View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65

FOOTYBOSS
2 Aug 2006, 14:37
my guess it would be Michael Mitchell did play ones for the bullants in senior finals.
Made his debut for the bullants ones in their first final against Sandringham and got dropped the following week. Wasnt upto that standard, the only reason why he got a game is due to the 10-12 rule that VFL has when sides that are alligned to an AFL club when finals start. He didnt get a game before that. In fact the year before he couldnt even get a game in the bullants reserves at times.

A very good player at DVFL level but just cant quite take the next step, so I highly doubt whether an AFL club would be looking at him now, considering he would have already been under the radar of scouts at the bullants and nothing happened.

hugs_dancer
2 Aug 2006, 14:45
Made his debut for the bullants ones in their first final against Sandringham and got dropped the following week. Wasnt upto that standard, the only reason why he got a game is due to the 10-12 rule that VFL has when sides that are alligned to an AFL club when finals start. He didnt get a game before that. In fact the year before he couldnt even get a game in the bullants reserves at times.

A very good player at DVFL level but just cant quite take the next step, so I highly doubt whether an AFL club would be looking at him now, considering he would have already been under the radar of scouts at the bullants and nothing happened.

ure wrong in most of that but anyway.

the person being looked at has played only dvfl, that i know of.

and his name has been mentioned

mattyr
2 Aug 2006, 14:53

the only to then are heath ayres or dave mitchell, but i cant see a reason why afl clubs be watching them now

whitelinefeva
2 Aug 2006, 15:03
the only to then are heath ayres or dave mitchell, but i cant see a reason why afl clubs be watching them now

With the successes of such players as Davey (Melb) & Lovett (Ess.) you could see why slightly built speedsters could be looked at whereas i previous years they were under the radar. Although both Dave & Ninja aren't quite in the same class as these players, do possess similar qualities.

Ayresy is either still 21, or just turned 22. Dave is only 18-19 i believe, so i'd say they'd be looking at Dave.

bearfan
2 Aug 2006, 15:27
With the successes of such players as Davey (Melb) & Lovett (Ess.) you could see why slightly built speedsters could be looked at whereas i previous years they were under the radar. Although both Dave & Ninja aren't quite in the same class as these players, do possess similar qualities.

Ayresy is either still 21, or just turned 22. Dave is only 18-19 i believe, so i'd say they'd be looking at Dave.

Would have to agree that it must be Dave M.
Won our B&F last year before moving to Bundoora. I for one thought he may struggle to get a game (competing against the likes of Ayres) but am happy to be proved wrong. He is a very gutsy in an under player who knows where the goals are. Tireless worker who doesnt shirk any issues. Did tend to give a few silly frees away last year through undisciplined actions but apart from that was a gun player.
Would have to question whether he would be too short for AFL?

hottip06
2 Aug 2006, 15:48

Ayres is 23 and there is no way we're ever going to see anyone get drafted straight out of the DVFL ever again. they may recommend a VFL club to join to give themselves a chance to give it a crack at the next level, but that's about it. Davey had a sensational year for Port Melbourne prior to getting drafted and although Lovett is a DV boy originally had a stint in the WAFL and two stints at VFL level before (one at Carlton as a top-up player and one at Bendigo Bombers) before being rookie listed by Essendon. There is no way recruiters from AFL clubs would be watching DVFL matches with the specific purpose of drafting somone onto the senior list for 2007. Let's keep things in perspective shall we fellas.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Aug 2006, 15:50

Where am I wrong in all of that then please hugs. The information I received about his days in the VFL are off a bullants player, hence the reason why I put this into my post. I highly doubt if he would be wrong.

People must remember Lovett and Davey were picked up from VFL clubs not local league footy clubs. Its a big step.

mattyr
2 Aug 2006, 16:00

thats what i ment in my previos post its a big jump from suburbian football to australian standerds, i think maybe it could just be a rumour but good luck to those involved if its true

kanga fan man
2 Aug 2006, 16:28
If it is a Bundoora player there old coach Connell is a development coach at the kangaroos

Coach Hollywood
2 Aug 2006, 16:42
Bongetti from Eltham was being looked at by the Tigers over the off season. Obviously nothing happened there? It's a tough jump from DVFL to AFL I think you need to goto the VFL first to have any chance but who knows???

Brutal
2 Aug 2006, 19:45
Even in a virtal team i get named in the back pocket!!!!!!

Dont know how brutal would like a guy from d4 ammos kicking around in the same team as himself but i will take my oporunity and run with!!!!!!!

