View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Giveyathemail
29 Aug 2006, 14:08
No doubt you will probably go into next season as flag favourites. In saying that though, it can be easy to make judgement from the other side of the fence as to how you rate yourselves against other teams. When you're our there it can be a different kettle of fish. I'm sure we probably would have rated ourselves a better chance against Thommo and Whittlesea than against Reservoir, but who knows what can happen on the day. We will certainly need to improve to be able to compete with you next year. We will be looking for that improvement to mainly come from within though i would say, rather than chasing too many recruits. We wouldn't want to go mucking around with the fabric of what is a good, young group of guys at the moment.
GYTM, is it fair to say that at this time of year, talk of recruits is just speculation and that no one is really confirmed until later in the year when they show up at pre-season training???
As always mate, you make very valid points throughout your post:thumbsu:
It is easy to sit on the other side of the fence, but as I said before mate, been there and done it... And nothing looks to have changed. I can understand a Divvy 2 player saying "I can handle that no worries" and being out of his depth. But no-one at Lalor has any concerns with the lack of standard and pace of Divvy 2 footy.
The last point you make is a valid one as well, which is why Im not disclosing names at this stage, if i do at all. I PM on Big footy most of the time. My news will stay as my news until im ready to offer it. Too much time in between drinks.... cant have your blokes poaching our recruits ;)
matchwinner
29 Aug 2006, 14:27
As always mate, you make very valid points throughout your post:thumbsu:
It is easy to sit on the other side of the fence, but as I said before mate, been there and done it... And nothing looks to have changed. I can understand a Divvy 2 player saying "I can handle that no worries" and being out of his depth. But no-one at Lalor has any concerns with the lack of standard and pace of Divvy 2 footy.
The last point you make is a valid one as well, which is why Im not disclosing names at this stage, if i do at all. I PM on Big footy most of the time. My news will stay as my news until im ready to offer it. Too much time in between drinks.... cant have your blokes poaching our recruits ;)
Yeh, fair enough to keep news close to your chest. I doubt we will be poaching your recruits. Like I said, the club made a decision to rebuild and promote players coming up from our junior club at every opportunity. Any recruit would need to be prepared to put a lot back into the club over quite a few years as opposed to just being interested in collecting a pay cheque. If someone who does fit that bill comes along and their asking price is within reason then we will by all means get them on board.
By the way, we have just started negotiations with Kent Kingsley, John Barker, and Daniel Harford, plus Michael Voss might also play our his career at Lower.
Giveyathemail
29 Aug 2006, 14:31
Yeh, fair enough to keep news close to your chest. I doubt we will be poaching your recruits. Like I said, the club made a decision to rebuild and promote players coming up from our junior club at every opportunity. Any recruit would need to be prepared to put a lot back into the club over quite a few years as opposed to just being interested in collecting a pay cheque. If someone who does fit that bill comes along and their asking price is within reason then we will by all means get them on board.
By the way, we have just started negotiations with Kent Kingsley, John Barker, and Daniel Harford, plus Michael Voss might also play our his career at Lower.
Truth be told, we wont be parting with alot of money to win a Division 2 flag... We dont have too. It aint what you know, its who you know... We have great kids coming through as well, and it is a perfect opportunity to give them the taste of success early in their careers. These recruits are just the icing on the cake so to speak...
Good luck with those blokes... might wanna throw a few more "Raves at the Cave" though...:D
matchwinner
29 Aug 2006, 17:20
Truth be told, we wont be parting with alot of money to win a Division 2 flag... We dont have too. It aint what you know, its who you know... We have great kids coming through as well, and it is a perfect opportunity to give them the taste of success early in their careers. These recruits are just the icing on the cake so to speak...
Good luck with those blokes... might wanna throw a few more "Raves at the Cave" though...:D
I reckon you'd be pretty keen to get Aaron James back for another year in divi 2 after his efforts on the weekend.
The Burgers had a dabble at Daniel Harford at the start of this year he stated he would never paly DVFL, too rough.
Reckon Johnny Barker would be a good get.
matchwinner
29 Aug 2006, 17:31
The Burgers had a dabble at Daniel Harford at the start of this year he stated he would never paly DVFL, too rough.
Reckon Johnny Barker would be a good get.
Vossy would be great too. Had better clarify that I was just joking though.
mitch_fc
29 Aug 2006, 17:34
young Billy from our under 19's actually gave william brownless a call on sunday night. he wants $700, a 2 pack of disco's and a wristy per week.... we will need to have a few Rave @ the caves in 2007.
melbdocker
29 Aug 2006, 19:49
aaron james wont be playin at lalor next yr but if all goes well might be at a div 2 club next yr
chopsewie
29 Aug 2006, 19:58
aaron james wont be playin at lalor next yr but if all goes well might be at a div 2 club next yrHow fat has he got big Jamesy. If your side gets him id be expecting that you'll be in divi 1 in 08. Probably one of the biggest pickups in victoria.
kanga fan man
29 Aug 2006, 20:50
aaron james wont be playin at lalor next yr but if all goes well might be at a div 2 club next yr
How could you be so sure that A James wont be at lalor next year melbdocker.........?
How fat has he got big Jamesy. If your side gets him id be expecting that you'll be in divi 1 in 08. Probably one of the biggest pickups in victoria.
