View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Iceman27
16 Apr 2007, 14:58
DIVVY 2 WATCH - Watched Kinglake training last week and then saw them play against Kilmore on the weekend. They were creamed by more than 13 goals. Kilmore, however, are going to be a very good side and, from what some of the supporters were advising, Kinglake weren't at full strength.
Looking ahead to this weekends round of matches Lower are playing Watsonia and I might wander over to see how both teams fare.
Wallan playing Tullamarine at Wallan on Saturday.
Iceman27
16 Apr 2007, 15:00
Unsure If Bakes played on the weekend, but have heard Ice that Adrian Baker signed at his old stomping ground of Broadford last Thursday night.
Rumors on the Heathcote league thread have started about a centuary goal kicker who has just lost his licence returning to the league, so I think you might be right there scotywok.
matchwinner
16 Apr 2007, 15:03
DIVVY 2 WATCH - Watched Kinglake training last week and then saw them play against Kilmore on the weekend. They were creamed by more than 13 goals. Kilmore, however, are going to be a very good side and, from what some of the supporters were advising, Kinglake weren't at full strength.
Looking ahead to this weekends round of matches Lower are playing Watsonia and I might wander over to see how both teams fare.
Pretty sure we're playing Thomastown. Watsonia pulled the pin on the game with us.
Lower Plenty actually playing Thomastown this week, Watsy decided they would rather play MacLeod. Game on Saturday v Hurstbridge was a good hit out, played a number of younger players (Thirds) and had out approx 8 1`s players ie: Bandera, Parsons, A.Knee, W.Pretty (x Ressa) J.Perry (x Rushworth) L. McTaggart (x Colbinabbin) plus couple of others. Mitton was injured early so played no part in game. By all reports Hursty were shy about a similar number of senior players as well, will be a competitive unit Hursty I would think as I think most of Div 2 will be. In light of Heidelberg going from strength to strength in div 1, perhaps div 2 might provide a more interesting alternative this season.
there needs to be some guidelines in place
ie. you can clear 5 players out without restriction
every player after that, you need to have a player cleared in before you can clear 1 out
note: figures used are just example
would stop clubs having large numbers of players walkout. dvfl need to do some research into their clearences to see what figures would work.
Whatever rules you put in place have to pass the Legal test, to refuse because of Suspension, under contract or proof of being unfinancial are sound and reasonable. To refuse because you don`t like the club a player want`s to go to or because they alway poach your players, or he`s your best player and will take others with him, or perhaps you just want to refuse in the hope that he will get frustrated and stay are not sound and reasonable. There is no proof that the new clearance rule is the cause of any club issue`s at present, it could hasten a clubs demise but in Reservoirs case it seems there committee had an opportunity to resolve the situation with the players but decided to stand by there coaching appointment with the result being a walkout of players, not saying it`s right or wrong but there was an opportunity there to work it out.
Iceman27
16 Apr 2007, 16:43
Unsure If Bakes played on the weekend, but have heard Ice that Adrian Baker signed at his old stomping ground of Broadford last Thursday night.
Just confirmed, Baker will play Broadford this year
BlindTurn
16 Apr 2007, 16:53
Lot of outs for watsonia on the weekend. Game was used to have a look at the new players we've picked up and how they go at senior level.
Outs included:
T Little
Ace Ventura
S Gibson
B Parker
S Potter
S Hodgson
D Clayton...
...just to name a few. You could throw another 10 in there that will be rotated in and out through the year but the names aren't as recognisable as those above.
Im pretty confident that I saw S Gibson running around in the 1st quarter. Correct me if Im wrong, but if that wasnt him, he sure did look like him.
Congratulations you are correct he did play for a bit in the first quarter, but left early to go to a wedding. I would say that still counts as an out!:thumbsu:
Whatever rules you put in place have to pass the Legal test, to refuse because of Suspension, under contract or proof of being unfinancial are sound and reasonable. To refuse because you don`t like the club a player want`s to go to or because they alway poach your players, or he`s your best player and will take others with him, or perhaps you just want to refuse in the hope that he will get frustrated and stay are not sound and reasonable. There is no proof that the new clearance rule is the cause of any club issue`s at present, it could hasten a clubs demise but in Reservoirs case it seems there committee had an opportunity to resolve the situation with the players but decided to stand by there coaching appointment with the result being a walkout of players, not saying it`s right or wrong but there was an opportunity there to work it out.
reservoir's committee had a choice and the choice was between:
the coach some players wanted- he only wanted to do the job for 1 season
the coach the club went for- the club wanted to look beyond 1 year and plan for the future, were looking at a 3 year term as the club played in a PF, had u/17's who won a GF and the majority of those kids were going upto u/19 this season
it also must be said there were about 4-5 retirements from the senior team, which does not help.
