View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65

junior29
22 May 2007, 19:35
Do you play for Kinglake Junior? Parkside win over Hurst @ Hurst seems impressive. Then again, we dont really know how good Hurst really are, until half way thru season. Nor do we know how good Parkside are. This percentage would definetly help them, come finals time. If they are there that is. Lalor, McLeod, Lower, Thomastown i would expect to make the top 6. The other two spots are open to any team.

And this year, team can be written off earlier than usual for those teams who do not have many wins by half way thru. Purely because there are less games this year, and they will have less time to make up any differance.

zip from three, and rumblings at Watsy, i would consider writing finals off this year, and plan for next. Bit early to call, they better pull their finger out NOW!
i have no idea what your talking about my friend i play for macleod and i was refering to the percentage they got that week....

leskie
22 May 2007, 20:22
i have heard a story coming out of watsonia that after another terrible loss the coach called for a 8 am training session sunday morning and only 8 players turned up, this to me shows that there is no real commitment down there just that the players want there money and thats it. i also got told by someone that the coach is that angry about the turn out he is considering droppig ALL the players that did not turn up. this is not good news for watsonia so early in the season things may fall apart after all but lets hope not. i would like to hear from someone involved with watsonia on there view of the sunday morning session!!!
thats good for the club if they play there two's side side they might be able to get a win on the board something the 1's players have not been able to do!!!!!!!
maybe if wastsonia play at 9am on sundays from now on againts the aus kick kids they may be able to get a win on the board and find some new players to play ones next week. just a thought just trying to help out where i can!!!!

slasher25
22 May 2007, 22:06
Definetly a good decision by the admin. I dont understand how they will be able to figure the percentage part of the equation.
I agree with their decision to look into the percentage, otherwise it would cost the awarded team some pecent. Which can be costly come finals.

How will they be figuring out the percentage?

Hey, I am happy with the decision but what a waste of time having to sign off to play on the ground if it is going to be overturned. All this has done now is clubs will sign off to play possibly putting their players at risk and putting their 4 points above everything else. My solution would be that the NFL have a representatvie on call to make a decision and prevent another fiasco. Havent seen anything on their WEB to clarify this. Maybe they need another meeting to discuss it.

looker
22 May 2007, 23:37
i have no idea what your talking about my friend i play for macleod and i was refering to the percentage they got that week....

OK junior, now i understand. I didnt know what you meant. I took it as tho you were a K/L player. Cheers

Slasher - I was able to view the Parkside ground, the week prior to the KL game. It was not, by any stretch, too dangerous to play on. I have been told since that the ground was rated at 62 (from memory), where a 48 or below will be deemed too hard, and council will not allow clubs to use. I am assuming that the decision handed down by the NFL took many factors into account, and no doubt deemed the KL decision not to sign the forms, not sustainable.

Boromania
23 May 2007, 08:22
Interseting how teams are still underestimating Greensborough this season. Took a bit to get back into Div 1 pace but ran over Diamond Creek, should have cleaned up Epping (and will on the return match) and took care of (full strength) Eltham without our Captain, Vice Captain and lost our CHB and BF in 1st quarter. Should really be 3 zip but 2-1 is a good start.
I'm not proclaiming that they will be a force or anything and i'm sure Bundoora and Heidelberg will probably win easily against them but interesting to see how much longer other people (teams) will keep assuming they will have easy games against them....:)
By the way Bruce Almighty i hope for your sake you are not comparing Heidelberg to the Nortcote Park team of the 90's, look at them now, the money disappeared (as it always eventually does) and as happens when clubs buy players instead of grow a team, all the players left cause there is no money or loyalty and they are a fair chance of relegation this year!:D

mase06
23 May 2007, 08:59
seen on the website whittlesea 2's got there game against watsonia in the end.
watsy played an unregistered player.
a quote from doctor phil: "what were you thinkin"

The Red Devil
23 May 2007, 10:52
Hey, I am happy with the decision but what a waste of time having to sign off to play on the ground if it is going to be overturned. All this has done now is clubs will sign off to play possibly putting their players at risk and putting their 4 points above everything else. My solution would be that the NFL have a representatvie on call to make a decision and prevent another fiasco. Havent seen anything on their WEB to clarify this. Maybe they need another meeting to discuss it.

How about a rep from the club get of their backside and visit the opposision ground prior to the Saturday and all of this could have been avoided. The legaue reps can't visit every ground prior to each clubs games.

Pheonix20
23 May 2007, 11:24
Interseting how teams are still underestimating Greensborough this season. !:D

It will be a good guide for Greensy this week to see how far they have come and whether the predictions that they are full of younger bodied kids who will struggle against the big clubs will be accurate.

stooge01
23 May 2007, 11:33
gytm you on line today brother. What you been up to. got the day off work today my car shit it self.How has deano been this week.only one more match to go cant wait starting to get a bit nervous. tell jock to keep his snag in his pants.

stooge01
23 May 2007, 11:35
who do you think is the best forwards to ever play in the vally are?

Pheonix20
23 May 2007, 12:43

Jamie Shaw
John Bourke
Jason Heatley

Boromania
23 May 2007, 13:08
It will be a good guide for Greensy this week to see how far they have come and whether the predictions that they are full of younger bodied kids who will struggle against the big clubs will be accurate.

