View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Sydney???
Full Forward?
Wife of Captain?
could it be to throw us off the scent?
Robbo reads this site.... but he would pledge his allegance with the sainters.
Robbo it is Mitcha, I questioned him this morning about Bearfan and the perspiration dripping off him not to mention the shaking and stuttering led me to believe that he was hiding something. Further questioning had him in tears and a confession quickly followed, when will they learn mate.
Coach Hollywood
28 Jun 2006, 18:14
Hey Blubber Wrap,
I don't know how DVCA allocate finals and frankly don't care. I do know that DVFL do very little to favour Eltham if anything. FULLSTOP.
The ground may not be flash now, but maybe one day it will.
Irrespective, The viewing of Football , Cricket or even Bubble Warped Nongheads like you, would be second to none at Panther park.
No other ground in the valley has even half the character of its setting.
That is true Kickass. It is a great viewing ground, but the surface is close to the worst in the comp after Watsonia's slight upgrade. Is the ground actually going to get fixed or are they just in talks at the moment? It's even worse for cricket it's like playing on the Hume Hwy.
Jewelsandbullet
28 Jun 2006, 18:20
I was following on from info read from an earlier post, so is it or isnt it?
maybe toc can tell me
So.... you call a bloke a Dog, you tell him take wake up to himself ... attempt to publicly out him on this site (mistakenly mind you) but you have no idea who he is?
It’s no secret Mont and Port Colts were involved in a brawl in a practice match a few years ago… it’s no secret Dion was involved...
Coach Hollywood
28 Jun 2006, 18:23
[quote=melbdocker]there is a guy down at creek would be perfect for the job knows everything needed to know about dv footy (too much spare time) kid knows who he is.
Brutus, wouldn't you give this bloke down at creek a run for his money woth your experience, knowledge and most importantly time and along with your cricket apprenticeship now clompleted, It could be worth a move up with the big boys of DV Footy media correspondance?? What do we think guys?
quote=Tigers_Rulz04]You watch what happens, SM will come out all rosey and it will be FP's fault again. The league is driving the club into the ground instead of trying to help. I have heard they were very keen to help Watsonia when they were in strife and they will just help destroy FB who are stuggling for numbers and support in an area that does have not a lot of Aussie rules supporters.
Look I hope Fawkner Park change things around, it is terrible for any club to go down. But could you please tell me what help Watsonia recieved from the DVFLwhen they were in strife? As far as I know there was absolutely no help, it was just the hard work of few passionate people who put there hand up and never quit.
did anyone goto the doggies cougers game did the doggies play crap or are the cougers good? wonder how the cougers will go this week against the bulls with abit of confidence?
Look I hope Fawkner Park change things around, it is terrible for any club to go down. But could you please tell me what help Watsonia recieved from the DVFLwhen they were in strife? As far as I know there was absolutely no help, it was just the hard work of few passionate people who put there hand up and never quit.
As Wayde Petersen said in an earlier post, they were given the time to get their house in order and it was done through hard work. From what I have heard their debt to DVFL was plenty and dated back over a couple of years. Fawkners' is only minimal and does not go back prior to this year and they don't owe all of this years fees. Was Watsionia's all paid or some of it waived? I also heard, so I don't really know, that they were allowed to play without reserves due to lack of numbers. Can you confirm this is correct?
Were Watsonia allowed to make a complaint to the league when they were not financial? Fawkner tried to take the racial abuse issue to the DVFL. They were told they could not make any complaint due to not being financial, that is why it went public. The DVFL then acted on it.
wonderman
28 Jun 2006, 20:59
As Wayde Petersen said in an earlier post, they were given the time to get their house in order and it was done through hard work. From what I have heard their debt to DVFL was plenty and dated back over a couple of years. Fawkners' is only minimal and does not go back prior to this year and they don't owe all of this years fees. Was Watsionia's all paid or some of it waived? I also heard, so I don't really know, that they were allowed to play without reserves due to lack of numbers. Can you confirm this is correct?
Were Watsonia allowed to make a complaint to the league when they were not financial? Fawkner tried to take the racial abuse issue to the DVFL. They were told they could not make any complaint due to not being financial, that is why it went public. The DVFL then acted on it.
Their reserves on Saturday consisted of a few Under 17 boys from the local Junior Club, I reckon they should get out of AK Lines and get onto Binnak Park with St Damian's, great surface , facilities would need an upgrade though
[quote=melbdocker]there is a guy down at creek would be perfect for the job knows everything needed to know about dv footy (too much spare time) kid knows who he is.
Brutus, wouldn't you give this bloke down at creek a run for his money woth your experience, knowledge and most importantly time and along with your cricket apprenticeship now clompleted, It could be worth a move up with the big boys of DV Footy media correspondance?? What do we think guys?
Thanks for the suggestion Hollywood, but for the time being I`ll stick with my D.V.C.A. Cricket Show duties which will be back this year with my mate, Kevin "Holler" Marshall and yours truly. They footy boys need to get the TV Show back, I don`t know if you`ve ever caught the other League shows but they are pretty well done and just shows the lack of proffessionalism and promotional nous around the D.V.F.L. at the minute. An earlier post asked why the League don`t have the Footy Show anymore, I think it was due to the production costs being too high from Channel 31 but all the other Leagues seem to cope so it`s probably a case of finding a decent sponsor to foot the bill. Don`t know if the League have a marketing department though.
touch of class
28 Jun 2006, 21:32
hotspot not sure who the mad ricer is but maybe if he just tells you what team he is from then you might try an organise a practice game between port and whatever team he is from and then you can sort out this edgar brit and from what i have been hearing port will be getting a few handy recruits next year all have been hearing great things about the club and would like to change atmosphere and be apart of that great mateship you have got down there and i also herd my mate talking to saul on the phone and he seems very happy with his new surroundings
and i watched the bulldogs and the parkers on sunday and i have to say that north just dont look like half the side they were round 1 when i last seen them play the parkers even though they 1 that day they were very lucky to win northcote had more endevour and a never say die attitude which was exactly won them the game as well as being first for the ball northcote were prepared to work for each other where north were relying indivdual efforts but through the year i thought the parkers would of been a bit higher in the ladder but a few injuries and a lack of experience at crucial times has cost them but i think they will be better in this half of the year
Once again TOC your post hits the nail on the head. Always enjoy reading your thoughts, you are probably one of the few out there that has a handle on the three leagues that you post on.
Seeing as we now have the week end off, who is the match of the round in EDFL and the DVFL? All going well a couple of us are keen to have a peep and see "how the other half live"
joshooaa
28 Jun 2006, 22:01
Just a By note to your comments.
A) Eltham do use the "new rooms" for themselves and they are quite sensational.
B) Old Rooms have been renovated and extended for away teams, and also enclose Panther Medical room.
C) A significant grant has been sought for doing up the playing surface and it is likely that this will be undertaken next season.