You`ll be right mate, hopefully you can drag yourself up to my level and if you can achieve that I`ll be the first to congratulate you. By the way, what happened to my winnings from Sunday?

melbdocker
2 Aug 2006, 20:11
now that i think hard it would be all just a beat up if its not michael then i cant see who else it would be davey is way too small for any club to look at thats why he struggled to get a fair go at the knights.
And everyone is right in saying that they may be asked to go down to a vfl club isnt that what is happening wit one of the kings down at coburg this yr?

hottip06
2 Aug 2006, 20:52
now that i think hard it would be all just a beat up if its not michael then i cant see who else it would be davey is way too small for any club to look at thats why he struggled to get a fair go at the knights.
And everyone is right in saying that they may be asked to go down to a vfl club isnt that what is happening wit one of the kings down at coburg this yr?

it wasn't Davey who struggled at the Knights it was Lovett. i was at the Knights when he was there and it wasn't his size at all, in fact there were blokes getting a game who were way smaller than him, it was his strength. if you saw a picture of him back then compared to now you wouldn't recognise him becuase his arms were so skinny and in the TAC cup environment he got knocked off the ball way too easily. there was no doubting his freakish skills and blinding speed even back then, he just needed some time for his body to fill out and mature and for him to tighten up other aspects of his game such as becoming more defensive. its great to see him get him making the most of his opportunity and obvious talents.

mattyr
2 Aug 2006, 21:05
it wasn't Davey who struggled at the Knights it was Lovett. i was at the Knights when he was there and it wasn't his size at all, in fact there were blokes getting a game who were way smaller than him, it was his strength. if you saw a picture of him back then compared to now you wouldn't recognise him becuase his arms were so skinny and in the TAC cup environment he got knocked off the ball way too easily. there was no doubting his freakish skills and blinding speed even back then, he just needed some time for his body to fill out and mature and for him to tighten up other aspects of his game such as becoming more defensive. its great to see him get him making the most of his opportunity and obvious talents.

who are you talking about lovett or mitchaa?

The_KID
2 Aug 2006, 21:33
Didnt james gwilt form st kilda get drafted striahgt form a metro league, the eastern i think? and didnt the saints draft some other lad form the country after he kicked 70 odd goals as a key forward last yr?

sparksy
2 Aug 2006, 21:43
Bongetti from Eltham was being looked at by the Tigers over the off season. Obviously nothing happened there? It's a tough jump from DVFL to AFL I think you need to goto the VFL first to have any chance but who knows???
it was posted on bigfooty that bongetti is on 500 a week,mayby the tiges were scared off by the big money?

sparksy
2 Aug 2006, 22:06
once bruce almighty takes control of OUR league,could we stop feeding the knights and have a dvfl u18 squad playing TAC.the local clubs nurture the players,the rep squads give them a taste,then the only people who get any credit for someone being drafted are the knights.im not saying the knights dont help develop and refine the kids,just asking why cant we do the job ourselves.

blackjack44
2 Aug 2006, 22:16
once bruce almighty takes control of OUR league,could we stop feeding the knights and have a dvfl u18 squad playing TAC.the local clubs nurture the players,the rep squads give them a taste,then the only people who get any credit for someone being drafted are the knights.im not saying the knights dont help develop and refine the kids,just asking why cant we do the job ourselves.

sounds like a good idea sparksy. what ever happend to the u/19 interleague?
however, the Knights list consist of the best players from the DVFL and YJFL, u could basically call it the DV/YJ Football Club.

sparksy
2 Aug 2006, 22:42
sounds like a good idea sparksy. what ever happend to the u/19 interleague?
however, the Knights list consist of the best players from the DVFL and YJFL, u could basically call it the DV/YJ Football Club.
id like it called the DVFL football club,then once that was established,why not a vfl side.lets make the valley the best,the"i must play there"league.instead of talk about which clubs want to leave or who might fold,wouldnt it be better if the dvfl had to choose each year whom they might let join the fold?

melbdocker
2 Aug 2006, 23:10

i would know him i have known his family for yrs used to play cricket wit michael i saw him for the 1st time in a while sat and he is still very short and dont think ne vfl club would chase him if no one is after abe williams then i couldnt see davey getting picked up

Didnt james gwilt form st kilda get drafted striahgt form a metro league, the eastern i think? and didnt the saints draft some other lad form the country after he kicked 70 odd goals as a key forward last yr?

i know trent hotton got drafted straight from east burwood after 1 season there to carlton and that vogles bloke from sydney didnt he get drafted staight out of country footy?

watchalot
3 Aug 2006, 01:28
As a person that has alot more to do with the junior side of the Diamond Valley, i believe the league should be taking a stronger stand on the incidents that have accured this year so far. If the league wants to get back to where is was 10 years ago as a respected and strong comp. it needs to show to the clubs and the other leagues throught-out victoria that it will not stand for these incidents. I am not going to get on here a bag the diamond valley because it is the place that i have chosen for my kids to play in but i think if they want to be a powerful league again there is a couple of things they need to do.
1. Get some fresh faces and ideas in the admin. department. From a junior side of view this can now happen with the unfortunate death of Lew Hall ( a great man for junior footy ) but hopefully his future postion can be filled by someone that has some new ideas.

