View Full Version : The Sheik's Top 30
Max Leader
12th April 2006, 18:48
No Rambo?
No Gertsman?
2 players from the premiers?
Is there another agenda, ie, is he trying to pre determine those players who need to be neutralised?
fish1
12th April 2006, 18:53
No Rambo?
No Gertsman?
2 players from the premiers?
Is there another agenda, ie, is he trying to pre determine those players who need to be neutralised?
Cld u please post the whole top 30 for us
Max Leader
12th April 2006, 18:58
(Nominal position, with player name and club, and position in ‘05 Medal.)
Damien Rayson (DLS) (0): This guy can play and I’m installing him as the early favourite. We'll see what a little pressure does to his game.
Josh Madden (STB) (13): Had a ripper year under his Dad last year and will go even better this trip.
Cam Kennedy (MEL) (0): Will be a leading light in a team that won’t have too many if the pre-season pundits are right.
Callum Potter (STB) (0): They’ve got a whole tribe of young guns out the Pit and this lad from the Rupertswood farm team is quite a performer.
Luke Considine (MAR) (18): Possession is nine-tenths of the law and he gets plenty.
Scott Dann (TRI) (12): No relation to Dermot Dann, but a fine player nonetheless.
Peter Augustin (MAR) (0): What can you say about this bloke that hasn’t already been said? Plenty, but I’ll say it later.
Charles Tallent (SCO) (19): With a surname like that, he’d want to be oozing it – and he is.
Paul Corrigan (HAI) (8): Reads the play like it’s merely a Grade 1 primer.
Andrew Jenke (HAI) (3): Have marked him a little harshly perhaps after his best-ever year in 05. Can the big fella, in a team of big fellas, do it again?
Andrew Gill (STB) (4): Yep, another snow dog who’s got the goods.
Luke North (UBL) (0): A highly respected and consistent performer. My spies in academe really rate him.
Steven Brown (TRI) (6): Had a great year and should feature among the Horned Frogs' best.
Mark Paterson (UBL) (1): Watch him go. He’ll be in the top ten by mid-year and probably go close to winning it again.
Stuart Low: (IVH) (0): No, not the guy who played for Haileybury, the other one.
Andrew Lowcock (UBL) (15): They call him Ace. Lincoln Reynolds used to call himself The Champ.
Dallas Jarred (MAR) (27): Those watching track-work tell me he’s on song.
David Beardsley (TRI) (2): Very seriously under-rated, but not by me.
Adam Chatfield (XAV) (16): The Swinburne statisticians have him pegged to again lead the VAFA in possessions.
Brent Walsh (TRI) (0): Only injuries can stop him.
David Blunt (STB) (30): Another of the pups at the Kennel.
Bill Snaddon: (SCO) (0): Will make huge steps this year as the Cards attempt to replace Andrew Crow.
Cameron McKenzie-McHarg (SCO) (0): Integral part of the Scotch lineup whether rucking or forward.
Chris Liberatore (STB) (0): Can it be true that Tony Liberatore is going to play? At 40?
Andrew Pugsley (SCO) (0): Will have a better season this lap around.
Nathan Bingham (XAV) (0): Uncompromising and talented. One of the Xavs' best.
Marcus Toovey (IVH) (0): Celebrates a return to A Section. Still one of the Swampies’ stars.
Laz Siapantas (HAI) (0): Always dashing and damaging and dramatic.
Ben Corin: (DLS) (0): Couldn’t leave him out. Well, I couldn't, anyway.
Chunky Bret Dobson (MAR) (7): He’s better than this. Should have been a Rep player last year. I’m just putting him down here as a wake-up call, in case he needs it. I know the selectors do.
fish1
12th April 2006, 20:52
Few of those players have left the clubs that they are named at so they will have to be omitted and replaced. But all in all not a bad list. Good job Max
Frederik Kanoute
12th April 2006, 21:29
A Gil will barely play a handful of games due to VFL duties but is a deserved top 15 player and will be surely missed and yes word is there will be a few games played by one t liberatore when carlton doesn't clash and still has a touch of abilty to keep on keeping on
Max Leader
12th April 2006, 22:12
Please enlighten me
Max Leader
12th April 2006, 22:12
Please enlighten me
Max Leader
12th April 2006, 22:16
Few of those players have left the clubs that they are named at so they will have to be omitted and replaced. But all in all not a bad list. Good job Max
Please enlighten me
Max Leader
12th April 2006, 22:22
Please enlighten me
mcglede
12th April 2006, 23:27
Hasn't Corrigan gone to Sandringham?
