View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy
Howsised
8 Jun 2006, 00:42
Unfortunately thats the way it works. They wouldnt't go straight to divy 1 anyway.
Giveyathemail
8 Jun 2006, 13:23
Heidelberg would make top 4 in Efl div 1 I would say
Easily. My mate plays for Donvale and Heidelberg would smash them.
As much as I dislike them, Heidelberg are a skilled, well drilled unit that play an enviable style of footy. I really think that if they get all their cattle on the paddock next week, they will show Bundoora and the rest of the comp that they are still entitled to be flag favorites.:thumbsu:
Howsised
8 Jun 2006, 16:46
Easily. My mate plays for Donvale and Heidelberg would smash them.
As much as I dislike them, Heidelberg are a skilled, well drilled unit that play an enviable style of footy. I really think that if they get all their cattle on the paddock next week, they will show Bundoora and the rest of the comp that they are still entitled to be flag favorites.:thumbsu:
You would thinkso, may I ask why you dislike them?
22 matches
8 Jun 2006, 18:10
i can speak for the mail man there are a hand full of blokes that you can call mates the rest of the club are arrogant. i wouldnt trust them. there is still bad blood between clubs that goes back a while.:mad:
ifyoucandodgeawrench
8 Jun 2006, 21:41
i can speak for the mail man there are a hand full of blokes that you can call mates the rest of the club are arrogant. i wouldnt trust them. there is still bad blood between clubs that goes back a while.:mad:
You wouldn't trust them...
wtf?
Do Lalor and Heidelberg have history?
Will North Heidlberg go the flood againist the Burgers?
Can someone confirm that they started off with a top man forward line vs the Bulls with the rest in there back half.
Don't think you can do that againsit the Burgs, imagine having Russ Lee and Justin Murphy running off the back flanks just racking up kicks.
mitch_fc
9 Jun 2006, 13:01
W Preston Lakeside Versus Epping 2:10 pm at W Preston
North Heidelberg Versus Heidelberg 2:10 pm at Nth Heid
Montmorency Versus Lalor 2:10 pm at Montmorency
Bundoora Versus Eltham 2:10 pm at Bundoora
Wallan Versus Mernda 2:10 pm at Wallan
Hurstbridge Versus Macleod 2:10 pm at Hurstbridge
Thomastown Versus Whittlesea 2:10 pm at Thom'town
Fawkner Park Versus Lower Plenty 2:10 pm at Fawkner Pk
Heidelberg West Versus Greensborough 2:10 pm at Heid West
Kinglake Versus Reservoir 2:10 pm at Kinglake
Watsonia Versus Panton Hill 2:10 pm at Watsonia
Parkside Versus South Morang 2:10 pm at Parkside
big week for away teams i reckon.
waddo #6
9 Jun 2006, 13:35
gday fellas in the dv... im just wondering if someone can let me know how Rainer Haycraft from Hurstbridge is going? i know him quite well and havent seen him for a while... and i am lead to believe he won the league b + f quite comfertably... anyone know anything about the bloke or when he is gunna travel up the hume and come play bloody GV!!! a standard that he easily fits into...
Howsised
9 Jun 2006, 13:36
What kind of statement is that? are you even directly connected to the HFC? its not only unwarrented it's insulting.
Giveyathemail
9 Jun 2006, 14:39
I dont like Heidelberg for a few reasons, but here is not the forum to unleash those reasons upon everyone. I dont like most teams we play against, even though I have some very close mates that play at different clubs in both divisions.
22 matches, good to see you on here mate :thumbsu: Dont break your routine from whatever you have been doing the last month mate, your playing awesome footy. Im looking forward to tomorrow.
Jimmy Gwilt
9 Jun 2006, 16:48
I dont like Heidelberg for a few reasons, but here is not the forum to unleash those reasons upon everyone. I dont like most teams we play against, even though I have some very close mates that play at different clubs in both divisions.
22 matches, good to see you on here mate :thumbsu: Dont break your routine from whatever you have been doing the last month mate, your playing awesome footy. Im looking forward to tomorrow.
the youth will reak havoc against the mont tomorrow
is the mailman playing tomorrow??
Coach Hollywood
9 Jun 2006, 17:12
Interesting to see you tipped Watsonia to beat Panton Hill Mitch FC.
Have you seen the Hill play this year are they really worse than Watsonia?
I'll be going to watch this match on Saturday and I hope the Hill get up, but i'm yet to see them play this year. Anyone seen Panton Hill play this year and why they've been final contenders last 5 years to bottom 3 this year? Thoughts ?
Bubble Wrap
9 Jun 2006, 17:45
Panton Hill beat us (Watsy) in a practice match this year. Although, it was our first hit-out for the year and their fourth (I think). They are not a bottom 3 team by any stretch, the draw just dictates that they would cop some good teams first up. They did manage to beat South Morang, who beat Lower Plenty, so I would expect that over the next 8 weeks they start to move up the ladder a fair bit. I'm just hoping that climb up the ladder doesn't start this week against us.
mitch_fc
9 Jun 2006, 17:58
I'll be going to watch this match on Saturday and I hope the Hill get up, but i'm yet to see them play this year. Anyone seen Panton Hill play this year and why they've been final contenders last 5 years to bottom 3 this year? Thoughts ?
I have played against PH, and i actually thought they went allright. Watsy have shown a bit early (no real tests yet probably) and on their big ground i think they'll just get over the Hill.
