View Full Version : Round 3 vs Crows @ Carrarra

davey_magik
13 Apr 2006, 19:50
Post matchups, predictions and tips here.
I don't know what to make of this game, Crows coming off a loss too is a worry and our only real advantage is that it isn't at AAMI and the Crows have never played at Carrarra (I think).
Welsh and Bock out is a big bonus, and if Hentschel doesn't play the Crows will really struggle in the air.

Backs: P.Wheatley, N.Carroll, M.Whelan
Half backs: M.Warnock, J.Rivers, D.Ward
Centreline: B.Green, J.McDonald, C.Bartram
Half forwards: R.Robertson, B.Miller, A.Davey
Forwards: C.Bruce, D.Neitz, B.McLean
Followers: J.White, C.Sylvia, T.Johnstone
I/C from: N.Brown, C.Johnson, A.Yze, M.Jamar, B.Moloney, M.Bate, B.Pickett

I think that team is probably the best we can do right now, but I didn't get this line on demons.com.au.

'Veteran Nathan Brown also returns to the squad after finding some good form at Sandringham, while Paul Johnson and Matthew Bate have also been named on the interchange. If included in final selection tomorrow, Bate will also make his AFL debut.'

Yet CJ has been named on the interchange over PJ. I didn't see our side on the Footy Show last night so was CJ omitted or is that an error on our site?

I love Beamer but I think either he or Yze won't play, along with Jamar or Johnson. I also can't see Brown and Ward in the same side.

Bate should definitely debut and Pickett deserves another crack as he seems to slowly be getting there.

Dees by 5 points.

Sylvia Saint
13 Apr 2006, 19:53
Oops didn't see this thread.

Bartram_Class
13 Apr 2006, 19:55
Bate deserves a chance, but he wont get one.

Which 2 of Brown, Jamar, Yze, Moloney or Pickett wont play?

For me Brown, Bate and CJ will all miss out.

dee_molisher
13 Apr 2006, 20:06
Bate deserves a chance, but he wont get one.

Which 2 of Brown, Jamar, Yze, Moloney or Pickett wont play?

For me Brown, Bate and CJ will all miss out.

Ward and Whealen should have been flicked after last week.

Bartram_Class
13 Apr 2006, 20:11
I thought Ward was alright and Whelans one of the best small defenders in the comp.

dee_molisher
13 Apr 2006, 20:32
I thought Ward was alright and Whelans one of the best small defenders in the comp.

Last week when I was watching both of them in defence, they looked shocking and rarely put pressure on their opponents. No real contests.

melbournemartin
13 Apr 2006, 20:34
Whelan had a shocker but we can't afford to drop him.

The Bench that I want is

Pickett, Bate, Moloney, Jamar

The Bench that is most likely is

Pickett, Yze, Moloney, Jamar

davey_magik
14 Apr 2006, 15:11
This is how I'd like us to line up this week and the players I would think that would oppose each other, but I doubt ND will think the same:

FB:Whelan Carroll Wheatley
Ricciuto Hentschel Burton

HB: Warnock Rivers Brown
Thompson Perrie Bode

C: Moloney Bruce Bartram
Mattner Shirley Edwards

HF: Davey Miller Robbo
Johncock McGregor Bassett

FF: Green Neitz Yze
Hart Rutten Reilly

FOLL: White Johnstone Sylvia
Biglands Goodwin McLeod

I/C: McDonald Jamar Pickett McLean
Van Berlo Clarke Skipworth Massie

Yze is on his last chance, play well this week or Bate should take his place. I'd like two of Mclean, Sylvia and Moloney in the midfield at any one time along with one of Bruce/TJ. I'd put Bartram on Tyson Edwards because he usually carves us up and to give Bartram another run-with role.
Hentschel is apparently very doubtful so that could really help us because the Crows lack an abundance of small-medium forwards. I'd just like Burton to be controlled as he is a very dangerous player and can hurt us by running forward. Whelan has beaten Roo before and I hope he can do it again. A player that will become very important in this game is Rivers, as Ricciuto will need space and Rivers is excellent at this because he always peels off his man at the right time and becomes the 3rd man up (In fact I can't remember a time he has done it and his direct opponent has kicked a goal) thus chopping off Ricciuto's leads.
I'd really like Bate to debut but I doubt it if Bartram and Warnock are in the side.

AllStar7
14 Apr 2006, 19:31
If Bater doesn't play, it will be the biggest load of crap since our game plan in Round 1.

ExTasDeeMan
14 Apr 2006, 19:44
i've got a feeling about this game, one that it could really stop the doubts.

Nothing empirical to prove it, but a stomach feeling.

davey_magik
14 Apr 2006, 20:34
Team has been released:
MELBOURNE
B: Wheatley, Carroll, Whelan
HB: Warnock, Rivers, Ward
C: Green, McDonald, Bartram
HF: Robertson, Miller, Davey
F: Bruce, Neitz, McLean
FOLL: White, Sylvia, Johnstone
I/C: Brown, Yze, Jamar, Pickett
EM: Moloney, Bate, C.Johnson
IN: Rivers, Brown, Warnock
OUT: Ferguson (punctured lung/broken ribs), Moloney, C.Johnson
NEW: Matthew Warnock (Sandringham Zebras)

I think its good on Beamer that he was dropped, isn't match fit and needs to get more gametime into him. Last week he was stuffed by half time.
I would have liked Ward out for Bate but as I said before with Bartram and Warnock already in I don't think its that bad.

Bartram_Class
14 Apr 2006, 20:36
Bartrams done really well to earn himself a spot in the 18 in Round 2 of his first year of AFL Football.

Its not like he hasnt earned the spot either, great stuff from the BF sponsor.

melbournemartin
14 Apr 2006, 20:37
Decent changes, I love watching moloney play but he just wasn't fit vs the dogs.

I'd have swapped Ward for Bate since we have Brown and Warnock coming in.

melbournemartin
14 Apr 2006, 20:38
Bartrams done really well to earn himself a spot in the 18 in Round 2 of his first year of AFL Football.

Its not like he hasnt earned the spot either, great stuff from the BF sponsor.
3rd in the league for tackles :eek:

Bartram_Class
14 Apr 2006, 20:42
3rd in the league for tackles :eek:
Yep and his foot skills are getting better by the match. :thumbsu:

AllStar7
15 Apr 2006, 02:26
******** that for a joke.

Who does Bate need to sleep with to get a game? Yze is still prancing around and they drop a young promising player in Johnson.

I give up. This club is not gonna go anywhere with a backline of short front-runners, a midfield of soft front-runners and a forwardline of uncoordinated players.

Great to see Rivers and Warnock in though.

Got a gut feeling we'll win this week, only because nobody rates us anymore. Bring it on!

Canna7
15 Apr 2006, 13:22
Where is Daniel Bell?

melbournemartin
15 Apr 2006, 20:42
dead for all ND could care

macca69
16 Apr 2006, 09:52
Heard Yze may not play as his wife is giving birth soon I think? Is that true?

LukeHodge15
16 Apr 2006, 10:03
Heard Yze may not play as his wife is giving birth soon I think? Is that true?

she already baked that loaf of bread thursday.......;)

Supermercado
16 Apr 2006, 14:38
This is painful. I know the Crows are a fine team but how $hit are we?

Sylvia Saint
16 Apr 2006, 14:42
I know we were kicking into a wind but what an uninspiring first quarter!

The way we're playing even yours truly would have 10 touches to quarter time. Chipping it around in defence isn't going to win games of footy!!!

ExTasDeeMan
16 Apr 2006, 14:44
Daniher simply has nothing in the book to counter the cows flooding.

he reminds me of the coach from the Waterboy (the fonze) who has nothing to counter being such rubbish.

can't believe that no calls made against Burton for jumping too early on Bruce, oh well, it'll take more then the umpires to save us from this garbage.

goDees22
16 Apr 2006, 15:36
Not going too bad now, Robbo took a good mark, first hanger hes gone for for a while that i can remember, if Roo and Burton are scoreless in the second half, we will win, thats my tip

Sylvia Saint
16 Apr 2006, 15:38
if Roo and Burton are scoreless in the second half, we will win, thats my tip
So we will lose.

Ward on Burton in the first quarter was a joke.

Got to be less than 4 goals down at 3 quarter time I reckon. we should attack this quarter.

Sylvia Saint
16 Apr 2006, 16:14
So we will lose.

Ward on Burton in the first quarter was a joke.

Got to be less than 4 goals down at 3 quarter time I reckon. we should attack this quarter.
25 points. One more goal would have been handy - but we can still win.

My money would be on the Crow eaters though.

Sylvia Saint
16 Apr 2006, 16:54
Stupid female goal umpire cost us in the end - well maybe.

Good effort by the boys but we needed the 4 points and didn't get them.

*Shrugs*

Supermercado
Thank christ they had a go in the last quarter. Good to see Neitz really standing up. We probably should have gotten a draw but what are you going to do?

I like our chances next week.

Marns
Robbed. Absolutely robbed. If that woman had watched the fu*king ball we'd have salvaged 2 pts from this one. Our guys for once deserved a result, and whaddayaknow. The bloody umpires have to spoil it. Un-fuc*ing-believable.

Deestroy
16 Apr 2006, 16:57
Yeah oh well, I'm left not really caring to be honest.

Midfield much improved as far as clearances go. Same problems as always with rebounding killing us but at least there was a bit of desperation. Who knows, by 0 & 5 we may be so ashamed we'll fight and win one!

davey_magik
16 Apr 2006, 16:59
I'm with Marns we were robbed. This is where video replays should come into play because it cost Hawthorn a match last year and has cost us 2 points this year.

AllStar7
16 Apr 2006, 17:23
Robbed. Absolutely robbed. If that woman had watched the fu*king ball we'd have salvaged 2 pts from this one. Our guys for once deserved a result, and whaddayaknow. The bloody umpires have to spoil it. Un-fuc*ing-believable.

Meh, if we didn't conceed about 87 shots on goals in the first quarter, we probably could have got the win.

If Ward plays next week, and if Carroll ever EVER tries to show off by going for a run and losing the ball, I will shoot them both then shoot myself. :(

goDees22
16 Apr 2006, 17:26
We should really kick up a storm, we were absolutely f**ken crucified by the davey one, and the bruce one, as well as frees in general play. Absolutely deserved victory no doubt about it, at least Yze and Green put there bodies on the line, McLean was back to form in a big way, and Rivers was good. Must win next week against the other rugby team

al_redleg
16 Apr 2006, 17:36
We should really kick up a storm, we were absolutely f**ken crucified by the davey one, and the bruce one, as well as frees in general play. Absolutely deserved victory no doubt about it, at least Yze and Green put there bodies on the line, McLean was back to form in a big way, and Rivers was good. Must win next week against the other rugby team

I totally agree... The fellas deserved better than that. The umpriring in general was terrible. A lot of the free kicks we got cost us advantage. Not to mention that The Davey last kick was a goal, and that there was still 40 odd seconds and the way we were playing and with that wind i think we would have gone better than the draw.

* McLaren is a tossing Essendon fan and has it in for Melbourne *

I'd like to highlight another point that may not have been raised. Adelaide got the ball from a free kick on the wing and the ruck contest did not even take place. For gods sake umpires let the play go in close contests such as this.

:thumbsd:

Did anyone watch the sydney game ? carlton deserved to win that game

Supermercado
16 Apr 2006, 17:39
* McLaren is a tossing Essendon fan and has it in for Melbourne *

You're really clutching at straws now.

ExTasDeeMan
16 Apr 2006, 17:50
as pissed off at the goal umpiring - we really rooted ourselves by letting Burton and Co run riot in the 1st quarter. Still, happy to see the effort by McLean, Bruce and Rivers.

Still pissed off though.