View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Party pooper
20 Apr 2007, 19:19
A guy from our footy club works with the Fawkner Park president and he said they should be fine to play this year. They have bout 45 players.
I
Thanks for the news. Good to hear.
It seems that Reservoir will be the venue for the seniors and reserves Hurstbridge v Panton Hill practice match this weekend. http://www.hurstbridgefc.com/football/default.asp and http://phfcnews.blogspot.com/
What is the latest information on this issue?
Spoke to an old Fawkner player who`s old man still checks on things down there, he said that they have about 30 on the track but all is not good down there. The Reserves coach walked out last week because the President refused to discipline a player who was disrespecting him, apparently the players get on the track when they feel like it and walk off when they feel like. Would be very surprised if it lasts more than a few weeks in. Did here though that the guy who has taken over the senior coaching role is a bloke with the surname of Harvey, apparently hails from Nth Heidelberg in his younger days. Anyone shed some light on this?
whistle blower
20 Apr 2007, 21:46
have a few questions to raise here.
what happened to last years coach at fawkner park???
in last years desription of him they held high regard for him.
(perhaps his past is catching up on him /caught up.
the other 1 is ...how much truth to the rumour that watsy have done a deal with local real estate agent, for a slice of the big wire fence on the corner.
have it on good authority it cost 30k(the tenure im not sure on) perhaps SHANE you could elaborate for us mere mortals.
if that is true im also lead to believe that from last year being some 18k (black) it makes a tidy sum to attract players hence having a shitload of players trying to $$$$$ in on whats in the kitty.
Spoke to an old Fawkner player who`s old man still checks on things down there, he said that they have about 30 on the track but all is not good down there. The Reserves coach walked out last week because the President refused to discipline a player who was disrespecting him, apparently the players get on the track when they feel like it and walk off when they feel like. Would be very surprised if it lasts more than a few weeks in. Did here though that the guy who has taken over the senior coaching role is a bloke with the surname of Harvey, apparently hails from Nth Heidelberg in his younger days. Anyone shed some light on this?
Spoke to one of the players last Sunday and they have had 45 players on the track in total, not at one time. That doesn't mean they are all going to play. The Harvey I heard they were going to talk to was Brent Harvey's father.
Apparently they sacked last years coach who had been reappointed. Last I heard he had not been paid for last year but that may not be correct.
The reserves coach who left has been on and off at the club for many years and has left a couple of times over small issues.
bundoora today beating vermont by about 3 goals in a low scoring game.
looked pretty good with a few young guys given a chance and playing well,piggot looking fit at ff kicking a few goals.
bundoora today beating vermont by about 3 goals in a low scoring game.
looked pretty good with a few young guys given a chance and playing well,piggot looking fit at ff kicking a few goals.
bundoora beating vermont easily today we can't be that bad if we beat the reigning premiers of eastern last year? many players were rested as well
flipout
21 Apr 2007, 22:28
watsonia going down to macleod by about 5 goals today, big improvement considering they got done by about 20 goals last season i heard. the reserves also did well to beat macleod by about 10 goals.
BRING ON '07
22 Apr 2007, 01:52
any one know of any other results in this weeks pracy matches. results i know of are:
Mcleod defeated Watsoia by about 5 goals
Lalor defeated Buleen Templestowe by about 5 goals
Thomastown defeated Lower Plenty by about 10 goals
Bundoora defeated Vermont by about 3 goals
Any other results let us know. Round one not far awsay looking forward to some good local footy. Bring it on.
Kickass
22 Apr 2007, 01:55
The Panthers had a good hitout against Airport West 21/4.
1s by 10 goals, 2s by 14 goals, 19s by 16 goals.
i would tell you who some of the better players were and shit, but i don't know most of them.
I probably should get down to training a little more often, Oh well.
tommahawk
22 Apr 2007, 11:01
watsonia are not going to be any good at all alot of there new players are players from club where they did struggle to get a game in there ones. the only good pick ups they have are gibson and parker but the rest are terrible. we would of beaten them by atleast 15 goals today if we had our full team in.. long year again for watsonia.
matchwinner
22 Apr 2007, 12:59
watsonia going down to macleod by about 5 goals today, big improvement considering they got done by about 20 goals last season i heard. the reserves also did well to beat macleod by about 10 goals.
I'm sure Watsonia will improve significantly on last season, but dont base your assessment on practice match results. Many sides are well below full strength and also use these games to give younger players some exposure to senior footy.
Henry24
22 Apr 2007, 13:34
any one know of any other results in this weeks pracy matches. results i know of are:
Mcleod defeated Watsoia by about 5 goals
Lalor defeated Buleen Templestowe by about 5 goals
Thomastown defeated Lower Plenty by about 10 goals
Bundoora defeated Vermont by about 3 goals
Any other results let us know. Round one not far awsay looking forward to some good local footy. Bring it on.
Correction, Bulleen-Templestowe beat Lalor by about 5 goals.
and if watsonia had their full team in they wouldve brought that margin back to 5 goals ;)
how did hoggy go?
saw macleod play yesterday, puffa seems overrated, just a fat heap who stands in the goal square, early days to be judging though, we will see how he goes round 1
thirstyforwater
22 Apr 2007, 16:22
saw macleod play yesterday, puffa seems overrated, just a fat heap who stands in the goal square, early days to be judging though, we will see how he goes round 1
Won't see puffa until Round 2. Macleod now have a bye Round 1.
Whats going to happen to the 30 odd blokes who don't get a game at Watsonia this season, will they all go and try to get a game somewhere or will they be happy just to hang around and watching for the season. Will be interesting to see what happens. Can't wait for round 1 to start so we can get a handle on how teams are really travelling.
chopsewie
22 Apr 2007, 17:26
saw macleod play yesterday, puffa seems overrated, just a fat heap who stands in the goal square, early days to be judging though, we will see how he goes round 1Yeh he is a big boy and he stands in the goal sqaure thats where you have to ask yourself who is going to be able to body this brute of a man. He rarely drops marks and never misses i am pretty confident puff will kick over one hundred this year. By the way i don 't think your early judgement is going to count for much as he has been kicking goals for the last fifteen years he has more than proven himself.
Puffa is a league champion, who is going to listen to anything u say anymore u goose. puffa will kick at least 100 goals this year.
Perhaps the Watsy boys not getting a game should travel to Ressa and start up their seniors. At least they would be garanteed a game, seniors at that, every week.
Did watch first half of Wasty vs McLeod. Impressions were that Watsy had ok onballers, and they will improve once Chicken n Ace n junior scooter harris enter the onballer division, which will push their weekend onballers to another possie.
McLeod did not seem too flash(Comparisin to last yr). Did have some taller run like the wind guys, who did play well b/n half bk / hf forward. Puffa only had Leeman to contentend with. Leeman gave free's away at will, which made it terribly easy for Puffa. I think you make a good point Chopsewie, it will take another big man to cover puffa, thats where the advantage lies.
As for his never missing goal kicking, he does have a good kick on him, except for his 1st shot from 10 m out, slight angle. Missed.
Both teams seemed ok, but no where near the level that Lalor has showed their recent years when thy were sitting ontop of Divvy 2.
Richo pulled on boots for Watsy and played CHF. Did ok, taking forward ruck duals. Perhaps Watsy will soon discover he is a god player, maybe not a forward focal point. Did play full back at OP's. Maybe he will get Puffa next time round.
West Preston had a good win yesterday against Old Brighton by 3 points after trailing all day. They play Epping this week at home. There will be a surprise inclusion in the next two weeks.. Stay posted!
The_KID
22 Apr 2007, 20:53
West heidelberg knocked off bulleen cobras in a six quarter game.
good effort from WH as bulleen did sport some decent ex valley players, including ex creek star forward pocket david speedie.
Also hurst beat panton hillat ressa in a scrapy game due to the weather.
quote:Both teams seemed ok, but no where near the level that Lalor has showed their recent years when thy were sitting ontop of Divvy 2.
Well Lalor must have slipped recently because to be beaten by a Divison D1 team in Bulleen- Templestowe doesnt indicate they're going to be anywhere near that level themselves.
matchwinner
22 Apr 2007, 21:32
quote:Both teams seemed ok, but no where near the level that Lalor has showed their recent years when thy were sitting ontop of Divvy 2.
Well Lalor must have slipped recently because to be beaten by a Divison D1 team in Bulleen- Templestowe doesnt indicate they're going to be anywhere near that level themselves.
As i said previously, dont make judgements on practice match form. We had about 10 players out of our best side yesterday (Thomastown were probably missing some also) and i'm sure Lalor wouldnt have been at full strength either. Can start making more accurate assessments when the real season kicks off.
chopsewie
22 Apr 2007, 22:04
Puffa is a league champion, who is going to listen to anything u say anymore u goose. puffa will kick at least 100 goals this year.Say no more i definately know your not the one and only now Puff and vinny despise each other
Oh, another rumour as fact.
Big Red fella from Mernda will not be goin round this yr.