D) No decision has been made on where EFC will play Home games if/when they are required to vacate for the refurb. However, I think you would expect that the Panthers would rather play on the grounds of the Eltham Cemmetary or even Montsalvat for that matter, than the option you have suggested of the Hurstbridge cow paddock. :o
Perhas they could play at:
1)Eltham Primary footy oval : Imagine the scorelines
2) Eltham College : at least the ground would see a crowd for once.
3) Research Juniors ground: A cauldron like atmosphere
4) St.Andrews Cricket ground: So wierd it'd be good
joshooaa
28 Jun 2006, 22:07
Hey Blubber Wrap,
I don't know how DVCA allocate finals and frankly don't care. I do know that DVFL do very little to favour Eltham if anything. FULLSTOP.
Irrespective, The viewing of Football , Cricket or even Bubble Warped Nongheads like you, would be second to none at Panther park.
Well said. I find it farcical that any other DV club player or supporter could call Panther Park a discrase. Lets face it, the DV is not blessed with picturesque or even atmospheric grounds like some other leagues have. Eltham is the exception. Even when its muddy or the weather is inclement, its still a ****load better ground OVERALL than any other in the league.There i said it.
touch of class
28 Jun 2006, 22:17
Once again TOC your post hits the nail on the head. Always enjoy reading your thoughts, you are probably one of the few out there that has a handle on the three leagues that you post on.
Seeing as we now have the week end off, who is the match of the round in EDFL and the DVFL? All going well a couple of us are keen to have a peep and see "how the other half live"
well in the dvfl we have heidleberg and lalor at heidleberg after a firey encounter thier first meeting should be a physical game and then we have northcote park vs bundoora even though it was 1 sided the first time we met its always been a close game at bundoora so we are hoping for another close one which i think we can win if all players switched on and at thier best but bundoora are a very good hard running team with plenty of skill they are a well drilled team with a good game plan but with our posistion on the ladder every game is like a final now so i know the boys are pumped for a big 2nd half of the year with every game is like a final and thats the attitude every player needs if we are to avoid relegation
melbdocker
28 Jun 2006, 22:28
if the panther cant play at st andrews how about eltham high? or maybe sims rd better yet susan st
Wayde Petersen
28 Jun 2006, 22:54
Just on the ground surfact at Eltham.If it's as bad as everybody is saying why on earth would the league play second division finals there.The ground is disgraceful and facilities/changerooms even worse.What's going on here?
Because they wanted to put the Division Two finals in a place worse than North Heidelberg, they fought that it would be fun to play finals in a damp, dank dump.
Why couldn't they be held at Diamond Creek ?, if they were looking at another DVFL Division One ground, at least the surface there isn't a total gluepatch, but it doesn't matter as far as i'm concerned becasue Mernda (except the Under 19's) & Panton Hill propbably won't make it anyway.
Wayde Petersen
28 Jun 2006, 23:12
If Fawkner Park's paid this years fees, (and are on thier way to paying the previous year's fees as well), then they should be able to come to an arrangement similar to Watsonia's (slowly paying it off in installments).
In the Kyabram League, Ardmona had the same problem as F/P (but thier financial worries started three weeks before the season), but they and the league came up with a plan that allowed the club to play if they paid the KDFL in full before the start of next season.
Ardy paid off the debt, through cut-backs, donations & added sponsorships, and now, their debt to the league has vanished.
You should as a club, should approach Watsonia & the DVFL to find out the exact details of how they managed to get the club back on track, and get the help of your remaining senior players, committee members, junior players, supporters & sponsors (and even allies from other clubs), and approach them directly to hear from them how to turn it around, and to get more money, players, etc.
Watsonia had the summer to save their club, Fawkner Park doesn't have time on it's side, so take any advice you can get and don't die wondering.
FWIW, Watsonia (like Macleod/Rosanna before them), should instigate a merger between themselves and St Damiens, in order to have a bridge between the two clubs that benefit both parties (the Mac/Ros & Macleod Juniors merger has worked very well for both clubs).
mitch_fc
29 Jun 2006, 01:28
Lower Plenty Bears website (lpfc.piczo.com)
BEST club site in the DVFL
FWIW, Watsonia (like Macleod/Rosanna before them), should instigate a merger between themselves and St Damiens, in order to have a bridge between the two clubs that benefit both parties (the Mac/Ros & Macleod Juniors merger has worked very well for both clubs).
it's a good idea, however most of the st. damiens kids goto parade college and most of them play senior footy at old paradians... it would be great for watsonia, but i can't see it happening...
If Fawkner Park's paid this years fees, (and are on thier way to paying the previous year's fees as well), then they should be able to come to an arrangement similar to Watsonia's (slowly paying it off in installments).
In the Kyabram League, Ardmona had the same problem as F/P (but thier financial worries started three weeks before the season), but they and the league came up with a plan that allowed the club to play if they paid the KDFL in full before the start of next season.
Ardy paid off the debt, through cut-backs, donations & added sponsorships, and now, their debt to the league has vanished.
You should as a club, should approach Watsonia & the DVFL to find out the exact details of how they managed to get the club back on track, and get the help of your remaining senior players, committee members, junior players, supporters & sponsors (and even allies from other clubs), and approach them directly to hear from them how to turn it around, and to get more money, players, etc.
Watsonia had the summer to save their club, Fawkner Park doesn't have time on it's side, so take any advice you can get and don't die wondering.
As far as I know last years fees have all been paid as well as at least one installment of this years fees. They were fined for playing an unregistered player in the reserves in the last or second last game last year. Rumoured to be $5000 but I can not confirm that. I have also heard it may have been a second offence. The secretary and reserves coach were also banned from holding any position in the club for 12 months. I don't know if this has been paid but it seems a bit steep for a struggling club.
Was Watsionia's all paid or some of it waived? I also heard, so I don't really know, that they were allowed to play without reserves due to lack of numbers. Can you confirm this is correct?
Firstly, yes Watsonia did fully pay all their outstanding debts, no amount was ever waived, you actually think the DVFL would ever do anything like that? Money is all their about!
Secondly it was 2004 that they couldn't foot the bill for that year so if Watsonia won any game in 04 it was not counted, but every player who was there stuck around and played the season out just because they loved it. In regards to reserves, although at times it was hard to field a team they managed to have a full reserves side every week. I think the reserves won 4 games that year with a surprising win over South Morang by a point. There was alot of heart in the players.
Thirdly, I don't know about Watsonia not being able to make a complaint to the DVFL when they weren't financial I don't think there wasn't any need to.
With Watsonia I believe they had to pay their outstanding fees in installments before certain deadlines, the last deadline being in the start of 05 (it was a couple of months before the season started I think). so yes basically they had the summer to pay it off.
Since they didnt make ends meet for season 04, they had to pay for 2 seasons (04-05) and I believe the registration fee is about $25,000 a year so it was a total of $50,000. Which is a fair wack in anyones language. But fortunately the new comittee that took over worked their behinds off and got enough sponsorship, 10 grand draws, and all sorts of fundraising to get themselves out of the crap. Fawkner Park just has to be prepared to do the hard work and give up alot of spare time and do these sorts of things if they want to get out of the mess they are in. It just takes a few passionate people with enough drive.
