View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Looking at the scores mox, it looked be an old fashion shoot out. Im sure the Wallan boys would have liked your services out there. You may have got them over the line. Does that mean the season is over for you boys?
I was speaking to a player from Lower on Saturday night, while having a few beers he mentioned that his team are just not upto it. To many blokes that think they are better then what they actually are. He also stated that they are no hope of getting back upto div1 in the next 5 years.
Coaches comments after game probably spot on, too many guys pulling in different directions, untill we are prepared to work as 1 we will struggle to compete with an outfit like Borough. Lets not forget this is Boroughs 3rd year back in div 2 and i`m sure if they win the flag this year as they should, they will be in a far better position to once again attack Div 1 than what they would have been if they had gone straight back up a couple of years ago. If Lower is to spend two or three years in Div 2 developing the right culture amongst the young group of players in order to play div 1, then so be it, we are not after the quick fix anymore, we have been down that track and it`s not sustainable or smart. We have challenges as a club which other senior clubs don`t have to contend with, which are well documented but all that means is we have to work harder and smarter and with the off field support due to build we won`t be far away. 5 years? extrtemely pessimistic view I would think.
Jewelsandbullet
7 Aug 2006, 11:35
Saw a slick Bundoora outfit dispose of Mont on Saturday.
While I'm not sure how much difference they will make, it certainly didn't help that two of our "marquee" players in Gutterson and Cuthberson were not available. (desperate need Ottens back too)
Like Heidelberg the Bulls were able to push us off the ball a little bit, we were beaten at stoppages and their tall forwards exposed us. From what I have seen its very hard to split the two top teams.
The Bulls game plan is all about creating the loose man accorss half back and the wing, and they do it very well. I think we might have finally cottoned on that we need to counter that.
Lastly for Matty, I'd like to know your thoughts (or any other Bundoora person): I think the Bulls showed their hand a little bit, with the over the top tagging of Tim Watson, absolutly know chance that Fitzgerald was trying to get a kick, and he deserved the whack Timmy gave him, some of the cheap shots (Fitzgerald) had dished out earlier were no good:thumbsd: I think Ferret was probably still our best player .. and is quite easily our hardest/ toughest.
Don't think Mont can let Fitzgerald get a way with that next time.
David_02
7 Aug 2006, 11:44
While I'm not sure how much difference they will make, it certainly didn't help that two of our "marquee" players in Gutterson and Cuthberson were not available. (desperate need Ottens back too)
Like Heidelberg the Bulls were able to push us off the ball a little bit, we were beaten at stoppages and their tall forwards exposed us. From what I have seen its very hard to split the two top teams.
The Bulls game plan is all about creating the loose man accorss half back and the wing, and they do it very well. I think we might have finally cottoned on that we need to counter that.
Lastly for Matty, I'd like to know your thoughts (or any other Bundoora person): I think the Bulls showed their hand a little bit, with the over the top tagging of Tim Watson, absolutly know chance that Fitzgerald was trying to get a kick, and he deserved the whack Timmy gave him, some of the cheap shots (Fitzgerald) had dished out earlier were no good:thumbsd: I think Ferret was probably still our best player .. and is quite easily our hardest/ toughest.
only give what u can take?
Jewelsandbullet
7 Aug 2006, 11:50
only give what u can take?
Who you mean?
I'm sure Fitzgerald can take it... he is obviously hard... Just don't think we can let him or any other no kick getting tagger beat up on our best on baller.
EDFL MAN
7 Aug 2006, 11:58
"Lastly for Matty, I'd like to know your thoughts (or any other Bundoora person): I think the Bulls showed their hand a little bit, with the over the top tagging of Tim Watson, absolutly know chance that Fitzgerald was trying to get a kick, and he deserved the whack Timmy gave him, some of the cheap shots (Fitzgerald) had dished out earlier were no good":thumbsd:
Fitzy is a fair and hard player in my opinion, knowing the bloke what eva he gives out he can receive back. ;)
Loves it hard the boy. :thumbsu:
Which is great to see.:thumbsu:
It's also Great to see an Upncomer - Upnposting, especially being such a shy and retiring bloke that you are!!
This now guarantees that at least one other highly intellectual person will be making comments on a regular basis; Although if you were really that clever, you would be a better Poker player and also wouldn't follow the Kangas.
matchwinner
7 Aug 2006, 12:19
Who you mean?
I'm sure Fitzgerald can take it... he is obviously hard... Just don't think we can let him or any other no kick getting tagger beat up on our best on baller.
How did David_02 (Dave Mitchell) play against your boys on Saturday?
Jewelsandbullet
7 Aug 2006, 12:23
How did David_02 (Dave Mitchell) play against your boys on Saturday?
He was very good.
Their blond haired brigade killed us: Mitchell, Hyde, Mc Intosh. (McIntosh is a gun)
They are a well drilled team.
the_interloper
7 Aug 2006, 12:24
Who you mean?