Great Clubman to boot, would be going for the record of most clubs played for wouldnt he? Can't even last out a season with the one club these days.
kanga fan man
29 Aug 2006, 20:52
How fat has he got big Jamesy. If your side gets him id be expecting that you'll be in divi 1 in 08. Probably one of the biggest pickups in victoria.
Im pretty sure that photo of jamesy today was when he was playing at Douttas in 2003...
Furious Styles
29 Aug 2006, 21:14
Watsonia B&F Results:
1) Shane Hodgson
2) Ian Blandthorn
3) Robert Gittos (now retired)
22) Bubble Wrap
Some quality players there mate.
Furious Styles
29 Aug 2006, 21:16
Would it be one of the Atkins boys?
Ruck is probably not Macleod's strong suit, so I'd reckon Tim and Dylan would be pretty confident of having a big day against them if they do meet in the big one.
Nah mate one of the older blokes. The atkins boys wouldn't have ten cents between them to start making bets.
melbdocker
29 Aug 2006, 22:18
he wont be at creek
How could you be so sure that A James wont be at lalor next year melbdocker.........?
hey i could be very wrong but some one told me he told them he will be back in the dvfl next yr and it wasnt creek or lalor
Nah mate one of the older blokes. The atkins boys wouldn't have ten cents between them to start making bets.
good to see dylan back playin footy again ne one seen how he has been going this yr? has been him or tim been in the ruck do they still have that bloke who is about 6'7 who played at the knights last yr?
blackjack44
29 Aug 2006, 22:35
good to see dylan back playin footy again ne one seen how he has been going this yr? has been him or tim been in the ruck do they still have that bloke who is about 6'7 who played at the knights last yr?
I think you are referring to Mark Lynch? If so, I think he has stopped playing football altogether?
Roy Boy
29 Aug 2006, 22:44
i totally agree with the surface ant nuetality (is that a word) but the Cobras ground has little parking, and the general facilities and spectator areas cant compare with Eltham. much in the same way as they wont hold finals at Northcote.
i like the idea of Kramer st hosting finals tho.
Just to let you know, W Preston Lakeside lodged an application to host DV finals at Preston City Oval (aka Cramer st) but they knocked it back. Reason Unsure? Typical Diamond Valley though!
sparksy
29 Aug 2006, 23:02
Just to let you know, W Preston Lakeside lodged an application to host DV finals at Preston City Oval (aka Cramer st) but they knocked it back. Reason Unsure? Typical Diamond Valley though!
isnt it better to use our own grounds and let clubs make some cash?
Roy Boy
29 Aug 2006, 23:14
isnt it better to use our own grounds and let clubs make some cash?
West would still be making money from it as well as the Valley, but it adds something a bit more special to the teams playing in finals. Everyone gets to play on grounds such as the Eppings, Elthams, Whittleseas, North Heidlebergs and where ever else there holding finals this year.
As a player Id be jumping at the chance to play on Cramer st!
mitch_fc
29 Aug 2006, 23:47
West would still be making money from it as well as the Valley, but it adds something a bit more special to the teams playing in finals. Everyone gets to play on grounds such as the Eppings, Elthams, Whittleseas, North Heidlebergs and where ever else there holding finals this year.
As a player Id be jumping at the chance to play on Cramer st!
i agree. and the DVFL pretty much takes all the profit from finals anyway.
morning all,
i am the rump, love diamond creek footy club.
look forward to discussing dvfl footy with you.
creek will be flying high in 2007.
Kickass
30 Aug 2006, 13:02
Mitch , Match or Brutal,
Is there any truth to the story in todays Age (pg 12 Sports liftout 30/08), that Macleod u19.5s have been awarded the game (elimination final) that LP won by 3 points on Saturday ???
It states that they played an ineligible player due to him having played too many senior games. Surely this is allowable if all three of your sides are (and they were) playing ??? Any talk of an appeal on this.
It would no doubt be devasting to the Kids who from what I saw, thoroughly deserved their win.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/geoff-mcclure/drinks-all-round-as-footy-losers-win/2006/08/29/1156816900649.html
blackjack44
30 Aug 2006, 13:19
Mitch , Match or Brutal,
Is there any truth to the story in todays Age (pg 12 Sports liftout 30/08), that Macleod u19.5s have been awarded the game (elimination final) that LP won by 3 points on Saturday ???
It states that they played an ineligible player due to him having played too many senior games. Surely this is allowable if all three of your sides are (and they were) playing ??? Any talk of an appeal on this.
It would no doubt be devasting to the Kids who from what I saw, thoroughly deserved their win.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/geoff-mcclure/drinks-all-round-as-footy-losers-win/2006/08/29/1156816900649.html
Brutal and other Lower Plenty officials were at the DV house yesterday and again today. The rule of having all three sides in the finals that allows players to play in any grade apparently doesn't apply to U/19's according to the DV, however most clubs are under the impression that you can.
Lots of angry and upset U/19 players and parents at Lower Plenty training last night. Lets hope they can over-turn the decision.
Giveyathemail
30 Aug 2006, 13:25
Brutal and other Lower Plenty officials were at the DV house yesterday and again today. The rule of having all three sides in the finals that allows players to play in any grade apparently doesn't apply to U/19's according to the DV, however most clubs are under the impression that you can.
Lots of angry and upset U/19 players and parents at Lower Plenty training last night. Lets hope they can over-turn the decision.
Yeah thats terrible for those young blokes...