In regards to a merger with St. Damians I believe Watsonia has or is trying to do this, but as someone else has said most of the boys go to Parade and end up playing for the Old Paradians.
I just think it is great that Watsonia in there 2nd year since being in such a terrible position have changed things around so quickly and can now pay every senior game player at the club without any hassles. Next year has just gotta get better.
Coach Hollywood
29 Jun 2006, 10:50
Lower Plenty Bears website (http://lpfc.piczo.com)
C'mon Mitch don't get carried away with ludicrous comments like that one.
I think Pantonhillfc & Elthamfc are better than Lowers, and that's not being one eyed either as I've played at all 3 clubs. Fawkner Park's is quite good looking & Heidelberg West also has a good look to it. Lalor isn't bad either but I wouldn't say the Bears are the best.
Bubble Wrap
29 Jun 2006, 10:58
Hey Blubber Wrap,
Just checked my post Lickass,
Can't find anywhere where I said Eltham wasn't a great spot to watch footy or cricket. What I did say was that the surface is terrible, and as such shouldn't be allocated finals. The surface of the ground should be the number one consideration when choosing grounds, as the players safety and the quality of the surface (and hence the quality of the game) should take precedence over how nice the view is for the spectators.
In relation to the other posts about Watsonia, can confirm that not a cent of debt was waived by the DVFL. They also stripped the club of its points in 2004 for it's solitary win of the season for being unfinancial.
whitelinefeva
29 Jun 2006, 11:13
In regards to a merger with St. Damians I believe Watsonia has or is trying to do this, but as someone else has said most of the boys go to Parade and end up playing for the Old Paradians.
I would of thought St. Marys would be a better option. Who wouldn't be envious of a merger with the largest junior football club in Australia? ;)
Yes I believe they are trying very hard there, It is a bit hard for any team when they don't have and under 19's side. So if Watsonia can merge with St.Marys I think it would be a great outcome for both teams. The parents would be happy as it would give there boys something constructive to do after junior football and It would enable Watsonia to become a more consistently competitive side in the future as well.
Factual
29 Jun 2006, 12:04
As far as I know last years fees have all been paid as well as at least one installment of this years fees. They were fined for playing an unregistered player in the reserves in the last or second last game last year. Rumoured to be $5000 but I can not confirm that. I have also heard it may have been a second offence. The secretary and reserves coach were also banned from holding any position in the club for 12 months. I don't know if this has been paid but it seems a bit steep for a struggling club.
I can't believe Fawkner Park, the latest thing with South Morang is a joke, just read in the local paper how South Morang suspended someone for racial abuse for 12 weeks, apparantly the words used were ovaltine and cappacino, not very nice words, but does that justify getting bashed in public at one of our local footy grounds by thugs. Well the DVFL must think so because the player who jumped the fence with his mates only got one week, and apparently the game got cancelled and thier coach had to front and got a reprimand. Thier will be blokes jumpin the fence every week if this is how they deal with things in the DVFL. What happen Fawkner Park vs Lower Plenty, why did Fawkner Park apologise in the record? Fawkner Park vs Watsonia another fight? Fawkner Park vs Parkside, I felt sorry for Parksides Aboriginal players, did they cop a spray? Fawkner Park vs Thomastown, fair fight unprovoked? Fawkner Park vs Macleod, any eagles players go down? One common theme here and it is Fawkner Park. What happen in the Ammo's to them? I don't want my son playing in this league where he has to deal with this crap, it's supposed to be footy. Got any other stories? One day the people that run the DVFL will wake up and say enough is enough either that or their opponents each week won't turn up! And thats probably what should happen. If you have a story lets hear it.
Bubble Wrap
29 Jun 2006, 12:13
There was no fight at Fawkner Park v Watsonia.
You might not like them, but you can't just list every game they've played this season and add "any players go down?" to make it sound like they're thugs. In fact, when we played them, they clearly didn't have the cattle to be picking fights with anyone.
And with regard to the apology in the Record, my understanding is that after the game, when the Lower players went to head into the rooms for a beer (as you do), a Fawkner Park supporter told them they were not welcome. Turned out this numbnuts was not really connected with the club in any way, and that the committee were furious, as they are obviously quite keen to have people back in their rooms, given their financial problems. So they used their Record column to apologise to Lower for the mix-up.
Factual
29 Jun 2006, 12:32
You might not like them, but you can't just list every game they've played this season and add "any players go down?" to make it sound like they're thugs. In fact, when we played them, they clearly didn't have the cattle to be picking fights with anyone.
And with regard to the apology in the Record, my understanding is that after the game, when the Lower players went to head into the rooms for a beer (as you do), a Fawkner Park supporter told them they were not welcome. Turned out this numbnuts was not really connected with the club in any way, and that the committee were furious, as they are obviously quite keen to have people back in their rooms, given their financial problems. So they used their Record column to apologise to Lower for the mix-up.
Fair enough, when u go to watch a local game, watch some decent footy, it should not happen. Is it worthy of one week from the DVFL jumping the fence and belting somone? blokes get one week for swearing at an umpire.
I can't believe Fawkner Park, the latest thing with South Morang is a joke, just read in the local paper how South Morang suspended someone for racial abuse for 12 weeks, apparantly the words used were ovaltine and cappacino, not very nice words, but does that justify getting bashed in public at one of our local footy grounds by thugs. Well the DVFL must think so because the player who jumped the fence with his mates only got one week, and apparently the game got cancelled and thier coach had to front and got a reprimand. Thier will be blokes jumpin the fence every week if this is how they deal with things in the DVFL. What happen Fawkner Park vs Lower Plenty, why did Fawkner Park apologise in the record? Fawkner Park vs Watsonia another fight? Fawkner Park vs Parkside, I felt sorry for Parksides Aboriginal players, did they cop a spray? Fawkner Park vs Thomastown, fair fight unprovoked? Fawkner Park vs Macleod, any eagles players go down? One common theme here and it is Fawkner Park. What happen in the Ammo's to them? I don't want my son playing in this league where he has to deal with this crap, it's supposed to be footy. Got any other stories? One day the people that run the DVFL will wake up and say enough is enough either that or their opponents each week won't turn up! And thats probably what should happen. If you have a story lets hear it.
So, have you been watching all of Fawkner Park's games this year? :confused:
The South Morang game was called off when Fawkner Park walked off the ground on instruction from the coach, that is why he was reprimanded.
You have been replied to about Watsonia, against Macleod one player went down and was carried off but it was a fair bump, there was hardly a push and shove all day. I doubt Parkside's aboriginal players would have copped it due to Fawkner having a couple attached to the club.
If you read the posts in this thread it is quite clear that there are many unsavoury incidents involving all teams. You could probably look at every game and find some sort of incident so I don't know why you are singling them out.