I felt the same way J&B. I could understand them targeting our best player this year (would win the B&F if he hadn't taken off north for a month) but Watto needed a bit of help in shaking a very heavy tag. I missed the start where number 40 (was that Fitzgerald?) reportedly went straight after him, but apparently he wore the return barrage pretty well.
Bundy did it very easy in patches, I thought the scoreline could have been a lot worse, was thinking around the 12 goals mark at half time but we pegged it back to our credit.
This week should be interesting, we nearly knocked off Heidelberg at home last year, it would be a super effort if we could get up. Are Cuthbo and Gutto due back this week?
Looking at the scores mox, it looked be an old fashion shoot out. Im sure the Wallan boys would have liked your services out there. You may have got them over the line. Does that mean the season is over for you boys?
We're not out of it BOSS but it makes our job a hell of a lot harder. We need to beat Hurstbridge by a handy margin then thump Fawkner park and hope that Hursty beat Thommo in the last round, then it all comes down to percentage.
was speaking to a player from Lower on Saturday night, while having a few beers he mentioned that his team are just not upto it. To many blokes that think they are better then what they actually are. He also stated that they are no hope of getting back upto div1 in the next 5 years.
Brutal you guys started off the season so well. What is causing this sort of attitude down at lower, is it just 1 or 2 people infecting the others or is it the majority of the side.
Jewelsandbullet
7 Aug 2006, 12:47
I felt the same way J&B. I could understand them targeting our best player this year (would win the B&F if he hadn't taken off north for a month) but Watto needed a bit of help in shaking a very heavy tag. I missed the start where number 40 (was that Fitzgerald?) reportedly went straight after him, but apparently he wore the return barrage pretty well.
Bundy did it very easy in patches, I thought the scoreline could have been a lot worse, was thinking around the 12 goals mark at half time but we pegged it back to our credit.
This week should be interesting, we nearly knocked off Heidelberg at home last year, it would be a super effort if we could get up. Are Cuthbo and Gutto due back this week?
Yeah - they didn't kick straight ... but we played better in the second half.
Cuthbo and Gutto back this week. Given we are lacking a bit of on field "presence" Jai has to play. So at least three good ins. Possibly Floriani as well.
At the Nest... you never know!
We're not out of it BOSS but it makes our job a hell of a lot harder. We need to beat Hurstbridge by a handy margin then thump Fawkner park and hope that Hursty beat Thommo in the last round, then it all comes down to percentage.
Brutal you guys started off the season so well. What is causing this sort of attitude down at lower, is it just 1 or 2 people infecting the others or is it the majority of the side.
I think to be quite honest we lack hardness both physically and mentally, plus the aspect of a couple of players that don`t do the right thing by the younger guys and lead the way. But hopefully over the next three years a culture can be developed that overcome`s these issues, I have no doubt we have the talent both now and coming through in the future. It`s also important that we work with our junior coaches and hopefully get them on board with what we are trying to achieve with the individual, if they can start the process at the junior level them we will benefit in the long run, we are all in for the long haul. It`s an exciting challenge.
matchwinner
7 Aug 2006, 13:13
I don't think that there is a huge attitude problem down at Lower. We have a great bunch of blokes who really enjoy being together. There are certainly areas we can improve in. We are just not as advanced as Greensborough at this stage. Losing to them by 6 points in Round 1, when we probably thought we played better than them that day, maybe gave us some false thoughts as to where we were at. Whilst I wouldn't say that they are a 20 goal better side than us, (Saturday's result), they have certainly progressed better than us since Round 1. You also only need to look at their reserves and under 19's to see that they are strong across the board. They also apparently do a Wednesday night training session on top of Tuesday and Thursday, and after a forward missed a couple of set shots Saturday, another player said they'd get out there this week and do some goal kicking practice. The last couple of year's results has obviously hurt them, and they are hungry and prepared to put in the hard work. With us, we haven't had a settled side all year with injuries, plus I don't think we have quite the same desire to work hard and leave no stone unturned to achieve success. Up until Saturday, our four losses had been by 3, 6, 7 and 20 points and we probably thought that those results could easily have been different. But there is no hiding from what happened on Saturday and we now have to use Greensborough as an example of where we have to get to. As Brutal said though, this isn't about quick fixes. We have processes in place and as long as everyone puts in the hard work and pulls in the same direction, we will be successful in the long run.
Nail biting few weeks ahead for all those in the relegation spots. With the bloods a game behind they need a couple of big wins to stay off the bottom. Epping play eltham and west preston in the next couple of weeks a win in any of these games would clearly leave the bloods with no hope of catching up.
GYTM what are your thoughts on the looming relegation situation?
Also heard a rumour that a vote is taking place to see if Scott Cummings should be allowed to come back for one of the remaining games this season.
Any truth to this GYTM?
Giveyathemail
7 Aug 2006, 14:57
Nail biting few weeks ahead for all those in the relegation spots. With the bloods a game behind they need a couple of big wins to stay off the bottom. Epping play eltham and west preston in the next couple of weeks a win in any of these games would clearly leave the bloods with no hope of catching up.
GYTM what are your thoughts on the looming relegation situation?