I think if all 3 sides all play on the same day in finals, you have your entire list to choose from... I think we had that on Grand Final day in 2001, 2003.
peanut butter sandwich
30 Aug 2006, 13:52
it would be devastating for the players, working so hard during the year and to lose like that. you wouldve thought the club officials wouldve looked into it a bit more before letting the bloke play. it would be unlikely to see the decison overturned. overall its a sad way to finish a season
Was pleased to see Adrian Baker take out the Div. 1 goalkicking. Whilst Im a Broadford boy I wasn't at the club when Bakes played there, and only know him to say hello to - but I believe he was made a bit of a scapegoat when he left Harley Hammond reserve and as a general footy fan Im just delighted to see he's obviously had a good year a West Preston.
Giveyathemail
30 Aug 2006, 13:57
Was pleased to see Adrian Baker take out the Div. 1 goalkicking. Whilst Im a Broadford boy I wasn't at the club when Bakes played there, and only know him to say hello to - but I believe he was made a bit of a scapegoat when he left Harley Hammond reserve and as a general footy fan Im just delighted to see he's obviously had a good year a West Preston.
My word he did mate. I penned a Rep side the other day and Bakes got a gig.
matchwinner
30 Aug 2006, 14:54
Mitch , Match or Brutal,
Yeh it's a very unfortunate situation. As a few others have mentioned, we were under the impression that if all sides were playing then you were eligible to play anywhere. We have been in contact with several other clubs in the last 24 hours who also indicated that they thought this was the case. Apparently there has been a recent rule change.
As you said Kickass, they did deserve the win. It was a fantastic match. They were down by 16 points at 3/4 time, fought back to take the lead, only to lose it again with a couple minutes to play, and then in the dying seconds kicked the winner.
Understandably, the boys are very upset! You play all season for finals, and to then all of a sudden be told your season is over under these circumstances is shattering. But the club is doing everything possible to see if there is way through this that will allow their season to continue on. Hopefully for the boys sake there is.
Giveyathemail
30 Aug 2006, 15:00
Yeh it's a very unfortunate situation. As a few others have mentioned, we were under the impression that if all sides were playing then you were eligible to play anywhere. We have been in contact with several other clubs in the last 24 hours who also indicated that they thought this was the case. Apparently there has been a recent rule change.
As you said Kickass, they did deserve the win. It was a fantastic match. They were down by 16 points at 3/4 time, fought back to take the lead, only to lose it again with a couple minutes to play, and then in the dying seconds kicked the winner.
Understandably, the boys are very upset! You play all season for finals, and to then all of a sudden be told your season is over under these circumstances is shattering. But the club is doing everything possible to see if there is way through this that will allow their season to continue on. Hopefully for the boys sake there is.
Conveiniently there is always a "recent rule change" that only Roy Ward and his bunch of crooked c o c k heads are aware of... :mad:
peanut butter sandwich
30 Aug 2006, 15:18
The fact of the matter is that lower broke the rules. the only way their season will continue is if macleod agreed to a re-match. No side in the DV would agree to this if it meant risking their season.
Mitch , Match or Brutal,
Gee, wouldn't be happy with that. With all 3 grades playing thought he would have been able to play.
Anyone heard of this "Recent Rule Change"
Bubble Wrap
30 Aug 2006, 15:54
Would be a nice gensture if Macleod was to go to the DVFL and say "we were beaten fair and square on the day and we're happy for Lower to go through".
Not likely I know (doubt any club would do it), but in terms of good sportsmanship and creating some goodwill in a competition that desperately needs it, it is certainly something I think most DVFL followers would applaud.
peanut butter sandwich
30 Aug 2006, 16:06
Would be a nice gensture if Macleod was to go to the DVFL and say "we were beaten fair and square on the day and we're happy for Lower to go through".
Not likely I know (doubt any club would do it), but in terms of good sportsmanship and creating some goodwill in a competition that desperately needs it, it is certainly something I think most DVFL followers would applaud.
as nice of a gesture as it would be, it makes no sense for a side to conceed a game to a side that has broken the rules. rules are in place for a reason. lower made a mistake and they need to live it.
Matthew Pillios
30 Aug 2006, 16:24
TUNE INTO "ESSENDON DISTRICT KNOWS FOOTBALL" :thumbsu:
Every WEDNESDAY night @ 6:30pm to 7:30pm on CHANNEL 31.
MASSIVE SHOW -
* GREAT MATCH COVERAGE SHOWN FROM ALL 4 WEEKENDS FINALS GAMES
* E.D.F.L STREET CAM with MOCCA O'CONNER
* IN- DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH STEVEN KOLYNUICK
* AFTER MATCH INTERVIEW WITH CRAIG HILLE
* TOP BAGGING TO KEVIN "KD" DONNELLY
Plus much more................
Matthew Pillios Sam Tankard Jarrad Morrison
matchwinner
30 Aug 2006, 16:33
as nice of a gesture as it would be, it makes no sense for a side to conceed a game to a side that has broken the rules. rules are in place for a reason. lower made a mistake and they need to live it.
Not quite that clear cut buddy. There are a few loopholes here that are being looked into, on top of the fact that several other clubs are under the impression that when all sides are playing on the same day, you can play anywhere!!!
