View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Giveyathemail
3 Jul 2006, 13:24
GYTM - Just looked back over the posts and I owe you an apology. I misread your thoughts and took them out of context.:thumbsu:
No apology reqd :thumbsu:
touch of class
3 Jul 2006, 13:28
well northcote park didnt get beat by as much as the 1st meeting but we were outclassed once again we look like we can be competitive but then we fall away not sure if its fitness or inexperience but what is so frustrating is that at times we play good hard competitive footy only to fall away even though we got beat by a bit we had a few blokes that never gave up which was good now we just have to regroup and focus on next week
Very disappointing GYTM.
THe Bloods gave up without a whimper on Saturday. Heidelberg were very weary coming in after seeing how close you guys pushed the Bunnies. But you never even fired a shot. Gee Benny Kinnear looks like has been in a good paddock. Did all right when the ball got to him but just doesn't cover the ground. Need him fit and at CHF. That last quarter what did the Bergers kick 12 goals and about 12 behinds. With percentage playing such a big role in the regulation stakes I really thought that the Bloods would baton down the hatches. Your thoughts on the Bloods and Bergers?
Ps. Where is Stevie Marshall? Great player but is his body shot?
Giveyathemail
3 Jul 2006, 14:03
Very disappointing GYTM.
THe Bloods gave up without a whimper on Saturday. Heidelberg were very weary coming in after seeing how close you guys pushed the Bunnies. But you never even fired a shot. Gee Benny Kinnear looks like has been in a good paddock. Did all right when the ball got to him but just doesn't cover the ground. Need him fit and at CHF. That last quarter what did the Bergers kick 12 goals and about 12 behinds. With percentage playing such a big role in the regulation stakes I really thought that the Bloods would baton down the hatches. Your thoughts on the Bloods and Bergers?
Ps. Where is Stevie Marshall? Great player but is his body shot?
Soppa is injured, has been all year bar 2 or 3 games. Chronic hamstring issue. Heidelberg had alot of good players come back into their side. We have 8 kids under the age of 22, 13 or 14 under 25. BK wasnt too bad I thought, and made most of the limited chances we had down there. We couldve flooded, but we dont beleive we would be doing anyone any justice by doing that, in particular the young blokes who we are trying to expose to senior footy. We want to teach them to be attacking, physical, proud and loyal and flooding for the sake of flooding just isnt in our plans under any circumstances. To be successful you need to be attacking, and we dont want to teach these young blokes that its alright to turn to a flood every time your getting smashed. Of course im disappointed, but Heidelberg are a quality unit, we have injuries, we are young and developing. Lets just say that our next 5 weeks are our finals for 2006...
kanga fan man
3 Jul 2006, 14:17
The Burgers looked really good on saturday , Bloods struggling with injuries and alot of young players playing which is good for the club, hopefully we get a few back this week in a must win game.
How was sat nite GYTM heard was a big one..
Giveyathemail
3 Jul 2006, 14:24
The Burgers looked really good on saturday , Bloods struggling with injuries and alot of young players playing which is good for the club, hopefully we get a few back this week in a must win game.
How was sat nite GYTM heard was a big one..
Massive mate, really good night. Got home yesterday arvo, around 4.30 I think...
Must say didn`t see many of the senior guys during game so maybe I just couldn`t recognise them after. Young Tickles jaw aint too bad, looks a bit like popeye but otherwise ok. Where was Tev Little? was looking forward to a chat with him after the game.
Trev Little was best man at a wedding that day. We really needed him and Marc Ventura (who hasn't played for a month). We have alot of injury's at the moment and a few blokes that have just come back not match fit which doesnt help, but nothing excuses a defeat like that. We get Trev and Ventura back next week against South Morang so it should be a much better game to watch.
Have to question that J. Little blokes motivation for playing footy. Seemed like all he wanted to do was fight! As soon as a small scuffle broke out he was first in wildly throwing punches. And then in the last quarter two blokes were pushing each other up the other end of the field, and he started running towards them from the other end, presumably for another chance to throw a punch. And was also yelling out comments at his teammates to stomp on opposition players heads. He's already been suspended once this season and seems like he hasn't learnt his lesson!!!
He is a very hard person to tame J. Little. That is his only down fall. He has great skills and I have seen him play some great football. But when there is the slightest excuse to have a fight unfortunately he is in there with guns a' blazing. He just sees red. I think his brother needed to be there to calm him down.
joshooaa
3 Jul 2006, 17:53
Can anyone from ELtham tell me what the story is? Very Very dissapointed to open the results page in the Herald sun and see the weekends result.
I aqaite Eltham getting soundly beaten by Diamond Creek to a guy getting beaten up by his little sisiter... it just aint right.
Congatulations to Creek though it pains me to say. I am struggling to deal with the idea of this loss as I played all my juniors with a deep dislike for our neighbouring teams, Diamond Creek in particular as in my first game of under 10's i had to play for them for a quarter due to lack of numbers! those bastards.:mad: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Can anyone from ELtham tell me what the story is? Very Very dissapointed to open the results page in the Herald sun and see the weekends result.
I aqaite Eltham getting soundly beaten by Diamond Creek to a guy getting beaten up by his little sisiter... it just aint right.
Congatulations to Creek though it pains me to say. I am struggling to deal with the idea of this loss as I played all my juniors with a deep dislike for our neighbouring teams, Diamond Creek in particular as in my first game of under 10's i had to play for them for a quarter due to lack of numbers! those bastards.:mad: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Was at Creek on Sat and to be totally honest they were never in either of the games...... Should have been smashed in the Two's except for a tough 3rd Q that didn't see a goal kicked.... The men in orange were well below par with some very strange decisions.... Well done to the Diamo 2's on a good win after comin off probably a shock loss the week b4....hopin they can stick with it and play div 1 finals....... Regardless great effort for their fisrt year up with a new 2's coach......
In the One's they neva had a sniff..... Creek looked good with the younger quicker players using the wide open firm ground.....
Jimmy Gwilt
3 Jul 2006, 20:08
big game tomoz boys in terms of religation after the epping loss the creek boys really need to get ova the line, even though from all reports no one will be getting relegated cause heid are almost gone to the efl
mate thats awesome news and it would take pressure off alot of teams - hope heid go up as it would take pressure off us
was at the bulls v nthct park game on sat saw a dirty act by number 25 for the cougers when there was abit of a scuffle and a bundoora player was on the ground went up behind him and kiked him in the back a couple of times while he was on the ground who was it i no he got reported but am not sure if it was for that incident
David_02
3 Jul 2006, 22:21
was at the bulls v nthct park game on sat saw a dirty act by number 25 for the cougers when there was abit of a scuffle and a bundoora player was on the ground went up behind him and kiked him in the back a couple of times while he was on the ground who was it i no he got reported but am not sure if it was for that incident
yeah he got reported but god knows what that umpire was doing, he didn't even send him off the ground and they started play with him still on.
poor umpiring in that game bundoora have copped it the last 3 weeks.