Also heard a rumour that a vote is taking place to see if Scott Cummings should be allowed to come back for one of the remaining games this season.
Any truth to this GYTM?
I cant see Epping winning again this year. But in saying that, stranger things have happened. You and I have spoken about the situation in person mate, and its killing me even thinking about it now time has ticked away a bit. But we have 3 weeks to try and salvage something out of nothing.
That whisper you have heard has some basis, but not in the extraordinary circumstances that you described above. No vote or anything like that... We can play him if we choose to, the option is there if we decided to take him up on it. He actually approched us with an offer to play a couple of games. Whether we do or not will be up to Dash and the match commitee. If we do we do, if we dont we dont. Im not really fussed either way to be honest, and it seems to be more of a talking point outside of our club...
I cant see Epping winning again this year. But in saying that, nothing really suprises me anymore Moxy. You and I have spoken about our situation in person mate, and its killing me even thinking about it
GYTM your prediction pre-season regarding Thommo was spot on mate ( them making finals ). Deano has done a huge job with them and they are only 2 wins away from making finals for the first time in their history in the valley.
If i was on the board at thommo I would be looking to lock him in to a long term deal A.S.A.P. No doubt IF they make finals he would have made a name for himself and would be getting a few offers in the off season.
In the EDFL there is no charge to the first 2 weeks of their finals. Just another way for the DVFL to put a bit extra into their pockets! Making parents pay $8 to take their kids to play finals footy is a joke in my opinion.
If you must know, as they are all council owned land, no one is compelled to pay any admittance. No matter what the person on the gate says.
I have never paid to watch any senior or junior finals in the DVFL.
That is why Nillimbuk council removed fences at their grounds, they are public land to be able to be used by anyone
EDFL MAN
7 Aug 2006, 16:35
If you must know, as they are all council owned land, no one is compelled to pay any admittance. No matter what the person on the gate says.
I have never paid to watch any senior or junior finals in the DVFL.
That is why Nillimbuk council removed fences at their grounds, they are public land to be able to be used by anyone
I can confirm that is correct, if you wish not to pay.........just walk in. ;)
dave mitchell done very well on saturday....legend i say
fitzy done well, he didnt run out there and throw punches from the first bounce just was nigeling at watson and got abit heated and from then it was abit of a dual..but dont u worry about fitzy though tuff as and he got some rippers in on watson and grimes....j&b what was with the mont supporters trying to give it to vinny i dont think it worked to well as he soon sent out fitzy onto watson again and let them know about it :p
Jewelsandbullet
7 Aug 2006, 17:11
fitzy done well, he didnt run out there and throw punches from the first bounce just was nigeling at watson and got abit heated and from then it was abit of a dual..but dont u worry about fitzy though tuff as and he got some rippers in on watson and grimes....j&b what was with the mont supporters trying to give it to vinny i dont think it worked to well as he soon sent out fitzy onto watson again and let them know about it :p
Not sure mate, I didn't hear any of it, doesn't surprise me though (from either our supporters or Vinni)
Fitzy didn't get a kick and still got a bath by Watto.
I thought Grimes was one of the few that flew the flag ... is just a kid and nowhere near Fitz- but had a crack anyway. :thumbsu:
the_interloper
7 Aug 2006, 17:21
Not sure mate, I didn't hear any of it, doesn't surprise me though (from either our supporters or Vinni)
Fitzy didn't get a kick and still got a bath by Watto.
I thought Grimes was one of the few that flew the flag ... is just a kid and nowhere near Fitz- but had a crack anyway. :thumbsu:
Grimesy has a crack for a young bloke, he was handy against North Heidelberg at the Kennel earlier this year, the lad can get very angry!
The games that I've seen people try to get into Watto are usually his best, fires him up a bit I think. He did give Fitzy a touch up, thought Wooly was one of our best actually, any idea why there were no best players J&B?
Jewelsandbullet
7 Aug 2006, 17:39
Grimesy has a crack for a young bloke, he was handy against North Heidelberg at the Kennel earlier this year, the lad can get very angry!
The games that I've seen people try to get into Watto are usually his best, fires him up a bit I think. He did give Fitzy a touch up, thought Wooly was one of our best actually, any idea why there were no best players J&B?
Nah I got no idea. I reckon you would have: Waston, Bogliss, Swindon, Neil
Agree Wooly plays even better when he is coping it.. seems to inspire him.
i didnt think it was a very big turnout on sat mont bulls game where was everyone???
My suspicions about the D.V.F.L. having an ace up their sleeve in regards to the Heidelberg situation could be spot on if what I heard on Sunday is correct. Apparently Football Victoria is about to or already has flexed some muscle on the issue and is backing the D.V. in Heidelberg remaining in the Valley. Info came straight from D.V. official.
mitch_fc
7 Aug 2006, 23:34
A few of the boys in the 2s think your lucky too (not happy jan)
you have made 11 bigfooty posts. i think i counted 4 that had my name in them.
at least everyone knows who i am. My ego is growing weekly.