Based on what I witnessed at Greensborough last week, Panton Hill deserve to be near the bottom. Can't see them winning many games at all.:thumbsd:
Panton hill did lose a few players in the off season i understand. New coach may have led to this. They went pretty hard after the creek kids and came up short apparently. The way the draw is structured they should win more than 50% in the run home.
hope all my fellow creek players and supporters enjoyt their weekend off. No doubt there will be a mass exodus to echuca. And for the sake of the relegation battle GO the PING
melbdocker
10 Jun 2006, 11:38
yeah i reckon 90% of our club will be up on the murry this weekend might head ova and watch a div 2 game today and just on relegation i reckon u wont be safe unless u win 5 games this yr
BERGER KING
10 Jun 2006, 20:01
North Applied The Flood Big Time. Very Negative For The First 3 Qtrs.very Poorly Coached ,looked Like They Set Out To Avoid A Hiding With No Thought Of Winning ..just Making Up The Numbers In The Four.
Coach Hollwood, you sound suspiciously like the former Panton Hill full Forward, John (Hollywood) Garrard who is now coaching Old Ivanhoe Assumption in D2 Ammo`s so I suspect you know the story as to why Panton Hill are on struggle street at the moment but perhaps your wanting someone to come on and say it`s because they have lost the star gun full forward in John (Hollywood) Garrard. Come on Johnnie, come clean we know you don`t mind having your tyres pumped up a bit.
As a footnote, we played them a couple of weeks ago and they gave us a tough hitout at the Hill but you must question a club that hardly had any senior players come in for a drink after the game and by 6.15pm was deserted apart from 5 Lower people and 2 Hillers. Obviously apart from yourself they`ve lost a few more but the place does not seem to be what alot of people hype it up to be.
Had the dubious pleasure of travelling over to Fawkner Park to watch Lower play, came away with a convincing win in the end, although probably did not get out of 2nd gear for much of the game. Must say there were whispers around that they may pull the pin after today and as much as you hate to see any club in that situation, after my experience there today it would probably be a good thing. It is not a welcoming place, a couple of times on ground incidents could have escalated especially during one melee when the Fawkner Park runner decided to push one of our players to the ground then start to intimidate another one of our players by chesting him and getting in his face, unfortunately no umpires saw this but something should be done. After the game I was about to go into the rooms to have a beer with there past President but was told that we were to **** off and not to bother, as a result I don`t think one of our players or supporters would have had a drink there after the game which is a pity because if they do want to survive the last thing they should be doing is alienating the opposition. Interesting to see what happens there.
The_KID
10 Jun 2006, 21:33
The former player coming on and posting "why has its former team gone down hill?" Biggest fish for compliments i have seen in a while.
Howsised
11 Jun 2006, 01:04
What is it with Hancock and this negative flodding crap? Its turning the supporters away.
The former player coming on and posting "why has its former team gone down hill?" Biggest fish for compliments i have seen in a while.
Mate this guy gave himself the nickname of "Hollywood" enough said.
Whats happened to "Matchwinner". Where are you M8, all has gone quiet since our efforts to uncover your identity. I am 95% certain that I know who you are so be very, very careful, I`m on to you.
What is it with Hancock and this negative flodding crap? Its turning the supporters away.
Not to mention, failing.
melbdocker
11 Jun 2006, 11:58
saw the borough y'day smash heid west and really should have kicked 30+ goals i know they lost a game to whittlesea but can we pencil them in for 3 flags this yr, they had alot of players missing, steve ellis sat on the pine for half the game i think and toomey played at chb all day, thoughts ne one?
eltham done the same thing agains bundoora just a sh.it game to watch
magpiemaniac
11 Jun 2006, 14:01
I was at the Boro game today against West. They did look impresive should of easily kicked 30 goals but were very inaccurate. They also had a few players out and gave a few of the 19's boys a run considering they had a bye. Millsom, Cunningham & Beames where the 19's boys who got a game. Cunningham booted 4 while Millsom had a blinder of a first game. Boro looking good at the moment. It will be good to see them play Thomostwon who flogged Whitlsea.
matchwinner
11 Jun 2006, 14:23
Whats happened to "Matchwinner". Where are you M8, all has gone quiet since our efforts to uncover your identity. I am 95% certain that I know who you are so be very, very careful, I`m on to you.
Please reveal your suspicions....... Just been sitting on the outer. Not much to comment on in recent times. But shall speak up if the need arises!!!
Didn't get out to Fawkner Park yesterday, but boys look like they had a solid, if not spectacular win.
Coach Hollywood
11 Jun 2006, 15:43
Kid, I was more interested in seeing what others thought about the new coach to be honest and whether it was his performance that may have caused the Hill to slide? Not being at club and not watching them play I was looking for some feedback on this forum? I did apply for the position pre season, but obviously missed out. That's why i'm checking up pn them.
As for Brutal, anyone who plays or follows Lower Plenty couldn't possibly call themselves "Brutal"? I suggest you change your name to "Marshmellow" to fall in line with the rest of the players at the club.
"No Lower are good club, but most of the guys I knew down there have moved on".
whitelinefeva
11 Jun 2006, 16:11
So what did you think of your former team yesterday Hollywood? Can you identify what it is that they're missing this year (apart from players), or were they just beaten by a better side yesterday?
Coach Hollywood
11 Jun 2006, 17:43
So what did you think of your former team yesterday Hollywood? Can you identify what it is that they're missing this year (apart from players), or were they just beaten by a better side yesterday?
Well what can I say about Hill, yesterday? Apart from Injuries to key players and not much depth. (No Box, Butler) I think the main reason they lost was because of there attack on the ball early in the game. Watsonia kicked a goal 20 seconds in and had the first 3 on the board way too easily. It wasn't untill a punch on broke out just before half time that they decided they wanted the ball more.