Have to question that J. Little blokes motivation for playing footy. Seemed like all he wanted to do was fight! As soon as a small scuffle broke out he was first in wildly throwing punches. And then in the last quarter two blokes were pushing each other up the other end of the field, and he started running towards them from the other end, presumably for another chance to throw a punch. And was also yelling out comments at his teammates to stomp on opposition players heads. He's already been suspended once this season and seems like he hasn't learnt his lesson!!!
Good call Matchwinner and your just doing the business in that Hauser/Knee led defence week in week out. Doing some good work down there.
yeah he got reported but god knows what that umpire was doing, he didn't even send him off the ground and they started play with him still on.
poor umpiring in that game bundoora have copped it the last 3 weeks.
yeh can agree with that been there last 3 games also some very silly decisions ii think they need to go over a couple of the rules when the bundoora coach asked one of the boundry umpires where they get there field umpires from after a shocking decison he just laughed and kind of said i dunno mate
mate thats awesome news and it would take pressure off alot of teams - hope heid go up as it would take pressure off us
Alot of talk about this Heidelberg thing on this site, I`m surprised it has not come at the delegates meeting. I have been to 2 of the last three, thought someone may have had a crack. Can anyone speak with any certainty of it happening.
Ohh it's happening.
Meetings are already happening. If the details can be worked out, they are gone. Three high ranking Eastern officals were at the Lalor game.
mitch_fc
4 Jul 2006, 00:05
5 ay Skelrat, welldone sunshine.
who's this brutal???
im guessing an ex bear...
TREWIE 21 HFC
4 Jul 2006, 02:32
Alot of talk about this Heidelberg thing on this site, I`m surprised it has not come at the delegates meeting. I have been to 2 of the last three, thought someone may have had a crack. Can anyone speak with any certainty of it happening.
hope the burgers do go better comp dvfl has died a bit in the last couple of years!
TREWIE 21 HFC
4 Jul 2006, 03:36
Obe1 you have no idea what you're talking about. Colts and Caddy will definitely end in tears.
Of course he got a kick. Western Region is well below DV, Eastern and EDFL.
10 million to 1 on he won't be at Williamstown rd next year. Even though you deserve each other.
TheMadRicer what a name is that you deon ciabola?
Was at Creek on Sat and to be totally honest they were never in either of the games...... Should have been smashed in the Two's except for a tough 3rd Q that didn't see a goal kicked.... The men in orange were well below par with some very strange decisions.... Well done to the Diamo 2's on a good win after comin off probably a shock loss the week b4....hopin they can stick with it and play div 1 finals....... Regardless great effort for their fisrt year up with a new 2's coach......
In the One's they neva had a sniff..... Creek looked good with the younger quicker players using the wide open firm ground.....
Gee Mate, I think you were probably at the wrong Game. The Men in orange (and believe me, I'm no fan of them) didn't influence either result.
Creek 1's simply just wanted the game more than the Panthers seemed to, and were helped by some very Bad kicking for goal by Eltham. Result blew out in last quarter but Creek deserved.
In the 2's, Creek got off to a very good start but Panthers were very competitive through 2nd & 3rd quarters. Creek did enough to hold off, and ran home strongly in last quarter.
Whilst I concede that the Creek 2's are a very good side, I think some of you Blokes have been inflating their ability a tad.
Mont & Bunny 2's are much better!:cool:
Gee Mate, I think you were probably at the wrong Game. The Men in orange (and believe me, I'm no fan of them) didn't influence either result.
Creek 1's simply just wanted the game more than the Panthers seemed to, and were helped by some very Bad kicking for goal by Eltham. Result blew out in last quarter but Creek deserved.
In the 2's, Creek got off to a very good start but Panthers were very competitive through 2nd & 3rd quarters. Creek did enough to hold off, and ran home strongly in last quarter.
Whilst I concede that the Creek 2's are a very good side, I think some of you Blokes have been inflating their ability a tad.
Mont & Bunny 2's are much better!:cool:
first of all neva did i say the umps had an influence on either result!!!!!read my post correctly it says that they made some strange decisions.... i find it a bit strange when umps start paying 25m against the crowd.... maybe u don't?
secondly Monts 2's smashed Diamo's 2's last time but to our boys credit they had a crack the whole game.... and against the Bunny's in Pickles 400th they got within 2pts to end up down by 8pts i think... not a bad effort...
Neva have i said they were the best 2's side just am wrapped with the way they are travelling considering most said they would get flogged at the start of the year.....
good to see you have done your homework.....
matchwinner
4 Jul 2006, 12:01
Good call Matchwinner and your just doing the business in that Hauser/Knee led defence week in week out. Doing some good work down there.
Got a fairly settled group back there at the moment, which is helping. Monger is definitely the star of the group though and its been a bit of a master stroke playing him back there this year. Was good to play on a bigger ground last week and have the opportunity to run up the ground a bit.
Couldn't agree more matchwinner in regards to Clint.
His ability to hit targets with 50 metre + kicks goes a long way to setting up forward thrusts.
Very important player for the team who was sorely missed against Kinglake.
Giveyathemail
4 Jul 2006, 13:36
Ohh it's happening.
Meetings are already happening. If the details can be worked out, they are gone. Three high ranking Eastern officals were at the Lalor game.
They want out, and are about 80% into the details as we speak. That was confirmed to me on Saturday.
touch of class
4 Jul 2006, 14:00
well it will be a sad thing to see heidleberg go seen them play in many great games against the parkers over the years this will hurt the league and lower the standard of footy even more
Jewelsandbullet
4 Jul 2006, 14:12
They want out, and are about 80% into the details as we speak. That was confirmed to me on Saturday.
As much as I hate them, I think it would be a shame to see such a long standing Diamond Valley club move from the competition, we really do need teams like Heidelberg to remain. I'm interested in what Heidelberg supporters on this site think.. it seems that most support the move, but I find it hard to believe there isn't people within the club who are against it.
So if this happens what do you think is the likely repercussion for DIV1 GYTM?
Two teams come up next year (like what happens in Ammos), or no team is relegated and winner of DIV 2 premiership comes up?
Giveyathemail
4 Jul 2006, 14:23
As much as I hate them, I think it would be a shame to see such a long standing Diamond Valley club move from the competition, we really do need teams like Heidelberg to remain. I'm interested in what Heidelberg supporters on this site think.. it seems that most support the move, but I find it hard to believe there isn't people within the club who are against it.
Two teams come up next year (like what happens in Ammos), or no team is relegated and winner of DIV 2 premiership comes up?
No team is relegated, the Divvy 2 premier comes up as normal.
Id like them to stay in the comp, but im not going to lose any sleep if they dont. I think they are having dramas attracting "high profile" players and sponsors in the Valley, and truth be told, they are actually going to a weaker standard of footy. A mate of mine plays at Donvale, and in all honesty, they arent real hard at it. Heidelberg will dominate that comp, make no mistake about that. But it isnt as physical, the grounds are better... who knows their rational behind their plans????
What will be interesting is which players stay and which ones go....
I reckon it'd be a shame for the DVL if one of their top sides was to depart - obviously there's been talk about it for a while, but that's what I thought it all was...talk..
