View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Pheonix20
22 Dec 2006, 05:08
Harrison has quit bundoora and signed with Balwyn. The exodus continues.
Prince Ashton
22 Dec 2006, 06:55
Hey Giveyathemail, so what other startling information did our mr gannon say at the meeting?
Who else has left Bundoora at this stage??
Well last day of work for a while (thank god for that)! Merry christmas and happy new year to all you guys, thanks to all those who contributed to this thread which helped me get through the boring times at work during the year! Hope you all have a good one! Read ya's and some times write next year! Carn the Wats!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :D :D
Jewelsandbullet
22 Dec 2006, 09:36
Well last day of work for a while (thank god for that)! Merry christmas and happy new year to all you guys, thanks to all those who contributed to this thread which helped me get through the boring times at work during the year! Hope you all have a good one! Read ya's and some times write next year! Carn the Wats!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :D :D
Yep mid-day knock off for me - then the pi$$ up begins:thumbsu:
Merry Christmas to all the DV bigfooty biatches!
Catch ya next year.
HotShoeShuffle
22 Dec 2006, 10:14
Yep mid-day knock off for me - then the pi$$ up begins:thumbsu:
Merry Christmas to all the DV bigfooty biatches!
Catch ya next year.
Big night penning J&B?
Jewelsandbullet
22 Dec 2006, 10:22
Big night penning J&B?
Yes shoe... I plan on penning like a mad man... and as you have experienced I will probably be a birds nest by about 5.30pm.
You?
T.Perry
22 Dec 2006, 12:30
Couldn't be bothered scrolling back through the pages, so sorry if this has already been posted, but Heidelberg have signed Marcellin on-baller, Brett Dobson for the 07 season. Will be a handy pick-up for them - pretty skillful and hard at it player, represents good value at $400/game.
Got named at number 4 in the best VAFA players either this year or last, rated highly in that comp..
Jimmy Gwilt
22 Dec 2006, 13:03
Couldn't be bothered scrolling back through the pages, so sorry if this has already been posted, but Heidelberg have signed Marcellin on-baller, Brett Dobson for the 07 season. Will be a handy pick-up for them - pretty skillful and hard at it player, represents good value at $400/game.
Got named at number 4 in the best VAFA players either this year or last, rated highly in that comp..
nah mate that wasnt mentioned - does anyone know the recruits in div 1 and 2 for 07 - would like to hear a few
Who said 25 big ones?? Don't believe everything the muckraker (KA) says mate.
Also he hasn’t signed.
Oh and I don’t think I’d be very popular with the committee if I posted our playing budget here Devil.
Not that it`s really important, but your Football Manager informed me during the negotiations for Ottens, Neill and Gill that what you were paying was well and truly in the top 2 category, which is fine. My figures on Bundoora were based on 2005 season and would have put them 30-40k below what it was stated that Monts budget was. As I`ve said though it`s not important, whatever a clubs happy to pay is up to them. In Singy`s case he`s a football mercenary, which he does not seem to worry about and perhaps the money could be better spent fostering the young talent around the club who are more likely to give back to the fibre of a club in the future. Singy will certainly be on a few club past player mailing lists by the time he retires though.
Dobson hasnt been signed with Heidelberg... he signed with Balwyn 2 weeks ago
No great loss.
Boy George
26 Dec 2006, 22:06
Dobson hasnt been signed with Heidelberg... he signed with Balwyn 2 weeks ago
attention chops:
just wanted to know who is coaching heidelberg in 2007? hyde had the job last time acording 2 u and you put ur life on it! if not true please take ur life stirfry
T.Perry
27 Dec 2006, 13:20
attention chops:
just wanted to know who is coaching heidelberg in 2007? hyde had the job last time acording 2 u and you put ur life on it! if not true please take ur life stirfry
Phil Plunkett, I think?
greatguy
2 Jan 2007, 12:43
I have just spoken with the Banyule council and Apparently, the little ground at the end of Simms Rd, has a higher priority on it J&B. Therefore, Your ground has just been relegated to number 13 on the list!!
At least you will be getting new fancier clubrooms. So you will be able to sit and drink and look out the window at where the local footy used to be played. You might even have one of those tasty canteen hotdogs to help ease the pain.
But seriously, watering of grounds is a massive issue. What would be the impact if grounds were unsuitable to play on in 2007???
Loss of Revenue to clubs. :thumbsd:
Loss of Players to other competitions:thumbsd:
Even worse, I might have to stay at home with the missus on Sat Avro :eek:
Banyule council are also have exemption for Binnak Park, big enough to play senior footy on it but rooms very ordinary. Also have new floodlights currently being installed
devil's advocte
3 Jan 2007, 12:12
I think what we all have to worry about is if Football Victoria is going to postpone the season or not. Has anyone heard anything about that at all?
Pheonix20
4 Jan 2007, 07:20
Who else has left Bundoora at this stage??
White is training with North heidelberg but won't play there, he wants to go to Heidelberg.
I think what we all have to worry about is if Football Victoria is going to postpone the season or not. Has anyone heard anything about that at all?
Has been discussion of the season being delayed 4 weeks and becomeing a 14 round season. I would not expect this to be set in conctrete untill as late as possible.
harryhawaii
6 Jan 2007, 17:36
White is training with North heidelberg but won't play there, he wants to go to Heidelberg. happy new year all. bundoora yes well a few more on the road. dave attard back to monty, adrian wilson to templestowe, white is training at heidelberg already and has for a month. and a few more reserves players have left for greener pastures.
happy new year all. bundoora yes well a few more on the road. dave attard back to monty, adrian wilson to templestowe, white is training at heidelberg already and has for a month. and a few more reserves players have left for greener pastures.
what is dale piggot's movements is he playing in 2007?
happy new year all. bundoora yes well a few more on the road. dave attard back to monty, adrian wilson to templestowe, white is training at heidelberg already and has for a month. and a few more reserves players have left for greener pastures.
dave attard a good pick up for monty
Pheonix20
7 Jan 2007, 22:10
what is dale piggot's movements is he playing in 2007?
Piggot was appointed as a non playing assistant coach with Bundoora. Along with Massie as Football manager.
What will Massey be doing in this role?
Pheonix20
8 Jan 2007, 22:25
Sorry not PIGGOT it was 'Whale' Rice.
thirstyforwater
9 Jan 2007, 10:19
News from Whittlesea council is that the grounds that are being watered are Epping Main Oval, Mill Park Lakes Oval 1 & 2, Whittlesea Showgrounds and Redleap Reserve.
No Clubs are allowed to conduct pre season training sessions on any grounds, this includes clubs who are getting their grounds watered, Council are threatening to take grounds off clubs if they do train on ground without authorisation. Apparently Council is going to have people driving around to make sure that clubs are not training.
No Pre Season practice games are going to be allowed to be played on Whittlesea Council grounds unless we get a lot of rain before the start of the season.
Does anybody know from other councils how your club is going to be affected. It will make for an interesting pre season training with clubs all vying for probably same training venues that we are allowed to train on or in.
whistle blower
9 Jan 2007, 22:06
for what its worth, have faith in the admin.
the season will be fine,all games to start on time.
lets be honest ,who hasnt hurt themselves playing footy whether the ground be hard or soft.
lets all get away from american b...s..t & stop trying to sue everything & everybody for trivial crap.
lets all look fwd to a good pre season for players,umpires, officials & supporters.
Giveyathemail
10 Jan 2007, 11:24
for what its worth, have faith in the admin.
the season will be fine,all games to start on time.
lets be honest ,who hasnt hurt themselves playing footy whether the ground be hard or soft.
lets all get away from american b...s..t & stop trying to sue everything & everybody for trivial crap.
lets all look fwd to a good pre season for players,umpires, officials & supporters.
I agree with most of your comments except for the first one.
Fu ck the administration, I hope the audit brings out what most have suspected for many years. The quicker we kick those corrupt Roosters in the arse and show em the door the better...
leg-a-lamb
10 Jan 2007, 13:59
i have heared rumblings eltham have picked up a few decent players ? can any one name names ?
the word is they picked up chris conoly's nephew, is he any good ?
whistle blower
10 Jan 2007, 16:42
for the record,dv appointed an overseer to take charge & have a look at the workings of the admin.
he was a former secretary of eastern league so should know his stuff.
dv admin took this step before footy vic got involved, have to say that it was pro- active on their behalf.
seems to me that sooks come in all shapes & sizes,try being on a board & trying to please the masses ,you are dammed if you do & dammed if you dont.
rather than seeing negative feedback, lets see positive stuff.
seems like if we dont get our way the first time it time to slag the admin people.
will await peoples comments based on fact & not rumour.
KrunchNKans
10 Jan 2007, 20:28
for the record,dv appointed an overseer to take charge & have a look at the workings of the admin.
dv admin took this step before footy vic got involved, have to say that it was pro- active on their behalf.
seems to me that sooks come in all shapes & sizes,try being on a board & trying to please the masses ,you are dammed if you do & dammed if you dont.
seems like if we dont get our way the first time it time to slag the admin people.
Oldest trick in the book to appoint someone before FV was about to do the same. That in itself is an inditement on the DV cronies that an external consultant has had to be introduced to drag them kicking and screaming out of the 1970's.
Positives: The clubs ,the players , the supporters
Negatives: Blokes that run the show
Pheonix20
10 Jan 2007, 22:40
[
will await peoples comments based on fact & not rumour.[/quote]
For a start can we at least get a decent web page that wasn't designed by a kid using a nintendo. And get the clubs to regularly update their own websites with accurate informative topics. If you look around at some other leagues it becomes plainly obvious that the DV site is managed by Fred Flinstone.
Giveyathemail
11 Jan 2007, 07:01
First time we dont get our way... that just the point you imbecile.... Clubs are tired of not even being listened too, let alone hearing their suggestions or getting what they want. Name one positive the current administation has implemented in the last 10 years...
Fact... Fact is the current admin has run the comp into the ground, our standard of umpiring is deplorable and everyone is sick and tired of it.
There are no real positives to come out of what they dish up, and Krunch N Kans was spot on.... its been the players, the supporters of our clubs and the personalitys around the Valley that still keep the masses interested in our comp.
Its the same old arguement with these blokes, and i wont be going over it again, particularly this early in the year. I just hope this audit see's it for what it really is for these blokes... A BIG FUC KIN RORT.
Jewelsandbullet
11 Jan 2007, 08:34
FACT: You are a tool.
It has far less to do with sooks and negative comments, and more to do with the continued incompetence and perceived corruption that occurs at DV house.
Was the reason they appointed an overseer because for once they managed to see the writing on the wall; and actually listened to the slagging they copped by footy Vic in the Heidelberg decision notes? Probably.
Everyone on this site supports the comp - however even the most optimistic, positive thinking, Floyd loving crony like yourself has to admit... the running of this comp have been average in the recent past.
thirstyforwater
11 Jan 2007, 08:44
Football Victoria appointed Craig Braddy to the position and he reports to Football Victoria directly and not the DVFL. Clubs are currently undergoing meetings with Craig (Senior & Junior Clubs), with his report due in March of this year. The DVFL announced after the Heidelberg decision to launch a review of the DVFL which was to start in Febraury this year but was brought forward to before Christmas at the last delegates meeting.
Craig has distributed to all Clubs a copy of what he is looking to investigate and the meetings so far have been going for close to all 2 hours, with the extra stuff clubs have been bringing up. He has a good reputation from his time when he was in charge of the Eastern League and hopefully will present a unified response from all Clubs for changes that are required. Maybe at the end if we are to get a CEO then he will be offered the position, as this is all that he has on at the moment.
For a start can we at least get a decent web page that wasn't designed by a kid using a nintendo. And get the clubs to regularly update their own websites with accurate informative topics. If you look around at some other leagues it becomes plainly obvious that the DV site is managed by Fred Flinstone.
i have been saying this for more than 5 years.
Prince Ashton
11 Jan 2007, 12:54
i have been saying this for more than 5 years.
yeah but what have you done about it. is your club one of the lazy ones, its not the admins fault that clubs dont regularly update there websites and where is that super club heidelbergs website - nonexistant. and they are supposed to be the progressive leaders.
Jewelsandbullet
11 Jan 2007, 13:39
yeah but what have you done about it. is your club one of the lazy ones, its not the admins fault that clubs dont regularly update there websites and where is that super club heidelbergs website - nonexistant. and they are supposed to be the progressive leaders.
Um...I hate to admit it – but it’s actually better than most:
http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au
and who is to blame for the DV’s pathetic excuse for a website Prince??
FOOTYBOSS
11 Jan 2007, 14:40
First time we dont get our way... that just the point you imbecile.... Clubs are tired of not even being listened too, let alone hearing their suggestions or getting what they want. Name one positive the current administation has implemented in the last 10 years...
Fact... Fact is the current admin has run the comp into the ground, our standard of umpiring is deplorable and everyone is sick and tired of it.
There are no real positives to come out of what they dish up, and Krunch N Kans was spot on.... its been the players, the supporters of our clubs and the personalitys around the Valley that still keep the masses interested in our comp.
Its the same old arguement with these blokes, and i wont be going over it again, particularly this early in the year. I just hope this audit see's it for what it really is for these blokes... A BIG FUC KIN RORT.
Hows tha ankle going GYTM? Back on the track yet or still a few months away?
Ran into Dasher at Tocumwal and he is hoping a lot of the young kids come on a bit this year, to get you boys back up in div.1.
HotShoeShuffle
11 Jan 2007, 14:52
Um...I hate to admit it – but it’s actually better than most:
http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au
and who is to blame for the DV’s pathetic excuse for a website Prince??
I'm not so good with the Internet J&B, can you let us know how Monts website looks.......
Keeping a low profile of late on here.....
I'm not so good with the Internet J&B, can you let us know how Monts website looks.......
The mont website was terrible, now it's non exisitant! I wanna know what is happening at LT1, J&B get Yeoy's old man to finish the freakin thing!
Jewelsandbullet
11 Jan 2007, 15:01
Will be updated before season commences (we hope):rolleyes:
yes... low profile...
ifyoucandodgeawrench
11 Jan 2007, 15:51
Pro-active?? As in "Acting in advance to deal with an expected difficulty; anticipatory"...??
No no, you got it all the wrong way around.
Let me break it down for the kids at home...
ACTION - terrible administors/website/umps/tribunal system
*enter years of outcry from clubs & players*
*exit many quality players & almost a powerhouse club*
REACTION - Hire somebody to tell them how fix their f*cK up
RiverRat
11 Jan 2007, 22:45
Our website has been around for a couple of years now, but unfortunately has still not made it onto the "club sites" section of dvfooty.com, and what a magnificent specimen that dvfooty is.
Giveyathemail
12 Jan 2007, 07:30
Hows tha ankle going GYTM? Back on the track yet or still a few months away?
Ran into Dasher at Tocumwal and he is hoping a lot of the young kids come on a bit this year, to get you boys back up in div.1.
G'day mate, how are you going? The ankle is great, moving like a 90 kg rabbit at the moment.... just glad to be mobile again thats for sure...
Did you have a hit up at Toc??? Everyone is pretty keen to get back into it, with a few of the boys doing a bit of running and boxing in the off season to establish a good fitness base. The kids we have are a great bunch of 17-23 year olds that will find division 2 and its tempo very suitable to their style of play.
Is it still the EDFL for you????
FOOTYBOSS
12 Jan 2007, 08:28
G'day mate, how are you going? The ankle is great, moving like a 90 kg rabbit at the moment.... just glad to be mobile again thats for sure...
Did you have a hit up at Toc??? Everyone is pretty keen to get back into it, with a few of the boys doing a bit of running and boxing in the off season to establish a good fitness base. The kids we have are a great bunch of 17-23 year olds that will find division 2 and its tempo very suitable to their style of play.
Is it still the EDFL for you????
Yeah Im well mate. Need to start doing some serious training though as I didnt do any before Christmas or over the break. Im not in the best shape at the moment and probably couldnt run out of site of Borgy at the moment.:D
Had a hit at Toc and hit him often enough to have to shout a few rounds to playing partners, but kangaroo court was the one that killed me. A very good weekend all the same.
Im going to hold off playing in Melbourne for another 12 months have committed to staying in the GVFL. With 16 players leaving our club for this season, a few have decided to stay on, so they dont fall completly down the ladder.
you could write on the back of an asprin with a crow bar what i know about designing and making internet sites mate. if the admin weren't a bunch of prehistoric monkeys they would have already taken care of it.
come on don't insult the intelligence of a monkey i am sure there alot smarter than those guys in DV House.
Giveyathemail
12 Jan 2007, 11:38
Yeah Im well mate. Need to start doing some serious training though as I didnt do any before Christmas or over the break. Im not in the best shape at the moment and probably couldnt run out of site of Borgy at the moment.:D
Had a hit at Toc and hit him often enough to have to shout a few rounds to playing partners, but kangaroo court was the one that killed me. A very good weekend all the same.
Im going to hold off playing in Melbourne for another 12 months have committed to staying in the GVFL. With 16 players leaving our club for this season, a few have decided to stay on, so they dont fall completly down the ladder.
Always a good time to have up in Toc...
That shows character, to stick around a club when all doesnt seem to be going their way. Like us mate, take the positives out of a bad situation (in this case being a young list) and go with what you have got. Plenty of clubs have come out smelling like roses from the same situation. Who has decided to stay on???
Party pooper
12 Jan 2007, 13:05
http://www.darebin.vic.gov.au/Page/Page.asp?Page_Id=325&h=1
If this helps people on how some of the grounds are going then good. If not then so be it. This site has the ground ratings for the Darebin council sports grounds.
Bruce Almighty
12 Jan 2007, 17:13
HFC have had a complete new website built over the summer and believe me from what i have seen the Dvalley should take some notes from us.It may be up and running by mid feb so Prince again we are taking our time to get it right and make it a fully interactive site so your club can get some ideas of the progressive leaders of the comp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pro-active?? As in "Acting in advance to deal with an expected difficulty; anticipatory"...??
No no, you got it all the wrong way around.
Let me break it down for the kids at home...
ACTION - terrible administors/website/umps/tribunal system
*enter years of outcry from clubs & players*
*exit many quality players & almost a powerhouse club*
REACTION - Hire somebody to tell them how fix their f*cK up
you also got the issue that to enter your club in the DVFL costs clubs $25,000 annually and lower division 2 sides are havin to fork out this much just to be able to field a team, let alone not abling to attract players to there club.
you look at the likes of fawkner park and parkside who will probably fold in the next few years have little money to deal with and i believe 25,000 a year is way to steep and is running clubs into the ground.
these divison 2 sides who cannot afford it with the likes of the powerhouses of the competition such as bundoora and heidelberg who have this money.
Floydy should have a look at whats happening to the comp and not think about himself, and possibly lower the price to play in division 2 especially, cause this is one reason why the comp isnt what it is.
you also got the issue that to enter your club in the DVFL costs clubs $25,000 annually and lower division 2 sides are havin to fork out this much just to be able to field a team, let alone not abling to attract players to there club.
you look at the likes of fawkner park and parkside who will probably fold in the next few years have little money to deal with and i believe 25,000 a year is way to steep and is running clubs into the ground.
these divison 2 sides who cannot afford it with the likes of the powerhouses of the competition such as bundoora and heidelberg who have this money.
Floydy should have a look at whats happening to the comp and not think about himself, and possibly lower the price to play in division 2 especially, cause this is one reason why the comp isnt what it is.
It has been mentioned here before but 10 Div.1 clubs plus 16 Div.2 clubs @ say 25k equates to $650,000 in fees a year, then throw in your junior affiliates and you guys should have the best administered league outside the VFL.
master jedi
13 Jan 2007, 18:32
matt larkin coaching west preston T/F has he coach before is he a good bloke any W/Preston people out there that know something
master jedi
13 Jan 2007, 18:35
sol caddy to play for bundoora any truth he is having ankle complications
after a accident in darwin
BlindedByTheLight
13 Jan 2007, 21:30
i think your figures are a little off the mark there. isn't it around $15000 per club and doesn't that include the junior fees. thats why parkside have keon park as their juniors.
Cole Trickle
13 Jan 2007, 22:35
after a accident in darwincaddy having an operation some time this month. I saw him running the other night looks a bit over weight hes been like that for a few years now imagine he was fit.
It has been mentioned here before but 10 Div.1 clubs plus 16 Div.2 clubs @ say 25k equates to $650,000 in fees a year, then throw in your junior affiliates and you guys should have the best administered league outside the VFL.
is that to say why you have to pay to watch a junior finals game in the DVFL when other leagues dont have any entry fees. its an absolute joke, the fees are way too steep. the dvfl must be making a ******** load and what are they doing with it?
i think your figures are a little off the mark there. isn't it around $15000 per club and doesn't that include the junior fees. thats why parkside have keon park as their juniors.
Can confirm it is 25k a year.
TuskenRaider
15 Jan 2007, 08:03
Can confirm it is 25k a year.
Does that include player insurance etc?
yer you would think so, but it still is too much for division2 clubs who r likely to fold and/or cant attract players. parkside and fawkner are 2 good examples of clubs that possibly will fold in the next few years cause they have havin to fork out so much just to field a team let alone make there club better off field.
maybe what floydy tryin to do is let go of these clubs who r struggling and make 2 divisions of 10 or so but this is why the comp is the way it is.
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 09:46
Always a good time to have up in Toc...
That shows character, to stick around a club when all doesnt seem to be going their way. Like us mate, take the positives out of a bad situation (in this case being a young list) and go with what you have got. Plenty of clubs have come out smelling like roses from the same situation. Who has decided to stay on???
Scotty Grainger, myself, Shane and Mark Clayton, Luke Hyatt and David King. We will be a very young team with many u/18 in the team, so will be a good experience for them.
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 09:47
after a accident in darwin
Spoke to his brother John the other day and he said that Saul was playing at Balwyn.
diamond creek, the 2007 premiership team, will resume training tonight. what a star studded line up the mighty creek has this year. rumour is michael voss will be playing at creek this year.
Bubble Wrap
15 Jan 2007, 12:36
It does, but it is pretty ordinary cover from what I understand.
You wouldn't want to rely on it if you were off work for an extended period of time due to injury.
Scotty Grainger, myself, Shane and Mark Clayton, Luke Hyatt and David King. We will be a very young team with many u/18 in the team, so will be a good experience for them.
what about ben shelton? could he be heading back to bundoora? i hear that his younger brother could be heading to bundoora.
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 14:09
what about ben shelton? could he be heading back to bundoora? i hear that his younger brother could be heading to bundoora.
His heading overseas in March. Wont be playing this year.
The_KID
15 Jan 2007, 20:03
yeah good first night on the track for the creek rump. donno bout michael voss but a few recruits of note down there.
AndyBoy
15 Jan 2007, 20:36
yeah good first night on the track for the creek rump. donno bout michael voss but a few recruits of note down there.
boyz.... who is coaching the two's at creek this year???
The_KID
15 Jan 2007, 20:39
Shane "the beast" lyons.
thats what he calls himself.
hahaha only joking shane-oh
vossy was there in the shadows. grounds to hard for him to train on at the moment. big asset to the club. couple of other recruits last night kidington... thoughts?
MarchingOnTogether
16 Jan 2007, 09:36
Shane "the beast" lyons.
thats what he calls himself.
hahaha only joking shane-oh
Is this the bloke who coached them last year? If it is,saw a few of his addresses and thought very highly. Good young coach.
The_KID
16 Jan 2007, 10:34
yeah was very intersting rump man.
Tell me, is the rump rant gonna make an appearance again this year?
As for the recruits, solid,very solid.
Marchingontogether, this is the bloke who coached em last yr. He is back on board this yr.
currently in contract talks with president nev regarding this years creek capers. the offer i was given was not acceptable and i'm thinking of putting the pen down. there is a strong rumour that the man behind the moustache wants to do it. if the rump is allowed back on board we have some very good things in line for this years creek capers. i look forward to my verbal stouches with the one love club or cub or whatever he wants to call himself from lower plenty. also might have a segment for nobo's love tips. more pasting of TQ and just general all round stupidity for creek capers this year i am sure.
shane-oh is a good coach, but i query the mans counting ability.
AndyBoy
16 Jan 2007, 18:59
currently in contract talks with president nev regarding this years creek capers. the offer i was given was not acceptable and i'm thinking of putting the pen down. there is a strong rumour that the man behind the moustache wants to do it. if the rump is allowed back on board we have some very good things in line for this years creek capers. i look forward to my verbal stouches with the one love club or cub or whatever he wants to call himself from lower plenty. also might have a segment for nobo's love tips. more pasting of TQ and just general all round stupidity for creek capers this year i am sure.
shane-oh is a good coach, but i query the mans counting ability.
Gr8 work boyz.... thanx for the update.... counting????
From wat i hear he nearly got the twos to the finals last year.... would have been a gr8 effort when u look where the 1's finished....
is he assisting cowboy this year????
The_KID
17 Jan 2007, 14:00
the assistant to cowboy this yr is a intersting position to say the least. could be a big name filling it. shane will take the reins of the twos . was a great effort last yr, should have mde the finals but for a quarter here and there where they dropped games.
LOBSTER
17 Jan 2007, 14:21
Have heard a strong rumour that Daniel Sage will be back at Monty this year.
Thought he was linked to some massive coin down Geelong way???
LOBSTER
17 Jan 2007, 14:32
Thought he was linked to some massive coin down Geelong way???
Was but due to the league might not going ahead, he is looking at his options. Plus he has just recently moved backed to Melbourne.
Great news for mont fans if true! Imagine, sage kicking in after a point to gutto at the centre line, 1 bounce, another 65 metre bomb for a 2 possy goal! GOLD!
Fair enough, whoever gets him will be a very lucky football club I say, GUN!!!
FOOTYBOSS
17 Jan 2007, 15:38
Think you will find its only a rumour. As far as I know he has verbally agreed to play at Barwon Heads. As far as I know that league is still going ahead, but will be delayed a few weeks.
Jewelsandbullet
17 Jan 2007, 16:55
Great news for mont fans if true! Imagine, sage kicking in after a point to gutto at the centre line, 1 bounce, another 65 metre bomb for a 2 possy goal! GOLD!
Think we had a crack Turtz…. But missed out unfortunately
quality session at the gboro pool last night for the 2007 premiers. the beast was making us work pretty hard. vossy joined in for a bit last night and looked a picture of fitness. good to see the rolls royce back in action to this week!
GaryBaldi
18 Jan 2007, 12:19
In regards to Thommo just wondering how Barry McDonald is going. I played at the club a few years back and he was a handy player but haven't heard much about him since. Did he go to any Division 1 clubs or has he been at Thommo the whole time.
does anyone no if thomastowns picked up any new players
apparently heaps from lalor
Anyone on this thread keen to give an oppinion as to where they think middle rung A Div2 clubs would fit into the VAFA. C section? D1 or 2?
Have a praccy game coming up vs Mernda
thirstyforwater
19 Jan 2007, 08:20
In regards to Thommo just wondering how Barry McDonald is going. I played at the club a few years back and he was a handy player but haven't heard much about him since. Did he go to any Division 1 clubs or has he been at Thommo the whole time.
Barry did pre season with Bundoora in 2006 and returned to Thomastown a few weeks before the season began. Apparently nobody tried to sign him up and they had a few players of his type and size. Came second in the B & F to Simon Holmes in 2006 and expecting bigger things from him this season.
As for the heaps of Lalor players apparently coming to Thomastown there were rumours that 15 were training with us at one stage (only 6), but only two or three are looking to move, from what I hear.
FOOTYBOSS
19 Jan 2007, 09:03
Anyone on this thread keen to give an oppinion as to where they think middle rung A Div2 clubs would fit into the VAFA. C section? D1 or 2?
Have a praccy game coming up vs Mernda
I would say they would be the middle to lower end of the C section.
Not to sure how Mernda are looking this year but they are usually a pretty good team in div 2.
devil's advocte
19 Jan 2007, 10:07
Mernda should be able to beat the lower half of B grade in the ammos. Seen Collegians last season (B grade premiers) and they were a stand out in the B grade, but compared to divvy 2 DVFL the ammos are a bit too polite to one another.
HotShoeShuffle
19 Jan 2007, 10:28
Mernda should be able to beat the lower half of B grade in the ammos. Seen Collegians last season (B grade premiers) and they were a stand out in the B grade, but compared to divvy 2 DVFL the ammos are a bit too polite to one another.
If you are trying to be humourous, it worked because I nearly fell off my chair in hysterics.
Div 2 DV teams would not close to any B Grade team. They would struggle to beat the top half of C Grade. The Greensborough of last year may have got close to Top 4 C Graders, but any other team would have been a**elicked.
Jewelsandbullet
19 Jan 2007, 11:10
If you are trying to be humourous, it worked because I nearly fell off my chair in hysterics.
Div 2 DV teams would not close to any B Grade team. They would struggle to beat the top half of C Grade. The Greensborough of last year may have got close to Top 4 C Graders, but any other team would have been a**elicked.
The passion and knowledge comes out when the Shoe talks amo's
Borough would have been there abouts in C grade for sure.
Hey - how do you think a good B grade Amo team would go on our twenty cent piece at Para road?
devil's advocte
19 Jan 2007, 11:28
c'mon its at least a fifty cent piece! but the ammos would be scared and claustrophobic on such a small gound as they may have to actually lay a tackle or be tackled. heaven forbid!
Thanks for your input fellas, I'll let you know how our D2 Vafa club goes.
The tackle jibe's a bit harsh though, you've hurt my feelings.
devil's advocte
19 Jan 2007, 14:27
pmsl harper. good to see you have the humour it was meant in
good luck for the season
another quality session for the creek last night. vossy was working late according to cowdy, wolverine was a no show which was a disapointment, he was looking strong as an ox at the pool. jeddah and davo should hang their heads in shame after those ludicrious hats they both wore.. its not a fashion parade lads.. the BEAST was hard at it doing nothing as per... good coach tho.
there was some sad news however at training last night. the passing on of my asics. they have got me thru the last 4 preseasons and when i got the letter from cowdy an co in early nov i pulled them out again.. they were old and tired looking but they got thru most of this preseason on heart alone. a cult figure amongst some they became, but i am afraid its time for them to move on to a better life. finding a replacement for my asics will be hard to do, they have big shoes to fill.
Jewelsandbullet
19 Jan 2007, 14:58
another quality session for the creek last night. vossy was working late according to cowdy, wolverine was a no show which was a disapointment, he was looking strong as an ox at the pool. jeddah and davo should hang their heads in shame after those ludicrious hats they both wore.. its not a fashion parade lads.. the BEAST was hard at it doing nothing as per... good coach tho.
there was some sad news however at training last night. the passing on of my asics. they have got me thru the last 4 preseasons and when i got the letter from cowdy an co in early nov i pulled them out again.. they were old and tired looking but they got thru most of this preseason on heart alone. a cult figure amongst some they became, but i am afraid its time for them to move on to a better life. finding a replacement for my asics will be hard to do, they have big shoes to fill.
Sad news regarding the ASICS- however all good things must end. Might I suggest some Brooks "trance"
I'm pounding the pavement in them at the moment and find them a worthy replacement to my old ASICS
Now - no offence but do we really have to hear about every creek training session??- Going to be a long season if we do rump....
HotShoeShuffle
19 Jan 2007, 15:01
Sad news regarding the ASICS- however all good things must end. Might I suggest some Brooks "trance"
I'm pounding the pavement in them at the moment and find them a worthy replacement to my old ASICS
Now - no offence but do we really have to hear about every creek training session??- Going to be a long season if we do rump....
Compared to last seasons constant drivel regarding Mont ! Gutto this, Watto that......And I think any B-Grade team might be hardpressed to beat you blokes at Para Rd. But you blokes might struggle at Elsternwick Park, one would think
Jewelsandbullet
19 Jan 2007, 15:09
Compared to last seasons constant drivel regarding Mont ! Gutto this, Watto that......And I think any B-Grade team might be hardpressed to beat you blokes at Para Rd. But you blokes might struggle at Elsternwick Park, one would think
I am always balanced with my DV sh ! t talking ... Although you're right, I just can't say enough about that Wooly Waston.
We'd love the wide open spaces of Elsternwick! ... just like we do at Epping.... gulp....:rolleyes:
HotShoeShuffle
19 Jan 2007, 15:14
I am always balanced with my DV sh ! t talking ... Although you're right, I just can't say enough about that Wooly Waston.
We'd love the wide open spaces of Elsternwick! ... just like we do at Epping.... gulp....:rolleyes:
Penning with him tonight I think. At least you have a sense of humour....Northcote and West Preston think so aswell