As Bubble Wrap replied, they don't have the cattle on the field to be picking on anyone. Most of them are young scrawny guys, including one who is 16.
As I have stated previously, they are no angels but are no worse than some other clubs in the competition.
PS. I see you are a new poster so maybe you have not read all the posts in this thread on this subject.
I just think it is great that Watsonia in there 2nd year since being in such a terrible position have changed things around so quickly and can now pay every senior game player at the club without any hassles. Next year has just gotta get better.
It is a great effort and the deserve to be congratulated.
WRFLfan
29 Jun 2006, 13:00
well in the dvfl we have heidleberg and lalor at heidleberg after a firey encounter thier first meeting should be a physical game and then we have northcote park vs bundoora even though it was 1 sided the first time we met its always been a close game at bundoora so we are hoping for another close one which i think we can win if all players switched on and at thier best but bundoora are a very good hard running team with plenty of skill they are a well drilled team with a good game plan but with our posistion on the ladder every game is like a final now so i know the boys are pumped for a big 2nd half of the year with every game is like a final and thats the attitude every player needs if we are to avoid relegation
Northcote to proud of a club to be relagated with the likes of the great Pierre Haddad to come back they will be fine and read to make an impact in 2007, Go Cougars!!!!!!!!!!
WRFLfan
29 Jun 2006, 13:04
Lower Plenty Bears website (lpfc.piczo.com)
Did you play with Danny Sexton, good player good bloke
Giveyathemail
29 Jun 2006, 13:45
giveya is one of the most pasionate loyal blokes on here thats y i wouldnt want him hosting it if ne one said ne thing bad about lalor he would lose it yet thats y we all love him posting on here would be a good lalor corraspondent, there is a guy down at creek would be perfect for the job knows everything needed to know about dv footy (too much spare time) kid knows who he is.
just on social events a few of the senior blokes came up wit the idea of an 80's night, was pretty funny but last sat we had a "school night" and oh my god lets just say its lucky there arent a few blokes in jail. wit the talent that hangs around heid and monty wouldnt be a bad idea havin one of those nights
Thanks MD, I appreciate that mate :thumbsu:
Im the first to admit that sometimes I do let my passion for my club over-ride my unbiased view at times. That is something I am trying to curb though. I still beleive we have alot of great things about our competition. Its evident just reading through these posts from time to time that everyone on here, regardless of club, age or whatever differences we all may have.... we are all passionate about the Valley and its progress. I hope that this doesnt change. It also helps having alot of good mates around the Valley, from all different clubs. But I do appreciate your appraisal.
Factual
29 Jun 2006, 13:46
The South Morang game was called off when Fawkner Park walked off the ground on instruction from the coach, that is why he was reprimanded.
You have been replied to about Watsonia, against Macleod one player went down and was carried off but it was a fair bump, there was hardly a push and shove all day. I doubt Parkside's aboriginal players would have copped it due to Fawkner having a couple attached to the club.
If you read the posts in this thread it is quite clear that there are many unsavoury incidents involving all teams. You could probably look at every game and find some sort of incident so I don't know why you are singling them out.
Racial abuse might go on every week in some form either on the ground or of the ground and its not acceptable and every one is happy to see it being wiped out, but unless I'm mistaken a player jumping the fence and belting someone does not happen every week. If it was Ammo's he would have got a season at least. If it was EDFL he would have got 12 weeks. DVFL one week!!
As Bubble Wrap replied, they don't have the cattle on the field to be picking on anyone. Most of them are young scrawny guys, including one who is 16.
As I have stated previously, they are no angels but are no worse than some other clubs in the competition.
PS. I see you are a new poster so maybe you have not read all the posts in this thread on this subject.
Racial
Factual
29 Jun 2006, 13:51
Racial abuse might go on every week in some form either on the ground or of the ground and its not acceptable and every one is happy to see it being wiped out, but unless I'm mistaken a player jumping the fence and belting someone does not happen every week. If it was Ammo's he would have got a season at least. If it was EDFL he would have got 12 weeks. DVFL one week!!
Jewelsandbullet
29 Jun 2006, 13:56
Im the first to admit that sometimes I do let my passion for my club over-ride my unbiased view at times. That is something I am trying to curb though.
I reckon you're a classic split personality GYM :) - In the space of a few posts you can go from measured logic - to completely losing control - esp when it comes to your beloved bloods...
Not having a go by the way. Respect :thumbsu:
Seems the Lalor boys put in a huge performance last week - what are your thoughts about this week?
Giveyathemail
29 Jun 2006, 13:59
did anyone goto the doggies cougers game did the doggies play crap or are the cougers good? wonder how the cougers will go this week against the bulls with abit of confidence?
Spoke to a few Bulldogs on Monday night and they said the Parkers were fantastic. They are nowhere near the worst side in Divvy 1, and if Bundoora run out with the same side as they did last saturday, then im tipping the Cougars to beat Bundoora by 4 goals.
Big call I know, but the Cougars have been far from disgraceful this year, and Bundoora were far from impressive with their key players missing.
Giveyathemail
29 Jun 2006, 14:03
I reckon you're a classic split personality GYM :) - In the space of a few posts you can go from measured logic - to completely losing control - esp when it comes to your beloved bloods...
Not having a go by the way. Respect :thumbsu:
Seems the Lalor boys put in a huge performance last week - what are your thoughts about this week?
Thanks mate... slowly but surely we are getting players from all grades back from injury, but in the main game we are probably going to be 2 or 3 senior players away from really troubling an outfit so well drilled and disiplined as the Tigers. But we are going over there to fight it out for 120 minutes on Saturday though, they definatly wont get it all their way.
How about your guys??? No Cutho last week?
Luva Chat
29 Jun 2006, 14:09
Im the first to admit that sometimes I do let my passion for my club over-ride my unbiased view at times. That is something I am trying to curb though. I still beleive we have alot of great things about our competition. Its evident just reading through these posts from time to time that everyone on here, regardless of club, age or whatever differences we all may have.... we are all passionate about the Valley and its progress. I hope that this doesnt change. It also helps having alot of good mates around the Valley, from all different clubs. But I do appreciate your appraisal.
You sound like you know whats going on in the Valley, is this crap going on in Div 2. Blokes over fences and crap, just brings the valley name down. Whats the story with Fawkner? Is Factual talking crap!
Giveyathemail
29 Jun 2006, 14:12
You sound like you know whats going on in the Valley, is this crap going on in Div 2. Blokes over fences and crap, just brings the valley name down. Whats the story with Fawkner? Is Factual talking crap!
In all honesty mate, I had 1000 different reports on what went on so now the shutter has gone down on this issue as far as I am concerned. Your probably best off asking someone who was actually there mate :thumbsu:
I was not talking about the racial abuse, you were saying about games against Watsonia, Thomastown, Parkside, Macleod and Lower Plenty. Here is the quote from your post "What happen Fawkner Park vs Lower Plenty, why did Fawkner Park apologise in the record? Fawkner Park vs Watsonia another fight? Fawkner Park vs Parkside, I felt sorry for Parksides Aboriginal players, did they cop a spray? Fawkner Park vs Thomastown, fair fight unprovoked? Fawkner Park vs Macleod, any eagles players go down?". There is no mention of racial abuse there. Did you see there games or is it just hearsay?