After half time Watsonia lost all there bench through Injuries as Panton Hill had become more aggressive and score board got closer as they also tired, but Watsonia had done enough to hang on.
whitelinefeva
11 Jun 2006, 18:08
Well what can I say about Hill, yesterday? Apart from Injuries to key players and not much depth. (No Box, Butler) I think the main reason they lost was because of there attack on the ball early in the game. Watsonia kicked a goal 20 seconds in and had the first 3 on the board way too easily. It wasn't untill a punch on broke out just before half time that they decided they wanted the ball more.
After half time Watsonia lost all there bench through Injuries as Panton Hill had become more aggressive and score board got closer as they also tired, but Watsonia had done enough to hang on.
Not a bad punch on, shame Panton Hill couldn't win that either. Was a shame to see J. Little take no further part in the game after the blue, was having a very good game up until that point.
Don't think the Hill coach has anything to do with it. Was fairly successful at both Montmorency U19's and Diamond Creek U19's. Bit like the bombers at the moment, don't quite have the cattle.
The_KID
11 Jun 2006, 19:02
Well what can I say about Hill, yesterday? Apart from Injuries to key players and not much depth. (No Box, Butler)
I went and saw panton hill yesterday and their was plenty of box out on the ground from where i sat. lol. Nah will box is a massive loss. Watsy were just too tall down forward. Ordinary game of football.
Kid, I was more interested in seeing what others thought about the new coach to be honest and whether it was his performance that may have caused the Hill to slide? Not being at club and not watching them play I was looking for some feedback on this forum? I did apply for the position pre season, but obviously missed out. That's why i'm checking up pn them.
As for Brutal, anyone who plays or follows Lower Plenty couldn't possibly call themselves "Brutal"? I suggest you change your name to "Marshmellow" to fall in line with the rest of the players at the club.
"No Lower are good club, but most of the guys I knew down there have moved on".
Marsmellows, "ouch" you`ve got us there Johnnie, anyway whats going on at Ivanhoe-Assumption, you don`t seem to be winning too many, are you getting amongst the goals and is S.Watto playing yet?
Please reveal your suspicions....... Just been sitting on the outer. Not much to comment on in recent times. But shall speak up if the need arises!!!
Didn't get out to Fawkner Park yesterday, but boys look like they had a solid, if not spectacular win.
Matchie, good to hear from you but even though you say you were not there yesterday I still believe I know who you are but anyway I`ll keep on investigating unless of course you would like to reveal your true indentity. Yes apart from a 10 goal second qtr the boys spent the rest of the day easing the throttle on and off when it was needed, at the end of the day it was just good to get out of the joint in one piece and with my car still in the spot where I left it. I know the people at Fawkner Park are trying to do there best but I think they are pushing the proverbial **** load up hill, I would be very surprised if they last the season and certainly won`t be around next year.
Anyway must keep investigating.
Not a bad punch on, shame Panton Hill couldn't win that either. Was a shame to see J. Little take no further part in the game after the blue, was having a very good game up until that point.
i was reasonably close to that punch on, you wouldn't see many bigger without the crowd getting involved... just about every player was involved at some stage, plenty of punches were thrown...
mitch_fc
12 Jun 2006, 00:14
i reckon matchwinners initials are J.I.
i only say that due to the Carlton link..... brother etc....
mitch_fc
12 Jun 2006, 00:26
whilst its sad that Fawkner Park are looking like folding, it can't come as a suprise. it is an not a welcoming place. the umpires were scared to call frees for Lower, as there was a bit of agro in the crowd. the runner incident was a bit of a disgrace, but both umpires were adament they missed it. i think the bears should just be happy to get away with 4 points and no serious injuries.
mitch_fc
12 Jun 2006, 00:27
also a couple of our younger lower boys should watch their mouths when watching from the sidelines.... a couple un needed coments.
i reckon matchwinners initials are J.I.
i only say that due to the Carlton link..... brother etc....
Yes, interesting Mitcha but I don`t think he actually supports Carlton even though his brother plays there. I think Matchie is trying to lead us astray by saying he was not at the game on Saturday.
mitch_fc
12 Jun 2006, 14:32
Yes, interesting Mitcha but I don`t think he actually supports Carlton even though his brother plays there. I think Matchie is trying to lead us astray by saying he was not at the game on Saturday.
possibly....
gunna have to do more research i think.
mitch_fc
12 Jun 2006, 14:37
The only youth to leave were Mitchell, Fields and McFarlane. They didn't contribute much anyway. Mitchell was a great player, the other two ordinary, but off the field all they did was hold each other's hands like gay lovers and stick to themselves.
J.I. used to allways call young Fieldy "Fields"....
could it be one of our experienced back pockets who wares number 10???
the captain barracks for Carlton, but matchwinner is far to controlled and deosnt give enough sprays!!
Coach Hollywood
12 Jun 2006, 15:18
i was reasonably close to that punch on, you wouldn't see many bigger without the crowd getting involved... just about every player was involved at some stage, plenty of punches were thrown...
Definetly one of the better Punch On's I've seen at Watsonia on Saturday. Good to see the crowd didn't get involved although a few of the Lads where shooting their mouths off at Half Time to try a get a round 2 going.
As for Ivanhoe Brutal, It's a very different ball game amauters and it takes a bit of getting used too. We've won 2/3 at home but none away, got the bottom teams coming up so should improve more as we go on.They only won 1 of the first 9 last season, so we've at least improved on that. Watto hasn't played since round 1 due to a reaccurence of a knee problem, hopefully he'll back training in the next few weeks?
Bubble Wrap
12 Jun 2006, 16:06
I played yesterday (Watsonia v Panton Hill) and that was a pretty fiery blue we had going. Bit of a joke that only one player (Jamie) got reported considering there was 30 blokes in there throwing cut lunches. The fact that it happened right in front of a big group of supporters who had been on the juice didn't help - plenty of advice from over the fence helped stir blokes up a bit.
