View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
A Living God
3 Apr 2007, 21:03
Sorry JB, just repeating comments from one of your former stalwarts. Have heard that a few blokes have not shown up to training due to current coach. Also you may be able to confirm if a kid straight out of the Knights who has not played a senior game of football and would probably be lucky to get a game in most div 1 sides has signed with you blokes for $250 a game, not bad coin for an 18yo. Good luck to him if it`s true but could be fairly irresponsable on Monts part, paying way above the odds for young blokes who aren`t proven senior players. Kid has ability but should not be getting that coin. Would be interesting if you could confirm.
Are sure thats its mont? Ive heard a similar thing about Macleod.
bearsboy
3 Apr 2007, 21:28
Does anyone know if big Scotty Nugent is playing at West Preston again, rumours around he may be on the move .
tommahawk
3 Apr 2007, 21:30
Are sure thats its mont? Ive heard a similar thing about Macleod.
mate that is totally untrue about macleod paying money to young players like that. we are defently not paying big money on a kid,l i garantee that....
Make No Mistake, Thomastown Is Going To Give The Cup A Big Shake This Year. Weve Keeped All Our Players From Last Year, Plus Have Quality Inclusions To Our List, So Beware Of The Boys From The NorTH
Does anyone know if big Scotty Nugent is playing at West Preston again, rumours around he may be on the move .
I heard that he ran around for Craigiburn on the weekend. Fig9 can you help us out here mate
tradebate6
3 Apr 2007, 22:39
Yeah, heard the same romour as rubix, apparently has been training at craigiburn and played in their pracy on sunday. and hasn't been at west training for about a week now. i spoke to a few of the west boys about it sat night and none of them knew, so don't know what he's told them.
Make No Mistake, Thomastown Is Going To Give The Cup A Big Shake This Year. Weve Keeped All Our Players From Last Year, Plus Have Quality Inclusions To Our List, So Beware Of The Boys From The NorTH
ud wanna be able to play footy mate, cause u'll never be a journo.
A Living God
4 Apr 2007, 00:52
mate that is totally untrue about macleod paying money to young players like that. we are defently not paying big money on a kid,l i garantee that....
Im pretty sure its untrue about monty too.
Does this alleged recruit have a name?
Sir_Greed
4 Apr 2007, 01:09
hey guys anyone have any news on practice matches from the weekend???
Northcote Park played Avondale Heights at Westgarth Street. The Cougars recorded a pretty comfortable win (approximately 5-goals ) and played particularly well after half-time, managing to strangle Avondale's offensive options. Northcote dominated through the centre corridor, played direct football and delivered well to their forwards. Brett Jeffries (29) was best on ground kicking 5 or 6 goals, and also had an solid stint in the ruck. Nazi also played well for the Cougars, and took a number of strong marks at CHB. Seddington, the new recruit, was largely anonymous in the second half.
The ground is also in great nick. :thumbsu:
How long had the coach been there at Reservoir? Amazing how they have all jumped ship! There obviously isn't much loyalty down there. I reckon your right about the 2 players shopping around, I did overhear that at least one of them had trained with you.
For the past 2-3 yrs, this was waiting to happen to Reservoir. Comes as absouloutly no surprise to anyone who has kept up to date with their rise.
Adam Bruni was at the helm, and helped them rise gradually and prosperesly. Then suger took over and he was good for them too. Blame will be laid with the Pres. Rightly so too. The same bloke that gave Bruni the reason to leave, they put in charge of the club. Always a club waiting to fold. From juniors through to seniors. A bloke who had a helping hand in this was an old coach from your club Force. And remember the dark days from a couple of yrs back at Watsy? Well guess who was in charge of the Watsy troops then...? You got it. No coincidence my friend.
No surprise about Reservoir. Current reservations on clubs rise to the top where i dont exactly know the intrinsiques or the internal operations are MaCleod, Thommo and to a lesser extent Watsy. Although Wasty do seem Ridgy Didge this time round. I have heard of unrest in the McLeod camp but first i have read bout it was on here recently. I do wonder with thommo, once Sinclair moves on, who will stick round the club, to build on the success he achieved?
Northcote Park played Avondale Heights at Westgarth Street. :thumbsu:
How did new recruits Gresh and Amir go in the match Sir Greed?
Did Joey play?
Is Volpe still running round with them?
Is Dave Ienco / Chilli having another kick?
ROMPERMFC
4 Apr 2007, 07:59
ditto tommahawk... Macleod would never pay good dollar for a kid....
Does anyone know if the rumour about Wattsy paying two's players is true, have heard it a few times now and if they have that sort of cash then you would think they are not to far from divvy1...
Hey Tommahawk, hanent seen you down training, what happend to the big comeback??
Jewelsandbullet
4 Apr 2007, 12:28
Sorry JB, just repeating comments from one of your former stalwarts. Have heard that a few blokes have not shown up to training due to current coach. Also you may be able to confirm if a kid straight out of the Knights who has not played a senior game of football and would probably be lucky to get a game in most div 1 sides has signed with you blokes for $250 a game, not bad coin for an 18yo. Good luck to him if it`s true but could be fairly irresponsable on Monts part, paying way above the odds for young blokes who aren`t proven senior players. Kid has ability but should not be getting that coin. Would be interesting if you could confirm.
Former stalwarts should no better than to feed a rumour monger like your good self Brutal... You always seem to have something to say about us.