Jewelsandbullet
30 Aug 2006, 16:48
Rules may be rules peanut newbie - but I think that point the others are trying to make is: … that in the past it has always been the understanding that if all three teams are involved and playing final then you can select from your entire list. GYTM confirmed that Lalor have done so in the past. So, it’s an unfortunate mistake – but one that is without precedent and one that is unusual.
Before you comment again – how about you wait for Brutal to post with Lowers point of view… he will have been involved in the negotiations at DV house.. He will also be able to tell us if this is a new rule – and if it is whether the peanuts at DV house actually made the clubs aware.
ROMPERMFC
30 Aug 2006, 16:49
just becuase people thought that they knew the rules doesnt make right, i also thought that it was the rule but i have never read the rule book so i just didnt know. I would have thought it was up to the team manager to know the ins and outs of the rules. If the rules have been broken then that is the end of it...Game over....
Rules may be rules peanut newbie - but I think that point the others are trying to make is: … that in the past it has always been the understanding that if all three teams are involved and playing final then you can select from your entire list. GYTM confirmed that Lalor have done so in the past. So, it’s an unfortunate mistake – but one that is without precedent and one that is unusual.
Before you comment again – how about you wait for Brutal to post with Lowers point of view… he will have been involved in the negotiations at DV house.. He will also be able to tell us if this is a new rule – and if it is whether the peanuts at DV house actually made the clubs aware.
Obviously no help to LP but up the country were I'm from when it comes to underage sides as long as the player is eligible by age and affiliated with the club they can play doesnt matter how many games they've played in other grades. This has happened many times over the years were a player has played every game in the seniors and even finals leading up to the GF and dropped back to play the u/18 Grand Final for their first game of the year in that side. All the best to LP in getting a good hearing sounds very unfair to me doesnt matter what the rules are.
Roy Boy
30 Aug 2006, 17:57
My word he did mate. I penned a Rep side the other day and Bakes got a gig.
It's good to see that the comp leading goal kicker could find a spot in the team. LOL!
Do the DV actually announce a team of the year? If they dont or even if they do I'd be intersested and Im sure others would like to see what your team looks like GYTM, if you were willing to post it?
kanga fan man
30 Aug 2006, 18:12
any one else got a team of the year?
BlindedByTheLight
30 Aug 2006, 18:35
dont the dvfl goal kicking totals carry over into the finals so that goals are added to a players total? so baker hasnt won yet with hall having a couple of games to catch him.
backs. gloury, nolan , grey
half backs. murphey, grossman , hyde
centre. m.mitchell, martello, powell
half fowards. Gutterson, grainger, carelli
fowards. baker, hall, saad
followers. jeffry, howse, harvey,
inter. d.mitchell , mckintosh , summers , minney
backs. gloury, nolan , trewhalf backs. murphey, grossman , hyde
inter. d.mitchell , mckintosh , nolan , minney
As a berger follower this two shouldn't be in the side. Trew palyed about 10 games max and has been just Ok while Danny Nolan had a purple patch to about round 12 and has dropped away since then. Micky Gay should be ruckman. Just a berger viewpoint. Trying to be honest and get rid of the hometown bias.
reporter
30 Aug 2006, 19:29
backs. gloury, nolan , trew
inter. d.mitchell , mckintosh , nolan , minney
Matty that side is pretty good, but I would put Martello on the wing, Jarrod King in a BP, Josh Summers on the HBF and Leigh Gray in the centre.
As a berger follower this two shouldn't be in the side. Trew palyed about 10 games max and has been just Ok while Danny Nolan had a purple patch to about round 12 and has dropped away since then. Micky Gay should be ruckman. Just a berger viewpoint. Trying to be honest and get rid of the hometown bias.
yeh i wanted to squize gay in the games i have seen trew play he has done well..... as for hometown bias i cant help it there just quality players and i would back them any day in there positions
thnks dwight anyway appreciate your input
made some changes witht the help of dwight, reporter thnks boys :thumbsu:
backs. gloury, nolan , powell
centre. m.mitchell, grey, martello
half fowards. Gutterson, jeffry, carelli
followers. gay, howse, harvey,
ins: summers, gay, grey,
outs: nolan,trew,graniger
RiverRat
30 Aug 2006, 19:50
Trewie is one of those blokes that is too good to just be a nut case and if the team is based on skill alone then he would be in my side anyday.
Hello to everyone by the way, another heidelberg supporter who learned to type.
reporter
30 Aug 2006, 19:51
backs. gloury, nolan , martello
centre. m.mitchell, grey, powell
half fowards. Gutterson, gay, carelli
Gay has to play in the ruck, Jeffery to chf, Martello is the best wingman in the comp and that's it.
reporter
30 Aug 2006, 19:54
Trewie is one of those blokes that is too good to just be a nut case and if the team is based on skill alone then he would be in my side anyday.
Hello to everyone by the way, another heidelberg supporter who learned to type.
So from the weekend do you take much into account or was it just a dead rubber.
RiverRat
30 Aug 2006, 20:08
The blokes did really not look interested on saturday, and if you were an outsider looking in on the weekend you would think Bundoora would sh*t it in. Whitnalls case is at 8.05 tonight, I believe this may have a say on the final result.
KrunchNKans
30 Aug 2006, 20:19
I'd have Shane Jacobs in. Whose Powell?
reporter
30 Aug 2006, 20:19
The blokes did really not look interested on saturday, and if you were an outsider looking in on the weekend you would think Bundoora would sh*t it in. Whitnalls case is at 8.05 tonight, I believe this may have a say on the final result.
Yeah I got that feeling as well, while watching the game.
I think that Murphy will play a big part in the finals for you blokes he might just be the key if you are going to win the flag this year.
jetpak_1
30 Aug 2006, 20:27
powell from noth hied
Bruce Almighty
30 Aug 2006, 20:28
Weekend proved that Bundoora are the best home & away team for the year.As most of us know you want your best game now when it counts.Both teams have a lot of work to do.Exciting times.All i can say is that its hard to beat a team that never gives up.Who that team is will be the experienced team .Make your own choice.As for whitnall ,sorry but it will be a minimum of 4 to 6 weeks.You cant elbow a kid in the head that stays unconsious for 8 to 10 mins and expect to play in two weeks.
reporter
30 Aug 2006, 20:33
Weekend proved that Bundoora are the best home & away team for the year.As most of us know you want your best game now when it counts.Both teams have a lot of work to do.Exciting times.All i can say is that its hard to beat a team that never gives up.Who that team is will be the experienced team .Make your own choice.As for whitnall ,sorry but it will be a minimum of 4 to 6 weeks.You cant elbow a kid in the head that stays unconsious for 8 to 10 mins and expect to play in two weeks.
Year I agree, but their wasn't anything to play for on the weekend because they face each other Saturday week.
melbdocker
30 Aug 2006, 21:14
just from a creek point of view Simon Perryman would have to be in the side if not on the half back flank at least on the bench has come back from vfl and didnt play a bad game all yr also loags would go close
Roy Boy
30 Aug 2006, 22:19
Guys has anyone heard from the tribunal, regarding Whitnall's case?
BlindedByTheLight
30 Aug 2006, 22:28
who the hell is powell? if its the north player from last year he hasnt played at all this year. do you mean heidelbergs power?
Bruce Almighty
30 Aug 2006, 22:54
Guys has anyone heard from the tribunal, regarding Whitnall's case?
Official got 5 weeks and the bergs didnt even give him up.Huge blow to the bunnies
mitch_fc
30 Aug 2006, 23:07
Wow 5 weeks is big. i hear it was quite a long case??? my mate was waiting to give evidence as he was hit in another match, and said it went a while.
Lower Plenty under 19 issue: Obviously we were wrong to play him in hindsight, but I like everyone else thought that if all 3 grades were playing, then basically u can play wherever. It appears most clubs in the valley thought the same. This shouldnt be happening, the league should remind all clubs of exactly who can and cant play b4 finals and mess's like this. The boys are shattered, as is everyone involved at the Bear Cave. Ive heard a few whispers of a re-match.... but this must be highly un likely.
growler69
30 Aug 2006, 23:58
I have to agree with this. Fitzgerald is a total goose:thumbsd: Bloke doesn't even try to get a kick.
I have been hearing a few rumours - can someone confirm reports that came out of the game??
Maybe fitzy might have went over the top saturday but he can definitely play footy and a top bloke. Get off his back.
Bruce Almighty
31 Aug 2006, 07:48
A huge problem brewing over yellow and red cards with the DValley.A couple of weekend incidents a bit curly.
matteroffact
31 Aug 2006, 08:42
Not quite that clear cut buddy. There are a few loopholes here that are being looked into, on top of the fact that several other clubs are under the impression that when all sides are playing on the same day, you can play anywhere!!!When was this rule brought in and was it communicated to the delegates?Our club have always been under the same impression that if all 3 sides are playing on the same day in finals there is no qualification rule and team selection is open slather.Just another example of the prehistoric running of the competition under the current administration
matteroffact
31 Aug 2006, 08:52
A huge problem brewing over yellow and red cards with the DValley.A couple of weekend incidents a bit curly.Hey Bruce is it true that Murphy received his third yellow card on Saturday thus ensuring he misses the 2nd Semi?
Jewelsandbullet
31 Aug 2006, 10:05
Maybe fitzy might have went over the top saturday but he can definitely play footy and a top bloke. Get off his back.
Went over the top last Saturday, went over the top against Mont... might be a good bloke off the field, I'll even take your word for it.
But can't play... my opinion.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
31 Aug 2006, 10:18
Why is it that you can't appeal a yellow for an 'obscene gesture' which gets you a week, but you can get off a report with a reprimand? :mad:
the_interloper
31 Aug 2006, 10:35
G'day all,
Seeing Aaron James in the paper the other day talking about his 19 goals for Lalor the other year got me thinking: Does anyone know the DV record for goals in a game? I think Jamie Shaw kicked 19 in a game as well, not sure about that. There didn't seem to be anything on it on the DV website about it, any takers?
who the hell is powell? if its the north player from last year he hasnt played at all this year. do you mean heidelbergs power?
lol yeh sorry its ment to be power i wasnt thinking haha sorry
Kickass
31 Aug 2006, 11:43
G'day all,
Seeing Aaron James in the paper the other day talking about his 19 goals for Lalor the other year got me thinking: Does anyone know the DV record for goals in a game? I think Jamie Shaw kicked 19 in a game as well, not sure about that. There didn't seem to be anything on it on the DV website about it, any takers?
Not sure if Big Spider ever kicked 19 in a game (he might have), but I certainly played in a game against him where he kicked 17 majors.
Ironically our coach at the time (peter hall) dreamt up an idea to play a "reverse flood" against the rampaging doggies for that game. The only problem was, it meant very little that we had 14 players in our Forward line when the ball never got passed our centre half forward!!
Suffice to say, the "reverse flood" theory never really caught on at DVFL or AFL level!!! I wonder why???
But all credit to Jamie, he was simply unstoppable no matter what we did. He was Too big, Too strong, Too talented and Too high on unknown substances. He got a big pay packet from the game as well. His weekly appearance fee of $ 500 plus $ 100 for every goal . Total $ 2,200 plus all he could drink / snort in the social rooms afterwards.
the_interloper
31 Aug 2006, 12:43
Reverse flood hey? That's novel, lets open up the opposition forward line for one of the best (if not the best) DV full forwards ever! :eek:
Yeah he was an absolute gun, you would always see Shaw at the quarter time huddle on the outskirts sneaking a quick fag, didn't seem to listen much to the coach. Its hard to argue with 160 odd goals in a premiership year, he didn't miss too many set shots that I ever saw!
Tiger Champ
31 Aug 2006, 12:52
G'day all,
Daryl Taylor of Heidelberg kicked 20 goals against Lower Plenty Reserves last year.(2005)
Giveyathemail
31 Aug 2006, 13:08
It's good to see that the comp leading goal kicker could find a spot in the team. LOL!
Do the DV actually announce a team of the year? If they dont or even if they do I'd be intersested and Im sure others would like to see what your team looks like GYTM, if you were willing to post it?
Yeah I dont like doing these cause there is always people that you have to leave out. But I will show you the one that i would run with in 2006, based on what I have seen and read... not heard because as you know some people tend to exaggarate things at times. So here goes....
B. Minney Dale Nolan Gloury
HB Summers Grossman Logan (VC)
C. Martello Harvey (C) Lee
HF. Baker Grainger Gutterson
F. Saad Hall Howse
Rucks Jefferys
Murphy
Carelli (DVC)
Int: Kinnear, Bongetti, Watson, Gay.
Coach: Vinny Dattoli.
Some may agree, and yes there are many I could have played in numerous positions.... Ive gone for consistant performers over the 18 weeks.
Yeah I dont like doing these cause there is always people that you have to leave out. But I will show you the one that i would run with in 2006, based on what I have seen and read... not heard because as you know some people tend to exaggarate things at times. So here goes....
HB Summers v Grossman Logan (VC)
C. Lee Harvey (C) Martello
F. Saad Hall Howse
Rucks Jefferys
Murphy
Carelli (DVC)
Some may agree, and yes there are many I could have played in numerous positions....
Summers plays for Lalor yeah? What number is he?
Also, anyone who leave Fricker out of the side is crazy, has been in the best on mont most weeks. No fear, does the hard yards and reads the play better than most i've seen in the DV.
Giveyathemail
31 Aug 2006, 13:27
Summers plays for Lalor yeah? What number is he?
Also, anyone who leave Fricker out of the side is crazy, has been in the best on mont most weeks. No fear, does the hard yards and reads the play better than most i've seen in the DV.
Fricker has been fantastic, as I said Id love to have a list of 40 blokes to choose from. It was out of Watto and Fricker, and I stuck with what I knew best... Summers wears No 30... A bloke that plays AFL footy said that he would be good enough to get a run on an AFL list if he sharpened up his skills.
Fricker has been fantastic, as I said Id love to have a list of 40 blokes to choose from. Summers wears No 30... A bloke that plays AFL footy said that he would be good enough to get a run on an AFL list if he sharpened up his skills.
Not having a crack GYTM, just stating my thoughts. I thought the team was pretty close to spot on.
Nope not the bloke i was thinking of. Against us, no. 1 played a ripper. What's his name?
Giveyathemail
31 Aug 2006, 13:32
Not having a crack GYTM, just stating my thoughts. I thought the team was pretty close to spot on.
Nope not the bloke i was thinking of. Against us, no. 1 played a ripper. What's his name?
Steven "Soppa" Marshall.... Thats our skipper mate, had a terrible run with injuries the last 18 months, we just got him back the last 4 weeks.
Absolute gun, a fantastic leader and an inspiration to us all....
It Is Me
31 Aug 2006, 14:33
Some of you guys ought to find out the competition's rules before you start posting comments - or you could (shock, horror) actually speak to your club's secretary or delegate or (heaven forbid) actually ring the DV office and ask the question direct! :cool:
1. With regard to LPs 19s, the player concerned had played senior footy and the current rules require him to have played 10 19s games to qualify for finals. This is regardless of whether all teams are playing on the one day. (This has changed from 6 games previously which is the rule change that was referred to in a couple of posts - the 19s rules were amended at the commencement of the season to allow 19s the opportunity to play more senior footy). In this instance, the player had not played the required 10 games so was ruled ineligible (in fact he had not even played the 6 required under previous rules) :(
The thing to be learned from this is that team managers/club secretaries should check eligibility, check again and if not sure, check again - DV are always happy to confirm a player's position. :)
2. Cramer St Oval for finals - the submission was not lodged by the time required by DV to enable decisions on finals venues to be made. The suggestion certainly has merit but there are some awfully restrictive conditions placed on the use of that oval. :o
matchwinner
31 Aug 2006, 14:34
F. Saad Hall Howse
Rucks Jefferys
Murphy
Carelli (DVC)
Some may agree, and yes there are many I could have played in numerous positions.... Ive gone for consistant performers over the 18 weeks.
I obviously haven't seen much Divi 1 footy this year, but I would have thought that a bloke who has won the B&F in a team that is undefeated would have got a guernsey - Tim McIntosh.
I know you also play with Kinnear, but has he been at his best this year??
Again, from what I have heard, Dave Mitchell has been a fantastic contributor in the top team this season - critics would have been out at start of year that he was just a stand out player in a struggling team last season.
I know it's a tough gig picking a best side, but have you personally underrated Bundoora because of the fact you went fairly well against them both times this year??
Any ideas on a best of for Divi 2 also?
matchwinner
31 Aug 2006, 14:41
Some of you guys ought to find out the competition's rules before you start posting comments - or you could (shock, horror) actually speak to your club's secretary or delegate or (heaven forbid) actually ring the DV office and ask the question direct! :cool:
1. With regard to LPs 19s, the player concerned had played senior footy and the current rules require him to have played 10 19s games to qualify for finals. This is regardless of whether all teams are playing on the one day. (This has changed from 6 games previously which is the rule change that was referred to in a couple of posts - the 19s rules were amended at the commencement of the season to allow 19s the opportunity to play more senior footy). In this instance, the player had not played the required 10 games so was ruled ineligible (in fact he had not even played the 6 required under previous rules) :(
The thing to be learned from this is that team managers/club secretaries should check eligibility, check again and if not sure, check again - DV are always happy to confirm a player's position. :)
2. Cramer St Oval for finals - the submission was not lodged by the time required by DV to enable decisions on finals venues to be made. The suggestion certainly has merit but there are some awfully restrictive conditions placed on the use of that oval. :o
How do you think this rule should stand up (10 games qualification) when in divi 2 Under 19's, there has been walkovers/forfeits and several byes this season?? Makes playing 10 games pretty difficult I would have thought!!!
Pretty stupid rule anyhow. An under 19's bloke has played senior footy during the year, but due to players coming back from injury, or the club wanting to pick more experienced players for finals, they decide to play him in the 19's, (who are playing on the same day anyway), and some ridiculous rule prevents him from playing. The alternative, he's forced to play in the seniors, or the poor kid has to watch from the sidelines.
Giveyathemail
31 Aug 2006, 14:41
I obviously haven't seen much Divi 1 footy this year, but I would have thought that a bloke who has won the B&F in a team that is undefeated would have got a guernsey - Tim McIntosh.
I know you also play with Kinnear, but has he been at his best this year??
Again, from what I have heard, Dave Mitchell has been a fantastic contributor in the top team this season - critics would have been out at start of year that he was just a stand out player in a struggling team last season.
I know it's a tough gig picking a best side, but have you personally underrated Bundoora because of the fact you went fairly well against them both times this year??
Any ideas on a best of for Divi 2 also?
As I said mate, from what I have personally seen and read... It was a 10 minute pen to paper thing, and only my opinion :thumbsu: Im sure there are alot of guys I couldve put in there. Yes I have under-rated Bundoora this year, simply because I dont think they were the best side we played. They have done well to do what they have done SO FAR...
It hasnt been BK's best year, but he is in the top 3 players in the comp. He has been fantastic for us when he has been out on the park. I couldnt do a Divvy 2 side, as last sunday was the first game I have actually watched... sorry matchy.
matchwinner
31 Aug 2006, 14:44
As I said mate, from what I have personally seen and read... It was a 10 minute pen to paper thing, and only my opinion :thumbsu: Im sure there are alot of guys I couldve put in there. Yes I have under-rated Bundoora this year, simply because I dont think they were the best side we played. They have done well to do what they have done SO FAR...
It hasnt been BK's best year, but he is in the top 3 players in the comp. He has been fantastic for us when he has been out on the park. I couldnt do a Divvy 2 side, as last sunday was the first game I have actually watched... sorry matchy.
Yeh time will tell with Bundoora, but i saw the first half on Saturday, and they looked pretty awesome. Anything can happen in finals though. We'd beaten Reservoir twice during the season, then lost to them last week.
Giveyathemail
31 Aug 2006, 14:52
Yeh time will tell with Bundoora, but i saw the first half on Saturday, and they looked pretty awesome. Anything can happen in finals though. We'd beaten Reservoir twice during the season, then lost to them last week.
Yeah mate, I was shocked to hear that.... I thought you blokes were a certainty.
Bundoora, as you know, always get shaky legs around this time of year. We played Mont 2 weeks ago, and although they arent physical, they are fast and the big ground at Epping will suit their style of play. If they get through this week, they are my tip :thumbsu:
Jewelsandbullet
31 Aug 2006, 15:08
G'day Floydy welcome to bigfooty! :thumbsu:
Or are you a Floyd crony?
Does your introduction to this board mean we actually don't have to bother ringing or writing to the DV head office as you suggest. Rather we can now take up all our grievances with you under the impunity of bigfooty??
If so you are gong to be a busy boy (working much harder than you work when at DV house anyway) There are a sh i t load of relevant gripes. Just read back through the last 100 odd pages of this thread and get back to us. :thumbsu:
Does your introduction to this board mean we actually don't have to bother ringing or writing to the DV head office as you suggest. Rather we can now take up all our grievances with you under the impunity of bigfooty??