I stand by my comment. " If you read the posts in this thread it is quite clear that there are many unsavoury incidents involving all teams. You could probably look at every game and find some sort of incident so I don't know why you are singling them out."
By the way, I agree that one week was light.
Bubble Wrap
29 Jun 2006, 14:26
Fair enough, when u go to watch a local game, watch some decent footy, it should not happen. Is it worthy of one week from the DVFL jumping the fence and belting somone? blokes get one week for swearing at an umpire.
No arguments there whatsoever - jumping the fence and punching on should be a season on the sidelines in most cases. However, the bloke in question is actually a pretty good bloke and didn't deserve the flak he copped from the ferals at South Morang. The DVFL has to shoulder a lot of the blame for this for their p1ssweak stance on pretty much everything - sets a bad precedent and makes it hard for them to come down hard on anyone in the future.
My personal opinion is that South Morang should have been fined about $1,000 and put on a sizeable bond - the clubs need to be made accountable for their supporters actions. The player in question should no doubt have been dealt with more harshly, although perhaps some leniency given the provokation involved (maybe 10 matches?).
As far as I know there are still no findings from the incident at North Heidelberg vs Diamond Creek - months ago now. Unless the DVFL get fair dinkum about all clubs behaviour, they will never shake their image as a poorly run, kangaroo court tribunal, amateurish set-up. And that's a crying shame because the actual standard of footballers the Diamond Valley area produces is first class, but too many of them go elsewhere because the DVFL is a farce, and they struggle to attract good playes from outside the Valley because of the reputation of the competition.
touch of class
29 Jun 2006, 14:40
Spoke to a few Bulldogs on Monday night and they said the Parkers were fantastic. They are nowhere near the worst side in Divvy 1, and if Bundoora run out with the same side as they did last saturday, then im tipping the Cougars to beat Bundoora by 4 goals.
Big call I know, but the Cougars have been far from disgraceful this year, and Bundoora were far from impressive with their key players missing.
i dont think its that big of a call in my honest belief that if we are switched on ready to play we can beat bundoora aslong as we can mantain our defensive pressure be in first for the ball and play with the willingness to win that we have shown in most games this year we have played in a number of close games that really could of gone either way and now with our posistion on the ladder and the fight we have got on our hands to avoid relegation every game now must be treated as a final where its win at all costs so im tipping that parkers come out ifor the rest of year with all guns blazing and make a better account for ourselves and win a few more games and start building a winning team for the future
Luva Chat
29 Jun 2006, 14:54
No arguments there whatsoever - jumping the fence and punching on should be a season on the sidelines in most cases. However, the bloke in question is actually a pretty good bloke and didn't deserve the flak he copped from the ferals at South Morang. The DVFL has to shoulder a lot of the blame for this for their p1ssweak stance on pretty much everything - sets a bad precedent and makes it hard for them to come down hard on anyone in the future.
My personal opinion is that South Morang should have been fined about $1,000 and put on a sizeable bond - the clubs need to be made accountable for their supporters actions. The player in question should no doubt have been dealt with more harshly, although perhaps some leniency given the provokation involved (maybe 10 matches?).
As far as I know there are still no findings from the incident at North Heidelberg vs Diamond Creek - months ago now. Unless the DVFL get fair dinkum about all clubs behaviour, they will never shake their image as a poorly run, kangaroo court tribunal, amateurish set-up. And that's a crying shame because the actual standard of footballers the Diamond Valley area produces is first class, but too many of them go elsewhere because the DVFL is a farce, and they struggle to attract good playes from outside the Valley because of the reputation of the competition.
North & Creek to many connections in Valley House, that one is gone under the carpet like many before it, never to be dealt with or heard from again. Then again neither of those clubs went screaming to the media trying to smoke screen thier own terrible actions, like the bloke from Fawkner Park, and it must of worked because he only got 1 week. Everytime something happens in the future you can bet more gets out to the media as a result of his victory. Why dont they videotape games? This would no doubt put all clubs and supporters on notice.
Bubble Wrap
29 Jun 2006, 15:03
North & Creek to many connections in Valley House, that one is gone under the carpet like many before it, never to be dealt with or heard from again. Then again neither of those clubs went screaming to the media trying to smoke screen thier own terrible actions, like the bloke from Fawkner Park, and it must of worked because he only got 1 week. Everytime something happens in the future you can bet more gets out to the media as a result of his victory. Why dont they videotape games? This would no doubt put all clubs and supporters on notice.
Why should the bloke have to put up with racial abuse because his club isn't financial? My understanding was the league refused to investigate initially given FP's debt to the league. Granted he couldn't have known that would be the case when he jumped the fence.
I agree regarding the taping of games. The biggest problem with that would be finding the people to do it, as no doubt if it was left up to the club, then the tapes would just happen to get lost/damaged after games in which their star players might come under scrutiny. Also, a single camera of amateur footage is going to be inconclusive a lot of the time.
If you had read earlier posts you would have known that F/P complained to the umpires during the game and they did nothing. The player got sent off for abusing the umpire for not acting. F/P also contacted the DVFL and were told they would do nothing because F/P were behind in their affiliation fees. Hence the media were contacted.
matchwinner
29 Jun 2006, 15:28
Spot on. Was also a great coach to play under. Disappointing when he left. Only saw glimpses of his best as a player because of his knees, but from all reports he used to tear games apart in the VFL when he was at his peak.
Luva Chat
29 Jun 2006, 15:43
Why should the bloke have to put up with racial abuse because his club isn't financial? My understanding was the league refused to investigate initially given FP's debt to the league. Granted he couldn't have known that would be the case when he jumped the fence.
I agree regarding the taping of games. The biggest problem with that would be finding the people to do it, as no doubt if it was left up to the club, then the tapes would just happen to get lost/damaged after games in which their star players might come under scrutiny. Also, a single camera of amateur footage is going to be inconclusive a lot of the time.
Yeh true but dont the tv stations love it and if the league didnt act on amutuer video, wouldn't they hate to see it on Channel Ed, the footy show or something, very embarrassing, I'm sure they would have to act alot more than they do now.
Wouldn't the club go to Football Victoria and ask them to investigate racial slurs? Or are they scared when it is all said and done nothing justifys what thier player did. If they are not financial, and the league won't hear thier complaints- isn't that a joke! From what I read 1 guy jumped the fence because he got called names, smashed up someone pretty bad and got 1 week suspension, while the racist got 12 weeks from his club. He has been dealt with twice - smashed once and suspended. Bring the game into total disrepute - 1 week hah/hah/hah thats a joke. Did he get charged by the jacks?
