View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65

Have A Crack
26 May 2006, 10:05
I know it's a bit harsh, but that's what they did at the Shepparton RSL for a while after a fight broke out before the Green/Mundine fight, but with Diamo's ground, you've got the pub next door, and it's pretty easy to sneak grog in through the fence.

But, there's no doubt about it, the authorities needs to overhaul the DVFL, because there's far too many people within the league that look at thing through club coloured glasses, and not doing things that are beneficial for the league as a whole.

Peter Floyd needs to retire, I know that his time at the helm has overall been good (expansion of junior & senior clubs), but the comp NEEDS NEW BLOOD, basically they need to do what the Eastern League did and looked outside for a CEO/President, and a new board, with blokes who have retired recently or have good business acumen/connections.

First off, they need to split Division Two in half, to make a Division Three, plus reduce the number of clubs in Division One to 8 or 9, because the weakest team in Divsion One is very weak compared to the other clubs.

Don't make promotion/relegation compulsary, they used to do it this way, but now, they force clubs that don't want to move up a grade (Hurstbridge) no other option but to get flogged every week, let's face it, only Lower Plenty & Greensborough want to move up a grade, no one else does, especially Mernda & Whittlesea (they will eventually, when those areas become more developed).

The Website, what a joke, christ it looks like something done up on a Commodore 64 circa 1985.For the calibre of league the DVFL is, surely they can spend a bit of money to get a decent website, because it's like a window to the league and it says that "these these blokes are amateurs".

And another thing, why can't the DVFL force clubs to wear alternate strips ?, when I saw Panton Hill play Mernda, I could barely tell them apart, especially from a distance, with the number of clubs in division two (there isn't any major colour clashes in Division One, except North Heidelberg & West Preston/Lakeside), surely the league can arrange something.

But when look at how well the leagues are run up in the Goulburn Valley and you compare that to the Diamond Valley, there's no comparison.

I agree with you that the DVFL needs new people in to run the joint, but fair dinkum who would want the job.

Bubble Wrap
26 May 2006, 10:30
For $70K and a car - plus your missus on the payroll - who wouldn't want the job?

Seriously, they have the means to attract someone with some decent qualifications.

bobcobb
26 May 2006, 10:46
sounds like you are putting your hand up for the job Wayde. some good points but also some bad points, I think anyway.

Good points: I think the league does need to look outside of its own for a new president, somebody who can make unbiased decisions and not favouring certain clubs. We would like to think this doesnt happen but over the last month we have seen to many inconsistencies in their decision making.

Bad points: I dont agree with a third division, I think the league would be better off making a final eight instead of a final six, giving the teams that are sitting around 7-12 on the ladder a chance to make finals ( thats what everbody plays for ) I think it would encourage these 5 or 6 teams to keep pushing in games towards the end of the year if they still have a chance at making finals thus promoting a healthy compitition.

FootyLover06
26 May 2006, 11:07
Just wondering how Jai miles and Tobi Bray are going at lalor this year and how the Fonuas are going at lakeside anyone tell me how thay have been travelling

Can anyone help me here anyone know anything about them

Force
26 May 2006, 11:36
Good points: I think the league does need to look outside of its own for a new president, somebody who can make unbiased decisions and not favouring certain clubs. We would like to think this doesnt happen but over the last month we have seen to many inconsistencies in their decision making.

Bad points: I dont agree with a third division, I think the league would be better off making a final eight instead of a final six, giving the teams that are sitting around 7-12 on the ladder a chance to make finals ( thats what everbody plays for ) I think it would encourage these 5 or 6 teams to keep pushing in games towards the end of the year if they still have a chance at making finals thus promoting a healthy compitition.

I totally agree with you bobcobb.:thumbsu: Here Here!!

journeyman
26 May 2006, 11:38
I know it's a bit harsh, but that's what they did at the Shepparton RSL for a while after a fight broke out before the Green/Mundine fight, but with Diamo's ground, you've got the pub next door, and it's pretty easy to sneak grog in through the fence.

But, there's no doubt about it, the authorities needs to overhaul the DVFL, because there's far too many people within the league that look at thing through club coloured glasses, and not doing things that are beneficial for the league as a whole.

Peter Floyd needs to retire, I know that his time at the helm has overall been good (expansion of junior & senior clubs), but the comp NEEDS NEW BLOOD, basically they need to do what the Eastern League did and looked outside for a CEO/President, and a new board, with blokes who have retired recently or have good business acumen/connections.

First off, they need to split Division Two in half, to make a Division Three, plus reduce the number of clubs in Division One to 8 or 9, because the weakest team in Divsion One is very weak compared to the other clubs.

Don't make promotion/relegation compulsary, they used to do it this way, but now, they force clubs that don't want to move up a grade (Hurstbridge) no other option but to get flogged every week, let's face it, only Lower Plenty & Greensborough want to move up a grade, no one else does, especially Mernda & Whittlesea (they will eventually, when those areas become more developed).

The Website, what a joke, christ it looks like something done up on a Commodore 64 circa 1985.For the calibre of league the DVFL is, surely they can spend a bit of money to get a decent website, because it's like a window to the league and it says that "these these blokes are amateurs".

And another thing, why can't the DVFL force clubs to wear alternate strips ?, when I saw Panton Hill play Mernda, I could barely tell them apart, especially from a distance, with the number of clubs in division two (there isn't any major colour clashes in Division One, except North Heidelberg & West Preston/Lakeside), surely the league can arrange something.

But when look at how well the leagues are run up in the Goulburn Valley and you compare that to the Diamond Valley, there's no comparison.

Couldn't agree more with all of those points Wayde. I'm only an outsider but the Valley has got a bad name when it's bloody good footy. If they want to attract new people and stamp out the things that have been prominent on this thread then change needs to happen.

A lot of players that live in the Diamond Valley area drive to GV clubs on the weekend to play a similiar standard of footy. And it's not all about money.

It's crazy for a local league to have 16 teams in it. Three divisions is a much better way to go.

matteroffact
26 May 2006, 13:01
Can anyone help me here anyone know anything about them

Jai Miles is a quality player who's first 5 games at Laor have been fantastic,running off half back and setting things up.Toby Bray while not being as influential has been serviceable but will miss tomorrow with a crook shoulder.We're hoping they can keep improving each game and become permanent fixtures at thr Bloods.

Giveyathemail
26 May 2006, 13:07
How come West Preston never get a mention on this forum?

Im not too sure....

Mr Rule
26 May 2006, 13:08
listen here matchwinner i dont know what the hell you are on but you are kidding yourself if you think that lower plenty have done well... they are a woeful side.. they are struggling in div2 . They will be playing div2 footy for a long time to come. Your saying they are going for youth, there kids are duds. Have a look at monty they have about 8-9 KIDS playing for them at the moment.. now im telling you something they will be going places in the next couple of years.

touch of class
26 May 2006, 14:33
just on the diamond valley i really think its time for the president peter floud to take a long walk off a short pier hes robbed the league long enough and has produced nothing we need fresh faces i believe from outside with substancial businees and marketing backrounds to turn the league back into the number 1 metro league and to give ya the mail good luck to you and the lalor crew in what should be a good hit out if both teams where i think if switched on you can get the points

WRFLfan
26 May 2006, 14:45
Jai Miles is a quality player who's first 5 games at Laor have been fantastic,running off half back and setting things up.Toby Bray while not being as influential has been serviceable but will miss tomorrow with a crook shoulder.We're hoping they can keep improving each game and become permanent fixtures at thr Bloods.
did Toby Bray play for Hoppers Crossing?

Have A Crack
26 May 2006, 14:46

Can any Lalor Supporter tell me who the in's & out's are for tomorrow's game???

Is Benny Kinnear back in???

matchwinner
26 May 2006, 14:57
listen here matchwinner i dont know what the hell you are on but you are kidding yourself if you think that lower plenty have done well... they are a woeful side.. they are struggling in div2 . They will be playing div2 footy for a long time to come. Your saying they are going for youth, there kids are duds. Have a look at monty they have about 8-9 KIDS playing for them at the moment.. now im telling you something they will be going places in the next couple of years.

My point was that in their short history they have done well to even get to division 1, and to stay there for as long as they did. The chances are we may be in divi 2 for a few years, but we have learnt a lot from our time in division 1 which will hold us in good stead in future years. The kids we have coming through aren't duds. They may not be up with Mont's kids, but Lower hasn't has a junior system in place for years like Mont have.

jetpak_1
26 May 2006, 15:04
Not really worth mentioning to be honest.

hahahaha u :D:D:D:De.r and lower plenty are?

bobcobb
26 May 2006, 15:25
How come West Preston never get a mention on this forum?
West Preston will finish last this year and end up being relegated to division 2. At the moment they do not look like winning a game. the only avenue they have to goal is grainger and he is nearly elidgble for senoirs discounts at the local RSL.
There was a young kid that played in the backline for them over the last couple of years. I think they called him brodie or broady, played on him a couple of times, he was built like a rake but could run all day and knew how to get the footy.
Does anybody know what happend to him?

manmountain
26 May 2006, 17:02
To this weekend's tips:

Div 1: Lalor, Montmorency(*), North Heidelberg, Northcote Park, Heidelberg

Div 2: Lower Plenty, Wallan, Hurstbridge, Whittlesea(*), Thomastown, Greensborough, Reservoir, Watsonia.

(*) - Match of the round.

Moxy
26 May 2006, 17:15
Divvy 1: Lalor, Mont(*) , Epping, North Heidelberg, Heidelberg

Divvy 2: Panton hill, Wallan, Hurstbridge, Whittlesea(*), Thomastown, Greensborough, Reservoir, Fawkner park.

TigerTales
26 May 2006, 17:20
West Preston will finish last this year and end up being relegated to division 2. At the moment they do not look like winning a game. the only avenue they have to goal is grainger and he is nearly elidgble for senoirs discounts at the local RSL.
There was a young kid that played in the backline for them over the last couple of years. I think they called him brodie or broady, played on him a couple of times, he was built like a rake but could run all day and knew how to get the footy.
Does anybody know what happend to him?

When discussing relegation, my money is on the Panthers.

sparksy
26 May 2006, 20:15
When discussing relegation, my money is on the Panthers.
how much?I want mine on mont for the flag and say bye bye to WPL

sparksy
26 May 2006, 20:40
mont,h/berg,north,lalor,n park. wats,slime,p hill,mernda,t/town,whit,wallan and who knows, you wont see it through the fog,bridges by heaps.

TigerTales
26 May 2006, 23:27
WPL will definately be in the mix for the relegation stakes, the pressure will be on the bottom sides later in the year.

mattyr
27 May 2006, 19:35
carn the bullsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss :D :D :D :D :D :thumbsu:

mitch_fc
27 May 2006, 20:31
yay Lower beat south morang. Slogged it out up at that :D:D:D:D heap, got 4 points!

Divado
27 May 2006, 20:41
West Preston got over Lalor by 15 pts, Lalor lost their last 2 by close margins could of been 4-2 but are 2-4. Bundoora just beat Mont. would have been a cracker.

sparksy
27 May 2006, 20:42
carn the bullsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss :D :D :D :D :D :thumbsu:
thanks for a magnificent review of the game

sparksy
27 May 2006, 20:46
yay Lower beat south morang. Slogged it out up at that :D:D:D:D heap, got 4 points!
check your melways,last i heard its called panton hill

blackjack44
27 May 2006, 20:52

Panton Hill mitch.

TigerTales
27 May 2006, 21:07
Can someone review the Mont/Bulls game thanks.

jonesy86
27 May 2006, 23:28
im told that justin murphy pulled the boots on today for the cashed up tigers is this correct?

TigerTales
27 May 2006, 23:31
His had the boots on since round 1.

sparksy
28 May 2006, 20:00
am i imagining things or does every home side get favorable treatment from umpires,im not saying they cheat,there just seems to be different interpretations for away teams.

mattyr
28 May 2006, 20:15
thanks for a magnificent review of the game

no worries boss anytime didnt no i had to review it !! maybe next time just for you

vantheman32
28 May 2006, 20:22
wood any1 be able to tell me how josh summers is goin at epping? and how stefan berak is goin with his football plz

sparksy
28 May 2006, 20:59
no worries boss anytime didnt no i had to review it !! maybe next time just for you
9.0.against 5.6.in the secnd half,did mont choke or did you just get lucky shooting for goal.

mitch_fc
28 May 2006, 21:29
Panton Hill mitch.
a few after match beers and i have no idea where we were lol

mattyr
28 May 2006, 21:53
9.0.against 5.6.in the secnd half,did mont choke or did you just get lucky shooting for goal.

bundoora were very strong out of the backline and put alot of pressure on the mont fowards. im not sure but i think bundoora were just the better team on the day

mitch_fc
28 May 2006, 22:20
im such a tool

TigerTales
28 May 2006, 22:35
have you had a couple mate?

Moxy
29 May 2006, 14:19
A couple of upsets over the weekend.

Lalor lost againist West Preston, what happend there GYTM. Lalor seemed to have gone backwards after a promising start to the season. Are there Injuries, have you gone into the last two games thinking they would have been walkovers, some players not contributing to the team, Getting use to Dasha's game plan?
What do you think has contributed to the losses?
Two massive games that you guys have dropped in the scheme of things, now this will see you having to beat two of the top sides to make finals.

Also Epping over Northcote Park, Epping not travelling as bad as people thought they would or did N.Park just have a shocker.

Mont losing to the Bulls, I thought Mont might have been early flag favourites.

Giveyathemail
29 May 2006, 14:19
Gotta say after the first game against Bundoora, I really didnt think the looked to be the real deal, but after saturdays game, they would have to be equal favorites with Heidelberg at this stage. Apparantly it was a great game of footy, be good to get some feedback on it....

Can anyone confirm or deny Heidelbergs move out of our competition at the end of the season? Has this been finalised?

Giveyathemail
29 May 2006, 14:30
A couple of upsets over the weekend.

Lalor lost againist West Preston, what happend there GYTM. Lalor seemed to have gone backwards after a promising start to the season. Are there Injuries, have you gone into the last two games thinking they would have been walkovers, some players not contributing to the team, Getting use to Dasha's game plan?
What do you think has contributed to the losses?
Two massive games that you guys have dropped in the scheme of things, now this will see you having to beat two of the top sides to make finals.

Also Epping over Northcote Park, Epping not travelling as bad as people thought they would or did N.Park just have a shocker.

Mont losing to the Bulls, I thought Mont might have been early flag favourites.

Plain and simple Moxy, we have played unaccountable, stupid footy the last 2 weeks and that is the bottom line. Our disposal has been deplorable, we get lazy and complacent and look to the same few every week to dig us out of trouble. Its definatly not the coach (wasnt in the first place with Harro), we just dont look like we are running games out. The buck stops with the player group. That will change with Dasha's renowned training methods. We are our own worst enemy. This week is a huge week for us, no doubt about that.

Finals... one week at a time right now Mox. How did you go mate???

Moxy
29 May 2006, 14:44
Fair enough GYTM, as an ex Lalor boy you know I always like to see the boys do well. Having experienced Dasha's training methods first hand, Im guessing the boys have got a couple of big sessions ahead.
We went O.K, won by 57pts. We didnt really stamp our authority on the game untill the last quarter and a half. Briggsy starting to look red hot, which is a bonus for us.

Giveyathemail
29 May 2006, 14:50
Fair enough GYTM, as an ex Lalor boy you know I always like to see the boys do well. Having experienced Dasha's training methods first hand, Im guessing the boys have got a couple of big sessions ahead.
We went O.K, won by 57pts. We didnt really stamp our authority on the game untill the last quarter and a half. Briggsy starting to look red hot, which is a bonus for us.

And seeing all the Lalor boys around the Valley and their sides doing well is a bonus for us as well. Was with Briggo last saturday night and he said he was just starting to find the footy, as are you and Ab which is great. No-one beleived me Mox when I said Thomo were the big improvers, and they only play the "fancied" sides once. Is it as close down there as it seems from an outside point of view Moxy???

Bubble Wrap
29 May 2006, 15:20
Can anyone confirm or deny Heidelbergs move out of our competition at the end of the season? Has this been finalised?

That rumour does the rounds at least once every year. Don't know if it has any more currency this year than it has in the past though. Can't blame them though - why would you stick around the "DVFL Old Fart Amateur Troupe" if you have an opportunity to go to a much slicker, professional organisation like the EFL?

Moxy
29 May 2006, 15:26
Thomastown have definately improved. I thought they would have been a better side than last year. With gadget out for a while and nude up just getting back in the side last week, they have done well. But I still dont think they can make finals as predicted by you earlier in the year GYTM.

From Round 8 through to Round 17 they have to play the better sides that they have struggled to get near over the last couple of years. That will be the biggest test for them.

whitelinefeva
29 May 2006, 20:28
Couple of big wins to both Watsonia & Thomastown on the weekend, any thoughts on how these two sides will fare when the fixture switches?

JuddyisGod
29 May 2006, 20:34
any of you Diamond Valley boys billet with the Carine team in the West at all?

TheMadRicer
29 May 2006, 21:14
Thought Bundoora looked a good combination of youth and experience on Saturday. They arguably apply the best pressure in the comp with their tackling and spoiling skills. It was an armwrestle most of the day and Mont looked ready to break clear when 10 pts up half through the third. But with only Cuthbertson and Byron providng avenues to goal they couldn't do so and the Bulls scored a few late goals to be even at three quarter time.
From there they made the most of their opportunites with some nice 40+ metre goals to the clubroom end to silence the Mont faithful. They looked a bit stronger around the packs and had an amazing spread of goal kickers (14 goals 13 players). A few Mont players got a bit ahead of themselves and their delivery foward was poor.
Vinnie seems to have his critics but every time i see him he is always well prepared with a disciplined side. My only reservation is he appeared to employ a semi-flood at time which is not what you want in local footy. It worked on the small oval but i doubt its effect for 4 quarters on the big Epping ground.
Best for the Bulls were no 12 (too tight to buy a record), budgey and the trouble-shooter Grossman. Probably the most valuable player in the DV imho.

McKinleyISgood
29 May 2006, 21:28
how did number 45 for the bulls go madricer?(or anyone else that saw the match)

TheMadRicer
29 May 2006, 21:43
how did number 45 for the bulls go madricer?(or anyone else that saw the match)

Yeh not too bad. Little bloke in the forward line who set up a few goals. Played on Fricker one of Monts playmakers who had a shocker.

Bubble Wrap
29 May 2006, 22:47
Couple of big wins to both Watsonia & Thomastown on the weekend, any thoughts on how these two sides will fare when the fixture switches?

It's gonna be hard for either of them when you consider the likes of Burra, Lower, Macleod, Whittlesea, Reservoir and Mernda are about to have eight weeks of playing the bottom sides. They should give a few of the top eight sides a run for their money though, and should pinch a game here and there.

On another topic, things are looking grim down at Fawkner Park. Crisis meetings, letters to all the past players and supporters, pleading with them to get on board. Started off in the reserves with 16 players, and haven't won a game between the ones or the twos. Sad to see a club go under so you hope it won't come to that, but the signs are pretty bad. Have a read of their history on their website - they played in the VAFA for a while and moved from F Grade to B Grade in about 10 years. Such a strong club, now on its knees.

McKinleyISgood
29 May 2006, 23:07
Yeh not too bad. Little bloke in the forward line who set up a few goals. Played on Fricker one of Monts playmakers who had a shocker.
thanks for that

mattyr
29 May 2006, 23:59
Thought Bundoora looked a good combination of youth and experience on Saturday. They arguably apply the best pressure in the comp with their tackling and spoiling skills. It was an armwrestle most of the day and Mont looked ready to break clear when 10 pts up half through the third. But with only Cuthbertson and Byron providng avenues to goal they couldn't do so and the Bulls scored a few late goals to be even at three quarter time.
From there they made the most of their opportunites with some nice 40+ metre goals to the clubroom end to silence the Mont faithful. They looked a bit stronger around the packs and had an amazing spread of goal kickers (14 goals 13 players). A few Mont players got a bit ahead of themselves and their delivery foward was poor.
Vinnie seems to have his critics but every time i see him he is always well prepared with a disciplined side. My only reservation is he appeared to employ a semi-flood at time which is not what you want in local footy. It worked on the small oval but i doubt its effect for 4 quarters on the big Epping ground.
Best for the Bulls were no 12 (too tight to buy a record), budgey and the trouble-shooter Grossman. Probably the most valuable player in the DV imho.

yes no 12 Tim McIntosh a very handy pickup for the bulls this year budgey workey tirelessly all day saw him come off in the last quarter and didnt even look that tired compared to some of the other players and grossy yeh a great player such a key in the bundoora teams lineup can fix any problem. but i must say mont looked very good across the ground

Giveyathemail
30 May 2006, 13:13
Thomastown have definately improved. I thought they would have been a better side than last year. With gadget out for a while and nude up just getting back in the side last week, they have done well. But I still dont think they can make finals as predicted by you earlier in the year GYTM.

From Round 8 through to Round 17 they have to play the better sides that they have struggled to get near over the last couple of years. That will be the biggest test for them.

Going through the fixture Mox and I beleive they can win at least 5 more games for the year, and that includes 3 out of the next 6. That gives them 10 for the year... But as we said it is very close down there this year and 10 wins may not be enough.

sross
30 May 2006, 14:11
On another topic, things are looking grim down at Fawkner Park. Crisis meetings, letters to all the past players and supporters, pleading with them to get on board. Started off in the reserves with 16 players, and haven't won a game between the ones or the twos. Sad to see a club go under so you hope it won't come to that, but the signs are pretty bad. Have a read of their history on their website - they played in the VAFA for a while and moved from F Grade to B Grade in about 10 years. Such a strong club, now on its knees.

I think you may find there is a bit more in it.

At least they have been competitive this year and have been close to winning in a couple of games but just couldn't get over the line.

Moxy
30 May 2006, 14:15
Going through the fixture Mox and I beleive they can win at least 5 more games for the year, and that includes 3 out of the next 6. That gives them 10 for the year... But as we said it is very close down there this year and 10 wins may not be enough.
lets have a look.

Parkside = yes
Whittlesea = no
Panton Hill = ?
Reservoir = doubt
Greensborough = no
Lower Plenty = no
South Morang = ?
Macleod = no
Mernda = no
Wallan = no
Watsonia = yes
Hurstbridge = ?

I've got them down for 2 more certainty's, with another 3 that will be close. Thats 5 more wins, that will give them a total of 10 wins.
I tell ya its gonna be tight this year between a few clubs.

Giveyathemail
30 May 2006, 14:25
lets have a look.

Parkside = yes
Whittlesea = no
Panton Hill = ?
Reservoir = doubt
Greensborough = no
Lower Plenty = no
South Morang = ?
Macleod = no
Mernda = no
Wallan = no
Watsonia = yes
Hurstbridge = ?

I've got them down for 2 more certainty's, with another 3 that will be close. Thats 5 more wins, that will give them a total of 10 wins.
I tell ya its gonna be tight this year between a few clubs.

Couldnt agree more Moxy... I gave them Parkside, Panton Hill, Reservoir, Watsonia and Hurstbridge. South Morang arent over endowed with talent either. You could be a premiership player again in 2006 Moxy... Yourselves, Boro, Lower or Whittlesea. Those are the four that id say have the list to really go on with it.

Hoggy
30 May 2006, 14:26
did larenzini's old man play at fitzroy?

Yeah John Lorenzini played a game for Fitzroy in 1975.

Bubble Wrap
30 May 2006, 14:46
Couldnt agree more Moxy... I gave them Parkside, Panton Hill, Reservoir, Watsonia and Hurstbridge. South Morang arent over endowed with talent either. You could be a premiership player again in 2006 Moxy... Yourselves, Boro, Lower or Whittlesea. Those are the four that id say have the list to really go on with it.

I'm assuming Moxy plays for Wallan, as far as I can gather?

If this is the case, GYTM, I'm wondering how you can have them as a flag chance when they only just got over the top of Fawkner Park? Is there extenuating circumstances such as injuries or have they picked up some players since that match? When I saw the scores from that match my immediate reaction was that they might have rested a lot of their better players?

So far, I'd say it's looking like a Burra versus Whittlesea grand final, with Lower the team most likely to sneak in if one of those two falters.

Giveyathemail
30 May 2006, 14:59
I'm assuming Moxy plays for Wallan, as far as I can gather?

If this is the case, GYTM, I'm wondering how you can have them as a flag chance when they only just got over the top of Fawkner Park? Is there extenuating circumstances such as injuries or have they picked up some players since that match? When I saw the scores from that match my immediate reaction was that they might have rested a lot of their better players?

So far, I'd say it's looking like a Burra versus Whittlesea grand final, with Lower the team most likely to sneak in if one of those two falters.

My opinion is based on the fact that Wallan have proven matchwinners (Abbas, Briggs, Comfort, Nedelkovski) coming into some form after adjusting to their roles at their new club. Wallan are a young side, that love to run the ball and are prepared to take risks. Those other previous 3 sides you mentioned are the sides I also rated for my top 4 finish. I dont rate Mernda or Morang, Reservoir are relying on the likes of Micky Noble to get em over the line, and I think Hurstbridge have run their race. Panton Hill, Parkside, FP struggle... My top 6 is Boro, Macleod, Lower, Wallan, W'sea and Thomastown. That is in no particular order.

Coach Hollywood
30 May 2006, 16:46
Anyone know of any reasons why Panton Hill, Mernda and South Morang have struggled so much this year? Apart from having the tougher draw then the likes of Thomastown, Wallan & Watsonia? I would have thought at least one of those 3 would be looking at finals this year?

beerbandit
30 May 2006, 17:46
My opinion is based on the fact that Wallan have proven matchwinners (Abbas, Briggs, Comfort, Nedelkovski) coming into some form after adjusting to their roles at their new club. Wallan are a young side, that love to run the ball and are prepared to take risks. Those other previous 3 sides you mentioned are the sides I also rated for my top 4 finish. I dont rate Mernda or Morang, Reservoir are relying on the likes of Micky Noble to get em over the line, and I think Hurstbridge have run their race. Panton Hill, Parkside, FP struggle... My top 6 is Boro, Macleod, Lower, Wallan, W'sea and Thomastown. That is in no particular order.
How can you say this about wallan... i watched Hurstbridge beat them by 9 goals already this year. wallan were up at half time, i think wallan are unfit and will run out of gas come finals, if they are even in the hunt??

mitch_fc
30 May 2006, 18:01
Anyone know of any reasons why Panton Hill, Mernda and South Morang have struggled so much this year? Apart from having the tougher draw then the likes of Thomastown, Wallan & Watsonia? I would have thought at least one of those 3 would be looking at finals this year?
from what i know i reckon PH have lost a few players.
Mernda have had heaps of injuires and suspensions.
South Morang im not sure, maybe just not a great side.

All have had the tough early draw, and will pick up more wins as the season goes on.

melbdocker
30 May 2006, 18:05
south morang have lost there best player in bongetti and there 2nd leading goal scorer wayne pavitt who kicked alot of goal last yr thats a start

mitch_fc
30 May 2006, 21:44
south morang have lost there best player in bongetti and there 2nd leading goal scorer wayne pavitt who kicked alot of goal last yr thats a start
theres yah answer then!!! all 3 of those sides are not as strong as 05 at the moment.

Giveyathemail
31 May 2006, 13:17
Just wondering if anyone can confirm or deny Jason Dean not getting much game time this year, being rotated on and off the bench. I rate Jase in the top 3 big men in the comp, and find it unbeleiveable if this was the case, taken into account Norths somewhat shaky start to 2006. He is a proven matchwinner, who would be more than handy to drift forward to kick his 2 or 3 every week I wouldve thought. Is he playing injured (again), or is it simply team balance or form???

Any feedback on this would be good.

bobcobb
31 May 2006, 15:21
Comfort, never heard of him. Who is he?

How can you say wallan and thomastown will make the finals! Its dumbfounding!
The teams like mernda, reservoir and south morang will be in the hunt once the fixture swaps around and the teams like the two you have mentioned will bow out of the finals race without a whimper.
Now back to division 1, even though Mont lost to the bulls on the weekend I still like them for the flag. I think the running and play on at all costs type of football is exciting to watch, and boy are some of their blokes quick.
I think the next 3 weeks will be huge for them; heidelberg (away), lalor (home) and northcote park (away)

melbdocker
31 May 2006, 17:55
i saw wallan a few times last yr and my thought that they were alot better side than they played against the better teams they would flog lower teams and when they came up agaisnt greensy/creek/mernda it seemed they didn't have the confidence to match them even though they had nedelkovski/ireland up forward few good young blokes in the guts and that guy no.8 (we dubed clement) across half back.

Brutal
31 May 2006, 19:20

Lowers kid`s duds, didn`t stop Mont trying to poach half the one`s we`ve got. As for Mont as a whole face the facts, after Heidelberg they have spent more than anyone else in their quest to win a Premiership, and you can quote the Valley`s best Football Manager ( just ask him ) Duran Taranto on that, so they would wanna be somewhere near good instead of the comps biggest underachievers.

David_02
31 May 2006, 20:43
Lowers kid`s duds, didn`t stop Mont trying to poach half the one`s we`ve got. As for Mont as a whole face the facts, after Heidelberg they have spent more than anyone else in their quest to win a Premiership, and you can quote the Valley`s best Football Manager ( just ask him ) Duran Taranto on that, so they would wanna be somewhere near good instead of the comps biggest underachievers.

Which kids did monty try and poach?

TigerTales
31 May 2006, 21:06
Sorry when was the last time Montmorency won a premiership, and how many grand finals have they lost over the years, 2003 the most recent chokage. Id prefer one flag in the last two years than none in 20.

Dwight
31 May 2006, 22:20
Sorry when was the last time Montmorency won a premiership, and how many grand finals have they lost over the years, 2003 the most recent chokage. Id prefer one flag in the last two years than none in 20.

You peanut. Heidelberg have won three flags over the last 20 years.
1986, 1990 & 2003. Get your facts right before you sprout off about a club. Even though your point is valid you look like you know nothing about your club quoting stats like that.

Heidlberg struggling with injuries at the minute. 7 or 8 ones missing and about 6 from the 2's is my mail.

Mont just about full strength and looking to run the Tigers off there feet on the wide open spaces of Warringal park. Should be a cracker, will be there for sure.

mitch_fc
31 May 2006, 22:30
Which kids did monty try and poach?
Neill, Gill, Elmore off top of head.

jetpak_1
31 May 2006, 23:00

buddy burgers are nuthen but up em self pieces of s-hit too much money, greed and arrogance i hope mont belt them bye 20 goals because they are just a greedy club that buys any player they can get with no under 19 team so anyone has the chance to go up from the ranks i wouldnt even call them a club just a bunch of total wan.kers made me laugh when they got beet last year in the granny really did. im not even a mont supporter but this week GO MONT!

hottip06
31 May 2006, 23:18
buddy burgers are nuthen but up em self pieces of s-hit too much money, greed and arrogance i hope mont belt them bye 20 goals because they are just a greedy club that buys any player they can get with no under 19 team so anyone has the chance to go up from the ranks i wouldnt even call them a club just a bunch of total wan.kers made me laugh when they got beet last year in the granny really did. im not even a mont supporter but this week GO MONT!

well said mate

TigerTales
31 May 2006, 23:27
please explain how being well run and finanically stable makes us greedy?

jetpak_1
31 May 2006, 23:44
please explain how being well run and finanically stable makes us greedy?

CARNNN MONTY

TigerTales
31 May 2006, 23:52
You peanut. Heidelberg have won three flags over the last 20 years.
1986, 1990 & 2003. Get your facts right before you sprout off about a club. Even though your point is valid you look like you know nothing about your club quoting stats like that.

Heidlberg struggling with injuries at the minute. 7 or 8 ones missing and about 6 from the 2's is my mail.

Mont just about full strength and looking to run the Tigers off there feet on the wide open spaces of Warringal park. Should be a cracker, will be there for sure.

Heidelberg is on top for starters so they are not struggling. Yes we are extremely injury depleted but we still managed to beat Diamond Creek by 109 points with 7 blokes out. Our last flag was in 2004 and not 2003 so maybe you should get your facts right peanut. In 2003 West Preston rolled Mont, In 1990 we beat Bundoora and 86 North Heidelberg. Before Trevor Barrot came to the club we were next to broke and making losses year after year. Being in this position didn't come from winning tattslotto mate, dont worry about us we had our days in the dumps. By the way Corey Mckernan and Marc Bullen have been training.

TigerTales
31 May 2006, 23:53
CARNNN MONTY

To be honest I think you will beat us.

FOOTYBOSS
1 Jun 2006, 09:45
By the way Corey Mckernan and Marc Bullen have been training.
Why come on here and make stupid statements like this TigerTales. McKernan has not been seen at training for nearly a month now and when he was there he just helped out with certain drills and the ruckman. Every now and then he joined in training. Marc Bullen has not trained with your club, Its a bit hard for Bullen to travel from Adelaide to Heidelberg to train considering he is playing for Port Adelaide in the SANFL.

Moxy
1 Jun 2006, 10:50

The teams like mernda, reservoir and south morang will be in the hunt once the fixture swaps around and the teams like the two you have mentioned will bow out of the finals race without a whimper.
Now back to division 1, even though Mont lost to the bulls on the weekend I still like them for the flag. I think the running and play on at all costs type of football is exciting to watch, and boy are some of their blokes quick.
I think the next 3 weeks will be huge for them; heidelberg (away), lalor (home) and northcote park (away)
comfort is just an average player for wallan, I wouldnt put him in the same league as the guys mentioned with him ( but rumour has it he has a huge package ).
Mernda, south morang and reservoir are just shells of their 2005 and with division 2 being so even at the moment they could find it hard to build up some momentum.
Bobcock if you think that we will bow out of the finals race without a whimper you have some serious mental issues, it is going to be very tight towards the end of the season with only maybe 1 or 2 spots in the 6 up for grabs and with about 4 or 5 teams trying to take them, it should make for a entertaining last couple of games.
I can assure you that wallan will leave nothing out on the ground during those games you parrot.
What side are you involved with bobcock ? on your posts you dont seem to have an allegiance to any club or are you just one of those people who are drifters and have never put on a pair of footy boots.

Giveyathemail
1 Jun 2006, 14:09

Ive played with and against those blokes I mentioned, through both divisions. If you havent heard of Comfort, do your homework Bob.
I can say Thomo and Wallan CAN make the finals because if you look at the ladder, the pretenders who make it every year havent fired, and I beleive they can sneak in. Time will tell I guess wont it.

Someone else said the same thing to me last night about Mont Bob, and Bundoora definatly werent that threatening as a side compared to Heidelberg who we played the following week. We are yet to play Mont, but from reading the record, they have alot of depth with the class of players they have got running around in their 2s. I still think its gunna be a Mont/ Heidelberg G/F.

Giveyathemail
1 Jun 2006, 14:24
comfort is just an average player for wallan, I wouldnt put him in the same league as the guys mentioned with him ( but rumour has it he has a huge package ).
Mernda, south morang and reservoir are just shells of their 2005 and with division 2 being so even at the moment they could find it hard to build up some momentum.
Bobcock if you think that we will bow out of the finals race without a whimper you have some serious mental issues, it is going to be very tight towards the end of the season with only maybe 1 or 2 spots in the 6 up for grabs and with about 4 or 5 teams trying to take them, it should make for a entertaining last couple of games.
I can assure you that wallan will leave nothing out on the ground during those games you parrot.
What side are you involved with bobcock ? on your posts you dont seem to have an allegiance to any club or are you just one of those people who are drifters and have never put on a pair of footy boots.

Please Mox, Comforts package is not of any interest to me whatsoever..:D

And the kid is a bit more than your average player, dont you worry about that. He just has to pick up the phone if he is interested in coming back to play with the Bloods at any stage.

THEOX
1 Jun 2006, 14:59
Please Mox, Comforts package is not of any interest to me whatsoever..:D

And the kid is a bit more than your average player, dont you worry about that. He just has to pick up the phone if he is interested in coming back to play with the Bloods at any stage.

How do you think you will go Sat GYTM. Should be a good contest, I'd say you will be coming out breathing fire after your last two weeks.

Any outs or matchups;)

kanga fan man
1 Jun 2006, 15:59
yeah should be a good game we got a few injuries but hopefully there will be a few back in, we need to get the 4 pts but i reckon after a hard week on the track the boys should bopunce back after two shocking weeks, good to be playing creek again, who are the players to watch ox ?

THEOX
1 Jun 2006, 16:36
yeah should be a good game we got a few injuries but hopefully there will be a few back in, we need to get the 4 pts but i reckon after a hard week on the track the boys should bopunce back after two shocking weeks, good to be playing creek again, who are the players to watch ox ?

Theres about 22:D

A few injuries ourselves but I'm sure we will be more competive then the last couple of weeks. We have played the top 4 the last 4 weeks so hopefully we can notch a few more wins in the coming weeks. You guys at home are always tough and after your last two defeats it will be even harder. If where in it at 3/4 time we should be able to go on with it if last week was any indication for you guys:)

kanga fan man
1 Jun 2006, 16:38
fair enoug ox should be good, u going to game ?
yeah last week last qtr was terrible but the week b4 we kicked 8 in last so im confused lol. anyway hopefully it a good game.

melbdocker
1 Jun 2006, 17:27
oh cant wait to go back to lalor, last time we were then there was a massive blew and lalor went even playing lol. nah should be a good game after the disapointing loss a coulple of weeks ago and now everyone has had at least one win we really need this one, would expect a few players to come back but not sure who as yet

TigerTales
1 Jun 2006, 18:08
Why come on here and make stupid statements like this TigerTales. McKernan has not been seen at training for nearly a month now and when he was there he just helped out with certain drills and the ruckman. Every now and then he joined in training. Marc Bullen has not trained with your club, Its a bit hard for Bullen to travel from Adelaide to Heidelberg to train considering he is playing for Port Adelaide in the SANFL.

Dont tell me who I have seen at training, Marc Bullen is best mates with Justin Murphy, come down thursday night to warringal park and you will see Corey Mckernan.

Dwight
1 Jun 2006, 21:59
Dont tell me who I have seen at training, Marc Bullen is best mates with Justin Murphy, come down thursday night to warringal park and you will see Corey Mckernan.

Did some research based out of the city of churches, expect two new players to be at Heidelberg in the second half of the year.

Three if McKernans knee comes up over the next month or so but it is only a 50/50 bet. The other two are certainties.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Jun 2006, 09:01
I know Murphy and Bullen are good mates as Bullen was in Murphys wedding party. But for you to come on here and say he has been training there is total crap. I think you better go and wipe the side of your mouth as the s h i t just keeps dribbling out you knob jockey.

I have seen many training sessions at warringal park this year, even last night in fact and there was no sight of McKernan or Bullen. So take your thumb out of your arse, get back to your caravan and hop back into bed with your mum you dumb prick.

Doona2
2 Jun 2006, 09:28
I know Murphy and Bullen are good mates as Bullen was in Murphys wedding party. But for you to come on here and say he has been training there is total crap. I think you better go and wipe the side of your mouth as the s h i t just keeps dribbling out you knob jockey.

I have seen many training sessions at warringal park this year, even last night in fact and there was no sight of McKernan or Bullen. So take your thumb out of your arse, get back to your caravan and hop back into bed with your mum you dumb prick.

You tell him Boss :thumbsu: I take it you guys train there also

FOOTYBOSS
2 Jun 2006, 13:01
You tell him Boss :thumbsu: I take it you guys train there also
We sure are Doona, even though majority of our team is injured at the moment. Very good club to train with. Better then Old Trinity and Bundoora in the previuos years.

Doona2
2 Jun 2006, 13:10
We sure are Doona, even though majority of our team is injured at the moment. Very good club to train with. Better then Old Trinity and Bundoora in the previuos years.

So how Is McKernan & Bullen going then :p

Bubble Wrap
2 Jun 2006, 15:14
Tipping Time.

Div 1: Eltham, Northcote Park, Lalor, Bundoora, Montmorency (*)

Div 2: Reservoir, Thomastown, Whittlesea (*), Kinglake, Hurstbridge, Macleod, Greensborough, Watsonia

* = Match of the round.

M.WEBBER
2 Jun 2006, 15:34

I have just read the last 10 to 15 pages of this thread, what a disgrace this comp is! :thumbsd:
Most of these so called tough guys that go to the footy to drink p iss and punch on....get a f uc ken life men!
I have heard many stories about the wrfl, and l'm sorry to say you men take the cake by a mile!

Worst comp in Victoria = dvfl

Moxy
2 Jun 2006, 15:40
Division 1: Epping, N.Park, Lalor, Bundoora, Heidelberg(*)

Division 2: Reservoir, Thomastown, Lower(*), Kinglake, Hurstbridge, Macleod, Greensborough and Wallan.

Hey bubble wrap see you in the rooms after the game for a couple of beers!!

journeyman
2 Jun 2006, 15:44

Just out of interest Boss, what makes Heidelberg a better place to train than Bundoora and Old Trinity? Are they more accomodating?

It's hard to try and fit in when you're a country player living in the city but with 5-6 of you it should be easier.

Have the Euroa boys deliberately change training clubs each year or has it just worked out that way?

HotShoeShuffle
2 Jun 2006, 15:45
I have just read the last 10 to 15 pages of this thread, what a disgrace this comp is! :thumbsd:
Most of these so called tough guys that go to the footy to drink p iss and punch on....get a f uc ken life men!
I have heard many stories about the wrfl, and l'm sorry to say you men take the cake by a mile!

Worst comp in Victoria = dvfl

M Webber, if you have time to read 10-15 pages of this thread, i suggest you get a life.

P.S You are a terrible F1 driver

Jewelsandbullet
2 Jun 2006, 15:57
M Webber, if you have time to read 10-15 pages of this thread, i suggest you get a life.

P.S You are a terrible F1 driver

Not worth the bother Shoe. He's a serial bird’s nest.