View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
It Is Me
31 Aug 2006, 19:36
G'day Floydy welcome to bigfooty! :thumbsu:
Or are you a Floyd crony?
Does your introduction to this board mean we actually don't have to bother ringing or writing to the DV head office as you suggest. Rather we can now take up all our grievances with you under the impunity of bigfooty??
If so you are gong to be a busy boy (working much harder than you work when at DV house anyway) There are a sh i t load of relevant gripes. Just read back through the last 100 odd pages of this thread and get back to us. :thumbsu:
Not Floydy and not a Floyd crony, just someone who actually takes a little bit of notice of what goes on around the place - and new to this forum. Have only recently come across this site and have read quite a lot of the postings. Seems to me a tad unfair that a lot of the posts are totally negative about DV and wanted to get some evenness in what is said.:)
You could do yourselves no harm in actually finding out facts before you go blasting DV and those who run it
dombomb
31 Aug 2006, 19:49
Did Justin Murphy pick up a yellow on the weekend? If so what for? I did see him give his tagger a gentle reminder of how well he kicks in the last quarter however he could have actually used the footy instead of giving a tap to his opponents ankle late in the last quarter. Looked very ordinary.
Whitnalls suspension will be a blow for Bundoora but an even bigger blow for Thomastown next season. Means he will get at least a couple of weeks of starting to drink his match payments a few hours earlier.
RiverRat
31 Aug 2006, 19:55
Did Justin Murphy pick up a yellow on the weekend? If so what for? I did see him give his tagger a gentle reminder of how well he kicks in the last quarter however he could have actually used the footy instead of giving a tap to his opponents ankle late in the last quarter. Looked very ordinary.
Whitnalls suspension will be a blow for Bundoora but an even bigger blow for Thomastown next season. Means he will get at least a couple of weeks of starting to drink his match payments a few hours earlier.
Yeh he got one for slapping someone, but thats his first so if he gets one in the 2nd semi he is still right to play in the granny or pre lim.
are you saying whiters is heading to thomo?
ROMPERMFC
31 Aug 2006, 20:32
You could do yourselves no harm in actually finding out facts before you go blasting DV and those who run it
hey there It Is Me,
i was agreeing with what you said until you backed those who are running the DV, it is being run by fools who would rather watch the DV turn to sh*t than admitt that they have made mistakes.... we need a much more open system so that the clubs and there supporters actually feel like they are being listened to insted of a system where investigations get sweeped under the carpet and the thugs in the DV are left to run riot....
no wonder there are clubs wanting to leave the league....
hey there It Is Me,
i was agreeing with what you said until you backed those who are running the DV, it is being run by fools who would rather watch the DV turn to sh*t than admitt that they have made mistakes.... we need a much more open system so that the clubs and there supporters actually feel like they are being listened to insted of a system where investigations get sweeped under the carpet and the thugs in the DV are left to run riot....
no wonder there are clubs:D wanting to leave the league....
wat the diamond valley shuld look to do is make a 3rd division, and possibly bring in one or two more clubs, so that they can bring two up and two down from each division. it would give clubs more incentive to play the best footy. with the 3rd division, it wuld be hard to get sponsors so they would have to look into family businesses to possibly get money going through the club, to pay players.
any thoughts?
matchwinner
31 Aug 2006, 22:18
are you saying whiters is heading to thomo?
I know that he is really good mates with 'Bulldog' Fragale (Thommo), so that rumour could have some truth to it!!!
Bruce Almighty
31 Aug 2006, 22:21
Not Floydy and not a Floyd crony, just someone who actually takes a little bit of notice of what goes on around the place - and new to this forum. Have only recently come across this site and have read quite a lot of the postings. Seems to me a tad unfair that a lot of the posts are totally negative about DV and wanted to get some evenness in what is said.:)
New to this forum.Then tell me one positive thing the Dvalley have done in the last 15 years numb nuts.Believe me this is not the place to talk about Monkeys that scratch their a*s*s while the head baboon tries to justify why his rectum is so red from sitting on it all day.........Please.
peanut butter sandwich
31 Aug 2006, 22:37
now now all lets be nice.... times like these call for peanut butter sandwiches.
hottip06
1 Sep 2006, 00:42
Went over the top last Saturday, went over the top against Mont... might be a good bloke off the field, I'll even take your word for it.
But can't play... my opinion.
Agreed J & B... he is a clown that bloke!
In regards to the thirds issue (Lower v MacLeod). 95 percent of the DVFL clubs agree with us, majority of suburban leagues run the 3 teams on 1 day scenario, we have support from Football Victoria and AFL. Diamond Valleys response is we dont care. We have sought Legal opinion on another angle and have been told that if it went to court we would stand a better than even money chance of success.
King_Cobra
1 Sep 2006, 10:40
brutal just letting u know that cookson won the b&f again......It was a good move by him to have dales removed off the ball let in the year as it only came down to a couple of votes..
