View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
WiseOne
26 Apr 2007, 16:20
Diamond creek v Bundoora saturday Could be interseting to see how far the mighty have fallen as rumour has it that the bulls reigning premiers (no not the senior team the 2's) struggled to feild a team and got flogged by 20 goals plus to zero.
Team looked very different to last years. About 10 of their best players no longer at the club. It will be a very young team but they should still be there abouts. Its always Bundoora, Heidelberg and Monty then a fight for 4th in the 2's although Bundoora might be in that fight for 4th with the huge losses.
tommahawk
26 Apr 2007, 16:27
Brutal - Quite a number of quality players missing by the sounds of things so I take your point. Usually these practice matches are just vehicles to try new things, so it is probably hasty to jump to any conclusions.
Saw about 20 minutes of Macleod training the other night and their numbers on the track weren't great (although that is probably the norm for a Tuesday night). Was keen to see Puffa train but saw no sign of him. Any Macleod boys know if that is normal for a Tuesday night?
Dagger07 - I think you have me confused with someone else? Who is D mista?
quite normal mate... alot of tuesday a few of the boys head down to ivanhoe pools for a swim. because saturday was a hard hit out againest watsonia most of the boys went down to ivanhoe. puffa was there he was having goal kicking practice getting ready for his 150 this season. :D
JIM BEAM
26 Apr 2007, 17:01
Heard a nasty rumour today Lalor are either about to fold or have folded.
Can anyone confirm or hopefully deny this as they are a great club with a long tradition
GHOST WRITER
26 Apr 2007, 17:50
TOMMAHAWK - Thanks for the heads up. I thought just as much. Particularly considering Saturday's rain I imagine a number of clubs felt the pinch on Tuesday night. I watched Macleod training with interest and am keen to see how they do against Thomastown this week. Might venture out to see that game on Saturday. Any idea on start times? Will Puffa play?
GHOST WRITER
26 Apr 2007, 17:52
JIM BEAM - I hope that is just runmour.
GYTM - Can you confirm?
I too have heard the Lalor rumour. Can anyone from Lalor confirm please?
BRING ON '07
26 Apr 2007, 17:59
Heard a nasty rumour today Lalor are either about to fold or have folded.
Can anyone confirm or hopefully deny this as they are a great club with a long tradition
I know a few of the boys down at Lalor and positive that this would not be the case. They have already had 3 pracy games so far so there numbers must be ok. Probably just finding it difficult at the moment not being able to be at there home ground like several other clubs in the city of Whittlesea. If the council were fair dinkum they would open all there grounds up now to the clubs like what all other councils have done. I sure this would help all clubs.
dagga07
26 Apr 2007, 18:13
just wanted 2 let everyone know that the big fella Zeb Fleming wont be playing this year went down at work today and done his knee out 4 the year must be all the extra weight he is carrying:)
tommahawk
26 Apr 2007, 20:41
just wanted 2 let everyone know that the big fella Zeb Fleming wont be playing this year went down at work today and done his knee out 4 the year must be all the extra weight he is carrying:)
what a shame, looks like he wont be able to pick on any young kids this season the big hero..... over rated hack anyway dont think anyone would really care!!!
stooge01
26 Apr 2007, 21:37
I too have heard the Lalor rumour. Can anyone from Lalor confirm please?
lalor wont be folding played all our pracy matches had a few good turns clubs flying at the moment
whistle blower
26 Apr 2007, 23:59
only the comp will benefit from the ******** not playing this year.
would have to be the biggest dick going around in div 2.
good bye to bad rubbish.
his talent should have gone to someone who would have used it properly.
Iceman27
27 Apr 2007, 00:03
Can someone tell me where the macloed vs thommo practice match will be played this week.
Probably at Reservoir
whistle blower
27 Apr 2007, 00:09
i believe it is at crispe park reservoir, given that thommos ground is within the city of whittlesea,no games in that area due to drought only affecting whittlesea grounds.other areas grounds seem to have recovered from said drought.
wake up whittlesea councillors & get with the program or soccer the priority (full of ppl that follow the round ball game )
seems the world cup is still on the tv in council offices.(soccer )
tsunami
27 Apr 2007, 09:01
i believe it is at crispe park reservoir, given that thommos ground is within the city of whittlesea,no games in that area due to drought only affecting whittlesea grounds.other areas grounds seem to have recovered from said drought.
wake up whittlesea councillors & get with the program or soccer the priority (full of ppl that follow the round ball game )
seems the world cup is still on the tv in council offices.(soccer )
One would have only needed to be at the Council meeting two weeks ago where Thomastown and Lalor were represented to hear from Councillor John Fry who suggested and quote "that clubs may need to go into recess for a year if they can't play on their ground". This is the problem dealing with people as narrow minded and has no real grasp on reality as him. He is there for his own good and not the people he is supposed to be representing.
It also didn't help that Neil Hocking from parks and gardens lied when asked if another ground was being watered by council and then proceeded to say all clubs had been notified in writing that Mernda's ground was now being watered. We are still waiting for this correspondence.
DVFL and AFL Victoria met with the Council last Tuesday night but they still seem to be holding their position of not letting both Clubs on their ground.
heildelberg
lost trewy, shearer and now murphy wants to leave. could there be some unrest in the camp??????????????????????
Giveyathemail
27 Apr 2007, 09:10
JIM BEAM - I hope that is just runmour.
GYTM - Can you confirm?
No mate, I can deny... The club is flying at the moment. Just file it with 95% of the crap that gets thrown around on here.
heildelberg
lost trewy, shearer and now murphy wants to leave. could there be some unrest in the camp??????????????????????
Murphy not going anywhere. Trew and Shearer have gone, but have been replaced by a couple of handy pickups in Franchina and McKernan :thumbsu:
bear attack
27 Apr 2007, 09:57
Dagga07 I think you need to have a laxative just like the rest of the people that write on this site, because you are full of sh*t my friend. So pull you finger out of your ar*e and write something that is worthwhile reading. Zeb is all good to go in 07
handy recruits......:eek:
but murphy applied for a clearance to moama yesterday. got refused.
so did want to leave any reason why??????????????
Murphy not going anywhere. Trew and Shearer have gone, but have been replaced by a couple of handy pickups in Franchina and McKernan :thumbsu:
dv_guru
27 Apr 2007, 11:19
Hey vinnyd, is that cat matty brown still down at bundoora? :p
matty brown is soft as butter
dv_guru
27 Apr 2007, 11:21
it takes one to know one at least he is playing at bundy, u just go around watching young kids train. whitnal was down there helping the under/19's out so he had a purpose being there u goose,
that would have to be the most immature thing i have ever heard vinnyd, how old are you?
Boof Head
27 Apr 2007, 11:39
handy recruits......:eek:
but murphy applied for a clearance to moama yesterday. got refused.
so did want to leave any reason why??????????????
who denied murphy heidelberg?
Boof Head
27 Apr 2007, 11:46
matty brown is soft as butter
good on ya u don't have half my achievements, give me a call some time i will show u my trophy room. boot off
dv_guru
27 Apr 2007, 13:21
good on ya u don't have half my achievements, give me a call some time i will show u my trophy room. boot off
is boof head matt brown? you are nothing browny iv eaten pink marshmallows harder than you mate, get a game in the ones!
tommahawk
27 Apr 2007, 14:14
can anyone from heidelberg tell me what the deal is with justin murphy wanting a clearence to goto moama? i thought he was 100% playing at heidelberg? the clearence was put in yesterday. must of got a offer to good to refuse!!
Giveyathemail
27 Apr 2007, 14:24
I heard over Xmas that Murphy was talking to a club up that way, but it wasnt Moama...
Kickass
27 Apr 2007, 14:26
can anyone from heidelberg tell me what the deal is with justin murphy wanting a clearence to goto moama? i thought he was 100% playing at heidelberg? the clearence was put in yesterday. must of got a offer to good to refuse!!
Hmmm, Lets speculate about how much he has been offered???
It would have to beat his current deal - $ 25k for playing + $ 70k job.
Moama are obviously throwing some serious coin at him to beat all that!
:eek:
liquorman
27 Apr 2007, 14:36
heildelberg
Mate I left because I bought a pub 300km away. What trouble could there be? HFC is a fantastic football club that I played with since the under 10's and will be involved with until the day I die. A lot of great people around the place and it doesn't just exist to win premierships. Huge memership base, a strong growing junior club, and socially one of the best places to visit as a current or past player, or as a supporter. I wish people would realise this and stop treating us as if we are the new Northcote Park, we are a proud strong club with a long history.
Can't speak for Murph or trewy as I haven't seen them for a while but I'm sure they have there reasons.
Go Bergs:thumbsu:
roaring tiger
27 Apr 2007, 15:11
I'm not sure why moama would want him at this time of the year beacuse they aren't going to make the finals even with him playing. They have won only 1 game this year and that was against a bottom 4 side.
Murph is staying. Simple case of mistaken identiy.
The Justin Murphy in question is from Diamond Creek and wants to go up to Moama. Adminstration error, that is all.
Boof Head
27 Apr 2007, 16:37
is boof head matt brown? you are nothing browny iv eaten pink marshmallows harder than you mate, get a game in the ones!
who are u then? who do u play for u tip rat
Pheonix20
27 Apr 2007, 16:43
heildelberg
Wouldn't anyone be unhappy if they had given the club good service only to have AFL hacks repeatedly recruited to replace them, Rumour is you may even see Barnaby French running around for the tigers. Now which local footballer will he replace?
Pheonix20
27 Apr 2007, 16:48
Lets just change the name of the league to "Lets Buy a Premiership". The rest of the comp can just treat the prelim like a grand final and the winner simply not turn up the next week!
Kickass
27 Apr 2007, 16:55
Wouldn't anyone be unhappy if they had given the club good service only to have AFL hacks repeatedly recruited to replace them, Rumour is you may even see Barnaby French running around for the tigers. Now which local footballer will he replace?
Yeah, I once had my position taken by bloody Adam Contessa.
****ing ANGRY!!!
Apparently there is only enough room for one Fat bloke in a team - He did have a liitle bit of talent and ability on his side though. :p
ifyoucandodgeawrench
27 Apr 2007, 17:08
dude you must be kidding yourself. Murphy 12 years at AFL and McKernan would have won Brownlow except was reported..the are hardly AFL hacks...
Has anyone seen the revised Div 2 fixture and could tell me where it can be accessed? The DV site hasn't been updated yet and i've heard it's out.
Whats the go with clearances being refused I thought players could go where they like now? Anyone know how a club can refuse a player going somewhere besides "monies owing to the club"?
Kickass
27 Apr 2007, 17:48
Whats the go with clearances being refused I thought players could go where they like now? Anyone know how a club can refuse a player going somewhere besides "monies owing to the club"?
Although it has been claimed here previously (Heidelberg Propaganda), that it was not the Justin Murphy,
I would suggest that they could refuse a clearance on account of the fact that they have made commitment to have him play by way of :
+ payment of a sign on fee (monies owed)
+ Property in his possession ( perhaps use of a company car)
+ Under current written contract.
The following is an excerpt from the AFL Vic endorsed Standard player contract.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
In summary, when a player lodges a registration and transfer form (see appendix 1), the former club has six (6) clear working days to lodge an objection to the transfer. An objection may only be lodged on one or more of the following grounds
A)The player has a current and written contract to play at the club he is seeking to leave
B) The player owes money to the club that he is seeking to leave and the club can prove this
C) The player owes property or apparel to the club that he is seeking to leave and the club can prove this
D) The player is currently under suspension from the league tribunal
Where a club objects to a transfer, the relevant documentation supporting their objection is expected to be available and provided upon request. To assist clubs, a standard DVFL player contract has been developed (see appendix 2) and is also available from the Forms Download section of the DVFL website
Boof Head
27 Apr 2007, 18:26
if barnaby french plays for heidelberg it is a joke! hope it isn't true. u would be spewing if u left bundoora to play in the ruck at heidelberg and then they picked up these blokes. good luck whitey
Bruce Almighty
27 Apr 2007, 19:02
Lets get this right.Murph is getting $5,4000 a game with 80k job and a company car.Not to mention his football gear is cleaned by the supporters by licking them for an hour.Get real idiot.It astounds me when people dont know anything they make s**t up to sound like they know it all.!!!!!!!!
Listen ALL YOU ASSUMERS.HEIDELBERG HAS BEEN AROUND A LONG TIME .THEY ARE CONSTANTLY WORKING TO BE THE BEST THEY CAN.I challenge anyone on here that wants to continue ragging a local club that has 100 plus people working there ar*e off to a fight of there lives.You have know idea what HFC is about .Never do they sh**can clubs. They look after everyone in tribunals and investigations they welcome all for a drink after the game and respect the whole DValley.So to those who I am tipping may never have played a senior game or actually offered to help there local club.Think before you write we are not your enemy but I assure you we will beif we have to and that is not fair on yourself.Beleive me.
Lets just change the name of the league to "Lets Buy a Premiership". The rest of the comp can just treat the prelim like a grand final and the winner simply not turn up the next week!
Let's get real! The DVFL administration seems as tho it is in good hands now, and will be in the future. Onwards and upwards - to where a league in the blue collar Northern Sub's should really be. Some of these guys have got the EDFL to where it is today.
My only concern now is the ramifications of introducing the new 'player clearance/transfer' rule.
The Heidlbergs of today and tomorrow will continue to attract the best from outside, yet more importanly for the DV, the best from within! That is, the best from other particiapating clubs, that are lucky enough to have a half resonable player.
I intend no reflection upon Heid at all. They have worked their way to this possie, and deserve to be there. As did NP in the early 00's. And there will be another club after Heid too.
The new 'clearance' rule has now opened the flood gates for cheque book recruiting, yet more dangerously, has also opened the possibility of having an NBA or NRL situation. That being no club loyalty, amongst many of the players.
Sure there will be some guys playing 'for the jumper', in excess of 10 yrs, although they will become more and more scarce.
In time, probably sooner than later, the DV will turn into a 'rich get richer, poor get poorer' situation.
I do wish some1 could offer up the positives, which i know are some. IE - Player controls their football destiny career. Better players attracted to the DV league.
Well those guys can play where they like, but if this continues they'll be playing in a DVFL which will consist of a sole division. And then perhaps we could name that division 'Let's buy a Premiership - Section A'.
A 2nd division would only serve a purpose of providing a home to the young and the old has-been hacks. Who would want to play there..?
Not me.
I hate seeing a Reservoir or Fawkner Park dissappear. Do we wait till more clubs fold, before we look into this situation?
Do we bury our heads in the sand, until the league is on its knees? Didn't we learn anything from adopting the 'head in the sand' attitude with P.Floyd & Co?
Lets look at putting the Club 'back' in power of their own destiny and future, and not leave a FOOTBALL CLUB'S future to the mercenaries of the football world.
good idea
dv_guru
27 Apr 2007, 19:38
who are u then? who do u play for u tip rat
i dropped footy for boxing two years ago, i now travel overseas to fight, im only temperarely here, but i have been here long enough to know that you are nothing, i eat players like you for breakfast, you are nothing i flogged you when you were at keon park and ill flog you now
lol you seem to fancy yourself quite abit mate.. :eek:
Pheonix20
27 Apr 2007, 20:04
[quote=Bruce Almighty;7359967]Lets get this right.Murph is getting $5,4000 a game with 80k job and a company car.Not to mention his football gear is cleaned by the supporters by licking them for an hour.Get real idiot.It astounds me when people dont know anything they make s**t up to sound like they know it all.!!!!!!!!
I found a solution! When I take over Microsoft from my uncle Bill Gates I will pay my good players $90,000 and a bigger car so they can play at another club to even out the comp. Then we will see exactly how good local football can be. Oh and you kids coming up through the juniors you might as well piss off now and find a real local club. What a joke, I still stop at the gate and pay my entry fee hoping it is going to buy jumpers or trophies. I must be kidding myself. Northcote par.... Sorry Heidelberg deserve the furure they are buying.
whistle blower
27 Apr 2007, 20:36
have been reading this thread for a while and i have decided that you are a dead set tool,KA. with no football talent or brains you should be banned from this thread. stick to working in the canteen and leave the footy talk to the grown ups.
with this in mind bosco perhaps we need to have an open forum where people state their age on here honestly,theres been a lot of shit on here lately.
young kids think it is their right to own & abuse places like this.
while i might be a oldie some might say,this thread is going down hill.
i admire what clubs do for the betterment of their own,dont hang it on them because im sure whatever club you support ,they have done exactly the same in days gone by.
nth cote park tried it & look where they are now.
money will come with right people in control.
no one wants to back a loser but im afraid someone has to finish last no matter how good the cattle.
kids can now go to bed or start being serious in here for the sake of this thread/comp.
oh btw im 43
magpie#18
27 Apr 2007, 20:38
Expect a huge season from West preston!
All 3 teams lookin the good!
Iceman27
27 Apr 2007, 21:19
Has anyone seen the revised Div 2 fixture and could tell me where it can be accessed? The DV site hasn't been updated yet and i've heard it's out.
Fixture is now on the DV site.
Expect a huge season from West preston!
All 3 teams lookin the good!
Could not agree more magpie.. Roosters to go a long way in 07
Brutal - Quite a number of quality players missing by the sounds of things so I take your point. Usually these practice matches are just vehicles to try new things, so it is probably hasty to jump to any conclusions.
Saw about 20 minutes of Macleod training the other night and their numbers on the track weren't great (although that is probably the norm for a Tuesday night). Was keen to see Puffa train but saw no sign of him. Any Macleod boys know if that is normal for a Tuesday night?
Dagger07 - I think you have me confused with someone else? Who is D mista?
Cool buddy make no mistake Thommo will be up there, pretty quick side and I think it highlights how competitive div 2 will be this year, not to many gimmie`s if any.
As for the Justin Murphy thing, signed a 2 year deal months back with the Tiges.
Pheonix20
27 Apr 2007, 23:13
Hearing some good things from west hopefully they have got the crap with nugent hanging out for more cash sorted out as with some good players around him he should go okay this year, at least better than he has been.
magpie#18
27 Apr 2007, 23:15
Hearing some good things from west hopefully they have got the crap with nugent hanging out for more cash sorted out as with some good players around him he should go okay this year, at least better than he has been.
Dont u worry about scotty mate!!!!!!
he has been on fire and expect a top season!!!
Party pooper
27 Apr 2007, 23:45
http://www.leadernews.com.au/article/2007/04/27/13647_dvfl_story.html
Clubs will vote on a new name for the league. The Northern Football League, Northern Districts Football League, Northern Region Football League and Northern Valley Football League are the options. Which of these would be your choice?
Nugent hanging out for more cash was not true.. If you new his real reasons and circumstances it wouldn't be an issue..:thumbsd:
Boof Head
28 Apr 2007, 00:26
well in 2 years i have played vfl and won a premiership, and if u continue eating people u will have heart problems, i think that it is good that u beat me in the u/9's at keon park because i didn't think that was my best year anyway. all the best with eating people, now boot off!
Boof Head
28 Apr 2007, 00:29
Clubs will vote on a new name for the league. The Northern Football League, Northern Districts Football League, Northern Region Football League and Northern Valley Football League are the options. Which of these would be your choice?
how about "heidelberg winning the next 10 flags league"
dv_guru
28 Apr 2007, 12:41
how about 'everyone lets smash matty brown' football league, i could go along with that
superselector
28 Apr 2007, 17:11
How about the Diamond valley football league!!!!!! Time for action !!!! Hello 85 years of history!!! Anyway isnt it the North Eastern Footy league or is Football vic going to order half the Essendonleague Footy Clubs across!!!
West Preston had a very scrappy 3 point win today against Epping, had a few out so it wasn't too bad. Good to see the champion number 17 back in the goal square. Go Roosters..
Boof Head
28 Apr 2007, 19:04
bundoora vs diamond creek
19's: bundoora 2-3 goals
Reserves: Bundoora 6 goals
seniors: Bundoora 10 goals
only pratice matches both teams seemed to be trying things at there last opportunity before rd 1
any other scores?
pace to freeze
28 Apr 2007, 19:51
just saw the dvfl clearances.
king,moore,dean,h ryan and s ryan all back to north.
i think that was always there intention but got it from a good source that they were all getting $500 a game more than what they were getting at north.
must have been a hard call to turn your back on that amount of cash. extremely loyal bunch of blokes. but also heard they hated the driving up there. good for north. all of a sudden back in top 4 calculations.
Moore and H.Ryan were named to play with Echuca United today and there is a very strong rumour, around that area, the whole lot of them may be staying at Echuca United ???
roaring tiger
28 Apr 2007, 21:05
Moore and H.Ryan were named to play with Echuca United today and there is a very strong rumour, around that area, the whole lot of them may be staying at Echuca United ???
Daniel Moore got BOG today playing in the ruck at Echuca while Harley Ryan was amongst the best playing a good game off the wing as well as playing on the ball at some stages. Jarrod King and Shaun Ryan didn't play. I guess both clubs will find out early next week where they are playing but i think Shaun Ryans is 100% staying in Melb, not sure on the others yet though.
Factual
29 Apr 2007, 12:33
Divi 2 wide open this year. Macleod didn't look that impressive yesterday against Thomastown.
thirstyforwater
29 Apr 2007, 13:04
Does anybody have any results of yesterdays practice games. Have heard the Watsonia/South Morang game finished earlier than expected when South Morang players were taken from ground by coach due to excessive attention from the opposition. Any truth to it.
Well gents and Matty girls d*ck;) Brown the wait is nearly over..
Lets get some tips for round 1
Epping vs Eltham Eltham 24 points
Greensborough vs Diamond Creek Creek 12 points
Heidelberg vs Bundoora Heidelberg 37 points
Montmorency vs West Preston West Preston easily
Northcote Park vs North Heidelberg Parkers 5 points
Go Roosters!
magpie#18
29 Apr 2007, 13:16
Go Roosters!
All 3 teams to give monty a belting!
Tyrone Biggums
29 Apr 2007, 13:19
Does anybody have any results of yesterdays practice games. Have heard the Watsonia/South Morang game finished earlier than expected when South Morang players were taken from ground by coach due to excessive attention from the opposition. Any truth to it.
Not true the game was called off at 3 quarter time after South Morang suffered a numer of injuries and only had 16 players left.
magpie#18
29 Apr 2007, 13:24
Any one can tell me who played good for wesT?
flipout
29 Apr 2007, 13:44
West Preston had a very scrappy 3 point win today against Epping, had a few out so it wasn't too bad. Good to see the champion number 17 back in the goal square. Go Roosters..
How did Rob "peck peck" Peckham from epping go?
Bit early to confirm and I have not got to many details but Lower Plenty may have a recruit who would be the biggest recruit in a long time in the DV/Northern? League. Is apparently 7Ft tall.
A Living God
29 Apr 2007, 18:18
Bit early to confirm and I have not got to many details but Lower Plenty may have a recruit who would be the biggest recruit in a long time in the DV/Northern? League. Is apparently 7Ft tall.
Anybody that big playing Local footy let alone in 2nd division has to be a dud.
chopsewie
29 Apr 2007, 19:56
Go Roosters!
Epping vs Eltham eltham 10 points Greensborough vs Creek Creek 5 points Heidelberg vs Bundoora Heidelberg 80 points Montvs west preston Mont 2 points Northcote vs nth Heidelberg Northcote 24 points
Div 1
Eltham 30 points
DC 15 points
Heid 80 points
WP 22 points
N Park 10 points
Div 2
Hurst 50 points
Kinglake 15 points
W'Sea 22 points
Mernda 16 points
T'Town 33 points
Lalor 90 points
McLeod 15 points
the G train #9
29 Apr 2007, 22:22
Pecks dominated. Racked up 45 possessions, 15 towering marks, 40 tapouts in the ruck and 8 telling goals. That was all in the first quarter and he was then rested for the remainder of the game. He has accredited his freakish performance to a strict personal training regime with his lifelong friend and Epping club legend Andrew Filipi over the pre-season.
there seems to be a lot of west boys on this thread just a couple of quick ?'s
epping were leading all day to lose in the last 30 seconds?
who did you boys have out because epping had king (2 time comp band f )
and hollow (4 time club runner up-all behind king) and the coach carrick (leading goal kicker last year).
now dont get me wrong all the talk is west will be good. but if you can only just get up over the 2nd last team from last year with those 3 out at your home ground.
you are either going to be average or you had a few out. let me know cause if you had you 10 best players out fair enough.
Giveyathemail
30 Apr 2007, 09:33
All except Harley will play at North.
hey giva ya,
how do you know that harly is not playin @ north?????????????????
and also is the l grey mentioned in the goals and besy for marrybinong park leigh grey from north heildelberg. saw he wanted to go there.??????????????????????????????????????????????????
Bubble Wrap
30 Apr 2007, 10:59
Rubbish.
They ran out of players due to injuries, but not due to excessive "attention".
One bloke did a knee trying to sidestep an opponent. One bloke did an ankle in a marking contest. One bloke did a shoulder in a tackle. Not sure about the others.
I thought it was odd the played with only four on the bench when their twos had about a dozen on the bench. If they had a couple more spares in the ones, the game may have been completed.
I think the grass cover might have been part of the problem for the bloke that did his knee. It's pretty thick and knitted together, boots just seem to tangle up in it sometimes when players twist and turn. Grasscats might be the go at AK Lines this season.
Not true the game was called off at 3 quarter time after South Morang suffered a numer of injuries and only had 16 players left.
Can confirm that was the case. We had the ambulance rock up twice, once for one of our blokes and once for South Morang. Both teams were going very hard at it. Definately didn't look like a practice match!
Now whats the deal with the Div 2 fixture? Have they mixed it up a bit this year instead of the bottom teams all playing eachother first likewise with the top teams and then swapping, it seems to be just random? Is this a good thing? Watsonia finished fourth last in 06 and they are playing Maceod, Whittlesea and Lower Plenty in the first 3 rounds. Unlucky for us but I guess it will be a good indication of where we are at!
magpie#18
30 Apr 2007, 11:37
there seems to be a lot of west boys on this thread just a couple of quick ?'s
epping were leading all day to lose in the last 30 seconds?
who did you boys have out because epping had king (2 time comp band f )
and hollow (4 time club runner up-all behind king) and the coach carrick (leading goal kicker last year).
now dont get me wrong all the talk is west will be good. but if you can only just get up over the 2nd last team from last year with those 3 out at your home ground.
you are either going to be average or you had a few out. let me know cause if you had you 10 best players out fair enough.
ITS A PRACCY MATCH MATE.
RELAX!!!
im relaxed.
just wanted to see who you had out. cause epping had their 2 best players out and led all day.
because if west didnt have anyone out. there they are goin know where in 2007.
Can confirm that was the case. We had the ambulance rock up twice, once for one of our blokes and once for South Morang. Both teams were going very hard at it. Definately didn't look like a practice match!
Now whats the deal with the Div 2 fixture? Have they mixed it up a bit this year instead of the bottom teams all playing eachother first likewise with the top teams and then swapping, it seems to be just random? Is this a good thing? Watsonia finished fourth last in 06 and they are playing Maceod, Whittlesea and Lower Plenty in the first 3 rounds. Unlucky for us but I guess it will be a good indication of where we are at!
Well considering we are all playing each other once, it doesn't really matter when we play each other. But it does look like a tough start.
I'm just a bit disappointed as i planned an overseas trip around the current fixture so i didn't miss certain matches but that's all stuffed up now.
Well considering we are all playing each other once, it doesn't really matter when we play each other. But it does look like a tough start.
I'm just a bit disappointed as i planned an overseas trip around the current fixture so i didn't miss certain matches but that's all stuffed up now.
Not true, who ever you play in the first 3 rounds you will be playing twice! So they have done a good number on Watsy considering our form last year!!
Bubble Wrap
30 Apr 2007, 12:17
We play three teams twice.
It's a 16 round season - now playing QB weekend.
With only fourteen teams in it, you'll play thirteen teams once, then have three return matches.
Not true, who ever you play in the first 3 rounds you will be playing twice! So they have done a good number on Watsy considering our form last year!!
My mistake. That does seem a little unfair consicdering their approach over the last few years. Would be interesting to know if any sides at the upper end of the ladder last year got a good deal out of the change.
We play three teams twice.
It's a 16 round season - now playing QB weekend.
With only fourteen teams in it, you'll play thirteen teams once, then have three return matches.
Just had a quick look and it looks like Wallan also got the rough end of the stick too. Although they were close to the finals last year, from what's bewen written on here, they will be doing it tough. The tough draw certainly won't help.