Very true. Don't have a great record at Bundy but to match the best you have to be able to play anywhere.

A better guide may come in the weeks after that against North and then Monty where Boro should hopefully be back to full strength!:D

As for some other teams- Eltham are unimpressive. Epping don't have much and Diamond Creek will struggle. Haven't seen northcote park so it's hard to judge where they fit into the category....

Jewelsandbullet
23 May 2007, 13:55
Very true. Don't have a great record at Bundy but to match the best you have to be able to play anywhere.

A better guide may come in the weeks after that against North and then Monty where Boro should hopefully be back to full strength!:D

As for some other teams- Eltham are unimpressive. Epping don't have much and Diamond Creek will struggle. Haven't seen northcote park so it's hard to judge where they fit into the category....

Good to see a representative of "the slime" on the forum.

Epping don't have much, yet they still bet you :confused:

Very much looking forward to the return of the traditional Mont V Borough Sunday clash... they were the days!

Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 14:25
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).

These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?

(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Kickass
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - mattyr
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Iceman27
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Force
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Bubble Wrap
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Giveyathemail
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Jewelsandbullet
x Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - Dv_Worm
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - rompermfc
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - ifyoucandodgeawrench
Donkey Floggers - Diamond Valley FL - whistle blower

Boromania
23 May 2007, 15:49
Good to see a representative of "the slime" on the forum.

Epping don't have much, yet they still bet you :confused:

Very much looking forward to the return of the traditional Mont V Borough Sunday clash... they were the days!

Yes i will admit the loss to epping was rather embarrasing. It was more a case of the boys getting cocky and ahead of ourselves rather than continuing to play the way we had for the previous 6 quarters (ie Diamond Creek game and first half of epping game). Trust me it won't be happening on the return bout!!!!! (and yes they are still not very impressive).:cool:

Yes the big Sunday's are back- hopefully it will be a close hard fought game the way they used to be (before the boro slide).

Eltham v North Heidelberg at HURSTBRIDGE should be an interesting game- blokes will be kicking goals from CHB! If it rains it really could throw up an interesting game.........

leskie
23 May 2007, 16:28
Jamie Shaw
John Bourke
Jason Heatley
stuart mangin

Boof Head
23 May 2007, 16:57
Jamie Shaw
John Bourke
Jason Heatley
russell jessop

leskie
23 May 2007, 17:00
russell jessop
who did he play with

Tiger Champ
23 May 2007, 17:15

The best i have seen over the past 45 years.
Jinx Heddle -Diamond Creek.(50's and 60's )
Ted Wallace-Templestowe.(60's and 70's)
Gerald Walsh-Epping. (60's )
Shaw Nth Heidelberg (80' and 90's)
Chris Hall and Craig Shearer-Heidelberg. (Current)

ROMPERMFC
23 May 2007, 18:06
stuart mangin
nice work Leskie.. ha ha.. Mangin, about the most over rated bloke i have ever met, doesnt put his body on the line, soft at it and when there was a scrap with a few of the kids from the team getting ruffed up he turned his back and walked back to full forward...glad he ****ed off to EFL.
and as you well know he wasnt a coaches ******** either.
but good to see you on here Leskie, you are obviosly not to busy at work.

SCARFACE
23 May 2007, 19:09
Interseting how teams are still underestimating Greensborough this season. Took a bit to get back into Div 1 pace but ran over Diamond Creek, should have cleaned up Epping (and will on the return match) and took care of (full strength) Eltham without our Captain, Vice Captain and lost our CHB and BF in 1st quarter. Should really be 3 zip but 2-1 is a good start.
I'm not proclaiming that they will be a force or anything and i'm sure Bundoora and Heidelberg will probably win easily against them but interesting to see how much longer other people (teams) will keep assuming they will have easy games against them....:)
By the way Bruce Almighty i hope for your sake you are not comparing Heidelberg to the Nortcote Park team of the 90's, look at them now, the money disappeared (as it always eventually does) and as happens when clubs buy players instead of grow a team, all the players left cause there is no money or loyalty and they are a fair chance of relegation this year!:D

Totally agree with u boromania. If boro are able to keep all young talent that are coming through along with a few prized recriuts along the way, it would be fair to say that the slime will become a force in division 1. I think boro will prove to people that building a club on youth, respect and loyalty rather than spending big is what brings success over a period of time. Short term pain for long term gain:thumbsu:

devil's advocte
23 May 2007, 19:18

Northcote are stronger than their position at the moment and will be safe in divvy 1 this year.

as for the above quote, the club i am assured decided to say 4 in a row is enough, time to invest in the future, and from all reports they have. they almost own outright the Northcote Social club, so there will be a healthy income stream for future finals campaigns.

i will say this much, they are very smart operators out there at the cougars, and they will never need the money of one sponsor to stay strong. Good on them ,and the rest of the comp better take notice

Have A Crack
23 May 2007, 19:47
russell jessop

Russell Jessop (Nickname: Ida)played with The Mighty Bloods back in the Eighties (80'S) He was only probably just under 6 Foot but was a Gun!!
He played in the days when there were a lot of Tough blokes playin DVFL

chopsewie
23 May 2007, 20:21
The best ive seen in the valley would have to be hands down Jamie [spider] shaw. The biggest hands you've ever seen rarely drop a mark and never miss a goal. kicked a tone in four out of his five seasons [i think thats right] kicked 164 in 94 an absolute champion. The forwards these days dont even come close.

