View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
c'mon its at least a fifty cent piece! but the ammos would be scared and claustrophobic on such a small gound as they may have to actually lay a tackle or be tackled. heaven forbid!
i've played both and ammmos is much harder at it
DMac012
20 Jan 2007, 13:57
Anyone on this thread keen to give an oppinion as to where they think middle rung A Div2 clubs would fit into the VAFA. C section? D1 or 2?
Have a praccy game coming up vs Mernda
Played in Ammo's for many years and D2 and lower is were I'd have them sitting.....
steviewonder36
20 Jan 2007, 19:42
Sad news regarding the ASICS- however all good things must end. Might I suggest some Brooks "trance"
I'm pounding the pavement in them at the moment and find them a worthy replacement to my old ASICS
Now - no offence but do we really have to hear about every creek training session??- Going to be a long season if we do rump....
Please keep us updated on Diamond Creek by all means.
I live in the ACT, the only thing I hear about is the season results.
whistle blower
20 Jan 2007, 22:11
west preston signed morrison from port,have also regained ruckman from 03 flag side.fonua bros gone walkabout.
bearsboy
21 Jan 2007, 11:12
Is Scotty Nugent any good ?
cougarman
21 Jan 2007, 11:23
west preston signed morrison from port,have also regained ruckman from 03 flag side.fonua bros gone walkabout.
the 2 fonua boys are playing at hoppers crossing in the wrfl
SUPASTARR
21 Jan 2007, 12:13
the 2 fonua boys are playing at hoppers crossing in the wrfl
What about Adr Baker? Whats he up to? He was close to those guys I think.
FOOTYBOSS
22 Jan 2007, 11:50
Whats Morrison 1st name? Who is the ruckman?
FOOTYBOSS
22 Jan 2007, 11:51
I have heard that Lionel Proctor is leaving Northcote Park to play for Cobram in the Murray League. IS this true?
Off the Bench
22 Jan 2007, 12:27
Whats Morrison 1st name? Who is the ruckman?
BOSS - its Billy Morrison Collingwoods 1st Round pick from 3 years ago
and i believe the ruckman is a bloke called Damien Smith but im not 100% sure on that one
Smith came I think runner-up in the Heathcote League Medal a year or two ago, has been playing for Heathcote, and has family in Broadford. One would like to think Baker is a chance to return home to Broadford if Ake and Tevita have moved on but dont really know.
TuskenRaider
22 Jan 2007, 13:16
One would like to think Baker is a chance to return home to Broadford if Ake and Tevita have moved on but dont really know.
Is Baker still living in Broadford Doona? If you can get him back there that will be a top get as you won't get many better full forwards than him.
bigbadvojo
22 Jan 2007, 14:18
my dog Gus goes to obident school with Saul Caddy's dog Lassy. Lassy told my dog Gus that Saul is going to be at creek as a playing assistant coach!!
cackles23
22 Jan 2007, 15:03
I have heard that Lionel Proctor is leaving Northcote Park to play for Cobram in the Murray League. IS this true?
Have also heard this rumour Boss, how does he go??
FOOTYBOSS
22 Jan 2007, 15:22
Have also heard this rumour Boss, how does he go??
I rate him as a very good footballer. Pacy onballer who can kick a goal. Very good skills as well and will be suited to the larger grounds up the bush.
if alan thorpe goes back to rumbalara this year, maybe jacko proctor could end up there considering him and thorpey are cousins.
not much to report from last night lads.
the asics were unleashed and felt great... can't compare them to the orignals tho...
New recruit Cam looks to have over come that bout of fever he was suffering.
BlindedByTheLight
23 Jan 2007, 13:25
not much to report from last night lads.
the asics were unleashed and felt great... can't compare them to the orignals tho...
New recruit Cam looks to have over come that bout of fever he was suffering.
sounds good. whos this new recruit Cam. where did he come from. will he make the firsts
The_KID
23 Jan 2007, 14:42
yeah rump what are you talking about?
West Gambier in the WBFL has signed Greensborough player Steve Ellis as an assistant coach for season 2007, the connection to West Gambier is they are coached by former Greensborough & Keilor player Ashleigh Brown.On reading his credentials and the high regard Brown has of him as a person and a player does he still stack it up even at the age of 34....and what type of player is he !?
Is Baker still living in Broadford Doona? If you can get him back there that will be a top get as you won't get many better full forwards than him.
Yeah Tusken Bakes still lives in town. To be honest I'm pretty sure he's staying by the Lake for '07 but I told our committee he's more than welcome to train with us when he aint heading to town, the more experience we can get on the track the better our kids will become.
bearfan
24 Jan 2007, 12:34
We are meeting with Craig Braddy (Guy appointed by Football Victoria to examine operations of the DVFL) to discuss any issues with the DVFL.
If anyone has any reasonable and sensible issues that they would like addressed / raised with Craig feel free to post here or PM me.
West Gambier in the WBFL has signed Greensborough player Steve Ellis as an assistant coach for season 2007, the connection to West Gambier is they are coached by former Greensborough & Keilor player Ashleigh Brown.On reading his credentials and the high regard Brown has of him as a person and a player does he still stack it up even at the age of 34....and what type of player is he !?
he trained at creek one pre-season and all you would get out of him was "bunch of grapes".
We are meeting with Craig Braddy (Guy appointed by Football Victoria to examine operations of the DVFL) to discuss any issues with the DVFL.
If anyone has any reasonable and sensible issues that they would like addressed / raised with Craig feel free to post here or PM me.
Give yah the mail, J & B, Matchwinner and Bubble wrap you guys usually come up with some good reasons of whats wrong with the DV, so you should PM Bearfan so he can bring it up with the head honcho. You could also post it on here too just to make work a bit more interesting for me too.;)
There hasn't been much worth reading on here recently, hope to see you at Watsy training tonight bubble wrap!
Give yah the mail, J & B, Matchwinner and Bubble wrap you guys usually come up with some good reasons of whats wrong with the DV, so you should PM Bearfan so he can bring it up with the head honcho. You could also post it on here too just to make work a bit more interesting for me too.;)
There hasn't been much worth reading on here recently, hope to see you at Watsy training tonight bubble wrap!
Bubble wrap will be at another piss up for his mates wedding tonight. It will be the total number of functions for this wedding alone to 43! ;)
Bruce Almighty
24 Jan 2007, 20:32
To Dear Force,
Maybe you should think for yourselves about the problems and just tell him and how it affects your club .that way he can put 2 and 2 together and come up with the answer that the Dv Admin are lacking grey matter.The direction of the comp,accountability of money and maybe a board being voted in by us suckers who pay the fees is a good start.
It would be great for each club to vote in a member then from that group develope a Board or just get someone from left field who has experience in this ******** to run it.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It is not science just logical .Progress comes from changes and when something refuses to change unfortunately it gets left behind.
Another talking point might be is that the bergers are on an all out assault to get even better than last year and over the summer have increased sponsorship with Optus on board.Not Bad i think.With the new web site not far away and our 12 new recruits the Dvalley goons are going to wish they let us Go.
Other than that good luck to all clubs it could be an interesting year.
Bubble Wrap
24 Jan 2007, 20:33
Force - I was there! I was the fat prick bringing up the rear in all the running.
We had our meeting with Craig Braddy last week. It lasted about two hours and covered most of the things that are discussed pretty regularly around here. Particularly the standard of umpiring, the tribunal, lack of accountability, and the fact that all the administrative processes and general running of the league are stone-aged (Exhibit A: dvfooty.com).
Turtz, it's a tough gig, but if I have to suck free pi$$ every second weekend for 6 months to help a mate get hitched, then I just have make the best of a bad situation and soldier on!
Bubble Wrap
24 Jan 2007, 20:37
To Dear Force,
Maybe you should think for yourselves about the problems and just tell him and how it affects your club .that way he can put 2 and 2 together and come up with the answer that the Dv Admin are lacking grey matter.The direction of the comp,accountability of money and maybe a board being voted in by us suckers who pay the fees is a good start.
It would be great for each club to vote in a member then from that group develope a Board or just get someone from left field who has experience in this ******** to run it.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Got a look at the "financial statements" (and I use the term loosely because the stooge that signed off on them should be banned from practising as an accountant).
The wages expenses of the league are supposedly on $70,000 (for two and a bit employees!). Then there is marketing expenses of approx $125K on a turnover of just over $500K.
Can anyone tell me how/where the DVFL spend a quarter of their turnover on marketing?
FOOTYLOONY
24 Jan 2007, 21:52
Seems Like Your Very Intrigued On The West Following.... As You Have Posted To Many Sights On Their Issues. Have A Connection Their Myself And Heard Their Restructuring. To Have Brown And Ellis Their Over A Few Years Or However Long With Juniors Will Be A Good Set Up. Both Top Blokes On And Off The Field.
Will Let West Know Your Following Them....
RiverRat
25 Jan 2007, 01:12
I think the new look diamond valley league should be more involved with the community with projects such as an employment for the handicapped scheme to combat the growing shortage of umpires.
matchwinner
25 Jan 2007, 08:28
Just been laying low waiting for the season to come around again.....
Don't think there's much to add that hasn't already been said. The main thing is that there is now an opportunity for change, so hopefully for the good of the DVFL, these issues are brought to the attention of Braddy and some changes are made.
Important also i think to change the reputation of the league out in the public. Is now commonly recognised as a thugs league that has dropped in standard, and it needs to be promoted with a new image and recognised for the talent of football being contested!!! A decent website would help promote a better image, as would less stories in the newspaper each season about under age violence at games.
Force - I was there! I was the fat prick bringing up the rear in all the running.
We had our meeting with Craig Braddy last week. It lasted about two hours and covered most of the things that are discussed pretty regularly around here. Particularly the standard of umpiring, the tribunal, lack of accountability, and the fact that all the administrative processes and general running of the league are stone-aged (Exhibit A: dvfooty.com).
Turtz, it's a tough gig, but if I have to suck free pi$$ every second weekend for 6 months to help a mate get hitched, then I just have make the best of a bad situation and soldier on!
Yes, good to see you at training big fella!
Thanks for the update, glad to hear that Watsy put those issues forward I hope the rest of the DVFL clubs will do the same, if not already! It would be great to see changes made.
Giveyathemail
25 Jan 2007, 11:22
I think that you will find that Craig Braddy will see the same things being addressed by most clubs. There really isnt too much that hasnt already been covered on here, in commitee meetings, delegates meetings and so forth over a long period of time. What we may find in Mr Braddy that we havent had from the clowns at DV house, is an understanding of circumstances and change in and around our competition. We may have a person that can explain reason and process to them, to make them understand that there are people out there at every single club that have suggestions and ideas that far outweigh those that have been implemented by the powers that be over the last 6 years.
Hopefully he can see the inconsistancys, and at least put the competition back on the right track. Only time will tell.
theprince
25 Jan 2007, 21:39
Not that it`s really important, but your Football Manager informed me during the negotiations for Ottens, Neill and Gill that what you were paying was well and truly in the top 2 category, which is fine. My figures on Bundoora were based on 2005 season and would have put them 30-40k below what it was stated that Monts budget was. As I`ve said though it`s not important, whatever a clubs happy to pay is up to them. In Singy`s case he`s a football mercenary, which he does not seem to worry about and perhaps the money could be better spent fostering the young talent around the club who are more likely to give back to the fibre of a club in the future. Singy will certainly be on a few club past player mailing lists by the time he retires though.
that what u have to pay for good players , he played at lower plenty in 2004 the worst side and kicked 70 goals from half forward not bad effort he worth what he can get
theprince
25 Jan 2007, 21:42
Not that it`s really important, but your Football Manager informed me during the negotiations for Ottens, Neill and Gill that what you were paying was well and truly in the top 2 category, which is fine. My figures on Bundoora were based on 2005 season and would have put them 30-40k below what it was stated that Monts budget was. As I`ve said though it`s not important, whatever a clubs happy to pay is up to them. In Singy`s case he`s a football mercenary, which he does not seem to worry about and perhaps the money could be better spent fostering the young talent around the club who are more likely to give back to the fibre of a club in the future. Singy will certainly be on a few club past player mailing lists by the time he retires though.
:confused:
he signed for a club in the central murray i think
BlindedByTheLight
26 Jan 2007, 09:55
Just been laying low waiting for the season to come around again.....
Don't think there's much to add that hasn't already been said. The main thing is that there is now an opportunity for change, so hopefully for the good of the DVFL, these issues are brought to the attention of Braddy and some changes are made.
Important also i think to change the reputation of the league out in the public. Is now commonly recognised as a thugs league that has dropped in standard, and it needs to be promoted with a new image and recognised for the talent of football being contested!!! A decent website would help promote a better image, as would less stories in the newspaper each season about under age violence at games.
hey, isnt it the clubs responsibility to help stamp out the alleged violence both at the senior and underage games. it is regularily the same clubs and players and their supporters who appear in the reports of these incidents. maybe if some particular clubs became more responsible and took pride in the league then that would be one issue that would quickly disappear. and im sure that it isnt the league that goes running to the newspapers, more likely people from clubs trying to big-note themselves and their club.
nice quote
Bobby Rivers
26 Jan 2007, 15:05
Signed with a club called Balranald for reportedly squillions. From what i read though may be worth the investment. Looking forward to seeing him play (on a teammate hopefully).
Jewelsandbullet
29 Jan 2007, 16:07
I believe the Mont committee meet with Mr Braddy in two weeks. As GYTM has said I think the feedback will be fairly similar from all clubs... we can only hope it gets some action/changes.
As to the season ahead - I'll get the ball rolling with my early DIV 1 predictions:
1. Mont (have to predict this before round 1!)
2. Heidelberg
3. Bundoora
4. Eltham (reckon they might have turned the corner)
5. West Preston (Larko to make a big difference along with some handy recruits)
6. Nth Heidelberg (treading water)
7. Diamond Creek (despite the influx of a few new creek boys onto this site - I can't see them improving that much)
8. Greensborough
9. Northcote Park
10. Epping
Don't know enough about DIV 2 - but I reckon Macleod and Lalor to play off.
Anyone else care to comment - or post a DIV 2 ladder...
puntersbruva
29 Jan 2007, 16:18
Macloed will be there for sure but not so sure about Lalor.
a heap of experianced players retired and or have left. but i have heard they have a heap of good kids, i think they need a couple of seasons to get back..
FOOTYBOSS
29 Jan 2007, 16:18
I believe the Mont committee meet with Mr Braddy in two weeks, so will have an opportunity to raise or feedback issues then. As GYTM has said I think the feedback will be fairly similar from all clubs... we can only hope it gets some action/changes.
As to the season ahead - I'll get the ball rolling with my early DIV 1 predictions:
2. Heidelberg
3. Bundoora
7. Diamond Creek (despite the influx of a few new creek boys onto this site - I can't see them improving that much)
8. Greensborough
9. Northcote Park
10. Epping
Interesting to see you have selected Greensborough to stay up. I think your right about Epping as being the team most likely to be relegated, just fought it off last year and from what I have heard havent picked up any players. However I wouldnt write off Northcote Park just yet, have heard some rumours about players heading back to the club. This is my predictions for the upcoming year.
1. Heidelberg
2. Montmorency
3. Bundoora
4. Eltham
5. West Preston
6. North Heidelberg
7. Northcote Park
8. Diamond Creek
9. Greensborough
10. Epping
I think it will come to down to who wins the games and by how much between the slime and the pingers for relegation.
Jewelsandbullet
29 Jan 2007, 16:34
Macloed will be there for sure but not so sure about Lalor.
a heap of experianced players retired and or have left. but i have heard they have a heap of good kids, i think they need a couple of seasons to get back..
If they can re-produce their 2005 DIV 1 form -where they won 10 games in their first season up, they will go very close.
Jewelsandbullet
29 Jan 2007, 16:37
Interesting to see you have selected Greensborough to stay up. I think your right about Epping as being the team most likely to be relegated, just fought it off last year and from what I have heard havent picked up any players. However I wouldnt write off Northcote Park just yet, have heard some rumours about players heading back to the club. This is my predictions for the upcoming year.
I think it will come to down to who wins the games and by how much between the slime and the pingers for relegation.
Yeah Northcote Park tough to predict - have not heard much other than Joe Amed is back.. I guess it depends on who he can bring with him.
matchwinner
30 Jan 2007, 08:08
I believe the Mont committee meet with Mr Braddy in two weeks. As GYTM has said I think the feedback will be fairly similar from all clubs... we can only hope it gets some action/changes.
2. Heidelberg
3. Bundoora
8. Greensborough
9. Northcote Park
10. Epping
To help with predictions, can we get a bit of feedback from people about who has left your club from last season and any new players who you have picked up, or are training with you???
ladder prediction:
1 Diamond Creek (eddie to take creek to the top!)
2 Daylight (creek wallop every team by an average of 200pts and have a mortgage on the flag)
3 Epping (surprise packet who push creek to a 50pt win)
4 Eltham (best of the rest)
5 West Preston
6 North Heidelberg
7 Northcote Park
8 Greensborough
9 Montmorency
10 Bundoora (beat Heidelberg twice to survive)
11 Heidelberg (fail to win a game and get relegated to D-Grade Armatures after an insipid)[/LIST]
Jewelsandbullet
30 Jan 2007, 12:17
To help with predictions, can we get a bit of feedback from people about who has left your club from last season and any new players who you have picked up, or are training with you???
New
J. McGough (younger brother of Mark)
Ben Finnan
Plugger Keenan and oldest brother Keenan
D. Attard from bundoora
R. Gutterson
Outs
Whitcher (retired)
Ottens (retired at this stage)
There may be a few more to leave, and a few more to sign - but they are still in the rumour category.
New
Ben Finnan
D. Attard from bundoora
R. Gutterson
Outs
Whitcher (retired)
There may be a few more to leave, and a few more to sign - but they are still in the rumour category.
as i said earlier d.attard a very handy pickup i rate him very highly
New
Ben Finnan
D. Attard from bundoora
R. Gutterson
Outs
Whitcher (retired)
How's Witch, I asked him last saturday why he wasn't playing. He said groin issues. Then the pr**k went and made a ton!
Jewelsandbullet
30 Jan 2007, 13:49
How's Witch, I asked him last saturday why he wasn't playing. He said groin issues. Then the pr**k went and made a ton!
Maybe he was referring to his cattling?
devil's advocte
30 Jan 2007, 13:50
news from floydy....all games in april, so first 3 rounds are called off at this stage
Maybe he was referring to his cattling?
Whatever it was, it ruined my A Grade debut! rrsshole he is! :p
devil's advocte
30 Jan 2007, 15:23
Just heard through my monty grapevine that they have BOTH DAVE HUGHES & PETER HELLIAR for a luncheon at the MONTY RSL 2nd MARCH. At $110 including 2 course meal and drinks I am going! A Should be a blast.
Mont Man
30 Jan 2007, 15:33
Montmorency Football Club, in conjunction with the Montmorency RSL proudly presents:
The Montmorency FC Business Lunch!
Guest entertainment: DAVE HUGHES & PETER HELLIAR
FRIDAY 2ND MARCH 2007
MONTMORENCY RSL
2 COURSE LUNCH INCL BEER WINE SOFT DRINK 1PM – 4PM
$110 PER TICKET LIMITED TICKETS
A great idea if you want an afternoon lunch to entertain clients, or you just simply want a top afternoon, watching two of the nation’s best comics.
Mont supporters on this forum organise the afternoon off NOW and get a table together...
J&B – no excuses!! Same to everyone else; should be a cracking afternoon.
PM me if you are interested and I will sort you out with tickets. They are selling quick!
thirstyforwater
30 Jan 2007, 15:33
Email from DVFL in regards to Stage 3 Water Restrictions and Start of Season 2007
Meeting with Banyule, Whittlesea and Nillumbik Council Reps on Monday 29th January at the DVFL.
Re Drought
To Senior & Junior Secretaries
From DVFL
30th January 2007
The DVFL met with the three councils above who advised us that if the water restrictions are not lifted there will be changes to the way council allocates grounds.
Councils are indicating that grey watering will not be permitted unless special permits are obtained.
All metropolitan Councils right across the board are contemplating the same rules.
Whether the rains come in February or March the Councils are advising us that no games are to be scheduled for April 2007.
Some suggestions.
Division Two to play a top four, first and second Semis to be played the same week to save ground usage.
Division One finals to remain as normal.
If the worst comes to the worst- the 2007 season shall be cancelled. Otherwise the season could run for 9 weeks for Senior Home and Away matches and 7 weeks for Junior home and away matches.
Second worst case scenario is that if the drought does not break we will be forced to allocate games to the “fit to play” ovals as listed and match suited ovals. Clubs shall be allocated the Pavilions as normal practice. However, the surface shall be allocated by time to the DVFL for it to schedule games.
Junior games play to a top two
Your suggestionsSome councils claim Yarra Water is against councils allowing clubs the right to use purchased grey water on their ovals for health and safety reasons, others are working through the club purchase watering issue.
Clubs need to adhere to the current restrictions for pre season matches and training.
Grounds that are being watered at present are as follows:
NILLUMBIK
Hurstbridge
Research Park
Yarrambat
Eltham Central when works are completed.
WHITTLESEA
The Lakes South Morang No 1 and No 2 grounds.
Whittlesea Showgrounds
Epping Reserve Main Oval
Redleap Reserve
BANYULE
Greensborough Anthony Beale
Lower Plenty
Watsonia
DAREBIN
Keon Park
West Preston Lakeside
Northcote
Wallan and Kinglake both have access to Bore Water.
During the football season Councils are inspecting all ovals on a weekly basis and may allow some grounds to be opened and then play a suitable game which will be scheduled by the competition.
Overall, all Councils and the DVFL do not wish to alter the season, these measures have been placed on us due to the drought conditions. The Council shall notify the League when Grounds are available for use and it is up to the DVFL to schedule a game to that oval. This will mean some fine negotiations for normal canteen profit etc.
This item has been circulated so that all clubs are aware and will be a tabled item on the Agenda for discussion at the Senior Delegates Meeting on Monday 5th February 2007. However, the councils control the ovals and the water restrictions control what can and can’t be watered.
If drought breaking rains arrive in March and the water restrictions are lifted then disregard the above.
Whittlesea Council is still adamant that there will be no night matches played on its ova
BlindedByTheLight
30 Jan 2007, 17:03
Email from DVFL in regards to Stage 3 Water Restrictions and Start of Season 2007
thanks for posting the email from the dvfl. not the greatest news but at least floydie and the dvfl executive are being proactive and keeping clubs informed, not like some other leagues who are just sprouting the obvious by saying we'll wait and see. well done to the dvfl.
whistle blower
30 Jan 2007, 20:14
leigh grey to m/park in edfl for a nice earner of 800 a game.not a bad day at the office for playing b grade over there
whistle blower
30 Jan 2007, 20:24
also heard johar saad to craigieburn in edfl
bernard the bipolar bear
30 Jan 2007, 20:55
Yeah Northcote Park tough to predict - have not heard much other than Joe Amed is back.. I guess it depends on who he can bring with him.
Haven't Northcote Park signed three blokes from the edfl. Nathan Mills, Ash Craig and Duane Whelan?
RiverRat
31 Jan 2007, 07:30
Montmorency Football Club, in conjunction with the Montmorency RSL proudly presents:
The Montmorency FC Business Lunch!
Guest entertainment: DAVE HUGHES & PETER HELLIAR
FRIDAY 2ND MARCH 2007
MONTMORENCY RSL
2 COURSE LUNCH INCL BEER WINE SOFT DRINK 1PM – 4PM
$110 PER TICKET LIMITED TICKETS
A great idea if you want an afternoon lunch to entertain clients, or you just simply want a top afternoon, watching two of the nation’s best comics.
Mont supporters on this forum organise the afternoon off NOW and get a table together...
J&B – no excuses!! Same to everyone else; should be a cracking afternoon.
PM me if you are interested and I will sort you out with tickets. They are selling quick!
Pfft we have that everyday at the Heidelberg RSL.
bigbadvojo
31 Jan 2007, 14:20
2. Heidelberg
3. Bundoora
8. Greensborough
9. Northcote Park
10. Epping
Mont may well finish on top, but they will choke as per usual and go out in straight sets!
Jewelsandbullet
31 Jan 2007, 14:30
Mont may well finish on top, but they will choke as per usual and go out in straight sets!
That's the beauty of a pre-season prediction bigbad.... we shall see.
You from a successful non-choking club yourself??
That's the beauty of a pre-season prediction bigbad.... we shall see.
You from a successful non-choking club yourself??
Epping is my guess J&B. :p
raidrboy
1 Feb 2007, 21:47
Can anyone give me some info on David Carroll who played at South Morang in 2005?
Iknowfooty
1 Feb 2007, 21:59
2. Heidelberg
3. Bundoora
8. Greensborough
9. Northcote Park
10. Epping
Dont know about Larko making a difference i think his days are numbered as a Coach. Was at his best when he coached the Port Melbourne Colts to a flag.
speculator
2 Feb 2007, 07:30
Can anyone give me some information regarding Dave Mcgregor please.
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 08:05
Dont know about Larko making a difference i think his days are numbered as a Coach. Was at his best when he coached the Port Melbourne Colts to a flag.
Beg to differ. Why are his days numbered??
Has a pretty good record wherever he has been, both coaching and assistant.
Not everyone that comes across him likes him - but you have to say he always has a multiple plans for opposition teams, and his pre-seasons when he was at Mont got us fitter than anyone has had us before or after.
he will make a difference at west... Just my opinion.
Bubble Wrap
2 Feb 2007, 08:36
Here's the prediction for Div 2 this season:
Watsonia (due to their incredibly talented ruck division :D)
Macleod
Lalor
Whittlesea
Thomastown
Lower Plenty
Reservoir
Mernda
Wallan
Hurstbridge
Panton Hill
South Morang
Kinglake
Heidelberg West
Parkside
Fawkner Park
Watsonia to win the GF by 742 goals, with Big Bad BJ Saw to win the comp B & F Medal!
(If you actually take Watsy out and slot them somewhere around the 4-7th mark, then that's my actual prediction).
devil's advocte
2 Feb 2007, 09:08
Given a free reign by the club to do things his way, larko will make a huge difference. He may not be liked by all, he doesnt have to be as long as the players perform, and at every club he has been at the players perform. besides if you want to know how good he is, or how good his tactics are, just ask him, he will tell you and tell you and tell you and tell you........
matchwinner
2 Feb 2007, 09:12
Here's the prediction for Div 2 this season:
Watsonia (due to their incredibly talented ruck division :D)
Macleod
Lalor
Whittlesea
Thomastown
Lower Plenty
Reservoir
Mernda
Wallan
Hurstbridge
Panton Hill
South Morang
Kinglake
Heidelberg West
Parkside
Fawkner Park
Watsonia to win the GF by 742 goals, with Big Bad BJ Saw to win the comp B & F Medal!
(If you actually take Watsy out and slot them somewhere around the 4-7th mark, then that's my actual prediction).
More than happy for us to be underrated this year. Look like picking up some very handy players who have been training with us, but until signed, sealed and delivered will say no more!!!
Also heard that unless there is some significant rain in Feb, season wont kick off until at least May.
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 09:16
Given a free reign by the club to do things his way, larko will make a huge difference. He may not be liked by all, he doesnt have to be as long as the players perform, and at every club he has been at the players perform. besides if you want to know how good he is, or how good his tactics are, just ask him, he will tell you and tell you and tell you and tell you........
Ha ha ha :thumbsu: true.
Although you make a good point devil about getting players to perform, Andrew Peppyat was in and out and played a few two's games the season before Larko arrived... Under Larko he transformed and thrived - rest is history.
Bubble Wrap
2 Feb 2007, 09:19
More than happy for us to be underrated this year. Look like picking up some very handy players who have been training with us, but until signed, sealed and delivered will say no more!!!
Also heard that unless there is some significant rain in Feb, season wont kick off until at least May.
Probably have underrated you blokes a bit, considering you flogged us by 20 goals! Pop yourselves up to 3rd and move everyone down one if it makes you feel better ;)
I just can't see there being much between any of the sides in the top 6-7 this year (although Macleod should take the bikkies this year I reckon). There doesn't appear to be a stand out team, and I think we could have the closest Div 2 season we've seen for a while. Like any bottom 8 side, our big test will come between rounds 8 and 15. If we could get through that with 5-3 or 4-4, we should be sitting pretty.
matchwinner
2 Feb 2007, 09:41
Probably have underrated you blokes a bit, considering you flogged us by 20 goals! Pop yourselves up to 3rd and move everyone down one if it makes you feel better ;)
I just can't see there being much between any of the sides in the top 6-7 this year (although Macleod should take the bikkies this year I reckon). There doesn't appear to be a stand out team, and I think we could have the closest Div 2 season we've seen for a while. Like any bottom 8 side, our big test will come between rounds 8 and 15. If we could get through that with 5-3 or 4-4, we should be sitting pretty.
Does seem like it could be an even season at this stage.
Would have to think Macleod and Lalor would be favourites.
Lalor have a pretty solid record in divi 2, although they have apparently lost a few. We certainly wont be taking them lightly.
Whilst Macleod have picked up Brandt, they have also lost Lynch. Replaced one 100 goal player with potentially another.
Thomastown could be the smokies. Can anyone confirm who they have added to last years list???
And Reservoir have apparently had a mass exodus!
Come on boys how could any one dislike larko,he has great ability as a coach at local level and yea he likes to brag a bit but that is coz he is comfidence in his ability and most time his had few frothy's when he talks like that
I will predict west preston will play diamond creek in the gf, my two mates larkin and caddy going head to head [two rough heads at that] both will make big differences at their respective clubs in 07
Is caddy Norms's twin from life be in it hahahahaha dead spit
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 11:29
Come on boys how could any one dislike larko,he has great ability as a coach at local level and yea he likes to brag a bit but that is coz he is comfidence in his ability and most time his had few frothy's when he talks like that
I will predict west preston will play diamond creek in the gf, my two mates larkin and caddy going head to head [two rough heads at that] both will make big differences at their respective clubs in 07
Is caddy Norms's twin from life be in it hahahahaha dead spit
I didn't know Caddy was confirmed to Creek (it's hard to keep up with the Caddy rumours sometimes)
You're right - he will have a massive impact. Perhaps more so than larko at West.
Reckon it will be a tighter race for finals this year.. lets hope we get the season away on time.
Giveyathemail
2 Feb 2007, 12:05
Mont didnt go out in straight sets, they beat North in the 1st semi and was then beaten by the eventual premiers.
I didn't know Caddy was confirmed to Creek (it's hard to keep up with the Caddy rumours sometimes)
You're right - he will have a massive impact. Perhaps more so than larko at West.
Reckon it will be a tighter race for finals this year.. lets hope we get the season away on time.
I reckon with Caddy now at D/C and with some of the other tryhard toughmen they have already at the club (not to mention them bogan supporters), I think they will be a very intimidating side in 07.
Oh, and I just can't wait until Creek play against North Heidelberg - (Caddy has a few beefs with his former club / and issues that happened last season btwn both clubs will surely mean = anger) promises to be some of the best street brawling you will ever see :thumbsu:
Oh, and I just can't wait until Creek play against North Heidelberg - (Caddy has a few beefs with his former club / and issues that happened last season btwn both clubs will surely mean = anger) promises to be some of the best street brawling you will ever see :thumbsu:[/QUOTE]
This is why the DV has never gotten anywhere in the past and will continue to be the worst local league in the future because of this attitude of pumping up a football match as "some of the best street brawling you will ever see"
This is why the DV has never gotten anywhere in the past and will continue to be the worst local league in the future because of this attitude of pumping up a football match as "some of the best street brawling you will ever see"[/quote]
Dear Nugget,
******** off you ******** sucking ********er.
The regular posters to this thread know my comments are tongue in cheek, and whilst I, like many enjoy the odd verbal and physical stoush, I'm deadset against undue and unecessary violence and thuggery.
Having said this, D/creek and Nth have built themselves a healthy little rivalry over recent years and both teams live & die by the sword. This has nothing to do with DVFL and is not reflective of the majority of the teams that represent it. It is just a basic fact, whether you like it or not!
Now piss back off to your other pathetic little forums and leave the DV thread to those who have something that is either useful, insightful, or otherwise humorous to say.
Good Bye
BlindedByTheLight
2 Feb 2007, 14:25
Can anyone give me some information regarding Dave Mcgregor please.
i believe that he is training at north heidelberg with half of last seasons reservoir players could be a takeover by the blues.
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 14:34
[/QUOTE]This is why the DV has never gotten anywhere in the past and will continue to be the worst local league in the future because of this attitude of pumping up a football match as "some of the best street brawling you will ever see"[/QUOTE]
Worst local league??
You just lost all credibility.. oh hang on .. you never had any. Boot off tool :thumbsd:
This is why the DV has never gotten anywhere in the past and will continue to be the worst local league in the future because of this attitude of pumping up a football match as "some of the best street brawling you will ever see"[/QUOTE]
Worst local league??
You just lost all credibility.. oh hang on .. you never had any. Boot off tool :thumbsd:[/QUOTE]
Name one that is better......
This is why the DV has never gotten anywhere in the past and will continue to be the worst local league in the future because of this attitude of pumping up a football match as "some of the best street brawling you will ever see"
Dear Nugget,
******** off you ******** sucking ********er.
The regular posters to this thread know my comments are tongue in cheek, and whilst I, like many enjoy the odd verbal and physical stoush, I'm deadset against undue and unecessary violence and thuggery.
Having said this, D/creek and Nth have built themselves a healthy little rivalry over recent years and both teams live & die by the sword. This has nothing to do with DVFL and is not reflective of the majority of the teams that represent it. It is just a basic fact, whether you like it or not!
Now piss back off to your other pathetic little forums and leave the DV thread to those who have something that is either useful, insightful, or otherwise humorous to say.
Good Bye[/QUOTE]
No worries will let u guys discuss your teams that play on glorified cow paddocks, run by dinosaur administrators. And don't say that NH & DC are the only bad eggs in the basket, you and i have seen enough of the DV to know this is not true......
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 14:53
:thumbsd:
Name one that is better......
Nugget?! You really are the aptly named.
What are trying to ask me you dribbler??
To name one better??
I can probably name a few local leagues that are better than the DV. But that's not the issue.. the issue is that you said it was the WORST ..I can however name plenty worse.
But until you get a grip on the following: reality, life, and simple English .. I don't think you deserve my responses.. so refer to previous post and boot off.
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 14:59
No worries will let u guys discuss your teams that play on glorified cow paddocks, run by dinosaur administrators. And don't say that NH & DC are the only bad eggs in the basket, you and i have seen enough of the DV to know this is not true......
Thanx Nuggy - promise never to come back. You ruin the ambience
[QUOTE=Jewelsandbullet;6649508]:thumbsd:
..I can however name plenty worse.
Name them.....
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 15:04
Name them.....
No nuggy - you still don't have a grip on any of those things that I asked you to study up on... you need to go away and work on your game son.
While you are at it learn how to quote people responses in your posts.. that way its easier to follow your dribbler arguments. Bye now. :p
Well Done J & B,
As always you were able to chase the ******** sucker away more aptly than I ever could.
I sometimes wish, that I was more like you, but I draw the line at wearing that little skirt of yours.
: )
K.A
[quote=Jewelsandbullet;6649508]:thumbsd:
..I can however name plenty worse.
Name them.....
boot off picklehead
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 15:13
Well Done J & B,
As always you were able to chase the ******** sucker away more aptly than I ever could.
I sometimes wish, that I was more like you, but I draw the line at wearing that little skirt of yours.
: )
K.A
it's called a sarong.. I'll have you know! :eek:
Jewelsandbullet
2 Feb 2007, 15:17
boot off picklehead
Matty is in the house and look out he his angry.. first week back at school and he has the **********s up.
How are you mate? You playing this season?
:thumbsd:
Nugget?! You really are the aptly named.
What are trying to ask me you dribbler??
To name one better??
I can probably name a few local leagues that are better than the DV. But that's not the issue.. the issue is that you said it was the WORST ..I can however name plenty worse.
But until you get a grip on the following: reality, life, and simple English .. I don't think you deserve my responses.. so refer to previous post and boot off.
How do you equate me not having a grip on reality, life & simple english to answering a simple question which I posed to you- name the leagues that are worse? Until you decide to answer the question, I may agree that there are worse, I will keep asking
Matty is in the house and look out he his angry.. first week back at school and he has the **********s up.
How are you mate? You playing this season?
yeh not to bad thanks mate
yeh certainly playing this season well hopefully we can with the drought
Well ******** me, Nugget the ******** Head is back. He has been chased off every other thread he has posted on and then comes back to haunt the DV Thread,
Why us? Why this Thread? We were all good Mates (even G.Y.T.M).
Can't you please just go back to Sooky La la Land, and leave us people alone.
RiverRat
2 Feb 2007, 16:53
Nugget is a wonderful human being. Give him a break.
chopsewie
3 Feb 2007, 08:54
2. Heidelberg
3. Bundoora
8. Greensborough
9. Northcote Park
10. Epping
HEIDELBERG [too many good players over 26] MONT [ if the finals were at mont they would be going for a three peat] BUNDOORA [ lost a few have'nt picked up any would be a long shot] DIAMONDCREEK [ Picked up five or six quality players will upset a few but no match for heidelberg no one is for that matter] WEST PRESTON [ with a new coach and some new players big chance at the four will fight it out with Diamo but as Diamo wont do much damage in the finals. Nth HEIDELBERG [ same as every year dont pick anyone up but always finish in the top five never under estimate them can get lucky but this year looks to be the worst list they've had in a long time.] NORTHCOTE PARK [ With the general Amad and some recruits could upset a few] GREENSBOROUGH fight EPPING for relagation. I beleive this will be pretty close HEIDELBERG to good for the flag .
chopsewie
3 Feb 2007, 08:59
Woops ELTHAM to fight it outwith DC and WP for a spot in the four
devil's advocte
3 Feb 2007, 13:03
way things are going at the league the season could be a one day royal rumble. League is asking clubs if they would drop the reserve competition and play double headers at a league chosen venue with the clubs to take a 5 way split including the DV on canteen and bar. Can you imagine the day? 12pm game NH v DC then the 2pm game Mont v GB.
Most clubs would have to fold the next year
already there are poachers on our forum asking for players to come to geelong and its going to get worse.
RiverRat
3 Feb 2007, 19:45
way things are going at the league the season could be a one day royal rumble. League is asking clubs if they would drop the reserve competition and play double headers at a league chosen venue with the clubs to take a 5 way split including the DV on canteen and bar. Can you imagine the day? 12pm game NH v DC then the 2pm game Mont v GB.
already there are poachers on our forum asking for players to come to geelong and its going to get worse.
Have faith, the Mansfield bees indicate that the rains will come.
BlindedByTheLight
4 Feb 2007, 12:56
can yu substantionate thsi rumour of yours as my club hasnt heard of this. any oficial document available.
Jimmy Gwilt
5 Feb 2007, 09:59
JIMMYS THOUGHTS
Heidelberg will still be too strong in division one and the only side that will rattle them will be Bundoora - Hally will kick his bag of goals most weeks and Power will also sneak in with his 3 and 4s - If Shearer is still playing he will also dominate and trew will still be his tough self - heidelberg give me nightmares:eek: - cos always been a whitewash when i play em -
West Preston will be the wildcard i think as they have a good side and alot of good young kids on the up and will only get better - Fab will guide them in the right direction and Morrison will add alot more to the fwd line along with baker ( if hes staying ? ) - Grainger needs a good year for them to be up there but i dont think they will come close to a bundoora or heidelberg - time will tell - North Hdbg will be a good unit too but will be without puffer - big loss - fkn BIG MAN LOL - Not sure who they have picked up and who has left but id expect them to be in the four along with mont who im also not sure who has come and left - Diamond Creek will be a good unit and i like their run. them and west will be evenly matched i think when it comes to matches won at the end of the season - Epping im not too confident about they seemed to have a not so good year last year and have not so many good young kids coming through - theres a few there dont get me wrong but not as good as the kids at west - diamo - eltham . Epping picked up peckham from hursty i think - theyll be hoping he kicks a bag for em most weeks and i hope he can ( great Bloke ) - Eltham and nct pk will have a good year but dont think will make the finals - Macleod will fight it out with epping for the spoon i think but its early so u cant predict the future so what ive said in here some will be right and some totally wrong
Cheers Everyone - Brad