On the topic of Lower V Greensy, we were just not good enough in any area. They deserve the flag. May not happen (footy is a funny old game after all) but have been the best side ive played against all year. (bar Hursty 2's)
Very well drilled organised unit.
My club has great young blokes that are enjoying their footy, and once we have spent another year or 2 together im sure we can play with a simular style.
Jimmy Gwilt
7 Aug 2006, 23:40
My suspicions about the D.V.F.L. having an ace up their sleeve in regards to the Heidelberg situation could be spot on if what I heard on Sunday is correct. Apparently Football Victoria is about to or already has flexed some muscle on the issue and is backing the D.V. in Heidelberg remaining in the Valley. Info came straight from D.V. official.
Yes brutal heard the exact same thing - even heard the afl have stepped in because they are involved in grass roots footy and the development of juniors and stuff and i honestly dont think heidelberg are going anywhere - u hear they are and u hear theyre not but the decision is not up to them entirely
mitch_fc
8 Aug 2006, 00:01
for the sake of local footy at a junior level the DV cant let its best senior sides walk out. lets hope someone does step in.
Giveyathemail
8 Aug 2006, 09:42
GYTM your prediction pre-season regarding Thommo was spot on mate ( them making finals ). Deano has done a huge job with them and they are only 2 wins away from making finals for the first time in their history in the valley.
If i was on the board at thommo I would be looking to lock him in to a long term deal A.S.A.P. No doubt IF they make finals he would have made a name for himself and would be getting a few offers in the off season.
Yeah he has done a great job mate, and yes they are hanging onto Deano with all they have. He will stay another 2 maybe 3 years I reckon. My prediction was based on Deano's work ethic and the fact that Thommo had never made finals before. They have a good mix of youth and experience. My next predication is that Thommo will win their next 2 games by 10 and 8 goals respectivley (Watsonia and Hurstbridge).
Also Mox my computer went down yesterday ( I wish my missus would go down that quick) so the rest of my response to your original enquiry is on PG 141...
Hudson 26
8 Aug 2006, 09:54
[quote=mitch_fc]you have made 11 bigfooty posts. i think i counted 4 that had my name in them.
Wouldn't think your ego could get any bigger.
never been shy too talk yourself up & put your team mates down (behind their backs) careful what you say walls have ears.
Look back though your past posts, you did this you did that you you you.
big footy readers only have to put up with your crap here. at lower we get it 3 times a week. sorry only once a week because you cant train?
will we get to see u tonight?, i hope not
the_interloper
8 Aug 2006, 10:02
i didnt think it was a very big turnout on sat mont bulls game where was everyone???
I thought it wasn't a bad turnout, then again I haven't been to Yulong except for this game so don't know how the other crowds have been. Geez those new rooms are pretty special, would love the Nest to boast something similar!
BlindedByTheLight
8 Aug 2006, 10:04
for the sake of local footy at a junior level the DV cant let its best senior sides walk out. lets hope someone does step in.
betcha if they do or are forced to stay that the money dries up and with no juniors will quickly slide down the ladder and into division2.
hugs_dancer
8 Aug 2006, 10:37
I thought it wasn't a bad turnout, then again I haven't been to Yulong except for this game so don't know how the other crowds have been. Geez those new rooms are pretty special, would love the Nest to boast something similar!
apparently there man o man function was the best night seen in a while, over 250 girlies. perfect place to have a good function in those rooms.
the_interloper
8 Aug 2006, 10:46
apparently there man o man function was the best night seen in a while, over 250 girlies. perfect place to have a good function in those rooms.
Give me 250 girlies in a tin shed in the outback and I'd have a great function! :D
Sorry mate, but I don't reckon you'd know what to do with 1 girlie, let alone 250 of them.
I think a few of the Regular posters to this thread can give you a few ideas though.
Jewelsandbullet
8 Aug 2006, 11:32
Sorry mate, but I don't reckon you'd know what to do with 1 girlie, let alone 250 of them.
I think a few of the Regular posters to this thread can give you a few ideas though.
Buy them chocolates??? :confused:
touch there bumshttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
EDFL MAN
8 Aug 2006, 12:43
Play hide and seek......:eek:
[quote=mitch_fc]you have made 11 bigfooty posts. i think i counted 4 that had my name in them.
never been shy too talk yourself up & put your team mates down (behind their backs) careful what you say walls have ears.
big footy readers only have to put up with your crap here. at lower we get it 3 times a week. sorry only once a week because you cant train?
I bet you he'll be getting treatment on his back after being used as a stepladder late in the last quarter. Nice high mark and wasn't too keen on getting up.
growler69
8 Aug 2006, 13:21
Have meaningful conversations with them.
hottip06
8 Aug 2006, 14:47
a long walk on the beach perhaps...
the_interloper
8 Aug 2006, 14:52
growler69, that username is a classic!
Thanks for the helpful suggestions everyone re the ladies, this thread often keeps me amused while I'm trying to avoid doing work! :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
joshooaa
8 Aug 2006, 15:41
was it as big as Mont Vs Eltham?
joshooaa
8 Aug 2006, 15:55
a long walk on the beach perhaps...
whisper sweet nothings to them?
