we as the true power behind this organisation should stop voting them in.