2. Move there headquarters from the back warehouse and make it look professional, at the moment it looks like a storage shed. To be professional you need to look professional.

3. We need to try and keep the kids that play junior footy in the dvfl. Someone wrote a couple of pages ago that the bagging of kids that are 14 and 15 has to stop. Well i can tell you from first hand that it is not just the older age groups that are getting bagged it is also the younger ones ( 9's to 13's). I have even seen it in under 9's and it is absolutly disgusting.Most incidents that accure in the junior level are a direct result of parents ( mostly mothers) bagging some poor kid who is out there to have fun. the kid gets upset and goes and does something stupid on the field. This has to stop if we are to keep our kids in our league. FOR ALL THOSE PARENTS WHO DO THIS GROW UP AND REMEMBER THAT THEY ARE ONLY KIDS.
This might happen in other leagues as well but if we get rid of it in the DVFL we are on our way to getting this league back where it belongs.....

bearfan
3 Aug 2006, 08:56
GYTM,

Caller on SEN this morning "Yummy" asked the question whether another Football Club had 2 players captain the same AFL side in the one year a la Whitnall and Kouta this year. Big wrap for Lalor.

Giveyathemail
3 Aug 2006, 09:28
GYTM,

Caller on SEN this morning "Yummy" asked the question whether another Football Club had 2 players captain the same AFL side in the one year a la Whitnall and Kouta this year. Big wrap for Lalor.

Yeah mate both are Lalor boys and both really good blokes... Yummy is a stalwart down at Lalor, always on the radio for some reason or another.

I gotta say boys all this talk about a DVFL player being looked at seems a little far fetched... Dont get me wrong, we have alot of talent floating around at the moment, but nothing to really make you sit back and go "faaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrk this kids is a freak". I know Preston were looking at a young fella at our club late last year, and early pre season he got a season ending knee injury that required a reco. The kid is a gun (fast, good skills, hard at it) but Im not sure he could be an AFL footballer. Look at Justin Murphy... far from an elite AFL footballer, he was an honest battler at best. But you watch him running around in our comp and he is just a class above. He does it easy, maybe sometimes a bit to easy.

I was talking to Jake King last week, and he said it's unbeleivable how fit and fast those guys are down at Richmond, where he has been training with the main group on Tuesdays the last 6 weeks. I also know that Carlton have been keeping an eye on him, and I am tipping that he will get a permanant gig on either of those lists at seasons end. He has had a fantastic year Jake, and good on him too :thumbsu:

BlindedByTheLight
3 Aug 2006, 09:38
As a person that has alot more to do with the junior side of the Diamond Valley, i believe the league should be taking a stronger stand on the incidents that have accured this year so far. If the league wants to get back to where is was 10 years ago as a respected and strong comp. it needs to show to the clubs and the other leagues throught-out victoria that it will not stand for these incidents. I am not going to get on here a bag the diamond valley because it is the place that i have chosen for my kids to play in but i think if they want to be a powerful league again there is a couple of things they need to do.
1. Get some fresh faces and ideas in the admin. department. From a junior side of view this can now happen with the unfortunate death of Lew Hall ( a great man for junior footy ) but hopefully his future postion can be filled by someone that has some new ideas.

2. Move there headquarters from the back warehouse and make it look professional, at the moment it looks like a storage shed. To be professional you need to look professional.

3. We need to try and keep the kids that play junior footy in the dvfl. Someone wrote a couple of pages ago that the bagging of kids that are 14 and 15 has to stop. Well i can tell you from first hand that it is not just the older age groups that are getting bagged it is also the younger ones ( 9's to 13's). I have even seen it in under 9's and it is absolutly disgusting.Most incidents that accure in the junior level are a direct result of parents ( mostly mothers) bagging some poor kid who is out there to have fun. the kid gets upset and goes and does something stupid on the field. This has to stop if we are to keep our kids in our league. FOR ALL THOSE PARENTS WHO DO THIS GROW UP AND REMEMBER THAT THEY ARE ONLY KIDS.
This might happen in other leagues as well but if we get rid of it in the DVFL we are on our way to getting this league back where it belongs.....

well done WACHALOT.
you point 3 is most appropriate now that the junior finals have started. Was abit of abuse at the grounds last sunday.

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 10:46
i would know him i have known his family for yrs used to play cricket wit michael i saw him for the 1st time in a while sat and he is still very short and dont think ne vfl club would chase him if no one is after abe williams then i couldnt see davey getting picked up

i know trent hotton got drafted straight from east burwood after 1 season there to carlton and that vogles bloke from sydney didnt he get drafted staight out of country footy?

I'm still trying to figure out how you quoted two different people in the one post. Impressive....

Luke Vogles was drafted to Sydney from Terang-Mortlake

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 15:32
Where the f-k is everyone?