King_Cobra
8 Aug 2006, 16:20
Hudson 26 if ur unhappy down there at lower y not join the growing trend and head to D4. We would be quite happy for unother lower player to join the bulleen ranks that has been unhappy with the treatment they received from the lower crew!!!!!!!
W.T.F.
I logged on before and found the old DV thread. I think I just wasted 45 minutes reading pages of crap from the preseason and few updates from earlier today.
Gotta say, that a few of you were way off the mark with some of your predictions for the year. That has to be disappointing - Yeah ??
Jewelsandbullet
8 Aug 2006, 16:32
W.T.F.
I logged on before and found the old DV thread. I think I just wasted 45 minutes reading pages of crap from the preseason and few updates from earlier today.
Gotta say, that a few of you were way off the mark with some of your predictions for the year. That has to be disappointing - Yeah ??
I'll think you will find KA, that I predicted that Mont would win the premiership... and we are doing a hell of a job of lulling the top two teams into a very, very false sense of security.
So I'm still feeling good. :thumbsu:
W.T.F.
Yeah I found it this morning after looking at AJ ZUB (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=19595) posts from a while back. I didnt realise there was another thread. Why did we move to this one?? Provided a good laugh for how optimistic and wrong people were.
Bruce Almighty
8 Aug 2006, 17:19
[quote=BlindedByTheLight]betcha if they do or are forced to stay that the money dries up and with no juniors will quickly slide down the ladder and into division2.
I am pretty sure Heidelberg have been around for 130 years so i cant see them folding or playing second div **** and i have also been told from a good source that there juniors are in the Yarra league hence pushing with the shift. Personally i think Mont might give them a run for there money this week they tend to struggle at Mont.
kanga fan man
8 Aug 2006, 17:50
There is all sorts of rmours going around i heard one that he Burgers president has friends in Football Victoria and they are backing the burgers to join Eastern.
Kickass what is happening down eltham looks like yous are starting to gel the wrong end of the season, have they young kids go more confident playing DIV 1?
will the bulls north game be any good this week? i certainly hope so
whats the deal with north lately
Mr.Baldy
8 Aug 2006, 19:55
Apparently Jesus is also lining up at full forward this week for the bergs. Hally will be shifted to a pocket.
i heard there are a few holes in his game,allthough,could be handy if its wet.
Bruce Almighty
8 Aug 2006, 22:03
From what i here there is no room up forward and he might even have to start on the timber bench.Lets hope he doesnt get stuck there.
im sure the faithful will be gratefull,no matter where he plays.they could pull a bit of a crowd with a return like that against the demons
mitch_fc
8 Aug 2006, 23:12
as per usual i wasnt at training tonight.
but i hear there was a bit of a meeting for people to air their concerns. Just wondering if u mention my good self???
The only thing i do love more than myself is my footy club, and i probably put alot more time into it than alot of other players down their, so i sleep at night.
mitch_fc
8 Aug 2006, 23:16
[QUOTE=Hudson 26]
I bet you he'll be getting treatment on his back after being used as a stepladder late in the last quarter. Nice high mark and wasn't too keen on getting up.
i still habe a lump on the back of my scon from what was apparently a very good grab... i didnt see much of it from underneath tho!!!
Also how old is Fairchild???
he was ok in round 1 against us, but has obviously been awesome all season and was again on Saturday. theres some great young pkayers in div 2, with Lynch only being 18 i believe.
David_02
9 Aug 2006, 11:04
[QUOTE=AJ ZUB]
i still habe a lump on the back of my scon from what was apparently a very good grab... i didnt see much of it from underneath tho!!!
he was ok in round 1 against us, but has obviously been awesome all season and was again on Saturday. theres some great young pkayers in div 2, with Lynch only being 18 i believe.
same age as lynch.
blackjack44
9 Aug 2006, 11:17
[QUOTE=AJ ZUB]
both 19 this year.
Matthew Pillios
9 Aug 2006, 12:33
Make sure that your tuning into tonight's show of
ESSENDON DISTRICT KNOWS FOOTBALL
Every WEDS 6:30pm - 7:30pm on CH. 31.
* Highlights from the weekends matches
* Interviews with E.D.F.L General Manager Stan Pettett & Rabee Haoucher
* Hille's Home Extensions Junior Cam with Jack Scott
* Great Previews from the Upcoming Round
* Plus, much more............
Matthew Pillios Ashley Flavel Rocky Iannello
YOUR E.D.F.L TV SHOW!!! :D
watchalot
9 Aug 2006, 14:28
Went to north heidelberg today to watch some junior finals. Speaking of gate charges, the bloke on the gate was the rudest incompetent man i have ever run into. He was a disgrace and for visitors to the valley games, he is first person they run inot. first impressions last. Get someone with some ppl skills.
I was also at that game and found him to be very rude but i also found that the club hosting the finals have no say on who runs the gate it is all the dvfl. But once inside i found that north put on a good day despite all the bad press that they recieve. There ground is in great condition and i think the day was ran by the junior club as there seniors had there $10,000 draw on the same day.