It`s probably not a surprise to Cooker but Joey`s thoughts were that Ryan or T.C would probably battle it out. So did Ryan come second and where did T.C come.
Also mate I may have told you, but my birthday shindig is not far away, your more than welcome to come along, a few of the boys will be invited, just check with young Dales for the details.
Giveyathemail
1 Sep 2006, 13:12
The Diamond Valley is a disgrace, and is quickly becoming a laughing stock. You are either very naiive or extremly misinformed. Those in the upper echelons of the DVFL ALL have their own outdated agendas.
This view was not only proven to me last Sunday, but it was confirmed directly by Roy Ward. He is a skunk, and I cant wait to those at Football Victoria step in and sack the rat.
Giveyathemail
1 Sep 2006, 14:04
All you blokes b i t c h i n g and moaning about who runs the league and what a poor job they do, just remember what the great John Kennedy said.......
I dont want to run the competition, I want to play footy and support the club that I love. The blokes that put their hand up (and into their pockets from time to time) to do the job of running the competition should be striving to make this one of the premier metro footy comps in the state again. That obviously isnt happening... Look at our standard of umpires and our website for christ sake... Laughable at best.
We are in a decline, and if you cant see it, you have your head in your a s s .
The Diamond Valley is a disgrace, and is quickly becoming a laughing stock. You are either very naiive or extremly misinformed. Those in the upper echelons of the DVFL ALL have their own outdated agendas.
This view was not only proven to me last Sunday, but it was confirmed directly by Roy Ward. He is a skunk, and I cant wait to those at Football Victoria step in and sack the rat.
After our experiences this week, I can only but agree 100 percent. From what I have heard a couple of R.W`s deputy`s are lining up for Floydy`s job, Messr`s Topp, Coutta and co have all indicated they would`nt mind the job. These people are part of the problem, now they want to paid for there blinkered, visionless view of D.V. Footy. Yes and good old Roy, U.S. Presidents are only allowed to serve for 8 years, this bloke`s been there 31 or somthing. I spoke to a D.V. Footy official who is not happy with the way things are run down there, apparently Football Victoria want the League to be run by a board of management like all the other metro leagues instead of the club delegates, this person told me that the D.V told Football Vic that nothing is wrong with the system they have, and will not budge on change. I think Football Victoria has got to flex some muscle and force the league into the New Millenium instead of being stuck in the time warp of the 80`s, which is when the sauce stain on Floydy`s D.V suit date backs to.
Giveyathemail
1 Sep 2006, 14:13
After our experiences this week, I can only but agree 100 percent. From what I have heard a couple of R.W`s deputy`s are lining up for Floydy`s job, Messr`s Topp, Coutta and co have all indicated they would`nt mind the job. These people are part of the problem, now they want to paid for there blinkered, visionless view of D.V. Footy. Yes and good old Roy, U.S. Presidents are only allowed to serve for 8 years, this bloke`s been there 31 or somthing. I spoke to a D.V. Footy official who is not happy with the way things are run down there, apparently Football Victoria want the League to be run by a board of management like all the other metro leagues instead of the club delegates, this person told me that the D.V told Football Vic that nothing is wrong with the system they have, and will not budge on change. I think Football Victoria has got to flex some muscle and force the league into the New Millenium instead of being stuck in the time warp of the 80`s, which is when the sauce stain on Floydy`s D.V suit date backs to.
Couldnt agree more Brutal... I know of more than 1 club that are looking into re-establishing themselves in another competition, and if we lose those then kiss the Valley goodbye.
Those blokes within the ranks of the DVFL dont want change because they want to line their pockets as well. Its a tradition...
HotShoeShuffle
1 Sep 2006, 15:55
I dont want to run the competition, I want to play footy and support the club that I love. The blokes that put their hand up (and into their pockets from time to time) to do the job of running the competition should be striving to make this one of the premier metro footy comps in the state again. That obviously isnt happening... Look at our standard of umpires and our website for christ sake... Laughable at best.
We are in a decline, and if you cant see it, you have your head in your a s s .
Looking from outsiders perspective it seems that a lot of people are happy to whinge and moan about how poorly the comp is being. Which it seems to be, i'm not arguing that. But unless someone is willing to do something other than sook on BigFooty, it will continue the way it is going. Now, I'm not that person, nor do I have a feasible solution but surely if enough voices were heard, change would occur. Cant the clubs go to Football Victoria with an agenda and propose a change ? Being a member of Football Victoria and in the best interests of the comp, FV would run some sort of investigation into the runnings of the comp and realise how badly it is run, surely ?
Two words.
Go Monty! :thumbsu:
J&B, i will see you tomorrow.
Bubble Wrap
1 Sep 2006, 17:57
Turtz,
Your initials wouldn't be RM by any chance?
the_interloper
1 Sep 2006, 18:04
Turtz,
Your initials wouldn't be RM by any chance?
They certainly are!
ATTN: Rump
U write the best record reports of all time.