Worm4
23 May 2007, 20:29
The best ive seen in the valley would have to be hands down Jamie [spider] shaw. The biggest hands you've ever seen rarely drop a mark and never miss a goal. kicked a tone in four out of his five seasons [i think thats right] kicked 164 in 94 an absolute champion. The forwards these days dont even come close.

He was a rare speciment indeed. He used to enjoy a smoke at each interval did he not ?

maybe
23 May 2007, 21:20
Been plenty of good forwards in the valley over the last decade or so. Hally, Shearer and the big german Daryl Taylor at Heidelberg. As mentioned Spida Shaw and Heatley at North. If we are talking forwards, and not purely full forwards, it would be hard to go past Martin Joseph Kemp.

Another topic for discussion, who would be the biggest dissapointing recruits to enter the valley in the past ten years or so. Players who came with a big reputation but failed to deliver?

Watz
23 May 2007, 21:36
Jasaon Heatly from Nth Hei'berg and Tassie was a great forward indeed.

looker
23 May 2007, 23:36
Another topic for discussion, who would be the biggest dissapointing recruits to enter the valley in the past ten years or so. Players who came with a big reputation but failed to deliver?

Now this could be a very touchy topic indeed. Perhaps some of the Bigfooty scribes may well find their name bandied around in this opinion piece. Current player could be Mr Grainger from West. Just hasnt quite delivered yet. And not looking too fit this year.

chopsewie
24 May 2007, 00:29
So far Franchina would have to be at the top of the list for this year would'nt he? Brereton from Heid a few years back.

RiverRat
24 May 2007, 01:59
So far Franchina would have to be at the top of the list for this year would'nt he? Brereton from Heid a few years back.

Wouldnt of thought so if you've seen all 3 matches this year, has been pretty solid can't expect the bloke to slaughter them in his first couple of games in the diamond valley. Ex Essendon player Andrew Ukovic of 2004 would go close.

RiverRat
24 May 2007, 02:09

The bloke was a freak, you can't argue agaisnt the statistics. But for me can only remember the tail end of his career and all he did was sit in fall forward mark the ball and kick goals. Personally can't go past the gutsiest player ever to step out onto a football field, Chris (Bradman) Hall.

Boof Head
24 May 2007, 06:42
who did he play with
kicked 100 at lalor in the 80's played collingwood and preston

junior29
24 May 2007, 09:06
it may be to eairly to predict but u would think the players watsonia have picked up may want to start to do a thing or two before there names get thrown around......

Pheonix20
24 May 2007, 09:33
who did he play with

I think you will find Russell Jessop was an ex collingwood/preston player who kicked 17 goals in a first division game for Lalor in the eighties. The record still stands for first division.

Pheonix20
24 May 2007, 09:36
Northcote are stronger than their position at the moment and will be safe in divvy 1 this year.

i will say this much, they are very smart operators out there at the cougars, and they will never need the money of one sponsor to stay strong. Good on them ,and the rest of the comp better take notice

They may be but they are without a doubt the most disgusting colours of any club I have come across. There must be something they can do with that Yellow and Green muck!;)

ifyoucandodgeawrench
24 May 2007, 09:47
They may be but they are without a doubt the most disgusting colours of any club I have come across. There must be something they can do with that Yellow and Green muck!;)

ha ha spot on... was saying exactly that on the weekend.

liquorman
24 May 2007, 12:47
The best i have seen over the past 45 years.
Jinx Heddle -Diamond Creek.(50's and 60's )
Ted Wallace-Templestowe.(60's and 70's)
Gerald Walsh-Epping. (60's )
Shaw Nth Heidelberg (80' and 90's)
Chris Hall and Craig Shearer-Heidelberg. (Current)

Thankyou Tiger Champ. Your obviously a very knowlegable football person.

Definitely would have to include Daryl the German Taylor in that list. There has certainly been some rippers over the years, I would add puffer and heatly from North, and Athos Hyrousalakis from Bundoora was brilliant at times, but there is none better than the big man spider. He was definitely one to look up to as a yougster. I couldn't get hunts to let me smoke at the breaks last year, but I am trying to get to the same playing weight as the great man, and succeeding.

As for big recruits that failed, there has been a heap of em, one that stands out is Jim Edmond.

