View Full Version : Diamond Valley Footy

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65

mitch_fc
10 Apr 2006, 21:34
i cant find the old thread??? is it me or is it gone...

Doona2
10 Apr 2006, 21:43
i cant find the old thread??? is it me or is it gone...

Reckon it's gone, must admit there has been a lot of rank material not even footy related on there the past few weeks - lets hope this time round the chat can remain about footy and not get too personal.

bobcobb
11 Apr 2006, 09:50
BIG FOOTY MODERATORS, three words for you SHAME,SHAME,SHAME. I certainly hope the Official DVFL thread has not been culled. I know there has been some foul behaviour on the thread, but it has been minimal. I have been apart or instigated some of it and I admit that.
Most of the banter on the thread is light hearted and some cunningly strategic towards some players or officials from rival teams.
I have been on some other threads here on big footy and they make the DVFL thread look like a church choir.

BRING BACK THE OFFICIAL DVFL THREAD :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

ifyoucandodgeawrench
11 Apr 2006, 10:43
Bring back the biff while you're at it!:thumbsu:

manmountain
11 Apr 2006, 11:08
Too many internet heroes on the old thread.

Hopefully this one is about footy only. If you disagree with someone's opinion, it is possible to state your point without calling them a stooge, questioning their parentage or suggesting their conception should have been avoided by use of oral methods.

Stick to the footy.

Tiger Champ
11 Apr 2006, 15:54
I was wondering if the DVFL will get around to picking a team of the century.

I'm sure that it would create a lot of interest around the clubs.

Anyone heard any whispers?

kanga fan man
11 Apr 2006, 15:57
yeah it would be interesting to see who would get picked in a dvfl team of the century

maybe
11 Apr 2006, 16:06

I would think that Polly Perkins would have to be the captain.

ifyoucandodgeawrench
11 Apr 2006, 16:56
I would think that Polly Perkins would have to be the captain.

Funny you say that, driving past tigerland I decided to stop in and watch them run around the park and none other than the great man himself was patrolling the forward 50. Come back of the centry or a mere case of lost contact lense..

:confused:

Footytripper
11 Apr 2006, 22:03

Kingfooty would have to be in it as well!!!!!!!

Dwight
12 Apr 2006, 10:39
At hte very lest there could be some explanination given as to why it is gone.

Just poor form. The EDFL, GVFL thread had exactly the same banter going on and they have been left to there own devices.

SHAME, SHAME, SHAME. Come out and defend yourdefl mods or forever be looked down upon by everyone on the board.

mitch_fc
12 Apr 2006, 14:37
Speaking of team of the cenurty, Tuppy Devine.

Allears
12 Apr 2006, 20:02
Kingfooty would have to be in it as well!!!!!!!

Be in it Footytripper, for god sake he is it! Just ask him, he'll tell you! :eek:

Captain, Coach, water boy, Runner and property steward, what more would you want from a superstar like him! :eek:

south_hawk
12 Apr 2006, 21:35
How does Lower Plenty look for 06? Who's looking good for them?

matchwinner
13 Apr 2006, 10:39
How does Lower Plenty look for 06? Who's looking good for them?

Still too early to tell how they're looking! Practice matches were a mixed bag, playing some very good and very bad sides, with a different mixture of players each occasion. First round against Greensborough should give a better indication. Players looking impressive, even though it's still early, are Shaw, Knee, Parsons, Elmore, Monger and Carr. Would be surprised if aren't top two or three at season's end. But long year ahead!!!

Force
13 Apr 2006, 16:05
How is Watsonia looking this year? Does anyone know?

BlueBoy41
13 Apr 2006, 16:09
yeah it would be interesting to see who would get picked in a dvfl team of the century

The DVFL administrators would be qualified to select a team of the century seeing most of them have served since 1900.

Allears
13 Apr 2006, 17:31
The DVFL administrators would be qualified to select a team of the century seeing most of them have served since 1900.

So Kingfooty wouldn't have a problem being selected for all those positions..:eek:

Great to see!

TheMadRicer
13 Apr 2006, 20:07
Speaking to a bloke who follows west of High St last year. He said he nominated for League Presidency at a delegates meeting a few years ago. Didn't get it and was then promptly voted off the board by the Dad's Army. There are many stories like this.
If the DV had it's way, players would still use the place kick for shots at goal.

Tiger Champ
14 Apr 2006, 12:01
Speaking of team of the cenurty, Tuppy Devine.

I would go along with that .A great player.

Also Johnny Elliott-Diamond Creek. He won 3 smith medals.