Well done
Jewelsandbullet
1 Sep 2006, 18:15
Two words.
Go Monty! :thumbsu:
J&B, i will see you tomorrow.
Well, I will tell you this for free Turtz, and all my other DVBigfooty friends.. work is no place to be at 5:15pm on a Friday - I am outta here!
Before I go - can I just say... GO MONT!!!
and hope you all have a KickAss weekend. :thumbsu:
Yes, after bandaid shot thru someone needed to stand up and i think we did. got kid in to a bit of trouble. nobody understood it, but it was all good.
Bruce Almighty
1 Sep 2006, 18:26
Looking from outsiders perspective it seems that a lot of people are happy to whinge and moan about how poorly the comp is being. Which it seems to be, i'm not arguing that. But unless someone is willing to do something other than sook on BigFooty, it will continue the way it is going. Now, I'm not that person, nor do I have a feasible solution but surely if enough voices were heard, change would occur. Cant the clubs go to Football Victoria with an agenda and propose a change ? Being a member of Football Victoria and in the best interests of the comp, FV would run some sort of investigation into the runnings of the comp and realise how badly it is run, surely ?
It cannot be penetrated.Delegates of some clubs that are way down the scale of standard back these clowns.16 teams in div 2 always outvote the 10 teams in Div 1.Hate to say it but the Valley is gone and soon that is all the valley will be made up off 2 Div standard.Trust me when i say this loosing a big club already is just the start of a big crack.No one will help fix it until the circus moves on.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
King_Cobra
1 Sep 2006, 18:32
It`s probably not a surprise to Cooker but Joey`s thoughts were that Ryan or T.C would probably battle it out. So did Ryan come second and where did T.C come.
Also mate I may have told you, but my birthday shindig is not far away, your more than welcome to come along, a few of the boys will be invited, just check with young Dales for the details.
ryan and tc finish 2nd and 3rd...Thanks for the invite will check in with dales...what is ur 21st...LOL...
No probs m8, I wish.
RiverRat
1 Sep 2006, 19:42
Whats the word on Trewies two match suspension?
mitch_fc
2 Sep 2006, 01:12
Yes, after bandaid shot thru someone needed to stand up and i think we did. got kid in to a bit of trouble. nobody understood it, but it was all good.
Rump goes well. Bear Banter would have to be up there, people from Keilor Park get the DVFL record sent to them just to read the onelove cubs weekly colum.
yeah true that mitch. The lower column is a good read especially the bantor between urself and rump.
Rump is just a puppet though. A few of the older blokes as well as a few of his close mates just feed him information. He has his strings pulled in a different direction every week.
BlindedByTheLight
2 Sep 2006, 12:58
i know that you are probably bitter about what happened, but lower DID break the rules. But some of your info is correct with some shuffling of the deckchairs likely between the ones mentioned.
bundoora win a thriller over hiedelburg
upncomer
9 Sep 2006, 18:56
GOOD:D
C.E.O comment in Eastern football Record today.
"The EFL circulated to clubs this week details of a post season meeting to consider whether they would be interested in accepting applications from Heidelberg and Balwyn football clubs to enter the first division competition in 2007. The board is seeking consideration of a 12 team competition in the EFL division 1 in 2007. The fixture would be extended from 18 to 20 rounds meaning clubs would play 9 teams twice and 2 teams once leading up to a final series involving the top 6 sides.
Both Balwyn and Heidelberg are committed to their own division 1 finals campaigns but once these are over will be looking to make some decisions in regards to 2007.
The reality is that there is some way to go regarding the development of an expanded div 1. Apart from club approval, Football Victoria need to agree to the entry of new clubs to our competition and applications for transfer must be lodged between October 1 and November 15 of this year"
The bottom lline is that the EFL seem to be doing everything possible to make these application succeed, the only stumbling block would seem to be Football Victoria.
The EFL has also stated they have had applications from 5 clubs wanting to join. They are also pushing for feature games on Queens Bithday weekend, night matches as well as Sunday games. Also they are talking about expanding into a 5th Division.
RiverRat
9 Sep 2006, 20:57
Anyone that saw the game will know how disgraceful and biased that umpiring was, and learn to spell it's Heidelberg.
sorry rat boy i will make sure of my spelling just for you!
The EFL has also stated they have had applications from 5 clubs wanting to join. They are also pushing for feature games on Queens Bithday weekend, night matches as well as Sunday games. Also they are talking about expanding into a 5th Division.
Balwyn, Heidelbrg are obviously 2, i heard South Belgrave were thinking of going to EFL (4th Div.) thats 3. Anyone know who the other 2 teams are?
reporter
10 Sep 2006, 19:42
Balwyn, Heidelbrg are obviously 2, i heard South Belgrave were thinking of going to EFL (4th Div.) thats 3. Anyone know who the other 2 teams are?
How good was Murphy yesterday?
