View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
journeyman
11 Dec 2006, 09:51
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2006/12/08/1165081155993.html
Good article about the Heidelberg and Balwyn trying to get into Eastern League.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 10:22
[QUOTE=stooge01;6357904]
If that's true then you'd have to question Briggsy's loyalty. He's pulled on more club's jumpers than he's had hot dinners!!! 4 clubs in 5 seasons i think that would make it. Going to have to start calling him Dale Kickett.
Who else do you know of that is training down at Thommo?
Im pretty sure he signed at Craigieburn for next year. Who cares about his loyalty when the guy can play.
Giveyathemail
11 Dec 2006, 11:59
[quote=matchwinner;6358765]
Im pretty sure he signed at Craigieburn for next year. Who cares about his loyalty when the guy can play.
They are good mates Boss, just baiting Briggsy...
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 12:11
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;6375724]
Fair enough mate... Hows the ankle coming along?
Whats happening at the bloods, have heard a few players have moved on. You will be strong in divvy 2 wont you.
matchwinner
11 Dec 2006, 12:14
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;6375724]
Yeh did play with Briggsy and good bloke. But there is some truth to it - he does seem to jump ship pretty frequently don't you think? (And I never questioned his ability.)
Giveyathemail
11 Dec 2006, 12:18
[quote=Giveyathemail;6376356]
Fair enough mate... Hows the ankle coming along?
Whats happening at the bloods, have heard a few players have moved on. You will be strong in divvy 2 wont you.
Im good mate and you? Ankle is no dramas, last of the ops last week. Raring to go...
We have lost a couple, but our list is still quite good. We are young as well, which by watching the divvy 2 finals this year, is a definate advantage. Thought it was very slow, predicatable footy... We might have to change all that.
Your at Keilor, is that right? Watsonia fell through?
Giveyathemail
11 Dec 2006, 12:23
[quote=Giveyathemail;6376356]
Yeh did play with Briggsy and good bloke. But there is some truth to it - he does seem to jump ship pretty frequently don't you think? (And I never questioned his ability.)
Was a fantastic servant of Lalor where he is a multiple premiership player, and to Lower who he captained for as few seasons.
He has travelled a bit, but its rare to find a bloke that doesnt like Briggsy. Im happy for him to enjoy his last years in footy wherever he wishes to play.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 12:38
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;6376435]
Im good mate and you? Ankle is no dramas, last of the ops last week. Raring to go...
We have lost a couple, but our list is still quite good. We are young as well, which by watching the divvy 2 finals this year, is a definate advantage. Thought it was very slow, predicatable footy... We might have to change all that.
Your at Keilor, is that right? Watsonia fell through?
Im going well.. Good news on your ankle then..
Dont know what Im actually doing next year mate. Have a few offers on the table and just need to way them up. Wont decide to after Xmas. AT the moment Im not really motivated to play.
Gibbo at Watsonia and still trying to get me there, but doubt if I will go there. I got a text message off one of the Epping boys this morning saying he heard I signed there. My reply to him. No chance of me ever playing at Epping again. Keilor Park is the team Im leaning towards at the moment.
Giveyathemail
11 Dec 2006, 12:42
[quote=Giveyathemail;6376489]
Im going well.. Good news on your ankle then..
Dont know what Im actually doing next year mate. Have a few offers on the table and just need to way them up. Wont decide to after Xmas. AT the moment Im not really motivated to play.
Gibbo at Watsonia and still trying to get me there, but doubt if I will go there. I got a text message off one of the Epping boys this morning saying he heard I signed there. My reply to him. No chance of me ever playing at Epping again. Keilor Park is the team Im leaning towards at the moment.
Its hard to be motivated this time of year... I reckon if you get the itch mid to late Jan, your playing. Any longer than that, and everyone just gets to far ahead in training. Looks like a few heading over to the EDFL for 2007...
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 15:50
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;6376600]
Its hard to be motivated this time of year... I reckon if you get the itch mid to late Jan, your playing. Any longer than that, and everyone just gets to far ahead in training. Looks like a few heading over to the EDFL for 2007...
Yeah your probably right there. Who else is heading over to the EDFL that you know of?
chopsewie
11 Dec 2006, 20:01
LEGEND 87 just shows who is full of wind seems you have deleted your message. Why does nt that surprise me seems theres a bit of a trend at the minute.
WRFLfan
11 Dec 2006, 22:37
wrfl fan hows things? ive been doing a bit of boxing by myself. Darwin is off i have to get an arthriscope on my ankle on the fiftenth of jan i cant run at the moment. Im spewing it was good playing up there though kanes cousins are very quick. Any main events coming up? we have to catch up before xmas.
The Grannie photo on Sunday and then the Robbie Williams concert at night you going to come this time? bring your girl too if you want its going to be a big one a few are coming around 50 it'll be a funny night.
Thats no good about the ankle make sure you keep the weight off now, spewing about Darwin l dont know what l was looking forward to more the trip with the boys or the game in the two's oh well least youve done it now. Legend deleted his post funny little little coward
Giveyathemail
12 Dec 2006, 06:59
[quote=Giveyathemail;6376626]
Yeah your probably right there. Who else is heading over to the EDFL that you know of?
Junior, Baz, BK, Adam Dennis, Dave Saliba, Johar Saad, Rudy and a few lesser names have been linked to EDFL clubs. Saad and BK being the only unconfirmed signings.
Gibbo is a huge signature for Watsonia who we beat by 58 goals only 2 years ago :thumbsu:
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;6377793]
Junior, Baz, BK, Adam Dennis, Dave Saliba, Johar Saad, Rudy and a few lesser names have been linked to EDFL clubs. Saad and BK being the only unconfirmed signings.
Gibbo is a huge signature for Watsonia who we beat by 58 goals only 2 years ago :thumbsu:
Hey come on it was 3 seasons ago wasn't it, thanks for bringing that up by the way :o!
FOOTYBOSS
12 Dec 2006, 09:21
Yeah I remember you boys pumping watsy by that much. Gibbo is a massive signing for them. He has stated that they are regularly getting around 40 on the track which is very good. They might surprise a few teams next year.
2006 AFL Rookie Draft
24 Richmond Jake King Coburg Tigers
FOOTYBOSS
12 Dec 2006, 10:54
Wheres junior and baz playing?
FOOTYBOSS
12 Dec 2006, 10:54
2006 AFL Rookie Draft
24 Richmond Jake King Coburg Tigers
Well done to Jake, a very good footballer and hopefully he cracks it for a senior game.
Giveyathemail
12 Dec 2006, 11:09
Congratulations to Jake King on getting picked up. Great kid Jake. Fantastic effort, hope he goes well :thumbsu:
That annihilation was in 2004 Force, and I gotta admit that was rock bottom for you guys. You were depleted... and as the Boss said its good to see you guys getting 40+ to pre season.
Baz and Junior are playing at Craigieburn Boss...
matchwinner
12 Dec 2006, 11:24
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;6376600]
Call me stupid but i've gotta disagree. Much prefer training at this time of year. Nice weather, grounds in better condition. Beats training in the middle of winter I reckon, on those freezing cold nights.
Jimmy Gwilt
12 Dec 2006, 11:39
Yes was speakin to jake the other night and he said he wasnt sure if hed get rookied but the hard works paid off - good on him and as someone else said lets hope he gets given a go in the ones
Kickass
12 Dec 2006, 13:57
Yes was speakin to jake the other night and he said he wasnt sure if hed get rookied but the hard works paid off - good on him and as someone else said lets hope he gets given a go in the ones
Yes, It is very well done by Jake and I wish him well.
But correct me if I am wrong, Rookie listed players can only get a senior game (with exception of pre-season / praccy matches) if /and only, they are elevated to main list after a listed player has first been listed on the Long term injury list.???
Nevertheless, he will benefit immensely from the rigors of training with the Tiges.
Jimmy Gwilt
12 Dec 2006, 14:40
Yes, It is very well done by Jake and I wish him well.
But correct me if I am wrong, Rookie listed players can only get a senior game (with exception of pre-season / praccy matches) if /and only, they are elevated to main list after a listed player has first been listed on the Long term injury list.???
Nevertheless, he will benefit immensely from the rigors of training with the Tiges.
yep your spot on KA so lets hope the tigers get a couple of injuries for jakes sake - doesnt sound good but youd always want a dvfl nth heidelberg boy to do well before like a ray hall or a kelvin moore surely haha
That annihilation was in 2004 Force, and I gotta admit that was rock bottom for you guys. You were depleted... and as the Boss said its good to see you guys getting 40+ to pre season.
Yeah times were tough back then but I think we are finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I think next year we should get alot closer to you! :D (quite easy to beat that record), but it will be good to win a few more games especially for the guys that have been through the ******** like me. It's amazing to see 40+ at training this time of year, I laugh when i think back to the numbers in 04 and 05. The only way is up.:thumbsu:
chop!! does that mean the whole darwin experience has been cancelled??? are you thinking of going back at all??
kangaman06
13 Dec 2006, 22:18
Evening all - to be honest I have no idea of DV football, the standard, etc, but my boys are playing Parkside in a praccy match early next year. What are they like?
Kickass
13 Dec 2006, 22:19
J&B,
Heard a very interesting whisper today about an alledged prized recruit that the Mont have been trying to woo. This recruit, lets say he is a Key forward who can kick plenty of goals and who also likes counting his cash, but who shall otherwise remain nameless (Balrahj Singh - Oppps); may not be lining up at the nest next season as he may well of promised the club!!
I don't like to muckrake (B.S - I love it!), But even though Singh has been promissed plenty of coin, a new job, and an opportunity to play finals footy, he is continuing to shop around for more Moola.
Word has it that he may remain in G.V next year but is open to and still seeking any club willing to spend plenty.
As you will be well aware (just ask the Lower blokes and/or anyone else at the 5-6 clubs he has been at in recent seasons), He isn't the most loyal of Footballers. He will only play for the almighty dollar and that is the only thing that motivates him.
Even with Mont's big budget, you might need to add a few more bucks to what he has been offered, if you want him lining up in the goal square next seson.
Good Luck
K.A
bearfan
14 Dec 2006, 06:00
K.A,
Spot on re: Singh
Absolute Football Mercenary
One Knee Reco away from having no friends in the world.
On a brighter note ex Lower coach Shane Watson has been appointed coach of U 18's side Eastern Ranges.
matchwinner
14 Dec 2006, 06:45
J&B,
Heard a very interesting whisper today about an alledged prized recruit that the Mont have been trying to woo. This recruit, lets say he is a Key forward who can kick plenty of goals and who also likes counting his cash, but who shall otherwise remain nameless (Balrahj Singh - Oppps); may not be lining up at the nest next season as he may well of promised the club!!
I don't like to muckrake (B.S - I love it!), But even though Singh has been promissed plenty of coin, a new job, and an opportunity to play finals footy, he is continuing to shop around for more Moola.
Word has it that he may remain in G.V next year but is open to and still seeking any club willing to spend plenty.
As you will be well aware (just ask the Lower blokes and/or anyone else at the 5-6 clubs he has been at in recent seasons), He isn't the most loyal of Footballers. He will only play for the almighty dollar and that is the only thing that motivates him.
Even with Mont's big budget, you might need to add a few more bucks to what he has been offered, if you want him lining up in the goal square next seson.
Good Luck
K.A
Does like playing for the $, and I think he sees football as his way of earning a living and would prefer not to work.
But dont you forget that Eltham through a lot of money at him the season after he played at Lower (probably because he absolutely dominated both times he played Eltham!)
devil's advocte
14 Dec 2006, 08:00
Has mont got a big budget? does anyone know how much? what is a big budget? Afterall I hear West Preston is having a real crack with the money this year.
Jimmy Gwilt
14 Dec 2006, 09:07
Has mont got a big budget? does anyone know how much? what is a big budget? Afterall I hear West Preston is having a real crack with the money this year.
West Preston - Billy Morrison - Ex Collingwood
Evening all - to be honest I have no idea of DV football, the standard, etc, but my boys are playing Parkside in a praccy match early next year. What are they like?
Well you boys finished in the finals last year and Parkside finished 2nd last. So going on that I would probably say Coburg by about 5 - 6 goals. (you are from coburg arnt you)
How are you boys travelling for numbers down there, I drove past the other night and it looked like you had a fair few boys on the track. Has'nt your playing coach from last year left and he has taken alot of players with him?
Have you guys picked up anybody?
Jewelsandbullet
14 Dec 2006, 10:54
J&B,
Good Luck
K.A
KA you muckracker :D
I don't think anyone at the club is under the delusion that we would be recruiting him for his love of the black and white...
But lets face it.. he can play. Bottom line he has not signed... but yes we are trying.
ps. re our "big budget" - - I don't reckon it's much bigger than yours these days!
Jewelsandbullet
14 Dec 2006, 11:04
West Preston - Billy Morrison - Ex Collingwood
Larko would not have signed on for peanuts either
Jewelsandbullet
14 Dec 2006, 11:10
K.A,
Spot on re: Singh
Absolute Football Mercenary
One Knee Reco away from having no friends in the world.
On a brighter note ex Lower coach Shane Watson has been appointed coach of U 18's side Eastern Ranges.
Congrats to the Skunk - deserves to go well :thumbsu:
devil's advocte
14 Dec 2006, 11:42
would larkin have much to do with the dollars? surely he would let the club discuss money, all he would do is give them the wish list
devil's advocte
14 Dec 2006, 12:07
so who are the biggest spending clubs? does anyone know?
kangaman06
14 Dec 2006, 13:21
Well you boys finished in the finals last year and Parkside finished 2nd last. So going on that I would probably say Coburg by about 5 - 6 goals. (you are from coburg arnt you)
How are you boys travelling for numbers down there, I drove past the other night and it looked like you had a fair few boys on the track. Has'nt your playing coach from last year left and he has taken alot of players with him?
Have you guys picked up anybody?
Cheers, thanks Moxy
Yeah Huffy's gone to Roxy Park in the EDFL, three or four with him but really only 2 seniors. Picked up a few from the Ammo's and a few from your league - a couple ex lalor boys and one from Wallan. We should be in good stead - hopefully!!
Bruce Almighty
14 Dec 2006, 13:37
Certaintly not Heidelberg.Every player down there plays for the love of the club !
Is Larkin coaching West Preston??
devil's advocte
14 Dec 2006, 14:09
Is Larkin coaching West Preston??
larkin was approched by D Grainger to coach as the last coach is currently on a vacation with the establishment. For Larkin the offer was better than expected so he accepted the job and it works well for him as his work is near the west preston ground.
Also congrats to Phil Plunkett on the Heidlberg job. Hope you do well but not too well!
Certaintly not Heidelberg.Every player down there plays for the love of the club !
Really? I thought with the list you guys had you'd be paying the most for sure. I've heard the money at mont is pretty decent, but surely the bunnies spend the most.
Jewelsandbullet
14 Dec 2006, 14:18
Can second that for Montmorency .. don't listen to KA ;)
Kickass
14 Dec 2006, 14:18
KA you muckracker :D
ps. re our "big budget" - - I don't reckon it's much bigger than yours these days!
Yeah mate.
We do have a massive budget. But somehow, we still lose players to Mont who always have an extra 30% to throw at prospective recruits.
Cheers
the Muckracker
Kickass
14 Dec 2006, 14:21
Yep, No doubt they play for the Love of the Club and certainly NOT for the love of the DVFL.
Ha ha ha
Jewelsandbullet
14 Dec 2006, 14:22
Yeah mate.
We do have a massive budget. But somehow, we still lose players to Mont who always have an extra 30% to throw at prospective recruits.
Cheers
the Muckracker
no no you lose them because they can't resist our mega facilities and stand out club rooms, our unbelievable hotdogs, and the chance to associate with legends like Turtz :D
Pheonix20
14 Dec 2006, 14:23
I heard at the bundoora agm that the player payments were very high for last year which is surprising as six of the players that are in and out of the ones were only on 100 per game. So much for bringing on local kids.
Kickass
14 Dec 2006, 14:28
no no you lose them because they can't resist our mega facilities and stand out club rooms, our unbelievable hotdogs, and the chance to associate with legends like Turtz
I think you were onto something until Turtz name came up. !!:p
stooge01
14 Dec 2006, 15:02
Cheers, thanks Moxy
Yeah Huffy's gone to Roxy Park in the EDFL, three or four with him but really only 2 seniors. Picked up a few from the Ammo's and a few from your league - a couple ex lalor boys and one from Wallan. We should be in good stead - hopefully!!
which ex lalor boys?
FOOTYBOSS
14 Dec 2006, 15:45
I heard at the bundoora agm that the player payments were very high for last year which is surprising as six of the players that are in and out of the ones were only on 100 per game. So much for bringing on local kids.
Think you will find majority of the team at Bundoora live locally to the ground.
shoestring
14 Dec 2006, 20:24
Get a grip...every one plays at Heidelberg for Barrots money..........take your head out of the sand............no Barrot Heidleberg 2nd divison bound....
ifyoucandodgeawrench
14 Dec 2006, 21:02
Get a grip...every one plays at Heidelberg for Barrots money..........take your head out of the sand............no Barrot Heidleberg 2nd divison bound....
http://home.tiscalinet.ch/ocking/n00b.jpg
got originality?
:rolleyes:
Jewelsandbullet
14 Dec 2006, 21:05
Hey String -sorry mate but you sound like a bit of dribbler. Firstly go and have a read of some of Bruce's previous posts to get an idea about who he is and where he is coming from....
then go and smoke a huge spliff of really good sh ! t and watch some comedy DVDs....it might help.... because you clearly have no idea when someone is making a comment that is tongue in cheek... or I will make it even simpler for you... some people call it "sarcasm" Here is the bigfooty symbol :rolleyes:
base payment is 100 a game... bringing on the local kids? majority of the players are from the surrounding suburbs.
Pheonix20
15 Dec 2006, 08:17
If the bottom six are getting $100 then the others must be doing very well out of footy. Thats probalbly why they hang around for so long. A little bit of speed and youth through the midfield in the granny and who knows waht could have happened.
Kickass
15 Dec 2006, 09:01
base payment is 100 a game... bringing on the local kids? majority of the players are from the surrounding suburbs.
Yes Matty,
They are predominantly from surrounding suburbs like glen waverley, berwick, cranbourne, yarraville, williamstown & geelong. And then of course there are few others from the outer surrounding suburbs like ballarat, maryborough, bendigo & shepparton.
But mostly homegrown!!!
David_02
15 Dec 2006, 09:18
Yes Matty,
They are predominantly from surrounding suburbs like glen waverley, berwick, cranbourne, yarraville, williamstown & geelong. And then of course there are few others from the outer surrounding suburbs like ballarat, maryborough, bendigo & shepparton.
But mostly homegrown!!!
r u serious? can u link the players to these suburbs because i dont believe u?
u always talk crap!
devil's advocte
15 Dec 2006, 09:45
i guess the top clubs want to believe they have home grown talent. ALL clubs have a few players that are the genuine play for the club superstars, without them the competition would collapse. But when clubs like Bundoora claim most are home grown, all you can do is choke...no hang on thats what they do
no no you lose them because they can't resist our mega facilities and stand out club rooms, our unbelievable hotdogs, and the chance to associate with legends like Turtz :D
Such kind words J&B. You'd prefer to play for Mont than against us when the boys under light tower 1 have had one too many cans, that i'm sure of!
p.s Those club rooms should be heritage listed! No need for new ones when they are quite cleary the best in the valley! :D
Jewelsandbullet
15 Dec 2006, 10:11
Such kind words J&B. You'd prefer to play for Mont than against us when the boys under light tower 1 have had one too many cans, that i'm sure of!
p.s Those club rooms should be heritage listed! No need for new ones when they are quite cleary the best in the valley! :D
That is my biggest concern with these renovations – how are we going to retain that smell of stale beer, cigarettes and urine? If only we could bottle it.
Pheonix20
15 Dec 2006, 10:12
Bundoora do put a lot of time into surrounding clubs such as yarrambat, stmary's and mill park, that is why the under 19's are always strong. Most of the top six in the b & F were ex parade college or knights boys that have been playing at bullants with a couple that are ex locals that have been playing bush. Any truth in the rumour that Mick HYATT ex Bundoora is coaching Nth Heid u/19s.
Think Big
15 Dec 2006, 10:54
Football Victoria now moving in bringing the old school known as DVFL Admin into the current century with a review - read here for details http://footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=113954
Bruce Almighty
15 Dec 2006, 12:20
:D Well done mate just caught my first Fish ,Sh** for brains
Bruce Almighty
15 Dec 2006, 12:26
Football Victoria now moving in bringing the old school known as DVFL Admin into the current century with a review - read here for details http://footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=113954
Dont know if i am stupid but the news page is blank and if that is the intention very funny indeed:D
Yes Matty,
But mostly homegrown!!!
yeh good one :thumbsd:
Jimmy Gwilt
15 Dec 2006, 14:03
Whos playin who in Practice Matches This Pre Season ??
Think Big
15 Dec 2006, 14:49
Dont know if i am stupid but the news page is blank and if that is the intention very funny indeed:D
They must have changed, try this one
http://footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=113962
hunteyes
15 Dec 2006, 15:23
Yes Matty,
But mostly homegrown!!!
Yeah mate u are a ****************! theres not 1 player from any of those places, and most of the guys there are from surrounding suburbs.
As for Mick Hyatt, he was to be an assistant with Nth Heidelbergs 2s but has turned down the job!
Kickass
16 Dec 2006, 07:31
Yeah mate u are a ****************! theres not 1 player from any of those places, ................b!
Lighten up kHunteyes, I'm only taking the pi$$.
Even the young fella and staunch defender of everything Bundoora in MattyR recognised and had a laugh at what I said.
There's no room for serious $hit on this forum at ths time of the year. Just $hit talk.
Jimmy Gwilt
16 Dec 2006, 09:54
Lighten up kHunteyes, I'm only taking the pi$$.
Even the young fella and staunch defender of everything Bundoora in MattyR recognised and had a laugh at what I said.
There's no room for serious $hit on this forum at ths time of the year. Just $hit talk.
exactly right kikass, footy seasons finished and nothin can be taken seriously at this time of year - well not by me n u anyway;)
Heidelberg and Mont are biggest spending and Singy would not be playing for less than 1000 and does not work.
Kickass
17 Dec 2006, 21:40
Heidelberg and Mont are biggest spending and Singy would not be playing for less than 1000 and does not work.
Singy wanted 25 large from Mont plus a job as the Spell Checker for J&B's Bigfooty posts.
Apparently Mont have no problem with paying the coin, but wanted someone with a wider vocabulary to help our resident wordsmith J&B out!!
They are prepared to spend some really big moola on filling this position, and I have heard a whisper that both MattyR & G.Y.T.M have sent in their resumes.
Stay tuned. :rolleyes:
Giveyathemail
18 Dec 2006, 07:41
Singy wanted 25 large from Mont plus a job as the Spell Checker for J&B's Bigfooty posts.
Apparently Mont have no problem with paying the coin, but wanted someone with a wider vocabulary to help our resident wordsmith J&B out!!
They are prepared to spend some really big moola on filling this position, and I have heard a whisper that both MattyR & G.Y.T.M have sent in their resumes.
Sorry Leroy, as always you have fallen way short. Keep trying though big fella, it's admirable...:D
Jewelsandbullet
18 Dec 2006, 08:26
That is reprehensible, libellous, derogatory rubbish…. I’m looking into a possible defamation action as you read… :mad:
I am clearly in the tops 22 spellers at the club…
Hey Brutal – I know what our budget is – would be surprised if the bulls are not paying more…
devil's advocte
18 Dec 2006, 12:50
if a club like mont can spend $25 big ones on one player, how much is the playing budget?
Jewelsandbullet
18 Dec 2006, 13:06
if a club like mont can spend $25 big ones on one player, how much is the playing budget?
Who said 25 big ones?? Don't believe everything the muckraker (KA) says mate.
Also he hasn’t signed.
Oh and I don’t think I’d be very popular with the committee if I posted our playing budget here Devil.
:confused:
bernard the bipolar bear
18 Dec 2006, 18:55
How is northcote park shaping for next season? any chance of returning to their glory days? they seemed a fair way of the mark last season
devil's advocte
18 Dec 2006, 20:50
i thought most committees rely on us for the information!
but with the meeting tonight at DVFL house to talk about footy vic taking over the DVFL for $200000 maybe we should be running the league
GYTM could be president
KA could be the media liaison
J&B would be marketing managers
turtz could be the legal advisor
anyone else want a job on the unofficial DVFL committee?
ifyoucandodgeawrench
19 Dec 2006, 08:39
I build you a web page that doesn't look like it was slapped together using an Atari.
Giveyathemail
19 Dec 2006, 12:21
Ok boys let me throw this one to you all. Hypothetical.
The current admin gets the ar se, and you are thrown in at the deep end and given the job of getting the DVFL back on its feet.
What 3 tasks would you set yourself to improve the competition and what changes would you implement to initiate those improvements?
Open slather, no right or wrong answers. Just opinions.
bearfan
19 Dec 2006, 12:46
Ok boys let me throw this one to you all. Hypothetical.
The current admin gets the ar se, and you are thrown in at the deep end and given the job of getting the DVFL back on its feet.
What 3 tasks would you set yourself to improve the competition and what changes would you implement to initiate those improvements?
Open slather, no right or wrong answers. Just opinions.
1. Recruit a suitable person to put in charge of Umpiring Department. Improve all areas from Recruiting / Training / etc
2. Implement a completely independent Tribunal / Review process to stamp out behind the play incidents and on and off field violence and thuggery
3. Improve the communication between League and clubs, starting with the website.
Pheonix20
19 Dec 2006, 13:17
If you could have a fourth as these above are pretty much spot on it would be for some of the clubs to bring their changerooms up to date instead of the toilet blocks or chook sheds supplied by some.
Jewelsandbullet
19 Dec 2006, 14:16
If you could have a fourth as these above are pretty much spot on it would be for some of the clubs to bring their changerooms up to date instead of the toilet blocks or chook sheds supplied by some.
Agreed.
Unfortunately as we are all aware most clubs are run fairly tight and don’t have the independant means to improve their rooms.
So to adding to Bearfans third suggestion: Whoever is in charge of improving communications between clubs an leauge, could also act in a lobbying role on behalf of and for those clubs that need it. First line of argument to the State government would be to try and get them to equal the funding provided to Eastern suburb football/cricket clubs over the years, …. and equally lobby local council for funding.
When it comes to funding for these sorts of things you need a professional, rational argument & approach and you have to ask, ask, and ask again……
devil's advocte
19 Dec 2006, 15:01
just heard with stage 3 restrictions coming in during jan that banyule council will only water 12 grounds in the shire. these grounds havent been decided yet
Jewelsandbullet
19 Dec 2006, 15:08
just heard with stage 3 restrictions coming in during jan that banyule council will only water 12 grounds in the shire. these grounds havent been decided yet
Correct.
With an exemption Council can water 25% of our grounds, which is approximately 12 of the 50 grounds within Banyule.
apparently they will be sending out an advice before the end of the week which will detail further.. Might have a bigger impact on the cricket season.
Hey Turtz - are those forward defensives still racing to the boundary?
Kickass
19 Dec 2006, 15:23
I'm not sure about which 3 tasks I would set, but the 1 task I would undertake as a priority would be:
Ensure that a thorough independent audit of DVFL's accounts was performed and ensure transparency of all Revenue /expenses was communicated to the clubs. In addition, would implement an accurate accounting and also ticketing system for gatetakings at all DVFL finals fixtures, including juniors.
Honestly, How the F... would you ever know how many people have gone to a finals games, let alone how many have actually paid, and how much the "trusted" gate keeper pocketing, if ye don't issue tickets. :eek:
I'm not sure if this will improve the competition, but at least people will have greater confidence that the funds we all put in are properly accounted for!
Kickass
19 Dec 2006, 15:38
Correct.
With an exemption Council can water 25% of our grounds, which is approximately 12 of the 50 grounds within Banyule.
I have just spoken with the Banyule council and Apparently, the little ground at the end of Simms Rd, has a higher priority on it J&B. Therefore, Your ground has just been relegated to number 13 on the list!!
At least you will be getting new fancier clubrooms. So you will be able to sit and drink and look out the window at where the local footy used to be played. You might even have one of those tasty canteen hotdogs to help ease the pain.
But seriously, watering of grounds is a massive issue. What would be the impact if grounds were unsuitable to play on in 2007???
Loss of Revenue to clubs. :thumbsd:
Loss of Players to other competitions:thumbsd:
Even worse, I might have to stay at home with the missus on Sat Avro :eek:
Jewelsandbullet
19 Dec 2006, 15:58
I have just spoken with the Banyule council and Apparently, the little ground at the end of Simms Rd, has a higher priority on it J&B. Therefore, Your ground has just been relegated to number 13 on the list!!
At least you will be getting new fancier clubrooms. So you will be able to sit and drink and look out the window at where the local footy used to be played. You might even have one of those tasty canteen hotdogs to help ease the pain.
But seriously, watering of grounds is a massive issue. What would be the impact if grounds were unsuitable to play on in 2007???
Loss of Revenue to clubs. :thumbsd:
Loss of Players to other competitions:thumbsd:
Even worse, I might have to stay at home with the missus on Sat Avro :eek:
Are you serious?
That's where we are doing pre-season training ....
That makes sense - have a ground that is watered for pre season training - but not a ground to play on during the year :confused:
Anyway I'm predicting rain... 90,000 plus for boxing day - not an over bowled.
Pheonix20
19 Dec 2006, 16:08
At least eltham will have a great surface to play on for the first six rounds, they are using Plenty cricket ground which has an exemption and looks an absolute picture, even if it is almost as small as mont.
Jewelsandbullet
19 Dec 2006, 16:11
At least eltham will have a great surface to play on for the first six rounds, they are using Plenty cricket ground which has an exemption and looks an absolute picture, even if it is almost as small as mont.
Ha
Come on Pheonix it's heaps bigger :rolleyes:
melbdocker
19 Dec 2006, 21:50
y the hell would the play at plenty the ground is way too small for footy y not try and play on one of the lower eltham grounds or even anthony beale reserve?
Pheonix20
20 Dec 2006, 05:08
I was at lower eltham a couple of weeks ago watching cricket and the players left more skin on the barren outfield than jazzy shows at a bundoora grand final wake
Bubble Wrap
20 Dec 2006, 06:54
I played on Plenty the other week and it's not as good as previous years. It looks nice from the boundary, but once you get on it there are some patchy areas, and it is quite uneven (especially at the non-clubroom end).
I think they'll still get the DVCA grand final, but I think the DVCA should consider moving the grand final to another venue (I think Bundoora's surface was actually better than Plenty this year, and by all reports Epping is in sensational nick as well). It would be worth it just to put a hole in Plenty's revenue and see if they can win a flag that they haven't paid for :D
Pheonix20
20 Dec 2006, 09:53
President papal wants all DV finals played on cramer st. Whats the chances of that?
Pheonix20
20 Dec 2006, 10:05
I played on Plenty the other week and it's not as good as previous years. It looks nice from the boundary, but once you get on it there are some patchy areas, and it is quite uneven (especially at the non-clubroom end).
I think they'll still get the DVCA grand final, but I think the DVCA should consider moving the grand final to another venue (I think Bundoora's surface was actually better than Plenty this year, and by all reports Epping is in sensational nick as well). It would be worth it just to put a hole in Plenty's revenue and see if they can win a flag that they haven't paid for :D
What revenue could they get with no fence around the ground?
hunteyes
20 Dec 2006, 14:28
its still the best ground for the DVCA grand final, playing and watching! what cricket club are u from??
Giveyathemail
21 Dec 2006, 07:08
Ken Gannon was saying on tuesday night that if the majority of the grounds in ALL COMPS state wide do not improve by the start of Febuary, FV have no choice but to put the season back a month. This would mean that we only play 14 games instead of 18.
I cant see the grounds getting any better, as stage 3 restrictions are just around the corner. Interesting to see what stance they take come Febuary.
Pheonix20
21 Dec 2006, 07:22
does that mean bundoora won't have to play the final series or are they taking away home and away games.
FOOTYBOSS
21 Dec 2006, 15:52
Whos playin who in Practice Matches This Pre Season ??
Nth. Heildberg are playing Euroa.