Can't confirm your rumour. My belief is that it lack's substance.
Don't worry about numbers ...we'll be fine.
As to players not turning up because of coach, there might be the odd disgruntled bloke that has left during the off season... for whatever reason. Happens at every club, won't impact on the list and won't impact on numbers.
Good luck up the road for the season mate (we might have to lend your ground!!)
under-the-radar
4 Apr 2007, 15:07
Vitas..Can you tell me if Rocky Collins or Barry McDonald played on the weekend? Who are these new inclusions that are going to take you to the cup? There is going to be some mighty fine competition up against you.
tarrantula
4 Apr 2007, 16:57
Who cares... He is slow and can't kick, he is unknown by the opposition and rated by noone outside of the club let alone anyone with half a brain inside the joint. If he wants to leave so be it, we'd love to have him but we don't need this poor starving (not hugged enough) human being around the joint. Scotty think about what your about to do... you IDIOT..... If your looking for more cash you have done it in the rudest most unsubtle way of all
GHOST WRITER
4 Apr 2007, 17:48
VITAS - Like undertheradar has asked, who have Thomastown gained this year and, just as important, who have you lost? I watched Thommo train for a little while last night. Seems as though Sinclair wasn't happy with his charges. Hardly touched the footy's all night. He had them running for about an hour. Mind you, he still hasn't heeded my advice to join in with his players.
Who were your better players in last week's praccy match? Do you have a practice match planned for tomorrow night?
tarrantula
4 Apr 2007, 18:30
VITAS - Like undertheradar has asked, who have Thomastown gained this year and, just as important, who have you lost? I watched Thommo train for a little while last night. Seems as though Sinclair wasn't happy with his charges. Hardly touched the footy's all night. He had them running for about an hour. Mind you, he still hasn't heeded my advice to join in with his players.
Who were your better players in last week's praccy match? Do you have a practice match planned for tomorrow night?
Dean Sinclair.... LOL... you call that a coach, good luck he barely has the brains to organise a root in a brothel let alone a a team of retards on a footy pitch in div 2
just ask!!!
4 Apr 2007, 20:16
Who cares... He is slow and can't kick, he is unknown by the opposition and rated by noone outside of the club let alone anyone with half a brain inside the joint. If he wants to leave so be it, we'd love to have him but we don't need this poor starving (not hugged enough) human being around the joint. Scotty think about what your about to do... you IDIOT..... If your looking for more cash you have done it in the rudest most unsubtle way of all
is there a reason behind nugent wanting to leave?? he has been at every training session ive seen and seemed to be pretty popular amongst the players....hope its not cash driven
joshooaa
4 Apr 2007, 20:51
How are whittlesea looking this year. Heard you picked up Burleigh from Eltham, He use to dominate against us in 19's. Got any other new recruits.
I played under 19's with Jason Burleigh, could be a handy pickup for the Eagles. I believe he lives out that way now, hence his move to the club.
just ask!!!
4 Apr 2007, 20:53
I played under 19's with Jason Burleigh, could be a handy pickup for the Eagles. I believe he lives out that way now, hence his move to the club.
who else have the eagles picked up?? went past last night and there were a few at training
chopsewie
4 Apr 2007, 20:53
is there a reason behind nugent wanting to leave?? he has been at every training session ive seen and seemed to be pretty popular amongst the players....hope its not cash drivenHis uncle has probably retired from umpiring and he has to step down a division now to get a kick.
just ask!!!
4 Apr 2007, 20:54
His uncle has probably retired from umpiring and he has to step down a division now to get a kick.
was that his uncle?? big fat nuge who couldnt get out of the centre square when he umpired?
chopsewie
4 Apr 2007, 21:00
was that his uncle?? big fat nuge who couldnt get out of the centre square when he umpired?Yep played one day in the ruck against him when his uncle was umpiring he would have given him fifteen free kicks . It was even making the West supporters sick.
joshooaa
4 Apr 2007, 21:03
who else have the eagles picked up?? went past last night and there were a few at training
From what ive read, know one of real note, but thats not to say they wont be up there again. Who did you play for in under 19's?
joshooaa
4 Apr 2007, 21:04
From what ive read, know one of real note, but thats not to say they wont be up there again. Who did you play for in under 19's?
Question aimed at Iceman, not u just ask:D:thumbsu:
just ask!!!
4 Apr 2007, 21:12
Yep played one day in the ruck against him when his uncle was umpiring he would have given him fifteen free kicks . It was even making the West supporters sick.
who did you play for?
just ask!!!
4 Apr 2007, 21:13
i see on the clearance list there is a bloke called brooker...any word on him?
Iceman27
4 Apr 2007, 21:27
Play for Wallan mate.
Off the Bench
5 Apr 2007, 09:55
is there a reason behind nugent wanting to leave?? he has been at every training session ive seen and seemed to be pretty popular amongst the players....hope its not cash driven
Sources coming out of Craigeburn tell me they are offering $600-800 a game, i would say that is CASH$$$ driven for any player, let alone Scotty
For the past 2-3 yrs, this was waiting to happen to Reservoir. Comes as absouloutly no surprise to anyone who has kept up to date with their rise.
Adam Bruni was at the helm, and helped them rise gradually and prosperesly. Then suger took over and he was good for them too. Blame will be laid with the Pres. Rightly so too. The same bloke that gave Bruni the reason to leave, they put in charge of the club. Always a club waiting to fold. From juniors through to seniors. A bloke who had a helping hand in this was an old coach from your club Force. And remember the dark days from a couple of yrs back at Watsy? Well guess who was in charge of the Watsy troops then...? You got it. No coincidence my friend.