What about playin Hall at CHB, he kicked a 100 goals last year and you waste him in the backline that's where I think Heidelberg lost the game.
murphy got 38 disposels 36 effective i would say
epping is shocking to have finals wind controls the game to much
ROMPERMFC
10 Sep 2006, 19:56
Great game for the Macleod boys today, new the game was in the bag when the Reservoir boys started there usually crap and went the man instead of the ball, not sure if the Reservoir runner was the full quid but he seemed to have plenty to say considering how far they ended up behind.
I am sure the GF will be a great game..:thumbsu:
chopsewie
10 Sep 2006, 20:05
What about playin Hall at CHB, he kicked a 100 goals last year and you waste him in the backline that's where I think Heidelberg lost the game.Id say the reason they played Hall down back would be because he does'nt kick goals against good sides. Last year he kicked a ton but only managed two goals in the whole finals series. They would have been trying to take the pressure off him . From all reports he did well down back. Also i think Heidelberg had to try some new things and they only lost by three points if they make the GF they will shuffle a few more things around . I think the coaching staff from last year have learnt not to be to predictable.
Bruce Almighty
10 Sep 2006, 20:51
Id say the reason they played Hall down back would be because he does'nt kick goals against good sides. Last year he kicked a ton but only managed two goals in the whole finals series. They would have been trying to take the pressure off him . From all reports he did well down back. Also i think Heidelberg had to try some new things and they only lost by three points if they make the GF they will shuffle a few more things around . I think the coaching staff from last year have learnt not to be to predictable.
Like your stuff chopsewie!!!!!
How Murphy didnt get best on ground yesterday has got me F***ed.The boys the radio just dont know their stuff.The praise on bundoora was pathetic as with the umpiring.They only won by three points which is an eight goal turn around from last time.The bergers will do what Nth did to them last year.The monkey on Bundoora has just become a gorilla to go through undefeated.Hate to say it but who ever they play in the GF will beat them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
RiverRat
10 Sep 2006, 21:46
Like your stuff chopsewie!!!!!
How Murphy didnt get best on ground yesterday has got me F***ed.The boys the radio just dont know their stuff.The praise on bundoora was pathetic as with the umpiring.They only won by three points which is an eight goal turn around from last time.The bergers will do what Nth did to them last year.The monkey on Bundoora has just become a gorilla to go through undefeated.Hate to say it but who ever they play in the GF will beat them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Heidelberg will do a north, I guarantee it.
BERGER KING
10 Sep 2006, 22:18
Anyone that saw the game will know how disgraceful and biased that umpiring was, and learn to spell it's Heidelberg.Agree 100%.Bring back Morrison and Lucky!!!!Why no protection by umps for Murphy.Dont DVFL want to attract players of his ability.At least it was good to see the pretenders (COLLINGWOOD) get belted.The most overrated team in the AFL. Easy draw, limited interstate travel,and equal worst coach(with Laidlay and Thomas)
Congrats to the Hurstbridge Football Club for getting the under 19's and reserves to the grand final in a year where they have had to play on a bull **** ground in which they havnt been able to train on since round 3 and have had to put up with so much bull **** as a playing group with the relocated ground.
While they will be up against it next week, the club as a whole has to be congratulated and the attitude of all involved has been first class.
What a great club!! and two great wins in the preliminary final!!!
Iceman27
11 Sep 2006, 02:04
Don't think anyone will be trying to pick up Aaron James for next season. He got reported four times yesterday 1/misconduct 2/abusive language 3/spitting 4/threatning an umpire. It also says on the RDFL thread that he was rumored to have hit a young spectator.
Giveyathemail
11 Sep 2006, 09:42
Where are all our posts from 2nd Sept - 9th Sept????
harryhawaii
11 Sep 2006, 09:48
Agree 100%.Bring back Morrison and Lucky!!!!Why no protection by umps for Murphy.Dont DVFL want to attract players of his ability.At least it was good to see the pretenders (COLLINGWOOD) get belted.The most overrated team in the AFL. Easy draw, limited interstate travel,and equal worst coach(with Laidlay and Thomas)the same murphy who sunk the slipper on saturday. ya wanta hope that its not on the camera, as it will be very embarassing.he gives as good as it gets. and ya captain, hitting the smallest player behind the play. shame, shame shame. it was a good game. the better team won on the day. who knows next time . i just hope its the bulls.
Muttley
11 Sep 2006, 10:35
Hardly consider it waisted when Hall was in the Bergs top 5, you must remember he won a B+F playing at CHB a few years ago. I thought the move to play Lofty forward was an absolute master stroke, he had an enthralling contest with Grossman. Both players acquitted themselves well and while they came out square, both had a massive influence on the game. Murphy was BOG for Heid by a streak.
KrunchNKans
11 Sep 2006, 14:09
Hardly consider it waisted when Hall was in the Bergs top 5, you must remember he won a B+F playing at CHB a few years ago. I thought the move to play Lofty forward was an absolute master stroke, he had an enthralling contest with Grossman. Both players acquitted themselves well and while they came out square, both had a massive influence on the game. Murphy was BOG for Heid by a streak.