Maybe there is a club who can coax him outta r/ment with the $$?
But i doubt it. Would kick at least 80 in any div 2 team.
How'd he look last preseason at Bund boys? Noticed he didnt stick around. Did he not cut the grade, or did he just not like it at the ring?
hunteyes
22 Apr 2007, 23:14
Oh, another rumour as fact.
Big Red fella from Mernda will not be goin round this yr.
Maybe there is a club who can coax him outta r/ment with the $$?
But i doubt it. Would kick at least 80 in any div 2 team.
How'd he look last preseason at Bund boys? Noticed he didnt stick around. Did he not cut the grade, or did he just not like it at the ring?
yeah he wasnt going to be a definite starter in the 1s last year, played in the intra-club and showed nothing. maybe also did not like the hardness of training so moved on!
Giveyathemail
23 Apr 2007, 09:32
boys, final word on conno, he will be good for creek exactly what we need, running player who is a great finisher. He will play every game and kick aroung 30 goals for the yr.
Tats my prediction. we will revisit this post in a few months and see how he is going. With all due respect to u others, i think im the only one who has seen him play this yr and im the one in best position to comment on his upcoming prospects.
With all due respect KID, I dont care how much you have seen him play this year, he is a CAT and always has been. Will not get near it against sides that are hard at the body or fast around the ground.
port-man_fc
23 Apr 2007, 10:36
Eltham Turtles (D4) played Mernda @ Northcote Park on friday night, Turtles pulled there pants down, not sure how Mernda will go this year, spoke to a few of there players and they said they had there best 22 in!!
They were not happy losing to a D4 ammo's side i can tell you that!! :D
Bubble Wrap
23 Apr 2007, 11:01
watsonia are not going to be any good at all alot of there new players are players from club where they did struggle to get a game in there ones. the only good pick ups they have are gibson and parker but the rest are terrible. we would of beaten them by atleast 15 goals today if we had our full team in.. long year again for watsonia.
Which players were missing from Macleod?
Watsonia were missing Ace Ventura, Shane Potter, Corey Bennett, Jamie Harris, Dean Clayton, Jamie Little (and Trevor Little played a quarter at most, preferring to be on the bench watching the new players) and most of the players we had there were having not only their first hit-out for the year, but also their first match together ever.
I reckon we've got plenty of improvement on our practice match form in us - although I imagine most clubs are exactly the same.
devlish1
23 Apr 2007, 12:47
Just read on dv site that fawkner park has gone into recess for 07
not a good sign for the league (although will eliminate the bye for season 2007)
2 clubs unable to field sides and a 3rd struggling for numbers at last report.
any confirmed details on the reason? I understand it to be due to lack of numbers.
Watsonia were missing Ace Ventura, Shane Potter, Corey Bennett, Jamie Harris, Dean Clayton, Jamie Little (and Trevor Little played a quarter at most, preferring to be on the bench watching the new players) and most of the players we had there were having not only their first hit-out for the year, but also their first match together ever.
I reckon we've got plenty of improvement on our practice match form in us - although I imagine most clubs are exactly the same.
I thought potter was playing? Richo has 2 on his bk, at CHF. WHo was that playing at FF who also wore #2. Looked a lot like potter
devlish1
23 Apr 2007, 13:04
not a good sign for the league (although will eliminate the bye for season 2007)
2 clubs unable to field sides and a 3rd struggling for numbers at last report.
any confirmed details on the reason? I understand it to be due to lack of numbers.
Who's the 3rd side?
Prob your side, now they don't have under's
any longer...?
devlish1
23 Apr 2007, 13:18
No our numbers are good
I thought potter was playing? Richo has 2 on his bk, at CHF. WHo was that playing at FF who also wore #2. Looked a lot like potter
I guess they do look similar when you think about it ha ha. The guy playing Full Forward was Nathan Brundell from the EDFL Cragieburn, he is about 10 years younger then Pottsy too, so I don't think he would be to happy about that comment.:D Pottsy hasn't played a game yet probably will start round 1.
Who's the 3rd side?
wallan were struggling for numbers a couple of weeks back, although this may have changed since then.
BobbyBurritto
23 Apr 2007, 14:27
Macleod were missing Wood, Riemers, Lundberg, Thompson, Wise and Everard from last years Grand Final side just to name a few. I'm not sure how much improvement is in them this year but if they play anywhere near like they did last year they'll be right in it come finals time.
i have been away on work.
just wondering if whittlesea has picked up any one and how they will go this year. cheers.
As i said previously, dont make judgements on practice match form. We had about 10 players out of our best side yesterday (Thomastown were probably missing some also) and i'm sure Lalor wouldnt have been at full strength either. Can start making more accurate assessments when the real season kicks off.
Hey Matchy what's happened to MitchFC, probably the biggest promoter of your club on here? He hasn't posted anything for a while. Is he still kicking??
matchwinner
23 Apr 2007, 16:23
Hey Matchy what's happened to MitchFC, probably the biggest promoter of your club on here? He hasn't posted anything for a while. Is he still kicking??
He was a fantastic promoter of our club, even winning the best clubman award at presentation night last year - a big honour at our club. But believe it or not, Mitch found love on the footy trip to Adelaide last year and can no longer bear to be apart from her, so has packed the bags and moved interstate. A big loss to the club both on and off the field.
Say no more i definately know your not the one and only now Puff and vinny despise each other
can still respect good players
yeah he wasnt going to be a definite starter in the 1s last year, played in the intra-club and showed nothing. maybe also did not like the hardness of training so moved on!
trained all pre season in sunnies and a hat, he was one of 20 forwards last season prob had something to do with him moving on
boys, final word on conno, he will be good for creek exactly what we need, running player who is a great finisher. He will play every game and kick aroung 30 goals for the yr.
Tats my prediction. we will revisit this post in a few months and see how he is going. With all due respect to u others, i think im the only one who has seen him play this yr and im the one in best position to comment on his upcoming prospects.
With all due respect KID, I dont care how much you have seen him play this year, he is a CAT and always has been. Will not get near it against sides that are hard at the body or fast around the ground.
don't worry conno will b good against greensborough
He was a fantastic promoter of our club, even winning the best clubman award at presentation night last year - a big honour at our club. But believe it or not, Mitch found love on the footy trip to Adelaide last year and can no longer bear to be apart from her, so has packed the bags and moved interstate. A big loss to the club both on and off the field.
She must have been good for him to want to move to Adelaide! You'd expect her to suck the marrow from the bone
:eek: :thumbsu:
^
' '
' '
O O
Is it also true that Craig Parsons has left your club? Wasn't he one of your best players?
FOOTYBOSS
23 Apr 2007, 17:15
Montmorency gained a big signing on Friday night when Daniel Sage committed to the club for year 2007. Will be a handy addition for the magpies and only strengthen their midfield with his raking left foot kick and hardness around the ground.
Iceman27
23 Apr 2007, 17:51
wallan were struggling for numbers a couple of weeks back, although this may have changed since then.
Wallan have enough players its just committee members we are short off, but as I stated earlier we are deffinately going around in 07.
She must have been good for him to want to move to Adelaide! You'd expect her to suck the marrow from the bone
^
' '
' '
O O
Is it also true that Craig Parsons has left your club? Wasn't he one of your best players?
parso left to finley until the dvfl season kicks off, its his hometown, lower shold be alrite this year picked up a few handy players, there 19's shuld be right up there aswell having 30+ players on their list
The_KID
23 Apr 2007, 18:26
With all due respect KID, I dont care how much you have seen him play this year, he is a CAT and always has been. Will not get near it against sides that are hard at the body or fast around the ground.[/quote]
we will see the results of this year mate. actually ill see the results as ull be busy following ur clubs to places like wallan and kinglake. enjoy that. ill let know how he goes dont worry.
enough said on conno. move on.
just ask!!!
23 Apr 2007, 19:44
just wondering if fig9 could give me rundown of west prestons ghame on saturday against brighton....best players and goal kickers.
i stopped for a while but it was too wet.
matchwinner
23 Apr 2007, 19:54
^
' '
' '
O O
Parso is still a big part of Lower. Very popular player at the Cave. I think he finished 2nd in the comp b & f last year, and also captained for much of the year, so we certainly wouldn't want to lose him. Is just playing a few games back in his hometown of Finley before the DVFL season kicks off.
GHOST WRITER
23 Apr 2007, 21:45
Winter made a welcome return to football fields on Saturday and I managed to catch the Lower vs Thomastown game from the comfort of my Volvo. Very one sided affair, with Thomastown running out 10 goal winners. It could have easily been more to if conditions suited. Better players for Thomastown were #65 (ruckman); #1 (midfielder/forward) and #11 (forward). Not many winners for Lower Plenty although their back pocket (#33) was a shining light.
Also caught the last quarter of the Reserves game and Lower won that game by 3-4 goals. Not much to boast about for either side, although one of Thomastown's young Under 19s kids kicked a ripper goal after baulking his opponent on the mark.
Will be heading out to watch Lalor train later this week and see what they have to offer.
matchwinner
23 Apr 2007, 22:16
Winter made a welcome return to football fields on Saturday and I managed to catch the Lower vs Thomastown game from the comfort of my Volvo. Very one sided affair, with Thomastown running out 10 goal winners. It could have easily been more to if conditions suited. Better players for Thomastown were #65 (ruckman); #1 (midfielder/forward) and #11 (forward). Not many winners for Lower Plenty although their back pocket (#33) was a shining light.
Also caught the last quarter of the Reserves game and Lower won that game by 3-4 goals. Not much to boast about for either side, although one of Thomastown's young Under 19s kids kicked a ripper goal after baulking his opponent on the mark.
Will be heading out to watch Lalor train later this week and see what they have to offer.
Was certainly one-sided after quarter time, when the rain set in. So i would have to disagree and say dry conditions might have made it slightly closer. I was very impressed with a bloke playing in the midfield for them with dreadlocks. Was number 40 or something close to that. Apparently he played at Bullants in there 2's last year. Wouldn't read too much into the result though. I dont pick the team, but i would think there will be 8 changes to that side for round 1, with another 4 or so also returning soon after and pushing for selection. And i'm sure Thomastown will also have players to come back in. They should be right up there come the business end of the season.
just wondering if fig9 could give me rundown of west prestons ghame on saturday against brighton....best players and goal kickers.
i stopped for a while but it was too wet.
The boys started the game pretty slowly, but the boys worked their way back into it in the second half. The Brighton boys had some big boys out there, but the fitness of the west boys won out.
Goals:Grainger 4
Gill 3
Better players Andy Gill, Leigh Broad, Mat Cacutt and Nick Sacco
Bruce Almighty
23 Apr 2007, 23:16
Fair to say the pre-season has gone far to long.The amount of crap on here is astonishing and all this talk about 2nd division is draining and boring.If the season doesnt start soon 2nd Division might fold as one club is collapsing after the other.To all posters cut the drible about what you had for dinner or whether some kid who cant get a kick in a stampede is capable of getting a run on the bench at Watsonia.Seriously does anybody have something of value..............By the way.What the f**K do you think your doing VinnyD back here?Get back to the u19's thread.
west preston versus epping on saturday at west, should get a good gauge on both teams
liquorman
24 Apr 2007, 09:12
Fair to say the pre-season has gone far to long.The amount of crap on here is astonishing and all this talk about 2nd division is draining and boring.If the season doesnt start soon 2nd Division might fold as one club is collapsing after the other.To all posters cut the drible about what you had for dinner or whether some kid who cant get a kick in a stampede is capable of getting a run on the bench at Watsonia.Seriously does anybody have something of value..............By the way.What the f**K do you think your doing VinnyD back here?Get back to the u19's thread.
I had a parmie and chips.
devil's advocte
24 Apr 2007, 10:02
did my eyes decieve me last night? Could it be Shane Whitnall watching the U/19's train at Bundoora? Is he going to stay on at the Bulls? Will all the other club supporters love giving him a sledge? C'mon Shane, stay in our league it will bring some interest to the crowd!:)
If you have something to talk about div 1 go for it! But I don't think there is much to say, everyone knows that Heidelberg are going to smash everyone, so it's more interesting to talk about divvy 2 cos its gonnah be alot closer.
By the way I had bangers and mash:D
Montmorency gained a big signing on Friday night when Daniel Sage committed to the club for year 2007. Will be a handy addition for the magpies and only strengthen their midfield with his raking left foot kick and hardness around the ground.
That's great news for the black and white! Gutto kicks in from a behind to Sage in the centre, Sage 2 steps, GOAL! We do play at Monty after all. ;)
Jewelsandbullet
24 Apr 2007, 11:23
That's great news for the black and white! Gutto kicks in from a behind to Sage in the centre, Sage 2 steps, GOAL! We do play at Monty after all. ;)
Yep - he's a handy signing. After looking at H'Berg on Saturday we are going to need him... and about 4 more blokes over 6'4 :cool:
devil's advocte
24 Apr 2007, 11:44
J&B I do believe you owe us a match report from saturdays waterlogged game vs Heidelberg.
Party pooper
24 Apr 2007, 11:46
A story on the Thomastown and Lalor grounds.
http://www.leadernews.com.au/article/2007/04/24/13477_dvfl_story.html
Jewelsandbullet
24 Apr 2007, 12:49
J&B I do believe you owe us a match report from saturdays waterlogged game vs Heidelberg.
Apologies to those not interested.. stop reading now.
My day commenced having a look at the 2's.... and it's not often J&B can look out over a DV paddock and see 10-12 blokes in one team that are both smaller in size and stature than my good self. However that was the scenario with our 2's on the weekend... minus senior bodies like McCabe, Anver, Celloti, Swindon, Reily... we seemed small and a little undermanned - consequently the man-child brigade unfortunately got beaten comfortably. I'm sure a few more "in's" will make a difference.. but its still good to see the club is bringing through a heap of kids.
The rain continued to fall for the main event, which made viewing a little difficult for me... I was looking longingly at a few of the boys standing on the balcony drinking stubbies... however as I had stupidly brought the Rodney Hog with me, I was forced to keep an eye on him and endure the rain.
We started off well with Yeo proving to be a bit of handful playing at full forward, he presented well and I like the idea of him playing out of the forward line. We didn't make the most of our chances early and H'Berg started to get on top from about the mid-way point of the first quater. Finnan was playing on Nolan at CHB and both got sent off for a couple of little jumper punches... though I think Finnan looks like he will be good.
While we were technically in the game up until about half way through the third ... From half time on I think they played better wet weather footy, Franchina and another bloke I don't know (number 15 Dobson??) both were good ...... same with Harvey.
Gutterson was good for us, and some promising signs from a few other blokes: Peter Moore an u/19 played in the ruck and showed that he has some promise against a taller, bigger and more experienced Gay... (I mean the player not H'berg on ball sexual preference)
I liked the look of D Loney from Parade - unfashionable hard at it type....
They seem bigger this year, if that's possible... Bruce or Dodge or someone... can you tell me who the bloke at CHB was?? Big ears.. he is not Irish is he?I'm sure i heard an accent.
We still have Fricker, T Watson, Plugg, Cuthberson, Grimes, Hayes, Sage, Cesari to come back in.
But final obvious summation: They are going to be hard to beat...
Giveyathemail
24 Apr 2007, 13:57
we will see the results of this year mate. actually ill see the results as ull be busy following ur clubs to places like wallan and kinglake. enjoy that. ill let know how he goes dont worry.
enough said on conno. move on.[/quote]
Geez you have a short memory dont ya! You mustve forgot where you came from, where it took 10 YEARS to win a flag. Unlike the mecenarys that have gone to play at your toilet of a club, I would follow my club anywhere regardless of where they played.
The_KID
24 Apr 2007, 15:26
what you know about my club u could write on an asprin with a crow bar.
i have heard eough out of u, ur a keyboard warrier fighting cyberspace battles, a real big man belittlin opposition players.
Id suggest investing in a new beanie and warm jacket, cause u'll need it over the next few years at kinglake and wallan mate.
Please dont reply cause im not interested in ur dribble.
[quote=Jewelsandbullet;7327645]
quote]
D Loney will fit nicely into back pocket or run with player on ball at Monty.
Will find it hard to break into on ball bridage there. Is R.Wise playing this year?
Monty have done some pretty handy recruiting from OP's side from recent yrs.
Where is the Dion Ciavola machine playing this yr. Did Monty offer him enough spondoolie to come back?
Would love to see Porty play for a DV club, i think Monty would be the only real chance of recruitnig him. You guys think Plugger is a good FF. Wait to see Porty, if he comes.
Jewelsandbullet
24 Apr 2007, 15:49
[quote=Jewelsandbullet;7327645]
quote]
D Loney will fit nicely into back pocket or run with player on ball at Monty.
Will find it hard to break into on ball bridage there. Is R.Wise playing this year?
Monty have done some pretty handy recruiting from OP's side from recent yrs.
Where is the Dion Ciavola machine playing this yr. Did Monty offer him enough spondoolie to come back?
Would love to see Porty play for a DV club, i think Monty would be the only real chance of recruitnig him. You guys think Plugger is a good FF. Wait to see Porty, if he comes.
Yeah Loney to play back pocket/flank... not on ball at Mont.
Most of the OP recruits also played juniors at Mont.
Dion is playing at West Coburg this year, and Sabby is playing for Old Ivanhoe... I hope they both go well... D is looking pretty big at the moment - but it doesn't stop him getting the pill.
I have seen Porty play - I thought he retired?
Bruce Almighty
24 Apr 2007, 15:56
J&B the bloke you are refering to is Mick Finn and he is very Irish.Mate of stingers and has been a very good get.I think he has come from the amo's not to sure or maybe eastern league.I am sure someone would know on here.
Jewelsandbullet
24 Apr 2007, 16:03
Is R.Wise playing this year?
R.Wise playing cricket in England
I have seen Porty play - I thought he retired?
He is playing back at the OP's to help them out. I here they are having a pretty rough trot at the moment. Players leaving...dropping divisions.. Seems to be an ongoing theme for a few clubs at the moment unfortunately!
Jewelsandbullet
24 Apr 2007, 16:30
i have heard eough out of u, ur a keyboard warrier fighting cyberspace battles, a real big man belittlin opposition players.
Speaking of dribble ... what's a "warrier" ? :confused:
whistle blower
24 Apr 2007, 17:53
hey force whats with the rumour i posted here a few days back in regards to the big wire fence on the cnr of grimshaw & greensy rd.
30k from local r/estate firm??????
confirm or deny pls
A Living God
24 Apr 2007, 18:32
Fawkner Park in recess according to DVFL site.
Where does that leave divison 2?
13 rounds plays each clubs once.
15 round plays each clubs one with 2 having byes
18 rounds play 8 teams once, 5 team twice.
Sorry Bruce almighty i didn't realise u owned this thread and if u were wondering i had pasta for tea and lunch.
did my eyes decieve me last night? Could it be Shane Whitnall watching the U/19's train at Bundoora? Is he going to stay on at the Bulls? Will all the other club supporters love giving him a sledge? C'mon Shane, stay in our league it will bring some interest to the crowd!:)
get a life why would u be watching kids train does that excite u
daggao7isatool
24 Apr 2007, 20:34
THE BIG D MISTA HOWS IT HANGIN
A Living God
24 Apr 2007, 21:20
Maybe he has an interest in local footy?
Hey vinnyd, is that cat matty brown still down at bundoora? :p
BERGER KING
24 Apr 2007, 23:35
Impessive group of 7 board candidates put together by AFL. All have strong grass roots footy experience, business or professional backgrounds and no past DV baggage .:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
bear attack
25 Apr 2007, 00:28
[quote=GHOST WRITER;7323148] I also saw most of the Thomastown Vs Lower Plenty Reserves match and senior match and noticed a player in the reserves game who his team mates referred to as "Isha" or "Ishkan" getting a bit of the ball in the midfield. Should have a nickname of Figjam as he seemed to be extremely confident in his own ability. Very Overrated player who doesn't use the ball well when he gets it. He might tell you otherwise if you asked him. Thomastown seniors looked very impressive in their first real hitout in wet conditions and there were some good signs going into the start of the season.
Where are the final round of Praccy Matches this weekedn?
Who is playing whom?
Will the Divvy 2 fixture change?
Who is playing whom?
West Preston vs Epping saturday at moore park.
Bubble Wrap
25 Apr 2007, 10:11
Who is playing whom?
Watsy playing South Morang at Watsy - 3 matches starting at 10.30am (I think).
devil's advocte
25 Apr 2007, 11:04
why dont you learn to read before you get on the computer you moron.
it was WHITNAL watching the 19's so I gues he likes watching little kids according to you. You are really f'ing stupid vinnyd for D-head.
I said I SAW Whitnall, I couldnt miss the blood nut shining as I was walking past the ground.
So moron learn to read and go back to the u/19 thread where you seem to like chatting with the kids and then go sit with your mate Whitnal who watches the kids...according to you.:mad:
Pheonix20
25 Apr 2007, 11:05
Diamond creek v Bundoora saturday Could be interseting to see how far the mighty have fallen as rumour has it that the bulls reigning premiers (no not the senior team the 2's) struggled to feild a team and got flogged by 20 goals plus to zero.
Pheonix20
25 Apr 2007, 11:07
Also great to see daniel Sage back in the valley. He should kick about forty goals coming out of centre clearances. Well it is only 60 meteres from the centre to the goals at 'The Stamp'.
bear attack
25 Apr 2007, 11:36
Who is playing whom?
Thomastown are playing Macleod at Reservior (crisp park). There are the 3 games being played. Under 19's, Reserves and seniors. I believe that the fixture will change somewhat now that 2 sides have folded. From what I have heard there will be 16 games instead of the 15 that they said there would be. We will be playing on the Queens Birthday long weekend and There may be a few moves with the fixture also. Don't know how much it will change though.
The_KID
25 Apr 2007, 12:54
with ressa not fielding a team and having a ground that is fit to play on, will they be hosting some nuetral games where teams dont have a suitable ground to play on?
melbdocker
25 Apr 2007, 14:40
bit of a shame these clubs are going into recess a mate played against heid west and was saying the only had about 25-28 players last sat aswel not getting on the ground is really hurting some of these clubs i think
Andy Knee
Mario Bandera
David Mitton
Ben Gill
Brett Fullerton
Jed Perry
Leigh McTaggart
Nick Canals
Tyson Aldenhoven
all missing from that side plus a coulple more I can`t think of, also with the two`s being undermanned there replacements were probably not up to it. Lot of kids had a run as well. Played well Thommo but we were comfortable with the margin considering the quality out of the players we had out, certainly means most team will be competitive.
matchwinner
25 Apr 2007, 18:32
Andy Knee
Mario Bandera
David Mitton
Ben Gill
Brett Fullerton
Jed Perry
Leigh McTaggart
Nick Canals
Tyson Aldenhoven
all missing from that side plus a coulple more I can`t think of, also with the two`s being undermanned there replacements were probably not up to it. Lot of kids had a run as well. Played well Thommo but we were comfortable with the margin considering the quality out of the players we had out, certainly means most team will be competitive.
Probably should include last years b & f winner Clint Monger in that list Brutal!
chicken38
25 Apr 2007, 20:31
Parso is still a big part of Lower. Very popular player at the Cave. I think he finished 2nd in the comp b & f last year, and also captained for much of the year, so we certainly wouldn't want to lose him. Is just playing a few games back in his hometown of Finley before the DVFL season kicks off.
i did hear that he is keen to stay in finley but we will have to wait a see i guess:thumbsu:
why dont you learn to read before you get on the computer you moron.
it was WHITNAL watching the 19's so I gues he likes watching little kids according to you. You are really f'ing stupid vinnyd for D-head.
I said I SAW Whitnall, I couldnt miss the blood nut shining as I was walking past the ground.
So moron learn to read and go back to the u/19 thread where you seem to like chatting with the kids and then go sit with your mate Whitnal who watches the kids...according to you.:mad:
it takes one to know one at least he is playing at bundy, u just go around watching young kids train. whitnal was down there helping the under/19's out so he had a purpose being there u goose,
Hey vinnyd, is that cat matty brown still down at bundoora? :p
not sure he hasn't been down yet?
Boof Head
26 Apr 2007, 07:37
haha thanks fig9 yeah i will b playing thanks for the encouragemant, can't wait to play west.
hey force whats with the rumour i posted here a few days back in regards to the big wire fence on the cnr of grimshaw & greensy rd.
30k from local r/estate firm??????
confirm or deny pls
Dont know. Where did you hear that rumour from? I believe the comittee were talking about selling advertisement space on it for sponsors its in the perfect location (Busy corner, Be just like a billboard). Good get if they did!
just saw the dvfl clearances.
king,moore,dean,h ryan and s ryan all back to north.
i think that was always there intention but got it from a good source that they were all getting $500 a game more than what they were getting at north.
must have been a hard call to turn your back on that amount of cash. extremely loyal bunch of blokes. but also heard they hated the driving up there. good for north. all of a sudden back in top 4 calculations.
devil's advocte
26 Apr 2007, 12:00
it takes one to know one at least he is playing at bundy, u just go around watching young kids train. whitnal was down there helping the under/19's out so he had a purpose being there u goose,
It takes one to know one...I have just laughed myself silly. How old are you? that is the menatlity of a CHILD, so go back to your underage thread and leave us all alone here. You are a fairdinkum idiot. Why dont you re read (if you can read) the thread where I reported I saw whitnal and asked if he was playing. But I guess remedial English is not required at Bundoora.
And if you want to go on acusing people here on the thread of being child watchers you better be prepared for the backlash from everyone here and BIGFOOTY as that is a topic you dont joke about. So go get a life.:mad:
Giveyathemail
26 Apr 2007, 13:47
Id suggest investing in a new beanie and warm jacket, cause u'll need it over the next few years at kinglake and wallan mate.
Yeah Im a keyboard "warrier".... :D
One thing I do know you feral inbred thing, is you rate Ryan Constance, which just proves that your an insignificant Stooge. I know alot more about the caper than you ever will.
Looking forward to having a crack at another flag... Know what thats like???
GHOST WRITER
26 Apr 2007, 15:35
Brutal - Quite a number of quality players missing by the sounds of things so I take your point. Usually these practice matches are just vehicles to try new things, so it is probably hasty to jump to any conclusions.
Saw about 20 minutes of Macleod training the other night and their numbers on the track weren't great (although that is probably the norm for a Tuesday night). Was keen to see Puffa train but saw no sign of him. Any Macleod boys know if that is normal for a Tuesday night?
Dagger07 - I think you have me confused with someone else? Who is D mista?