GHOST WRITER
30 Apr 2007, 13:23
Saw the Macleod vs Thomastown game on the weekend and Thomastown ran out victors by 4-5 goals. Macleod did well to peg it back actually becuase at one stage they were about 7-8 goals down. Better players for Thomastown were their ruckmen (#65), their forward (#5) and one of their midfielders (#19). For Macleod, Puffa was a strong presence and one of their midfielders held his own (blonde hair, jumper number escapes me). Not sure if both teams fielded their best sides, anyone wish to fill us in on this?
Giveyathemail
30 Apr 2007, 13:23
hey giva ya,
how do you know that harly is not playin @ north?????????????????
and also is the l grey mentioned in the goals and besy for marrybinong park leigh grey from north heildelberg. saw he wanted to go there.??????????????????????????????????????????????????
I spoke to Mouse friday night/ saturday morning.
Sorry mate, I dont understand your point about Rudy???
just seen an L grey mentioned inthe goals and best for marbinong park.
wondering if it was leigh grey from north.
seen on the dvfl website he asked for a clearance to marbinong park
URSINFOOTY
30 Apr 2007, 13:31
Well boys, In Div2 I feel the first couple of games was selected by the condition of the grounds, Sth Morang have the first 3 @ home but then have the last 4 away, " That's tough"
BlindTurn
30 Apr 2007, 14:02
Yes it is the same Leigh Gray. He will continue to dominate in divvy 2 of EDFL.
Giveyathemail
30 Apr 2007, 14:16
Yes mate, the one and the same. Look for the names Gray, Zerafa and Powell in their best on a regular basis...
BobbyBurritto
30 Apr 2007, 14:19
Saw the Macleod vs Thomastown game on the weekend and Thomastown ran out victors by 4-5 goals. Macleod did well to peg it back actually becuase at one stage they were about 7-8 goals down. Better players for Thomastown were their ruckmen (#65), their forward (#5) and one of their midfielders (#19). For Macleod, Puffa was a strong presence and one of their midfielders held his own (blonde hair, jumper number escapes me). Not sure if both teams fielded their best sides, anyone wish to fill us in on this?
Harmsey took the opportunity to rest several seniors to freshen them up for round 1 after a long pre-season. Was also the last chance to see where some of the kids were at. Although Macleod were very disappointing it wasn't a game they were looking at winning with the real stuff starting next week.
giveya....
where is harly playing and how do you think north will go?
lost leigh grey, puffa, mclintock,shane mitchell, hancock? has he retired yet?
should still make top 4 with likes of dean,king,moore,shaun ryan,martello,holmes and co.
have they lost or gained anyone i havent mentioned?
dv_guru
30 Apr 2007, 14:41
yeah does anyone know how rob ''the moose'' peckham went??
Giveyathemail
30 Apr 2007, 14:57
giveya....
where is harly playing and how do you think north will go?
lost leigh grey, puffa, mclintock,shane mitchell, hancock? has he retired yet?
should still make top 4 with likes of dean,king,moore,shaun ryan,martello,holmes and co.
have they lost or gained anyone i havent mentioned?
Yeah I still rate North, they have some very good players on their list. I think Heidelberg and Mont are the yardstick for 2007, with North, West Preston, Bundoora ,Eltham and N/Park to fight for the last 2 spots. Harley is staying at Echuca United I think.
matchwinner
30 Apr 2007, 15:30
My mistake. That does seem a little unfair consicdering their approach over the last few years. Would be interesting to know if any sides at the upper end of the ladder last year got a good deal out of the change.
I think Lalor would be pretty happy with their draw - playing only one finalist from last season twice.
matchwinner
30 Apr 2007, 15:34
GYTM, I see on the clearances that Briggsy is returning to Lalor for the third time. Had heard recently he was having the season off and was even meant to be down at Lower with a few of the boys for a past players function this Saturday. What sort of condition is he in if he hasn't done a bit of pre-season?
Kickass
30 Apr 2007, 15:39
yeah does anyone know how rob ''the moose'' peckham went??
More to the point Does one care ??? Peckham is getting far to much "airtime" on this forum.
Instead of continually asking how did he go, why don't you just read back a few pages of this thread :mad: or better still, go and watch for yourself.
I will be more than Happy to give you a report this week when he plays in Epping's reserves against Eltham.