HotShoeShuffle
29 Jun 2006, 15:46
Yeh true but dont the tv stations love it and if the league didnt act on amutuer video, wouldn't they hate to see it on Channel Ed, the footy show or something, very embarrassing, I'm sure they would have to act alot more than they do now.
Wouldn't the club go to Football Victoria and ask them to investigate racial slurs? Or are they scared when it is all said and done nothing justifys what thier player did. If they are not financial, and the league won't hear thier complaints- isn't that a joke! From what I read 1 guy jumped the fence because he got called names, smashed up someone pretty bad and got 1 week suspension, while the racist got 12 weeks from his club. He has been dealt with twice - smashed once and suspended. Bring the game into total disrepute - 1 week hah/hah/hah thats a joke. Did he get charged by the jacks?
Bubble Boy, stop living in your bubble and give this issue a rest. It has been said and done, lets talk footy. Is Greensborough going to get promoted ?
Luva Chat
29 Jun 2006, 15:50
If you had read earlier posts you would have known that F/P complained to the umpires during the game and they did nothing. The player got sent off for abusing the umpire for not acting. F/P also contacted the DVFL and were told they would do nothing because F/P were behind in their affiliation fees. Hence the media were contacted.
Umpire abuse normally yellow card no send off. Did he get a red card?
Luva Chat
29 Jun 2006, 15:53
Bubble Boy, stop living in your bubble and give this issue a rest. It has been said and done, lets talk footy. Is Greensborough going to get promoted ?
Lets hope so for Divvy 1 sake, thier the only ones who could be competitive, with thier depth through 1st, 2nds and 19's.
Umpire abuse normally yellow card no send off. Did he get a red card?
No, Straight off and as far as I know no "jacks". And from what I have heard he never "smashed him up pretty bad"
Bubble Wrap
29 Jun 2006, 16:23
I didn't bring the issue up - I was too busy bagging Eltham's ground until someone else brought it up.
With regards to Greensborough, they seem the most logical choice for Div 1, in terms of having the ability to go up and stay there, although I haven't played against Lower yet, that's this week. They have some good juniors coming through that played seniors last week and were pretty impressive. Don't know how their finances are though - I assume pretty solid, and they might need to spend a bit to get just a couple of decent players to make sure they stay up in their first season of Div 1.
No guarantees though if the GF is at Whittlesea - bit of a bogy ground for them - lost their last 2 there.
Coach Hollywood
29 Jun 2006, 17:29
[quote=Coach Hollywood]Muttley, good to hear Thorny's finally broken into the 1's at Heidelberg.
Muttley, how did Thorny go on the weekend? Berger King maybe you could let us know also or anyone else who saw the game?
mitch_fc
29 Jun 2006, 17:59
his last year as senior coach was my first year at lower as a under 19. He's defiantely a good player and good bloke. very popular amongst player at our club (although there arent many left from his era at all!!!!). its good to see him having success with the Northern Knights.
And Hollywood, i might be a tad bias in Website rating. Panton Hill and Eltham are also very good, i often have a peep at theirs, as i know a few boys at each club. LPFC.piczo.com is in its early days, give it time!!
mitch_fc
29 Jun 2006, 18:05
can anyone tell me the rule in regards to qualifying for 2's finals in DVFL???
ive played 1's everygame i have been available (8 matches so far) but am not going to be able to train for the rest of the season due to work. assuming i will lose my place, i would still like to play finals footy. Assuming our 2's make it of course. i know that if we have 2 sides in finals, anyone can play, but who knows what will happen.
can anyone tell me the rule in regards to qualifying for 2's finals in DVFL???
ive played 1's everygame i have been available (8 matches so far) but am not going to be able to train for the rest of the season due to work. assuming i will lose my place, i would still like to play finals footy. Assuming our 2's make it of course. i know that if we have 2 sides in finals, anyone can play, but who knows what will happen.
i think you would have to play 8 reserve grade games, if you play 1 senior game. i am not sure with how many senior games you can play before you can't play two's games, unless your seniors play on the same day it, same final wouldn't matter i think thats how it still works in the DV.
BERGER KING
29 Jun 2006, 20:58
Wasnt at the game but from all reports Thorn was great and will hold his spot for this weeks tight game vs Lalor even with a few big names returning.
mitch_fc
29 Jun 2006, 22:29
i think you would have to play 8 reserve grade games, if you play 1 senior game. i am not sure with how many senior games you can play before you can't play two's games, unless your seniors play on the same day it, same final wouldn't matter i think thats how it still works in the DV.
sounds right actually. i told the coach i wont be training, but he said he'll keep picking me if my form warrants it.
crispy creme
29 Jun 2006, 22:38
Touch of Class - for the sake of the game this week at Yulong, I hope your guys are switched on because if they're not, Bundoora (even well below full strength) will give you a good old fashioned hiding like earlier in the year at Westgarth Street.:)
melbdocker
29 Jun 2006, 23:28
just on the watsonia thing i think it would be a great idea if the merged wit a junior club works well wit lower plenty/research and bundoora/mill park how ever i am 99% sure st mary's would never want to merge there junior club st damiens would be a very smart choise, watsonia tried to do it with yarrambat a few yrs ago when they won the 17's div 1 prem wit players like Jarred Tilley, Michael Mitchell, Arian Wilson(all bun), Shane McCarthy(hurst), Ben Charlmers(wafl i think) and Adam Jordan(bullants). the players at the time were pretty keen all wanted to keep playing together but the bats didnt want ne of it and it didnt get off the ground at all
David_02
29 Jun 2006, 23:39
who ever gets yarrambat will turn into a very strong club in the end.
its a shame no-one had got affiliated from about 6 years ago.
Supporter was associated with the club because I ws informed by club official that he was suspended from the club and fined $500 for his actions. As of last Sunday I was told they would not be around next season and issue is not just financial but lack of support generally.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
30 Jun 2006, 10:11
[quote=Coach Hollywood]Muttley, good to hear Thorny's finally broken into the 1's at Heidelberg.
Muttley, how did Thorny go on the weekend? Berger King maybe you could let us know also or anyone else who saw the game?
Played a really good game in terrible conditions. Held his spot in the side and is starting in the forward pocket. :thumbsu:
I was Secco`s T/Manager at Lower for his 3 seasons, not only a great bloke but inspirational leader, one of my favourite people in football. Did alot for Lower and left a big impression. Going ok at Knights as well.
Muttley
30 Jun 2006, 10:19
Muttley, how did Thorny go on the weekend? Berger King maybe you could let us know also or anyone else who saw the game?[/quote]
The conditions at Eltham suited Thorny's in and under type play. His raking left foot broke the lines on several occasions where others struggled. He was named in the best and it wasn't just because it was his debut and he was being looked after. He's been rewarded by starting on the ground tomorrow on the HFF. A credit to him considering 3 B&F players return to the side in Hall, Lee & Haydock along with J Murphy.