Have heard its for very similar $ to what he was on at OH, but he wants another crack at perhaps getting back into AFL footy.
Eddie Woloschek
13th April 2006, 07:13
No Max, crap job . All you did was cut and paste from another site without attribution. They call that plagiarism.
Max Leader
13th April 2006, 08:52
No Max, crap job . All you did was cut and paste from another site without attribution. They call that plagiarism.
Eddie,
I would agree.
But look at the name of the Thread. I am not claiming it, I am just bringing it to the Bigfooty family for discussion.
Moss Rocket
13th April 2006, 09:30
Correct, settle down Eddie. The man isn't claiming to be the great sheik! Very interesting list. Sheik's agenda is always a mystery. I like the positioning of ex Carey Grammarian L. North in the upper echelons. Disappointed not to see Tim Ock in the top 10!?!?
fish1
13th April 2006, 09:36
Please enlighten me
Augustin is down at Box Hill playing and only has MOCFC as his drop back team, luke considine is out a eltham playing in the DVFL. Thats 2 that i know are up in the list and yet not playing AMMO's
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2006, 10:47
Eddie,
I would agree.
But look at the name of the Thread. I am not claiming it, I am just bringing it to the Bigfooty family for discussion.
On fire Eddie... fair clown!
Max Leader
13th April 2006, 11:11
On fire Eddie... fair clown!
Big,
If you read the whole thread, it would show that I did not claim to be the writer. Anyone who knows anything about Ammo scibes would know that The Sheik creates an indepth list of the Top 30. I am not claiming to be that learnered gentleman. Just a reader who questions his motives in naming certain players within the Top 30.
I initially posed an question regarding the list, then Fish1 asked to provide the list. That is all.
On another point Big. It is very interesting that the usual suspects in the VAFA Thread were running around like Ryan Griffen making many great claims. Come a week from the start of the deal footy, everyone has dissapeared as though Rodney Eade gave you a Griffen Rocket.
The Big Pineapple
13th April 2006, 11:37
Big,
If you read the whole thread, it would show that I did not claim to be the writer. Anyone who knows anything about Ammo scibes would know that The Sheik creates an indepth list of the Top 30. I am not claiming to be that learnered gentleman. Just a reader who questions his motives in naming certain players within the Top 30.
I initially posed an question regarding the list, then Fish1 asked to provide the list. That is all.
On another point Big. It is very interesting that the usual suspects in the VAFA Thread were running around like Ryan Griffen making many great claims. Come a week from the start of the deal footy, everyone has dissapeared as though Rodney Eade gave you a Griffen Rocket.
Max, Max Max... relax a little and remove the shrink wrap.
What I used there was a thing called sarcasm so in effect was actually supporting you.
Even my 5 year old brother knew what this thread was about.
Is it ironic that an umpire couldn't make sense of it???
Max Leader
13th April 2006, 12:07
I've only blown once this year. No wonder I'm on edge.
Eddie Woloschek
13th April 2006, 12:52
I've only blown once this year. No wonder I'm on edge.
Max, instead of defending the indefensible, correct your error. Give the attribution, and then post the preface to the list, which appears to answer the very query you had about Gerstman being left out of the best. I would hate anyone to accuse you of being disingenuous as well as sloppy.
brian speaking
13th April 2006, 13:39
Max, instead of defending the indefensible, correct your error. Give the attribution, and then post the preface to the list, which appears to answer the very query you had about Gerstman being left out of the best. I would hate anyone to accuse you of being disingenuous as well as sloppy.
Add these names: Gertsmann, M Graham, T Ockleshaw, J Stinear, J Hope.
bendigo
13th April 2006, 13:53
Before you object Brian, the Sheik only inlcudes A Grade players in his Top 30. So unfortunately no SKOB boys in their this year.