I’m hung over and shirking every issue my boss is throwing at me…

Who thinks we will beat the Bulls on Saturday? I do…..

kanga fan man
3 Aug 2006, 15:42
Were are yous playing them at Jewels has big John Swindon been playing and has pee wee been playng in the seniors ?

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 15:52
Were are yous playing them at Jewels has big John Swindon been playing and has pee wee been playng in the seniors ?

At Yulong:eek:

We play Yulong okay though...

Big Lurch has retired at the ripe old age of 24. Had shoulder operations did all the rehab and still could not get through a game without re-dislocating. Great shame as when he was up and going I reckon he was as good as Heid's D.Nolan. He was very important to Mont the two years we played off.

Brother Curtly goes well though :thumbsu:

Pee Wee has played a few games - but hasn't yet been able to cement a spot. I've got time for him though.

mattyr
3 Aug 2006, 15:59
Where the f-k is everyone?

I’m hung over and shirking every issue my boss is throwing at me…

Who thinks we will beat the Bulls on Saturday? I do…..

not me go bulls.... last year was a grat game when it was our home game close all day crowd atmosphere and harrison kicked the winning goal....:D

reserves should be a good game also

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 16:01
not me go bulls.... last year was a grat game when it was our home game close all day crowd atmosphere and harrison kicked the winning goal....:D

reserves should be a good game also

We was robbed! :D

kanga fan man
3 Aug 2006, 16:14
Hopefully we can knock off West Preston at home this week and then we will have a good chance of staying up in Div 1 next yr

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 16:18
Hopefully we can knock off West Preston at home this week and then we will have a good chance of staying up in Div 1 next yr

I think you will too.

Obviously Saad is back? He must make a big difference

sunline 11
3 Aug 2006, 16:20

What happens with Heidelberg going to the eastern league, will any team be relegated?.

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 16:22
What happens with Heidelberg going to the eastern league, will any team be relegated?.

If they do go - I don't suppose anyone will be relegated... However I'm sure the Bloods don't want to leave it to chance!!

mattyr
3 Aug 2006, 16:23
We was robbed! :D

will you be at the game on sat jb?

mattyr
3 Aug 2006, 16:24
If they do go - I don't suppose anyone will be relegated... However I'm sure the Bloods don't want to leave it to chance!!

i dont think the bloods will be relagted they are too strong of a club to go down.. and dont deserve to with all the young players they have coming up

sunline 11
3 Aug 2006, 16:26
i dont think the bloods will be relagted they are too strong of a club to go down.. and dont deserve to with all the young players they have coming up

What's happening with Epping?, they won a few on the trot earlier on, is King playing?.

kanga fan man
3 Aug 2006, 16:31
Yeah Saad played last week and kicked 6, King played for Epping last week in there forward line and was well beatin by Josh Summers.

yeah we have a few good kids coming through which is good but we need to stay in Div 1. even with the talk of burgers going u dont wanna leave it to that. well if we win and epping loose they will be on bottom which would be a good sign lol

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 16:31
will you be at the game on sat jb?

Of course Matty. After the early game I will take up my traditional vantage point... On the fence in front of the away rooms. I would shout you a beer mate.. but I know you are too young :p

kanga fan man
3 Aug 2006, 16:37
I think our U19s are playing at bundoora this week

stooge01
3 Aug 2006, 16:43

Big Lurch has retired at the ripe old age of 24. Had shoulder operations did all the rehab and still could not get through a game without re-dislocating. Great shame as when he was up and going I reckon he was as good as Heid's D.Nolan. He was very important to Mont the two years we played off.

Pee Wee has played a few games - but hasn't yet been able to cement a spot. I've got time for him though.

jnb is there a bit of bad blood with you and pee wee?

stooge01
3 Aug 2006, 16:44

jnb is there bad blood between you and peewee?

Jewelsandbullet
3 Aug 2006, 16:44
jnb is there a bit of bad blood with you and pee wee?

Nah not at all mate. I said I've got time for him.

mattyr
3 Aug 2006, 16:48
Of course Matty. After the early game I will take up my traditional vantage point... On the fence in front of the away rooms. I would shout you a beer mate.. but I know you are too young :p

thats it jb good to hear right near the bundoora bench so you can listen to vinnies stratigic rotations through the bench...funny enough its usually where i am behind the bench listening in :p it sucks being young

kanga fan man
3 Aug 2006, 16:51
thats it jb good to hear right near the bundoora bench so you can listen to vinnies stratigic rotations through the bench...funny enough its usually where i am behind the bench listening in :p it sucks being young

Matty u play in 19's ?

mattyr
3 Aug 2006, 16:51
I think our U19s are playing at bundoora this week

yeh kanga bullsV Lalorat Bundoora 9:40 am
too early for me :p

mattyr
3 Aug 2006, 16:52
Matty u play in 19's ?

nah under 16's at bundoora juniors yjfl ...my brother plays in the seniors thats why im always there

King_Cobra
3 Aug 2006, 17:18
You`ll be right mate, hopefully you can drag yourself up to my level and if you can achieve that I`ll be the first to congratulate you. By the way, what happened to my winnings from Sunday?