That bloke has been around the league for a long time and his people skills have gotten worse, also there are no receipts given out so what is stopping him from putting the money in his pocket.:eek:
Giveyathemail
9 Aug 2006, 14:42
I was also at that game and found him to be very rude but i also found that the club hosting the finals have no say on who runs the gate it is all the dvfl. But once inside i found that north put on a good day despite all the bad press that they recieve. There ground is in great condition and i think the day was ran by the junior club as there seniors had there $10,000 draw on the same day.
That bloke has been around the league for a long time and his people skills have gotten worse, also there are no receipts given out so what is stopping him from putting the money in his pocket.:eek:
Sounds like you are talking about the bloke known as "The Sherriff".
Total idiot, has the personality of a ardvark... Had many a run in with that filthy low life.
Coach Hollywood
9 Aug 2006, 14:49
Yeah everyone hates the Sheriff.
Not a very well liked man in the DVFL at all!:p
Jewelsandbullet
9 Aug 2006, 14:49
Total idiot, has the personality of a ardvark... Had many a run in with that filthy low life.
yeah it has to be him. Total dildo :thumbsd:
Bubble Wrap
9 Aug 2006, 14:53
Poor controls and people lining their own pockets... in the Diamond Valley?
That's crazy talk man.
;)
BlindedByTheLight
9 Aug 2006, 14:54
hugh worth from rspca wants to talk to you as you are giving the ardvarks a bad name .....
There is all sorts of rmours going around i heard one that he Burgers president has friends in Football Victoria and they are backing the burgers to join Eastern.
Kickass what is happening down eltham looks like yous are starting to gel the wrong end of the season, have they young kids go more confident playing DIV 1?
Yep Kanga Fan, It certainly is the wrong time of the year to be putting wins on the board seeing that the Horse has already bolted!
It wouldn't be so bad if we were a chance of making finals though, having beaten 2 of the top 4 (Mont & Nth) in recent weeks and a chance to have a crack at the Bunnies in 2 weeks time.
Perhaps , we can loby our so called friends at DVFL to not allow the Bergers to play finals this year unless they commit to playing on in the Valley next year ??? Panthers would certainly have a crack in the Finals!
Anyway, the reasons for our turnaround a quite simple. A very Young Team with half a dozen or so new inclusions to the club (this year), are starting to gel and find their feet as a TEAM. And whilst the likes of the Mont & H'Berg can buy talent with their money, you have to develop spirit & pride and that is exactly what is happening.
It also helps that we have had a few less injuries in recent weeks.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
P.S - 4 matches ago, we were staring the prospect of relegation in the face. The club has moved on leaps & bounds since the days we were the perennial Div 1/2 yoyos.
Jewelsandbullet
9 Aug 2006, 15:32
Anyway, the reasons for our turnaround a quite simple. A very Young Team with half a dozen or so new inclusions to the club (this year), are starting to gel and find their feet as a TEAM. And whilst the likes of the Mont & H'Berg can buy talent with their money, you have to develop spirit & pride and that is exactly what is happening.
It also helps that we have had a few less injuries in recent weeks.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
You implying Mont and Bergers don't have spirit or pride?
Is spirit and pride a new thing at your club? ... if not.... Why hasn't spirit or pride helped you in 20 years of consecutive losses against us??
Or is it because you have always been *****?? and at the moment you are less *****?
You implying Mont and Bergers don't have spirit or pride?
Is spirit and pride a new thing at your club? ... if not.... Why hasn't spirit or pride helped you in 20 years of consecutive losses against us??
Or is it because you have always been *****?? and at the moment you are less *****?
No not at all J&B,
I know you blokes at Mont have pride & spirit and that is the main reason why we haven't beaten you in the past; because your blokes always grew the extra leg against EFC. And we have learnt alot from this!
The point I was simply trying to make, is that we don't go out and try to buy success but rather try and work with what we got.
The Spirit and Pride has always been there with the Panthers too, but we have had to work a little on talent side of things. And I believe the current crop to be one of our finest in that regard, with many positive signs coming through in the development of the kids.
There confidence has grown and they now no longer fear palying against the established power sides, they are prepared to take on and I think they have earned every piece of respect they have been given.
This is much easier to say now after 4 wins on the trot than it was a few weeks back, but I have had the faith all the way through.
Jewelsandbullet
9 Aug 2006, 16:04
No not at all J&B,
The point I was simply trying to make, is that we don't go out and try to buy success but rather try and work with what we got.
The Spirit and Pride has always been there with the Panthers too, but we have had to work a little on talent side of things. And I believe the current crop to be one of our finest in that regard, with many positive signs coming through in the development of the kids.
I'm not saying you have not done well to turn it around - you clearly you have..(still sh i t y about the loss!)