Plumber
13th April 2006, 14:51
Huge call his selection at number 1. Did this bloke play a De La last year or is he a new ring in?
young veteran
13th April 2006, 14:56
Rayson was there last year. Made the all-asutralian u/23 ammo's side i think. He's very quick and definitely can play. Plays midfield and as a small forward. Very dangerous as a small forward.
Max Leader
13th April 2006, 14:59
He played. Can play.
The jury is out until he plays against good teams week in week out, who have the ability to sit on him.
Maybe this is why "The Sheik" rated him highly??
overtheline
13th April 2006, 15:14
(Nominal position, with player name and club, and position in ‘05 Medal.)
Damien Rayson (DLS) (0): This guy can play and I’m installing him as the early favourite. We'll see what a little pressure does to his game.
Josh Madden (STB) (13): Had a ripper year under his Dad last year and will go even better this trip.
Cam Kennedy (MEL) (0): Will be a leading light in a team that won’t have too many if the pre-season pundits are right.
Callum Potter (STB) (0): They’ve got a whole tribe of young guns out the Pit and this lad from the Rupertswood farm team is quite a performer.
Luke Considine (MAR) (18): Possession is nine-tenths of the law and he gets plenty.
Scott Dann (TRI) (12): No relation to Dermot Dann, but a fine player nonetheless.
Peter Augustin (MAR) (0): What can you say about this bloke that hasn’t already been said? Plenty, but I’ll say it later.
Charles Tallent (SCO) (19): With a surname like that, he’d want to be oozing it – and he is.
Paul Corrigan (HAI) (8): Reads the play like it’s merely a Grade 1 primer.
Andrew Jenke (HAI) (3): Have marked him a little harshly perhaps after his best-ever year in 05. Can the big fella, in a team of big fellas, do it again?
Andrew Gill (STB) (4): Yep, another snow dog who’s got the goods.
Luke North (UBL) (0): A highly respected and consistent performer. My spies in academe really rate him.
Steven Brown (TRI) (6): Had a great year and should feature among the Horned Frogs' best.
Mark Paterson (UBL) (1): Watch him go. He’ll be in the top ten by mid-year and probably go close to winning it again.
Stuart Low: (IVH) (0): No, not the guy who played for Haileybury, the other one.
Andrew Lowcock (UBL) (15): They call him Ace. Lincoln Reynolds used to call himself The Champ.
Dallas Jarred (MAR) (27): Those watching track-work tell me he’s on song.
David Beardsley (TRI) (2): Very seriously under-rated, but not by me.
Adam Chatfield (XAV) (16): The Swinburne statisticians have him pegged to again lead the VAFA in possessions.
Brent Walsh (TRI) (0): Only injuries can stop him.
David Blunt (STB) (30): Another of the pups at the Kennel.
Bill Snaddon: (SCO) (0): Will make huge steps this year as the Cards attempt to replace Andrew Crow.
Cameron McKenzie-McHarg (SCO) (0): Integral part of the Scotch lineup whether rucking or forward.
Chris Liberatore (STB) (0): Can it be true that Tony Liberatore is going to play? At 40?
Andrew Pugsley (SCO) (0): Will have a better season this lap around.
Nathan Bingham (XAV) (0): Uncompromising and talented. One of the Xavs' best.
Marcus Toovey (IVH) (0): Celebrates a return to A Section. Still one of the Swampies’ stars.
Laz Siapantas (HAI) (0): Always dashing and damaging and dramatic.
Ben Corin: (DLS) (0): Couldn’t leave him out. Well, I couldn't, anyway.
Chunky Bret Dobson (MAR) (7): He’s better than this. Should have been a Rep player last year. I’m just putting him down here as a wake-up call, in case he needs it. I know the selectors do.
Let's face it, it is all a bit of a toss, as there are heaps of better players than some of those on the list, in B and C grade.
brian speaking
13th April 2006, 16:32
Let's face it, it is all a bit of a toss, as there are heaps of better players than some of those on the list, in B and C grade.
I agree, what about a Big Footy top 30 encompassing all grades, with a minimum of 18 games played to show the true value of an Amateur Footballer.