Speak to Ben Cookson I think he might have it...LOL.
The little prick didnt even put any over the bar, alot not happy with him.

mitch_fc
4 Aug 2006, 00:00
Lower Vs Greensy could be a ripper this weekend. The boys are looking forward to a crack at the Slime, and we have a good little side in. possibly the best side all year.

BlindedByTheLight
4 Aug 2006, 00:12
any truth in the rumour that heidelberg may have a new ruckman playing this week, x-afl from roos.

FOOTYBOSS
4 Aug 2006, 09:16
any truth in the rumour that heidelberg may have a new ruckman playing this week, x-afl from roos.
Not true at all. what is with their ground at the moment. Heidelbergs ground is disgraceful. It is supposed to be one of the better grounds in the league, but currently its a mud heap and under alot of water. It reminds of the Monty ground in the mid-late 90s.

bearfan
4 Aug 2006, 09:40
Lower Vs Greensy could be a ripper this weekend. The boys are looking forward to a crack at the Slime, and we have a good little side in. possibly the best side all year.

Is that because M Skelly is back in despite not training for a month?

Seriously through it would be the best side we have had this year with the exception of C White.
Hoping for 3 good games and to sneak a couple of wins.

ifyoucandodgeawrench
4 Aug 2006, 10:07
Not true at all. what is with their ground at the moment. Heidelbergs ground is disgraceful. It is supposed to be one of the better grounds in the league, but currently its a mud heap and under alot of water. It reminds of the Monty ground in the mid-late 90s.

doesn't help playing soccer on it sliding around til well after the Heidelberg players are off the track.. careful not to poop where you sleep FOOTYBOSS ;)

Brutal
4 Aug 2006, 10:27
Speak to Ben Cookson I think he might have it...LOL.
The little prick didnt even put any over the bar, alot not happy with him.

Yes mate, spoke to Noel Cartledge and he informed me of the bad news. Suppose I can take the consolation of my Bombers beating his Lions, still the $2000 would have been handy. hope it was a good day for you guys anyway.

FOOTYBOSS
4 Aug 2006, 10:32
doesn't help playing soccer on it sliding around til well after the Heidelberg players are off the track.. careful not to sh it where you sleep FOOTYBOSS ;)
Im not champ. Im just stating the ground is not in good condition like it is most years. Its the worst I have ever seen it. Is there any reason for this?

BlindedByTheLight
4 Aug 2006, 10:34

so now they cant complain bout the eltham ground. how id that new ruckman going?

matchwinner
4 Aug 2006, 10:36

Seriously through it would be the best side we have had this year with the exception of C White.

Who's M Skelly? Someone might have to point him out so I can introduce myself before the game!!!

You could probably squeeze Downey and Cow in there as well I would think. Would be close to the best side on paper, but hopefully there is not too many blokes in there who are underdone. We do need them to get some matches under their belts before finals though!!!

Certainly 3 big games tomorrow. Been looking forward to this since round 1, and will give us all an indication of where we are at. Will be a big test. Hopefully those beers from your bar will be tasting good after the game bearfan!

GeeBruz
4 Aug 2006, 10:46
bloke by the name of Adrian Tallerico used to play for west Preston, is he still there? Can anyone shed some light?

ifyoucandodgeawrench
4 Aug 2006, 10:49
so now they cant complain bout the eltham ground. how id that new ruckman going?

nobody said anything about half a cricket pitch in the forward pocket..

bearfan
4 Aug 2006, 11:00
Who's M Skelly? Someone might have to point him out so I can introduce myself before the game!!!

You could probably squeeze Downey and Cow in there as well I would think. Would be close to the best side on paper, but hopefully there is not too many blokes in there who are underdone. We do need them to get some matches under their belts before finals though!!!

Certainly 3 big games tomorrow. Been looking forward to this since round 1, and will give us all an indication of where we are at. Will be a big test. Hopefully those beers from your bar will be tasting good after the game bearfan!

Apologies to Downers & Cow.

A few maybe underdone but things look to be building nicely to enable a crack at the finals. (Barring any further injuries).

FOOTYBOSS
4 Aug 2006, 11:12
What new ruckman.

Dont even get us started on the s h i t heap you call a ground out at Eltham.

King_Cobra
4 Aug 2006, 11:41
Yes mate, spoke to Noel Cartledge and he informed me of the bad news. Suppose I can take the consolation of my Bombers beating his Lions, still the $2000 would have been handy. hope it was a good day for you guys anyway.

well he has put the money to good use, turned up to training last night sporting a new hair do, a nice blow wave special very 1980's. Rumour has it he is trying to stand out in the last few weeks because he has some ground to catch up on ryan daley for this years B&F. well at least he finally put some money over the bar last night after some harassment from everyone from the 14 yr boundry ump to the 90 yr old who runs the canteen!!!!!