Hall was pretty good but Gloury's two goals on him late in the 3rd was where the game was won and lost.If Bergers get another crack at the Bulls i would fancy them.
You do get frustrated with the Epping conditions becoming so influential in DV finals.
Don't think anyone will be trying to pick up Aaron James for next season. He got reported four times yesterday 1/misconduct 2/abusive language 3/spitting 4/threatning an umpire. It also says on the RDFL thread that he was rumored to have hit a young spectator.
Hey Iceman, what's been going on champ. Have you started building your spaghetti arms in the gym yet? Have spoke to shan and he tells me that he and boxy have been running 5 k's a night. I might have to start doing the same as soon as I can start running again.
Approximately 36 people going on the footy trip to the gold coast, sorry you cant be there mate, there is some quality going aswell in the likes of J.Grose, A.Ireland and the late inclusion of Abbas ' Rocko ' Abbas.
Iceman27
11 Sep 2006, 15:23
Hey Iceman, what's been going on champ. Have you started building your spaghetti arms in the gym yet? Have spoke to shan and he tells me that he and boxy have been running 5 k's a night. I might have to start doing the same as soon as I can start running again.
Approximately 36 people going on the footy trip to the gold coast, sorry you cant be there mate, there is some quality going aswell in the likes of J.Grose, A.Ireland and the late inclusion of Abbas ' Rocko ' Abbas.
I have not strarted on the arms yet but I have hit the roads for me runs. Might have to give boxy and shan a call gets pretty boring running by yourself. Dissappointed I can't go on the footy trip but i have commitments now Mox. You heading to the granny on saturday. Me and a few of the boys will be there. How is the knee going.
I know you have commitments now Iceman thats why im not going to tar & feather you for not going. Should start running again after the footy trip ( start of October ). When is the AGM?, Have you heard if Neal and Sleethy are going around again?
Have you heard of any pick ups or losses for the club on the Wallan grapevine.
Hopefully everyone can stick around and we can have a crack at the finals next year.
RiverRat
11 Sep 2006, 16:12
Playing at chb got hally in the bergers team of the century at 25 so I hardly think it is wasted.
Iceman27
11 Sep 2006, 16:44
I know you have commitments now Iceman thats why im not going to tar & feather you for not going. Should start running again after the footy trip ( start of October ). When is the AGM?, Have you heard if Neal and Sleethy are going around again?
Have you heard of any pick ups or losses for the club on the Wallan grapevine.
Hopefully everyone can stick around and we can have a crack at the finals next year.
I have not heard of any guys we are trying to pick up but we are having a meeting tomoorow night which might give us an idea on players we are trying to get and weather Neal and Sleethy will be going around again. I have not heard of anyone leaving yet but Wayne Comfort was undecided weather he would go around again. Has he told you his decision yet. And do you know if bis Wes is coming back.
matchwinner
11 Sep 2006, 16:53
Be interested to hear placings at club b&f's this season.
We had ours on Friday night and Clint Monger overtook Cam Elmore on the last votes of the night. Very exciting finish. (Cam Elmore rested in the last game).
Monger 105, Elmore 102, Parsons 100. Any one of those three would have been a worthy winner. Monger had his first full season in a long time and was sensational off half back.
Andy Knee also polled 65 votes from just eight games, finishing fifth.
I have not heard of any guys we are trying to pick up but we are having a meeting tomoorow night which might give us an idea on players we are trying to get and weather Neal and Sleethy will be going around again. I have not heard of anyone leaving yet but Wayne Comfort was undecided weather he would go around again. Has he told you his decision yet. And do you know if bis Wes is coming back.
Wes ' The Big Easy ' Broad wont be back until mid to late next year, but his brother Leigh ' Mojo ' Broad will be back late February and I have already started the hunt for his signiture for Wallan F.C.
As to Wayno he has told me if he still fits into his footy shorts by the time the season starts then he will most likely go around again.
kanga fan man
11 Sep 2006, 17:02
Lalor: 1st Josh Summers 2nd Jai Miles 3rd Nick Mafilovski
Saw one N. Langborne taking a close look at the Seymour/Shepp Swans clash a fortnight ago, so maybe things are happening behind the scenes in order to get the Maggies a few rungs higher in 2007.
ROMPERMFC
11 Sep 2006, 20:27
Just read on the Hurstbridge web page that one of there under 19's had his spleen removed after an accidental bump on the W/E, hope the young fella is doing ok and his mates do him proud on the W/E.:thumbsu:
growler69
11 Sep 2006, 21:27
Does anyone know of the young ruckman from lalor no.22 looks a promising type. Our clubs trying to get him havent seen him play. Whats he like?
matchwinner
11 Sep 2006, 21:58
Just read on the Hurstbridge web page that one of there under 19's had his spleen removed after an accidental bump on the W/E, hope the young fella is doing ok and his mates do him proud on the W/E.:thumbsu:
You sure it was under 19's and not reserves, because a guy in the 2's got taken off on a stretcher after a knee to the back and an ambulance came.