In breaking news another recent B&F player in Kristian Pascoe will return to the fold and pull the boots on within the next couple of weeks.
who ever gets yarrambat will turn into a very strong club in the end.
its a shame no-one had got affiliated from about 6 years ago.
Very strong stand alone junior club who don`t want an affiliation.
How ya travelling Dave?
TheMadRicer
30 Jun 2006, 10:54
The conditions at Eltham suited Thorny's in and under type play. His raking left foot broke the lines on several occasions where others struggled. He was named in the best and it wasn't just because it was his debut and he was being looked after. He's been rewarded by starting on the ground tomorrow on the HFF. A credit to him considering 3 B&F players return to the side in Hall, Lee & Haydock along with J Murphy.
In breaking news another recent B&F player in Kristian Pascoe will return to the fold and pull the boots on within the next couple of weeks.[/QUOTE]
Muttley June 30 today. Any news on the late signings we were promised??The Heidleberg powerbrokers would be very keen to add to their list in order to cover Bundoora. Would be a shame if it was at the expense of a diehard like Andy Martin though.
My belief is that the Bulls will only improve in the second half of the year.
Supporter was associated with the club because I ws informed by club official that he was suspended from the club and fined $500 for his actions. As of last Sunday I was told they would not be around next season and issue is not just financial but lack of support generally.
He is still associated with the club and played in the firsts last Saturday. I don't think he was suspended as I am pretty certain he played the week before as well. I don't believe the $500 bit, they may have tried to fine him but knowing they guy I can tell you he would not pay.
As much as I hate to say it I think you are correct about their fate. Lack of players, finances and especially local support will probably see them fold. The juniors have all but folded due to lack of numbers and only an under 11 team exists. Without juniors it makes their task even harder.
touch of class
30 Jun 2006, 11:38
Touch of Class - for the sake of the game this week at Yulong, I hope your guys are switched on because if they're not, Bundoora (even well below full strength) will give you a good old fashioned hiding like earlier in the year at Westgarth Street.:)
well mate im pretty positive that our boys will come out firing knowing we have got eveything to lose i think you will see a better parkers team than the 1 you played earlier so im tipping a close physical encounter that we can win even though we know bundoora are a very good side and will be hard to beat at home but i really think we are up for the challenge
Muttley
30 Jun 2006, 11:45
Muttley June 30 today. Any news on the late signings we were promised??The Heidleberg powerbrokers would be very keen to add to their list in order to cover Bundoora. Would be a shame if it was at the expense of a diehard like Andy Martin though.
My belief is that the Bulls will only improve in the second half of the year.[/quote]
I'm led to believe Trev's having lunch with Cory Mc today so just maybe.
I can't see who will push Marto out even with a full list to pick from, a great mate of everyone’s at the club including Hunter. Marto was named skipper of the twos this year but after being elevated 7 weeks ago, hasn't looked back. He adds that bit of bite and passion others thrive off. Funny thing the other week where he was scribing the mark with his boot after giving away a 25m penalty and in the process accidentally kicked dirt onto the ump. Character!
Factual
30 Jun 2006, 13:35
Very strong stand alone junior club who don`t want an affiliation.
How ya travelling Dave?
Good decision by a smart junior club. Giving their kids the freedom to choose any Senior Club they may wish to play for means more clubs will court their players and more players will go on to play senior footy. Much better than selling their souls for a few dollars towards the affiliation fee's. Anyone that can play from Yarambat will get chased by Mernda, Diamond Creek and Bundoora. CHOICE is important the sooner the clearance procedure changes as per Football Victoria directives and initiatives the better. No more ownership of players.
crispy creme
30 Jun 2006, 13:40
T.O.C - Here's hoping for a good game tomorrow. The one thing I will say though, is that the last time someone on here really talked their team up for a big upset, was GYTM & we all know how the Bloods fared down at Para Rd!:D
Giveyathemail
30 Jun 2006, 13:49
T.O.C - Here's hoping for a good game tomorrow. The one thing I will say though, is that the last time someone on here really talked their team up for a big upset, was GYTM & we all know how the Bloods fared down at Para Rd!:D
I didnt did I.... We were very undermanned that week, and to pick us to beat an in form Mont I would have been stoned.
Anyone know Bundooras inclusions for 2morrow?
Giveyathemail
30 Jun 2006, 13:57
I just looked through my posts and I never predicted us to beat Mont at all Crispy... if I have overlooked it please re-post it for me.
touch of class
30 Jun 2006, 17:16
well mate i have to get my support behind the boys as times like these its needed more than others and i havent really talked them up i just stated a few things that could go along way to making sure we give ourselves every oppertunity to win a game that we desperately need to win
crispy creme
30 Jun 2006, 17:32
GYTM - Just looked back over the posts and I owe you an apology. I misread your thoughts and took them out of context.:thumbsu:
crispy creme
30 Jun 2006, 17:34
T.O.C - I can't knock a bloke for supporting his mates. Too many are more than happy to share the spoils when things are rosy, however when times get tough often theose same blokes are the first to cast shadows.
hey anyone on here heard of or know what has happened to a craig kelly or nedda?
WRFLfan
30 Jun 2006, 21:22
T.O.C - I can't knock a bloke for supporting his mates. Too many are more than happy to share the spoils when things are rosy, however when times get tough often theose same blokes are the first to cast shadows.
Thru Thick and Thin great form, Touch of Class you are more than a touch good luck on the weekend. Heard two teams folded in the 19s sh it situation.
touch of class
30 Jun 2006, 21:51
thanks mate tried to get my mate out for a big weekend seeing there is no footy for the colts but he is doing the right thing by the misses lets just see how long that keeps up but i think after the last few weekends you boys have a spell wouldnt go astray anyways im off to patrol the dance floors down chapple st take it easy mate
how about some tips for this week?
i'd go with, div 1: Diamond Creek, Heidelberg, North Heidelberg, Montmorency, Bundoora.
div 2: Mernda, Whittlesea, South Morang, Panton Hill, Lower Plenty, Reservoir, Greensborough, Macleod.
melbdocker
1 Jul 2006, 00:42
big game tomoz boys in terms of religation after the epping loss the creek boys really need to get ova the line, even though from all reports no one will be getting relegated cause heid are almost gone to the efl
BERGER KING
1 Jul 2006, 13:06
Bergers virtually at full strength today. Ins are Lee,Haydock,Hall,& Murphy.and maybe Corey McK. Shearer & Williams brothers missing. Webber &Trew held their spots - both on the bench.Expecting strong opposition from improving Lalor:)
mitch_fc
2 Jul 2006, 13:51
Lower Plenty played very good footy all day in disposing of Watsonia. With players to come back, we'll be hard to stop!!!! the Bears love the big grounds as well.
He is still associated with the club and played in the firsts last Saturday. I don't think he was suspended as I am pretty certain he played the week before as well. I don't believe the $500 bit, they may have tried to fine him but knowing they guy I can tell you he would not pay.
As much as I hate to say it I think you are correct about their fate. Lack of players, finances and especially local support will probably see them fold. The juniors have all but folded due to lack of numbers and only an under 11 team exists. Without juniors it makes their task even harder.