Muttley
4 Aug 2006, 12:29

The ground isn't flash at the moment but give it a week of fine whether and it'll come up perfect. Head Sheahan does a power of work to keep it up to standard. Bit rough though, having a go at a facility that the HFC has kindly offered. Have it on good authority that your ground is one of the worst in the GVFL after a rain, but doesn't get the traffic on it to cut it up because no ones training on it.

Brutal
4 Aug 2006, 12:52
well he has put the money to good use, turned up to training last night sporting a new hair do, a nice blow wave special very 1980's. Rumour has it he is trying to stand out in the last few weeks because he has some ground to catch up on ryan daley for this years B&F. well at least he finally put some money over the bar last night after some harassment from everyone from the 14 yr boundry ump to the 90 yr old who runs the canteen!!!!!

Nothing more threatening than a 14yo hanging out out for his Jimmy can, I`m tipping Cookie would have recognised the danger in that and hotfooted to the bar straight away. Interesting he `s behind in the B n F, that would be causing him some sleepless nights, I suppose the onfield waxing of the footy between the two may result in a third party coming to the fore now, can`t see Cookie wanting to share too much of the ball with young Rysa now.

AJ ZUB
4 Aug 2006, 13:10

The boro's have a cracking side in this week and have been looking forward to a hard fought contest for weeks. Must say that our seconds have probably their best side in all year also. Should be a ripper game.

FOOTYBOSS
4 Aug 2006, 14:09
The ground isn't flash at the moment but give it a week of fine whether and it'll come up perfect. Head Sheahan does a power of work to keep it up to standard. Bit rough though, having a go at a facility that the HFC has kindly offered. Have it on good authority that your ground is one of the worst in the GVFL after a rain, but doesn't get the traffic on it to cut it up because no ones training on it.
I dont think any of my posts that I said we played on a perfect ground. It is a shocking ground after some rain and Im the 1st to admit that. Our ground does get traffic by the way, we do have a junior footy club and senior footy club that train and play on it. Im just stating that its the worst I have ever seen the ground, which is a shame as I believe it was a very good ground to play on.

Brutal
4 Aug 2006, 14:17
The boro's have a cracking side in this week and have been looking forward to a hard fought contest for weeks. Must say that our seconds have probably their best side in all year also. Should be a ripper game.

Hopefully will be a great game, although Lowers form even when winning has not been great but I have theory on this and hopefully by 5pm Saturday it will be a pretty good theory. Will certainly be the tallest side going around in all forms of D.V.F.L. footy this weekend I imagine with some of the inclusions, only problem will be players underdone, but we have no choice but to play them.

Giveyathemail
4 Aug 2006, 14:17
I dont think any of my posts that I said we played on a perfect ground. It is a shocking ground after some rain and Im the 1st to admit that. Our ground does get traffic by the way, we do have a junior footy club and senior footy club that train and play on it. Im just stating that its the worst I have ever seen the ground, which is a shame as I believe it was a very good ground to play on.

Makes for an interesting contest there tomorrow, Creek enjoy those type of conditions and as we all know are more than capable of handling the bigger grounds alot better than most.

ifyoucandodgeawrench
4 Aug 2006, 14:35
Makes for an interesting contest there tomorrow, Creek enjoy those type of conditions and as we all know are more than capable of handling the bigger grounds alot better than most.

not really, as earlier in the year when they met, the creek ground was in similar condition.

Giveyathemail
4 Aug 2006, 14:40
not really, as earlier in the year when they met, the creek ground was in similar condition.

In saying that though, Heidelbergs class players will be the difference in the end... I just dont think they will belt Creek as severely as they would some other sides in those type of conditions on a ground that size. The size of Heidelbergs ground would not be a huge weight on the shoulders of those at Creek.

Kickass
4 Aug 2006, 14:40
info is that the investigation has put off to next week til the bloke who was assaulted is well enough to attend and can talk properly....

also of note is that north have suspended the player who did it...

Does anybody know what has/hasn't happened with this investigation ??

Or have the DVFL done yet another Houdini and just whipped it under the carpet again??

Any news from Creek end Andy ?? :rolleyes:

King_Cobra
4 Aug 2006, 14:43
Nothing more threatening than a 14yo hanging out out for his Jimmy can, I`m tipping Cookie would have recognised the danger in that and hotfooted to the bar straight away. Interesting he `s behind in the B n F, that would be causing him some sleepless nights, I suppose the onfield waxing of the footy between the two may result in a third party coming to the fore now, can`t see Cookie wanting to share too much of the ball with young Rysa now.

Cooka is not 1 to share it around with his team mates, unless ur talking about his women....lol, but dales does a good job of finding it himself and feeding it out to the "loose" cookson...