No surprise about Reservoir. Current reservations on clubs rise to the top where i dont exactly know the intrinsiques or the internal operations are MaCleod, Thommo and to a lesser extent Watsy. Although Wasty do seem Ridgy Didge this time round. I have heard of unrest in the McLeod camp but first i have read bout it was on here recently. I do wonder with thommo, once Sinclair moves on, who will stick round the club, to build on the success he achieved?
which pres are you referring to, current pres or a previous pres?
prenticem
5 Apr 2007, 12:22
How are whittlesea looking this year. Heard you picked up Burleigh from Eltham, He use to dominate against us in 19's. Got any other new recruits.
Nah - he's a hack, gone soft. :eek:
Bruce Almighty
5 Apr 2007, 13:15
Heidelberg has a new recruit.Corey something ? Played a fair bit of football and apparently should have won a comp medal in some Melbourne based league but got reported.They say he could be a handy pick-up.Can anyone give some more information on this.
Mckernan?:rolleyes:
GHOST WRITER
5 Apr 2007, 14:13
TARRANTULA - Harsh words...I sense some bitterness towards Sinclair? Regardless, it is a pretty "courageous" statement to make whilst still remaining anonymous. Perhaps you would care to elaborate on who you are and what club you represent?
DVFL watch - briefly watched Heidelberg train last week and there was certainly no sign of Corey Mckernan so I doubt that he is the recruit being talked about here...unless he was exempt from training to pour beers at the Levison!!
Hawk_eye15
5 Apr 2007, 14:49
Dean Sinclair.... LOL... you call that a coach, good luck he barely has the brains to organise a root in a brothel let alone a a team of retards on a footy pitch in div 2
Hacks like you dont deserve to know who thomastown has picked up and by the sounds of it you are the retard
tarrantula
5 Apr 2007, 15:38
Hacks like you dont deserve to know who thomastown has picked up and by the sounds of it you are the retard
Hacks like me don't care who thomastown picks up you div 2 s**t c**ts. You have lalor's biggest scumb bag leading your club - good to see how long you rot in div 2 for... Why don't you try and pinch shane whitnall as well then you will have both of lalor's biggest scumb bags at your club.
devil's advocte
5 Apr 2007, 15:46
Well looks like the days of the dvfl are now officially gone. Admin is going to recommend a name change to the presidents on wed 11/4 at monty.
there appears to be now way around it from a legal standpoint.
also hear floyd is hitting the dvfl for super and payment in lieu of notice, not to mention suing for damages for defamation of character!!!!!!!
Northern Football League is the suggested name by the administrators
GHOST WRITER
5 Apr 2007, 16:01
Tarrantula - It is quite obvious from your writing talents that you won't be gracing the pages of newspapers as a budding journalist.
Perhaps ewe knead a better spell cheque??
Hawk_eye15
5 Apr 2007, 16:11
Hacks like me don't care who thomastown picks up you div 2 s**t c**ts. You have lalor's biggest scumb bag leading your club - good to see how long you rot in div 2 for... Why don't you try and pinch shane whitnall as well then you will have both of lalor's biggest scumb bags at your club.
im talking to not only a retard but a collingwood supporter do i have to say anymore.talking about scumb bags.take a look at yourself in the mirror.you do have one in your cell dont you?
beerbandit
5 Apr 2007, 18:29
i was lookin on the new website and looking at the clearances page... dont know much bout dvfl footy but i see hurstbridge have had up to 10-15 players cleared to the club?!? will they be any good in 2007?
which pres are you referring to, current pres or a previous pres?
Who is the current pres of ressa?
RiverRat
6 Apr 2007, 02:24
Interesting...it's hard to see where they will fit him in.
Former stalwarts should no better than to feed a rumour monger like your good self Brutal... You always seem to have something to say about us.
Can't confirm your rumour. My belief is that it lack's substance.
Don't worry about numbers ...we'll be fine.
As to players not turning up because of coach, there might be the odd disgruntled bloke that has left during the off season... for whatever reason. Happens at every club, won't impact on the list and won't impact on numbers.
Good luck up the road for the season mate (we might have to lend your ground!!)
Yes indeed JB I do like a good rumour, which is what makes this forum interesting. As for substance on mentioned young player, dollars concerned have been mentioned to more than 1 of his good mates by the player himself, not saying it`s true because he would`nt be the first player to overstate his worth and won`t be the last, just a bit off putting to lose a kid whom would have fitted in nicely with our plans for the future because of the dollar and also when he has not developed or proven himself. Yes indeed the old Mont ground does not look to flash at the minute and will probably struggle for most of the year, any thoughts on you guys getting the ground re-done the same as Lowers.
Also JB, one of your past contributors and a new off field recruit to the Bear Cave in Andy Thomas has been seriously ill in hospital of late following emergency surgery, after initial concerns as to if he would get through he seems to be doing much better and we look forward to seeing him back at the club, all the guys love him and he`s enjoying it very much.
Have heard that Indian and the high flying forward who coached Mernda, cant think of his name,(Dude) have gone back (?) to Mansfield. Didnt know they came from there. But from the word, Mernda has gone to the shytehouse. So too W.Heildelberg. since losing their coach. As too Fawkner Park. And Reservoir. ATM seems as tho 1st divvy clubs r doing well. From top 4 last yr, down to last 6 last yr. All except for Nth Heid. Seems atm that they will be finishing last this yr! Any contrary comment to that prediction? And to think, ppl want to turn the DVFL, or should i say the NFL,(Northern Footy League) into a 3 divvy comp. Keep dreaming ppl ! ! ! We will all be lucky to survive the coming years from the Vultures circling us! IE - Other leagues ready to poach our top teams. Danger looms ppl. Danger looms. I'd love to be optimistic, i try really, but its only a future of pessimism that i see.
Players like Chopswie, as much as u grew up in Eltham and travelled your juniors round DV and knights, and would luv to re-enter DV, lets face it, u and players like you, will be pretty enticed to strutt you talents in a league that has a past, present and more importantly a future. Even tho the emotional element will come into it. Emotion only takes you so far. Just ask the has-been that drop from divvy 1 to divvy 2. Nothing but an emotinal trip. Once Heidlberg leave, Danger looms ppl. Danger looms.
joshooaa
7 Apr 2007, 12:44
Can anyone from Lalor tell me about Lucas Pignatelli? Noticed he has been transfered from Lalor to Whitehorse Pioneers.
joshooaa
7 Apr 2007, 12:49
Have heard that Indian and the high flying forward who coached Mernda, cant think of his name,(Dude) have gone back (?) to Mansfield. Didnt know they came from there. But from the word, Mernda has gone to the shytehouse. So too W.Heildelberg. since losing their coach. As too Fawkner Park. And Reservoir. ATM seems as tho 1st divvy clubs r doing well. From top 4 last yr, down to last 6 last yr. All except for Nth Heid. Seems atm that they will be finishing last this yr! Any contrary comment to that prediction? And to think, ppl want to turn the DVFL, or should i say the NFL,(Northern Footy League) into a 3 divvy comp. Keep dreaming ppl ! ! ! We will all be lucky to survive the coming years from the Vultures circling us! IE - Other leagues ready to poach our top teams. Danger looms ppl. Danger looms. I'd love to be optimistic, i try really, but its only a future of pessimism that i see.
Players like Chopswie, as much as u grew up in Eltham and travelled your juniors round DV and knights, and would luv to re-enter DV, lets face it, u and players like you, will be pretty enticed to strutt you talents in a league that has a past, present and more importantly a future. Even tho the emotional element will come into it. Emotion only takes you so far. Just ask the has-been that drop from divvy 1 to divvy 2. Nothing but an emotinal trip. Once Heidlberg leave, Danger looms ppl. Danger looms.
If the name changes to Northern Football League the DVFL will loose all sense of identity. Gee I hope it dosnt change, NFL sounds so clinical, has no character. I love the Diamond Valley name and it definetly should be kept. Just clean it up and leave the name I say. Surley its not so far gone that the name has been permenetly tarnished just because of the bad choices of a stupid few. Fight this Diamond Valley people or in a few years the league will be akin to the Riddell District league.
stooge01
7 Apr 2007, 15:17
tarrantula sounds like you dont like deano. Hes a good friend of mine and he aint no scumb bag. your probley just spewing cause deano and a few of the boys wacked your misses up, cause you cant keep her happy. And he can coach a little hes just at a s h i t club. Your misses was probly around deanos one mourning when a couple of the boys were running a train on her. do us all a favour pest and f u c k off.
superselector
7 Apr 2007, 18:20
Totally agree the name has been around since 1922? Beware the huge organised backlash if it is even mooted !!! its not the Northern suburbs but the NE however alarm bells are ringing EFL guys in every position!!!! If clubs are stupid enough to even entertain the idea of changing the name the backlash will be organised and brutal !!! Changing a historic name will only be a massive step backwards!!!
Remember Metro footy is all under review and major changes accross the board are coming!!
Totally agree the name has been around since 1922? Beware the huge organised backlash if it is even mooted !!! its not the Northern suburbs but the NE however alarm bells are ringing EFL guys in every position!!!! If clubs are stupid enough to even entertain the idea of changing the name the backlash will be organised and brutal !!! Changing a historic name will only be a massive step backwards!!!
Remember Metro footy is all under review and major changes accross the board are coming!!
Get with the times dude.
You can't live in the seventies forever, even if you do have the worlds' second greatest mullet. (David Cloke has the best).
If they could keep the DVFL name they would, but because of all the **** that has gone down over recent times, a new name and brand is exactly what this league needs.
The simple fact is that DV footy is no longer contained to the DV area in anycase. The league now stretches from Northcote to Kinglake - Eltham to Wallan. I think that in itself gives justification to Northern Football league, dont you ?
AFL Vic has always wanted an EAST /WEST /SOUTH /NORTH axis of leagues and now it finally will have it. Get over it.
joshooaa
8 Apr 2007, 15:31
Get with the times dude.
You can't live in the seventies forever, even if you do have the worlds' second greatest mullet. (David Cloke has the best).
If they could keep the DVFL name they would, but because of all the **** that has gone down over recent times, a new name and brand is exactly what this league needs.
The simple fact is that DV footy is no longer contained to the DV area in anycase. The league now stretches from Northcote to Kinglake - Eltham to Wallan. I think that in itself gives justification to Northern Football league, dont you ?
AFL Vic has always wanted an EAST /WEST /SOUTH /NORTH axis of leagues and now it finally will have it. Get over it.
Dont you have any sense on history Leighroy??
The league can be progressive and still maintain its name. Wouldnt we prefer to see the name kept, the league become more professional and less tolerant of crap, hence restoring its former prestige and pride?
The Northern football league name evokes thoughts of the smoggy Hume highway to me, not the rolling green hills and lush bush lands of the Diamond Valley. The name is one of the best things the league has going for it.
Where does the Essendon District Football League fit in to the whole north south east west vision I wonder?? The North West football league? Or will they merge with the Diamond Valley?? How boring - The Northern Football League. Teams such as Eltham are virtually in the eastern suburbs anyway ( if it wasnt for that little water way that separates it from Templestowe and Warrandyte).
Changing a tarnished name does not solve problems that lie deeper. Amend the problems, weed out the rats, get stricter on violence on and off the field, and attract quality players. Then sit back and watch a game of Diamond Valley football in a safe enjoyable environment and have pride in a name that has produced this country with countless league footballers.
Ps. Go Panthers 2007!!!
A Living God
8 Apr 2007, 18:43
Northern Football League sucks, if they are going to change the name they should think up something more original.
devil's advocte
8 Apr 2007, 19:31
every one here seems to be totally negative, pity.
think about this
there could be other debtors out there that come out in a months time maybe a little more that the dvfl owes money to. If so, if we compete under the dvfl name then we as the member clubs are all liable. that is not a good situation.
The current admin wants to suspend the dvfl, all clubs transfer out of it to another league(the one of the name we create) while the dvfl sorts its self out. Under the current terms of agreement, there is no reason the clubs could not transfer back to the dvfl after this season if it were deemed viable.
If you are not sure how this is done, ask a builder, they seem to do it all the time and is legal.
As for the name change, no one has come up with a name other than Northern Football League, and the league has asked for submissions, all clubs have been silent.
Now i may not agree with everything that goes on, but I do understand money enough to know the league as a company has to protect its self.
I don`t have a problem with a name change, the Footscray Districts changed to the Western Region (WRFL). As stated the league stretches way beyond the Diamond Valley boundaries of old and for those who drag up tradition and history, tradition is another excuse for lack of a willingness to progress, we`ve just had nearly 30 years of that and look where it got us, history is all about the past, if we want a League that will once again be the envy of the other local leagues we should start embracing the changes that are on the way and focus our eyes straight ahead. Be brave and don`t be scared of the FUTURE, people.
raidrboy
8 Apr 2007, 20:40
Mckernan?:rolleyes:
Talking to the father of a Heidelberg player and, he tells me that it is McKernan they have signed. Good call Force.
superselector
8 Apr 2007, 23:17
Dont you have any sense on history Leighroy??
The league can be progressive and still maintain its name. Wouldnt we prefer to see the name kept, the league become more professional and less tolerant of crap, hence restoring its former prestige and pride?
The Northern football league name evokes thoughts of the smoggy Hume highway to me, not the rolling green hills and lush bush lands of the Diamond Valley. The name is one of the best things the league has going for it.
Where does the Essendon District Football League fit in to the whole north south east west vision I wonder?? The North West football league? Or will they merge with the Diamond Valley?? How boring - The Northern Football League. Teams such as Eltham are virtually in the eastern suburbs anyway ( if it wasnt for that little water way that separates it from Templestowe and Warrandyte).
Changing a tarnished name does not solve problems that lie deeper. Amend the problems, weed out the rats, get stricter on violence on and off the field, and attract quality players. Then sit back and watch a game of Diamond Valley football in a safe enjoyable environment and have pride in a name that has produced this country with countless league footballers.
Ps. Go Panthers 2007!!!
Take the point about debtors etc but still doesnt justify a change to a totally boring name that throws out 80 plus years.
As for geography Noble Park last time i looked was in the SE suburbs but they play in the EFL!!!
Is Nth Heid in Nth heid or Heid Heights? Is west heid in West heid?
Havent heard any rumours of the DVCA changing ???? But hey there admin hasnt been a rabble either!!!
All im saying is it is a shame to change a name because of what some idiots were allowed to do for years to a community organisation that has belonged to the punters for 80 plus years.
bomber11
9 Apr 2007, 21:39
watched a few players from nth heid play for echuca utd against moama in the murray leagues opening round played on good friday. Players I believe from nth heid were Daniel Moore, Jarrod King, Shaun and Harley Ryan. All played solid games moore and the two ryans all in the best and my opinion shaun was BOG in Echuca utd's 19 goal pumping win over moama. Eventhough I havent seen a dv game im sure the murray league is not on the same par as dv, however the pace of the game on fri was as quick as i've seen.
Has anyone got a sound background on these blokes footy career especially shaun ryan who showed he is the complete package a hard nut ball winner with polished foot and hand skills, brought a couple of players into the game with his unselfish play and ran hard fwd and kicked a couple of goals.
cheers
watched a few players from nth heid play for echuca utd against moama in the murray leagues opening round played on good friday. Players I believe from nth heid were Daniel Moore, Jarrod King, Shaun and Harley Ryan. All played solid games moore and the two ryans all in the best and my opinion shaun was BOG in Echuca utd's 19 goal pumping win over moama. Eventhough I havent seen a dv game im sure the murray league is not on the same par as dv, however the pace of the game on fri was as quick as i've seen.
Has anyone got a sound background on these blokes footy career especially shaun ryan who showed he is the complete package a hard nut ball winner with polished foot and hand skills, brought a couple of players into the game with his unselfish play and ran hard fwd and kicked a couple of goals.
cheers
Pretty certain both Ryan boys have spent time on VFL lists, Shaun at Coburg and Harley was at Werribee I think last season??? Both spent time at Broadford Secondary College as they come thru the ranks of the strong Kilmore Junior Football Club. Had a brother Matt who would be around the 30-31 age bracket now, was a hell of junior footballer around Kilmore/Wallan also but dunno if he kept playing.
Hard to compare but from what Ive seen the massive grounds up along the MFL make it a lot quicker than the DVFL. Standard similar perhaps the DVFL by a nose but the big difference is the pace. Not a lot of contested pill up there at time, which is something Ive always enjoyed when catching DVFL games.
ifyoucandodgeawrench
10 Apr 2007, 10:44
Talking to the father of a Heidelberg player and, he tells me that it is McKernan they have signed. Good call Force.
It wasn't Barry "The Cougar" Dawson you were talking to by any chance?
Giveyathemail
10 Apr 2007, 13:25
I think Stooge is spot on, either the boys have run a train on your missus or mum, or Deano has slayed you one way or another. Anyone who reads any of your posts will realise what an insignificant little thing you are. Now fu ck off before I whack you with my newspaper...
mr.magoogles
10 Apr 2007, 15:30
I think Stooge is spot on, either the boys have run a train on your missus or mum, or Deano has slayed you one way or another. Anyone who reads any of your posts will realise what an insignificant little thing you are. Now fu ck off before I whack you with my newspaper...
m8 u are talking absolute bull****
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2007, 16:08
I don`t have a problem with a name change, the Footscray Districts changed to the Western Region (WRFL). As stated the league stretches way beyond the Diamond Valley boundaries of old and for those who drag up tradition and history, tradition is another excuse for lack of a willingness to progress, we`ve just had nearly 30 years of that and look where it got us, history is all about the past, if we want a League that will once again be the envy of the other local leagues we should start embracing the changes that are on the way and focus our eyes straight ahead. Be brave and don`t be scared of the FUTURE, people.
Spot on.... problem with our comp and major critism has always been it unprepardenss to move with the times. Name change and lose the ghosts of the past.
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2007, 16:15
Gulp. Not a bad pick up Brucey .. and good for the Valley.
A sound replacement for the Teddy Bear ...now the boys at Mont still have someone to share their hot chips with ... when he lines up for goal :D
Kickass
10 Apr 2007, 16:57
Gulp. Not a bad pick up Brucey .. and good for the Valley.
A sound replacement for the Teddy Bear ...now the boys at Mont still have someone to share their hot chips with ... when he lines up for goal :D
J&B, I'm not so sure that Corey would be as easily distracted as Teddy Bear ever was. You might have to get the Boys sharing Steaming Hot Dimmies with the big unit as he lines a for goal.:rolleyes:
liquorman
10 Apr 2007, 17:40
J&B, I'm not so sure that Corey would be as easily distracted as Teddy Bear ever was. You might have to get the Boys sharing Steaming Hot Dimmies with the big unit as he lines a for goal.:rolleyes:
No one will replace the teddy bear, it's hard to kick goals whilst dodging objects from the crowd boys. Don't know how Corey will go with that. What do you mean distracted kickass? Like to see you try and play with some two headed beast from North telling you he shagged your mum last night and throwing his half full can of VB at ya. :thumbsd:
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2007, 17:52
Yeah I have to say credit where it's due ... Unlike many forwards you did drill them from the pocket at Mont no matter what was thrown at you (literally).
Corey will be doing well to do the same... I'm sure the boys will make him earn it :rolleyes:
just ask!!!
10 Apr 2007, 22:10
Yeah I have to say credit where it's due ... Unlike many forwards you did drill them from the pocket at Mont no matter what was thrown at you (literally).
Corey will be doing well to do the same... I'm sure the boys will make him earn it :rolleyes:
any one out there share any information on the nugent saga at west preston?
has he gone and also any news on baker?
whistle blower
10 Apr 2007, 23:06
any one out there share any information on the nugent saga at west preston?
has he gone and also any news on baker?
g,day havent heard about nuge , but from my sources bakes signed at wallan for 500 a game.
his loss of licence has a bit to do with it.
Giveyathemail
11 Apr 2007, 09:08
m8 u are talking absolute bull****Do us all a favour and just pretend for a moment you are typing at a computer next time you get on here, not sending a text message. And try posting with someone who gives a fu ck what you think while your at it...
Giveyathemail
11 Apr 2007, 09:16
Ok Boys, that time of year is now upon us....For your division of intrest (or both if you wish), please state your following.#Premier#Runner Up#Leading Goalkicker#Comp Medallist
Premier : Heidelberg
Runner up : Montmorency
Goalkicker : Chris Hall
Comp Medallist : Dale Nolan
This is a bit too sensible for this thread isn't it? I like it though, well done.
Division 2:
#Premier : Macleod
#Runner Up : Thomastown
#Leading Goalkicker : Shannon Gibson
#Comp Medallist : Ben Parker
gazzabell
11 Apr 2007, 11:04
Div 2
Premier - Watsonia
Runner Up - Macleod
Leading Goalkicker - Shannon Gibson
Comp Medal - Tony Hogg
matchwinner
11 Apr 2007, 11:09
To avoid bias, i'll leave my own team out for premiers/runners up tips:
Premiers: Macleod
Runners Up: Thomastown
Leading Goalkicker: Brandt
Comp Medalist: Craig Parsons or Andy Knee
Div 1:
Premier - Heidelberg
Runner Up - Montmorency
Leading Goalkicker - Plugger
Comp Medal - Brad Phelan
liquorman
11 Apr 2007, 11:11
Premier - Bergers
Runner Up - Some poor team that gets beaten by 100 points in GF
Goal Kicker - The great man Chris Hall
Comp Medal - See above:thumbsu:
matchwinner
11 Apr 2007, 11:19
GYTM, just looking at the clearances, were all of these blokes in your best side in divi 1 last season - Czerny, Dennis, Hollingsworth, Saad, Saliba, Whitehouse-Summers, Miles?
tommahawk
11 Apr 2007, 12:00
premier: macleod
runner up: lower plenty
goal kicker: "puffa" brandt
comp medal: swanny
Jewelsandbullet
11 Apr 2007, 12:48
Div 1:
Premier - Montmorency :eek:
Runner Up - H' Berg
Leading Goalkicker - Big Corey M
Comp Medal - Bomber Keenan
Big improvers: Panthers, Creek, West Preston
Biggest drop off: Doggies
The_KID
11 Apr 2007, 13:04
division one
Premiers: Heidelberg, cant see anyone gettin in the way of the tigs going back to back.
Runner up: MONT. In my opinion arnt really second fav because of anything they havge done, more a case of the wheels seemingly fallin off at bundy and north making mont next best.
Leading goal kicker: Hall.
Best and fairest: tie between king and nolan.
relegated: Greensborough
Tip: Joel 'the rump' mcconville to say something funny in his record spiel (creek capers) by round 10.
Giveyathemail
11 Apr 2007, 13:22
For me it's Heidelberg to win the flag from Mont, Hally to win the goalkicking by a street and the comp medal to go to Shaun Ryan or Dale Nolan...In Divvy 2 it would be wrong of me not to predict Lalor as the 2007 premier with Lower being our opponent in the grand final. Puffa will demolish the goalkicking (Wallan dont have the cattle to kick it to Bakes enough, same with Gibbo and the Wattsy boys) and Steven Marshall to win the comp medal.
Giveyathemail
11 Apr 2007, 13:25
GYTM, just looking at the clearances, were all of these blokes in your best side in divi 1 last season - Czerny, Dennis, Hollingsworth, Saad, Saliba, Whitehouse-Summers, Miles?
Dennis and Hollingsworth didnt play at all, Saliba didnt play the last 5 games, but was definatly a first 22 player as were all the other blokes.
GHOST WRITER
11 Apr 2007, 13:31
DIVVY 1
Premier : Mont
Runner-up : Bergers
Goalkicker: Hall
Comp medal: King
DIVVY 2
Premier: Macleod
Runner-up: Thomastown
Goalkicker: Brandt
Comp Medal: Race in 3 between Berak/Holmes/Parsons
Caught the end of Thomastown training last night. Noticed plenty of young kids (perhaps still Under 19s). The footyss weren't out much and they were doing plenty of running.
Also saw Watsonia hard at it last week. Their numbers are very strong and they could be the big improvers for 2007. They will rely a lot on the likes of Ace and co but they could be a team to watch.
Does anyone have any info on the big DVFL meeting proposed tonight?
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 13:37
For me it's Heidelberg to win the flag from Mont, Hally to win the goalkicking by a street and the comp medal to go to Shaun Ryan or Dale Nolan...In Divvy 2 it would be wrong of me not to predict Lalor as the 2007 premier with Lower being our opponent in the grand final. Puffa will demolish the goalkicking (Wallan dont have the cattle to kick it to Bakes enough, same with Gibbo and the Wattsy boys) and Steven Marshall to win the comp medal.
Will Shaun Ryan and the other boys get cleared back once the DVFL season commences. I noticed they all had reasonable games for Echuca United last week.
I think you will find Gibbo will play more up the ground then just hang around the goal sqaure.
Also heard that Bundoora were supposed to host a practice match against St.Marys from the Geelong league this weekend, but have been told they can not use their ground have been orderded back off it from training. They asked my club if they could hold the game there, but I dont think St.Marys would be to happy with the extra 1 hour drive.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 13:39
Div 1
Premier: Heidelberg
Runner-Up: Montmorency
Goalkicker: Chris Hall
Medal: Daniel King
Div 2
Premier: Macleod
Runner-Up: Lalor
Goalkicker: Puffa
Medal: Steve Marshall or Shannon Gibson
Giveyathemail
11 Apr 2007, 13:44
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;7186436]Will Shaun Ryan and the other boys get cleared back once the DVFL season commences. I noticed they all had reasonable games for Echuca United last week.
I think you will find Gibbo will play more up the ground then just hang around the goal sqaure.
Also heard that Bundoora were supposed to host a practice match against St.Marys from the Geelong league this weekend, but have been told they can not use their ground have been orderded back off it from training. They asked my club if they could hold the game there, but I dont think St.Marys would be to happy with the extra 1 hour drive.Just speaking to a mate of mine, apparantly Aberfeldie have secured a practice match with St Marys this week...J&B can you give me an update with the progress of Ricky Frost???? Will he play, has he been training???? Cheers
[quote=FOOTYBOSS;7186436]Will Shaun Ryan and the other boys get cleared back once the DVFL season commences. I noticed they all had reasonable games for Echuca United last week.
Also heard that Bundoora were supposed to host a practice match against St.Marys from the Geelong league this weekend, but have been told they can not use their ground have been orderded back off it from training. They asked my club if they could hold the game there, but I dont think St.Marys would be to happy with the extra 1 hour drive.Just speaking to a mate of mine, apparantly Aberfeldie have secured a practice match with St Marys this week...J&B can you give me an update with the progress of Ricky Frost???? Will he play, has he been training???? Cheers
Isn't playing from what he said. The knee is cactus. Was on pain killers to get through the cricket season.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Apr 2007, 14:38
[quote=Giveyathemail;7186510]
Isn't playing from what he said. The knee is cactus. Was on pain killers to get through the cricket season.
Not good news at all for Ricky. Is a very good player and definately would have helped Mont. Top bloke as well.
Giveyathemail
11 Apr 2007, 14:50
[quote=turtz;7186924]
Not good news at all for Ricky. Is a very good player and definately would have helped Mont. Top bloke as well.
Has missed the last 2 years I think with those injurys. Yeah I heard Abers have got the green light for a kick against St Marys this weekend champ.
Jewelsandbullet
11 Apr 2007, 15:15
]
J&B can you give me an update with the progress of Ricky Frost???? Will he play, has he been training???? Cheers
Yeah - What Turtz says he pretty spot on.
Saw him two weeks ago - he is looking really fit, but he was going into hospital the following day for yet another knee op.
Feel sorry for him, because you'd be hard pressed to find a bloke more dedicated or that wants to play more. But doesn't look good.
If we could get him on the track he would be biggest pick up in the comp... he is that good when right.
Yeah I think your right there boss, I thought he might kick them all from the centre?? I'll put Shane Potter as leading goal kicker then.
divi 1
premier: heildelberg - fiiting fairwell before leaving for eastern fl
r/up : could be any one
best in comp : daniel king - epping - flying and will make it 3 medals
leading goal : chris hall/shearer tied.
divi 2 premier : whittlesea - look good
r/up : macleod
best in comp : shannon gibson - best player seen in divi 2 for a long time
leading goal: puffa
Jewelsandbullet
11 Apr 2007, 16:41
Yeah I think your right there boss, I thought he might kick them all from the centre?? I'll put Shane Potter as leading goal kicker then.
I think Puffa will have to get very injured not to take out the DIV 2 goal kicking Force.
BRING ON '07
11 Apr 2007, 17:25
g,day havent heard about nuge , but from my sources bakes signed at wallan for 500 a game.
his loss of licence has a bit to do with it.
Just read in a local paper that Wallan may be going into recess for season 2006 due to lack of numbers and that they only have two people to administer there club. It states that in excess of 20 players have left the club since season 2005 ended. A meeting is to be held next week. If the clubs strugling this much do you think a player like Baker would want to be there?
I think Puffa will have to get very injured not to take out the DIV 2 goal kicking Force.
O.K. Puffa will come a close second:rolleyes: :D
Iceman27
11 Apr 2007, 17:52
Just read in a local paper that Wallan may be going into recess for season 2006 due to lack of numbers and that they only have two people to administer there club. It states that in excess of 20 players have left the club since season 2005 ended. A meeting is to be held next week. If the clubs strugling this much do you think a player like Baker would want to be there?
Baker has not been seen around the club for since our first practice match bout a month ago, but our coach said last night that he is deffinately playing for us but can't train. No clearnce has been put in so I don't really know what is going on.
BRING ON '07
11 Apr 2007, 18:00
Iceman is it true as the article in the review states that you boys are struggling at the moment and may go into recess for season 2007 or is it a bit of a scare tactic by the committee to try to get all back around the club. It would be a shame Wallan were very competative from all accounts and had a fair season last year with some promosing young players.
Iceman27
11 Apr 2007, 18:04
Iceman is it true as the article in the review states that you boys are struggling at the moment and may go into recess for season 2007 or is it a bit of a scare tactic by the committee to try to get all back around the club. It would be a shame Wallan were very competative from all accounts and had a fair season last year with some promosing young players.
I dom't think we will go into recess, but we have lost alot of our best 22 from last year, there is probably about 8 of us still around and still the possability that some of them 8 might also leave. Hopefully people show up to our meeting on Tuesday night and we can get some people on the committee maybe some more and people just to haelp out with match day duties.
BRING ON '07
11 Apr 2007, 18:20
I dom't think we will go into recess, but we have lost alot of our best 22 from last year, there is probably about 8 of us still around and still the possability that some of them 8 might also leave. Hopefully people show up to our meeting on Tuesday night and we can get some people on the committee maybe some more and people just to haelp out with match day duties.
Stick at it mate i hope all goes well at your meeting and Wallan can get back on track asap.
devlish1
11 Apr 2007, 19:40
Div 2 premier : Parkside
R/U: Lalor
Best in comp: Brad Hockey / Darren Gresham
Goalkicker: David Pagliarallo
just ask!!!
11 Apr 2007, 19:59
Baker has not been seen around the club for since our first practice match bout a month ago, but our coach said last night that he is deffinately playing for us but can't train. No clearnce has been put in so I don't really know what is going on.
i think west preston have a match this weekend. be interesting to see if baker and nugent both line up for the roosters..