I'll start, please add as we go.
1. Dever Artz
2. Tim Ockleshaw
3. James Gertsman
4. Caydn Beetham
5. Ryan Chard
6. James Hope
7. Marcus Toovey
8. Murray Pitts
9. David Loats
10. Adam Chatfield
11. Paul Corrigan
12.Kane Batzloff
13. Andrew Ramsden
14. Luke Mahoney
15. Scott Mollard
Slay Master G
13th April 2006, 17:58
[QUOTE=brian speaking]I agree, what about a Big Footy top 30 encompassing all grades, with a minimum of 18 games played to show the true value of an Amateur Footballer.
1. Dever Artz
8. Murray Pitts
14. Luke Mahoney
Brian
You are kidding yourself with these ones. Also, how is Chard better than Rambo.....?
overtheline
13th April 2006, 23:55
I agree, what about a Big Footy top 30 encompassing all grades, with a minimum of 18 games played to show the true value of an Amateur Footballer.
1. Dever Artz
2. Tim Ockleshaw
3. James Gertsman
4. Caydn Beetham
5. Ryan Chard
6. James Hope
7. Marcus Toovey
8. Murray Pitts
9. David Loats
10. Adam Chatfield
11. Paul Corrigan
12.Kane Batzloff
13. Andrew Ramsden
14. Luke Mahoney
15. Scott Mollard
Yes...don't know all these guys but you have the idea. The biggs boys from OE are ok as well and Boundy from Old paradaians is a fair player
brian speaking
14th April 2006, 00:53
[QUOTE=brian speaking]I agree, what about a Big Footy top 30 encompassing all grades, with a minimum of 18 games played to show the true value of an Amateur Footballer.
1. Dever Artz
8. Murray Pitts
14. Luke Mahoney
Brian
You are kidding yourself with these ones. Also, how is Chard better than Rambo.....?
Slayer, I trust you enjoyed your hiatus. According to the sheik, L Mahoney was in the top 10 of players last season. I thought dropping him down the tree was fair enough.
Denver Artz is an absolute superstar of Ammo footy. Knocks up winning best player year after year for the VAFA team. Chard, well he is a different player to Rambo, and I would be happy to take either.
From memory Chard cost Collegiens a B Section Flag on the back of 9 first half marks on GF day before being knocked unconcious by dirty Davo.
Will you add any players to the list? And by the way, so I dont have to post again the Biggs are at Bendigo so they don't count.
overtheline
14th April 2006, 10:21
[quote=Slay Master G]
Slayer, I trust you enjoyed your hiatus. According to the sheik, L Mahoney was in the top 10 of players last season. I thought dropping him down the tree was fair enough.
Denver Artz is an absolute superstar of Ammo footy. Knocks up winning best player year after year for the VAFA team. Chard, well he is a different player to Rambo, and I would be happy to take either.
From memory Chard cost Collegiens a B Section Flag on the back of 9 first half marks on GF day before being knocked unconcious by dirty Davo.
Will you add any players to the list? And by the way, so I dont have to post again the Biggs are at Bendigo so they don't count.
Well, Denver Atrz hasn't played for 12 months, so does he count? Murray pitts is retired.
brian speaking
14th April 2006, 19:52
[quote=brian speaking]
Well, Denver Atrz hasn't played for 12 months, so does he count? Murray pitts is retired.
I believe Pitts is playing this year, if not that is good for B Grade sides. Artz was a gun, so if he has gone, then add A Lewski, T Mac George, P Sullivan, D Boundy...all C Grade players who would star in A Grade.
Also throw in Richard Taylor, Matt Kempton, Bryce Shaw and Judd Lalich.
Would love to see the ammo selectors pick a genuine VAFA rep side, would be interesting.
uglydermie
15th April 2006, 09:40
wouuld love to see that too BS. You could add D graders in Al Parton (Old Carey) and Greg Chivers (Bulleen Temp) to any best of list, both absolute stars and should not be penalised for being loyal to their clubs. Bulleen Temp have also added an ex A grade gun in Chris Frost of old trinity fame (ex Bt junior). At 25 he will set D grade on fire this season.
Red Roy
18th April 2006, 11:26
[quote=overtheline]
I believe Pitts is playing this year, if not that is good for B Grade sides. Artz was a gun, so if he has gone, then add A Lewski, T Mac George, P Sullivan, D Boundy...all C Grade players who would star in A Grade.
Also throw in Richard Taylor, Matt Kempton, Bryce Shaw and Judd Lalich.
Would love to see the ammo selectors pick a genuine VAFA rep side, would be interesting.
Murray Pitts is not playing this year. Your mail is dodgy ther brian.
Macgeorge and Sullivan play for Parkdale don't they?
Any bias there Brian??
Big call to say they would star in A Grade isn't it?
brian speaking
18th April 2006, 19:38
[quote=brian speaking]
Murray Pitts is not playing this year. Your mail is dodgy ther brian.
Macgeorge and Sullivan play for Parkdale don't they?
Any bias there Brian??
Big call to say they would star in A Grade isn't it?
I know my Ammo footy sunshine, and why the hell would I be biased to Parkdale???
Red Roy
19th April 2006, 10:33
I'm not so sure you do know your ammo footy "sunshine".
A couple of examples:
Pitts is not playing - as quoted by you
Sullivan - never played in a grade higher than C. terrific goer, would not hold a candle to top liners in A Grade
Macgeorge - in his prime (late 90's) probably in the top 5 players in the ammos. He did have a stint at Sandy i think. Is well past his best, still go all right in C Grade though.
i just presumed youmust have some pardale bias given your over rating of these two guys.
Don't forget the team from the Brunswick St oval. a few hand types there
brian speaking
19th April 2006, 10:52
I'm not so sure you do know your ammo footy "sunshine".
A couple of examples:
Pitts is not playing - as quoted by you
Sullivan - never played in a grade higher than C. terrific goer, would not hold a candle to top liners in A Grade
Macgeorge - in his prime (late 90's) probably in the top 5 players in the ammos. He did have a stint at Sandy i think. Is well past his best, still go all right in C Grade though.
i just presumed youmust have some pardale bias given your over rating of these two guys.
Don't forget the team from the Brunswick St oval. a few hand types there
Sullivan was an AFL rookie, Teal Cup player and B and F winner at Sandy Dragons. Also knocked backed dozens of $$$ offers to play with his brothers. As good as anyone going around in the VAFA. Macca kicked 60 last year in about a dozen games, whilst coaching.
The Reds have a lot to prove in my book pal, any over 35's team can win a D Grade flag.
greentree
19th April 2006, 12:03
Sullivan was an AFL rookie, Teal Cup player and B and F winner at Sandy Dragons. Also knocked backed dozens of $$$ offers to play with his brothers. As good as anyone going around in the VAFA. Macca kicked 60 last year in about a dozen games, whilst coaching.
The Reds have a lot to prove in my book pal, any over 35's team can win a D Grade flag.
Think P.Sullivan may have played afew games in Sandys 1sts, He won the B&F for Parahan Dragons in the year they won the flag and I think he played a game for Melbourne in the 2nds when AFL still had 2nds.
He has 5 brothers that have or are playing for the vultures.
Maccas kicked over the ton ( close to 140 one year ) twice since 2000 ,
Red Roy
20th April 2006, 10:40
Think P.Sullivan may have played afew games in Sandys 1sts, He won the B&F for Parahan Dragons in the year they won the flag and I think he played a game for Melbourne in the 2nds when AFL still had 2nds.
He has 5 brothers that have or are playing for the vultures.
Maccas kicked over the ton ( close to 140 one year ) twice since 2000 ,
have a gander at the C Section Thread greenie. Explananation there regarding your question
GetSmart
22nd April 2006, 10:09
Brian get your info right before posting. Sullivan was not an AFL Rookie. He finished at Sandy dragons and went to Sandy VFL where he played 2's a lot of the time. Then loyalty took him back to the Vultures. Fantastic footballer and bloke, would easily play A grade but would not be a frontliner realistically week in week out.
Macca is past his best. Will still do ok in C grade but the body is just not what it was and will struggle to stay up for the year i think.
Should be a good year in C section, will St Bedes & Reds do what they have said they will do.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.