If so you are gong to be a busy boy (working much harder than you work when at DV house anyway) There are a sh i t load of relevant gripes. Just read back through the last 100 odd pages of this thread and get back to us. :thumbsu:
Bang bang goes the bullet! :D
the_interloper
31 Aug 2006, 15:30
Daryl Taylor of Heidelberg kicked 20 goals against Lower Plenty Reserves last year.(2005)
Oh yeah that's right, I remember thinking that was a misprint!
HotShoeShuffle
31 Aug 2006, 15:36
All you blokes b i t c h i n g and moaning about who runs the league and what a poor job they do, just remember what the great John Kennedy said.......
WRFLfan
31 Aug 2006, 15:36
Please Chopsewie, we all know that your the best recruit running around at the moment
Jewelsandbullet
31 Aug 2006, 15:41
All you blokes b i t c h i n g and moaning about who runs the league and what a poor job they do, just remember what the great John Kennedy said.......
Thanks Shoe - that's great advice mate :thumbsu: Now go back to the Ammos thread.... please.
Jewelsandbullet
31 Aug 2006, 15:45
The suggestion certainly has merit but there are some awfully restrictive conditions placed on the use of that oval. :o
let me guess:
1. They require normal, honest, functioning members of society to handle gate admission (the obvious restriction here being The Sheriff will be out of a job - and could not pocket his usual $200 per game from entry)
Kickass
31 Aug 2006, 15:47
No, what was it that John Kennedy said ??????? :confused:
Whatever it was, it obviously wasn't aware of the current incompetance of the Dv admin was he!! :mad:
Are You putting your hand (Or Hoof) up for a job are h.S.S ??:eek:
Kickass
31 Aug 2006, 15:55
let me guess:
1. They require normal, honest, functioning members of society to handle gate admission (the obvious restriction here being The Sheriff will be out of a job - and could not pocket his usual $200 per game from entry)
Hey, apart from the obvious savings the DV would make by employing honest and attractive people, what about getting the two Hookers that have been cross promoting Crystals Nightclub / and The Truth newspaper at various grounds around the Valley in recent weeks, to (wo) man the gate.
I saw them at both Epping a couple of weeks back and West Preston last Sat, and I'm sure nobody would have difficulty throwing some coin at them.
Mind you, I haven't had the courage to look either of these "charlies' in the eye yet... Keep getting distracted if you know what I mean!
F. Saad Hall Howse
Rucks Jefferys
Murphy
Carelli (DVC)
Reckon that is pretty close. :thumbsu:
HotShoeShuffle
31 Aug 2006, 16:17
No, what was it that John Kennedy said ??????? :confused:
Whatever it was, it obviously wasn't aware of the current incompetance of the Dv admin was he!! :mad:
Are You putting your hand (Or Hoof) up for a job are h.S.S ??:eek:
"Dont think, Do........." Now if you need someone to explain that one i'd give the game away tiger.
Would love to offer my services running this competition but have to practice the Pase Dablo day and night.
Hey, apart from the obvious savings the DV would make by employing honest and attractive people, what about getting the two Hookers that have been cross promoting Crystals Nightclub / and The Truth newspaper at various grounds around the Valley in recent weeks, to (wo) man the gate.
I saw them at both Epping a couple of weeks back and West Preston last Sat, and I'm sure nobody would have difficulty throwing some coin at them.
Mind you, I haven't had the courage to look either of these "charlies' in the eye yet... Keep getting distracted if you know what I mean!
They have been getting around haven't they! Not surprising though!! Saw them at our last game which was against West Heidleberg, dirty rotters but worth a perve.
WRFLfan
31 Aug 2006, 16:38
F. Saad Hall Howse
Rucks Jefferys
Murphy
Carelli (DVC)
Would Saul Caddy had made your team on his form before he left and no Leigh Gray has he dropped off?
KrunchNKans
31 Aug 2006, 16:38
Official got 5 weeks and the bergs didnt even give him up.Huge blow to the bunnies
Tribunal got that about right. Trust the boy Maltby is recovering well. What are the yellow card queries Bruce ?
Jewelsandbullet
31 Aug 2006, 16:58
[QUOTE=Giveyathemail]
F. Saad Hall Howse
Rucks Jefferys
Murphy
Carelli (DVC)
QUOTE]
nice team gytm. My only changes: Id swap Perryman for Minney (sorry KA) move McIntosh to bench in place of Kinnear and swap Fricker and Summers.... I'm sure my Summers/Fricker swap is a bias thing:D
Bruce Almighty
31 Aug 2006, 18:02
Tribunal got that about right. Trust the boy Maltby is recovering well. What are the yellow card queries Bruce ?
2 Yellows in one game is an automatic week,3 yellows in the season is an automatic week.So if you have 1 yellow previous and receive 2 in one game is that two weeks.Answer .........there is no ruling on this in the rule book so basically if it happens and a new rule is written coming into finals all hell is going to break loose.Maltby is ok and ready to fire
Would Saul Caddy had made your team on his form before he left and no Leigh Gray has he dropped off?
caddy would have been in my team
Giveyathemail
31 Aug 2006, 18:22
Saully was in good form apparantly before he jetted off. He didnt play us either game this year. Rudy has been injured, and it wouldnt have been fair to any of those on ballers if i squeezed them out.... they have all had stellar seasons.:thumbsu: