View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
junior29
13 May 2007, 13:51
Junior29, Did number 1 for you guys receive a red or yellow card yesterday. You managed to kick a couple of goals yourself yesterday.
yeah i think he just received a yellow didnt see the incident though heard he just threw a big round arm! did you see it??? yeah it was good to get a few touches and a couple of goals myself. your right about bennett 6 its the little one andy his a freak. anyway all the best for the rest of the year im sure it will come together.
tradebate6
13 May 2007, 18:51
No point bagging divy 2 clubs champ you blokes were there not long ago. Every one needs something to aspire to. Divy 2 seems alot more intresting champ than div 1 looking at the scores today.
Mate not there long ago??? think you should check up on ur history champ, West was last playing divvy 2 footy in 1996, over 10 years ago. Just have a think before u make stupid comments.
tradebate6
13 May 2007, 18:57
Best player in the League would be the one and only Fabian Carelli. Might be a a bit of a biased statement, but playing alongside him he is even more of an inspiration. Has the ability to turn games by himself, and manages a minimum of 30 touches a game while being an in an under player not like all the other players that rack up so many touches when they are just hang outs. For a bloke that only about 5 foot 8, he's a gun.
Yes big Puffa was unstoppable yesterday, his gotta have the cleanest pair of hands I have seen, we pretty much played two people on him all day but that didn't help. One of the Bennett boys(#6) dominated in the midfield must have kicked 5 or 6 himself. Macloed no doubt my favorites to take out the flag, a very well drilled team.
It is a shame to see how far Wallan have dropped off. After being involved with them for the past 3 years and seeing how much effort has gone into making them competitive, both on and off the field I hope that the club doesn't continue to struggle like it has in the first couple of rounds. It will make it very hard to attract sponsors and players to the club in the future if that continues to happen. Good luck to all involved there this year and I hope they can turn things around.
Best player in the League would be the one and only Fabian Carelli. Might be a a bit of a biased statement, but playing alongside him he is even more of an inspiration. Has the ability to turn games by himself, and manages a minimum of 30 touches a game while being an in an under player not like all the other players that rack up so many touches when they are just hang outs. For a bloke that only about 5 foot 8, he's a gun.
he is a very good player. he is also my second cousin but he wouldnt be the best player to have ever played in the leauge, there is alot more better players running around in the valley than him.
magpie#18
13 May 2007, 20:16
he is a very good player. he is also my second cousin but he wouldnt be the best player to have ever played in the leauge, there is alot more better players running around in the valley than him.
none from bundoora!
ahahahaha what a joke!
magpie#18
13 May 2007, 21:50
ahahahaha what a joke!
names?
RiverRat
13 May 2007, 23:20
names?
Chris Keating was a gun. From a Heidelberg point of view id have to say in my time Hally or Dale Nolan. Nigga & Ryno were also guns.
Jewelsandbullet
14 May 2007, 10:40
Rounds 2 interviews can be viewed here lads
http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?c=1-3913-48160-52015-5197729&sID=42901
some good interviewing skills too :D
The Red Devil
14 May 2007, 10:51
I'm from Parkside. Absolute disgrace yesterday. Every player wanted to play & all of our coaching staff & committee wanted to play but we weren't able to because of 2 people-Kinglake's president & coach. A few of our blokes went to West v Bridge & Macleod v Wallan & their grounds made ours look like the G. The league's got to act on this
Senior Umpire's inspected the ground and deemed it playable. Kinglake refused to play due to they thought sections of the corridor were hard.
The club had Auskick on the ground on Friday night & our juniors on it for a couple of games on Sunday. Last Sunday, the Preston Bullants juniors played their games @ Pitcher Park due to their ground being unsuitable.
So can someone from Kinglake advise what was the real raeson behind their decision not to play?????? It's cost our club $$$$$ who will be reimbursing our loss of revenue?????
gazzabell
14 May 2007, 11:09
The ground wasnt suitable to be played on mate, im just a hack from kinglakes 2s we all wanted to play, but our president and coach made the right move the ground is way too hard down the guts, we are trying to get the games reschulded but i dont know what is happening in that regard. The game should have been transferred to our ground and next time we play you we could have played it at your ground.
I said he was a schmuck. Call me a weak poof and I'll march my arse down to deWinton to kick your ginger head in boofhead. Who are you anyway ? Lundberg's bodyguard ? hahaha.
ps - heard you are shitful at cricket too assclown. Bet you play in the 3rds ya big dud.
Seems he can't read either!
Tommohawk you are a "keyboard warrior". Calling people nasty names behind your computer screen, you big tough guy you. If you actually read my comments and even your friend Lundbergs comments you will note I actually havent said anything about him, let alone anyone personally on here. The things you write on here sound like the words of a 12 year old, for your sake I hope you are. :o
The Red Devil
14 May 2007, 11:25
The ground wasnt suitable to be played on mate, im just a hack from kinglakes 2s we all wanted to play, but our president and coach made the right move the ground is way too hard down the guts, we are trying to get the games reschulded but i dont know what is happening in that regard. The game should have been transferred to our ground and next time we play you we could have played it at your ground.
Sorry Gazz, but both your teams forfeited. You'll find both sets of 4 point will be heading the Devils way....
Mate, if our ground was way to hard, Kinglake wont be playing many games of footy this year.....
Agreed Red Devil. If Kinglake are to play at Lalor, Thommo, MaCleod the players may as well not turn up. There won't be a game.
If i was a Kinglake player, i would be asking for a clearance to another club right away. All the boys want to do is play footy every Saturday.
Looks like K\Lake will only be playing every 2nd Sat when they are at home. What a farce! They may as well go play netball. Then again thats played on floorboards, which may be too hard on the boys joints.
What a joke this is. I wonder if teams will return the favour to K'Lake and pull out of their home games, no doubt costing the club money and revenue??
As i posted earlier, if the Prez and his merry men are that serious about the conditions of grounds, get off your lazy ar se and get to the away teams ground thus or fri before the match. Give time for a re-schedule to occur. Not what he did on Sat, made the call when both ressies teams were on the ground ready for kick off.
We now have a new laughing stock of the NFL.
Did you say games were played on the oval either side of the farce that occured their on sat, Red Devil. Those pretentious K'Lake boys. I bet they shower as one as well. How dare they turn the N.F.L. into such a mockery!!
names?
daniel howse, heath ayres and there just some current ones plenty of past players... use west boys like ur arguments dont you!
Correct me if I am wrong, But wasn't Ace forced into premature retirement after being Bashed senselessy by king hit from a Northcote Park player in a Grandfinal during early '90s???
A real shame, because he was a champion bloke and a champion player.
i finally know who u are kickass a mate pointed you out on saturday... well done u guys played very well
ROMPERMFC
14 May 2007, 12:52
[quote=The Red Devil;7524546]Sorry Gazz, but both your teams forfeited. You'll find both sets of 4 point will be heading the Devils way....
hope that is the case, but who f u c king knows, the "new improved" web site still hasnt updated the Divvy 2 ladder or stats, still showing Puffa with 5 for the season:thumbsd:
devlish1
14 May 2007, 12:58
I think thats because the result from our game isn't official yet
a question,
watsonia on saturday apparently played an unregistered player in the 2's.
the watsonia people told the whittlesea people and i think the umpires,
apparently his clearance did go through although they thought it would.
what happens the 2's after the game were saying they won but didnt know if it was official,and the website says nothing.
any watssy people heard about this be interesting.
GoesBangFrom50
14 May 2007, 13:32
Any Watsonia players/supporters on here?
hey boys lets give this season the boot and hit the pub saturday.
give the divi 1 flag to heildelberg and give the divi 2 flag and leading goal kicking trophy to mcleod. they can pass it on to puffa.
they would have to be the views of most on here wouldnt they.
also toughest bloke in valley, craig dyson in 80's
gazzabell
14 May 2007, 13:42
See im spewing on that devil, cause like i said mate the players wanted to play and to just hand the points over like that pisses me off. Will be hoping nothing like this happens again its no good for anyone
The_KID
14 May 2007, 14:27
New webiste is a disgrace. Junior results are runninng at about 50% up 50% not. disgrace.
devil's advocte
14 May 2007, 14:38
Rounds 2 interviews can be viewed here lads
http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?c=1-3913-48160-52015-5197729&sID=42901
some good interviewing skills too :D
Liked the intro to the interviews, somehow very appropriate. So what happened to Jerry swindon that did the interviewing last week? is this going to be a rotation policy? do we have to vote who we would prefer to do the interviews?:D
Also quick question, has it been hard to get your players and the opposition players to particiapte in this...it does look good...and jack comes accross well, I'm sure your supporters are loving it.
All you need to do is win now;)
U18 Insider
14 May 2007, 14:46
Surely we haven't forgotten the greatest and no dispute about it:::
Mario(Jezza) Cipolla( Nth Heidelberg, Lalor, Watsonia) premiership player with each and in each clubs best team of all time.....
Liked the intro to the interviews, somehow very appropriate. So what happened to Jerry swindon that did the interviewing last week? is this going to be a rotation policy? do we have to vote who we would prefer to do the interviews?:D
Also quick question, has it been hard to get your players and the opposition players to particiapte in this...it does look good...and jack comes accross well, I'm sure your supporters are loving it.
Come on Devil's, I know it's only Northcote Park. But we did win! ;)
Jewelsandbullet
14 May 2007, 14:54
Jerry was nowhere to be seen on Satdee.
New interviewer is much better anyway ;)
Not hard so far to get the opposition involved - just go and ask... & I think Curtly jumped at the chance to get 3k on camera
Oh and hey - we had a win!
J & B,
Just checked out the new web site Monty have pretty good.
Fair spray you gave the Bergs in the practice match review bit much don't you think?
Historian
14 May 2007, 16:04
Just for a change of pace from the usual bull sh 1 t, and considering we now are moving to a new era, under a new regime - how about re-living some of the old great DV memories:
From the 80's - I was only a youngster - but anyone else remember a final, where a bloke from Greensborough David (last name escapes me) was sent out after he had already done his knee, and just started dropping blokes... as i said I was a youngster but as I can remember it - he was basically hobbling and whacking.
Taken from the 1990 Grand Final record regarding the David Miers incident.
"Greensborough’s David Miers was the only person amused at his 70 second fourth term spell in last Saturday’s Diamond Valley football league preliminary final when Heidelberg defeated Greensborough by 30 points and will now meet Bundoora for the league’s 64th premiership.
Miers showed his feelings by the size of his smile when field umpire Stephen Snelson told Miers that he had been reported after limping on to the field.
With his knee heavily bandaged, he limped and hopped back onto the ground and 70 secondss later was reported 3 times for striking Heidelberg's ruckman Ataata and forward D’Abaco.
Miers was unable to walk from the ground as his knee would not support the Greensborough player who had only qualified for the finals in the last 3 games of the year.
Miers was easily identified as he was sporting a mohawk haircut for the occasion, he was injured in the second term and was heavily taped when he reappeared.
The Investigation committee, on evidence presented, found that the Greensborough FC bench had no case to answer, however it was recommended that David Miers’ permit to play be withdrawn.
The Greensborough FC (Seniors, reserves and under 19’s) was placed on a $1000 bond until the end of season 1991."
Jewelsandbullet
14 May 2007, 16:05
J & B,
Just checked out the new web site Monty have pretty good.
Fair spray you gave the Bergs in the practice match review bit much don't you think?
Yeah agree, probably a little bit harsh.
Jewelsandbullet
14 May 2007, 16:09
Just for a change of pace from the usual bull sh 1 t, and considering we now are moving to a new era, under a new regime - how about re-living some of the old great DV memories:
From the 80's - I was only a youngster - but anyone else remember a final, where a bloke from Greensborough David (last name escapes me) was sent out after he had already done his knee, and just started dropping blokes... as i said I was a youngster but as I can remember it - he was basically hobbling and whacking.
"Greensborough’s David Miers was the only person amused at his 70 second fourth term spell in last Saturday’s Diamond Valley football league preliminary final when Heidelberg defeated Greensborough by 30 points and will now meet Bundoora for the league’s 64th premiership.
Miers showed his feelings by the size of his smile when field umpire Stephen Snelson told Miers that he had been reported after limping on to the field.
With his knee heavily bandaged, he limped and hopped back onto the ground and 70 secondss later was reported 3 times for striking Heidelberg's ruckman Ataata and forward D’Abaco.
Miers was unable to walk from the ground as his knee would not support the Greensborough player who had only qualified for the finals in the last 3 games of the year.
Miers was easily identified as he was sporting a mohawk haircut for the occasion, he was injured in the second term and was heavily taped when he reappeared.
The Investigation committee, on evidence presented, found that the Greensborough FC bench had no case to answer, however it was recommended that David Miers’ permit to play be withdrawn.
The Greensborough FC (Seniors, reserves and under 19’s) was placed on a $1000 bond until the end of season 1991."
Nice work Historian .. I was a bit older than I thought.. I thought it was in the 80's
daniel howse, heath ayres and there just some current ones plenty of past players... use west boys like ur arguments dont you!
I think everyone is forgeting about 'The Adam Bruni' being the greatest player in the Valley. Just ask him he ll tell you. Good old Figgy!
Miers was unable to walk from the ground becuase Ataata punched the living suitcase out of him after he kinged the smallest bloke on the ground. Dog's act.
Best players seen in the valley in no order David Strooper, Chris Keating, Damien Yze, Ace Cameron, Wayne Dobson, Dale Nolan, Jason Heatley, Trevor Robinson. Hard to pick one.
Boof Head
14 May 2007, 16:53
who is the best young talent in the dv lets say 23 and under?
I think dave mitchell or heath ayres i am biased i know but the two can play.
yeah trevor robinson was prob the best, but saad saad for a bloke with just pure talent and no effort. with some effort he could have done anything.
Saad was a very good player, but wasnt a standout in the DVFL, apparently going allright in the GV though. There were far better standout players at Northcote Park with the likes of Bevan, Lennox, Origalasso and Strooper.
Bruce Almighty
14 May 2007, 17:44
How about Martin Kemp or Geoff Austin,Richard Guldon by far would be better than most names mentioned so far.
matchwinner
14 May 2007, 17:48
Miers was unable to walk from the ground becuase Ataata punched the living suitcase out of him after he kinged the smallest bloke on the ground. Dog's act.
Best players seen in the valley in no order David Strooper, Chris Keating, Damien Yze, Ace Cameron, Wayne Dobson, Dale Nolan, Jason Heatley, Trevor Robinson. Hard to pick one.
Yze now at East Birwood in the Eastern League. Saw the weekend's results in paper. East Burwood lost by 50 points and kicked 13 goals for the game - 10 of those came from the boot of Yze, so still going ok by the look of it.
matchwinner
14 May 2007, 17:51
hey boys lets give this season the boot and hit the pub saturday.
give the divi 1 flag to heildelberg and give the divi 2 flag and leading goal kicking trophy to mcleod. they can pass it on to puffa.
they would have to be the views of most on here wouldnt they.
also toughest bloke in valley, craig dyson in 80's
Macleod would certainly be favourites going by last season and this season's form, but I know we're certainly not ready to give the season away, and i'm sure a few other clubs are keen to try and knock them off also.