It was an under 17 playing in the 19's. He copped a knock to the ribs and went to hospital and they found the spleen had ruptured and had to have it removed. Havn't heard how he is doing.
The player in the reserves taken to hopsital was fine, has a very sore back but no broken bones or anything like that. Was back in time for celebratory drinks at the club afterwards and will be right for this week.
Giveyathemail
12 Sep 2006, 09:41
Does anyone know of the young ruckman from lalor no.22 looks a promising type. Our clubs trying to get him havent seen him play. Whats he like?
Yeah the kid goes alright Growler :thumbsu:
Wont leave Lalor though mate, our birds are too good :D
hugs_dancer
12 Sep 2006, 09:45
what was with heidleberg targeting the bundoora players on saturday?
blair harvey hitting the smallest player behind play! he would hope thats not on video! watch himself this week aswell because i think he got a yellow card for it??
bundoora didn't play their best footy, the week off will be good for them next week as heidleberg and monty will smash eachother to get that spot in the GF!
ifyoucandodgeawrench
12 Sep 2006, 10:08
what was with heidleberg targeting the bundoora players on saturday?
blair harvey hitting the smallest player behind play! he would hope thats not on video! watch himself this week aswell because i think he got a yellow card for it??
bundoora didn't play their best footy, the week off will be good for them next week as heidleberg and monty will smash eachother to get that spot in the GF!
Yeah Murphy was attacking his oppenents fingers nails with his neck....:cool: (note: sarcasim, for the slow ones out there...)
Get serious mate.
Giveyathemail
12 Sep 2006, 13:31
Get up with it boys...These are DVFL finals we are talking about. You gotta expect that peoples resolve will be tested, and that is part and parcel of what its all about. If a little whack in the guts or a kick in the ankle bothers you then you shouldnt be out there.
Especially this year being so close, I think the side that is most physical at the footy, with controlled aggression at the man will be successful in 2006 :thumbsu:
Get up with it boys...These are DVFL finals we are talking about. You gotta expect that peoples resolve will be tested, and that is part and parcel of what its all about. If a little whack in the guts or a kick in the ankle bothers you then you shouldnt be out there.
Especially this year being so close, I think the side that is most physical at the footy, with controlled aggression at the man will be successful in 2006 :thumbsu:
Spot on. Saturday, was tough but fair. Stinga rekons he gave that bloke a love tap, slapped him on the side of the head and he went down like a sack of spuds. And don't think that Sting qualifies As a monster, only in his own mind. It was like two dwarfs boxing on. :D
And Murphy cops it every week, slaps, kicks, scratches and doesn't flinch. He has been as good off the ground as on it. Just gets on it and covers km after km. Still cannot believe that Sting and Murph missed 2 sodas to put us in front in the last 5 minutes.
Looking forward to this week. Few more coming back and we are almost at full strength.
FOOTYBOSS
12 Sep 2006, 21:47
Spot on. Saturday, was tough but fair. Stinga rekons he gave that bloke a love tap, slapped him on the side of the head and he went down like a sack of spuds. And don't think that Sting qualifies As a monster, only in his own mind. It was like two dwarfs boxing on. :D
And Murphy cops it every week, slaps, kicks, scratches and doesn't flinch. He has been as good off the ground as on it. Just gets on it and covers km after km. Still cannot believe that Sting and Murph missed 2 sodas to put us in front in the last 5 minutes.
Looking forward to this week. Few more coming back and we are almost at full strength.
Who didnt play on the weekend Dwight?
LOBSTER
12 Sep 2006, 21:53
Exactly right GYTM, from my experiences of watching and playing in diamond valley finals, the physical aspect of the game definately steps up come September time. If the players dont like it, they should change leagues. Its what makes the dvfl so good.
Giveyathemail
13 Sep 2006, 09:29
Stinga is one of the more placid blokes to play dvfl, a hard but fair competititor. If that bloke went down like he said he did, that will be a positive for Stinga if he gets another chance in 9 days against the Bulls.
Mind games also play a huge part come September. The pressure is definatly on Bundoora now, especially as their win was far from convincing.
Information taken from the EDFL thread.
Quote/For those of you who were on here defending Aaron James a few weeks ago, He has just been suspended for 4 years by the rdfl for abusive and threatning language aswell as threatning behaviour towards an umpire in aparently a pretty ugly incident in a final on the weekend, aparently he initially recieved 2 years but upon hearing the verdict he threw chairs and abused the tribunal members so the penalty was up graded to 4 years... Seems a sad end to the footballing career of a player once spruiked by dermie as having the potential to be the next Wayne Carey, will probably cost him a fair amount of coin as well.Quote/
Giveyathemail
13 Sep 2006, 09:44
Imformation taken from the EDFL thread.