It's a myth that we solely "buy" talent. Sure we go after players that we think we need... all clubs should. Our best 22 - would only have a handful of blokes that didn't play juniors at Mont or have some close connection. I'm sure it's actually not too different at the panthers.
hottip06
9 Aug 2006, 16:38
I'm not saying you have not done well to turn it around - you clearly you have..(still sh i t y about the loss!)
It's a myth that we solely "buy" talent. Sure we go after players that we think we need... all clubs should. Our best 22 - would only have a handful of blokes that didn't play juniors at Mont or have some close connection. I'm sure it's actually not too different at the panthers.
I would like to question you on that J&B, if you look closely in the cabinet at the mont clubrooms you will notice there is a photo in there from an U19 premiership team in 2001. That was a sensational side full of talent but that crop of young players was burned big time by the "senior" part of the club at the time as well as the administration. Instead of bringing these players through into the ones, they were ignored for other external players from outside commanding the $$$ trying to make a quick fix. As a result, only two players from that side remain at the club in Andrew Owen and Steven Mills, with Greg Baggott and Josh Lumicisi departing at the end of last year. Its a very sad set of circumstances because the talent amongst that group was undeniable, all mont juniors as well. I look at Bundoora's senior side, North Heidelberg's from last year and they are lined with players from that age group who that Mont side destroyed. Everyone is talking about Bundoora's young talent, well they lost the Preliminary Final that year in the U19's to Mont by 95 points! It really is a shame that the club didn't keep that group together and bring them through, instead opting for the quick fix at the time and is now suffering the consequences! All would be aged between 21 and 23 now with 50+ games under their belt. So next time your in there J&B, have a glance at the photo i'm talking about and wonder what might have been! If you have any questions about the players i'm talking about, go and speak to Alan Hoffman, he was the coach of that side and will defend those boys forever. He still rings up half a dozen of them each year to try and get them back, but the damage was done a long time ago.
joshooaa
9 Aug 2006, 16:47
i heard there are a few holes in his game,allthough,could be handy if its wet.
should just glide over any water filled potholes at Monty you reckon Sparksy?
touch of class
9 Aug 2006, 16:58
Yeah everyone hates the Sheriff.
Not a very well liked man in the DVFL at all!:p
last year playing at heidleberg a few of the boys were late to the game and cause they hadnt been home all 1 of them had was his shorts jumper and boots he didnt have his membership so being the dog he is he tried to stand in front of the car but it all got to much for 1 of the boys who jumped out and gave him 1 of the best back handers i ve ever seen the sherief quickly got out the way
Jewelsandbullet
9 Aug 2006, 17:17
I would like to question you on that J&B, if you look closely in the cabinet at the mont clubrooms you will notice there is a photo in there from an U19 premiership team in 2001. That was a sensational side full of talent but that crop of young players was burned big time by the "senior" part of the club at the time as well as the administration. Instead of bringing these players through into the ones, they were ignored for other external players from outside commanding the $$$ trying to make a quick fix. As a result, only two players from that side remain at the club in Andrew Owen and Steven Mills, with Greg Baggott and Josh Lumicisi departing at the end of last year. Its a very sad set of circumstances because the talent amongst that group was undeniable, all mont juniors as well. I look at Bundoora's senior side, North Heidelberg's from last year and they are lined with players from that age group who that Mont side destroyed. Everyone is talking about Bundoora's young talent, well they lost the Preliminary Final that year in the U19's to Mont by 95 points! It really is a shame that the club didn't keep that group together and bring them through, instead opting for the quick fix at the time and is now suffering the consequences! All would be aged between 21 and 23 now with 50+ games under their belt. So next time your in there J&B, have a glance at the photo i'm talking about and wonder what might have been! If you have any questions about the players i'm talking about, go and speak to Alan Hoffman, he was the coach of that side and will defend those boys forever. He still rings up half a dozen of them each year to try and get them back, but the damage was done a long time ago.
I think the fact remains the current playing group still contains more than its fair share of mont juniors. That was my point.
Regarding that particular under 19 team and it's players, in the most part I agree with you, that team should have more players still playing senior footy at Mont, definitely Hottip.
Kids like Austin and Munro might not have been given a chance... but a few of them were. For example Tate was given opporunity - but just could not cut it, same with Baggot.
I am not aware of the "consequences" we are now suffering - we still have some good kids - and unearthed another good one in Hunt two weeks ago. We are sitting third and are still alive this year. A far as "what could have been" ... I suspect some of those decisions we made may have lead us to consecutive grand finals... We should have won at least one of those. So when I look at the trophy cabinet - its' not so much in despair of what happened to the aforementioned U19 premiership team and what could have been... It's at what should have been. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
Did you play in the team under Hoffy? My guess is you did.
Mr.Baldy
9 Aug 2006, 17:28
Yep Kanga Fan, It certainly is the wrong time of the year to be putting wins on the board seeing that the Horse has already bolted!
It wouldn't be so bad if we were a chance of making finals though, having beaten 2 of the top 4 (Mont & Nth) in recent weeks and a chance to have a crack at the Bunnies in 2 weeks time.
