View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65

RiverRat
4 Nov 2006, 08:23
Is this fair dinkum Johnny? If so what does the club plan?

Yeh it's fair dinkem mate, the lawyers will be brought in id say. Got a feeling it could drag on for a while.

KrunchNKans
4 Nov 2006, 09:03
Yeh it's fair dinkem mate, the lawyers will be brought in id say. Got a feeling it could drag on for a while.

Seems a stragetic error has been made by trying to get both clubs over in one year. The rational for the case against the move only gets doubled , while the case for the move (of EFL and Club progress) is identical.
Bergers wear Balwyn's negatives (vulnerability of SFL) whilst vice versa (100 years with DVFL). It is unlikely that one transfer would have been approved and the other denied.

It's more convenient for the EFL to get both clubs at once but a greater chance would have been to get one club over the line first and the other club to follow the next year.

Good to see Ken Gannon didn't miss the DV cronies at Simms Rd.

Boy George
4 Nov 2006, 09:38
Please ! Mate many have tryed but no one has ever suceeded so pull up Goose. How much money you gonna put in my account? Whats with the agressive talk tough Boy George are we.

no need to start with the name caling tool as for runing l have heard some stories about you runing

Boy George
4 Nov 2006, 09:42
Who the $uck could possibly take someone seriously with the name boy george anyway souns like a cat to me.

didn't know a bigfooty user name described youself as a person then again with a name like yours your type of bloke that would sit there with there toy machine gun pulling your dart saying "say hello to my litle friend" your just another arse licker of stir fry

muesli
4 Nov 2006, 13:47
Yes i imagine that they could but they would want to have plenty of money as they would be total blackban from all funding and support from FV i would imagine,it would create more problems then they could handle you would think.
While i think it is unlikely that they will split from football victoria. Is their funding from FV a lot of $$$$ in the scheme of things or just a little bit extra?
And do football victoria give that much support to the league?
Personally i think they probably could do it financially but it would most likely cause more problems then it solves in the long run.

SCARFACE
4 Nov 2006, 16:56
didn't know a bigfooty user name described youself as a person then again with a name like yours your type of bloke that would sit there with there toy machine gun pulling your dart saying "say hello to my litle friend" your just another arse licker of stir fry

No worries buddy! why dont u sing us a melody or two stoogehttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif

RiverRat
5 Nov 2006, 03:00
Heidelberg won't be returning to the diamond valley no matter what the verdict. It's going to get ugly.:D

kingkyle
5 Nov 2006, 13:53
MMMMMMM See my seperate thread predicting this last week!!! Football Vic wont change there mind.Heid will play in the DVFL !!!!.Well done to Ken Gannon for realising that local footy,tradition and common sense are paramount.If there are admin issues so be it! Who wants Heid vs Noble Park!!! Is that local footy? What about all the flow on effects ie Juniour footy etc.This is a great day for the tradition and history of our local footy comp the DVFL.Well done Football VIC:)

chopsewie
5 Nov 2006, 14:01
no need to start with the name caling tool as for runing l have heard some stories about you runingYou are a goose! Well champ you must have heard wrong. Never ran from anyone in my life. Its funny your the one hiding behind an alias why don't you let everyone know who you are tough boy!

Bruce Almighty
5 Nov 2006, 16:59
MMMMMMM See my seperate thread predicting this last week!!! Football Vic wont change there mind.Heid will play in the DVFL !!!!.Well done to Ken Gannon for realising that local footy,tradition and common sense are paramount.If there are admin issues so be it! Who wants Heid vs Noble Park!!! Is that local footy? What about all the flow on effects ie Juniour footy etc.This is a great day for the tradition and history of our local footy comp the DVFL.Well done Football VIC:)

You are f**king idiot mate.football victoria are going to clean out the Dvalley and they are using heidelberg as there leg in to shake it up.The so called heirachy that run the dvalley have not done one thing to improve the comp in twenty years . Have they ever been audited to account for all the money that they receive from clubs..Who knows what they do with the money.Maybe they can buy themselves some motorised wheel chairs .they are that f**king old and behind the times its a joke.Clubs need to call a meeting and get rid of these goons.and as for football victoria who the f**k are you to say where people can run there business.I beleive its called a restriction of trade and from what i gather you cant stop that.

SCARFACE
5 Nov 2006, 18:02
You are f**king idiot mate.football victoria are going to clean out the Dvalley and they are using heidelberg as there leg in to shake it up.The so called heirachy that run the dvalley have not done one thing to improve the comp in twenty years . Have they ever been audited to account for all the money that they receive from clubs..Who knows what they do with the money.Maybe they can buy themselves some motorised wheel chairs .they are that f**king old and behind the times its a joke.Clubs need to call a meeting and get rid of these goons.and as for football victoria who the f**k are you to say where people can run there business.I beleive its called a restriction of trade and from what i gather you cant stop that.

Very valid point!!

dv07
5 Nov 2006, 18:33

good point there..heard that the heirachy of the dvfl all get alot of money from the clubs, the bloke is drivin a brand new model car, and family are also paid for.. although a rumour, wouldnt be far from the truth you would believe..

dv07
5 Nov 2006, 18:35
what do people think of the bringing in of theme songs. its been leaked on the dvfl site. i reckon its a good little incentive for clubs to get to add abit more atmosphere to club games.
http://www.dvfooty.com/news/news0514.htm

McKinleyISgood
5 Nov 2006, 18:53
what do people think of the bringing in of theme songs. its been leaked on the dvfl site. i reckon its a good little incentive for clubs to get to add abit more atmosphere to club games.

was "leaked" in july, since we haven't heard much more about it since then, i dunno what anyone thinks of it. i like the idea of club songs myself tho

mattyr
5 Nov 2006, 22:12

bundoora have it it there home games

Giveyathemail
6 Nov 2006, 07:53
I think its a terrible for the Heidelberg Footy Club, who obviously had their heart set on the move to the EFL. Heidelberg are obviously unhappy with the support and service (or lack of it) provided from the DVFL over the years, and who blame could them.

Like anyone else in buisness or even everyday life, if you are not happy with the service being provided to you, especially being a PAYING CUSTOMER, as all football clubs are, then you should be able to look elsewhere for gratification. This reeks of corruption at the highest level.

The quicker those at DVFL house are retired, the quicker our competition will return to its former glory.

Dwight
6 Nov 2006, 08:19
Agree GYTM.

I don't mind coming back to the Valley or going to the EFL but we as a club tried to get the best local comp in Melbourne. As a club we tried to improve ourselves but were denied by Football Victoria. That is the umpires ruling and we have to bide by that, fair enough. Although there may be more to come but I would rather just get on with 2007 in the DVFL and try again in 2008. But now that FV have made the ruling the emphasis is on them to improve the DVFL and bring it back up to scratch. At the minute I know of now policy or programs that FV have implemented to the DVFL to improve it. Or even any plans to do so. Sending the Bergers back to the DVFL is fine but to send us back to a comp that is being administered by a 1970's type regime that is unaccountable and doesn't show the clubs any type of respect is a disgrace. Football Victoria owes the HFC better then that.

Moxy
6 Nov 2006, 09:35
Wallan has announced it new senoir coach for 2007. Chris Watson, a 300 game veteran of the Whittlesea Football club will take the helm for 2007.
36 year old Chris will be a welcomed appointment to the WFC.

other appointments are:

Assistant coach : Matt Gibson, Gibbo is taking his first steps to one day becoming a senoir coach.

Reserves coach : Andrew Astbury, Andy has decided to keep up his good work from season 2006.

Under 19's: New life member of the Wallan FC, Gary Taylor has decided to take the sometimes difficult task of coaching our young boys for next season. GT along with his ever faithful side kick Dave fisher will continue there good work in developing Wallans future senoir stocks.

Giveyathemail
6 Nov 2006, 11:13
Agree GYTM.

I don't mind coming back to the Valley or going to the EFL but we as a club tried to get the best local comp in Melbourne. As a club we tried to improve ourselves but were denied by Football Victoria. That is the umpires ruling and we have to bide by that, fair enough. Although there may be more to come but I would rather just get on with 2007 in the DVFL and try again in 2008. But now that FV have made the ruling the emphasis is on them to improve the DVFL and bring it back up to scratch. At the minute I know of now policy or programs that FV have implemented to the DVFL to improve it. Or even any plans to do so. Sending the Bergers back to the DVFL is fine but to send us back to a comp that is being administered by a 1970's type regime that is unaccountable and doesn't show the clubs any type of respect is a disgrace. Football Victoria owes the HFC better then that.

If FV really wanna clean up the Valley, they gotta start at the top.... Shi t runs downhill, and the longer those prehistoric goons hold onto the reins, the more clubs will eventually drown in that sh it. The sooner FV realise this, the sooner they can implement changes which may enable quality clubs like Heidelberg to want to stay in our competition.

Boy George
6 Nov 2006, 16:58
You are a goose! Well champ you must have heard wrong. Never ran from anyone in my life. Its funny your the one hiding behind an alias why don't you let everyone know who you are tough boy!
is nose getting biger stir fry
im a nobody who just watches local footy and drinks cans on the side line and as for your runing your quick when you want to be flash

chopsewie
6 Nov 2006, 19:21
im a nobody who just watches local footy and drinks cans on the side line and as for your runing your quick when you want to be flashWHAT! Either your eleven years of age or you don't have a brain in that make up wearing head of yours. I think you've even lost your self there with those stupid comments. I think you'd better get back to EDFL moves you are making a complete fool out of yourself on here!

Boy George
6 Nov 2006, 20:06
WHAT! Either your eleven years of age or you don't have a brain in that make up wearing head of yours. I think you've even lost your self there with those stupid comments. I think you'd better get back to EDFL moves you are making a complete fool out of yourself on here!

so what if lm 11 yr old l think you the one that weras make up
im not the fool you are with the comment that plumbers make more than doctors stir fry keep runing

chopsewie
6 Nov 2006, 20:40
so what if lm 11 yr old l think you the one that weras make up
im not the fool you are with the comment that plumbers make more than doctors stir fry keep runingMate its true ring wage line and see for yourself. Boy george wears make up and yes your right chopsewie is stirfry look out boys we have a brain surgeon on here this moron is probably one of the best ive seen. I bet you' ve never had the heart to get out on the ground and have a crack at playing your self.Under tens does'nt count. You really are embarrassing yourself now.

stooge01
7 Nov 2006, 13:17
Agree GYTM.

I was speaking to a few of your boys in thailand and they were positive you blokes were going. Look at the positives you wont have to play against the bloods in the grandfinal next year:thumbsu:

ROMPERMFC
8 Nov 2006, 06:12
Mate its true ring wage line and see for yourself. Boy george wears make up and yes your right chopsewie is stirfry look out boys we have a brain surgeon on here this moron is probably one of the best ive seen. I bet you' ve never had the heart to get out on the ground and have a crack at playing your self.Under tens does'nt count. You really are embarrassing yourself now.

not sure why you are wasting your time on BG, he sounds like a gender bending tosser, reakon he only likes the footy so he can look at the guys running around in there shorts.... Keep up the good work chop:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Giveyathemail
8 Nov 2006, 07:09
im a nobody who just watches local footy and drinks cans on the side line and as for your runing your quick when you want to be flash

By the sound of it, you are a nobody that is a bit jealous of a bloke that is a somebody, and the only way you can have a crack at him is from sitting behind a computer and hiding behind an alias. Weak as pi ss...

DMac012
8 Nov 2006, 11:32
I'm saying the higher profile players in your team not in the league, meaning in your top 5 players. They were enquiring earlier this week. Don't want to name names cos I dont want to cause any bad blood down there if they decide to stick with you guys. If you know your team mates you could probably work it out yourself though.

The players you are refering to, only played the 1st half of the year and didn't return when a major commitment was asked by the coaching staff.

Sure they were good players on their day, but not in Parkside's TOP 5 this year.These 2 players are only concerned with playing on Saturdays (some weeks), they didn't want to be part of a club and do the required things that come with that (like staying around after games, going to functions, hanging arounf Thursday nights).

Buyer Beware!!!!!!

Force
8 Nov 2006, 11:44
The players you are refering to, only played the 1st half of the year and didn't return when a major commitment was asked by the coaching staff.

Sure they were good players on their day, but not in Parkside's TOP 5 this year.These 2 players are only concerned with playing on Saturdays (some weeks), they didn't want to be part of a club and do the required things that come with that (like staying around after games, going to functions, hanging arounf Thursday nights).

Buyer Beware!!!!!!

No worry's we are not chasing them, they are asking us. They wouldn't get paid a cent anyway if they did all those things you are saying. They would have to prove themselves before they were offered anything substantial anyway.

SCARFACE
8 Nov 2006, 12:27
By the sound of it, you are a nobody that is a bit jealous of a bloke that is a somebody, and the only way you can have a crack at him is from sitting behind a computer and hiding behind an alias. Weak as pi ss...

I have this feeling that this boy george character may well be the one and only mr touch of class!!!

FOOTYBOSS
8 Nov 2006, 13:21
Heidelberg should just get over the decision made by Football Victoria and concentrate on winning another flag next year in the dvfl. FV were never going to let it happen as it would only hinder the dvfl more in trying to attract players back to the once powerful competition. If its true about how they are going to help get rid of the current administration, then that is a positive for the dvfl as a comp. It will be start in regaining a fair amount respect it has lost as a comp over the last 5 years.

journeyman
8 Nov 2006, 13:54
Heidelberg should just get over the decision made by Football Victoria and concentrate on winning another flag next year in the dvfl. FV were never going to let it happen as it would only hinder the dvfl more in trying to attract players back to the once powerful competition. If its true about how they are going to help get rid of the current administration, then that is a positive for the dvfl as a comp. It will be start in regaining a fair amount respect it has lost as a comp over the last 5 years.

I would have thought that the Diamond Valley would still be classed as a powerful league and one that has a lot of respect. I'm just talking about on-field as I know noting about administration.

FB, compared to 5 years ago, are the top sides not as good? Bottom sides falling behind? Or are more and more good players going to the O&M and GV leagues. I know there are heaps of good players who live in the Diamond Valley area but travel up the Hume Highway.

the G train #9
8 Nov 2006, 14:38
Eltham start pre-season training on Monday. seem fair dinkum and keen to be up there for finals next year. could be a big improver

Jewelsandbullet
8 Nov 2006, 15:03
I have this feeling that this boy george character may well be the one and only mr touch of class!!!

Yeah – but has too much punctation and grammar for TOC

Just on the H-berg move, reading between the lines from the full decision notes http://www.footballvic.com.au/_content/document/00050329-src.pdf

Football Vic seem to suggest that the applications would have had better opportunity if lodged separately. & that the EFL’s main argument for acceptance was the growth of its league into five divisions – which does not necessarily mean growth of the game.

Also there is a clear indication that if the DV does not pull its finger out administratively - football Vic will have no hesitation in granting the application in the future.

Let’s hope they read the writing on the wall and there is a shake up at DV head quarters

FOOTYBOSS
8 Nov 2006, 15:17
I would have thought that the Diamond Valley would still be classed as a powerful league and one that has a lot of respect. I'm just talking about on-field as I know noting about administration.

FB, compared to 5 years ago, are the top sides not as good? Bottom sides falling behind? Or are more and more good players going to the O&M and GV leagues. I know there are heaps of good players who live in the Diamond Valley area but travel up the Hume Highway.

The top sides are just as good but the comp as a whole is no where near it. The gap between the top 4 sides and the rest is massive now days. Even the top 2 sides and the rest is a big gap. 5 years ago we had teams that were finishing 5th and making a grand final. Now it wouldnt happen. There are some players at the lower clubs who wouldnt have got a game 5 years ago in the DVFL.

Plus there are more and more players heading up the hume, but we all know thats due to the money factor.

SUPASTARR
8 Nov 2006, 15:23
Thats very true boss. Do ya reckon that those players that leave dvfl, wouldnt get the coin that the players do up the hume. That why u and ur housemate travel eh?

FOOTYBOSS
8 Nov 2006, 15:26
Thats very true boss. Do ya reckon that those players that leave dvfl, wouldnt get the coin that the players do up the hume. That why u and ur housemate travel eh?
Not to sure on that. Some players up the Hume would definately get the same money down here I would expect. My housemate travels up there as he is orginally from up that way and has family there.

Jewelsandbullet
8 Nov 2006, 15:29
The top sides are just as good but the comp as a whole is no where near it. The gap between the top 4 sides and the rest is massive now days. Even the top 2 sides and the rest is a big gap. 5 years ago we had teams that were finishing 5th and making a grand final. Now it wouldnt happen. .

I assume your comments are in relation to DIV 1 Boss? If so, I think it would be very hard to make a G-final from 5th!!

EBERT THE KING
8 Nov 2006, 15:35
Eltham start pre-season training on Monday. seem fair dinkum and keen to be up there for finals next year. could be a big improver

Yeah big year down at the place, any big recruits and will they field an u/19s in 07.

wizza14
8 Nov 2006, 15:50
Yeah big year down at the place, any big recruits and will they field an u/19s in 07.

Rumoured to be speaking to a few Strathmore players. Condon and Morrison I believe. A younger Contessa may join his brother down there.

Lancelotlink Secret Chimp
8 Nov 2006, 17:21

Have heard that if they are relying on their u/17`s to get Thirds, then they might be in for a shock as a number have already indicated that they will play elsewhere. If they do fail to get them across the line then a particular Div 2 club stands to benefit greatly with an influx.

EBERT THE KING
8 Nov 2006, 17:40
Have heard that if they are relying on their u/17`s to get Thirds, then they might be in for a shock as a number have already indicated that they will play elsewhere. If they do fail to get them across the line then a particular Div 2 club stands to benefit greatly with an influx.

Would you like to elaborate as to which club. Would be interesting to know.

Pheonix20
8 Nov 2006, 18:28
The Diamond Valley needs to make some hard decisions now or it's finished.
1.Appoint a strong umpires advocate preferably with experience in the Amatuers where the umpires don't allow thuggery and protect the ball player.
2.Institute a strong investigative system with the power to force participants to comply and the ability to hand out penalties. There are plenty of ex players in the valley in the police force that could do the job.
3.Force all clubs to have Firsts, Seconds and Thirds. The lack of under 19 teams is a joke that must be addressed.
4. Recruit quality umpires who will not be intimidated and use them across all Grades.
5. Make clubs Video tape all games and make it clear to the players that they are being recorded.

This league must be making a fortune from fees charged and the gate takings for the finals must have been huge so it wouldn't be hard to provide the clubs with the cameras to do the job. By the way it only costs $2.50 for a kid to get into the AFL, not the $7 the DVFL charged during the finals. Stop ripping the kids off.

EBERT THE KING
8 Nov 2006, 20:43

Would you like to elaborate on which club with not many div 2 clubs in the area. Would be interesting to know.

tommahawk
9 Nov 2006, 18:39
troy luff the old sydney player has signed on with south morang as a player assistent coach!!

Jewelsandbullet
10 Nov 2006, 08:45
troy luff the old sydney player has signed on with south morang as a player assistent coach!!

Serious!? That's a great signing - I'd go watch a few South M games just to yell out "LUFFY!!!"

Bubble Wrap
10 Nov 2006, 08:55
[quote=turtz]Here here to that! It's good to see too! Hopefully Bubble_Wrap pulls his massive digit out his rrss and helps out too;)

He does his best and that's all we ask, he does seem to prod his cakey a fair bit though! And it is one massive digit that's for sure.:thumbsu:

turtz - get a run.

Force - get a vote.

Note to self - get a kick.

turtz
10 Nov 2006, 09:33
[quote=turtz]Here here to that! It's good to see too! Hopefully Bubble_Wrap pulls his massive digit out his rrss and helps out too;)

turtz - get a run.

Force - get a vote.

haha - written on hand for next week. Enjoy the bucks day BW!

Force
10 Nov 2006, 10:16

turtz - get a run.

Force - get a vote.

Hopefully I get a sympathy vote next year;) , and at least you are setting your goals high BW! Hope you get that kick you been chasing:D

ROMPERMFC
10 Nov 2006, 13:41

You're a funny Bugger tommahawk:D :D :D

Dwight
10 Nov 2006, 13:59

Garbage. He is playing in the Sydney comp under Matthew Nicks. Luffy has won 2 comp B&F's in 3 years up there. Very settled with a young family he is not leaving Sydney.

10 Nov 2006, 18:32

Would you like to elaborate as to which club. Would be interesting to know.

Not at this stage King but it seems that old problem of players not wanting to travel from the Junior Panthers to the Senior Panthers is still an issue.

BIGANT
10 Nov 2006, 20:35
Former DV player and hard man Ashleigh Brown who still has mates at Heidleberg is whispered to be talking to a couple of players to join him at West Gambier in the Western Border fl in Sth Australia.Talk is that one of them is a big fella, a CHF reportedly !?
Does anyone know who that maybe !?
Brown previously coached in the WBFL in 05' with Millicent fc before returning to Tasmania in 06' to coach South Devenport in the NTFL only to resign halfway through this season.

BlindedByTheLight
12 Nov 2006, 16:54
[quote=EBERT THE KING;6195785]

Not at this stage King but it seems that old problem of players not wanting to travel from the Junior Panthers to the Senior Panthers is still an issue.

So does that means that bundoora have already recruited then for next season to fill up thier thirds team?

Boy George
12 Nov 2006, 19:02
dont know what your on about but l know stir fry likes runnning and likes cleaning toliets and apparently makes more than what doctors do

HASBEEN#19
12 Nov 2006, 20:11
tommahawk you need to get fairdinkum you peanut you have no idea about footy you really are clueless no wonder you dont play anymore

TuskenRaider
13 Nov 2006, 08:01
Former DV player and hard man Ashleigh Brown who still has mates at Heidleberg is whispered to be talking to a couple of players to join him at West Gambier in the Western Border fl in Sth Australia..

Did this character used to play at Kyabram?

harryhawaii
13 Nov 2006, 10:21
[quote=Lancelotlink Secret Chimp;6207100]

So does that means that bundoora have already recruited then for next season to fill up thier thirds team?from what i hear not only does bundoora have a new thirds coach but is out looking for a new recruit as president. it seems that big steve has walked out to a bigger job at the bullants. only one wog to go now and they might finally have success.if they dont from what the grapevine says they might be losing a number of players .wait and see its all happening there. knifes will be out.

dv07
13 Nov 2006, 12:40
ben turner off to hurstbridge with his mate robbie peck pecham

GeeBruz
14 Nov 2006, 09:09
Just wondering if anyone can shed some light on what they think of Guy Booker? He played up in Mildura a couple of years ago and think he was from this league before hand!

Matt12
14 Nov 2006, 09:26
Did this character used to play at Kyabram?

Yes he did and was a very good player up there for the Bombers when they had a strong team. Went on to coach Finley in the Murray Leage. By the sounds of it, he has travelled a fair bit in recent years

the eltham man
14 Nov 2006, 15:41
Rumoured to be speaking to a few Strathmore players. Condon and Morrison I believe. A younger Contessa may join his brother down there.

wizza, how does the younger Contessa go? Any details on him?

wizza14
14 Nov 2006, 15:49
wizza, how does the younger Contessa go? Any details on him?

Eltham Man, Rhys Contessa has had a great two sessions in Strathmore's Under 18 side. Was part of the Premiership Team in 2005 and some impressive performances in 06 certainly put him line for a senior call up.

Played mainly as on-baller but I believe his best footy is as a rebounding back flanker. Good disposal on both sides and not a bad grab for his height.

A good young player that will fit in nicely down at Eltham with his brother Angry.

The Eltham Man, any word on other possible Strathmore recruits in Condon and Morrison?

the eltham man
14 Nov 2006, 16:02
Eltham Man, Rhys Contessa has had a great two sessions in Strathmore's Under 18 side. Was part of the Premiership Team in 2005 and some impressive performances in 06 certainly put him line for a senior call up.

Played mainly as on-baller but I believe his best footy is as a rebounding back flanker. Good disposal on both sides and not a bad grab for his height.

A good young player that will fit in nicely down at Eltham with his brother Angry.

The Eltham Man, any word on other possible Strathmore recruits in Condon and Morrison?

Still in talks with Morrison and Condon. wizza, where would R.Contessa play in a senior side? How tall is he? X-factor?

Dwight
15 Nov 2006, 09:25
Has Jarrod King committed to the Sydney Cres Club?

Has Leigh Grey gone up to the Golden Rivers, Quambtook (sp?) maybe?

Has big Puffer agreed to going around at Macleod next year?

Has Shane Whitnall gone to Thommo?

Have Monty & Eltham made offers to former Berger Craig Whelan who is back from overseas? Yes, they have but Whelan will be back at the Warringal Park.

Has Lionel Proctor gone bus and left Norhtcote Park with Munga Brown?

Giveyathemail
15 Nov 2006, 11:09

Have Monty & Eltham made offers to former Berger Craig Whelan who is back from overseas? Yes, they have but Whelan will be back at the Warringal Park.

Kingy knows he is more than welcome at Sydney Cresent, as im sure he would be at any other Valley club. Last time I spoke to Kingy he was a commited Bulldog though Dwight, and I wouldnt expect that to change. Kingy will be captain down the Kennel one day, and Im tipping a Smith medal isnt too far off either. Had a stellar year even with all the injurys he had in 2006, still polled very well in this years count.

A few other good whispers there though...

outta control
15 Nov 2006, 11:22

LEIGH GRAY SIGNED AT MARBY PARK
PUFFER SIGNED AT MACLOED
LIONEL PROCTOR AND MUNGARRA BROWN ARE BOTH LEAVING NORTHCOTE PARK

wizza14
15 Nov 2006, 11:27
Still in talks with Morrison and Condon. wizza, where would R.Contessa play in a senior side? How tall is he? X-factor?

X-Factor??? Think that title is reserved for players that have proven themselves at Senior Level and have something a bit special about them. Young Contessa will playing against men for the first time.

He is about 5'11, good footy brain and reader of the play and would be a handy pick up by Eltham.

where2now?
15 Nov 2006, 16:26
Seems to be very little news on Northcote Park. Can anyone shed any light on them besides Prockter leaving? Are they a realistic chance to work there way back up the ladder?

15 Nov 2006, 18:35
Seems to be very little news on Northcote Park. Can anyone shed any light on them besides Prockter leaving? Are they a realistic chance to work there way back up the ladder?

Struggling with the coin and therefore struggling to recruit players. Could be in trouble.

Have heard that the Lower Plenty Bears have been quietly improveing their list with some Div 1 types and from all reports had a former Afl player training their on monday night.

mattyr
15 Nov 2006, 18:44
Struggling with the coin and therefore struggling to recruit players. Could be in trouble.

Have heard that the Lower Plenty Bears have been quietly improveing their list with some Div 1 types and from all reports had a former Afl player training their on monday night.

who would that afl player be?

GOONA
15 Nov 2006, 18:48
Noticed the Watsonia boys training on Monday night. Interested to hear if there were many new faces down there? Seemed to be working fairly hard from what I saw.

HASBEEN#19
15 Nov 2006, 18:59
puffer is still in 2 minds apparently and thinks he still has a conmitment 2 some of the younger fellas

HASBEEN#19
15 Nov 2006, 19:01
goona they would need alot there been rabble for years

drjack
15 Nov 2006, 19:16

Wiz and TEM......What a load of nonsense !
See both of you boys at Club meeting on the 26th and at preseason training on the 29th.;)

BIGANT
15 Nov 2006, 20:59
Yes he did and was a very good player up there for the Bombers when they had a strong team. Went on to coach Finley in the Murray Leage. By the sounds of it, he has travelled a fair bit in recent years
Include latrobe in Northern Tasmania amongst other teams he's been & Millicent in the Western Border fl and now looks like West Gambier in the wbfl!! Millicent probabely got him 2 years to late, as his knee's have started to pack up in his last two seasons.

mattyr
16 Nov 2006, 07:27
Noticed the Watsonia boys training on Monday night. Interested to hear if there were many new faces down there? Seemed to be working fairly hard from what I saw.

i heard they got about 65 people down there which is a good sign for them..
they have signed up a few good players down there.
and looks like they have filled a 19's team quite easy.
goodluck to them thats one club taking the step to make there club and the competition abit more competitive

Force
16 Nov 2006, 08:33
i heard they got about 65 people down there which is a good sign for them..
they have signed up a few good players down there.
and looks like they have filled a 19's team quite easy.
goodluck to them thats one club taking the step to make there club and the competition abit more competitive

Cheers Matty, thats right on the money, you must have been chatting to a few of the ex-bundoora boys that have been training with us??

Goona- Watsonia has signed up a few players, a couple of names that I know so far are Shannon Gibson, Mark Wittison, Ben and Luke Parker and there is another 4 high profile players that have signed but I'm not to sure of there names. They are still scouting for more skilfull players on top of this though.

the eltham man
16 Nov 2006, 10:39
Had a good look at R.Contessa down at Panther Place last night. Looks quite fit and seemed to fit in well with the boys.

matchwinner
16 Nov 2006, 11:22
Cheers Matty, thats right on the money, you must have been chatting to a few of the ex-bundoora boys that have been training with us??

Goona- Watsonia has signed up a few players, a couple of names that I know so far are Shannon Gibson, Mark Wittison, Ben and Luke Parker and there is another 4 high profile players that have signed but I'm not to sure of there names. They are still scouting for more top players on top of this though.

RIGHT ON THE MONEY is exactly right! Good to see they are going about being competitive, but if all of these players are supposedly 'high profile', and when considering Watsonia's recent financial difficulties, where is the money going to come from to pay this huge influx of players in the one season???

Force
16 Nov 2006, 11:40
RIGHT ON THE MONEY is exactly right! Good to see they are going about being competitive, but if all of these players are supposedly 'high profile', and when considering Watsonia's recent financial difficulties, where is the money going to come from to pay this huge influx of players in the one season???

Thanks for your concern and interest.

Watsonia were very financial this year from all the sponsorship, fundraisers (10k draws) membership e.t.c. Thanks to the new hard working comittee and pres who took over after that abismal year in 04 (3 seasons ago). Considering they havent chased any 'high profile' players until the end of this season they have been able to save some dough and invest, they have chased and signed up more sponsors this year and will be able to pay required players comfortably. They are only chasing what they can afford and nothing more. They have set a budget plan on what they can spend to make sure they make a profit to look forward to a more competitive future! If Bubble Wraps around I'm sure he can inform you better.

matchwinner
16 Nov 2006, 11:48

Watsonia were very financial this year from all the sponsorship, fundraisers (10k draws) membership e.t.c. Thanks to the new hard working comittee and pres who took over after that abismal year in 04 (3 seasons ago). Considering they havent chased any 'high profile' players until the end of this season they have been able to save some dough and invest, they have chased and signed up more sponsors this year and will be able to pay required players comfortably. They are only chasing what they can afford and nothing more. They have set a budget plan on what they can spend to make sure they make a profit to look forward to a more competitive future! If Bubble Wraps around I'm sure he can inform you better.

Signs look good for a promising year then and a climb up the ladder similar to Thomastown last season.

Force
16 Nov 2006, 11:55
Signs look good for a promising year then and a climb up the ladder similar to Thomastown last season.

Seems to be pointing that way, but we can only hope in these early stages. Im looking forward to a more competitive game between us this time next year!

Giveyathemail
16 Nov 2006, 12:06
Matchy can you confirm or deny that an ex AFL player was training with you blokes earlier in the week, and if so who was he?

mattyr
16 Nov 2006, 12:06

Goona- Watsonia has signed up a few players, a couple of names that I know so far are Shannon Gibson, Mark Wittison, Ben and Luke Parker and there is another 4 high profile players that have signed but I'm not to sure of there names. They are still scouting for more skilfull players on top of this though.

yeh spoke to a few of the ex bundoora boys..
and a few of my mates straight out of junior football looking for a spot in the ones with use

goodluck anyway

matchwinner
16 Nov 2006, 12:11
Matchy can you confirm or deny that an ex AFL player was training with you blokes earlier in the week, and if so who was he?

Yeh can confirm, but think he was only there having a bit of a run around with one of his good mates. Joined in with everything though and worked pretty hard. Would be a handy pick up, but haven't heard anything to say that he was doing anything more than just having a run. (Wont name any names just yet, in case i'm speaking out of line)

Giveyathemail
16 Nov 2006, 12:17
Yeh can confirm, but think he was only there having a bit of a run around with one of his good mates. Joined in with everything though and worked pretty hard. Would be a handy pick up, but haven't heard anything to say that he was doing anything more than just having a run. (Wont name any names just yet, in case i'm speaking out of line)

Sweet mate, thats understandable... Cheers :thumbsu:

mattyr
16 Nov 2006, 12:23

hey gtm do u know if u lalor boys have picked up many recruits?
i heard dave henderson is doing a pre season with port melbourne..

Giveyathemail
16 Nov 2006, 12:44
hey gtm do u know if u lalor boys have picked up many recruits?
i heard dave henderson is doing a pre season with port melbourne..

Wouldnt have a clue who we have spoken too or recruited yet young fella ;)

I dont know what Hendo is doing re: pre season, but it would be good for the kid to have a run down there, gain some experience. Got a few kids in the Knights program that played senior footy this year, so thats one of the positives from what was, overall a very negative year.

Thats behind us now, and we are looking forward with enthusiasm :thumbsu:

mattyr
16 Nov 2006, 13:05
Wouldnt have a clue who we have spoken too or recruited yet young fella ;)

I dont know what Hendo is doing re: pre season, but it would be good for the kid to have a run down there, gain some experience. Got a few kids in the Knights program that played senior footy this year, so thats one of the positives from what was, overall a very negative year.

Thats behind us now, and we are looking forward with enthusiasm :thumbsu:

yeh goodluck
hopefully he stays with use for next year
he's a gun and a top bloke

matchwinner
16 Nov 2006, 13:08

Did I read a while back that you suffered a nasty injury? How's that coming along? You boys back on the track yet?

You also said towards the end of last season that you knew of some big divi 1 players switching to divi 2 clubs for next season. Can you reveal any more, or have these deals fallen through?

Jewelsandbullet
16 Nov 2006, 13:18
The Nest to recieve a much needed face lift (provided Labor wins State election)

FYI:

Deputy Premier and Minister for Victoria Communities John Thwaites today launched Labor’s commitments for the people of the northern suburbs at Montmorency Park.

State Member for Eltham, Steve Herbert MP said Labor was building on their strong record in the area, and had pledged to continue to build better facilities and improve local communities.

Mr Herbert welcomed $200,000 in funding towards improving the Montmorency Park clubrooms.

“Labor recognizes that this is an important sports facility for the Montmorency community which has suffered from white ant damage and old age,’ Mr Herbert said.

“The clubrooms are home to the Montmorency Pythons Cricket Club and the Montmorency Magpies Football Club, which fields a division one team in the Diamond Valley Football League.

“These clubrooms are home to some of the most successful sporting teams in the area and their rooms are in urgent need of repair and refurbishment.

“Despite the clubs having thriving memberships, the condition of the clubrooms has remained sadly substandard. This project will come as a huge boost to Montmorency Cricket and Football Clubs…”

Bubble Wrap
16 Nov 2006, 13:57

Spot on Force - can assure you all that we're not selling the farm to get these blokes on board. There is quite a modest budget in place and I'm supremely confident that we can pay all our players and still finish up with a healthy profit. We're also working on another couple of untapped revenue streams which will help, but even if they don't come through we'll be sweet.

Also, we are in a lucky position of being able to operate our bar all year round, as Richmond Cricket Club only use the ground, and don't require the social facilities - they hold their social functions at Punt Road. It gives us an extra 26 weeks of bar income that a lot of other clubs don't get because they share their rooms with cricket clubs.

hunteyes
16 Nov 2006, 15:07
Have been told by a very good source that there is a big chance of next years DV Grand final and maybe some other finals will be played at Cramer st

stooge01
16 Nov 2006, 15:15
LEIGH GRAY SIGNED AT MARBY PARK
PUFFER SIGNED AT MACLOED
LIONEL PROCTOR AND MUNGARRA BROWN ARE BOTH LEAVING NORTHCOTE PARK

Think your making this up bud. mungas is very happy at northcote park. spoke to him just then. proctor is still up in the air.

Dwight
16 Nov 2006, 15:35
The Nest to recieve a much needed face lift (provided Labor wins State election)

FYI:

Deputy Premier and Minister for Victoria Communities John Thwaites today launched Labor’s commitments for the people of the northern suburbs at Montmorency Park.

State Member for Eltham, Steve Herbert MP said Labor was building on their strong record in the area, and had pledged to continue to build better facilities and improve local communities.

Mr Herbert welcomed $200,000 in funding towards improving the Montmorency Park clubrooms.

“Labor recognizes that this is an important sports facility for the Montmorency community which has suffered from white ant damage and old age,’ Mr Herbert said.

“The clubrooms are home to the Montmorency Pythons Cricket Club and the Montmorency Magpies Football Club, which fields a division one team in the Diamond Valley Football League.

“These clubrooms are home to some of the most successful sporting teams in the area and their rooms are in urgent need of repair and refurbishment.

“Despite the clubs having thriving memberships, the condition of the clubrooms has remained sadly substandard. This project will come as a huge boost to Montmorency Cricket and Football Clubs…”

The pythons must be the successful club J & B. :D

The Mont rooms have not been any different since I first went ther in the 80's. Great news for Mont and the Valley in general. The better the facilities the better players we can attract.

The Bergs start the quest for success in 2007, who knows what comp, but Nov 20 is Robert Hydes first nite. Don't believe any rumours about the Bergs yet, very quiet on that front at the moment. Stay tuned....

Giveyathemail
17 Nov 2006, 07:16
Did I read a while back that you suffered a nasty injury? How's that coming along? You boys back on the track yet?

You also said towards the end of last season that you knew of some big divi 1 players switching to divi 2 clubs for next season. Can you reveal any more, or have these deals fallen through?

Yeah the leg is coming along ok, I am ahead of where I should be in my recovery so Im pretty happy with that. We (They) hit the track on Monday night, but alot of our blokes just sat the finals out and got into it mid october. Some are right into their boxing at the moment, which gives them an awesome base to launch from this pre season.

None of the trades/ pick ups have "fallen through", there is simply nothing to report at this stage.

David_02
17 Nov 2006, 07:32
is yes

matchwinner
17 Nov 2006, 07:49
is there any clubs looking for a onballer/small forward?

You leaving Bundoora Dave, after having such a great season this year?

Giveyathemail
17 Nov 2006, 07:57

Yes, we are interested. PM me to arrange a meeting.

AndyBoy
17 Nov 2006, 14:29
I'm sure Diamo would be interested..... Give them a call or pass your number on....