Lower Plenty beat Hurstbridge by 5 points on the weekend in what looked a good game.
how did adam mclaughlin from lower go?
the dv champ
16 Apr 2007, 20:03
how did adam mclaughlin from lower go?
waddles is over rated and only plays well when lower are playing s hit teams or they are in front, so really who cares.
matchwinner
16 Apr 2007, 20:25
waddles is over rated and only plays well when lower are playing s hit teams or they are in front, so really who cares.
I'd say if you kick 70 odd goals in a season you've got a bit of talent. I was speaking to an assistant coach at Macleod recently (the side that finished 2nd) and they rate him very highly after the way he played against them last year. He did have a disappointing finish to the season, but Waddles has a lot of ability and is still fairly young, so will only improve.
cant say much havent seen him play, although as a junior kickin 100 goals in a season twice i know he can play abit, but then again seniors is a different game.. is ben weisenfeld stil playin 19s there?
Just confirmed, Baker will play Broadford this year
All Bakes has done is sign a clearance application at this stage Iceman, the fact that the HDFL has yet acknowledged it on their website seems a tad odd to me :confused:
Giveyathemail
17 Apr 2007, 09:28
Alot of these sides who are on here talking up their chances of success in 2007 would want to have a huge improvement over the last 6 months to even make the finals I reckon.
I cant wait for the season to start, see where all these sides are really at.
Thats when all their big name "senior players" return of course....
Off the Bench
17 Apr 2007, 09:52
Alot of these sides who are on here talking up their chances of success in 2007 would want to have a huge improvement over the last 6 months to even make the finals I reckon.
You must admit GYTM that it makes for interesting banter, talking up your chances in pre-season when there is no pressure. Anyway Div2 might be the talking point for the DVFL this year as Heidelberg seem to have already made space in the cabinet for the 2007 cup with no -team most likely to get within 6-8 goals of them......
Giveyathemail
17 Apr 2007, 09:59
Couldnt agree more mate.... Im just humoured by it thats all.
Isn't that what this thread is all about? talking shit!
harryhawaii
17 Apr 2007, 10:26
cant say much havent seen him play, although as a junior kickin 100 goals in a season twice i know he can play abit, but then again seniors is a different game.. is ben weisenfeld stil playin 19s there? apology to givya as i was wrong bundoora played keilor last saturday at keilor. one thing i have learnt in football is never to count premierships before the grand final .and i am still laughing at seeing the suggestion that waddles kicked a hundred goals in one seaon in juniors . ah waddles is bragging agin. its amazing how numbers grow. anyway good luck to all i watched heidelberg last saturday and i am looking forward to seeing montmorency this week as i am sure that they will give the tigers a run for their money. p.s. i hear matty carmichael was only cleared for one week to woori yallock for the benefit game and will be back soon. also b&f winner mcintosh got a bad injury and will miss some of the season if not all . the datoli curse grows .
matchwinner
17 Apr 2007, 10:32
Don't think you can put me in that boat GYTM. In fact I didn't even include Lower in my pre-season predictions to avoid bias. I am hopeful of a successful season, but also know sides like yourself, Macleod, Thomastown and Whittlesea will be tough to beat. Season just around the corner now, so really looking forward to things getting under way. BEEN A LONG PRE-SEASON!
GHOST WRITER
17 Apr 2007, 11:14
Brutal/Matchwinner - Thanks for the heads up. Will make the trek on Saturday to watch the game. Very keen on seeing both Lower and Thomastown at this stage in the pre season.
David_02
17 Apr 2007, 11:24
apology to givya as i was wrong bundoora played keilor last saturday at keilor. one thing i have learnt in football is never to count premierships before the grand final .and i am still laughing at seeing the suggestion that waddles kicked a hundred goals in one seaon in juniors . ah waddles is bragging agin. its amazing how numbers grow. anyway good luck to all i watched heidelberg last saturday and i am looking forward to seeing montmorency this week as i am sure that they will give the tigers a run for their money. p.s. i hear matty carmichael was only cleared for one week to woori yallock for the benefit game and will be back soon. also b&f winner mcintosh got a bad injury and will miss some of the season if not all . the datoli curse grows .
macIntosh will b back for the start of the season
Giveyathemail
17 Apr 2007, 13:44
Isn't that what this thread is all about? talking shit!
Of course mate, but lets be at least semi realistic when we do....
Giveyathemail
17 Apr 2007, 13:47
Don't think you can put me in that boat GYTM. In fact I didn't even include Lower in my pre-season predictions to avoid bias. I am hopeful of a successful season, but also know sides like yourself, Macleod, Thomastown and Whittlesea will be tough to beat. Season just around the corner now, so really looking forward to things getting under way. BEEN A LONG PRE-SEASON!