OK, well that was the info that was emailed to me from X Pres.
Good decision by a smart junior club. Giving their kids the freedom to choose any Senior Club they may wish to play for means more clubs will court their players and more players will go on to play senior footy. Much better than selling their souls for a few dollars towards the affiliation fee's. Anyone that can play from Yarambat will get chased by Mernda, Diamond Creek and Bundoora. CHOICE is important the sooner the clearance procedure changes as per Football Victoria directives and initiatives the better. No more ownership of players.
Dissagree to a certain extent, I think it`s important for senior clubs to have an affiliatiation with a junior club for the obvious reasons of developing there own backyard and easing the financial burden of having to enter the market to recruit. Some senior clubs don`t do themselves any favours in this regards but I can testify through personal experience that the relationship between my club (Lower Plenty) and Research Juniors is sensational at the moment. We have a senior coach who attends pretty much all Under 17 games and athe U/17`s coach at Research is at most of the Lower Plenty games. The under 17`s have already trained 4 times with the seniors this year and a number of senior players have assisted with specialist coaching of these boys. Both clubs are rapt with the support of one another and the bond will only get stronger. Your argument about choice is relevant but clubs like ourselves should not be penalised because of the mistakes and laziness of others. I think what Football Victoria should do is introduce the points system that operates in some country leagues where by each club is given a points allocation per player that plays in there 1`s ie: player recruited through juniors 0 points, another Metro League 2 points, opposition club 3 points, VFL 4 points, AFL 5 points. So for example if last years premiers were allocated 40 points in total per game then they could not play any player in there 1`s on any given week that would take them over there points allocation. Obviously the incentive would be to play there own juniors as they accrue 0 points, would force clubs to take a greater interest in there juniors and would be more enforceable than a salary cap. Clubs without a Junior structure for legitimate reasons like Kinglake would be allocated a higher points total as they would not survive without recruitment, would also stop the widespread targeting of some clubs better juniors by the more powerful clubs.
Lower Plenty played very good footy all day in disposing of Watsonia. With players to come back, we'll be hard to stop!!!! the Bears love the big grounds as well.
What about that bloke Mitch Skelly kicking 5, surprised you could not find time for praise of the fastest white man in the Valley.
mitch_fc
2 Jul 2006, 17:41
What about that bloke Mitch Skelly kicking 5, surprised you could not find time for praise of the fastest white man in the Valley.
yeah, well i dont want his head getting any bigger....
I like Watsonia.... might move their next year :)
projecter screen, pot sculling for best on ground and a decent size ground!!!
melbdocker
2 Jul 2006, 22:22
so i see bigfooty's own mitch kicked 5 goals yday how did u snag them fc? just lucky front and centre snaps or did u bring the big dukes out on the lead or in the pack?
south_hawk
2 Jul 2006, 22:39
5 ay Skelrat, welldone sunshine.
mitch_fc
2 Jul 2006, 23:47
Junk time.
Junk time.
The whole game was junk time, in all honesty though was a good performance by Mitch and the boys. Was surprised by the lack of Watsonia senior representation in the rooms after the game, all the more so being at Watsonia, also J.Little from Watsonia very, very lucky not to be having a Wednesday apppointment at D.V. House after nice punch to side of Lower Plenty ruckmens jaw right in front of Umpire.
Credit must go to Dasha for not employing the flood on the w/e. He gave his kids an opportunity to go one on one with the heavy weights of the comp and although they had 31 goals kicked against them, it was a good spectacle. What wasn't admirable was the constant abuse hurled at the opposition once the game was out of reach, 15mins into the match.
Interesting to see spearhead Saad playing down back on Dean before he was benched in the 3rd term. Any reason?
The whole game was junk time, in all honesty though was a good performance by Mitch and the boys. Was surprised by the lack of Watsonia senior representation in the rooms after the game, all the more so being at Watsonia, also J.Little from Watsonia very, very lucky not to be having a Wednesday apppointment at D.V. House after nice punch to side of Lower Plenty ruckmens jaw right in front of Umpire.
I agree the game was very dissapointing to watch. Didn't look like any of the Watsonia players turned up to the game. Didn't help that the senior coach wasn't there for a bit of guidance but thats no excuse. I'm not to sure what you mean 'brutal' by lack of Watsonia senior representation in the rooms. I thought there was a fair few boys there, everyone always sticks around for the pot sculling after the game, glad you enjoyed that one mitch! J. little threw a beauty of a roundhouse punch, thought he was extremely lucky not too get pinged!! How is the blokes jaw feeling after that??
Must say didn`t see many of the senior guys during game so maybe I just couldn`t recognise them after. Young Tickles jaw aint too bad, looks a bit like popeye but otherwise ok. Where was Tev Little? was looking forward to a chat with him after the game.
matchwinner
3 Jul 2006, 11:51
Have to question that J. Little blokes motivation for playing footy. Seemed like all he wanted to do was fight! As soon as a small scuffle broke out he was first in wildly throwing punches. And then in the last quarter two blokes were pushing each other up the other end of the field, and he started running towards them from the other end, presumably for another chance to throw a punch. And was also yelling out comments at his teammates to stomp on opposition players heads. He's already been suspended once this season and seems like he hasn't learnt his lesson!!!
Anybody down at Crispe Park on Saturday would have witnessed a fast flowing, hard hitting action packed game between Reservoir and Wallan. Good to see 2 young sides have a dead set crack at it. There where a few hangers some huge goals and some descent bumps.
Wallan were missing a few guys from their midfield and with Whiteway getting injured in the first 5 minutes didnt help the cause.
In a close encounter the crowd were on their seats all day reserve game included.
Anyone heading down to Crispe Park make sure you sample the chicken snitzel rolls at the canteen, I reccommend with cheese and colesaw. At first glance I thought the lady behind the canteen was passing me a grid iron ball. ( absolutlely huge )
Giveyathemail
3 Jul 2006, 13:08
Credit must go to Dasha for not employing the flood on the w/e. He gave his kids an opportunity to go one on one with the heavy weights of the comp and although they had 31 goals kicked against them, it was a good spectacle. What wasn't admirable was the constant abuse hurled at the opposition once the game was out of reach, 15mins into the match.
Interesting to see spearhead Saad playing down back on Dean before he was benched in the 3rd term. Any reason?
It got a little ugly in that last term though, with the ease at which Heidelberg appeared to score. They are a well drilled disiplined unit, and I beleive they will go on to win the flag in 2006 (barring injury). The injuries we got early and late in the game didnt help.
I think the rational in the Johar move (this is my understanding, it may not have been Dasha's) was that we were a bit light down back and needed a bit of aggression down there to try and stem the flow of delivery to Dean and Hall. It was also to try and get Johar to impact on the game, which he failed to do up forward. Hally wouldve made 80 leads on the weekend, and they went to him at least 60 times. Young Czerny done a great job down there.