GHOST WRITER
24 May 2007, 13:18
DIVVY 2 Watch: Shock of the week guys, went to watch Macleod train on Tuesday night (there are some teams other than Thomastown out there!!)
Numbers weren't great and seemed to be very focused on skills only. Doesn't surprise me regarding their numbers on track, though, as I know a lot of them usually head to the pool to recover from the weekend.
Believe that I saw Puffa just having pot shots at goal at one end, though I could be wrong.
The ground is in fairly good nick and has no doubt been helped by the rains that we have had.
Anticipation amongst the onlookers is that Saturday's game will be a cracker and one N Lynch could also be a starter.

junior29
24 May 2007, 13:20
what kind of odds would people think heidelberg are to go the full season and finals undefeated i wouldnt give anything more then 2.50............

junior29
24 May 2007, 13:27
DIVVY 2 Watch: Shock of the week guys, went to watch Macleod train on Tuesday night (there are some teams other than Thomastown out there!!)
Numbers weren't great and seemed to be very focused on skills only. Doesn't surprise me regarding their numbers on track, though, as I know a lot of them usually head to the pool to recover from the weekend.
Believe that I saw Puffa just having pot shots at goal at one end, though I could be wrong.
The ground is in fairly good nick and has no doubt been helped by the rains that we have had.
Anticipation amongst the onlookers is that Saturday's game will be a cracker and one N Lynch could also be a starter.
ghost writer you mate have one boring life, n lynch will not be playing nor will puffa also cottier our b&f from last year may be out so we will be undermaned......

GHOST WRITER
24 May 2007, 13:43
Junior: Too true, but when all there is to watch on TV is Big Brother then give me footy any day. Sounds like some big outs. Is puffa injured? Could have sworn he was having goal kicking practice. Shame you won't be going in full strength. Was looking forward to a great game with all the key players on the park.

ifooty
24 May 2007, 15:52
[quote=liquorman;7622283]Thankyou Tiger Champ. Your obviously a very knowlegable football person.

Definitely would have to include Daryl the German Taylor in that list. There has certainly been some rippers over the years, I would add puffer and heatly from North, and Athos Hyrousalakis from Bundoora was brilliant at times, but there is none better than the big man spider. He was definitely one to look up to as a yougster. I couldn't get hunts to let me smoke at the breaks last year, but I am trying to get to the same playing weight as the great man, and succeeding.

As for big recruits that failed, there has been a heap of em, one that stands out is Jim Edmond.[/quo

The greatest even Mario(jezza)Cippola. Nth Heidelberg, Lalor, Watsonia,

ifooty
24 May 2007, 15:54
Thankyou Tiger Champ. Your obviously a very knowlegable football person.

As for big recruits that failed, there has been a heap of em, one that stands out is Jim Edmond.

The greatest ever.... Mario(jezza)Cipolla, Nth Heidelberg, lalor, Watsonia Premierships at all, and Northcote VFA

ifooty
24 May 2007, 15:55
what kind of odds would people think heidelberg are to go the full season and finals undefeated i wouldnt give anything more then 2.50............

Bigger than that, with Bundoora knocking then off in the 1's GF and their U19's should easily win their GF

leg-a-lamb
24 May 2007, 17:49
I think you will find Russell Jessop was an ex collingwood/preston player who kicked 17 goals in a first division game for Lalor in the eighties. The record still stands for first division.

russell jessop, is a muppet couldn't get a kick at one east !

mattyr
24 May 2007, 18:16
Bigger than that, with Bundoora knocking then off in the 1's GF and their U19's should easily win their GF

what do u mean?

Have A Crack
24 May 2007, 18:16
russell jessop, is a muppet couldn't get a kick at one east !

You are a fair dinkum goose.
You would'nt have a clue with a name like that you idiot!

watthe
24 May 2007, 18:22
You are a fair dinkum goose.
You would'nt have a clue with a name like that you idiot!
i agree have a crack i know russel personally and did watch him play, i havent seen enough dvfl to rate him as one of the best but f**k he could play football

mattyr
24 May 2007, 21:15
would anyone know who has won the leauge bnf for the last 10 years in both divisions, and what club they were from.... these are the type of things the wesite should have on them so people can learn about the history of the leauge its pretty discracefull......

Boromania
24 May 2007, 23:58

GIVE ME A BREAK. Sick of hearing about Macleod. They are a bunch of flat track bullies. Can win by 200 against crap, but what about when the acid is applied (a la last year) they crumble. Cannot play tough footy at all. They are frontrunners. They just can't match it physically.

Want to talk about overrated players- Nick Lynch. It's all good kicking 15 against wallan or fawkner park or whoever but what about when a hard kick needs to be earnt? What about when your team needs you to stand up- he is a sook if it ain't delivered laces out and a cat who would not go near a contested pill if you paid him a million bucks. And he goes missing when it matters most (haven't seen him play a good final yet)! Once a cat always a cat.

When you talk about best forwards in the league i can't believe no one mentioned Gadget. Between him and shaw they were unstoppable at times.

Other recruits to never live up to it- Brent HEAVER, The Fridge Roberts, COX at Eltham.

Worm4
25 May 2007, 07:08
Love your work tommahawk.

Do you reckon fairchild still wearing those nancy yellow boots ?

Silliest things I've just about seen on a footy field.

pigmy
25 May 2007, 12:47
hey i work with a bloke from south morang and he said they will pump whittlesea 2mrw.

he reckons whittlesea have ward, mason and gilly out and that those 3 are key players to whittlesea.
(don't know if they are keys but will take his word)

and that south morang are on a high after getting to within 6 goals of macleod.

should be interesting, but very cocky is the young boy.