WRFLfan
14 Apr 2006, 12:11
How will Northcote go this year? have they had an loses or gains?

mitch_fc
15 Apr 2006, 12:40
Still too early to tell how they're looking! Practice matches were a mixed bag, playing some very good and very bad sides, with a different mixture of players each occasion. First round against Greensborough should give a better indication. Players looking impressive, even though it's still early, are Shaw, Knee, Parsons, Elmore, Monger and Carr. Would be surprised if aren't top two or three at season's end. But long year ahead!!!

One can only agree.... the 2's are in safe hands.

blueboys06
15 Apr 2006, 14:18
Mitch i think Lower Plenty is an absolute toilet of a club. Why would anyone want to play or be involved there? The ground is a disgrace for a start, i remember when Mark Roberts used to play there and he would grab the ball out of the ruck, take three steps and kick a goal from the centre! Its was an absolute joke, you can't take any footy played there seriously. Everytime i played there we would have a much better side by a street than Lower (this also showed out by the ladder positions at the end of the year) but the games would always be closer than the poundings dished out at other venues, simply because the ball would be bottled up time after time making it impossible for any decent footy to be played. I also read your posting where you say that you're an "underpaid local footballer", well didn't that make me laugh, i think you should be grateful you're playing at a club that is crap enough to even give you a game because i guarantee you all the other clubs in the DVFL look at the Lower blokes and laugh becuase you wouldn't get a game anywhere else my friend, so just take your minimum wage and thank someone you're getting picked every week!

steviewonder36
15 Apr 2006, 20:18
I would go along with that .A great player.

Also Johnny Elliott-Diamond Creek. He won 3 smith medals.

What era did he play?

I cant remember the name, being following Diamo for almost 30 years now.

mitch_fc
16 Apr 2006, 13:42
Mitch i think Lower Plenty is an absolute toilet of a club. Why would anyone want to play or be involved there? The ground is a disgrace for a start, i remember when Mark Roberts used to play there and he would grab the ball out of the ruck, take three steps and kick a goal from the centre! Its was an absolute joke, you can't take any footy played there seriously. Everytime i played there we would have a much better side by a street than Lower (this also showed out by the ladder positions at the end of the year) but the games would always be closer than the poundings dished out at other venues, simply because the ball would be bottled up time after time making it impossible for any decent footy to be played. I also read your posting where you say that you're an "underpaid local footballer", well didn't that make me laugh, i think you should be grateful you're playing at a club that is crap enough to even give you a game because i guarantee you all the other clubs in the DVFL look at the Lower blokes and laugh becuase you wouldn't get a game anywhere else my friend, so just take your minimum wage and thank someone you're getting picked every week!

what u say about games being closer than they should be is a joke.... Lower Plenty Football ground is home of the BLOW OUT result. u can be still in the game, then get done by 10 goals, because its so high scoring.

the ground has a beautiful surface, and the extension to the rooms is good. It is too small, but so is Hursty, Sth Morang and probably a few other grounds.

I will give back my minimum wage, that was a joke. i would play for Lower for free, because the days of trying to buy success are gone,and we have a very promising young group of players, who love playing for the club and along side each other.

Also we are a far better looking bunch of blokes than any other club...

matchwinner
16 Apr 2006, 13:47

What are you so bitter and twisted about??? Don't you like the ground because you actually have to get a hard ball and earn a kick, rather than running around in the open spaces by yourself. What do you suggest they do? Knock down the fence and add some grass around the sides?? It my be worth noting that Montmorency's oval is only marginally bigger than Lower's!!!

Tiger Champ
16 Apr 2006, 13:49
What era did he play?

I cant remember the name, being following Diamo for almost 30 years now.

Johnny Elliott came from Prahan in the Vfa approximately in the late 50's.
He played with Jinks Heddle, Charlie Wanhope,Darky Roberts and many other good players.Billy Rose Ex Collingwood,Bobby Roses brother took over from him in approx 1958.

blueboys06
17 Apr 2006, 11:59
Don't you like the ground because you actually have to get a hard ball and earn a kick, rather than running around in the open spaces by yourself.

A hard ball at Lower Plenty? you're kidding aren't you, there is no such thing, that is the problem with the place! And i take your point about Montmorency's ground, yes it is only marginally bigger, but its still big enough. At Lower you may as well take out the half forward line and half back line because they are just not needed. Even a quick kick out of the middle is straight over the CHF head and the forward 50 (or 35 as it is) is just far too crowded making it an extremely frustrating game to play in and an even more frustraing game to watch! I can't even imagine what it would be like for the coaches!
Mitch says that Lower is the home of the blow out, well thats only because eventually the cream rises to the top and sides run all over them but Lower really should start using the ground to their advantage particularly agaisnt sides that they cant compete with normally.
I have played in and watched quite a few games at Lower where they flood back massively, crowd it up and simply prevent the opposition from scoring. And there is nothing the opposition can really do about it because its ball up after ball up boring footy, but at the end of the day it makes it close on the scoreboard.

matchwinner
17 Apr 2006, 17:59
A hard ball at Lower Plenty? you're kidding aren't you, there is no such thing, that is the problem with the place! And i take your point about Montmorency's ground, yes it is only marginally bigger, but its still big enough. At Lower you may as well take out the half forward line and half back line because they are just not needed. Even a quick kick out of the middle is straight over the CHF head and the forward 50 (or 35 as it is) is just far too crowded making it an extremely frustrating game to play in and an even more frustraing game to watch! I can't even imagine what it would be like for the coaches!
Mitch says that Lower is the home of the blow out, well thats only because eventually the cream rises to the top and sides run all over them but Lower really should start using the ground to their advantage particularly agaisnt sides that they cant compete with normally.
I have played in and watched quite a few games at Lower where they flood back massively, crowd it up and simply prevent the opposition from scoring. And there is nothing the opposition can really do about it because its ball up after ball up boring footy, but at the end of the day it makes it close on the scoreboard.

I'm sure it is easy for you to get stuck into Lower as a club, but in their short history in the Diamond Valley they haven't done too bad. They stayed up in first division longer than almost any other club at their first crack in that division. Whilst they didn't haven't any major success in divi 1, in their time up there they were able to beat every club at least once. I'm sure they will learn from the experience in the future. There haven't been too many clubs in recent times who can go straight up from 2nd division and compete with Heidelberg, North Heidelberg, Bundoora and Mont, so I wouldn't be too critical. Plus they have only just developed an associaton with a junior club. Another disadvantage they had. Sure the ground's not the MCG, but what do you suggest they do?

blueboys06
17 Apr 2006, 18:27
Mate, i agree with what you say, maybe i was a little harsh initially. The only thing i would suggest is to get back to Div 2 put your heads down and get back up asap for another crack. I know you said the ground's not the MCG but thats all the more reason to use it to your advantage because i can tell you other sides don't enjoy playing there simply because it makes them play a style that isn't suited to them. You'll find the top sides in Div 1 like to play a certain brand of footy and at Lower that style is impossible to pull off.

Dwight
18 Apr 2006, 17:01
Finally, after a very long summer it begins. What are eveyones thoughts for the weekend?

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 12:17
Finally, after a very long summer it begins. What are eveyones thoughts for the weekend?

It is going to be an interesting start to say the least...

I think we are going to have to many injuries to key players for us to really have a huge impact on our game at Bundoora... We are waiting until the last minute to finalise our line up, I know that much.

MACDAICOS
19 Apr 2006, 12:34
North to go back to back boys............... :)

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 12:41
North to go back to back boys............... :)

I agree with you there Daics...:thumbsu:

MACDAICOS
19 Apr 2006, 12:46
I agree with you there Daics...:thumbsu:
Get on board boys........................

http://www.northheidelberg.com/

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 12:50
Get on board boys........................

http://www.northheidelberg.com/

Im going down to watch a few of my mates that play down there on Sunday...

Do you know if Kingy is going to play? He was pretty sore last Thursday.

touch of class
19 Apr 2006, 13:05
yeah should be a good game sunday hopefully not 1 sided just a quick qusetion daicos how are the 19s at north looking this year they should have a fair team this year

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 13:12
yeah should be a good game sunday hopefully not 1 sided just a quick qusetion daicos how are the 19s at north looking this year they should have a fair team this year

How are you blokes looking TOC???

touch of class
19 Apr 2006, 13:16
if we can keep everyone fit and have best 21 on the ground for most of the year we should improve a lot on last year but to know how far we can go only time will tell but we should put up a good contest for the doggies in what is always a big game for both clubs

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 13:23
if we can keep everyone fit and have best 21 on the ground for most of the year we should improve a lot on last year but to know how far we can go only time will tell but we should put up a good contest for the doggies in what is always a big game for both clubs

Yeah I dont mind the Cougars, always go into the rooms after a game for a pot or 3....

I think your right to mate, with your best side I can see you improving alot from last year. Its all about keeping your cattle on the park. You guys had a pretty s h i t year with injury. OOze was on one leg when we played down at Westgarth St last June, Kaelun Brown was 16 and was playing like a 200 gamer...

One of the clubs that at least have an eye on the future. Good luck :thumbsu:

MACDAICOS
19 Apr 2006, 13:36
Im going down to watch a few of my mates that play down there on Sunday...

Do you know if Kingy is going to play? He was pretty sore last Thursday.
Not too sure mate, One of the brothers is having a trial at Coburg in the V.F.L I know that........

MACDAICOS
19 Apr 2006, 13:37
19's by all reports will be strong again...............

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 13:43
Not too sure mate, One of the brothers is having a trial at Coburg in the V.F.L I know that........

Yeah that is Jake, but Jarrod is still at the Kennel and was cleaned up a beauty in their last practice match, and he was unsure if he would be right for the 1st game...

Jake was BOG at coburg last week, and has impressed all Summer.

Barts
19 Apr 2006, 13:49
Yeah that is Jake, but Jarrod is still at the Kennel and was cleaned up a beauty in their last practice match, and he was unsure if he would be right for the 1st game...

Giveyathemail, just wondering on the name of a player from lalor, the big african bloke, during your praccy game against east keilor, he was runner, and i was told he is a good player. Keep a look out for his progress this year. Sounds a interesting story how he came over.

MACDAICOS
19 Apr 2006, 13:56

Jake could do a Andrew Lovett who surprisely enough is another lad from the Kennell.........who failed in the TAC U/18's and blossomed later!

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 13:57
Giveyathemail, just wondering on the name of a player from lalor, the big african bloke, during your praccy game against east keilor, he was runner, and i was told he is a good player. Keep a look out for his progress this year. Sounds a interesting story how he came over.

His name is Wade Olowinyi, he is very handy mate and very very tough. He played in our 91 premiership side, has dabbled in boxing and kickboxing and made a reurn to our 2s last year, only to break his collarbone the week before the preliminary final.

I will keep you posted on how he goes throughout the year...

Cheers :thumbsu:

MACDAICOS
19 Apr 2006, 13:59
His name is Wade Olowinyi, he is very handy mate and very very tough. He played in our 91 premiership side, has dabbled in boxing and kickboxing and made a reurn to our 2s last year, only to break his collarbone the week before the preliminary final.

I will keep you posted on how he goes throughout the year...

Cheers :thumbsu:
Is Stevie Marshall fit this year? Is Dasha going around again?

joshooaa
19 Apr 2006, 17:18
who won the Lalor vs Silvan praccy match?
Any other prac match resulsts from the past couple of weeks? Epping vs
W Preston?

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 17:41
Is Stevie Marshall fit this year? Is Dasha going around again?

Soppa done his hammy 2 weeks ago against Silvan and will miss at least 2. And yeah Dash is going around again, he is going along great guns. 37 this year Dash, approaching his 300th...

Giveyathemail
19 Apr 2006, 17:51
who won the Lalor vs Silvan praccy match?
Any other prac match resulsts from the past couple of weeks? Epping vs
W Preston?

It was a 6 qtr game in which we played most of our guys in a rotating system for 4 or 5 qtrs... We won the 1st 3 qtrs and they won the last 3.
3 or 4 of their blokes decided they wanted to go the whack in the 3rd term and at half time lets just say that the boys flew the flag and those 3 or 4 culprits were unable to return for the last 3 qtrs, in which some really good footy by both sides was played.

Wayde Petersen
19 Apr 2006, 19:16
Is anybody here play for (or support) Bundoora ?, if so, can you please tell me how Tommy Felle's been going over at the Bunnies this season ?, has he been training well ?, and do you think he'll kick arse in Division One ?, (well, I hope so anyway, as he's my cousin), and who looks good in Division One this season ?.

And also, how's Division Two looking for this season ?, I know Mernda's lost a couple of players but they've gained a thirds side, has anyone else recruited well ? (Whittlesea, South Morang, Reservoir, etc) and will Greensborough finally win the flag this season (although I hope that Mernda beats them to it), and how's Panton Hill travelling ?.

So many questions ;) ?.

kanga fan man
19 Apr 2006, 20:33
Is anybody here play for (or support) Bundoora ?, if so, can you please tell me how Tommy Felle's been going over at the Bunnies this season ?, has he been training well ?, and do you think he'll kick arse in Division One ?, (well, I hope so anyway, as he's my cousin), and who looks good in Division One this season ?.

And also, how's Division Two looking for this season ?, I know Mernda's lost a couple of players but they've gained a thirds side, has anyone else recruited well ? (Whittlesea, South Morang, Reservoir, etc) and will Greensborough finally win the flag this season (although I hope that Mernda beats them to it), and how's Panton Hill travelling ?.

So many questions ;) ?.

just to answer about tommy few mates at bundoora said he didnt train much and that he has gone back to mernda...

Giveyathemail
20 Apr 2006, 12:08
just to answer about tommy few mates at bundoora said he didnt train much and that he has gone back to mernda...