Cole Trickle
14 May 2007, 18:39
Best player under 23 would have to be by a country mile Heath Ayers. Current best player would have been Caddy but with him gone Dale Nolan.
Just on Fawkner, there are things happening.
Meeting at The Fawkner Club Rooms, Tuesday the 29th of May. On the agenda is the Seniors and Juniors for 2008 and onwards. The Council wants the rooms used either by the Australian Rules football Club, or by one of the many Soccer Clubs looking for a new home.
Anyone who cares about keeping an Aussie Rules Club in the Fawkner area is invited to attend.
BERGER KING
14 May 2007, 23:30
[quote=The Red Devil;7524546]Sorry Gazz, but both your teams forfeited. You'll find both sets of 4 point will be heading the Devils way....
hope that is the case, but who f u c king knows, the "new improved" web site still hasnt updated the Divvy 2 ladder or stats, still showing Puffa with 5 for the season:thumbsd:
The reason that the web is not promptly updated is the failure of the HOME CLUBS to submit the info :( :( :(
BERGER KING
14 May 2007, 23:37
New webiste is a disgrace. Junior results are runninng at about 50% up 50% not. disgrace.
Dont blame the web site Clubs are not electronically lodging the information on a timely basis Ask your clubs secretary if he knows how to do it .:( :( :(
Tony Delaney
15 May 2007, 15:54
Wondering if anyone could give me any info re the playing abilities of David McKay who played at Watsonia in 2006. Either on the public forum or private message me. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Why do you ask??
GHOST WRITER
15 May 2007, 17:28
Watched the Lalor vs Morang game on Saturday and it was a very competitive affair in the first half. With South Morang down by only a few goals at the major break I sensed that we were in for a good contest. However, Lalor's second half was brilliant and Morang didn't have a response. Noticed big Marty Humphreys still running around for Morang too. Better players for Lalor were Mafilovski, Marshall and Carmusciano, whilst Jerram was a solid contributor all day for the home side.
Noticed a lot of talk about the best players to have played in the Valley. Having watched a number of Thomastown training sessions, there seems to be a number of votes for the Sinclairs? Darryl's efforts are well known and Dean was said to have been a handy player too.
Best player under 23 would have to be by a country mile Heath Ayers. Current best player would have been Caddy but with him gone Dale Nolan.
clint monger is better than heath ayers any day and hes only 22 or 23
Watched the Lalor vs Morang game on Saturday and it was a very competitive affair in the first half. With South Morang down by only a few goals at the major break I sensed that we were in for a good contest. However, Lalor's second half was brilliant and Morang didn't have a response. Noticed big Marty Humphreys still running around for Morang too. Better players for Lalor were Mafilovski, Marshall and Carmusciano, whilst Jerram was a solid contributor all day for the home side.
Noticed a lot of talk about the best players to have played in the Valley. Having watched a number of Thomastown training sessions, there seems to be a number of votes for the Sinclairs? Darryl's efforts are well known and Dean was said to have been a handy player too.
Hey mate, i spose u missed Dasha's contribution on sat. He was playing in lalor's senior side. The bloke in the long sleeves, marshalling the troops everytime they had to zone up for the kick in. He is still goin round, and goin well. Would still towel up many 2nd divvy players, and no doubt some 1st divvy players too.
Watched thommo's 1st match. Backline suspect, forward line ok, but can be stopped by a back line who will line up man for man. On ball brigade one of the fittest and hard running i have seen in a while. That is pocket to pocket running. Not lazy.
Cole Trickle
15 May 2007, 18:30
clint monger is better than heath ayers any day and hes only 22 or 23Never heard of him who does he play for?Could nt be too good
Never heard of him who does he play for?Could nt be too good
plays at lower mate, one of the best half backs going round great skills, decent leap, quick to, u must be living in a cage if you havent heard of him either that or u suffer from tunnel vision
hunteyes
15 May 2007, 19:47
hahahahaaha, mate are u retarded?? seriously? thats gotta be the dumbest statement ive ever heard from anyone on this site.
heath ayers is the best player for his age in this league by a mile! for a start he plays division 1 football and has dominated over the last few years except for a bit of last year due to a back injury
Samuri Pizza Cat
15 May 2007, 20:01
hahahahaaha, mate are u retarded?? seriously? thats gotta be the dumbest statement ive ever heard from anyone on this site.
heath ayers is the best player for his age in this league by a mile! for a start he plays division 1 football and has dominated over the last few years except for a bit of last year due to a back injury
hunteyes you would have been the best player in the valley if you didnt leave like the weak dog you are. how is tempy going tip rat?