Pheonix20
25 May 2007, 13:19
Bundoora v Greensborough Bundy by 45
Diamond Creek v Heidelberg Tigers by 80
Epping v Montmorency Mont by 23
Eltham v North Heidelberg Eltham by 8
Northcote Park v West P/L WPL by 22

:thumbsu:

chopsewie
25 May 2007, 13:31
GIVE ME A BREAK. Sick of hearing about Macleod. They are a bunch of flat track bullies. Can win by 200 against crap, but what about when the acid is applied (a la last year) they crumble. Cannot play tough footy at all. They are frontrunners. They just can't match it physically.

Want to talk about overrated players- Nick Lynch. It's all good kicking 15 against wallan or fawkner park or whoever but what about when a hard kick needs to be earnt? What about when your team needs you to stand up- he is a sook if it ain't delivered laces out and a cat who would not go near a contested pill if you paid him a million bucks. And he goes missing when it matters most (haven't seen him play a good final yet)! Once a cat always a cat.

When you talk about best forwards in the league i can't believe no one mentioned Gadget. Between him and shaw they were unstoppable at times.

Other recruits to never live up to it- Brent HEAVER, The Fridge Roberts, COX at Eltham.Brent Heaver must have only dominated against nth heidelberg when he was at northcote park i thought he had a big impact can't comment on his greensborough career maybe thats what your talking about. David Kernahan [disallowed terminology & abuse removed] was on eight fifty a game and would have been the worst centre half back to ever step onto a diamond valley ground.

fig9
25 May 2007, 13:36
[quote=Pheonix20;7631479
Northcote Park v West P/L WPL by 22

:thumbsu:[/quote]
Good Tipping Pheonix...But the boys are pumped after being disgraced the last couple of weeks, so you might want to make that margin a little higher..;):thumbsu:
Go roosters!

greatguy
25 May 2007, 15:53
After my long sabbatical, I scan through the many postsand come up with this

Why are there so many Clubs that are never talked about or just get a passing mention in this forum:as the only clubs that get a furious run are:

Bundoora, Heidelberg, Lalor, Lower Plenty, Watsonia

is that because the rest of the clubs really don't care what anyone else thinks of their club or players and just get on with having a good time at their respective clubs, gees, it's only park footy no matter what the New NFL administration says, oops new, some familiar faces in that lot;)

Pheonix20
25 May 2007, 15:58
Good Tipping Pheonix...But the boys are pumped after being disgraced the last couple of weeks, so you might want to make that margin a little higher..;):thumbsu:
Go roosters!

Sorry little nuge but the boys need to focus on the footy and I see this degenerating into a match plagued with behind the ball scuffles. Keep your head down and play the footy as you always do.;)

Doona2
25 May 2007, 16:09
The greatest even Mario(jezza)Cippola. Nth Heidelberg, Lalor, Watsonia,

Never saw him play but heard many people say the same as u ifooty at a gathering during the week . . . . Mario must have been a legend :thumbsu:

KrunchNKans
25 May 2007, 18:53
The bloke was a freak, you can't argue agaisnt the statistics. But for me can only remember the tail end of his career and all he did was sit in fall forward mark the ball and kick goals. Personally can't go past the gutsiest player ever to step out onto a football field, Chris (Bradman) Hall.

Hally loses some currency when the coach has to play him in the backline during the final series to get a kick.

slasher25
25 May 2007, 18:56
Brent Heaver must have only dominated against nth heidelberg when he was at northcote park i thought he had a big impact can't comment on his greensborough career maybe thats what your talking about. David Kernahan [disallowed terminology & abuse removed] was on eight fifty a game and would have been the worst centre half back to ever step onto a diamond valley ground.

Hey boroboy, I can tell you that a kid of 19 who can kick over a 100 goals playing senior football can be as soft as what ever you want to think but I betcha there would be every divvy one club lining up to sign him up. Oh by the way is fairchild still at Boro?? and where is Lynch?? Who is playing footy at the higher level?? so whos the cat?? So at least give some credit where it is due I can tell you our club would love to have him.........

junior29
25 May 2007, 19:15

Other recruits to never live up to it- Brent HEAVER, The Fridge Roberts, COX at Eltham.
you are the cat idiot!!! when was the last time you kicked 100???? now you tell me boros best forward (fairchild) same age as nick and where are they both now???? you are one hell of a twit...

BobbyBurritto
25 May 2007, 19:45

Why don't you head down to Teak Oval at 10.30 and watch Lynchy play in the VFL U/23 game game. Not bad for an over-rated cat! He must be doing something right. Now boot off tool and worry about your own club.

slasher25
25 May 2007, 19:47
hey i work with a bloke from south morang and he said they will pump whittlesea 2mrw.

he reckons whittlesea have ward, mason and gilly out and that those 3 are key players to whittlesea.
(don't know if they are keys but will take his word)

and that south morang are on a high after getting to within 6 goals of macleod.

should be interesting, but very cocky is the young boy.

south morang got within 6 goals of macleod because of the crap conditions. Their advantage will be all home games. Away from that against good opposition sides will be good night josey.

Furious Styles
25 May 2007, 20:22
Brent Heaver must have only dominated against nth heidelberg when he was at northcote park i thought he had a big impact can't comment on his greensborough career maybe thats what your talking about. David Kernahan [disallowed terminology & abuse removed] was on eight fifty a game and would have been the worst centre half back to ever step onto a diamond valley ground.

Brent Heaver won a BnF at Northcote Park in one of their premiership years. Not bad for an overrated under achiever.

Historian
25 May 2007, 20:33
would anyone know who has won the leauge bnf for the last 10 years in both divisions, and what club they were from.... these are the type of things the wesite should have on them so people can learn about the history of the leauge its pretty discracefull......

1st Division - Frank Smith Medal

1992 Chris Keating - Bundoora
1993 Kevin Brown - Bundoora
1994 ????
1995 Adrian Cameron - Bundoora
1996 John Origlasso - Northcote Park
1997 ?????
1998 Ryan Smith - Heidelberg
1999 Leigh Gray - North
2000 Paul King - Bundoora
2001 Dean Haydock - Heidelberg
2002 Mario Bandera - North
2003 Fabian Carelli - WPL
2004 Daniel King - Epping
2005 Daniel King - Epping
2006 Brett Jeffrey - Northcote Park

There is a little bit of history of the league on the dvfl page in wikipedia.

I'll do second division next week.

RiverRat
25 May 2007, 20:41
Hally loses some currency when the coach has to play him in the backline during the final series to get a kick.

Not sure which final series you are referring to KrunchNKans. The bloke started his career at chb, that won him a b&f & Heidelberg team of the century. They move him to full forward when the main striker goes down and he kicks 100 goals. Oh and 2004 Grand Final BOG, nuff said.

RiverRat
25 May 2007, 21:03

Hmmm deja vu.

The GF will be a boring affair, Bundoora will absolutely smash the Bergers, and they will also win the Thirds by a street.

chopsewie
25 May 2007, 21:14
Hally loses some currency when the coach has to play him in the backline during the final series to get a kick.Great post 100% correct. Never lasted longer than quater playing on me. If the ball goes within the forward fifty 400 times a game and your the only person in it which heidelberg did all year in 05 [except the granny where Hally let them down with his two posessions ] you would be a dead set spastic not to kick a ton would nt you. Put Nolan in the same spot with the opportunitys they give Hall and he d kick two hundred.

THEOX
25 May 2007, 21:26
They are a bunch of flat track bullies. Can win by 200 against crap, but what about when the acid is applied (a la last year) they crumble. Cannot play tough footy at all. They are frontrunners. They just can't match it physically.

A la Boro in the 2005 GF:D

BERGER KING
26 May 2007, 09:11
Maybe you didnt know but a new league was formed (NFL) .Not judt a name change its a new legal entity. The new league has no best and fairests yet.The new administration will no doubt consider old DVFL history, life members, honour boards etc when the DVFL mess is resolved.:thumbsd:

BERGER KING
26 May 2007, 09:28
Apart from Tony Topp we dont know much about the new board members and NFL staff. Would welcome info on their sporting and business history.Is Robert Young the same person as in the Rob Young shield in Jikka cricket comp.:rolleyes:

SCARFACE
26 May 2007, 17:45
you are the cat idiot!!! when was the last time you kicked 100???? now you tell me boros best forward (fairchild) same age as nick and where are they both now???? you are one hell of a twit...

Lets look at the bigger picture, where are macleod and where are greensborough?http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif

mattyr
26 May 2007, 18:36
1st Division - Frank Smith Medal

1992 Chris Keating - Bundoora
1993 Kevin Brown - Bundoora
1994 ????
1995 Adrian Cameron - Bundoora
1996 John Origlasso - Northcote Park
1997 ?????
1998 Ryan Smith - Heidelberg
1999 Leigh Gray - North
2000 Paul King - Bundoora
2001 Dean Haydock - Heidelberg
2002 Mario Bandera - North
2003 Fabian Carelli - WPL
2004 Daniel King - Epping
2005 Daniel King - Epping
2006 Brett Jeffrey - Northcote Park

There is a little bit of history of the league on the dvfl page in wikipedia.

I'll do second division next week.

cheers mate intresting.

ROMPERMFC
26 May 2007, 18:57
Lets look at the bigger picture, where are macleod and where are greensborough?http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif
if you bothered to read the posts you will see that the argument has been over the 2 players not the clubs, the slime have done well to get into divvy 1 and are doing well there but out of the 2 players only 1 is having a fair dinkum go at the higher level, and good luck to Nick for having a crack.

watthe
26 May 2007, 21:08
breaking news guys, craig parsons aka parso from lower plenty has left the club, altough he played today and booted 5 he is heading back to finley (again), i spoke to him today and he says its due to work commitments, his clearence should be filed on monday, this is a massive blow for the bears who are flying at the moment.

Brutal
26 May 2007, 22:31
breaking news guys, craig parsons aka parso from lower plenty has left the club, altough he played today and booted 5 he is heading back to finley (again), i spoke to him today and he says its due to work commitments, his clearence should be filed on monday, this is a massive blow for the bears who are flying at the moment.

I think not, good effort by Adam "Waddles" McLaughlin to kick a lazy 17 out of 29 today though.

Brutal
26 May 2007, 22:50

Go easy on Fridge Roberts buddy, got kinged against Noth Heidelberg in his first game by Micky Noble, was sensational when we beat Mont to record our first div 1 win, was kinged again by some germ from Epping whose name escapes me but whom I think was ex Nth Heidelberg, (Ronchi) I think, did his hamstring that bad that he had to walk onto the ground instead of running out with his teamates, but continued to play, then kicked 10 against Heidelberg to help keep us up in div 1 in our first season. For a bloke who played 200 games of AFL footy includeing a Premiership to come and then play suburban footy for a fledgling club like
Lower Plenty, most games injured and still contribute on and off the field the way he did was senstational. Rate him fairly highly.

Would agree with Cox for Eltham though, just seemed to hang around the centre to get an easy kick, then see how far he could kick it.

Brutal
26 May 2007, 22:55
Part three of my triple post for this Saturday night.

To all the Watsy supporters, since I have been critrical in some of my posts about Watsy of late, it is only fair that I heap praise where it is due and congratulate the Watsy boys and in particular Force on a convincing win against the Hillers today. Enjoy it boys and hopefully it`s a good celebration.

turtz
27 May 2007, 13:13
Just wondering what's happening at West Preston? A solid win first up, then 2 expected losses to the Tigers and bunnies, but yesterday losing to Northcote Park?

Fig9 can you shed any light? Injuries?

Bubble Wrap
27 May 2007, 14:17
Part three of my triple post for this Saturday night.

To all the Watsy supporters, since I have been critrical in some of my posts about Watsy of late, it is only fair that I heap praise where it is due and congratulate the Watsy boys and in particular Force on a convincing win against the Hillers today. Enjoy it boys and hopefully it`s a good celebration.

The first quarter was footballing porn. Pure magic.

10.7 to zip.

Still, we've got to knock off some top sides to get some respect. Hopefully by the time the return matches come against the top sides, we've 'clicked' as a side a bit more and can give a better account of ourselves.

Kudos to the Hillers today too. They put on a ladies day function to raise money for breast cancer research and all the girls from our club that went had a ball and said the Panton Hill people were extremely hospitable and put on a great day. So if any Hillers are reading this, well done.

BobbyBurritto
27 May 2007, 17:23
Just like to hear your thoughts on yesterdays game Ghostwriter.

SCARFACE
27 May 2007, 21:09
if you bothered to read the posts you will see that the argument has been over the 2 players not the clubs, the slime have done well to get into divvy 1 and are doing well there but out of the 2 players only 1 is having a fair dinkum go at the higher level, and good luck to Nick for having a crack.

Fair enough!! i was just stating something that i would regard as a little more important in terms of where the 2 clubs are at cheers:thumbsu:

dv07
27 May 2007, 21:09
adam mclaughlin kicked another bag this time 17 goals for lower yesti.. did anyone see the game?

fig9
27 May 2007, 22:17
Just wondering what's happening at West Preston? A solid win first up, then 2 expected losses to the Tigers and bunnies, but yesterday losing to Northcote Park?

Lost for words Turtz!!!
Probably missing 3-4 players yesterday from our best 22 with injuries..
A lot of guys out of form and low on confidence for some reason??????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Don't think enough guys care, which really pis ses me off!:mad:

Samuri Pizza Cat
27 May 2007, 22:38
Fair enough!! i was just stating something that i would regard as a little more important in terms of where the 2 clubs are at cheers:thumbsu:
hey scareface, geez the boro's looked great yeasterday day didnt they? When the pressure was put on them the went to water. I reckon good old macleod would have put up a better fight then that piss weak effort in the 2nd half.

mase06
28 May 2007, 07:59
a couple of pages ago there was something about fridge roberts.
the bloke that kinged him from epping was brett ronchi.( good bloke but white line fever)
and i dont think he got him all that good because i think fridge went back on.

bearfan
28 May 2007, 10:28
adam mclaughlin kicked another bag this time 17 goals for lower yesti.. did anyone see the game?

We thought he had 18 which would have been a new club record but a recount showed 17 to be correct. Also kicked about 10 points.
Took some good grabs and deat 4 opponents. Ball was coming dow regularly and quickly so it was a tough day for Wallan backmen.

Things going well at Lower with all 3 teams sitting on top of their respective ladders.

Jewelsandbullet
28 May 2007, 10:38

Turtz, just wondering if you are going to show your head at the club this year??

Bruce Almighty
28 May 2007, 10:57
Great post 100% correct. Never lasted longer than quater playing on me. If the ball goes within the forward fifty 400 times a game and your the only person in it which heidelberg did all year in 05 [except the granny where Hally let them down with his two posessions ] you would be a dead set spastic not to kick a ton would nt you. Put Nolan in the same spot with the opportunitys they give Hall and he d kick two hundred.

Saul very harsh mate.Kick a hundred then you can shit can hally.He is one of the best Forwards i have seen.cheers:D

chopsewie
28 May 2007, 11:46
Saul very harsh mate.Kick a hundred then you can shit can hally.He is one of the best Forwards i have seen.cheers:DI was waiting for a reply from you. My argument is Bruce Hally is a good player but not the best player to have ever played at Heidelberg like some of the supporters keep saying on this thread. Answer this one Brucey would it be easier to kick a ton rather than win a B and f in a premier ship year especially 05? Hally can play but i think you have had more valuable players over the years in stinga, Gay, Nolans, Shearsey, Nigga. Also he won the Band F in 99 when the side was nothing to the side you have now. i gaurantee if you guys had an ordinary mid feild Hally would struggle. When i get down to FF which will be over the next couple of years the ton will be a dead set certainty just never played any longer than three weeks there because my true position is CHF Cheers Bugalugs.

greatguy
28 May 2007, 12:09
Hmmm deja vu.

Bundy with a better side and more united side should win both GF games

GHOST WRITER
28 May 2007, 14:25
Last week's game of the round between Macleod and Thomastown lived up to expectations for most of the day but the home team was too good in the end. The first half was a cracker and at half time it was hard to pick a winner. Despite having the better of Thomastown early in the second quarter, Macleod could not break away and scores were deadlocked at half time. As the game wore on, however, Puffa's influence was building and the sheer number of forward entries could not be stemmed. Macleod's 4 goal win probably could have been a little bit more by game's end, but Thomastown fought the game out well and will definitely be there with Macleod, Lalor and Lower come finals time. Best players for Macleod were Puffa and Andy Bennett whilst for Thomastown Wall and Capeci were 2 of their better players.

wonderman
28 May 2007, 14:30
Last week's game of the round between Macleod and Thomastown lived up to expectations for most of the day but the home team was too good in the end. The first half was a cracker and at half time it was hard to pick a winner. Despite having the better of Thomastown early in the second quarter, Macleod could not break away and scores were deadlocked at half time. As the game wore on, however, Puffa's influence was building and the sheer number of forward entries could not be stemmed. Macleod's 4 goal win probably could have been a little bit more by game's end, but Thomastown fought the game out well and will definitely be there with Macleod, Lalor and Lower come finals time. Best players for Macleod were Puffa and Andy Bennett whilst for Thomastown Wall and Capeci were 2 of their better players.

Kinglakes great score on Saturday proves that they did not want to play against Parkisde because they wouldn;t have players enough to fill both sides, they do not like travelling away, they should play back in the YVML

mase06
28 May 2007, 15:10
heard off one the epping boys that they are training at monty on wednesday night.
great show of sportsmanship from monty and well done to them for opening up there ground and facilities.

still probably shouldnt be in this position, but thats what happens when we have the worst council regulations in australia.

cheers again monty :thumbsu: very nice gesture. might have to get whittlesea down there.:D

A Living God
28 May 2007, 15:55
heard off one the epping boys that they are training at monty on wednesday night.
great show of sportsmanship from monty and well done to them for opening up there ground and facilities.

still probably shouldnt be in this position, but thats what happens when we have the worst council regulations in australia.

cheers again monty :thumbsu: very nice gesture. might have to get whittlesea down there.:D
Don't Monty's U'17s train at monty on wednesdays?

Seriously why arn't the council letting epping training at their ground. The ground is basicly perfect, by far the best in the League.

LOOK AT THE DUKES
28 May 2007, 16:55
Don't Monty's U'17s train at monty on wednesdays?

Seriously why arn't the council letting epping training at their ground. The ground is basicly perfect, by far the best in the League.

Because the council is full of f***wits. At South Morang we played on a ground last yr that was very dangerous because of how hard it was, but this yearr we have 2 brand new grounds in perfect condition and we have to train in our car park using street lights to see the footys it is an absolute joke.

turtz
28 May 2007, 17:08
Turtz, just wondering if you are going to show your head at the club this year??

Hello mate, yeah will be down a bit more now. Had a few weekends of people so rudely interupting my saturdays.

Jewelsandbullet
28 May 2007, 17:26
Hello mate, yeah will be down a bit more now. Had a few weekends of people so rudely interupting my saturdays.

Is that code for your missus?? :eek:

URSINFOOTY
28 May 2007, 17:27
Because the council is full of f***wits. At South Morang we played on a ground last yr that was very dangerous because of how hard it was, but this yearr we have 2 brand new grounds in perfect condition and we have to train in our car park using street lights to see the footys it is an absolute joke.

Well DUKES let's not get started, all pre-season I have seen Sth Morang do the right thing by the F* * * * council and even up to date they are still holding a gun to Morangs head.
I think there is a council meeting tomorrow night, I heard the pres is heading up there, but you must write your questions to the council.
P.S. What is the new NFL doing about it herad they are hearding to the meeting to, also heard they are soft.:thumbsd:

Pheonix20
28 May 2007, 17:33
Interesting round of footy on the weekend with some unusual results, WPL whats going on there? North Heidelberg were going to loose eventually, but hopefully these results will open up the field behind the top two. Greensborough were very good up until about half way through the third when the flood gates started to open and they just didn't have enough to man up on the smaller men up forward. Bundooora had a good kid on the flank in the last who kept hitting it inside 50 with some lovely drop punts until he got cleaned up on the Plenty Road wing by a cowardly behind the play round arm to the chest which saw him spend the weekend under a cardiac surgeon with a swollen heart and a broken sternum, two weeks off work with no income and six to eight weeks out of football. Good on ya No 27 You know who you are you weak prick.