I'd imagine there's still a long way to go before they leave, I still haven't heard anyone from the EFL saying that they would welcome a new club into the league, and I've got a few mates who play at the bergers and no-one has mentioned anything about it...surely the club would need to talk to the players to see firstly how many agree with the proposed move, and secondly to see how many would stay if they DID transfer to a new league, but were put into Div 2...couldn't imagine they'd go straight into Div 1...
Still, it'd be interesting to see how they'd go against Vermont, Donvale and the like..
In regards to what would happen if they left, surely the DV would revamp the entire format and change it to 3 divisions...prob the 2 second div grand finalists going up and the wooden spoon winners in div 1 going down would be most fair..
Giveyathemail
4 Jul 2006, 14:33
I reckon it'd be a shame for the DVL if one of their top sides was to depart - obviously there's been talk about it for a while, but that's what I thought it all was...talk..
I'd imagine there's still a long way to go before they leave, I still haven't heard anyone from the EFL saying that they would welcome a new club into the league, and I've got a few mates who play at the bergers and no-one has mentioned anything about it...surely the club would need to talk to the players to see firstly how many agree with the proposed move, and secondly to see how many would stay if they DID transfer to a new league, but were put into Div 2...couldn't imagine they'd go straight into Div 1...
Still, it'd be interesting to see how they'd go against Vermont, Donvale and the like..
In regards to what would happen if they left, surely the DV would revamp the entire format and change it to 3 divisions...prob the 2 second div grand finalists going up and the wooden spoon winners in div 1 going down would be most fair..
They do have to start in Divvy 2, they will walk that flag in (with their current list) and then they would be a top 3 guarantee in Divvy 1. The standard really isnt that great over there. What I dont understand is how you could want to elevate a side who just lost a Divvy 2 granny.
They dont deserve to play a higher standard of footy, any more than anyone else in that comp.
Goalsquare Clapper
4 Jul 2006, 15:20
Long time reader of posts,first contribution here. Played divvy 1 for a couple of years recently..GYTM-your posts are nearly the most entertaining to read for their honesty and most are spot on.Slight bloods tinge sometimes,but will cop that.But hey ,if efl is a drop in standard to dv ,a tiger outfit wld dominate moreso than just a top 3 finish when you see what theyre doing now.
Luva Chat
4 Jul 2006, 15:24
No team is relegated, the Divvy 2 premier comes up as normal.
Id like them to stay in the comp, but im not going to lose any sleep if they dont. I think they are having dramas attracting "high profile" players and sponsors in the Valley, and truth be told, they are actually going to a weaker standard of footy. A mate of mine plays at Donvale, and in all honesty, they arent real hard at it. Heidelberg will dominate that comp, make no mistake about that. But it isnt as physical, the grounds are better... who knows their rational behind their plans????
What will be interesting is which players stay and which ones go....
You are dreaming, DVFL has been run by a couple of guys for 30 years and the competition is struggling. Just look at the website and compare it to the EDFL or the Ammo's website. DVFL is becoming a joke. The sooner the clubs come together and address a whole range of issues it is going know where in a hurry. The old power house clubs like Lalor are always going to struggle in the future, old area syndrome, not enough kids- no help or incentive from the league. If the DVFL has so much money and they should have for what they charge clubs, why don't they do something for all the clubs and provide no affiliation fees for juniors. When it comes to saving some cash employ a real security company at finals and actually start selling real tickets that are numbered and secretly audit the process, lower entry prices would be good as well, donate the proceeds to junior footy in the DVFL. Why do the DVFL need to make a profit? Another thing they could do is pay some well credetialled people to form an investigation and tribunal committee, who are actually paid to randomly visit games on a Saturday and do a report to the league about players and clubs and supporters. When clubs start getting fines for issues they could deal with in house I bet they start cleaning up their act and so will the DVFL image improve. Just to mention a few things.
kanga fan man
4 Jul 2006, 15:42
You are dreaming, DVFL has been run by a couple of guys for 30 years and the competition is struggling. Just look at the website and compare it to the EDFL or the Ammo's website. DVFL is becoming a joke. The sooner the clubs come together and address a whole range of issues it is going know where in a hurry. houseThe old power clubs like Lalor are always going to struggle in the future, old area syndrome, not enough kids- no help or incentive from the league. If the DVFL has so much money and they should have for what they charge clubs, why don't they do something for all the clubs and provide no affiliation fees for juniors. When it comes to saving some cash employ a real security company at finals and actually start selling real tickets that are numbered and secretly audit the process, lower entry prices would be good as well, donate the proceeds to junior footy in the DVFL. Why do the DVFL need to make a profit? Another thing they could do is pay some well credetialled people to form an investigation and tribunal committee, who are actually paid to randomly visit games on a Saturday and do a report to the league about players and clubs and supporters. When clubs start getting fines for issues they could deal with in house I bet they start cleaning up their act and so will the DVFL image improve. Just to mention a few things.
There some very good quotes , but as for the kids at lalor we have a lot of u19s playing seniors atm and there some good juniors coming through both at lalor and west lalor which is our other Junior team.
But surley the DVFL could to more by supporting the teams they would be making a fortune DVFl has the most expensive affliation fees going around and we get nothing back for it except for the free records each home game lol
ifyoucandodgeawrench
4 Jul 2006, 15:45
Long time reader of posts,first contribution here. Played divvy 1 for a couple of years recently..GYTM-your posts are nearly the most entertaining to read for their honesty and most are spot on.Slight bloods tinge sometimes,but will cop that.But hey ,if efl is a drop in standard to dv ,a tiger outfit wld dominate moreso than just a top 3 finish when you see what theyre doing now.
you'll find the standard of the EFL is in fact higher than that of the DVFL :thumbsu:
FOOTYBOSS
4 Jul 2006, 16:06
Heidelberg will not be in the EFL next year or any year, I can tell you that much. All just made up rumours.:thumbsu:
Jewelsandbullet
4 Jul 2006, 16:07
you'll find the standard of the EFL is in fact higher than that of the DVFL :thumbsu:
Ya reckon?! It's the argument that often comes up...
Having watched a fair bit of east Ringwood over the years - I would say that there isn't a heap of difference in the top teams. As for comparing the weaker teams I'm sure if you got a few Eastern clubs on the smaller confides of many DV grounds and against the "in and under" footy that is typically played in the DV - you'd find the would struggle- whereas on some of the bigger open grounds of EFL some DV clubs would struggle.
Overall I don't reckon there is that much difference.
I know TOC is bigfooty's resident expert on league comparisons I'd be interested to see what he thinks.
You are dreaming, DVFL has been run by a couple of guys for 30 years and the competition is struggling. Just look at the website and compare it to the EDFL or the Ammo's website. DVFL is becoming a joke. The sooner the clubs come together and address a whole range of issues it is going know where in a hurry. The old power house clubs like Lalor are always going to struggle in the future, old area syndrome, not enough kids- no help or incentive from the league. If the DVFL has so much money and they should have for what they charge clubs, why don't they do something for all the clubs and provide no affiliation fees for juniors. When it comes to saving some cash employ a real security company at finals and actually start selling real tickets that are numbered and secretly audit the process, lower entry prices would be good as well, donate the proceeds to junior footy in the DVFL. Why do the DVFL need to make a profit? Another thing they could do is pay some well credetialled people to form an investigation and tribunal committee, who are actually paid to randomly visit games on a Saturday and do a report to the league about players and clubs and supporters. When clubs start getting fines for issues they could deal with in house I bet they start cleaning up their act and so will the DVFL image improve. Just to mention a few things.
You raise a few good points. The Valley used to have a vision for growth, now its, the old crew, just trying to survive, and its all to hard for them. Young blood is needed to revitalise the comp.
Heidelberg will not be in the EFL next year or any year, I can tell you that much. All just made up rumours.:thumbsu:
Like to say that was the case Boss but a lot of Heid players and members were casting an eye over the EFL Div 2 results in the Herald Sun on Sunday.
touch of class
4 Jul 2006, 16:56
Ya reckon?! It's the argument that often comes up...
Having watched a fair bit of east Ringwood over the years - I would say that there isn't a heap of difference in the top teams. As for comparing the weaker teams I'm sure if you got a few Eastern clubs on the smaller confides of many DV grounds and against the "in and under" footy that is typically played in the DV - you'd find the would struggle- whereas on some of the bigger open grounds of EFL some DV clubs would struggle.
Overall I don't reckon there is that much difference.
I know TOC is bigfooty's resident expert on league comparisons I'd be interested to see what he thinks.
well i have to say firstly that the standard of dvfl has dropped a fair bit since about 2002 and the efl has caught up and well overtaken us as the premier comp but in saying that like it has been mentioned that the footy is different we pride ourselves on the physical nature where they play fast free flowing skillfull football with the efl being a lot more professional and the players higher paid they train at a higher level than most clubs out this way so they are fitter heidleberg are a good team and wuld be strong in any league but i will guarantee that it wont be as easy as some of you think
U18 Insider
4 Jul 2006, 17:28
Here Here,,,run by the Smiths, the McLaughlins, the Topps, the Doc, who get together with Floydy on Friday nights and drink on the DVFL at Headquarters.
Get a fair dinkum sports administrator to run the League, get the Clubs to vote on a 3rd Division.
Also the Lew Hall trophy should be for the overall best club and not for 13, 15, 17 Grades
Grade all the Junior teams so it is fair on all players to develop at their own speed or play in a division where they will get a full game and thus keep them as players long term.
Do you knowhow much angst there is at the larger clubs(MP, Greens etc) when they announced the sides after they grade the players.
The Whittlsea Under 17 side is Divi 2, yetthey would play off in the Divi 1` GF if their 15's and 13's were better last year..it is a joke.
The DVFL and the Clubs have no vision and pig headed to not see how they can improve both the Senior and Junior Comps, all we here especially from Junior players how hard and tough the DVFL comp is, it's pretty easy going hard at the man, instead of the ball..
if grading is so wrong why do does the Yarra Junior Football league win more Divi I championships than other leagues, because their Divi 1 is truly Divi One.
TheMadRicer
4 Jul 2006, 18:36
Welcome to Big Footy Trewie. How's the shoulder?
Your question was answered last week big fella...
Heidelberg have outgrown the DV and are easily the most professionally run outfit in the comp. If they move to the Eastern then no doubt they will find it easier to attract gun recruits who aren't interested in playing in the Valley. They would leave behind a considerable history but the offer of good grounds and a competent league administration in what would definitely be the strongest metro comp is hard to resist. It would not surprise me if Trevor Barret's aim was to get them in the VFL one day.
A decision like this is an inditement on the performance of the cronies at Simms St. They make Dad's Army look like the Delta Squad.
P.S. Don't want to change the topic but how pitiful is the standard of umpiring these days.
far canal
4 Jul 2006, 18:52
If heidelberg were to leave the dv to go to the efl div 2 then you could only imagine the cheating that the efl umpires would perform. No competition would like a team in a neighbouring league to come in and start dominating. I bet the free kick count in the grand final would be very one sided. It will be very hard to win with bias umpiring.
I am shocked that the response to Hiedleberg going has been fairly positive. I think it is more of a reflection of how all the DVFL people feel about the way our great comp has gone backwards. Before Heidelberg looked into the possiblity of going to the EFL they asked the DVFL some points about where the comp was headed and what the current adminstration's vision for the Valley was. Gave the Valley a list of issues that the club thought the leaugue needed to resolve if it was going to get back to its glory days.
And they got no response. No answers.
That is when they saw the writing on the wall.
The DVFL under the current regime had no vision and no answers. This was over 18 months ago. This isn't a new issue.
Hopefully Heidelberg leaving will be the kick in the bum that the Valley needs and other great clubs like Monty or Bundoora or North or Greensbourgh don't come to the same conclusion.
And for what it is worth a number of high profile players from other clubs have supported the move and may be intrested in coming across. Not becuase it is Heidelberg but because everyone knows the Valley has slipped behind the Eastern and is doing nothingto get better and is only getting worse. Why would good players want to stay or come into the DVFL?
Got a fairly settled group back there at the moment, which is helping. Monger is definitely the star of the group though and its been a bit of a master stroke playing him back there this year. Was good to play on a bigger ground last week and have the opportunity to run up the ground a bit.
Yes, the young Clintosauras is a very important part of the back half. How about running up the ground a bit further and having a crack at those goals Matchwinner, I`ll organise a nice reward if you manage it before the end of the season (of the financial type).
Couldn't agree more matchwinner in regards to Clint.
His ability to hit targets with 50 metre + kicks goes a long way to setting up forward thrusts.
Very important player for the team who was sorely missed against Kinglake.
What was sorely missed at Kinglake was a Heater in there clubrooms. Whats the go there?
From what I saw at the Delegates meeting on Monday night, Floydy won`t be there next season, he simply does not look a well man. As for the rest of them, well thats up to the clubs to vote them out and lets hope it happens.
matchwinner
5 Jul 2006, 10:42
Yes, the young Clintosauras is a very important part of the back half. How about running up the ground a bit further and having a crack at those goals Matchwinner, I`ll organise a nice reward if you manage it before the end of the season (of the financial type).
I ran up the ground plenty on Saturday. Would have been inside our 50m bout 6 - 8 times on the fat side in the first half, but no one spotted me. Think my chances of sneaking a goal are fairly slim though. I'll stick to stopping them up the other end!
Coach Hollywood
5 Jul 2006, 11:36
From what I saw at the Delegates meeting on Monday night, Floydy won`t be there next season, he simply does not look a well man. As for the rest of them, well thats up to the clubs to vote them out and lets hope it happens.
The sooner we get a new Committee into the DVFL the better, maybe you can start the revolution Brutas? Viva La Revoultion Brutus!
You may also be happy to know that I've started up a DVCA forum on big Cricket. I know you'll get plenty of goss to add onto to that one for us Brutus.
Giveyathemail
5 Jul 2006, 13:39
Thanks mate. I do think Heidelberg will dominate, my top 3 prediction was based on players retained ect.... ifyoucandodgeawrench says its a higher standard than the Valley but I disagree. I beleive that they have better grounds, better standard of umpires, better trainers, better looking birds, blah blah blah... but I guarantee our best interleague side would beat them comfortably. The guys I know that play in that league are so soft, I cant beleive their not butter...
They also have a bit more dosh out there to attract players, and some of the coin these blokes are on (my mates included) is ridiculous. Thats where Heidelberg may struggle to retain their blokes... In the Valley they are a big fish in a little pond. In that comp, they are the new kid on the block, and all sides are on a fairly even keel... they throw the money around with the best of them over there.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
5 Jul 2006, 13:49
The guys I know that play in that league are so soft, I cant beleive their not butter....
hahahaha :thumbsu:
wonderman
5 Jul 2006, 14:11
Thanks mate. I do think Heidelberg will dominate, my top 3 prediction was based on players retained ect.... ifyoucandodgeawrench says its a higher standard than the Valley but I disagree. I beleive that they have better grounds, better standard of umpires, better trainers, better looking birds, blah blah blah... but I guarantee our best interleague side would beat them comfortably. The guys I know that play in that league are so soft, I cant beleive their not butter...
They also have a bit more dosh out there to attract players, and some of the coin these blokes are on (my mates included) is ridiculous. Thats where Heidelberg may struggle to retain their blokes... In the Valley they are a big fish in a little pond. In that comp, they are the new kid on the block, and all sides are on a fairly even keel... they throw the money around with the best of them over there.
The reason why DVFL senior and junior football is on the skids. You must go hard and knock off the man not the ball......Fat ,lazy slobs is what the majority of DVFL teams run with...that is why pro outfits like Heid want to get out..how can you enjoy football against racists, guys who can't get a jumper big enough to fit them.
The EFL and Yarra Junior League is where the new admin of DVFL should do their study on how to run leagues, otherwise the DVFL will go as per Panton Hill, Metro, YCW, Northern Metro , PDJFA Leagues, wake up!!!!!!!!!!! the AFL are showing they way they want footy to head, don't be a stubborn arrogant( chest pumping) league, you will not survive.
Giveyathemail
5 Jul 2006, 14:16
The reason why DVFL senior and junior football is on the skids. You must go hard and knock off the man not the ball......Fat ,lazy slobs is what the majority of DVFL teams run with...that is why pro outfits like Heid want to get out..how can you enjoy football against racists, guys who can't get a jumper big enough to fit them.
The EFL and Yarra Junior League is where the new admin of DVFL should do their study on how to run leagues, otherwise the DVFL will go as per Panton Hill, Metro, YCW, Northern Metro , PDJFA Leagues, wake up!!!!!!!!!!! the AFL are showing they way they want footy to head, don't be a stubborn arrogant( chest pumping) league, you will not survive.
You obviously havent watched a DV game in your sheltered little life Wonderwoman.... you must be one of those hang out receivers we were discussing from the EFL :thumbsu: As far as the racisim goes, no-one condones that behaviour, so dont genralise next time you open up that hock hole of yours....
You wanna play the AFL style game (netball into keepings off) then knock yourself out. This is a thread for hard, tough, in and under, old school LOCAL FOOTY, and if you dont like it, id suggest you get on your bike and boot off.
wonderman
5 Jul 2006, 14:33
You obviously havent watched a DV game in your sheltered little life Wonderwoman.... you must be one of those hang out receivers we were discussing from the EFL :thumbsu: As far as the racisim goes, no-one condones that behaviour, so dont genralise next time you open up that hock hole of yours....
You wanna play the AFL style game (netball into keepings off) then knock yourself out. This is a thread for hard, tough, in and under, old school LOCAL FOOTY, and if you dont like it, id suggest you get on your bike and boot off.
I watch plenty of games, but I must admit I don't watch the whole game because it's so slow, boring, abusive(players and spectators), drunkeness.
Love watching Heid, Bundy but they won't be part of the league in a few years, your telling me Heid are soft because they are looking at joining the EFL?????????????????????.
I won't resort to name calling like you, but you have really proved my point on the DVFL.
Giveyathemail
5 Jul 2006, 14:36
I watch plenty of games, but I must admit I don't watch the whole game because it's so slow, boring, abusive(players and spectators), drunkeness.
Love watching Heid, Bundy but they won't be part of the league in a few years, your telling me Heid are soft because they are looking at joining the EFL?????????????????????.
I won't resort to name calling like you, but you have really proved my point on the DVFL.
Show me where I said Heidelberg are soft.... :mad: I was talking about the EFL, not being as physical as the Valley. Notice how the teams you have mentioned wanting to leave are the ones who usually have fairly good home and away seasons, but you can count their cups they have won on one hand...
Funny that.
Jewelsandbullet
5 Jul 2006, 15:00
Your ignorance is highly offensive. :thumbsd:
Well said, just a thought on the Bergers. How long until the cash dries up, no juniors, no long term future. Banyule are the Junior strength in the area. Perhaps West Heidelberg will take up the slack. Sponsors and their money come and go, and all to often any opportunity of success walks out the door with them. Junior development and Grass roots footy is low cost real growth to the game, all clubs would benefit. If the so called powers of the competition, Heidelberg have a vision for the DVFL why dont they put it forward to the clubs. All clubs would support any vision for the comp. Heidelberg could fill a couple exec positions in the DVFL and no one would complain as we know its got to be better than it is now.
kanga fan man
5 Jul 2006, 16:37
Looks like Montmerency V Nth Heidelberg 1st semi final to be played at Eltham, surley there is better grounds around to play a Div 1 final at
ifyoucandodgeawrench
5 Jul 2006, 16:52
Looks like Montmerency V Nth Heidelberg 1st semi final to be played at Eltham, surley there is better grounds around to play a Div 1 final at
WTF? Who makes these decisions?? :confused:
kanga fan man
5 Jul 2006, 16:56
Think the DVFL it is on the webiste. Few boys from burgers said on weekend that the ground was muddy as. it is on www.dvfooty.com (http://www.dvfooty.com)
Well said, just a thought on the Bergers. How long until the cash dries up, no juniors, no long term future. Banyule are the Junior strength in the area. Perhaps West Heidelberg will take up the slack. Sponsors and their money come and go, and all to often any opportunity of success walks out the door with them. Junior development and Grass roots footy is low cost real growth to the game, all clubs would benefit. If the so called powers of the competition, Heidelberg have a vision for the DVFL why dont they put it forward to the clubs. All clubs would support any vision for the comp. Heidelberg could fill a couple exec positions in the DVFL and no one would complain as we know its got to be better than it is now.
Why should the clubs set the vision, that is what you pay your subs for. To have a adminstraition to make the comp better. If Heidleberg set the agenda everyone would say "just because the are cashed up doesn't give them the right to tell us what to do". Banyule have great juniors but are in D grade Ammo's with 10 blokes who couldn't get a game at Heidelber 2's running around in the one's. Sp what good has there junour program done them?
Heidelberg have a thriving junior club. In the Yarra comp.
They have already palyed a kid from the under 15's and have half a dozen of the 17's train with the 1's once a week a week.
http://home.vicnet.net.au/~hjfc/Site/
What a disgrace. Eltham would be one of the worst grounds for parking, for surface and for accessibility. Is it because they don't want a club to have a home ground advantage? That is the only reason I can see. If that is the case play at Northcote Park. Just as bad for parking but a 100 times better ground. Surely if the Parkers (not being smart here TOC) don't make the finals which looks unlikely, the ground will have no one training on it bar u19's (maybe) and surely it could handle the extra game for one week and wouldn't put the turf wicket at risk. Everyone would rather that piece of turf.
THE DVFL SERVING UP SH*T AS PER NORMAL.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
5 Jul 2006, 17:13
Think the DVFL it is on the webiste. Few boys from burgers said on weekend that the ground was muddy as. it is on www.dvfooty.com (http://www.dvfooty.com)
mate its as sloppy as a soup sandwich :D
crispy creme
5 Jul 2006, 17:25
Factual - I'm not a Heidelberg fan, far from it actually, but for you to say that they have no long term future is a massive call. Trevor Barrett is passionate about the club, is in for the long haul (very ironic considering his line of business!) and has the cash to support probably every club in the valley. They struggled for juniors for quite a while and that hasn't really hurt them. At last glance they still seemed to be going alright. You never know though, after 140 odd years they still may be trying to establish themselves and their "long term future". LOL:eek:
Jewelsandbullet
5 Jul 2006, 17:34
What a disgrace. Eltham would be one of the worst grounds for parking, for surface and for accessibility. Is it because they don't want a club to have a home ground advantage? That is the only reason I can see. If that is the case play at Northcote Park. Just as bad for parking but a 100 times better ground. Surely if the Parkers (not being smart here TOC) don't make the finals which looks unlikely, the ground will have no one training on it bar u19's (maybe) and surely it could handle the extra game for one week and wouldn't put the turf wicket at risk. Everyone would rather that piece of turf.
What the f-k are you thinking Dwight??!!!
That's is a far too sensible suggestion for powers that be at DV... ground in impeccable condition, great viewing from all areas, central location, great spectator grandstand.... you make no sense at all. :rolleyes:
I ran up the ground plenty on Saturday. Would have been inside our 50m bout 6 - 8 times on the fat side in the first half, but no one spotted me. Think my chances of sneaking a goal are fairly slim though. I'll stick to stopping them up the other end!
Mate that`s pretty poor maybe you were not demanding the pill enough, I`ll have a word to the boys on Thursday night when the teams get read out and let them know they should widen there vision when entering the forward 50 and look out for ya. If that fails I`ll have a word in the coaches ear and get him to give you a run up forward, don`t worry Matchwinner we`ll get that goal, hopefully the camera will be repaired in time to capture the moment. You have to promise a bit of theatre in your celebration though, we want to see the extroverted Matchwinner.
mate ur a total tosser you were bragging to me in another thread saying you play footy for bundy ones and can kick goals from outside 50 get outa here
Why should the clubs set the vision, that is what you pay your subs for. To have a adminstraition to make the comp better. If Heidleberg set the agenda everyone would say "just because the are cashed up doesn't give them the right to tell us what to do". Banyule have great juniors but are in D grade Ammo's with 10 blokes who couldn't get a game at Heidelber 2's running around in the one's. Sp what good has there junour program done them?
Heidelberg have a thriving junior club. In the Yarra comp.
They have already palyed a kid from the under 15's and have half a dozen of the 17's train with the 1's once a week a week.
http://home.vicnet.net.au/~hjfc/Site/
It`s got nothing to do with Heidelberg being cashed up, more to do with the fact that there are a League power whose voice has the potential to be heard louder than most others, they also are more likely to galvanise the opinion of other clubs who may agree with whats required but fear the retribution that might follow, if they speak up and lets face it there are alot of clubs who are pretty much minnows in the League who just don`t have the clout to force change but in behind and supporting a Heidelberg, Bundoora, Nth Heidelberg or Borough may change that. The clubs have got to start useing the power they have, Ken Andrews (love him or hate him) said as much at the last delegates meeting, "the clubs are the major stakeholders in the league and all power rests with them, if they don`t think someone is doing a good job then vote them out". If the league is not doing the job that the clubs think is required then at the end of the day the clubs will be the one`s at fault.
West Preston organised for the Preston (Cramer st oval) to be used for finals includeing Grand Final but the decision was not allowed to go to a vote because the Chairman (R.Ward) ruled from the chair that the nomination was too late and that the allocations announced at the meeting would stand.
matchwinner
5 Jul 2006, 19:12
Mate that`s pretty poor maybe you were not demanding the pill enough, I`ll have a word to the boys on Thursday night when the teams get read out and let them know they should widen there vision when entering the forward 50 and look out for ya. If that fails I`ll have a word in the coaches ear and get him to give you a run up forward, don`t worry Matchwinner we`ll get that goal, hopefully the camera will be repaired in time to capture the moment. You have to promise a bit of theatre in your celebration though, we want to see the extroverted Matchwinner.
No words necessary to players or coach thanks Stu!!! You know I like to keep things low key. Quite happy in the backline and for others to take the glory! As long as the teams winning then im enjoying it, (after so many years of struggling.)
oh is that so woman????
remember this
Come watch me play for Bundoora this Saturday arvo(2.10 at Bundoora), and you will be..Mate
Jewelsandbullet
5 Jul 2006, 19:36
Wonder, Wonder , Wonder..... Did you forget previous posts can be viewed?..or did you just not know because you are ignorant. Either way you have been exposed. Hang your head.
Nice one mattyr :thumbsu:
West Preston organised for the Preston (Cramer st oval) to be used for finals includeing Grand Final but the decision was not allowed to go to a vote because the Chairman (R.Ward) ruled from the chair that the nomination was too late and that the allocations announced at the meeting would stand.
Good on West for having a crack at getting the Finals to a better venue. :thumbsu:
The DVFL wouldn't like that because it is a venue were everyone can get a ticket in and the money can be counted. No skimming.
Cramer Street would be super. I reckon you would get a unbelievable atmosphere there and the crowd of 4-8 thousand you get at Epping would feel like 15 at Cramer Street.
Just another poor choice by the DVFL. Much rather go to Epping. NOT.
Good on West for having a crack at getting the Finals to a better venue. :thumbsu:
The DVFL wouldn't like that because it is a venue were everyone can get a ticket in and the money can be counted. No skimming.
Cramer Street would be super. I reckon you would get a unbelievable atmosphere there and the crowd of 4-8 thousand you get at Epping would feel like 15 at Cramer Street.
Just another poor choice by the DVFL. Much rather go to Epping. NOT.
Spot on Dwight, the D.V.F.L knew that West Preston were negotiating with Darebin Council on the matter, I would have thought that they could have given them a bit extra time to get it done or even stepped in and got the wheels turning a bit quicker. West Preston seemed a bit surprised when Roy Ward cut them off and basically said bad luck. Obviously the deal at Epping is too good, I know they make 50 cents per can of beer that Epping sell at the ground during finals, probably a few other kickbacks as well.
No words necessary to players or coach thanks Stu!!! You know I like to keep things low key. Quite happy in the backline and for others to take the glory! As long as the teams winning then im enjoying it, (after so many years of struggling.)
Great attitude m8, luv it! Probably don`t get the accolades of others in the side but those of us who have been around a while recognise your contribution and appreciate it. Keep it up m8.
The sooner we get a new Committee into the DVFL the better, maybe you can start the revolution Brutas? Viva La Revoultion Brutus!
You may also be happy to know that I've started up a DVCA forum on big Cricket. I know you'll get plenty of goss to add onto to that one for us Brutus.
Geez Hollywood, how many jobs are you trying to line me up for, my names not Eddie McGuire although I probably have as many roles as him, just not the bank account and the Toorak Mansion. I will check out the Big Cricket Forum, I`m sure to have a few stories for you there.
from what i hear eltham applied for finals and got them,so get over it.accessAbility?railway station-nextdoor.parking-plenty(tennis court area at rear,library area at front)surface-has been a lot better recently(copped a heap of hail and rain before and during heidelberg game)and is THE best viewing ground in the league,if the surface doesnt hold up come finals,let the ****ing council know your thoughts. i quite like the idea of cramer st,but,the powers that be still remember vic park and what happened. in a perfect world finals would be shared between all clubs(imagine heidelberg v bundoora at kinglake) from what im led to believe eltham want finals in the hope it MIGHT speed up the process of fixing the ground(read epping,whittlesea)
mitch_fc
5 Jul 2006, 23:16
i'll gladly take the glory... i remember being in thebackline in 2005 on the end of some arse rapings....
Bears vs Bears at Thomo this week... may have to wear the alternate/clash mascot as its a lower away game.
Factual - I'm not a Heidelberg fan, far from it actually, but for you to say that they have no long term future is a massive call. Trevor Barrett is passionate about the club, is in for the long haul (very ironic considering his line of business!) and has the cash to support probably every club in the valley. They struggled for juniors for quite a while and that hasn't really hurt them. At last glance they still seemed to be going alright. You never know though, after 140 odd years they still may be trying to establish themselves and their "long term future". LOL:eek:
Fitzroy people used to say the same thing. Thats AFL and alot more passionate people involved - now gone. Northcote Park are another success story doing some hard yards, at least they recognise the importance of youth. They are proof that when the cash flow runs dry so does the win loss ratio balance. The successful Under 19 team at least enables them to get access to good young local talent, and with great facilities if they do the miles they will reap the benefits. I like the way Boro and Macleod go about it with the total inclusion of kids, to bad more clubs don't invest in their own futures in the same way. If the chosen one cares so much and has so much why doesn't he run the Valley, share it around a little. He would probably be surprised how well he would be supported. The comp needs business minded people running it, not retiree's.
matchwinner
6 Jul 2006, 10:06
i'll gladly take the glory... i remember being in thebackline in 2005 on the end of some arse rapings....
Bears vs Bears at Thomo this week... may have to wear the alternate/clash mascot as its a lower away game.
Just 2005 Mitch? I was on the end of it bout 5 years running! You certainly took the glory Saturday with your five goal haul. Some very nice finishing. (But then didn't want to lead the team off the park!!!)
Luva Chat
6 Jul 2006, 10:28
The Bears have gone through a few coaches in the last couple of years with a couple of ex AFL players, how do you rate the new bloke in charge against them. What were their Strengths and Weaknesses in comparison? Is the new coach the reason for the re-emergence of the bears or is it just to many quality players for Divi 2? Will the bears go all the way or would it suit the club to be in Divi 2 for 2-3 years and rebuild? Always being the poor rello to a DVFL powerhouse in Monty is a monumental hurdle to get over.
A few reasons for the re-emergence of the bears. First and foremost is the fact that the gap between Div1 and 2 is substantial. Having said that there are also other reasons including the coach, the development of the young players, the return of some older players and finding a new goal kicking gun in M Skelly.
Great article in this weeks DV News which covers this topic.
The coach has certainly had a huge impact on the club and is committed to the clubs youth policy. His obvious strengths are his passion and long term committment to the club. Previous coaches have seen the role purely as a stepping stone to bigger and better things.
Can we go all the way? With all players on the park we can beat any side.
Giveyathemail
6 Jul 2006, 14:08
Couldnt agree more Dwight, it would be a sensational venue. The surface is usually spot on and the ground has great facilitys for the players.
Ammos play finals there every year. D4 section
Giveyathemail
6 Jul 2006, 14:20
Ammos play finals there every year. D4 section
Is parking an issue? The residents dont even like it during the home and away season, I cant imagine them being too rapt in September either :)
A few reasons for the re-emergence of the bears. First and foremost is the fact that the gap between Div1 and 2 is substantial. Having said that there are also other reasons including the coach, the development of the young players, the return of some older players and finding a new goal kicking gun in M Skelly.
The coach has certainly had a huge impact on the club and is committed to the clubs youth policy. His obvious strengths are his passion and long term committment to the club. Previous coaches have seen the role purely as a stepping stone to bigger and better things.
I know Lower Plenty had a very young list last year in Division 1. Have they benefited from blooding youngsters last year, this year?
Luva Chat
6 Jul 2006, 15:02
Where is Shane Watson and what is he doing now? What is the coaches name and what is his background in footy?
Is parking an issue? The residents dont even like it during the home and away season, I cant imagine them being too rapt in September either :)
Not a problem for D4 Ammos crowd, but a Diamond Valley finals crowd is a different story. Would struggle to cope but the Preston market car park would help.
touch of class
6 Jul 2006, 15:13
Couldnt agree more Dwight, it would be a sensational venue. The surface is usually spot on and the ground has great facilitys for the players.
most clubs enjoy playing at westgarth st and the facilities are very good with space you can go out the back in the park for a full warm up at that time of year the ground is always perfect but as stated the parking is a big factor and so is the premier league cricket so it would be hard but it would be a great sight to sit at the far ends goals and watch the 2 best teams fight it out for the premiership even if it werent us playing and dwight i understand we aint playing footy just trying to be competitive and win a few more to stay off the bottom
And you would be one of those residents wouldn't you GYTM. It strikes me as funny that you seem to love bagging a team that represents a town you hail from???? Do your mates from Lalor know that you call the greeny Environs of Eltham Home??
In regards to the ground at Eltham, although it was indeed on the sloppy side against H'berg a couple of weeks back, it is currently in Very Good nick at the moment. In contrast, some of the other grounds in the Valley are far too hard. For example, The ground at Diamo last week was far harder and rougher than their very own gravel carpark was!! By the way, apart from the Ground surface itself, Panther Park meets all other pre-requisites for Hosting DVFL Finals and therefore deserves an opportunity to do such.:D
Anyway, enough of the grounds debate, what is the mail about this weeks big match GYTM?? :cool:
kanga fan man
6 Jul 2006, 16:24
Lalor hopefully will get a few back but still struggling with injuries and alot of younger guys playing.
Where is Shane Watson and what is he doing now? What is the coaches name and what is his background in footy?
No idea on the new coach, but I'm pretty sure Shane Watson is assistant coach at Sandringham U18's..don't think they're going that flash, either.. No doubt he'll be looking for a top coaching role at an U18 side, then hope to climb the ladder to the big stuff..
Bubble Wrap
6 Jul 2006, 17:09
And you would be one of those residents wouldn't you GYTM. It strikes me as funny that you seem to love bagging a team that represents a town you hail from???? Do your mates from Lalor know that you call the greeny Environs of Eltham Home??
In regards to the ground at Eltham, although it was indeed on the sloppy side against H'berg a couple of weeks back, it is currently in Very Good nick at the moment. In contrast, some of the other grounds in the Valley are far too hard. For example, The ground at Diamo last week was far harder and rougher than their very own gravel carpark was!! By the way, apart from the Ground surface itself, Panther Park meets all other pre-requisites for Hosting DVFL Finals and therefore deserves an opportunity to do such.
Anyway, enough of the grounds debate, what is the mail about this weeks big match GYTM?? :cool:
DVFL Finals Checklist
Has synthetic cricket surface protruding onto ground - :thumbsu:
Has average at best car parking facilities - :thumbsu:
Has dangerous pathways from players rooms to ground - :thumbsu:
Has replaced turf with sporadic clumps of weed amidst the dirt/mud - :thumbsu:
Has five minute wait to get stretcher to injured player - :thumbsu:
No doubt Eltham is better than some grounds, but in no way is it in the top half dozen that could justify it holding finals of any description. Anyone that thinks otherwise is either a deluded Eltham supporter, or an Eltham puppet in a position of influence at the DVFL - hence the allocation of finals there.
Coach Hollywood
6 Jul 2006, 17:42
No idea on the new coach, but I'm pretty sure Shane Watson is assistant coach at Sandringham U18's..don't think they're going that flash, either.. No doubt he'll be looking for a top coaching role at an U18 side, then hope to climb the ladder to the big stuff..
Watto is assistant coach at Sandrinham U18's as T.Perry said and was playing with us at Ivanhoe in the Ammo's when the U18's games were on the Sunday. He played the first game of the season and had a reaccurence of a previous knee injury and hasn't played since.
DVFL Finals Checklist
No doubt Eltham is better than some grounds, but in no way is it in the top half dozen that could justify it holding finals of any description. Anyone that thinks otherwise is either a deluded Eltham supporter, or an Eltham puppet in a position of influence at the DVFL - hence the allocation of finals there.
Spot on Bubble Wrap, well put:thumbsu:
Luva Chat
7 Jul 2006, 09:24
DVFL Finals Checklist
Speaking of Eltham is Phil Maylin finished at Panther Park, his results have not been that flash this year in particular? He has been coach for 3 years, is that long enough to shape a club?
Coach Hollywood
7 Jul 2006, 10:32
Speaking of Eltham is Phil Maylin finished at Panther Park, his results have not been that flash this year in particular? He has been coach for 3 years, is that long enough to shape a club?
I think your spot there Luva Chat, Maylin will most likely finish up this year especially if they finish on the bottom. It most likely won't be Eltham showing him the door but him leaving due to poor results he's had, as you said his record hasn't been that flash.
from what i hear eltham applied for finals and got them,so get over it.accessAbility?railway station-nextdoor.parking-plenty(tennis court area at rear,library area at front)surface-has been a lot better recently(copped a heap of hail and rain before and during heidelberg game)and is THE best viewing ground in the league,if the surface doesnt hold up come finals,let the ****ing council know your thoughts. i quite like the idea of cramer st,but,the powers that be still remember vic park and what happened. in a perfect world finals would be shared between all clubs(imagine heidelberg v bundoora at kinglake) from what im led to believe eltham want finals in the hope it MIGHT speed up the process of fixing the ground(read epping,whittlesea)
Finals at Eltham is a reward for mediocrity and is as baffling as when they gave them the intercomp game a few years back. The grounds ****, the clubs on the slide and is a frontrunner for relegation, a disgrace for not being able to field thirds football for reasons incomprehensable to most, so well done guys we`ll reward you with some finals footy at your great venue, keep up the good work.
For the record I don`t rate Epping either and would of wholeheartedly accepted finals at Cramer st. As for your reasoning that finals may speed up the ground fixing problem, shouldn`t the ground be fixed before finals are played there? Finals should be played at the best venues and if Eltham is rated as one of the best then it must be of a very bad bunch, therefore time to widen the vision and make sure venues like Cramer Street are at the forefront of finals Venue discussion in the future, E.D.F.L. can play finals at Windy Hill, Western Region at Whitten Oval, Ammo`s at Cramer Street and we get stuck with wet,windswept Epping, picturesque Eltham and the welcoming atmosphere of the Kennel.
sunline 11
7 Jul 2006, 12:10
What is the coaches name and what is his background in footy?
The coaches name is Jarrod Hart. He coached Epping 2nds for the last 2 years, in his first year took Epping 2nd's to a grand final. He applied for the senior job at Epping but got knocked back, so he left and got the job at Lower.
The Bears have gone through a few coaches in the last couple of years with a couple of ex AFL players, how do you rate the new bloke in charge against them. What were their Strengths and Weaknesses in comparison? Is the new coach the reason for the re-emergence of the bears or is it just to many quality players for Divi 2? Will the bears go all the way or would it suit the club to be in Divi 2 for 2-3 years and rebuild? Always being the poor rello to a DVFL powerhouse in Monty is a
monumental hurdle to get over.
Apart from Watson and McKeown are record with coaches is not too bad, Hicksy coached for three seasons and so did Secco with Watson and McKeown 1 each and in all honest if Watto had wanted to continue as we thought he was, he would probably still be there. Jarrod Hart though is an excellent coach and suited to what we are trying to achieve with building through youth, we are probably a more fitter side than the past five years and Jarrod does not accept mediocrity in any shape of form and believes that no matter how good we play as a team or individuals, there is alway room for improvement. He also treats every single player whether they be the best in the one`s or the lesser lights in the thirds with the same rules and respect and as I have said in previous posts has been outstanding with building the relationship with our Junior Club by watching the U/17`s every Sunday and having a good relationship with there coach. I have got no doubt he is probably the hardest working coach in the comp and thoroughly desrves his reward as A.F.C.A. Northern region coach of the month.
Luva Chat
7 Jul 2006, 12:19
Finals at Eltham is a reward for mediocrity and is as baffling as when they gave them the intercomp game a few years back. The grounds ****, the clubs on the slide and is a frontrunner for relegation, a disgrace for not being able to field thirds football for reasons incomprehensable to most, so well done guys we`ll reward you with some finals footy at your great venue, keep up the good work.
For the record I don`t rate Epping either and would of wholeheartedly accepted finals at Cramer st. As for your reasoning that finals may speed up the ground fixing problem, shouldn`t the ground be fixed before finals are played there? Finals should be played at the best venues and if Eltham is rated as one of the best then it must be of a very bad bunch, therefore time to widen the vision and make sure venues like Cramer Street are at the forefront of finals Venue discussion in the future, E.D.F.L. can play finals at Windy Hill, Western Region at Whitten Oval, Ammo`s at Cramer Street and we get stuck with wet,windswept Epping, picturesque Eltham and the welcoming atmosphere of the Kennel.
Just another reason to dump the jokers that run the competition. No vision - No future upside.