It's near impossible to get a form line on teams this season. You see South Morang beat Lower, then lose to Panton Hill, the Watsy get over the top of Panton Hill. Whittlesea knock off Greensborough and then get done by Thomastown. Must be injuries or something because I can't remember a season with so many suprises and upsets.
Interesting situation with Fawkner Park. I would have imagined that seeing they are struggling (I assume financially as well as on feld?) they would be keen to get as many opposition back to their rooms after games to put some money over the bar. Yet we played them at Watsy and I think one bloke (a non-player) stuck around and that was it. Now you hear stories about Lower blokes being told not to stick around, all seems a bit strange.
Could be interesting at year end if they do fold and Heidelberg do go the the EFL. Might mean the Div 2 winner goes up but no relegation, and then 14 teams in Division 2. Anyone know if there are any other clubs looking to join the DVFL?
J.I. used to allways call young Fieldy "Fields"....
could it be one of our experienced back pockets who wares number 10???
the captain barracks for Carlton, but matchwinner is far to controlled and deosnt give enough sprays!!
Now your getting warm Mitcha, #10 is a distinct possibility although he denies it, but he is a rather controlled level headed sought of person and fits the profile. I know he reads the contributions on the forum but reckons he does not post. Hopefully he does not read this one, otherwise I could be in for the mother of all personal training sessions on Friday.
Definetly one of the better Punch On's I've seen at Watsonia on Saturday. Good to see the crowd didn't get involved although a few of the Lads where shooting their mouths off at Half Time to try a get a round 2 going.
As for Ivanhoe Brutal, It's a very different ball game amauters and it takes a bit of getting used too. We've won 2/3 at home but none away, got the bottom teams coming up so should improve more as we go on.They only won 1 of the first 9 last season, so we've at least improved on that. Watto hasn't played since round 1 due to a reaccurence of a knee problem, hopefully he'll back training in the next few weeks?
Fair call Hollywood, good luck with it. Pity about Watto, would be very handy at that level, verg good reader of the ball coming into forward line, played 5 games for us last year and kicked 22 goals and made it look easy at times, I did tell him to take those Glucosamine tablets for his knee.
I played yesterday (Watsonia v Panton Hill) and that was a pretty fiery blue we had going. Bit of a joke that only one player (Jamie) got reported considering there was 30 blokes in there throwing cut lunches. The fact that it happened right in front of a big group of supporters who had been on the juice didn't help - plenty of advice from over the fence helped stir blokes up a bit.
It's near impossible to get a form line on teams this season. You see South Morang beat Lower, then lose to Panton Hill, the Watsy get over the top of Panton Hill. Whittlesea knock off Greensborough and then get done by Thomastown. Must be injuries or something because I can't remember a season with so many suprises and upsets.
Interesting situation with Fawkner Park. I would have imagined that seeing they are struggling (I assume financially as well as on feld?) they would be keen to get as many opposition back to their rooms after games to put some money over the bar. Yet we played them at Watsy and I think one bloke (a non-player) stuck around and that was it. Now you hear stories about Lower blokes being told not to stick around, all seems a bit strange.
Could be interesting at year end if they do fold and Heidelberg do go the the EFL. Might mean the Div 2 winner goes up but no relegation, and then 14 teams in Division 2. Anyone know if there are any other clubs looking to join the DVFL?
Spoke to Fawkner Parks recenty resigned ex Pres, he told me they were aware of one of their supporters/players telling Lower players/supporters not to bother going in for a drink, reckons they have fined said person $500 and suspended him from club. Does not hide the fact that they have some difficult issues to deal with and they do not seem to have the personnel to deal with it. Also have the problem of the area not being AFL football orientated due to cultural demographic, I commented to him that although it does not look good for them it also highlights the fact that clubs in their situation do not seem to get any constructive help off the League to help them. The League should be in a position to assist clubs in helping them to be sustainable for the long term instead of grabbing the $25,000 thankyou very much and see you later attitude they seem to have these days.
If Heidelberg left, the DVFL would be either have no relegation or both division 2 grand finalist teams would be promoted.
Just out of interest, what are the chances of Heidelberg leaving for the EFL next season? & if they did leave would they be put straight in Eastern Div. 1?
Bobby Beecroft
12 Jun 2006, 22:47
If Heidelberg left, the DVFL would be either have no relegation or both division 2 grand finalist teams would be promoted.
Just out of interest, what are the chances of Heidelberg leaving for the EFL next season? & if they did leave would they be put straight in Eastern Div. 1?
While on the subject, although not relevant to the DVFL........ Have heard from pretty good sources Balwyn are looking at doing the same thing.
scott coight
12 Jun 2006, 23:08
apparently 1 or 2 euroa boys are looking for a change of scenery. have played seniors but are stuck in the magoos for the time being.
Wayde Petersen
12 Jun 2006, 23:35
Spoke to Fawkner Parks recenty resigned ex Pres, he told me they were aware of one of their supporters/players telling Lower players/supporters not to bother going in for a drink, reckons they have fined said person $500 and suspended him from club. Does not hide the fact that they have some difficult issues to deal with and they do not seem to have the personnel to deal with it. Also have the problem of the area not being AFL football orientated due to cultural demographic, I commented to him that although it does not look good for them it also highlights the fact that clubs in their situation do not seem to get any constructive help off the League to help them. The League should be in a position to assist clubs in helping them to be sustainable for the long term instead of grabbing the $25,000 thankyou very much and see you later attitude they seem to have these days.
Would any advice from the DVFL be of any help to Fawkner Park anyway ?, the executive is passed it and the best thing for them to do would be to introduce young blood into the ranks, and get help from the VMFL, the AFL, and even the Eastern League to get a few pointers to see how they do it so well.
And anyway, Fawkner Park hasn't paid thier affiliation fees in full yet, and until they do, they wont get any points if they win a game, plus they can't raise enough money where they are because it's so easy to walk to the ground and not have to pay, and plus thier council (and Whittlesea's) have an anti AFL and Cricket bias, and don't do a thing to help them, they only make things worse.
Take this for example, South Morang's new ground, at Mill Park, the council has decreed, will only have a car park for 50 cars, and patrons can't park thier cars along the fence, so they will be forced to park on the street, and with like Fawkner Park (having a 2 oval open design), South Morang will be screwed royally because they'll have big trouble getting money at the gate, because it's so easy to walk in for free.
I hope that when Mernda get's forced out of it's ground and moves back to Doreen, that the Council in it's infinate wisdom, won't screw Mernda like they have our cousins at South Morang.
In our league (the Kyabram League) our former President, John Dunlop, did the job for 15-20 years, and he was great at it, but during the last 2-3 years of his tenure, he realised that he needed to groom someone to take over his position, and when the new President took over (Sev Cortese), the transition was smooth and Sev has continued the great administration of the KDFNL, but it seems like someone would have to take the DVFL's top job from Floydy's cold, dead hands (metaphorically of course), because it looks like he doesn't have a sucession plan in place.
And that is dangerous, you've got to run the league like a business, but realise that you're running a quasi-public institution as well, the league needs a total tear down, and like a dead fish, the league's rotten at the top.
I want the league to kick on, but when I compare the woes of the DVFL and compare them to my own league, well i'm damn lucky that i'm up here and not down there.
T.Perry
13 Jun 2006, 10:38
I went and watched my first DV game this year, between Heidelberg and North, and was pretty wrapt with the high-paced, hard-hitting game..I didn't think the scoreline gave an accurate representation of how close the game was, with the midfield battle pretty close up until the halfway mark of the third quarter, when the floodgates opened..Marty McFly (#14 for nth) was sensational - tough, quick and skillful, 'mouse' Ryan was awesome off a back flank and gave the dogs heaps of drive and number 3 for Nth, not sure of his name, looked like he was going to single-handedly tear the game apart in the first quarter, but couldn't capitalise on his opportunities and went missing a bit after that..I thought Caddy and Gray were pretty quiet for them..
I was ultra impressed with the tiges - Hall and Shearer are a great partnership up forward, big Mick Gay is just a power house (though is too big to move much, but always has an impact), Lofty Nolan is a gun at CHB - big, quick, great hands, skillful) and then there were blokes like Russ Lee through the midfield that was awesome..if there is a better side in Vic than Heidelberg I'd love to see them, they are a well-balanced, star-studded, disciplined, hard-working unit :thumbsu:
Also, the 2nd's game was a classic - rocked up to see one bloke get the snot beat out of him, then the dogs looked gone, and some little quick bloke kicked 2 of the best running goals you'll see to snatch a 1 goal win...
Giveyathemail
13 Jun 2006, 13:23
the youth will reak havoc against the mont tomorrow
is the mailman playing tomorrow??
You were right in one way Jimmy, our young blokes did play some good footy in both games. Our 2s were made up of 90% U/19s, and the ones that were elevated into the main game really played their part. Unfortunatly the scoreboard didnt reflect that, and Mont deserved their win.
As you know, I didnt play on the weekend, but looking forward to returning this week against the Doggies. How did you pull up?
LOBSTER
13 Jun 2006, 14:16
apparently 1 or 2 euroa boys are looking for a change of scenery. have played seniors but are stuck in the magoos for the time being.
Who might these players be? Local euroa boys or melbourne boys recruited up that way.
Howsised
13 Jun 2006, 16:11
Does anyone else share the view that Tony Topp is a ****er?
melbdocker
13 Jun 2006, 17:29
are u serious wayde u want to move back to doreen? i mean i know its closer to the new estates and might help swing a few more juniors to mernda away from that strong hold yarrambat, but u have ok rooms well change rooms need an upgrade, a good side ground and its easy to get to for all clubs, near plenty rd and easy to get to for diamond creek, hurstbridge, panton hill and so forth. i always enjoyed going up to mernda's ground whether cricket or footy
HotShoeShuffle
13 Jun 2006, 17:34
Who might these players be? Local euroa boys or melbourne boys recruited up that way.
Asked the question on the GV thread and was given these names as the unhappy campers at Euroa :
Matt Duggin
Tim Gilbert
Craig Trewitt and;
David Stringer
Do these guys train with anyone down here ?
Would any advice from the DVFL be of any help to Fawkner Park anyway ?, the executive is passed it and the best thing for them to do would be to introduce young blood into the ranks, and get help from the VMFL, the AFL, and even the Eastern League to get a few pointers to see how they do it so well.
And anyway, Fawkner Park hasn't paid thier affiliation fees in full yet, and until they do, they wont get any points if they win a game, plus they can't raise enough money where they are because it's so easy to walk to the ground and not have to pay, and plus thier council (and Whittlesea's) have an anti AFL and Cricket bias, and don't do a thing to help them, they only make things worse.
Take this for example, South Morang's new ground, at Mill Park, the council has decreed, will only have a car park for 50 cars, and patrons can't park thier cars along the fence, so they will be forced to park on the street, and with like Fawkner Park (having a 2 oval open design), South Morang will be screwed royally because they'll have big trouble getting money at the gate, because it's so easy to walk in for free.
I hope that when Mernda get's forced out of it's ground and moves back to Doreen, that the Council in it's infinate wisdom, won't screw Mernda like they have our cousins at South Morang.
In our league (the Kyabram League) our former President, John Dunlop, did the job for 15-20 years, and he was great at it, but during the last 2-3 years of his tenure, he realised that he needed to groom someone to take over his position, and when the new President took over (Sev Cortese), the transition was smooth and Sev has continued the great administration of the KDFNL, but it seems like someone would have to take the DVFL's top job from Floydy's cold, dead hands (metaphorically of course), because it looks like he doesn't have a sucession plan in place.
And that is dangerous, you've got to run the league like a business, but realise that you're running a quasi-public institution as well, the league needs a total tear down, and like a dead fish, the league's rotten at the top.
I want the league to kick on, but when I compare the woes of the DVFL and compare them to my own league, well i'm damn lucky that i'm up here and not down there.
M8, your comments on the League are spot on, it just amazes me that when it comes to AGM time the clubs will probably rubber stamp the same set up once again and start the whingeing process all over again.
Bubble Wrap
14 Jun 2006, 10:25
M8, your comments on the League are spot on, it just amazes me that when it comes to AGM time the clubs will probably rubber stamp the same set up once again and start the whingeing process all over again.
Clubs are probably scared to vote against them in case they get in. Imagine if you tried to have them outed at the next AGM but they still got in - they'd remember which clubs were against them and make them pay at every opportunity. Make no mistake, they are a very petty group more than happy to hold a grudge, and conversely, more than happy to play favourites.
Coach Hollywood
14 Jun 2006, 10:34
Another Point I'd like to bring up with the DVFL is "Clash Jumpers" After watching Panton Hill Vs Watsonia on the weekend and other matches such as Creek Vs Mernda, Wallan Vs Monty (If it happenned?) and I'm sure there's others? It's terrible! Especially after a few jars.
I think there should be a rule or an alternative strip or something? I know Panton Hill have a white jumper they sometimes wear (probably wouldn't of helped against Watsonia anyway), do any other clubs have one???? Thoughts fellas???
LOBSTER
14 Jun 2006, 10:58
North Heidelberg had there team of the century function on the weekend. Would like to know who made it and which players were stiff to miss out. Always a hot topic when these arise. No doubt big Spider Shaw would be in the goal square and Pricthard in the ruck.
Bubble Wrap
14 Jun 2006, 11:05
Another Point I'd like to bring up with the DVFL is "Clash Jumpers" After watching Panton Hill Vs Watsonia on the weekend and other matches such as Creek Vs Mernda, Wallan Vs Monty (If it happenned?) and I'm sure there's others? It's terrible! Especially after a few jars.
I think there should be a rule or an alternative strip or something? I know Panton Hill have a white jumper they sometimes wear (probably wouldn't of helped against Watsonia anyway), do any other clubs have one???? Thoughts fellas???
It's a pretty significant expense to expect clubs to wear for the sake of maybe one game per year. I know that out on the ground against PH, the players didn't seem to struggle too much (everyone had a pretty good idea of which blokes they wanted to belt in the second quarter!).
Perhaps the DVFL could arrange a set of good quality clash jumpers made up (perhaps a predominantly yellow strip?) that they could provide to the away team to wear in the event of a clash. Can't see too many clubs being being happy to pay $2-3K for a clash strip.
Giveyathemail
14 Jun 2006, 13:13
Well Im surprised there isnt with a couple of sides you have mentioned there Coach. Parkside had to wear Collingwood jumpers when they played us in division 2. We had a pre season jumper made up last year as well which was predominatly white with red trimmings and numbers. We clashed with Mernda as well. North and WPL clash, Eltham and Heidelberg and even Mont and Bundoora have problems as well. I think its not a bad idea if clubs decide to have an alternate strip. I think $2- 3K mentioned by bubble wrap may be a little steep, but such a fee could be incorporated in the players membership or supplied as a part of a sponsorship deal.
Giveyathemail
14 Jun 2006, 13:20
North Heidelberg had there team of the century function on the weekend. Would like to know who made it and which players were stiff to miss out. Always a hot topic when these arise. No doubt big Spider Shaw would be in the goal square and Pricthard in the ruck.
Not too sure but can find out and keep you posted. I do know that Brett Ronchi was left out and apparantly fired up and ruined what was a fantastic night for the North faithful.
Bubble Wrap
14 Jun 2006, 14:28
Well Im surprised there isnt with a couple of sides you have mentioned there Coach. Parkside had to wear Collingwood jumpers when they played us in division 2. We had a pre season jumper made up last year as well which was predominatly white with red trimmings and numbers. We clashed with Mernda as well. North and WPL clash, Eltham and Heidelberg and even Mont and Bundoora have problems as well. I think its not a bad idea if clubs decide to have an alternate strip. I think $2- 3K mentioned by bubble wrap may be a little steep, but such a fee could be incorporated in the players membership or supplied as a part of a sponsorship deal.
I just figured about 50 jumpers at around $50 each?
I think asking the players or a sponsor to pay just disadvantages some clubs - namely those with a clash. If it is $2,500 for arguments sake that a club has to come up with, that's money they could otherwise spent on one $150 a game player for a whole season. Probably not such a big deal in Div 1, but that could make for a pretty good Div 2 player.
Surely the DVFL has some spare cash from the $25K each club parts with each year (although we all know that a large portion of that is used to fund their awesome website).
Wayde Petersen
14 Jun 2006, 15:46
are u serious wayde u want to move back to doreen? i mean i know its closer to the new estates and might help swing a few more juniors to mernda away from that strong hold yarrambat, but u have ok rooms well change rooms need an upgrade, a good side ground and its easy to get to for all clubs, near plenty rd and easy to get to for diamond creek, hurstbridge, panton hill and so forth. i always enjoyed going up to mernda's ground whether cricket or footy
Mernda doesn't want to move at all, but with the new developments going in around the area, the ground (and a few other things around the town) looks like being Compulsary Acquired by the State Government, it isn't a definate just yet, but they are proposing a sporting precinct over in the new housing estate at Doreen, and it looks like Mernda might be moving there if the proposed Conpulsary Acqusition goes ahead.
You're right melbdocker, Mernda'a ground is at a good spot, has good facilities (our Visitors rooms are tiny and need to be a lot bigger, and we need new umpires rooms as well), and surface wise, it's the best its ever been, but if we're forced to move, we want to get the best deal we can, because the club has a deep and justified mistrust of the Whittlesea Council at the Taj Mahal in Soth Morang.
As far as alternate strips go, you're right Hollywood, there is a major clash with a lot of clubs (especially Division Two), and I have been on Mernda's case about getting an alternate jumper for when they play Panton Hill, Watsonia, Parkside, Lalor or West Preston/Lakeside, I want the club to wear thier original colours or Maroon & White (in thier current design), with Royal Blue (or white if away) shorts & socks (they wear red socks which makes the colour clash even worse), which is based on the clubs first uniforms (Maroon jumper, white trim with white shorts & blue socks).
Although the club likes the idea, the cost of it is prohibitive, but if the DVFL make it a compulsary thing (which can be paid for by a levy, so the league can match the affected clubs dollar for dollar for new uniforms), I hope that it helps because when I saw Mernda play Panton Hill, I could barely tell them apart.
Mr Cannons
14 Jun 2006, 16:05
Surely the DVFL has some spare cash from the $25K each club parts with each year (although we all know that a large portion of that is used to fund their awesome website).
Qaulity call:thumbsu:
magpiemaniac
14 Jun 2006, 16:34
http://www.northheidelberg.com
The team of the century is on there :thumbsu:
David_02
14 Jun 2006, 17:28
Will saul caddy play this week against bundoora?
Have A Crack
14 Jun 2006, 18:00
http://www.northheidelberg.com
The team of the century is on there :thumbsu:
Very surprised that Jason Heatley did'nt make the side at Centre Half Forward rather than Darryl Magaw !
Will saul caddy play this week against bundoora?
bundoora played noth 2 weeks ago....bundy vs bergers this week
David_02
14 Jun 2006, 18:55
bundoora played noth 2 weeks ago....bundy vs bergers this week
My point exactly
BERGER KING
14 Jun 2006, 21:15
Caddy and McKernan are my tips to play against Bundoora !!
te=David_02]My point exactly[/quote]
Yep, Saul Caddy very unhappy with being left out of the team of the century has asked for a clearance to Heidleberg.
Not worth the trouble he is worth, Saul Caddy's biggest problems is Saul Caddy. That side they have doesn't need him anyway.
22 matches
14 Jun 2006, 21:35
Yep, Saul Caddy very unhappy with being left out of the team of the century has asked for a clearance to Heidleberg.
Not worth the trouble he is worth, Saul Caddy's biggest problems is Saul Caddy. That side they have doesn't need him anyway.
dwight do you think saul will play this week against the bloods.
Saul won't leave North, although he is nutter then a fruit cake so who knows.
Good bloke but just too full of himself. Favourite topics of conversation with Saul are what Saul has done, who Saul has smashed and how good looking he is. :)
Just craves a little bit of attention every know and then, likes to know that he is wanted as a footballer. Don't get me wrong Saul is a great footballer but we should be better then he is. His first stint with Heidleberg he was about 15kg lighter and was standing on blokes head every week and was a athletic freak. He has lost his spring and is slowly losing his mobility but still battles his arse off for the Doggies.
Once he calms down I think he will stay at Shelley Street. Still cannot believe SHaun Ryan made there team of the century. Good honest trier who is a great clubman and tough as nails but wouldn't have him in the elite class.
But well done to him for making the grade along wiht current day studs, Rudy, Marty and Gadget. :thumbsu:
melbdocker
14 Jun 2006, 23:32
is he seriously going back to the bergers? isnt he best mates wit jason dean?
Giveyathemail
15 Jun 2006, 13:12
Good bloke but just too full of himself. Favourite topics of conversation with Saul are what Saul has done, who Saul has smashed and how good looking he is. :)
Just craves a little bit of attention every know and then, likes to know that he is wanted as a footballer. Don't get me wrong Saul is a great footballer but we should be better then he is. His first stint with Heidleberg he was about 15kg lighter and was standing on blokes head every week and was a athletic freak. He has lost his spring and is slowly losing his mobility but still battles his arse off for the Doggies.
Once he calms down I think he will stay at Shelley Street. Still cannot believe SHaun Ryan made there team of the century. Good honest trier who is a great clubman and tough as nails but wouldn't have him in the elite class.
But well done to him for making the grade along wiht current day studs, Rudy, Marty and Gadget. :thumbsu:
You have got to be kidding. Mouse is an absolute freak, have you ever tried to play on him??? For a bloke his size he is tremondously strong, good on both sides of the body, plays alot taller than he is.... I could praise him all day, and he is a quality bloke as well. Its a shame about Saul, because he too is a good bloke. You just gotta know how to take him I suppose... Me and my mates have always got along with him really well. I hope him and the Doggies can sort out their differences next week, after we play them on Saturday :thumbsu:
Thats all we need, a fired up Saul... :eek:
joshooaa
15 Jun 2006, 14:50
Should have stayed at Eltham.
Kickass
15 Jun 2006, 15:12
Panthers wouldn't want all the Baggage that comes with him
Mr Cannons
15 Jun 2006, 18:22
I would be full of myself aswell if I had a missus like his, Best in the valley by a mile me thinks 10 thumbs up :thumbsu:
Then why do the chase him every year? Along with Howsie and Dean Haydock. No wonder no one will come back because the Eltham crowd abuse them for four quarters then kisses there rear ends in the rooms afterwards asking them when there going to come back. Treat them like great blokes to there face then call them dogs when they walk out the door becuase they left Panther Park. Eltham players are good blokes no doubt but there crowd are shockers.
bearfan
16 Jun 2006, 11:05
Have it on good authority that Saul has played his last game at North.
Team of the Century was the straw that broke the camels back.
Expect to see him at another 1st Division DVFL club shortly.
Giveyathemail
16 Jun 2006, 13:49
Have it on good authority that Saul has played his last game at North.
Team of the Century was the straw that broke the camels back.
Expect to see him at another 1st Division DVFL club shortly.
Saul wont play again this year. And if and when he does play in the Valley again, one club it wont be for is Heidelberg. They knocked back his clearance.
joshooaa
16 Jun 2006, 13:53
Yeah i know i just felt like typing somthing.
I do remember when i was in under 10s seeing his name in the under17's in the newslatter everyweek and he used to kick huge bags every week.
journeyman
16 Jun 2006, 13:54
Saul wont play again this year. And if and when he does play in the Valley again, one club it wont be for is Heidelberg.
Surely North and Saul can work this out. Do North want him back or are they happy for him to go?
I reckon it would be hard to get a key forward like him. I played with him for a year and on the field he was the ultimate team player. Never does U turns, chases and tackles hard and makes all the young blokes walk taller.
He's a huge part of North, it would be sad to see him leave the kennel. Remember North wouldn't have won the flag last year without him.
I reckon a lot of DV clubs would be after his signature.
joshooaa
16 Jun 2006, 13:56
Saul wont play again this year. And if and when he does play in the Valley again, one club it wont be for is Heidelberg. They knocked back his clearance.
Maybe he'll go and play at an ammo club. Im sure his style of play would fit the bill nicely at say, Old Scotch or St.Kevins
joshooaa
16 Jun 2006, 13:59
Then why do the chase him every year? Along with Howsie and Dean Haydock. No wonder no one will come back because the Eltham crowd abuse them for four quarters then kisses there rear ends in the rooms afterwards asking them when there going to come back. Treat them like great blokes to there face then call them dogs when they walk out the door becuase they left Panther Park. Eltham players are good blokes no doubt but there crowd are shockers.
I think you will find that the only reason Caddy gets abused at Eltham is because he is dirty. Dean Haydock is a good honest player and any 'abuse' hurled at him would be in light jest.
Bubble Wrap
16 Jun 2006, 14:13
Round 9 Tips:
Divvy 1
Heidelberg
North Heidelberg
Montmorency
West Preston-Lakeside
Epping
Divvy 2
Thomastown
Watsonia
Mernda
Greensborough
Macleod
South Morang
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
Giveyathemail
16 Jun 2006, 14:29
Surely North and Saul can work this out. Do North want him back or are they happy for him to go?
I reckon it would be hard to get a key forward like him. I played with him for a year and on the field he was the ultimate team player. Never does U turns, chases and tackles hard and makes all the young blokes walk taller.
He's a huge part of North, it would be sad to see him leave the kennel. Remember North wouldn't have won the flag last year without him.
Regardless of bias, I hope common sense prevails and Saully stays a Bulldog. He is a huge talent, and everyone will be jumping to sign him but he wont just play anywhere.
22 matches
16 Jun 2006, 17:58
I would be full of myself aswell if I had a missus like his, Best in the valley by a mile me thinks 10 thumbs up :thumbsu:
josh summers from lalor is going out with a miss universe contestant from south aus :thumbsu:
Heard from a good source that Gadget runs the show at North and he has basically said that if Saul wants to go then he can **** off.
Regardless of bias, I hope common sense prevails and Saully stays a Bulldog. He is a huge talent, and everyone will be jumping to sign him but he wont just play anywhere.
From what I heard the coin he was on at North was`nt to extravagant so on that basis he may only be interested in two or three clubs from a success point of view. Would a Montmorency chase him, especially with Luke Ottens out of action, could be a good fit, Mont would have a spare $700 a game to play with and they are going to be there at the business end.
sparksy
16 Jun 2006, 20:23
why have you gone from bagging caddy to backing him
touch of class
16 Jun 2006, 20:38
ive herd from a very reliable source that saul caddy is likely to go to port melbourne colts and i also know that north wont clear him to another diamond valley team
EDFL MAN
16 Jun 2006, 20:49
ive herd from a very reliable source that saul caddy is likely to go to port melbourne colts and i also know that north wont clear him to another diamond valley team
Thats a huge call TOC, lm sure the bloke would be asking for $500+ a game!
If this is true, it would be a huge pick up for the Colts and in turn be un backable for the 2006 flag. :thumbsu:
sparksy
16 Jun 2006, 21:09
eltham will continue to chase good players,just the same as every other club does.i would be more concerned if they didnt want to improve their player depth and quality.the last time you all jumped on the eltham crowd we got a quick reminder the very next round(diamo v north)just how bad they are.anyone who runs around trying to fix up players will cop a mouthfull,because the eltham football club play within the rules of the GAME.i doubt there are many players whom have copped it from the eltham supporters that hadnt crossed the line.
Ive herd from a very reliable source that Saul caddy is likely to go to port Melbourne colts and i also know that north wont clear him to another diamond valley team
Can confirm your inside info TOC, negotiations are under way.:)