Jewelsandbullet
4 Aug 2006, 14:59

Or have the DVFL done yet another Houdini and just whipped it under the carpet again??

….DIAMOND VALLEY NEWS FLASH…....

An investigation was heard last night by a three member panel into an incident occurring after the siren between Nth Heidelberg and Diamond Creek at Shelly street reserve. This panel was hastily convened by the Diamond Valley administration. All three members were either life members or ex-presidents of the Nth Heidelberg football club or both. It took them exactly two minutes and 13 seconds to have a good laugh at the case and dismiss.

Apparently the creek witnesses have mysteriously "gone missing":D …..

mattyr
4 Aug 2006, 15:07
….DIAMOND VALLEY NEWS FLASH…....

An investigation was heard last night by a three member panel into an incident occurring after the siren between Nth Heidelberg and Diamond Creek at Shelly street reserve. This panel was hastily convened by the Diamond Valley administration. All three members were either life members or ex-presidents of the Nth Heidelberg football club or both. It took them exactly two minutes and 13 seconds to have a good laugh at the case and dismiss.

Apparently the creek witnesses have mysteriously "gone missing":D …..

that sucks :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

Jewelsandbullet
4 Aug 2006, 15:09
that sucks :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

Matty -I was having a bit of gag

Prince Ashton
4 Aug 2006, 15:23

are you talkn bout the mony nheid game last week? rumour has it a incident after the game where mont players jaw broken

Kickass
4 Aug 2006, 15:24

I like your sense of humour J&B.

However, that is exactly what is likely to have happened, and i can see why the Kid (matty) got confused.

Let's hope the league does take it a little more seriously and only allows 2 former Nth ex- president /Life members on their 3 member panel, and perhaps reserve the 3rd seat for one of the Brandt Brothers. LOL

K.A

Jewelsandbullet
4 Aug 2006, 15:31
are you talkn bout the mony nheid game last week? rumour has it a incident after the game where mont players jaw broken

Not sure where that rumour come from? - but can confirm we came out unscathed last week.

We are talking about the investigation into Nth H V Creek incident (refer to previous posts)

mattyr
4 Aug 2006, 17:59

yeh once i read over it again i relised bloody school computers distract me

mitch_fc
4 Aug 2006, 19:48

cant wait!!!! I'll be sure to keep a close eye on Skelly, apparently he can play a bit... seriously im pretty lucky to be in the side, i cant even remember what lane work looks like anymore.

We have a massive side in. the dry conditions will suit us, and if we get it right we are a real chance. Things are building nicely towards finals.

Hudson 26
5 Aug 2006, 00:57
cant wait!!!! I'll be sure to keep a close eye on Skelly, apparently he can play a bit... seriously im pretty lucky to be in the side, i cant even remember what lane work looks like anymore.

We have a massive side in. the dry conditions will suit us, and if we get it right we are a real chance. Things are building nicely towards finals.

A few of the boys in the 2s think your lucky too (not happy jan)

ifooty
5 Aug 2006, 14:33
Wow. all this bitching, whingeing abuse.

All I would liketo know the facts______ will:

1/Lalor be relegated
2/Bundoora win the Flag
3/Heidelberg go to EFL
4/Is Mil Park a Good Junior Club
5/Fawkner park fold
6/Will the DVFL admin and media team get the boot.....please , please
7/The DVFL have a footy show on 31, the other Leagues really show us up.

upncomer
5 Aug 2006, 20:27
Great to see Eltham smashed North Heidelberg:D

growler69
5 Aug 2006, 21:29
Great to see thommo get up, there a big chance to play finals now for the first time in dv.

Prince Ashton
5 Aug 2006, 21:57

great effort by lower - smashed in all three games. total of just 11 goals by senior sides. look like tumbling out of top six and if play finals will go out first week.

sparksy
6 Aug 2006, 00:02

what i heard today was 15 weeks and has to front up again to ask for permit to play

sparksy
6 Aug 2006, 00:13
Great to see Eltham smashed North Heidelberg:Dwe didnt smash them.we only won by 59 points.

chopsewie
6 Aug 2006, 00:37
we didnt smash them.we only won by 59 points.I think this is a long over due result. Nth Heidelberg have won a lot of games by intimidating sides i really beleive the myth has come to an end. Id like to see the four next year consist of bundoora , eltham , diamondcreek and mont and bring finals to the heart of the valley all we need now is Epping to go to divi two along with the dogs would nt that be grand ! :cool:

matchwinner
6 Aug 2006, 11:28
great effort by lower - smashed in all three games. total of just 11 goals by senior sides. look like tumbling out of top six and if play finals will go out first week.

We were shown up by a far more professional outfit who wanted the footy a lot more than us! They were very impressive and we were terrible. Hopefully it was just a bad day for us, time till tell. But it is certainly back to the drawing board and the only way you can get through it is hard work. Starting with a Sunday training session today!!!!

Motty
6 Aug 2006, 15:39
I've just been to a family member's junior final at the EFL. Their prices are $4 to get in plus a free Record. Why did we have to pay $8 last week plus an extra $1 for a Record? They will also have their GF's video'd whilst the DVFL have canned this idea this season.

There cannot be that must of a difference in staging four finals in a day, can there?

Brutal
6 Aug 2006, 19:11
We were shown up by a far more professional outfit who wanted the footy a lot more than us! They were very impressive and we were terrible. Hopefully it was just a bad day for us, time till tell. But it is certainly back to the drawing board and the only way you can get through it is hard work. Starting with a Sunday training session today!!!!

No excuses, but what was blatantly obvious is that Greensborough as a club is head and shoulders above any other Div 2 club in preparation for div 1 football and that we (Lower) are about three years away from reaching that level. That is not to say that they are a shoe in to win the 1`s flag but if they don`t then whoever beats them will not have the depth to cope with div 1 football.

GOONA
6 Aug 2006, 19:47
I've just been to a family member's junior final at the EFL. Their prices are $4 to get in plus a free Record. Why did we have to pay $8 last week plus an extra $1 for a Record? They will also have their GF's video'd whilst the DVFL have canned this idea this season.

There cannot be that must of a difference in staging four finals in a day, can there?

In the EDFL there is no charge to the first 2 weeks of their finals. Just another way for the DVFL to put a bit extra into their pockets! Making parents pay $8 to take their kids to play finals footy is a joke in my opinion.

The_KID
6 Aug 2006, 20:18
Went to north heidelberg today to watch some junior finals. Speaking of gate charges, the bloke on the gate was the rudest incompetent man i have ever run into. He was a disgrace and for visitors to the valley games, he is first person they run inot. first impressions last. Get someone with some ppl skills.

BlindedByTheLight
6 Aug 2006, 21:56

just back from thommo where some clown sounded his car horn to cause the u17 last quarter to be holted and chaos followed.
and last week's record said that it was the club delegates that voted not to have the grand finals taped.

Doona2
6 Aug 2006, 22:11
As an outsider it seems there's always gripes as to the way your comp is managed. Some of you regular posters seem really passionate about your comp - any of you in the position of trying to run against the current DVFL guru's and getting some fresh blood and fresh thought processes into power.

It would be a shame to see a once powerful metropolitan competition continue to slide due to the poorly run (and outdated) administration you all regularly refer to.

And also . . . . what a w**k paying $8 to watch the kids play

upncomer
6 Aug 2006, 23:05
we didnt smash them.we only won by 59 points.
Which is great to see.:thumbsu:

MagpieScouser
7 Aug 2006, 07:09
great to see the thomastown bears beat our arch rivals wallan in div 2

Moxy
7 Aug 2006, 09:49
great to see the thomastown bears beat our arch rivals wallan in div 2

It was a ripper game to watch. I think our first half cost us letting your guys kick 7 goals each quarter. We came home well but everytime we got within a goal you boys just kicked a quick 1 or 2 and kept that buffer.

But I dont want to take anything away from Deano and the boys down there they played very good football for 4 quarters. A fun time was had by all after the game with an few boys from wallan hanging around to stumps, always good to catch up with old mates.:thumbsu:

Rumour has it that the Thommo boys were trying to acquire the services of some Wallan boys for next year by supplying them with free spirits all night.:D

FOOTYBOSS
7 Aug 2006, 09:58
It was a ripper game to watch. I think our first half cost us letting your guys kick 7 goals each quarter. We came home well but everytime we got within a goal you boys just kicked a quick 1 or 2 and kept that buffer.

But I dont want to take anything away from Deano and the boys down there they played very good football for 4 quarters. A fun time was had by all after the game with an few boys from wallan hanging around to stumps, always good to catch up with old mates.:thumbsu:

Rumour has it that the Thommo boys were trying to acquire the services of some Wallan boys for next year by supplying them with free spirits all night.:D
Looking at the scores mox, it looked be an old fashion shoot out. Im sure the Wallan boys would have liked your services out there. You may have got them over the line. Does that mean the season is over for you boys?

I was speaking to a player from Lower on Saturday night, while having a few beers he mentioned that his team are just not upto it. To many blokes that think they are better then what they actually are. He also stated that they are no hope of getting back upto div1 in the next 5 years.

David_02
7 Aug 2006, 10:04
Looking at the scores mox, it looked be an old fashion shoot out. Im sure the Wallan boys would have liked your services out there. You may have got them over the line. Does that mean the season is over for you boys?

I was speaking to a player from Lower on Saturday night, while having a few beers he mentioned that his team are just not upto it. To many blokes that think they are better then what they actually are. He also stated that they are no hope of getting back upto div1 in the next 5 years.

lol who was this player?