No Matchy I dont put you in that boat at all. And the irony of that is I think you blokes will be right in it come the buisness end of the year. I did predict us to win the flag although I am not as confident as previous years.
I am looking forward to the season starting though.
Jewelsandbullet
17 Apr 2007, 14:10
Of course mate, but lets be at least semi realistic when we do....
How's the ankle GYTM??
Giveyathemail
17 Apr 2007, 14:17
How's the ankle GYTM??
No good mate, still giving me dramas.... And hows things down your way J&B?
Jewelsandbullet
17 Apr 2007, 14:28
No good mate, still giving me dramas.... And hows things down your way J&B?
That's no good.
If it’s any consolation mate, I snapped my achillis tendon playing basketball just over 12 months ago.... and only now am I running anything like I was pre-injury.. But you do get there...
Actually I've just re-read.. This is no consolation at all!!!
Good luck with it though mate. Worse comes to worse … you can always drink cans on the side…
In other news... We should be OK again this year… hoping for top two.
Giveyathemail
17 Apr 2007, 14:37
That's no good.
If it’s any consolation mate, I snapped my achillis tendon playing basketball just over 12 months ago.... and only now am I running anything like I was pre-injury.. But you do get there...
Actually I've just re-read.. This is no consolation at all!!!
Good luck with it though mate. Worse comes to worse … you can always drink cans on the side…
In other news... We should be OK again this year… hoping for top two.
Thanks for that, hope all is well with you too.
I honestly beleive top 2 is where Mont is in the overall scheme of things at the moment. I hear you have recruited well, but the likes of Ricky Frost wouldve made a huge difference to you crack at a flag.
Thats terrible about him still struggling... He wouldve been great to watch at full flight.
Jewelsandbullet
17 Apr 2007, 14:47
Thanks for that, hope all is well with you too.
I honestly beleive top 2 is where Mont is in the overall scheme of things at the moment. I hear you have recruited well, but the likes of Ricky Frost wouldve made a huge difference to you crack at a flag.
Thats terrible about him still struggling... He wouldve been great to watch at full flight.
Agreed.. have only seen him injury free a few times - and he is class. Ricky would have been the icing on the cake .... take some pressure off Wato, and compliment the likes of Bomber and new recruit McGough.
hunteyes
17 Apr 2007, 17:32
apology to givya as i was wrong bundoora played keilor last saturday at keilor. one thing i have learnt in football is never to count premierships before the grand final .and i am still laughing at seeing the suggestion that waddles kicked a hundred goals in one seaon in juniors . ah waddles is bragging agin. its amazing how numbers grow. anyway good luck to all i watched heidelberg last saturday and i am looking forward to seeing montmorency this week as i am sure that they will give the tigers a run for their money. p.s. i hear matty carmichael was only cleared for one week to woori yallock for the benefit game and will be back soon. also b&f winner mcintosh got a bad injury and will miss some of the season if not all . the datoli curse grows .
waddles did kick 20 in one game against greensborough in juniors, so i wouldnt be laughing bout him gettin to 100....... and yeah heard the same thing bout matty carmichael!
just ask!!!
17 Apr 2007, 21:30
just wondering if the west preston boys could give me details on the game against golden square. best players and goal kickers would be good.
luke trew has left heildelberg. big lose although i think they can cover him.
in my opinion he won them the granny last year when he went into the midfield half way through the 2nd quarter.
good luck to him as he was value for money. (but scary as hell):mad:
Mobbenfuhrer
18 Apr 2007, 11:16
still plenty of room for more players in my signature ... sorry ... for the fantasy league in my signature ... DVFL have reasonable representation but a bit to go if they want a team of theironneous :)
METRO VIC (22 players)
Diamond Valley FL (8)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
VFL & VAFA (Vic) (6)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / A Grade)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)
Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)
Giveyathemail
18 Apr 2007, 13:12
luke trew has left heildelberg. big lose although i think they can cover him.
in my opinion he won them the granny last year when he went into the midfield half way through the 2nd quarter.
good luck to him as he was value for money. (but scary as hell):mad:
Your not wrong, Trewy is as mad as they come, but a great bloke off the field. One of the wosrt cases of white line fever ive ever seen...
Where is he playing?
GHOST WRITER
18 Apr 2007, 14:31
Big numbers on the track at Watsonia last night. Of particular interest was the number of ex Reservoir players training in their blue gear. At this stage of the year I would imagine many clubs are getting decent numbers on the track as we head towards Round 1. All the talk amongst the people watching was about their practice match Friday night. Sounds like a big weekend for praccy games.
InsideInfo
18 Apr 2007, 14:38
we were on our cricket trip at echucha on weekend and watched the north heidelberg boys in action and harley ryan was in devastating form, was a class above the others up there. daniel moore was very good aswell. they smashed tocumal by 106 points
I was watching as well, and i agree with you that Harley Ryan played a great game - outstanding in the first quarter, quietened down in the second, but came good again in the third and fourth - on eof the BOG and well deserved.
You didn't mention Kingy and Mouse, they payed great also. Kingy was also named as BOG.... heaps of 1% that casued Toc to make alot of turnovers.
Where you the group in the Stand???
InsideInfo
18 Apr 2007, 14:39
Are these players definately returning to North Heidelberg once the DV season starts, or staying up there? Must be very tempting to stay with Echuca United, given their impressive start to the season and the expectation that North will struggle this season.
At this stage all four boys are returning to North. All four should be in for a great season, already playing fantastic football.
gazzabell
18 Apr 2007, 15:57
yeah that was us the drunks, probably the annoying ones. harley was off in the 2nd that's why he was quiet. we all thought he looked like judd in the number 3 of the eagles jumper. all 4 were very good and noticeble kingy didnt have to do to much as the ball didnt travel into toc's forward line that often although they did have a good spell in the 2nd kicking 6 or so straight
harsh, but fair
18 Apr 2007, 16:10
Craig Shearer signed a clearance to play for Albury today?
How has he gone for Heidelberg in recent years.
Bruce Almighty
18 Apr 2007, 19:57
44 pies , 63 mars bars,44 buckets of chips,490 gallons of p**s,1 dohnut and a sh** load of other stuff,but all in all not to bad over recent years.Does this help?
Cadrock
18 Apr 2007, 20:01
Your not wrong, Trewy is as mad as they come, but a great bloke off the field. One of the wosrt cases of white line fever ive ever seen...
Where is he playing?
You blokes cannot be serious , watch Luke Trew play he takes his eye off the ball and whacks you when you are not looking. Blokes like Viola , Robinson,etc would have him for breakfast. You talk about tough blokes watch Mark Minney from Eltham play, never takes his eyes off the footy and goes in hard, never in his life has he taken a backward step. Luke Trew is a pretender and always will be. When North beat them in the 2005 grand final and Trew knew it was all over he would not go near Caddy .All of a sudden he went to jelly. You blokes get your facts straight.
just ask!!!
18 Apr 2007, 20:35
You blokes cannot be serious , watch Luke Trew play he takes his eye off the ball and whacks you when you are not looking. Blokes like Viola , Robinson,etc would have him for breakfast. You talk about tough blokes watch Mark Minney from Eltham play, never takes his eyes off the footy and goes in hard, never in his life has he taken a backward step. Luke Trew is a pretender and always will be. When North beat them in the 2005 grand final and Trew knew it was all over he would not go near Caddy .All of a sudden he went to jelly. You blokes get your facts straight.
jus thought i would add comment on this. trewy wouldnt go to jelly. i saw the first bounce and caddy tried to run through him...... up trewy got and had a decent go at him and put tough man caddy in his box....
Cadrock
18 Apr 2007, 20:50
jus thought i would add comment on this. trewy wouldnt go to jelly. i saw the first bounce and caddy tried to run through him...... up trewy got and had a decent go at him and put tough man caddy in his box....
Obviously by your reply you are petrified of him, I must have been at a different game. Anyway he is gone which is great. Ask Chris Groom about him, see what answer he will give you.
just ask!!!
18 Apr 2007, 20:54
Obviously by your reply you are petrified of him, I must have been at a different game. Anyway he is gone which is great. Ask Chris Groom about him, see what answer he will give you.
actually another game i was at....150m off the ball. i suppose thats pretty tough to do when your not looking. must be a proud sort of fella to do that 150m off the ball and the bloke is not looking.
Bubble Wrap
18 Apr 2007, 20:58
Big numbers on the track at Watsonia last night. Of particular interest was the number of ex Reservoir players training in their blue gear. At this stage of the year I would imagine many clubs are getting decent numbers on the track as we head towards Round 1. All the talk amongst the people watching was about their practice match Friday night. Sounds like a big weekend for praccy games.
94 blokes to fill two teams. Will be interesting.
Tough balancing act for any club. Do you pick the new blokes straight up? If not they might walk. If you do, then the incumbent players who got us through the tough times might walk. And if the new blokes then leave at year end? You're back in the sh|t again, struggling for numbers.
I can't wait to see some round one scores, to really see where everyone is at. Practice matches mean SFA.
Cadrock
18 Apr 2007, 21:06
actually another game i was at....150m off the ball. i suppose thats pretty tough to do when your not looking. must be a proud sort of fella to do that 150m off the ball and the bloke is not looking.
So now you agree with me about Luke Trew, you have finally come to your senses. WELL DONE
stooge01
18 Apr 2007, 21:43
that would be a couta blue TREWY VS CADDY live on big footy. Both boys are handy in a scrap. Who do you think would win boys.
chopsewie
18 Apr 2007, 22:30
jus thought i would add comment on this. trewy wouldnt go to jelly. i saw the first bounce and caddy tried to run through him...... up trewy got and had a decent go at him and put tough man caddy in his box....Well you are a dead set liar or your imagination is working over time. AT THE START OF THE 05 GRANNY ME AND MARTELLO WERE IN THE MIDDLE TREWY RAN FOR ME AND DID NO DAMAGE WHAT SO EVER. So i dont know how i could run through him when im in the middle and hes on the half back flank maybe ill just ask you you f n goose. Dale Nolan ran through marty and knocked him out maybe he should nt have it only made him play better.Trewy's job every time i have played him is to try and get me reported for some reason both party's never were maybe the umpires just saw it as a fair contest. I hope i get to play against him again as im sure he d feel the same.
hey saul,
he is playing for apollo bay. so you probably wont get your wish.
would be good to see you boys go at it one more time.
you 2 were like joey ahmad and trevor robinson back in the early 00's.
you playing for creek or colts.
thats what this thread wants to know
Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2007, 09:04
You get your facts straight **** face... You should know what your talking about before you open that gob of yours. I can see how hard you are, having a crack at him sitting behind a computer...
Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2007, 09:09
94 blokes to fill two teams. Will be interesting.
Tough balancing act for any club. Do you pick the new blokes straight up? If not they might walk. If you do, then the incumbent players who got us through the tough times might walk. And if the new blokes then leave at year end? You're back in the sh|t again, struggling for numbers.
I can't wait to see some round one scores, to really see where everyone is at. Practice matches mean SFA.
Couldnt agree more Bubble...
Jewelsandbullet
19 Apr 2007, 10:05
The Teddy bear will log on to bigfooty in the next few days... and do doubt tell you himself ;)
Ask Chris Groom, and he will tell you I won't start a fight I clearly can't finish!
Pheonix20
19 Apr 2007, 10:08
You get your facts straight **** face... You should know what your talking about before you open that gob of yours. I can see how hard you are, having a crack at him sitting behind a computer...
Either way, This is not what we want in DV Footbal! This sort of bragging about who can hit someone harder from behind is exactly why this league has the crap reputation that it does. I saw tru a couple of times last year and if he went for the ball and played his opponent on his merits who knows how good he could have been. The problem is he will now be known in his new league as a thug from the Diamond Valley and nothing more. One on one fighting of footy he was not in Caddy's league. Lets stop rating the best coward and rate some of the good young players for the coming season.
gazzabell
19 Apr 2007, 11:05
who r some of the best young footy players coming through? i reckon tony hogg is going to rip it up in div 2
The_KID
19 Apr 2007, 12:13
At creek some of our better young players include:
Timmy Cusack ( age 22)
Brenton Hoppe (22)
Joel "Plumber" Burrell (20)
Brad "Buckets" Kinnane (20)
Matt Sinclair (21)
Jedd McQueen (18)
Josh summers (19)
Ryan Constance (20)
Joel "the rump" mcconville (21)
Alex Vella (19)
Tim Chivers (17)
Craig "chippa" Meredith (19)
Ryan Tolley (17)
John Liddiard (22)
Chris Hoyne (22)
edit: forgot simon perryman (22) and chris burton (18) form this list. boht played almost every game last yr with perryman winning the b and f.
All have either played regular senior footy or will be playing regular seniors this yr in my humble opinion.
Cadrock
19 Apr 2007, 12:53
Actually, I only ever speak the truth and if you tell the truth you will never get into trouble. He has to live with his faults not me, I have nothing to hide. I sleep peacefully every night but does he? It would be hard for him because you live by the sword you die by the sword.There are plenty around who will knock him off his perch
who r some of the best young footy players coming through? i reckon tony hogg is going to rip it up in div 2
I second that, looking forward to the hoggmeister tearing it up this year.
Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2007, 13:09
Either way, This is not what we want in DV Footbal! This sort of bragging about who can hit someone harder from behind is exactly why this league has the crap reputation that it does. I saw tru a couple of times last year and if he went for the ball and played his opponent on his merits who knows how good he could have been. The problem is he will now be known in his new league as a thug from the Diamond Valley and nothing more. One on one fighting of footy he was not in Caddy's league. Lets stop rating the best coward and rate some of the good young players for the coming season.
Who said anything about whacking blokes from behind???
Show me where that was ever mentioned in anything I posted....
Jewelsandbullet
19 Apr 2007, 13:09
. The problem is he will now be known in his new league as a thug from the Diamond Valley and nothing more. One on one fighting of footy he was not in Caddy's league. Lets stop rating the best coward and rate some of the good young players for the coming season.
Have we all been watching the same Trew? The bloke I've seen is hard at it (& I mean the ball) might not be squeaky clean, but I'd say he is a better player than just "as a thug from the Diamond Valley and nothing more"
He is a very good player in his own right.
got to remember trew got drafted to hawthorn. so he is an ex afl player.
yeah hes done some bad things but we all have made mistakes,
any way enough about him.
been training at whittlesea and a good young bloke is tolly (dont know his real name) but he looks good and roy (no 22)
he also looks good. got about 70 blokes (including 19's )
so should have ok numbers.
cheers
got to remember trew got drafted to hawthorn. so he is an ex afl player.
yeah hes done some bad things but we all have made mistakes,
any way enough about him.
been training at whittlesea and a good young bloke is tolly (dont know his real name) but he looks good and roy (no 22)
he also looks good. got about 70 blokes (including 19's )
so should have ok numbers.
cheers
it was actually west coast!
Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2007, 13:24
Actually, I only ever speak the truth and if you tell the truth you will never get into trouble. He has to live with his faults not me, I have nothing to hide. I sleep peacefully every night but does he? It would be hard for him because you live by the sword you die by the sword.There are plenty around who will knock him off his perch
Sorry Mr Perfect... If Trewy is so weak, then there should be no reason why you cant be the one to knock him off his perch? After all, you have nothing to hide...
WRFLfan
19 Apr 2007, 13:34
Lower Plenty actually playing Thomastown this week, Watsy decided they would rather play MacLeod. Game on Saturday v Hurstbridge was a good hit out, played a number of younger players (Thirds) and had out approx 8 1`s players ie: Bandera, Parsons, A.Knee, W.Pretty (x Ressa) J.Perry (x Rushworth) L. McTaggart (x Colbinabbin) plus couple of others. Mitton was injured early so played no part in game. By all reports Hursty were shy about a similar number of senior players as well, will be a competitive unit Hursty I would think as I think most of Div 2 will be. In light of Heidelberg going from strength to strength in div 1, perhaps div 2 might provide a more interesting alternative this season.
McGregor from Resa Kicked 6.2 for Port Colts on the weekend against last years Grand Finalist and looks to be a handy addition to a forward line which includes Saul Caddy(Nth Heildeberg) and Kane Cooper(Northcote Park)
David_02
19 Apr 2007, 16:01
At creek some of our better young players include:
Timmy Cusack ( age 22)
Brenton Hoppe (22)
Joel "Plumber" Burrell (20)
Brad "Buckets" Kinnane (20)
Matt Sinclair (21)
Jedd McQueen (18)
Josh summers (19)
Ryan Constance (20)
Joel "the rump" mcconville (21)
Alex Vella (19)
Tim Chivers (17)
Craig "chippa" Meredith (19)
Ryan Tolley (17)
John Liddiard (22)
Chris Hoyne (22)
All have either played regular senior footy or will be playing regular seniors this yr in my humble opinion.
lol craig merideth
whitelinefeva
19 Apr 2007, 16:25
lol craig merideth
And Ryan Constance, what a cat.
hunteyes
19 Apr 2007, 16:45
And Ryan Constance, what a cat.
haha so true!
WiseOne
19 Apr 2007, 16:51
lol craig merideth
Where's Brad Phelan in that list, he acts like a kid
ifyoucandodgeawrench
19 Apr 2007, 17:00
Have we all been watching the same Trew? The bloke I've seen is hard at it (& I mean the ball) might not be squeaky clean, but I'd say he is a better player than just "as a thug from the Diamond Valley and nothing more"
He is a very good player in his own right.
Spot on J&B. :thumbsu:
Jewelsandbullet
19 Apr 2007, 18:04
Hey Iceman,
What happened out of that meeting at Wallan to try and get additional volunteers and or support on to the committee- are things moving ahead down there?
Iceman27
19 Apr 2007, 18:17
Hey Iceman,
What happened out of that meeting at Wallan to try and get additional volunteers and or support on to the committee- are things moving ahead down there?
The meeting was a bit of a mixed bag. We got bout 8 voulnteers to help out on match day with the likes of team managers, canteen staff, bar staff etc, but no one put there hand up to jump on the committee so there will be 4 of us working our butts off for the club. Hopefully some people might jump on board during the season, but the main thing is, that the club will not be going into recess.
AndyBoy
19 Apr 2007, 18:39
that would be a couta blue TREWY VS CADDY live on big footy. Both boys are handy in a scrap. Who do you think would win boys.
would be great to watch..... i remember in the 2005 finals trewy smacking caddy on the arse when they came together on the ground....
but in true caddy fashion he would probably tell us all he is coming then not show.....lol:D
chopsewie
19 Apr 2007, 19:15
I just want everyone to know Luke Trew is a good bloke off the feild and punching each other up won't be happening. I have alot of respect for him and loved playing against him and wish him all the best down at apollo bay.As for this cadrock goose i have nothing to do with him ive received five phone calls today thinking its me who ever you are cadrock **** off you obviously would not have a clue what your talking about. I'll be playing for port colts as i said ages ago.
Don't get sucked in saul these blokes are nothin but office workers with too much time on their hands. So how bout we get back to talking bout the up coming season that we have all been eagerly awaiting. Ok how bout i start it off. How much do u think bundoora will win the flag by? 10 goals or 20 goals?
haha so true!
Oh ryan "struggle to get a game in monty twos" constance yeah he is gunna be a gun. good one mate i know u are trying to build his confidence but 'mon be serious,
silvergun69
19 Apr 2007, 20:57
was lookin at the clearances seem to be a lot of good players who have left abbas,ada,galea,boxy,comfort,matty o,clay,cornish,kemp just to name a few have you blokes picked up the players to cover these fellers they were all in the best 22 last year? also any news on the b and f winner from last year is he still runnin around?
silvergun69
19 Apr 2007, 20:59
sorry that was to iceman27.
Don't get sucked in saul these blokes are nothin but office workers with too much time on their hands. So how bout we get back to talking bout the up coming season that we have all been eagerly awaiting. Ok how bout i start it off. How much do u think bundoora will win the flag by? 10 goals or 20 goals?
20!!!!!
The meeting was a bit of a mixed bag. We got bout 8 voulnteers to help out on match day with the likes of team managers, canteen staff, bar staff etc, but no one put there hand up to jump on the committee so there will be 4 of us working our butts off for the club. Hopefully some people might jump on board during the season, but the main thing is, that the club will not be going into recess.
Great to hear Iceman27 good luck with it all :thumbsu:
Iceman27
20 Apr 2007, 00:09
[QUOTE=silvergun69;7281928]was lookin at the clearances seem to be a lot of good players who have left abbas,ada,galea,boxy,comfort,matty o,clay,cornish,kemp just to name a few have you blokes picked up the players to cover these fellers they were all in the best 22 last year? also any news on the b and f winner from last year is he still running around?
No we have not picked up the players to replace these players and I dont think we will be pushing for finals this year, which is a shame after building up a team for 5 years to push for finals and then only just missing out last year, annoys me, cause a goal we set of makeing finals was not achieved but these players have made there choice and are welcome back anytime.
As to our B and F winner from last year, No he is not running around for us this year, I am not 100% sure but I think he is playing at Drysdale.
Party pooper
20 Apr 2007, 07:43
[Also heard today that Fawkner Park will announce they are folding, sometime this week.
What is the latest information on this issue?
Good to hear you boys are still kicking!
The_KID
20 Apr 2007, 11:47
Oh ryan "struggle to get a game in monty twos" constance yeah he is gunna be a gun. good one mate i know u are trying to build his confidence but 'mon be serious,
conno out on the outer wing at creek this yr will give sides a bath in the seniors. he is quick, has good skills and can run all day. On creeks big ground he will find space and he is a great finisher. In for a big yr after a tough preseason.
Any chance u could add something meaningful other than crap about bundy winnin the flag by 20 goals and baggin other players?
GHOST WRITER
20 Apr 2007, 11:58
DIVVY 2 WATCH - Went to St Monicas last night to watch Thomastown training and they seem very buoyed by their pending practice match this weekend. Admittedly their skills were a little sloppy in some of the drills which I found surprising. Obviously Dean Sinclair has been joining in on training in recent weeks but still looks as though he could do with a few extra laps around the tan.
matchwinner
20 Apr 2007, 12:06
DIVVY 2 WATCH - Went to St Monicas last night to watch Thomastown training and they seem very buoyed by their pending practice match this weekend. Admittedly their skills were a little sloppy in some of the drills which I found surprising. Obviously Dean Sinclair has been joining in on training in recent weeks but still looks as though he could do with a few extra laps around the tan.
I dont think i'd call it Divvy 2 watch. More like Thomastown watch, cause that is about the only side you report on. You obviously have some sort of link to there???
Jewelsandbullet
20 Apr 2007, 12:07
conno out on the outer wing at creek this yr will give sides a bath in the seniors. he is quick, has good skills and can run all day. On creeks big ground he will find space and he is a great finisher. In for a big yr after a tough preseason.
Hey "kid" good to see you enthusiastic bout the year ahead but you're "kidding" yourself about Constance. That's a fact.
devil's advocte
20 Apr 2007, 12:24
Hey "kid" good to see you enthusiastic bout the year ahead but you're "kidding" yourself about Constance. That's a fact.
If DC rely on conno then they are in moer trouble than you will ever know. unless loges can put some mongrel in him, he is too scared for senior footy and will hang out on the wings by himself...think about it DC!!
On another note J&B, you were wrong about monty last week vs Balwyn, only 5 points at half time and only 5 goals at end, so what is the prediction against Heidelberg this week? Will the boys roll over like pathetic Eltham last week or your semi last year? Or will this be a contest?....and....are you going? I want a full match report!:thumbsu:
Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 12:42
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!
(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)
METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench
VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)
Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)
Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)
WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)
Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)
Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)
Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]
GHOST WRITER
20 Apr 2007, 12:45
MATCHWINNER - On the contrary, my posts about Thomastown have nothing to do with allegiance and everything to do with geography, as I am a recent new resident close to the school they are using as a training venue. As the following shows, I have written posts about a number of teams and just love local footy. No strict allegiance to anyone.
22/3 Wallan
27/3 Greensborough & Kinglake
5/4 Heidelberg
11/4 Watsonia
16/4 Kinglake (again)
18/4 Watsonia (again)
Do you have any allegiances?
Jewelsandbullet
20 Apr 2007, 12:46
If DC rely on conno then they are in moer trouble than you will ever know. unless loges can put some mongrel in him, he is too scared for senior footy and will hang out on the wings by himself...think about it DC!!
On another note J&B, you were wrong about monty last week vs Balwyn, only 5 points at half time and only 5 goals at end, so what is the prediction against Heidelberg this week? Will the boys roll over like pathetic Eltham last week or your semi last year? Or will this be a contest?....and....are you going? I want a full match report!:thumbsu:
Yes Devil.. I predicted we'd beat Balwyn by 10 didn't I :o
Yeah I'll be there tomorrow from the time they start kicking dew.
I'm predicting a contest:thumbsu:
Match report to follow mate.
Giveyathemail
20 Apr 2007, 13:20
Spot on J&B. Alot of room to run out there, but not so much to hide in.
Be interesting to see how Jake King goes tonight for the Tigers.
Interesting write up in the Herald Sun on him.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5454363,00.jpg
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21587796%255E19742,00.html
Yes Devil.. I predicted we'd beat Balwyn by 10 didn't I :o
Yeah I'll be there tomorrow from the time they start kicking dew.
I'm predicting a contest:thumbsu:
Match report to follow mate.
how did harrison go for balwyn?
flipout
20 Apr 2007, 15:42
how did harrison go for balwyn?
where is james gilliland playing? do u have info about him mattyr?
gilly is a pumken head albino
whitelinefeva
20 Apr 2007, 16:02
You do know he is too old for under 19's don't you? Surely you don't think he can play division 1 A grade.
Iceman27
20 Apr 2007, 17:26
What is the latest information on this issue?
A guy from our footy club works with the Fawkner Park president and he said they should be fine to play this year. They have bout 45 players.
I
Be interesting to see how Jake King goes tonight for the Tigers.
Interesting write up in the Herald Sun on him.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5454363,00.jpg
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21587796%255E19742,00.html
On behalf of everyone at bundoora we wish kingy all the best it's just proof that talent is in the diamond valley, hope he does well so it will shine some light on the other young guns in the league.
The_KID
20 Apr 2007, 18:11
boys, final word on conno, he will be good for creek exactly what we need, running player who is a great finisher. He will play every game and kick aroung 30 goals for the yr.
Tats my prediction. we will revisit this post in a few months and see how he is going. With all due respect to u others, i think im the only one who has seen him play this yr and im the one in best position to comment on his upcoming prospects.
BobbyBurritto
20 Apr 2007, 19:08
MATCHWINNER - On the contrary, my posts about Thomastown have nothing to do with allegiance and everything to do with geography, as I am a recent new resident close to the school they are using as a training venue. As the following shows, I have written posts about a number of teams and just love local footy. No strict allegiance to anyone.
22/3 Wallan
27/3 Greensborough & Kinglake
5/4 Heidelberg
11/4 Watsonia
16/4 Kinglake (again)
18/4 Watsonia (again)
Do you have any allegiances?
I'd have to agree with MW on this one. You do seem to watch alot of Thomastown. How about venturing down to Lower, Macleod, Lalor or Whittelsea. They are the 4 sides that will be fighting out the premiership and i'd be interested to hear your thoughts.
Interesting to see Nick Lynch training with Macleod last night. Hopefully he makes it with Coburg because he's a good kid but they've sent him back for some fitness so as previously stated don't be suprised if he's back in a Macleod jumper before the year is out. Puffa and Lynch in the same forward line would be scarey come finals time!!!