Quote/For those of you who were on here defending Aaron James a few weeks ago, He has just been suspended for 4 years by the rdfl for abusive and threatning language aswell as threatning behaviour towards an umpire in aparently a pretty ugly incident in a final on the weekend, aparently he initially recieved 2 years but upon hearing the verdict he threw chairs and abused the tribunal members so the penalty was up graded to 4 years... Seems a sad end to the footballing career of a player once spruiked by dermie as having the potential to be the next Wayne Carey, will probably cost him a fair amount of coin as well.Quote/
Yeah I was defending Jamesy on the time he spent at Lalor, saying he was a good clubman and was as good off the field as he was on it for us. If what you are saying is right, that is terrible, but if you expect me to kick the bloke while he is down, then you have come to the wrong place my friend.
The quote was taken from the EDFL thread, so obviuosly it has nothing to do with what you have said about him ealier. Just sharing the info as he is a former DVFL player.
Giveyathemail
13 Sep 2006, 10:01
The quote was taken from the EDFL thread, so obviuosly it has nothing to do with what you have said about him ealier. Just sharing the info as he is a former DVFL player.
Nah thats ok, I am glad you did report it. There are alot of people that dont even know the bloke that feel it is their god given right to rip into him, but if he was playing at their club kicking 100+ for the year he would be a legend.
matchwinner
13 Sep 2006, 12:35
Nah thats ok, I am glad you did report it. There are alot of people that dont even know the bloke that feel it is their god given right to rip into him, but if he was playing at their club kicking 100+ for the year he would be a legend.
I had a quick chat to him one night a few years back at a Lalor player's party at that pub Rhys-Jones owns in Carlton and he seemed like a great bloke. I guess there was always that reputation though that he could be a loose cannon. Was there any chance of him heading back to Lalor next year before this suspension??
matteroffact
13 Sep 2006, 12:56
I had a quick chat to him one night a few years back at a Lalor player's party at that pub Rhys-Jones owns in Carlton and he seemed like a great bloke. I guess there was always that reputation though that he could be a loose cannon. Was there any chance of him heading back to Lalor next year before this suspension??His intention was to get back to Lalor this year when the Albion thing came about but heard he had committed to the bloods for 2007 before last nights events
Giveyathemail
13 Sep 2006, 13:31
I had a quick chat to him one night a few years back at a Lalor player's party at that pub Rhys-Jones owns in Carlton and he seemed like a great bloke. I guess there was always that reputation though that he could be a loose cannon. Was there any chance of him heading back to Lalor next year before this suspension??
Wouldnt have been Bazzas going away party Matchy??? Big night that one :)
From what I can gather, Jamesy was as good as there in 2007.
matchwinner
13 Sep 2006, 15:49
Wouldnt have been Bazzas going away party Matchy??? Big night that one :)
From what I can gather, Jamesy was as good as there in 2007.
Yeh that was the night!
The suspension must be disappointing for you boys then, as he would have been a pretty handy addition (and probably great news for us that we won't have to line up against him!!!)
It Is Me
13 Sep 2006, 15:58
Moxy, IceMan and friends
The Wallan AGM is at 7.30pm on Tuesday 10 October.
MVP count on Sunday comm 12 noon - go and see Sleethy yourself and find out first hand if he is looking to continue ...:) :)
The_KID
13 Sep 2006, 18:36
should be a fiar party at the borough this week. all three sides hot favourites.
FOOTYBOSS
13 Sep 2006, 22:18
should be a fiar party at the borough this week. all three sides hot favourites.
Doesnt mean you always win mate. Dont start the celebrations just yet.
matteroffact
14 Sep 2006, 08:18
should be a fiar party at the borough this week. all three sides hot favourites.Don't start partying yet remember 2005!It would be a great party if the 19's and reserves won and the seniors lost!
Giveyathemail
14 Sep 2006, 09:35
I wouldnt be suprised to see Macloed knock them off... 20 minutes of footy cost them a fortnight ago, that wont happen again. Wouldnt be suprised to see the likes of Fairchild have an afternoon nap either ;)
matchwinner
14 Sep 2006, 10:05
I wouldnt be suprised to see Macloed knock them off... 20 minutes of footy cost them a fortnight ago, that wont happen again. Wouldnt be suprised to see the likes of Fairchild have an afternoon nap either ;)
I was very surprised with last week's result. In the first quarter it looked like Reservoir were going to smash them. They looked much more physical. Macleod got back into it in the second quarter, but when I left at half time I could never have predicted what happened in the second half. Obviously Reservoir had a couple of players sent off and Macleod's young running players took over.
Piggy Harmes has done a great job with Macleod this year after losing key player/goalkicker Mangin. Couldn't quite understand his quarter time speech though. Something to do with planes being ready for take off??? Had me scratching my head!!!
Whilst not certainties, I would expect the experiences of the last couple of years to have Greensborough hungry and get them over the line. Should be a good game. And watch out for Fairchild. Got a big ego the young fella, but can play!!!
ROMPERMFC
14 Sep 2006, 10:24
[quote=matchwinner]I was very surprised with last week's result. In the
Piggy Harmes has done a great job with Macleod this year after losing key player/goalkicker Mangin. Couldn't quite understand his quarter time speech though. Something to do with planes being ready for take off??? Had me scratching my head!!!
Loosing Mangin was the best thing for the footy club, the players had no respect for him and he was only out chasing the big dollars... a complete ****er....:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
now the guys who were only playing for the money have left, the club has been left with the guys who want to play for each other and the jumper, and i would take that any day..
Harmes has done a fantastic job with such a young team.
matchwinner
14 Sep 2006, 10:36
[quote=matchwinner]I was very surprised with last week's result. In the
Loosing Mangin was the best thing for the footy club, the players had no respect for him and he was only out chasing the big dollars... a complete ****er....:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
now the guys who were only playing for the money have left, the club has been left with the guys who want to play for each other and the jumper, and i would take that any day..
Harmes has done a fantastic job with such a young team.
Yeh you've obviously got a good group there at the moment who are njoying playing with each other. Thought initially that replacing 80 or 90 goals that Mangin kicked last year would be difficult, but you've had players like Lynch and co who have stepped up. Lynch should snag the ton this week you'd think??? A big thing in a Grand Final!!!
You play yourself? Be out there this week?
kanga fan man
14 Sep 2006, 11:12
Good to see Jake King make the VFL team of the year hopefully someone picks him up
Giveyathemail
14 Sep 2006, 13:20
I know the kid can play, and ego and reputation can only get you so far... in particular with your lights out. Its hard to do much damage when your blowing Zs.... :thumbsu:
No doubt the kid knows he is a target... lets see how he handles that on the big stage.
Congratulations to Jake King :thumbsu:
chopsewie
14 Sep 2006, 14:45
Good to see Jake King make the VFL team of the year hopefully someone picks him upWas it the under twenty three side or the main side? top effort which ever side it was . I think he ll definately get a rookie list .
matchwinner
14 Sep 2006, 14:57
I know the kid can play, and ego and reputation can only get you so far... in particular with your lights out. Its hard to do much damage when your blowing Zs.... :thumbsu:
No doubt the kid knows he is a target... lets see how he handles that on the big stage.
Do you know something GYTM, or is that just a prediction that Macleod will try to take out their main threat??
kanga fan man
14 Sep 2006, 15:16
chops i think it was main side
joshooaa
14 Sep 2006, 15:50
Congratulations also to Warren Carlyle who was named first ruck in the VFL team. He played for both Montmerency and Greensborough in under 17's footy, I remember playing against him in a final. He also played cricket at Eltham, very nice bloke from memory and an awsome effort to be named the top ruckman.
As for Jake King, he and his brother were always absoloute pains to play against and i remember a few epic under 15 and 17 battles playing against them, but full credit to him especially given he is quite a small bloke. Well done.
stooge01
14 Sep 2006, 17:05
Good to see Jake King make the VFL team of the year hopefully someone picks him up
Well done jakey hes a little champ
ROMPERMFC
14 Sep 2006, 19:06
[
You play yourself? Be out there this week?
I will be on the side lines doing my best to instruct the umpires and the oposition players on where they are going wrong;)
pity i wasnt 10 years younger and have 10 times the footy skills i do.... then i might get a game...maybe...
Strong rumour out of Diamond Creek they are looking to add some "sting" to the midfield and also some "sting" as a part of there 2007 coaching panel.....
matching the coin that the Burgers are paying him, maybe even better.
Person in question may bring some one to "Caddy" for him as well...
matteroffact
15 Sep 2006, 07:21
Strong rumour out of Diamond Creek they are looking to add some "sting" to the midfield and also some "sting" as a part of there 2007 coaching panel.....
matching the coin that the Burgers are paying him, maybe even better.
Person in question may bring some one to "Caddy" for him as well...If you are on the mark Dwight it would probably be enough to have them at least challenging for a position in the top 4 in 2007.
How are the burgers looking for the game on Sunday?Is Gay back in the line-up?
Giveyathemail
15 Sep 2006, 09:36
Do you know something GYTM, or is that just a prediction that Macleod will try to take out their main threat??
No mate, but he is obviously the difference between the 2 sides and this week boils down to all or nothing. Im not suggesting someone king hits the kid... a vigorous Brodie Holland type bump or some extra attention to put the kid off his game could do the trick.
If all else fails, then whack him ;)
Interesting whisper about Stinga, in particular the timing of the rumour as well with him embarking on another premiership campaign. The last thing a bloke would be thinking about is leaving a place he is trying to win another flag for (as captain at that). Personally I cant see Stinga leaving the place where he is admired and respected, from both the Heidelberg faithful and his opposition peers. And Saul is very happy where he is from what I gather... Good luck to the big fella playing his Grand Final tomorrow :thumbsu: