View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Giveyathemail
19 May 2006, 14:01
In regards to that fight, we have to remember that it takes two to tango. The Creek faithful love a blue as much as the Shelley St boys...
Its over with now, a this week is upon us.
Northcote Park to beat Eltham in a thriller, Mont to account for the Doggies at home (if Cesari plays, keep Saul away from him) Bundoora over Creek, Heidelberg to pump WPL, and we should account for the Pingers.
Jewelsandbullet
19 May 2006, 14:07
In regards to that fight, we have to remember that it takes two to tango. The Creek faithful love a blue as much as the Shelley St boys...
Its over with now, a this week is upon us.
Northcote Park to beat Eltham in a thriller, Mont to account for the Doggies at home (if Cesari plays, keep Saul away from him) Bundoora over Creek, Heidelberg to pump WPL, and we should account for the Pingers.
Cesari is in.
Hoping it’s not a wet slog - think that will play into their hands a bit. Especially being at the kennel
Giveyathemail
19 May 2006, 14:12
Cesari is in.
Hoping it’s not a wet slog - think that will play into their hands a bit. Especially being at the kennel
I think they said 15 and rain JB, but its a good test to see where you guys are really at I guess. They are a small side, but one of their strengths is their willingness to run through the lines and carry the ball and I think that if it rains that may be an advantage to you guys, because a slog actually negates that style of play.
Jewelsandbullet
19 May 2006, 14:18
I think they said 15 and rain JB, but its a good test to see where you guys are really at I guess. They are a small side, but one of their strengths is their willingness to run through the lines and carry the ball and I think that if it rains that may be an advantage to you guys, because a slog actually negates that style of play.
Interesting. We have more speed this year and have also been running lines, creating a free man and playing more direct ... maybe a slog will suit neither. Big test.
manmountain
19 May 2006, 14:22
the dvfl is up there with the poorest run leagues going around the same people with the same ideas have run this league the whole time i remember and in that time i seen it black flip from the best and strongest football league to now a very ordinary comp and if it werent for teams like bundoora heidleberg northcote park lalor and so on who brought the best players possible to thier teams to raise the standard of footy to the highest level in my true belief this league would of went down hill a long time ago especially while those at the top keep robbing the place
Spot on.
My mail was that the stooge that runs it is on $70K and a car (plus his missus is on the payroll). That's outrageous. The affiliation fees are the highest in metropolitan Melbourne, and they can't even put together a decent website, tribunal system, etc.
For comparison, the DVCA (which has more clubs and more teams) is run by a part time administrator for an honorarium in the order of $10-15K, and is a much better run operation.
Giveyathemail
19 May 2006, 14:32
Spot on.
My mail was that the stooge that runs it is on $70K and a car (plus his missus is on the payroll). That's outrageous. The affiliation fees are the highest in metropolitan Melbourne, and they can't even put together a decent website, tribunal system, etc.
For comparison, the DVCA (which has more clubs and more teams) is run by a part time administrator for an honorarium in the order of $10-15K, and is a much better run operation.
Im not sure about the cricket side of things, but I reckon your not far off the mark with the head honcho and his bitch there bigfella... Been going on for years.
whitelinefeva
19 May 2006, 14:44
What's the deal with Cesari and Saul Giveya, some bad blood?
Have A Crack
19 May 2006, 14:48
Spot on.
Let's be honest who would want that job at the moment running the DVFL.
You would'nt do the job for less than $100K Package !!!
Giveyathemail
19 May 2006, 14:49
What's the deal with Cesari and Saul Giveya, some bad blood?
Yeah mate, Saul just had enough of Jai's ability to constantly talk s h i t one night and went bang.... then bang bang bang. :)
Saul got in a cab to head to the Casino and saw Jai, ordered the cab to stop, got out and went bang again, and that was it.
Dont know many blokes that do like Cesari...
Can anyone tell if Steven Orr is still playing in this league?.
He played at northcote park a few years back ,tall wirey utility.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
19 May 2006, 16:44
Can anyone tell if Steven Orr is still playing in this league?.
He played at northcote park a few years back ,tall wirey utility.
See Missing Persons thread.... we're in the middle of a conversation
Yeah mate, Saul just had enough of Jai's ability to constantly talk s h i t one night and went bang.... then bang bang bang. :)
Saul got in a cab to head to the Casino and saw Jai, ordered the cab to stop, got out and went bang again, and that was it.
Makes sense, not many people like Cesari.
Not many people Saul Caddy has not wacked.
Jewelsandbullet
19 May 2006, 17:12
You’re an interesting man Giveya- your posts so often filled with sound footy logic… then you come out with this crap???
Where are you getting your mail?
You said in an earlier post today “it takes two to tango” equally “there are two side to every story” – and your side is just wrong. You have the wrong bloke mate – it wasn’t Ces, it was another man from Mont. Even given that… I don’t think it was one sided as you describe.
TheMadRicer
19 May 2006, 17:17
Wrong bloke GYTM...and wrong ending...
ifyoucandodgeawrench
19 May 2006, 17:26
Wrong bloke GYTM...and wrong ending...
Must have been a mixup and the mail house again....:confused:
melbdocker
19 May 2006, 18:00
Yes i know for sure that a bulldogs suppoter or reserves player pulled out a hockey stick but i think it was ripped off him b4 he hit ne one wit it then snaped and thown in the creek. yeah i have to agree wit giveya on this one i think some of the boys down my way can get sucked in easy dont like taking a backwards step. but what i was really happy wit is that not 1 player from either side got involved and that was a big suprise espesh wit blokes like saul, jase dean, brant from nth and kankan and hoppe from creek in what was a very physcal game.
a few creek boys went out there and laid some pretty big bumps just to show that they werent gunna get intimadated how ever they did cop them back and not alot of bad feeling which is always good to see.
ne way look forward to this week and just hope we can be as competative as last week against the bulls.
hugs_dancer
19 May 2006, 18:22
Yes i know for sure that a bulldogs suppoter or reserves player pulled out a hockey stick but i think it was ripped off him b4 he hit ne one wit it then snaped and thown in the creek. yeah i have to agree wit giveya on this one i think some of the boys down my way can get sucked in easy dont like taking a backwards step. but what i was really happy wit is that not 1 player from either side got involved and that was a big suprise espesh wit blokes like saul, jase dean, brant from nth and kankan and hoppe from creek in what was a very physcal game.
a few creek boys went out there and laid some pretty big bumps just to show that they werent gunna get intimadated how ever they did cop them back and not alot of bad feeling which is always good to see.
ne way look forward to this week and just hope we can be as competative as last week against the bulls.
hey melbdocker,
got any key match ups coming into the game against the bulls? who will u have to stop if u guys wanna win?
EDFL MAN
19 May 2006, 18:32
You’re an interesting man Giveya- your posts so often filled with sound footy logic… then you come out with this crap???
You said in an earlier post today “it takes two to tango” equally “there are two side to every story” – and your side is just wrong. You have the wrong bloke mate – it wasn’t Ces, it was another man from Mont. Even given that… I don’t think it was one sided as you describe.
Correction Jews, three sides to a story: There side, your side and most all the truth! :cool:
melbdocker
19 May 2006, 19:21
um i would say mark kankanpa #11 would take ur no.1 forward and rhett mcdonald #1 would take ur 2nd
shannon loagan will run our midfield ur coaching staff will know if his ablity (i feel like TOC wit kane cooper should stop talking about him lol) tim cusak will prob run wit someone good not sure what else will happen dont know if ne one got droped after last week how about u blokes is heath ayres playing was a gun as a junior that bloke
touch of class
20 May 2006, 00:34
for starters melb docker im not kane cooper if you red my posts correctly you would know that im at every northcote park game and kane is now playing at port colts and as for shannon logan where did i talk about shannon logan except for answering your question in reguards to him and peter dean
melbdocker
20 May 2006, 10:08
it was a joke mate i ment that i have said his name a few times lately and a few blokes got stuck into u about talkin about ur mate kane sorry mate just a bit of banter
TheMadRicer
20 May 2006, 20:34
it was a joke mate i ment that i have said his name a few times lately and a few blokes got stuck into u about talkin about ur mate kane sorry mate just a bit of banter
You should know there's no place for humour on this site Melbdocker. Life is far too serious here for that.
Can probably rule a line through the Doggies after today.Looks like they've lost that 5% of hunger they had last year - not to mention a lot of speed. The Mont mosquito fleet ran rings around them and the 10 goal margin should have been greater.Will be hard to beat when Ottens, Frosty and Curtly all slip back in.
Super game next week at the nest against Ayresy, Budgey and the Bulls. Both sides are travelling.
See Missing Persons thread.... we're in the middle of a conversationYou just won this weeks W A n ker award well done tosser
Giveyathemail
21 May 2006, 11:07
My mail comes direct from the horses mouth. If I am proved wrong then i will belatedly apologise to you JB... My opinion of Cesari as a player and a bloke will never change.
Absolutly devastated with yesterdays result... The positives being the outstanding debut of Ben (Jaime lee) Curtiss and Soppa getting back to some rare form. Losing yesterday hurts more than any Grand final ive ever lost. Hard week on the track to look forward to...
Bubble Wrap
21 May 2006, 13:46
Good win by Watsonia yesterday - 9 goal to 1 second quarter setting up a 10 goal win. Shane Potter the main man with 8, but plenty of support from the other forwards was nice, makes the set-up look a lot less one dimensional when other blokes can get amongst it.
Some strange results in Div 2 - teams winning games you'd expect them to lose, and then losing ones they're expected to win a week later. Burra have to be slight favourites, but Macleod, Lower, Mernda, Reservoir and Whittlesea all look to have some claims, although Lower have hit a bit of a speed hump at 2-3 - I'm assuming injuries (mitchfc - any info?) because you wouldn't think that a team could come down from Divvy 1 and be in that position without some extenuating circumstances.
Two more weeks to go before the draw "switches" and the bottom eight and top eight start playing each other. Then it will start to sort itself out. Expecting to see some massive changes in the ladder after then - Wallan and Thomastown look the two most likely from the bottom 8 half to push some top 8 teams, but I reckon the 6 teams named above will form the top 6 come year end. Will make for an interesting finals series, as on their day they can all beat each other.
hottip06
21 May 2006, 14:50
although Lower have hit a bit of a speed hump at 2-3 - I'm assuming injuries (mitchfc - any info?) because you wouldn't think that a team could come down from Divvy 1 and be in that position without some extenuating circumstances.
That is what i meant by embarrassing yourself and your club Mitch by getting on here and making comments about Lower being this and that if only we could get a full side, etc, etc, etc.
Facts are that yet again you have fallen short against a side that is younger and less experienced than your own at your home ground!
I actually came and watched the game for my own interest, the first div 2 game i have seen for a long time and i have to say that i was appalled at the standard, the skills, the decision making, everything! The gap between div 1 and 2 is a lot greater than i thought!
it was the kind of footy that puts you off watching/playing footy!
Bubble Wrap
21 May 2006, 15:10
That is what i meant by embarrassing yourself and your club Mitch by getting on here and making comments about Lower being this and that if only we could get a full side, etc, etc, etc.
Facts are that yet again you have fallen short against a side that is younger and less experienced than your own at your home ground!
I actually came and watched the game for my own interest, the first div 2 game i have seen for a long time and i have to say that i was appalled at the standard, the skills, the decision making, everything! The gap between div 1 and 2 is a lot greater than i thought!
That's typical Division 1 arrogance. If the gap was as big as a lot of Division 1 people would have you believe, then how on earth does Diamond Creek come up and get within 2 points of the reigning premiers (and have more scoring shots). I agree that the poorer games aren't close to Div 1 standard, but similarly, plenty of Div 1 clubs are capable of putting on a show that wouldn't look out of place in Divvy 2 match. It is only a few good players difference between winning Div 2 and being a capable Div 1 side. I would think that the top 6 players at even middle of the road clubs in Div 2 would get a senior game at most Div 1 clubs - the difference is that the depth isn't there in Div 2 and a lot of clubs don't have the quality all over the ground.
battista
21 May 2006, 15:47
how is josh summers going at lalor?
Have A Crack
21 May 2006, 16:38
how is josh summers going at lalor?
He is doing very well.
Has a Great Leap and reads the ball well.
matchwinner
21 May 2006, 18:56
Wasn't a great spectacle - and we're playing well below our best and shouldn't make excuses. But we are missing 6 of our first 18, including our ruckman, 2 from our spine and 2 physical onballers. Add to that 3 goal umpiring mistakes and yesterday's result would have been different. But we were in a position to win at 3/4 time and didn't respond, which was very disappointing.
It is very easy for blokes like yourself to make comments from the other side of the fence. You must have been a champion player. Can you fill me in on your playing history now that you are a critic from the other side of the fence?
matchwinner
21 May 2006, 19:01
Good win by Watsonia yesterday - 9 goal to 1 second quarter setting up a 10 goal win. Shane Potter the main man with 8, but plenty of support from the other forwards was nice, makes the set-up look a lot less one dimensional when other blokes can get amongst it.
Some strange results in Div 2 - teams winning games you'd expect them to lose, and then losing ones they're expected to win a week later. Burra have to be slight favourites, but Macleod, Lower, Mernda, Reservoir and Whittlesea all look to have some claims, although Lower have hit a bit of a speed hump at 2-3 - I'm assuming injuries (mitchfc - any info?) because you wouldn't think that a team could come down from Divvy 1 and be in that position without some extenuating circumstances.
Two more weeks to go before the draw "switches" and the bottom eight and top eight start playing each other. Then it will start to sort itself out. Expecting to see some massive changes in the ladder after then - Wallan and Thomastown look the two most likely from the bottom 8 half to push some top 8 teams, but I reckon the 6 teams named above will form the top 6 come year end. Will make for an interesting finals series, as on their day they can all beat each other.
Yeh Lower been hit by injuries. Super - captain and ruckman, Andy Knee - bog first four weeks and can play anywhere, Mark White, Gaugey - very good in first game for the club a couple weeks back, Chris Hauser - experienced full back. All experienced and physical players, and the young players haven't been able to cover their absence. But still shattering loss and didn't stand up in the last quarter when the game was on the line.
Still a long way to go in the season though, so have to remain positive. Losses have only been very narrow and we hope that getting those key players back will reverse those results.
hottip06
21 May 2006, 19:20
If the gap was as big as a lot of Division 1 people would have you believe, then how on earth does Diamond Creek come up and get within 2 points of the reigning premiers (and have more scoring shots).
Just have a quick think about what you've just said! First of all i stand by my comments that the gap between div 1 and div 2 is a massive one, and further on from that the gap between the top four (hied, mont, bund, nth heid) and the bottom six (elth, diamo, lalor, west prest, ntce pk, epp) is also extreme.
How did diamo get within 2 points against north? firstly north are a shadow of the side that won the flag last year with key departures hurting them, mont proved that on the weekend! secondly anyone can play well on any given day and vice versa, obviously the doggies had a shocker and diamo were able to capitalise and make them pay. that happens.
Richmond beat Adelaide on the weekend, does that mean Richmond belong? Of course it doesn't, but they played well on the day. The western bulldogs beat them by over 100 in round one and sydney did the same last week.
Similarly Diamo too have been belted by the better sides, Mont had 48 scoring shots to 17 against them and bundoora smashed them at the weekend! They should be able to win a couple against the other bottom six in closer games and that would be a fair result.
It's not arrogance mate, its just the facts!
mitch_fc
21 May 2006, 20:13
Having played div 1 last year, and div 2 this year, i will say there is a fairly big gap in the standard. But a div 2 side should be able to go up to div 1 and be competitive if they pick up a couple of players, which is usually the case.
As for Lower, we have been dissapointing. The players mentioned by Matchwinner will all make a big impact when they're back though. And I dunno where Hause will slot into the side.... the bloke at Full Back yesterday was on fire :D
Yesterdays match against Macleod was not the prettiest match. 2 young sides, both had a crack. Macleod often found space and run, Lower couldnt. Didnt help us that there were 2 shocking goal umpire calls on the line, and the younger umpire was a arrogant little prik with a very slim grasp of the game of football.
Monty Flag favourites now???
melbdocker
21 May 2006, 20:56
i'll tell u how we got within 2 points the dogs walked out onto our home ground and just thought they could all ova us and didn't really switch on on the big ground pick up players and were well beaten for pace untill there was a break in play and brett handcock had the chance to say hang on guys they are serious today dont go out there wacking blokes run and play smart footy then jarrod king/josh jones/martello run creek off their tired legs. yes should have finished them off yes should have kicked straight and yes they are not as good as last yr but still a good unit and will most likely play finals
mont and bundoora didnt take us lightly at all and smashed us
p.s very disapointed in 3 quaters y day
monty and bundoora should be a rippa of a game
but for sum reason the bulls never have any luck down at para rd
mitch_fc
21 May 2006, 22:27
monty and bundoora should be a rippa of a game
but for sum reason the bulls never have any luck down at para rd
big test for both sides. Winner will be favourite for a place in GF.
Giveyathemail
22 May 2006, 13:59
That's typical Division 1 arrogance. If the gap was as big as a lot of Division 1 people would have you believe, then how on earth does Diamond Creek come up and get within 2 points of the reigning premiers (and have more scoring shots). I agree that the poorer games aren't close to Div 1 standard, but similarly, plenty of Div 1 clubs are capable of putting on a show that wouldn't look out of place in Divvy 2 match. It is only a few good players difference between winning Div 2 and being a capable Div 1 side. I would think that the top 6 players at even middle of the road clubs in Div 2 would get a senior game at most Div 1 clubs - the difference is that the depth isn't there in Div 2 and a lot of clubs don't have the quality all over the ground.
Having played in both Divisions, I can honestly say that it is alot faster, physical and a far better standard of footy. Anyone that says there is no difference is kidding themselves, and couldnt possibly have played both. Individuals that are guns in Divvy 2 sides usually come up and be very handy players in Divvy 1. Very handy, but no longer the gun... they struggle with the quality of the opposition, the pace of the game and dont live up to their expectations. Ive also known average Divvy 1 players to go down to Divvy 2 and be very good, consistant players.
The middle of the road sides in Divvy 2 are very average at best. You usually have 2 or 3 standouts, a couple of roughys and surprises then it just drops off... It is almost impossible to pick the Divvy 2 premier this year, because the roughys are alot better than most wouldve expected. Look through the results in the record, it says it all. I picked Thommo to make the top 6 earlier this year and I still beleive they will. I also said that Lower were no certaintys to even make the Grand Final, because they had a very poor list last year, and the players they gained barely make up for those that left in 2005.
I guess time will tell.
Giveyathemail
22 May 2006, 14:03
big test for both sides. Winner will be favourite for a place in GF.
Big game this week, even bigger the week after (H'berg V Mont)
Bubble Wrap
22 May 2006, 14:15
Having played in both Divisions, I can honestly say that it is alot faster, physical and a far better standard of footy. Anyone that says there is no difference is kidding themselves, and couldnt possibly have played both.
Not saying there is no difference, just saying that a lot of Div 1 followers carry one like it's jumping from under 12's to the AFL. Of course Div 1 is better (that's why it's Div 1!) but any Div 2 premiership team that goes up and picks up 3-4 good players has a fair chance of holding their spot.
I think a lot of Division 1's superiority comes from the physical side of the game - strength, speed and stamina. The difference in physical attributes is more pronounced than any difference in skill level between the two divisions.
matchwinner
22 May 2006, 14:19
Having played in both Divisions, I can honestly say that it is alot faster, physical and a far better standard of footy. Anyone that says there is no difference is kidding themselves, and couldnt possibly have played both. Individuals that are guns in Divvy 2 sides usually come up and be very handy players in Divvy 1. Very handy, but no longer the gun... they struggle with the quality of the opposition, the pace of the game and dont live up to their expectations. Ive also known average Divvy 1 players to go down to Divvy 2 and be very good, consistant players.
The middle of the road sides in Divvy 2 are very average at best. You usually have 2 or 3 standouts, a couple of roughys and surprises then it just drops off... It is almost impossible to pick the Divvy 2 premier this year, because the roughys are alot better than most wouldve expected. Look through the results in the record, it says it all. I picked Thommo to make the top 6 earlier this year and I still beleive they will. I also said that Lower were no certaintys to even make the Grand Final, because they had a very poor list last year, and the players they gained barely make up for those that left in 2005.
I guess time will tell.
Being involved with Lower i agree that we are no certainties to make Grand Final and would need to play a lot better to do so. A lot of hard work to be done. But in saying that, there is still a very long way to go and finals aren't won in April and May, although they can be lost, as you guys and us could testify at the moment. We both probably need to get a bit of a move on!
The players we lost have certainly stood up for their new clubs in Divi 1, with Dave Mitchell leading comp voting in footy record and Luke Ottens not far behind. We picked up a player better than both those two though, and our other recruits haven't really been on the paddock yet. As I said earlier, all our losses have been very narrow and we would hope that with players returning we can reverse those results. But at this stage we probably need to look no further ahead than this week and getting a win on the board.
Thomastown have certainly made a promising start. But as we know the fixture is structured the way it is, and Thomastown haven't come up against anyone who will be there at the business end yet, so time will tell how much they have improved.
Giveyathemail
22 May 2006, 14:30
Being involved with Lower i agree that we are no certainties to make Grand Final and would need to play a lot better to do so. A lot of hard work to be done. But in saying that, there is still a very long way to go and finals aren't won in April and May, although they can be lost, as you guys and us could testify at the moment. We both probably need to get a bit of a move on!
The players we lost have certainly stood up for their new clubs in Divi 1, with Dave Mitchell leading comp voting in footy record and Luke Ottens not far behind. We picked up a player better than both those two though, and our other recruits haven't really been on the paddock yet. As I said earlier, all our losses have been very narrow and we would hope that with players returning we can reverse those results. But at this stage we probably need to look no further ahead than this week and getting a win on the board.
Thomastown have certainly made a promising start. But as we know the fixture is structured the way it is, and Thomastown haven't come up against anyone who will be there at the business end yet, so time will tell how much they have improved.
Both of you guys make very valid points... Division 2 is alot closer this year, anyone of 5 or 6 could give it a real shake this year I reckon.
TonyCampbell06
22 May 2006, 14:44
i have noticed that Pow from Heidelberg West is one of the leading goalkickers in Div 2 after kicking two bags of 10 in the first four rounds. anyone know anything about this guy? and also, Scott Ferrier (no.6 i think) from Eltham? i hear he's a tall, athletic type, kicked 3 on debut. can anyone give me details on these two blokes?
EDFL MAN
22 May 2006, 14:46
i have noticed that Pow from Heidelberg West is one of the leading goalkickers in Div 2 after kicking two bags of 10 in the first four rounds. anyone know anything about this guy? and also, Scott Ferrier (no.6 i think) from Eltham? i hear he's a tall, athletic type, kicked 3 on debut. can anyone give me details on these two blokes?
Tony...you should know who he is! Your from strathmore and Matty Pow is from there champ. Fill them in maybe! :eek:
TonyCampbell06
22 May 2006, 14:54
Tony...you should know who he is! Your from strathmore and Matty Pow is from there champ. Fill them in maybe! :eek:
i didn't have a hell of alot to do with Pow, had nothing to do with him quite frankly. yes i am a strathmore man, but as Pow was a reserves player last year, I didn't get to see him play. i know very minimal about him :confused: that is why i'm asking for greater detail
EDFL MAN
22 May 2006, 15:01
i didn't have a hell of alot to do with Pow, had nothing to do with him quite frankly. yes i am a strathmore man, but as Pow was a reserves player last year, I didn't get to see him play. i know very minimal about him :confused: that is why i'm asking for greater detail
His 24 years old, played in under 18 TAC Cup Comp at the Western Jets, kicked 8 in one game from memory. Been playing at strathmore in the resis for a couple of years as you would know!
Jewelsandbullet
22 May 2006, 15:22
My mail comes direct from the horses mouth. If I am proved wrong then i will belatedly apologise to you JB... My opinion of Cesari as a player and a bloke will never change.
Absolutly devastated with yesterdays result... The positives being the outstanding debut of Ben (Jaime lee) Curtiss and Soppa getting back to some rare form. Losing yesterday hurts more than any Grand final ive ever lost. Hard week on the track to look forward to...
Fair enough. Let's move one:
Very surprised to see that you got beaten.
We played Epping in the first week and tagged Jacobs - was there any thought put to this?? From the results it looks like he was damaging.
Nth H looked slow on Saturday - mont cut them up with pace... Mont is much quicker outfit this year.
Henry24
22 May 2006, 17:50
Dave Mitchell leading voting in footy record, the kids only 19 could/should he be on the list of an AFL club??
matchwinner
22 May 2006, 18:08
Dave Mitchell leading voting in footy record, the kids only 19 could/should he be on the list of an AFL club??
One of the best readers of the ball off a pack that I've seen and also very good hands off the deck. Runs hard all day and very tough for his size/age (knows how to handle a heavy bump/tackle). Not up to being on an AFL list though. Too short and kicking questionable - not up to AFL standard anyway.
Giveyathemail
22 May 2006, 18:17
Fair enough. Let's move one:
Very surprised to see that you got beaten.
We played Epping in the first week and tagged Jacobs - was there any thought put to this?? From the results it looks like he was damaging.
Nth H looked slow on Saturday - mont cut them up with pace... Mont is much quicker outfit this year.
We just werent tall enough, fit enough or didnt go on with what was a 6 goal lead in the 1st term. I have no excuses... We have to learn from that and move on.
Huge win for Mont, and Im tipping them to do the same to Bundoora this week as well. Next week (03/06) will be huge for them against H'berg.
I have heard North have lost their quickness... A bloke named Owens has been playing in their 1s, he was no good in their 2s last year, wouldnt have been in the top 10-15.
One of the best readers of the ball off a pack that I've seen and also very good hands off the deck. Runs hard all day and very tough for his size/age (knows how to handle a heavy bump/tackle). Not up to being on an AFL list though. Too short and kicking questionable - not up to AFL standard anyway.
yeh he's a gr8 player love watching him was he as good at lower? never heard of him untill i watched rnd1 for bundoora
Henry24
22 May 2006, 22:27
From what i've heard, which isn't much to tell you the truth, he won the B&F last year at Lower, but looks to have improved again this year.
matchwinner
23 May 2006, 11:30
From what i've heard, which isn't much to tell you the truth, he won the B&F last year at Lower, but looks to have improved again this year.
Yeh won the B&F, although Otto would have won it if he disn't miss the games he did. Lower are receiving a lot of criticism but they do have several talented youngsters like (but not quite as good as) Dave Mitchell, who will just take a bit of time to develop. The club decided a couple of years ago to take a different approach and go with the youth, so we are a very young side who will take time! Hence the up and down form at the moment!
Our list wasn't up to divi 1 standard last year, but we lost a lot of experienced players that weren't replaced and no one could compete to the same level when that happens. You only have to look at North Heidelberg who are struggling to replace the players they have lost.
joshooaa
23 May 2006, 15:01
In the wake of Eltham's poor start to the season, i got to thinking about some players that started out at Eltham and are now playing elswhere - players that would make the Panthers, I believe, a far stronger side:-
Dean Haydock ( Bergers)
Saul Caddy ( Doggies)
Marcus Dean ( Bergers)
Daniel Howse ( Bundoora)
Shaun Lorenzini ( Old Scotch, VAFA)
Jonothan Bortolotto ( Marcellin OC )
hottip06
23 May 2006, 15:02
Our list wasn't up to divi 1 standard last year, but we lost a lot of experienced players that weren't replaced and no one could compete to the same level when that happens. You only have to look at North Heidelberg who are struggling to replace the players they have lost.
Yes North Heidelberg did lose some key players from last year to this year, but do you know what the difference is between North and Lower? They are not making excuses, they are not whinging about injuries or youth or anything else. They are getting on with the job and doing the best with what they've got! And yes they are struggling to replace those players, but they are still 4-1 and sitting outright 4th on the ladder which says a bit about the character of their personnel. A word which has no-one could associate with Lower at this point in time.
Lower really does need to look itself in the mirror! Or maybe just the ones involved at the club who come on here and make idiots of themselves with all the excuses!
(for the record i am not involved with north heidelberg in any way, this is an unbiased opinion that would be shared by most i would imagine)
matchwinner
23 May 2006, 15:52
Yes North Heidelberg did lose some key players from last year to this year, but do you know what the difference is between North and Lower? They are not making excuses, they are not whinging about injuries or youth or anything else. They are getting on with the job and doing the best with what they've got! And yes they are struggling to replace those players, but they are still 4-1 and sitting outright 4th on the ladder which says a bit about the character of their personnel. A word which has no-one could associate with Lower at this point in time.
Lower really does need to look itself in the mirror! Or maybe just the ones involved at the club who come on here and make idiots of themselves with all the excuses!
(for the record i am not involved with north heidelberg in any way, this is an unbiased opinion that would be shared by most i would imagine)
Who are you and who are you nvolved with? Because if you were watching last Saturday you obviously don't play! You are one of those blokes with no ability and no heart to get out there and play, who sits on the other side of the fence criticising others!!!
Just how did Wallan turn around there shock loss to Kinglake in a week - I thought they musta had like 12-13 fit blokes on their list when I saw them lose up the mountain.
As they say "a week is a long time in football"
hottip06
23 May 2006, 18:35
Who are you and who are you nvolved with? Because if you were watching last Saturday you obviously don't play! You are one of those blokes with no ability and no heart to get out there and play, who sits on the other side of the fence criticising others!!!
You really are a bafoon mate! First of all its typical and very amusing that you resort to this as soon as you get beaten in an argument! Secondly, i dont have to justify myself to you but for the record i have spent a my entire playing days at one of the successful first division clubs which i love to bits and have great mates there. i wont say which one to keep myself anonymous but other commitments are keeping me from playing.
Also please remember in the future if you are going to question anybody's heart or ability just remember which club are associated with you fool! The game i saw at the weekend was the type of football that puts me off playing football... there wasn't much skill, brains, ability or heart floating around!
Have A Crack
23 May 2006, 18:42
Does anybody know what happened with the North H/Berg & Diamond Creek Fight??
Is it going to Investigation?? or just forgotten about???
Giggler
23 May 2006, 18:43
Anyone know whats happen to Ben Keaner of lalor? I went to see The Bloods play on the weekend and he wasn't playing just wandering whats happen to him?
GO BLOODS!!!!
Have A Crack
23 May 2006, 19:31
Anyone know whats happen to Ben Keaner of lalor? I went to see The Bloods play on the weekend and he wasn't playing just wandering whats happen to him?
GO BLOODS!!!!
Benny Kinnear is in Queensland on Holidays !!!
melbdocker
23 May 2006, 19:58
did larenzini's old man play at fitzroy?
Have A Crack
23 May 2006, 20:30
Name Your Club & Your Best 5 - Players !!
Have A Crack
23 May 2006, 20:39
The Mighty Bloods !!
No 1 - Ben Kinnear
No 2 - Johar Saad
No 3 - Steve Marshall
No 4 - Nick Mafalovski
No 5 - Dasha Sinclair
McKinleyISgood
23 May 2006, 21:48
dave mitchell is dominating. and as for being on an afl list, well he didnt get a gig in the TAC cup - but by the form he is showing, he could be considered unlucky not to have. Surely if he is doing this well he could have played some (if not a major role) in a TAC cup team(he'd probably be in the nthrn knights region)
matchwinner
23 May 2006, 21:56
You really are a bafoon mate! First of all its typical and very amusing that you resort to this as soon as you get beaten in an argument! Secondly, i dont have to justify myself to you but for the record i have spent a my entire playing days at one of the successful first division clubs which i love to bits and have great mates there. i wont say which one to keep myself anonymous but other commitments are keeping me from playing.
Also please remember in the future if you are going to question anybody's heart or ability just remember which club are associated with you fool! The game i saw at the weekend was the type of football that puts me off playing football... there wasn't much skill, brains, ability or heart floating around!
In Lower's short history I reckon they've done pretty well. No they are not a top division 1 club, and don't claim to be one. They are just striving to be the best they can, making mistakes along the way and trying to learn from them.
You seem to have some personal vendetta against them for some unknown reason! I was offering an opinion that had nothing to do with you. You decided to jump in and turn it into an argument, because that's obviously the way you operate!!!
If you went down to the game on Saturday expecting AFL standard, or even the standard of top division 1 clubs, then that's your own poor judgement.
Maybe sitting on the other side of the fence has all of a sudden made you a superstar!
Just how did Wallan turn around there shock loss to Kinglake in a week - I thought they musta had like 12-13 fit blokes on their list when I saw them lose up the mountain.
As they say "a week is a long time in football"
Yeah Doona we had a few blokes out against Kinglake, Plus a couple who were playing their first game back from injury ( myself included ). We just hit the track hard during the week and with a couple of inclusions to our midfield we were able to out stay our visitors.
Last week was the first time all year we had a full list to choose from. Parkside this week, Ive heard they have lost a few from their list and have a couple of injuries to the better players. Their backs are against the wall and we are expecting a tough match.
matchwinner
23 May 2006, 21:59
Lower:
1. Andy Knee
2. Cam Elmore
3. Adam McLaughlin
4. Craig Parsons
5. Jarrod Shaw / Ryan Elliott
matchwinner
23 May 2006, 22:00
[QUOTE=matchwinner]Lower:
1. Andy Knee
2. Cam Elmore
3. Adam McLaughlin
4. Clint Monger
5. Craig Parsons
matchwinner
23 May 2006, 22:01
[QUOTE=matchwinner]Lower:
1. Andy Knee
2. Cam Elmore
3. Adam McLaughlin
4. Clint Monger
5. Craig Parsons
Forgot to slip Monger in on my initial list!
mitch_fc
23 May 2006, 22:07
quick effort at Lower Plenty...
A.Knee
C.Elmore
A.McLaughlin
M.Bandera
C.Monger
would like to have Parsons, Shaw, Elliot and Gill in there.
Bubble Wrap
23 May 2006, 22:17
Yeah Doona we had a few blokes out against Kinglake, Plus a couple who were playing their first game back from injury ( myself included ). We just hit the track hard during the week and with a couple of inclusions to our midfield we were able to out stay our visitors.
Last week was the first time all year we had a full list to choose from. Parkside this week, Ive heard they have lost a few from their list and have a couple of injuries to the better players. Their backs are against the wall and we are expecting a tough match.
Parkside have about 4 of their better players in the magoos because they can't stand the coach, and after last week, I can't blame them. Any knob can just abuse their players flat out and tell them they're pathetic (that's what I could hear through the walls anyway).
They drop off quickly when things go bad, and they start abusing each other and playing the man rather than the ball. They had some bloke with a mohawk type hairdo (No. 18) who could play a bit but was very goal hungry, he'd be one to watch out for.
bearfan
24 May 2006, 09:19
Top 5 at Lower:
1. A Knee
2. C Elmore
3. C Parsons
4. R Elliot
5. C Monger
Giveyathemail
24 May 2006, 13:16
GO BLOODS!!!!
Was on holidays with his wife. Back this week.
St.Kev's Cowboy
24 May 2006, 13:50
Anyone know of a guy playing for Hurstbridge in div 2 named Tim Francis?
Heard big things of the 6-3 100kg agile ruckman /CHF. Apparently can kick over a paddock and jump like theres no tomorrow. Friend of a friend who said he can play. ANyone seen him go?
Giveyathemail
24 May 2006, 14:08
In Lower's short history I reckon they've done pretty well. No they are not a top division 1 club, and don't claim to be one. They are just striving to be the best they can, making mistakes along the way and trying to learn from them.
You seem to have some personal vendetta against them for some unknown reason! I was offering an opinion that had nothing to do with you. You decided to jump in and turn it into an argument, because that's obviously the way you operate!!!
If you went down to the game on Saturday expecting AFL standard, or even the standard of top division 1 clubs, then that's your own poor judgement.
Maybe sitting on the other side of the fence has all of a sudden made you a superstar!
Never had much time for Lower myself, but they have to be commended for going with the youth policy. It may take a little longer but their club will be much better for it in 3-6 years. Buying your way out will only send you broke, so they have at least bitten the bullet, acknowledged their issues and treid to ammend them.We went through a rough patch b/w 2000- 2004, and in hindsight im kinda glad we did. In times like those, you get to see who your true, loyal supporters, clubpeople and players are.
matchwinner
24 May 2006, 14:35
Never had much time for Lower myself, but they have to be commended for going with the youth policy. It may take a little longer but their club will be much better for it in 3-6 years. Buying your way out will only send you broke, so they have at least bitten the bullet, acknowledged their issues and treid to ammend them.We went through a rough patch b/w 2000- 2004, and in hindsight im kinda glad we did. In times like those, you get to see who your true, loyal supporters, clubpeople and players are.
Yeh spot on. I'm sure we will be better for it down the track, but will be a long process and it is hard competing with the top divi 1 teams likes heidelberg, Nth Heidelberg, bundoora, mont and lalor, who are well established.
Has been a bit of animosity between lalor and lower in recent times. Assuming because of the players lower got from lalor, and also the relegation issue that happened around the same time.
Giveyathemail
24 May 2006, 14:52
Yeh spot on. I'm sure we will be better for it down the track, but will be a long process and it is hard competing with the top divi 1 teams likes heidelberg, Nth Heidelberg, bundoora, mont and lalor, who are well established.
Has been a bit of animosity between lalor and lower in recent times. Assuming because of the players lower got from lalor, and also the relegation issue that happened around the same time.
Yeah none of it helped... but you cant look back for too long, you just might miss whats ahead.
: n e one know whats happend to criag shearer this yr?
Back this week in the 2's along with 3 other 1's players in the two is my mail.
Bergers with about 10 out at the moment.
Also heard Shane Harvey unhappy up bush and may end in a Doggies jumper before the year is out.
EDFL MAN
24 May 2006, 16:05
Back this week in the 2's along with 3 other 1's players in the two is my mail.
Bergers with about 10 out at the moment.
Also heard Shane Harvey unhappy up bush and may end in a Doggies jumper before the year is out.
If S.Harvey is coming back to play...he may need to take a pay cut.
Apparently rumoured to be on around $1500 to $2000 a game up there?
Then again don't believe everythin you hear. ;)
Muttley
24 May 2006, 16:27
If S.Harvey is coming back to play...he may need to take a pay cut.
Apparently rumoured to be on around $1500 to $2000 a game up there?
Then again don't believe everythin you hear. ;)
Pretty close ED. Harvey is on 30k. Wakool have a further 70k up their sleeve for the rest of the side. They had a bumper rice crop in the year just past.
A recent Smith medallist (DVFL 1st Div B&F) is also travelleing up to grange on his bit of the yeild. The last time this guy had a kick locally, you couldn't tell whether he was wearing a footy jumper or an art smock!
matchwinner
24 May 2006, 16:44
Yeah none of it helped... but you cant look back for too long, you just might miss whats ahead.
And as you said, might have been a blessing in disguise spending time in divi 2 and bonding the club and seeing who was loyal.
FootyLover06
24 May 2006, 17:30
He is doing very well.
Has a Great Leap and reads the ball well.
Just wondering how Jai miles and Tobi Bray are going at lalor this year and how the Fonuas are going at lakeside anyone tell me how thay have been travelling
melbdocker
24 May 2006, 17:38
thanx dwight wow should be fun watching the 2's this week then shearer would love an open fwd line at our ground
as if u could be stuffed driving to wakool everyweek and there prob not gunna make or just scape into the final (i know ppl from murrabit) i'm very suprised he didnt go straight to the dogs
timmy francis used to play at diamond creek wit me st kevs cowboy but only eva a 2's player however i think he might be playin 1's up at hursty a very quality bloke aswel
mitch_fc
24 May 2006, 18:29
just got a message from a mate confirming our footy trip!!!! lets just end the season now :)
did anyone see the article in the diamand valley leader about the nth and diamo incident they are having the hearing on it tonight and said something about alcihol getting band before a certain time :confused:
pat pull porward
24 May 2006, 20:04
Pretty close ED. Harvey is on 30k. Wakool have a further 70k up their sleeve for the rest of the side. They had a bumper rice crop in the year just past.
A recent Smith medallist (DVFL 1st Div B&F) is also travelleing up to grange on his bit of the yeild. The last time this guy had a kick locally, you couldn't tell whether he was wearing a footy jumper or an art smock!
Yes muttley,saw the game in question,and an art smock is being extremely gracious!Thought that was your unmistakeable laugh in the last 1/4!I think they actually used his jumper as the bbq marquee after that 1 ill fated run around in the 2's.Still has a smith medal though.My mail is his wakool days are over after a recent knee injury,forcing him to reassess his impending renovations{and also his dietary/lifestyle habits}
did anyone see the article in the diamand valley leader about the nth and diamo incident they are having the hearing on it tonight and said something about alcihol getting band before a certain time :confused:
Gotta be a more appropriate idea than banning grog. Why punish the majority of people who enjoy a quiet beer and a game of footy because of a bunch of out of control teenagers who have little respect.
Would be much better for any club with continuous problems as such to tell the offenders that their services are no longer required - easy fix I say!!!
jetpak_1
24 May 2006, 20:38
geeeez all i ever hear about on this forum is about lower plenty who really gives a s.hit about a crappy division 2 club with hardly no supporters stop talking about them, or atleast talk about them when they can proove there a worthy club for all this discussion...too many of u lower guys talking the club up
sparksy
24 May 2006, 20:45
Gotta be a more appropriate idea than banning grog. Why punish the majority of people who enjoy a quiet beer and a game of footy because of a bunch of out of control teenagers who have little respect.
Would be much better for any club with continuous problems as such to tell the offenders that their services are no longer required - easy fix I say!!!
banning grog sales wont stop people drinking,unless they ban cars and start bag searches.Fining clubs only hurts the people who put in the effort to make money.From what i heard 2,s players from both teams were involved,along with thier mates,so mayby the clubs do need to make a stance at some stage.Should be interesting to see what the old boys club(dvfl) come up with tonight.
this was quoted in the article "One idea the clubs have suggested is to restrict under 19's players from buying grog straight after their game and insuring they cannot buy it later in the day" DVFL general manger Peter Floyd also stated "Volunteer gate keepers could not check car boots-But police would do so at final matches...
sparksy
24 May 2006, 21:24
In the wake of Eltham's poor start to the season, i got to thinking about some players that started out at Eltham and are now playing elswhere - players that would make the Panthers, I believe, a far stronger side:-
Dean Haydock ( Bergers)
Saul Caddy ( Doggies)
Marcus Dean ( Bergers)
Daniel Howse ( Bundoora)
Shaun Lorenzini ( Old Scotch, VAFA)
Jonothan Bortolotto ( Marcellin OC )
are you offering to pay,to pay the $$$$$$ they want,i hear some have been approached but wanted a lot more than was on offer.injuries are elthams biggest problem at the moment.lots of 1's players watched them run out of legs against parkers,from the sidelines.I would love to see a bit of size and aggression running around,allthough im prepared to wait and watch the kids develop under Maylin's coaching.
sparksy
24 May 2006, 21:35
this was quoted in the article "One idea the clubs have suggested is to restrict under 19's players from buying grog straight after their game and insuring they cannot buy it later in the day" DVFL general manger Peter Floyd also stated "Volunteer gate keepers could not check car boots-But police would do so at final matches...
mayby they should only sell FOSTERS.it would stop me having too many
beerbandit
24 May 2006, 22:58
top 5 players at hbridge..
1 - A.Gardam
2 - S.McCarthy
3 - J.Atkins
4 - R.Peckham
5 - J.Crowe
and about tim francis, is a big lad and is going to get better, very strong and talented prospect.
1 - A.Gardam
2 - S.McCarthy
3 - J.Atkins
4 - R.Peckham
5 - J.Crowe
and about tim francis, is a big lad and is going to get better, very strong and talented prospect.
hahah peks is my p.e teacher at school top bloke!:D
mitch_fc
24 May 2006, 23:33
1 - A.Gardam
2 - S.McCarthy
3 - J.Atkins
4 - R.Peckham
5 - J.Crowe
Roque Giles
Coach Hollywood
25 May 2006, 10:15
Sparksy, Eltham have always lost players, It's because they try to go out and buy new players with the little cash they do have rather than looking after their own players they already have. They would be top 4 divison 1 for sure if they kept all there junior players, that went off to other clubs.
Giveyathemail
25 May 2006, 13:59
All massive games in Divvy 1 this week, with the Bundoora/Mont clash the pick of the lot. Alot of important games though this week for a few sides, mine included.... every game seems to have significance to every side for one reason or another.
sparksy
25 May 2006, 21:35
Sparksy, Eltham have always lost players, It's because they try to go out and buy new players with the little cash they do have rather than looking after their own players they already have. They would be top 4 divison 1 for sure if they kept all there junior players, that went off to other clubs.
ive been following eltham for well over 25 years(yeah,im that old)and have seen some great players wear our colors.Blokes leave clubs for many reasons,but you cant stop other clubs blowing sunshine up kids arses.if people dont want to play for the club,if they only want money,then id rather be where we are.
TigerTales
26 May 2006, 00:00
How come West Preston never get a mention on this forum?
Wayde Petersen
26 May 2006, 00:32
I know it's a bit harsh, but that's what they did at the Shepparton RSL for a while after a fight broke out before the Green/Mundine fight, but with Diamo's ground, you've got the pub next door, and it's pretty easy to sneak grog in through the fence.
But, there's no doubt about it, the authorities needs to overhaul the DVFL, because there's far too many people within the league that look at thing through club coloured glasses, and not doing things that are beneficial for the league as a whole.
Peter Floyd needs to retire, I know that his time at the helm has overall been good (expansion of junior & senior clubs), but the comp NEEDS NEW BLOOD, basically they need to do what the Eastern League did and looked outside for a CEO/President, and a new board, with blokes who have retired recently or have good business acumen/connections.
First off, they need to split Division Two in half, to make a Division Three, plus reduce the number of clubs in Division One to 8 or 9, because the weakest team in Divsion One is very weak compared to the other clubs.
Don't make promotion/relegation compulsary, they used to do it this way, but now, they force clubs that don't want to move up a grade (Hurstbridge) no other option but to get flogged every week, let's face it, only Lower Plenty & Greensborough want to move up a grade, no one else does, especially Mernda & Whittlesea (they will eventually, when those areas become more developed).
The Website, what a joke, christ it looks like something done up on a Commodore 64 circa 1985.For the calibre of league the DVFL is, surely they can spend a bit of money to get a decent website, because it's like a window to the league and it says that "these these blokes are amateurs".
And another thing, why can't the DVFL force clubs to wear alternate strips ?, when I saw Panton Hill play Mernda, I could barely tell them apart, especially from a distance, with the number of clubs in division two (there isn't any major colour clashes in Division One, except North Heidelberg & West Preston/Lakeside), surely the league can arrange something.
But when look at how well the leagues are run up in the Goulburn Valley and you compare that to the Diamond Valley, there's no comparison.