Perhaps , we can loby our so called friends at DVFL to not allow the Bergers to play finals this year unless they commit to playing on in the Valley next year ??? Panthers would certainly have a crack in the Finals!
P.S - 4 matches ago, we were staring the prospect of relegation in the face. The club has moved on leaps & bounds since the days we were the perennial Div 1/2 yoyos.
Cummon mate your just talking absolute dribble now.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
9 Aug 2006, 17:58
last year playing at heidleberg a few of the boys were late to the game and cause they hadnt been home all 1 of them had was his shorts jumper and boots he didnt have his membership so being the dog he is he tried to stand in front of the car but it all got to much for 1 of the boys who jumped out and gave him 1 of the best back handers i ve ever seen the sherief quickly got out the way
are you talking about the bloke at Nrth or Heidelberg?
:thumbsu: :) :eek: :confused: :mad: :cool:
Cummon mate your just talking absolute dribble now.
i cant believe you havent heard of our friends called so,the older one,his name is SO how many finals would you like,and the younger one's name is SO how many weeks do we give anyone whom dares touch one of your players.THIS WHOLE THREAD IS BASED ON ABSOLUTE DRIBBLE,thats why i enjoy it so much.
touch of class
9 Aug 2006, 20:03
are you talking about the bloke at Nrth or Heidelberg? well he must work at heidleberg aswell as north cause our run in with the sherief was at heidleberg
Its no wonder the DV has the reputation it does when the first bloke u associate with at games is some sought of neadorthal.
i agree
well he must work at heidleberg aswell as north cause our run in with the sherief was at heidleberg
he seems to be at eltham a hell of a lot,was certainly dropped on his head as a youngster.
melbdocker
9 Aug 2006, 20:38
Its no wonder the DV has the reputation it does when the first bloke u associate with at games is some sought of neadorthal.
My mum is a medic for a junior team and had a pass to get in. As she was searching through her bag to find it this homeless fcuk started giving her a serve. If he keeps this up he will be minus a few teeth. Probably be an improvement on the ugly c u n t s face.
knowing u and ur mum very well with all respect i am suprised ur mum didnt give him a serve back she would to a certain #14 at creek
upncomer
9 Aug 2006, 20:40
The 'sherrif' is an absolute wa nka!!!!!
cricketman
9 Aug 2006, 20:49
Have Any Of U wa nkas On Here Stopped And Looked At How Much Sh*t You Are All Talking..... Stop Talking Jargen And Talk About Something Decent....
are you back from SRI LANKA deano
Bench Warmer8
9 Aug 2006, 21:04
The 'sherrif' is an absolute wa nka!!!!!
you upncomer are the ****a
you upncomer are the ****ahas anyone heard of a bloke named christian he plays for whitlsea is he any good
kanga fan man
9 Aug 2006, 21:30
knowing u and ur mum very well with all respect i am suprised ur mum didnt give him a serve back she would to a certain #14 at creek
Melbdocker are you up for a beer on saturday ?
Bruce Almighty
9 Aug 2006, 22:20
Pretty disapointed in this excuse.U-19s should stop crying about not getting a game.Some of you just dont cut it.Kids go to the Knights get the arse come back to local footy ask for a buck ,think their s*** dont stink and they havent even played a senior game.Grow up and get real.And buy the way only comment on a clubs spirit if you actually know what your talking about .
yeh i think that old di.khead had a go at me once like 2 years ago when i was like 14 or so for not having a membership when i was looking at the train tracks next to the eltham ground and he said something about me wearing a singlet with pink on it... i didnt no what was going on
next time he says something im gonna torp a footy into hes head
Mr.Baldy
9 Aug 2006, 23:01
Give the sherriff a break, He was just told that his Garnier Fructis modelling contract has been shortened, as well as stepping down from the Diamond Valley board after finding out he was adopted.
:eek:
Giveyathemail
10 Aug 2006, 09:34
are you talking about the bloke at Nrth or Heidelberg?
I rocked up to play Eltham this year he was there, when we played H'berg away he was there. I think he actually has a paid position within the DVFL...
ifyoucandodgeawrench
10 Aug 2006, 09:54
tough break for the sherriff then...:D
David_02
10 Aug 2006, 10:15
tough break for the sherriff then...:D
hes always at heidleberg. and always gets the finals. just do the drive buy, and see his reaction lol
BlindedByTheLight
10 Aug 2006, 10:21
hes always at heidleberg. and always gets the finals. just do the drive buy, and see his reaction lol
great idea David_02. But what we want is a picture of his face as you do the drive buy/thru. it will be priceless.
David_02
10 Aug 2006, 10:32
great idea David_02. But what we want is a picture of his face as you do the drive buy/thru. it will be priceless.
lol ill see what i can do..im sure he will b at epping during finals time.
hugs_dancer
10 Aug 2006, 11:38
lol ill see what i can do..im sure he will b at epping during finals time.
you wont need to worry you just need your membership ;)
cricketman
10 Aug 2006, 14:13
who gives a F*ck about the sherriff. u blokes have no life if thats all yas can talk about. stop talking jargen. cricketman
Hello sherriff.