I reckon Tommy wouldve found Divvy 1 a bit much, wouldnt have had the same impact as he has at Mernda.

kanga fan man
21 Apr 2006, 11:26
oh well guys one more sleep till dvfl starts, carnt wait, hopefully the bloods will get over the bunnies, but were still missing a few from our top 22 but should b a good game.
other winners, mont over epping, burgers over panthers, doggies over parkers on sunday and i reckon creek will get over wpl creeks grounds always hard to play on i reckon

touch of class
21 Apr 2006, 11:28
bundoora monty wpl heidleberg northcote park but only cause thats my team

Giveyathemail
21 Apr 2006, 12:11
oh well guys one more sleep till dvfl starts, carnt wait, hopefully the bloods will get over the bunnies, but were still missing a few from our top 22 but should b a good game.
other winners, mont over epping, burgers over panthers, doggies over parkers on sunday and i reckon creek will get over wpl creeks grounds always hard to play on i reckon

Same boat as us Kanga... they have a huge home ground advantage and it wouldnt surprise me if Creek got up.

AJ ZUB
21 Apr 2006, 12:27

So many questions ;) ?.
Why does everyone love the boro so much? Tomorrow will see one of the youngest sides ever seen at the slime. Apparently Whittlesea have recruited fairly well.

Giveyathemail
21 Apr 2006, 12:39
Why does everyone love the boro so much? Tomorrow will see one of the youngest sides ever seen at the slime. Apparently Whittlesea have recruited fairly well.

Cant stand Greensborough... Love seeing them struggle.

Apparantly Watsonia and Macleod have recruited the best out of everyone....

Thomastown walked over Reservoir 2 weeks ago by 8 goals, I think Resa have run their race. Obviously Lower and Boro will be the benchmark, Mernda (the biggest bridesmaids since the sheila out of Shallow Hal) can win 18 games and still go out in straight sets. Morang lost players they needed to keep, Thomo and Wallan to be the improvers...

Divvy 2 will be closer this year than it has been for 10 years.

bronco27
21 Apr 2006, 16:41
just wondering if anyone knows if an old mate still playing who I have'nt seen in a while s.taylor last I herd he was playing for resivor.was a pretty good football player in his younger days.

bibi01
21 Apr 2006, 17:05
just wondering if anyone knows if an old mate still playing who I have'nt seen in a while s.taylor last I herd he was playing for resivor.was a pretty good football player in his younger days.
he is still at reservoir, didn't play much last year.

melbdocker
21 Apr 2006, 19:02
just on the mernda thing its fair to say they never were the best or 2nd best side last yr they lost to the borough and creek by 10 goals during the season and then the same in the finals good club all in all though

this week bulls, berg, mont, north, and creek hopefully in div 2 wallan, siders, west, watsi, mernda, sth, slime, hillers

Wayde Petersen
22 Apr 2006, 21:41
Thanks for the replies fellas. As far as Tommy Felle's concerned, i'm glad he's back at Mernda (i'm not much of a fan of the Bunnies BTW), not only because of the strong family connection with the club, but sooner or later Mernda will know how to win finals matches.

I know Mernda got done against Whittlesea, but we'll get better, and Panton Hill also got done.

melbdocker
23 Apr 2006, 00:27
look i am not gunna harp on it still along way from staying up in the big grade but just wanna say for all u doubters go to dvfooty.com and check out the scores from the creek wpl game and see the way the fought back after being 5 goals down and i wanna here some replies from all u blokes who said we wouldnt win a game and wouldnt get with in 10 goals of the 2nd worst side

2cups
23 Apr 2006, 17:05
look i am not gunna harp on it still along way from staying up in the big grade but just wanna say for all u doubters go to dvfooty.com and check out the scores from the creek wpl game and see the way the fought back after being 5 goals down and i wanna here some replies from all u blokes who said we wouldnt win a game and wouldnt get with in 10 goals of the 2nd worst side
i see that adrian baker has gone back to his old club and kicked four.
does anyone know how much impact he will have this year, as when he went to the bush, he kicked 100, 4 times. can he go near that?

GOONA
23 Apr 2006, 19:00
does anyone know how much impact he will have this year, as when he went to the bush, he kicked 100, 4 times. can he go near that?
I wouldn't think so. He's a great player but I'm not sure how many opportunities he will get in a game. If he could kick around 50-60 that would be a great return. Also saw that Northcote Park only got done by a point at North Heidelberg. Pretty good result by them. Should be fairly competitive this year on that performance. Does anyone know if BJ played? Didn't seem to get a mention on the net in the goalkickers or the best.

Doona2
23 Apr 2006, 20:50
See Wallan posted a first up victory, who were the better players Goona?

captain boyd
23 Apr 2006, 20:52
mont/epping match

i know that it is only one game but gee i liked the look of mont with the new look 1-2 punch up forward!

also have to say that epping did not look too bad.it looked like they had a very young and light team but i would think a spot around 6-7 will see them out this year

mitch_fc
23 Apr 2006, 21:32
Lower vs Greensy was a good match. as a Bear I'd say we controlled the match, but let greensy get away with a 6 goal streak in the 3rd which cost us the game. gunna be a few great battles between the 2 sides this year i believe.

Coach Hollywood
24 Apr 2006, 14:36
Good win by Creek, may suprise a few sides in Div 1 this year? I think Montmorency could go very close this year! Wallan & Heidelberg West have more chance then Mernda winning the flag this year, they could both be smokey's for finals? The Hillers have lost alot of good players from last year and haven't picked up enough to get them into the finals again. My finals predictions are: Div1 -North Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Montmorency, Northcote Park. Div2 - Greensborough, Lower Plenty, Macleod, Hurstbridge, Reservoir, Whittlesea. HW & Wallan to just miss out or scrape in? Thoughts anyone?

dannydickfos99
24 Apr 2006, 15:43
Good win by Creek, may suprise a few sides in Div 1 this year? I think Montmorency could go very close this year! Wallan & Heidelberg West have more chance then Mernda winning the flag this year, they could both be smokey's for finals? The Hillers have lost alot of good players from last year and haven't picked up enough to get them into the finals again. My finals predictions are: Div1 -North Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Montmorency, Northcote Park. Div2 - Greensborough, Lower Plenty, Macleod, Hurstbridge, Reservoir, Whittlesea. HW & Wallan to just miss out or scrape in? Thoughts anyone? herd big things about these james boys from west heidelberg, i know matt has been around but do you know anything about luke?

ppnp
24 Apr 2006, 17:12
Yeah mate, Luke's Matty's nephew. Good footballer and top bloke, played with the blowies last year after crossing from Strathmore. Similar size and player to Matty. Had about 40 touches against us (Parkside) last year
mherd big things about these james boys from west heidelberg, i know matt has been around but do you know anything about luke?

melbdocker
24 Apr 2006, 22:07
lets not get to carried away wit heid west yet they did lose to parkside in a pracy match a few weeks ago and only beat fawkner park, however look like they have picked up the goods wit matt pow kicking 10.

wallan have been making steady progress for the last few yrs and i know they wont say it but i reckon they would be mighty disapointed if they didnt make the finals just a shame they couldnt keep the likes of heath ayres, blake holmes and harley ryan they would be unstopable in div 2

kanga fan man
24 Apr 2006, 22:15
melbdocker:

thas a good win for the creek boys, its always hard to play at that ground hopefully they win a few more games,

we played bundoora and started off slow then we got back into in last half , first time most of players played together with ppl being unavalible for preseason games and with a few more to come back i think we should go very good this yr, well i hope we do

sparksy
25 Apr 2006, 20:05
great stuff by the creekers,cant remember last team that had a first up win in div 1(i know im going to get told).panther supporter myself and looking forward to catching up with quite a few cocky diamo heads on saturday at our :D:D:D:Dhole.goodluck and enjoy.

Giveyathemail
26 Apr 2006, 12:10
great stuff by the creekers,cant remember last team that had a first up win in div 1(i know im going to get told).panther supporter myself and looking forward to catching up with quite a few cocky diamo heads on saturday at our :D:D:D:Dhole.goodluck and enjoy.

I picked Creek to beat WPL, as did a few others on here... Lalor won first up last year against Lower, but it hasnt been done to often.

Giveyathemail
26 Apr 2006, 12:13
melbdocker:

thas a good win for the creek boys, its always hard to play at that ground hopefully they win a few more games,

we played bundoora and started off slow then we got back into in last half , first time most of players played together with ppl being unavalible for preseason games and with a few more to come back i think we should go very good this yr, well i hope we do

Yeah I think it showed too Kanga, along with a couple of early injuries that didnt help our cause.... we can only get better with the return of a few blokes and a bit more run in the legs.

Did it hard Saturday night too, how did your knee pull up?

Travvy43
26 Apr 2006, 13:18

Bakes is getting on a bit but still has a lot to offer. Very strong in a one on one marking contest and has the ability to read the play and break for leads at the right time.

Does anyone know if the Fanua's played for West Preston on the weekend?

kanga fan man
26 Apr 2006, 13:55
yeah one of the brothers got reported fot striking and kneeing not sure which one though, seen it on the dvfl website..

gytm it was a good nite saturday , knee has pulled up a bit sore.

how do u reckon all the new boys went?

melbdocker
26 Apr 2006, 16:29
yeah T.Fonua played i think he got sent off or someone did he was listening to his ipod in the warm up and when shan loagan was raising the flag from memory looked like he could play abit

Brutal
26 Apr 2006, 19:14

No doubt alot of people would have said that Diamo would probably get walloped, but if you look at sides like WPL, Epping, Eltham they have lost some quality players and in the case of WPL and Epping have not picked much up if anything of quality. so luckily for Diamo it will probably shape up as one of best times to be the promoted side to div 1 as a couple of strugglers from last season are probably weaker. Just for the record, spoke to a former Epping coach on Sunday, he reckons from what he saw on Saturday at Mont, Epping will get relegated.

whitelinefeva
26 Apr 2006, 19:20
How is Watsonia looking this year? Does anyone know?

Very good, a lot of new faces by the look of things. Wouldn't take the results from the weekend too seriously either. Apparently they have plenty of guys to come back into the team.

Looks lie a young bunch too, which is very good for a club who have struggled through recent years.

Giveyathemail
27 Apr 2006, 12:20
yeah one of the brothers got reported fot striking and kneeing not sure which one though, seen it on the dvfl website..

gytm it was a good nite saturday , knee has pulled up a bit sore.

how do u reckon all the new boys went?

I was happy mate, once we get all the cattle on the park we will be sweet.

Be interesting to see how we go in this week... I hear its supposed to rain, and they have alot of medium sized players. I heard Bails will be given a spell....

Giveyathemail
27 Apr 2006, 12:23
No doubt alot of people would have said that Diamo would probably get walloped, but if you look at sides like WPL, Epping, Eltham they have lost some quality players and in the case of WPL and Epping have not picked much up if anything of quality. so luckily for Diamo it will probably shape up as one of best times to be the promoted side to div 1 as a couple of strugglers from last season are probably weaker. Just for the record, spoke to a former Epping coach on Sunday, he reckons from what he saw on Saturday at Mont, Epping will get relegated.

I have no doubt Epping will be relegated this year...

Force
27 Apr 2006, 15:25
Very good, a lot of new faces by the look of things. Wouldn't take the results from the weekend too seriously either. Apparently they have plenty of guys to come back into the team.

Looks lie a young bunch too, which is very good for a club who have struggled through recent years.

Yeah I heard that they had picked up some good players from a few divvy 1 clubs.

I also heard there was about 4-5 very good players who werent available for the 1st round so I guess that will make a big change when they come in. Its good to hear things are finally on the improve for Watsonia.

melbdocker
27 Apr 2006, 20:32
after getting 9 last week this week my tips are creek, berg, mont, north and the bulls in div 2 wallan, siders, lower, eagles, macleod, slime, west, watsy

Dwight
28 Apr 2006, 12:24
More mubmlings of Justin Murphy going back to Marby.

From what I hear garbage. Debuted last week got tagged all day and had about 5-10 kicks but about 15-20 handballs. Will take time to get in the groove. Also was very happy that a few of his teamates give him a chop after some verbal from the Panthers.

Eltham not that impressed with the Burgers. Got within 3 goals before going down by almost ten. Can any one confirm this?

Giveyathemail
28 Apr 2006, 12:39

From what I hear garbage. Debuted last week got tagged all day and had about 5-10 kicks but about 15-20 handballs. Will take time to get in the groove. Also was very happy that a few of his teamates give him a chop after some verbal from the Panthers.

Eltham not that impressed with the Burgers. Got within 3 goals before going down by almost ten. Can any one confirm this?

I did hear that Eltham looked impressive, which kind of suprised me cause they are one team I thought may struggle with the losses they had. Eltham being a young side may have been slightly intinmidated by Murphy, but I can assure you that wont be the case tomorrow...

Looking forward to it.

Mr Rule
28 Apr 2006, 13:26
saw monty v epping on satdy and gee monty look strong!! They are a fast moving side with very good depth and talent.. alot of new blokes to watch out for.. Gutterson, Cuthberston, ottens a few others.. n they have alot of new young blokes.. Boglis,neil,constance,morales. I think top 2 finish for monty this year for sure.. any1 else see the game??? any thoughts???

Giveyathemail
28 Apr 2006, 13:37
saw monty v epping on satdy and gee monty look strong!! They are a fast moving side with very good depth and talent.. alot of new blokes to watch out for.. Gutterson, Cuthberston, ottens a few others.. n they have alot of new young blokes.. Boglis,neil,constance,morales. I think top 2 finish for monty this year for sure.. any1 else see the game??? any thoughts???

I didnt mate, but dont forget Epping are odds on to finish dead last in 2006, so of course Mont looked good. Did Pepyat and Cesari play?

Mont have a great start to the year, but their last 5 games are against North, Heidelberg, Lalor, Bundoora and Northcote Park. Thats a hard run home.

Mr Rule
28 Apr 2006, 13:41
pepyat did but no ceseri.. from memory i think he is still suspened.

Giveyathemail
28 Apr 2006, 13:52
pepyat did but no ceseri.. from memory i think he is still suspened.

Ok.. Mont look to be a hard running side though this year with the guys they have recruited. I found that against us (Lalor) last year, that was where they let themselves down, just no run off half back, and kind of stagnant through the midfield.

Was it a big pre season @ Para Rd???

ifyoucandodgeawrench
28 Apr 2006, 14:16
Giveya' - What are you blokes going to do tomorrow to take home the chocolates?

sparksy
28 Apr 2006, 19:34

panthers were down by 20 half way through the 3rd and the burgers were doing thier usual,kick it to me im the most important player here.eltham wont scare the top teams,but they wont be the worst either.

whitelinefeva
30 Apr 2006, 16:14
Ok.. Mont look to be a hard running side though this year with the guys they have recruited. I found that against us (Lalor) last year, that was where they let themselves down, just no run off half back, and kind of stagnant through the midfield.

Was it a big pre season @ Para Rd???

Believe it was a decent pre-season. Cesari played reserves so obviously not suspended. Had an interrupted pre-season, could be the reason he didn't play seniors.

Giveyathemail
1 May 2006, 12:51
Giveya' - What are you blokes going to do tomorrow to take home the chocolates?

I didnt say anything about getting the chocalates, but I was confident we could close them down a bit better. Heidelberg was prepared to run harder, work for each other and it showed in the end. We were undisiplined, unaccountable and lazy, plain and simple. Heidelberg were fantastic, Murphy was good, Stingas disposal (especially his delivery into the forward line) was first rate and they were much fitter than us. We do have blokes to come into the side still, but thats no excuse. We were beaten by a better team on the day. Although Heidelberg arent as physical as other sides, their run, their use of the ball and their willingness to make every contest is first rate.

matchwinner
1 May 2006, 13:18
I didnt say anything about getting the chocalates, but I was confident we could close them down a bit better. Heidelberg was prepared to run harder, work for each other and it showed in the end. We were undisiplined, unaccountable and lazy, plain and simple. Heidelberg were fantastic, Murphy was good, Stingas disposal (especially his delivery into the forward line) was first rate and they were much fitter than us. We do have blokes to come into the side still, but thats no excuse. We were beaten by a better team on the day. Although Heidelberg arent as physical as other sides, their run, their use of the ball and their willingness to make every contest is first rate.

I have no association with Heidelberg, but have thought that you've been a bit critical of them previously, considering their form in recent seasons. It is good to hear that you are humble in defeat though and willing to offer the opposition praise.

Giveyathemail
1 May 2006, 13:35
I have no association with Heidelberg, but have thought that you've been a bit critical of them previously, considering their form in recent seasons. It is good to hear that you are humble in defeat though and willing to offer the opposition praise.

I may not like them much Matchwinner, but you gotta give credit where its due. They played well and we allowed ourselves to be outplayed and outsmarted by a far more commited side.

I totally agree with you though, I am rather critical of them, as I am with Bundoora. The reason for this though Matchwinner, is because success where I come from happens on that big day at the end of September. Granted they have been outstanding in the home and away season for 6 or 7 years, but have only taken 1 cup back to Burgundy St in that time. Id be rather disappointed in that as a player, sponsor or supporter, especially with how much coin goes into the place.

Some people may agree with me, some may not. But they were very cohesive on Saturday, and their win was well deserved.:thumbsu:

ifyoucandodgeawrench
1 May 2006, 13:38

I second that. AS an interested on looker I noticed the bloods and crowd focused a little too much on Murphy. He's no doubt a great player and will at times run away with a game but Heidelberg are stacked with talent around the ground and have a number of damaging players that we all need to be aware of.

Givya, what did you think about the rasict comments late in the fourth? :thumbsd:

kanga fan man
1 May 2006, 13:45
I second that. AS an interested on looker I noticed the bloods and crowd focused a little too much on Murphy. He's no doubt a great player and will at times run away with a game but Heidelberg are stacked with talent around the ground and have a number of damaging players that we all need to be aware of.

Givya, what did you think about the rasict comments late in the fourth? :thumbsd:

didnt hear no racist comments in the fourth, murphy is a good player but he cops it alot from aborignal people

Giveyathemail
1 May 2006, 13:56

In regards to the side, they are stacked with talent no doubt about it, Blokes like Haydock, Lowther, Williams and to an extent Micky Gay slip under your guard now and then because you just cant cover them all. Someone always bobs up and plays well, even if one bloke is having a shocker, they seem to cover it well. In regards to the racist stuff, it was actually said by a person of the same race. Apparantly there were a few people disappointed in that, but each to their own. Id rather not comment.