View Full Version : Vic Metro

Tigerprawn
11 Apr 2006, 21:32
Who do you think will be in the Vic sides?
and when do they get invited down to trails?

Sezzac1
11 Apr 2006, 23:42
Who do you think will be in the Vic sides?
and when do they get invited down to trails?

You will need a crystal ball. I will nominate Dawes from Sandy. Long, Allen and Gazzo from Calder but after that, who knows. 7 or 8 from NK according to rumors.

Chandra
13 Apr 2006, 22:17
You will need a crystal ball. I will nominate Dawes from Sandy. Long, Allen and Gazzo from Calder but after that, who knows. 7 or 8 from NK according to rumors.

I think after watching the battle between Sandy's, Dawes and Ranges Skipper, Troy Wright last week they will both be in the squad.

BlueBoy41
14 Apr 2006, 01:37

I second the nomination of Long from Calder... looked a polished midfielder in the clash against Oakleigh at Coburg. But, as we saw in the final term of that match, a player's season can end in an instant. Just ask Chargers fullback James Murrie. A bit early to make calls about state reps, don't you think?

juDDa
14 Apr 2006, 19:51
the carnival isnt is suprisingly close.. trials wont be too far away...

HBF
15 Apr 2006, 16:29
Mojo31..??

farlap winner
17 Apr 2006, 22:01
I'm counting on four boys being invited from Sandringham Dragons

footyman
17 Apr 2006, 22:39
Four weeks until the trial game. Plenty of time left for players to show their worth.

Whatever they come up with for the Vic Metro side will no doubt be competitive as usual, but I wonder if it will have the same controversy that it did last year.

Bengal Tiger
17 Apr 2006, 23:05
the same controversy that it did last year.

Refresh my aging memory Footyman.

Apart from a couple of injured players having to pull out at the last minute I can't remember any particular controversy for Vic Metro.

johnson_26
17 Apr 2006, 23:10
i think its because people in the media were scrutinizing david dickson for taking the best team to nationals rather than the one which is super quick and full of athletes which could run 15 beeps etc. They had 12 guys under 180cm, which isn't 'good' for the 'development' of the game- thats was the stupid debate that aroused from the media. Clearly Dickson's philosphy was spot on, and subsequently he proved the doubters wrong- smashing the competition by winning yet another nationals. Again, another time and resource wasting whinge over nothing.

Bengal Tiger
17 Apr 2006, 23:12
Thanks Johno.

footyman
17 Apr 2006, 23:33
As Johnno said, I think it was Stibbard from the Kangaroos who made some comments about the Vic Metro squad. Some of the issues to arise from it were arguments about development v winning and whether the squad should be chosen in consultation with the AFL recruiting managers. And I know at the time it got plenty of talk happening on Bigfooty and through the media.

Weaver
18 Apr 2006, 09:00
... and then all the players that Dickson apparantly 'missed' went on to get drafted didn't they? Maybe not.

This year could see the same controversy. Lots and lots and lots of rovers around this year but very few flanker / wing / centreman / ruck-rover types.

I imagine this board will get all hot under the collar because there is a real chance that only 1 or 2 of Gazzo, Caruso, Anderson, Johnston, Adams etc will make the team.

Probably be a year when a handfull of tall midfielders make the team on a coach's hunch and not form.

Either that of Metro will have to use Country's old trick and field a mosquito fleet which will get the scouts irate.

Also Metro will need at least one very tall defender to match-up on Gumbleton and Sellars (and Hansen if he plays forward). Most of the tall defenders this year seem to be in that 187-191cm range which might not be big enough. So there might be a left-field FB selection as well. Me might see a few 'ruckmen' playing in defence in the TAC Cup over the next 6 weeks.

J_RM
26 Apr 2006, 22:36
who are the boys from oakleigh and northern that will be possibly trying out?

juliand
26 Apr 2006, 23:04
who are the boys from oakleigh and northern that will be possibly trying out?

i was sitting behind dickson and his oversider on (Burns) at the jets vs cannons game. he had his footy record and he counted 14 names from northern that are in the squad so far. I wish i could have got the record.But one bit of advice for all you players out there. You will not make the squad if you cannot hit a target and i believe that 1 Bachar Houli will make the team because after one of his handballs (that was 2 mins too quick for his teamate)Dickson said that he is too good for this level and really should be playing in the VFL as his skills and decision making dont suit his teamates and knowledge for under 18's and cant wait for him to play championships and kick a bag of goals from a forward pocket.

Dogga88
27 Apr 2006, 09:52
i was sitting behind dickson and his oversider on (Burns) at the jets vs cannons game. he had his footy record and he counted 14 names from northern that are in the squad so far. I wish i could have got the record.But one bit of advice for all you players out there. You will not make the squad if you cannot hit a target and i believe that 1 Bachar Houli will make the team because after one of his handballs (that was 2 mins too quick for his teamate)Dickson said that he is too good for this level and really should be playing in the VFL as his skills and decision making dont suit his teamates and knowledge for under 18's and cant wait for him to play championships and kick a bag of goals from a forward pocket.

Thats pretty harsh. Did he mean only for the Jets players or the general TAC comp? Did Dickson say neone else from Calder or Western?

HighFlyers
27 Apr 2006, 11:23
Thats pretty harsh. Did he mean only for the Jets players or the general TAC comp? Did Dickson say neone else from Calder or Western?

It is, maybe he was just took quick for his team mate? I would like to say after their performance in the calder game Jenkins and Lyons would be shoe in.

harry 0
27 Apr 2006, 11:31
The Vic Metro production line should be a real worry for the AFL. You look at the potential top 30 for the AFL draft this year and there could be 3/4 each from Qld and Tassie, Sellars and Gibbs could be top 3 from SA, WA could have at least 8 in the top 30 and the best 2 prospects from Victoria are from Vic Country (Hansen and Selwood). Perhaps the AFL should be putting as much emphasis on developing the heartland of Vic Metro as it does on developing markets. The production line of stand out talents from Vic Metro seems to have declined dramatically over the last 2-3 years. They will still be competitive in the Under 18 Champs due to more time training together than the other teams, but it is an issue that needs to be addressed.

Lingsface
27 Apr 2006, 18:29
The Vic Metro production line should be a real worry for the AFL. You look at the potential top 30 for the AFL draft this year and there could be 3/4 each from Qld and Tassie, Sellars and Gibbs could be top 3 from SA, WA could have at least 8 in the top 30 and the best 2 prospects from Victoria are from Vic Country (Hansen and Selwood). Perhaps the AFL should be putting as much emphasis on developing the heartland of Vic Metro as it does on developing markets. The production line of stand out talents from Vic Metro seems to have declined dramatically over the last 2-3 years. They will still be competitive in the Under 18 Champs due to more time training together than the other teams, but it is an issue that needs to be addressed.
maybe vic metro wont have the best player every year (even though they did last year) its good to see people are being more open minded about interstate players and not just looking in victoria all the time, in daniel wells year i think we only had 2 drafted from WA, it happens every years going to be different.

Chimpy29
4 May 2006, 14:51
Metro Squad 2006

First Name Surname Region
Jarryd Allen Calder
Christian McErlain Calder
Fortunato Caruso Calder
Joe Gazzo Calder
Peter Faulks Calder
Matthew Long Calder
Andrew Horne Calder
Matt Robinson Dandenong