Cole Trickle
15 May 2007, 20:03
plays at lower mate, one of the best half backs going round great skills, decent leap, quick to, u must be living in a cage if you havent heard of him either that or u suffer from tunnel visionLet me just explain something to you you ignorant fool. There is a thirty goal difference between the top sides in divi one and two. If he is as good as you say he is he is wasting his time in divi two. No offence to al the divi two blokes out there but the two divisions dont compare. Heath Ayers could beat lower plenty by himself [Ayers kicks to Ayers goal] please just have a think before you make silly comments mate you will only embarass your self.
junior29
15 May 2007, 20:48
Let me just explain something to you you ignorant fool. There is a thirty goal difference between the top sides in divi one and two. If he is as good as you say he is he is wasting his time in divi two. No offence to al the divi two blokes out there but the two divisions dont compare. Heath Ayers could beat lower plenty by himself [Ayers kicks to Ayers goal] please just have a think before you make silly comments mate you will only embarass your self.
mate it think you have just embarased yourself by making that comment (ayres to ayres) but i definatly agree with you i have seen both monger and ayres play and ayres beats him hands down. There is no player in the vally under 23 better then ayres.......
stooge01
15 May 2007, 20:49
heath ayres would shit all over monger any day. played against both clint is a good player but ayres hands down. like to see clint play div 1.
plays at lower mate, one of the best half backs going round great skills, decent leap, quick to, u must be living in a cage if you havent heard of him either that or u suffer from tunnel vision
your a complete fool!
tradebate6
15 May 2007, 22:22
Carelli would be in the top 5 running around in the comp today. and there's no question about that.
harry the bad man
15 May 2007, 22:29
anyone know if mogan and gringo r still frontin up 4 the lakers
ItsAllAboutMe
16 May 2007, 11:24
I just spoke with Dave Mitchell from Bundoora and is spruiking his chance of winning the best in the league, reckons he is a shoe in has extra tips in his hair just for vote getting.
matchwinner
16 May 2007, 13:06
Let me just explain something to you you ignorant fool. There is a thirty goal difference between the top sides in divi one and two. If he is as good as you say he is he is wasting his time in divi two. No offence to al the divi two blokes out there but the two divisions dont compare. Heath Ayers could beat lower plenty by himself [Ayers kicks to Ayers goal] please just have a think before you make silly comments mate you will only embarass your self.
I understand your point. It is hard to rate a player playing at an inferior standard better than someone playing at the top level. I play alongside Monger in the backline though, and whilst i couldn't say one way or the other who is better (haven't seen enough of Ayres - though have played on him once or twice and he's very slippery)Monger is a very talented footballer. Very quick, huge leap, reads the play very well and a penetrating kick. Never saw the best of him when Lower was in divi 1, as he was injured a fair bit. The reason he's not playing divi 1 is becase he is loyal and loves the club.
BobbyBurritto
16 May 2007, 14:23
mate it think you have just embarased yourself by making that comment (ayres to ayres) but i definatly agree with you i have seen both monger and ayres play and ayres beats him hands down. There is no player in the vally under 23 better then ayres.......
What about Kane Shaw Junior? Only 22, in his 3rd year as capt and might even be a premiership capt this year. Top 3 in comp medal, club B&F, DVFL rep. Surely the best player not to mention young player in Div 2. Can't talk to much about Div 1 but I have seen and played against Heath Ayres and he is a freak!
Dale Nolan is only 23. Whilst Ayres is an exceptional player, Dale Nolan takes it all to another level. Single handedly won the flag for the Bergers in the final quarter when the game was up for grabs. This is what seperates the great players from the good players. :thumbsu:
Boof Head
16 May 2007, 18:10
I just spoke with Dave Mitchell from Bundoora and is spruiking his chance of winning the best in the league, reckons he is a shoe in has extra tips in his hair just for vote getting.
i don't believe u! david doesn't talk
liquorman
16 May 2007, 18:12
Dale Nolan is only 23. Whilst Ayres is an exceptional player, Dale Nolan takes it all to another level. Single handedly won the flag for the Bergers in the final quarter when the game was up for grabs. This is what seperates the great players from the good players. :thumbsu:
Singlehandly? How'd we get in front?:thumbsu:
i don't believe u! david doesn't talk
Beat me to it.
From memory Heath ayres came from Wallan at div 2 level, as did Harley Ryan and Blake Holmes. To say that someone at div 2 level is not as good a player as someone at div 1 is a bit to simplistic, Clint Monger is an extremely talented and skilled player who is held in very high regard, as Matchwinner pointed out he has suffered from various injury complaints over the years but intitially debuted at Div 1 level against Nothcote Park back in 2001 with stunning results (4 goals). I have never seen a better or more penetrating kick of the footy with either foot at almost any level, we are talking uncanny accuracy over 60 plus on the right and 50 plus on the left, has a vertical leap that is extroadinary and legspeed combined with evasiveness as good as anyone, all this along with the results he gets and the fact he not even 6ft would be more than enough to have him slot into a top 4 div 1 outfit. From a team perspective it`s a huge gap between standards but there are individuals who are able to bridge that gap and excell (Heath ayres for one), so don`t discount the possibility that a Clint Monger, Kane Shaw etc could be just as good a talent.
Iceman27
16 May 2007, 19:13
From memory Heath ayres came from Wallan at div 2 level, as did Harley Ryan and Blake Holmes. To say that someone at div 2 level is not as good a player as someone at div 1 is a bit to simplistic, Clint Monger is an extremely talented and skilled player who is held in very high regard, as Matchwinner pointed out he has suffered from various injury complaints over the years but intitially debuted at Div 1 level against Nothcote Park back in 2001 with stunning results (4 goals). I have never seen a better or more penetrating kick of the footy with either foot at almost any level, we are talking uncanny accuracy over 60 plus on the right and 50 plus on the left, has a vertical leap that is extroadinary and legspeed combined with evasiveness as good as anyone, all this along with the results he gets and the fact he not even 6ft would be more than enough to have him slot into a top 4 div 1 outfit. From a team perspective it`s a huge gap between standards but there are individuals who are able to bridge that gap and excell (Heath ayres for one), so don`t discount the possibility that a Clint Monger, Kane Shaw etc could be just as good a talent.
And would'nt we love to have them 3 still playing for us now.
no1 said he wasnt any good. just not as good as ayresy!
chopsewie
16 May 2007, 19:56
From memory Heath ayres came from Wallan at div 2 level, as did Harley Ryan and Blake Holmes. To say that someone at div 2 level is not as good a player as someone at div 1 is a bit to simplistic, Clint Monger is an extremely talented and skilled player who is held in very high regard, as Matchwinner pointed out he has suffered from various injury complaints over the years but intitially debuted at Div 1 level against Nothcote Park back in 2001 with stunning results (4 goals). I have never seen a better or more penetrating kick of the footy with either foot at almost any level, we are talking uncanny accuracy over 60 plus on the right and 50 plus on the left, has a vertical leap that is extroadinary and legspeed combined with evasiveness as good as anyone, all this along with the results he gets and the fact he not even 6ft would be more than enough to have him slot into a top 4 div 1 outfit. From a team perspective it`s a huge gap between standards but there are individuals who are able to bridge that gap and excell (Heath ayres for one), so don`t discount the possibility that a Clint Monger, Kane Shaw etc could be just as good a talent.How are we all boys i have nt been on here for a while and its good to see some good topics. As for the Heath Ayers Monger topic Ayersey is a proven divi 1 player with a couple of seconds in the comp medal dv representitive hes done it all except play in a flag as for Monger i have no doubt he is a gun but when your playing divi2 you can never really compare the tempo is 50% quiker in dvi 1. I respect the loyalty factor but if iwas doing it a bit to easy in d 2 id wanna see if i could do the same in the top division. Well done to Puffa on his 17 goals that just shows you the difference in the two.
chopsewie
16 May 2007, 20:06
Dale Nolan is only 23. Whilst Ayres is an exceptional player, Dale Nolan takes it all to another level. Single handedly won the flag for the Bergers in the final quarter when the game was up for grabs. This is what seperates the great players from the good players. :thumbsu:Dale Nolan is a star no doubt about it but id say Bundoora lost that grandfinal last year because they had no one in the last quater who could take a mark and kick a goal. If bundoora had some quality forwards last year eg Hall Shearer they would have beaten Heidelberg by ten goals.I would nt mine seeing how many inside fiftys Bundoora had compared to Heidelbergs. Liquor man is right Heidelbergs forwards made a contest and converted as Bundoora were horrible in that department. Where has this Piggot come from can he play?
hunteyes
16 May 2007, 20:15
Dale Nolan is a star no doubt about it but id say Bundoora lost that grandfinal last year because they had no one in the last quater who could take a mark and kick a goal. If bundoora had some quality forwards last year eg Hall Shearer they would have beaten Heidelberg by ten goals.I would nt mine seeing how many inside fiftys Bundoora had compared to Heidelbergs. Liquor man is right Heidelbergs forwards made a contest and converted as Bundoora were horrible in that department. Where has this Piggot come from can he play?
piggot was there last year, just didnt train much or put in any effort, from memory i think only played 1 or 2 1s games and played the rest includin finals in the 2s. definitely can play, big strong and can take a mark. not a bad kick either, im sure vinny would be spewin that piggot lacked the motivation to plays 1s last year, he was just what they needed!
switch the play
16 May 2007, 21:29
Is Blair Harvey still playing?He goes pretty well doesnt he?
WRFLfan
17 May 2007, 00:18
Is Blair Harvey still playing?He goes pretty well doesnt he?
Watched Mithcell in the GF last year and played a complete game he is tough good skills works hard back and forward, havent seen Ayres but must go alright, also if Nolan is 23 he plays like he is veteran he read the play well in the GF and is very tough
watchalot
17 May 2007, 10:03
I think that people will find the new web site alot better than the old one. When people get used to how it works and what you can veiw on it we just need the people that enter in the data at the clubs to get use to doing it. By about round 6 all clubs should have a handle on what they are doing. It also give alot more information that the old one did, like you can click on any players name ( juniors or seniors) and see what they have done for the whole season, how many times they have been voted in the top 6, and how many goals they have kick and who it was against.
watchalot
17 May 2007, 10:22
It is a shame to see how far Wallan have dropped off. After being involved with them for the past 3 years and seeing how much effort has gone into making them competitive, both on and off the field I hope that the club doesn't continue to struggle like it has in the first couple of rounds. It will make it very hard to attract sponsors and players to the club in the future if that continues to happen. Good luck to all involved there this year and I hope they can turn things around.
No one likes to see a club struggle but if they hang in there for this year, there future looks better as i watched there juniors on the weekend and across all levels they where very strong. Took apart north who i was told was going to be strong in the 15's & 17's this year.
up up and away
17 May 2007, 12:25
look out for andrew hughes from eltham, first year in the comp, he's only 21 has a history of polling well, a very dangerous onballer, started well in round 1 from what i heard kicking 4 goals
Back to the Best player seen in the valley Ive got a couple of Votes Craig Dyson and Stuart Morris both played at epping and were outstanding.
Pheonix20
17 May 2007, 12:55
Best player, hard to seperate Wayne Dobson and Trevor Robinson for shear toughness at the ball and the skills to finish it off, plus they had the ability to turn a game with a ten minute burst of brilliance. But, you can't leave out Richie Guldon from that elite group. Four B&F's over five years in premiership teams and all that without a hair out of place. The epitomy of the eighties footballer.
Pheonix20
17 May 2007, 13:00
As for Historical moments in the northern valley/diamond League, whatever, I was at the GF last year talking to Charlie Serrick when up came Senior Sergeant John HORTON. After 30 years it was still the most uncomfortable handshake I've ever seen considering they had not seen each other or spoken since that GF Lalor v Creek (possibly at Vic park if my memory serves me):cool:
LOOK AT THE DUKES
17 May 2007, 15:38
On the new website if anyone is interested.
Passing of League Coaching Legend
Barry had an outstanding coaching record across both Divisions of the League, winning four premierships with three clubs. His coaching success resulted in premierships at Templestowe (1973), Lalor (1980 and 1991) and Watsonia (1987). He also coached Watsonia to runners-up in 1986.
Barry also had charge of North Heidelberg and Mernda during his time in the League, and in 2005 was named as coach of Lalor's Team of the Past 50 Years. He is one of only four men who have won three or more premierships, with three of them having won premierships in both Divisions.
The League's condolances are extended to his family and friends.
An article on Barry's coaching achievements will appear in next week's (26th May) NFL Football Record.
Watched Mithcell in the GF last year and played a complete game he is tough good skills works hard back and forward, havent seen Ayres but must go alright, also if Nolan is 23 he plays like he is veteran he read the play well in the GF and is very tough
Well if you were at the DVFL grand final last year, you would hace seen Ayres play as he was playing for Bundoora. From memory he didnt get much of it though.
Back to the Best player seen in the valley Ive got a couple of Votes Craig Dyson and Stuart Morris both played at epping and were outstanding.
Stuart Morris also played at Laor and from memory he played in Lalor's 98 grand final team. A very good ruckman.
just heard a few people talking about dion the other day at the footy and was wondering where he was playing. no real reason.
who you follow urp.
woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:02
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974
URSINFOOTY
17 May 2007, 17:03
Just heard some disturbing news that the WHITTLESEA SHIRE COUNCIL has turned all power off to the grounds that come under their shire and there excuse was they wish to preserve the grounds for the next 5 years! Has rain been falling all day to make matters worse we have just found out this at 4.00pm and are supposed to have training tonight tell me where is the fairness in this league when you have some clubs with uninteruppted training and understanding coucillors and we are stuck with MORONS.
We know who not to vote for next time don't we MAYOR FRY
Passing of League Coaching Legend
Barry had an outstanding coaching record across both Divisions of the League, winning four premierships with three clubs. His coaching success resulted in premierships at Templestowe (1973), Lalor (1980 and 1991) and Watsonia (1987). He also coached Watsonia to runners-up in 1986.
Barry also had charge of North Heidelberg and Mernda during his time in the League, and in 2005 was named as coach of Lalor's Team of the Past 50 Years. He is one of only four men who have won three or more premierships, with three of them having won premierships in both Divisions.
The League's condolances are extended to his family and friends.
An article on Barry's coaching achievements will appear in next week's (26th May) NFL Football Record.
Also coached Wallan, Kilmore and Broadford to flags. I know there were a lot of calls and texts around town yesterday and evreyone at the Broadford Football Club were saddened by the news. Our thoughts go out to the family, and many of us are truly fortunate and better off for having got to experience one of grass roots football's true legends.
just heard a few people talking about dion the other day at the footy and was wondering where he was playing. no real reason.
who you follow urp.
Dion who? Need a last name pleae pigmy. As Ive said many times pigmy, I dont really follow any club, like watching a few mates play thats it, unfortunately I cant play anymore due to other commitments, but maybe one day I will run around again.
Just heard some disturbing news that the WHITTLESEA SHIRE COUNCIL has turned all power off to the grounds that come under their shire and there excuse was they wish to preserve the grounds for the next 5 years! Has rain been falling all day to make matters worse we have just found out this at 4.00pm and are supposed to have training tonight tell me where is the fairness in this league when you have some clubs with uninteruppted training and understanding coucillors and we are stuck with MORONS.
We know who not to vote for next time don't we MAYOR FRY
Not very good by the council if true. Should go and play for a club in the Banyule council.
junior29
17 May 2007, 17:41
nick lynch and cahal corr who both play for coburg will both be playing this week for macleod because of the bye!!! good luck to every one this week .....
Portrait
17 May 2007, 20:33
Can anyone from Heidelberg tell what is happening with Corey McKernahn heard a rumour that he has gone to the FA CUP being paid by the club.Perhaps Bruce almighty can tell us since he seems to know everything.Noticed he has made a comment about west preston not making the four.....what a complete tool.As they said you are a cat.does anyone know this loser?Heidelberg are over rated money hungry deadS*ts.Get your President to truck you interstate and leave for good.
Samuri Pizza Cat
17 May 2007, 20:43
Can anyone from Heidelberg tell what is happening with Corey McKernahn heard a rumour that he has gone to the FA CUP being paid by the club.Perhaps Bruce almighty can tell us since he seems to know everything.Noticed he has made a comment about west preston not making the four.....what a complete tool.As they said you are a cat.does anyone know this loser?Heidelberg are over rated money hungry deadS*ts.Get your President to truck you interstate and leave for good.
if this is true wouldnt you be pissed off if you were a premiership player from last year busting your arse trying to get in the ones again but your club has back doored you and gone and bought some big dud a trip to the uk and a postion in the team whenever he wants.
talk about the club looking after true clubmen. whata joke of a club.
nick lynch and cahal corr who both play for coburg will both be playing this week for macleod because of the bye!!! good luck to every one this week .....
Will there be any room for Nick Lynch in the forward line with big puff daddy in the square ?
RiverRat
17 May 2007, 23:59
I think you've pulled that news out your arse mate. Bruce happens to be the Heidelberg runner and won't take kindly to this unwarranted abuse. You couldnt say West will make top 4 after Saturday's performance especially the way North are going, they struggled to hit targets and half their goals came from cheap free kicks. Good luck to them though they are due for a September birth.
if this is true wouldnt you be pissed off if you were a premiership player from last year busting your arse trying to get in the ones again but your club has back doored you and gone and bought some big dud a trip to the uk and a postion in the team whenever he wants.
talk about the club looking after true clubmen. whata joke of a club.
Why not let the truth be told. McKernan is actually the reserve goal keeper for Chelsea. Fair dinkum. Instead of trying to shit can other sides, maybe worry about your own backyard first. Bruce Almight was right, West Preston will not make the four. Humiliated on their own ground against a side missing half a dozen of their top flight players. Absolute pretenders.
And Pizza Cat, I would hardly call McKernan a dud, AFL premeirship and should have had a brownlow. Sounds like a real battler to me. If you are looking for some big dud, go no further than your very own Billy Morrision. I bet Hally would love to play on him every week.
Bruce Almighty
18 May 2007, 10:00
Sketch this you licking my swingers!Paid my dues to footy and can make a judgement on whatever I like.Fair crack mate but you may end up on the canvass.
As for Corey that is absolute s**t.The NFL should be thankful that he may play.It can only be good for the comp and I am sure many a young kid would like to see him play up close.I couldnt think of anything better if I was from another club and have the chance to play on or against him.It has been said he should have won a brownlow.
Jewelsandbullet
18 May 2007, 11:33
Why is he a tool? Cause he doesn't reckon West will make the four?
West haven't made the four in years, have had ONE good win, albeit against Mont who might battle to make the four ourselves, & got pumped at home .. it's a fair assumption until we see more of them.
Pheonix20
18 May 2007, 11:58
Why is he a tool? Cause he doesn't reckon West will make the four?
West haven't made the four in years, have had ONE good win, albeit against Mont who might battle to make the four ourselves, & got pumped at home .. it's a fair assumption until we see more of them.
The lay of the land should be more apparent tomorrow with West playing bundoora at bundoora. Matt HYDE is out with an ankle and Bonadaio is back in. Yes Bonadaio the bloke who retired two years ago then came back and played half a dozen two's games last year. Vinnie, Vinnie Vinnie. What are you on!
devil's advocte
18 May 2007, 13:03
The lay of the land should be more apparent tomorrow with West playing bundoora at bundoora. Matt HYDE is out with an ankle and Bonadaio is back in. Yes Bonadaio the bloke who retired two years ago then came back and played half a dozen two's games last year. Vinnie, Vinnie Vinnie. What are you on!
my guess is all the top teams from last year are in some kind of trouble depth wise. Look at the reserves, the three bottom teams are all without a win, mont, n heid & Bundoora. Even Heidelberg have a 1 and 1 win loss.
Will this open the door for other teams? Are there clubs out there not just with numbers depth but also talent? Northcote Park has at least 6 players missing out on a game each week due to high numbers, just not the talent to make an impact on the senior side.
J&B will this give DC the chance to knock your mob off? Especially now that they have that gun recruit I keep hearing about on this forum.;)
Does Anyone give epping a chance to Beat Nth Heidleberg on saturday ? ?
ifyoucandodgeawrench
18 May 2007, 13:42
You Sound like someone whos side got pumped by 10+ goals last week. How can you call someone a cat and then one sentence later asks if anyone knows him? So Heidelberg are money hungry?? From all reports sounds like they have enough cash to go around.. and "dead sh*ts"?? well I guess that makes you the bloke that got beaten by 'dead sh*ts'!
That being your first go at making a post on a forum, for the sake of everyone here, let it be your last. You're dribble defies logic at the same time highlighting your lack of education.
Have a sh!t one. :thumbsd: