View Full Version : GVFL 18's Team Preview
numba4
14th April 2006, 21:09
Hey all just wondering if you could give a run down on who will be good and why if possible, players to watch from each teams, tip for league B&F and you ladder?
willo1
15th April 2006, 09:08
tip for league B&F
Tyson Warnett, Mooroopna
numba4
1st May 2006, 20:57
Ok seems nobody else will ill give a review on a few teams
Tatura - Wont be the strongest team out there but has potential at full list! If on fire could cause damage on the scoreboard. Midfield their strength with Kleindienst rucking down to Durston, Butler and Keast. They have a few big bodys but in saying that them big bodys will have to work hard to make a big impression on game days.
Shepp United - Bunch of good mates that will stick together and play well together. With their list could be damaging up foward with the likes of Tommy Campbell and Luke Cecchin but will have to have the defense functioning properly which is their weakness. Vidler, Redina and Shannon Campbell are vital keys for them running across the ground.
Mooroopna - Could be crucial in any game, very fit but lacking discpline which is their weakness but on their day could destroy teams. Strong midfeild that works well together and a decent defense, maybe lacking a few foward options, alot of goals will come from midfeild players as shown in their goal kicking (Simon Russell 6, Tyson Warnett 5, will signles to Trev Grahem and James Marks)
Kyabram - Could say premiership Favourites, Function superbly as a team and are quiete strongly all over the feild. Will only strengthen during the year with matty delid coming back in. Tom Pryde and Bernad Weardon (if not playing ones) are keys for them. As i i said before just function superbly as a team, noone would come clsoe to working together like the bombers.
Shepp Swans - Lacking foward power, key foward is big Matty Hebbard who if not manned up properly can and will cause damage. Fairly strong midfeild with Luke Henry, Dash Barolli n Ryan Lewis as on ballers Hully or Jarrod Brain rucking. Once lost momentum drop confidence and find it hard to regain. In saying that if everybody fires will beat any team in the competition.
There is a few teams, anybody else have any review on the other would be handy for all!
Badger_33
3rd June 2006, 12:20
You couldnt go past the Echuca Bombers could u? i mean it may be argued that they havent had a proper test yet but bet mansfield, and 2 or 3 shepp teams to be undefeated! that is without a full list and many injurys in the team. this week will be the big test against Ky on sunday. in the past they havent been anything much special but they r looking the goods this year. will be contenders i think
waddo #6
9th June 2006, 12:24
Ok seems nobody else will ill give a review on a few teams
Tatura - Wont be the strongest team out there but has potential at full list! If on fire could cause damage on the scoreboard. Midfield their strength with Kleindienst rucking down to Durston, Butler and Keast. They have a few big bodys but in saying that them big bodys will have to work hard to make a big impression on game days.
Shepp United - Bunch of good mates that will stick together and play well together. With their list could be damaging up foward with the likes of Tommy Campbell and Luke Cecchin but will have to have the defense functioning properly which is their weakness. Vidler, Redina and Shannon Campbell are vital keys for them running across the ground.
Mooroopna - Could be crucial in any game, very fit but lacking discpline which is their weakness but on their day could destroy teams. Strong midfeild that works well together and a decent defense, maybe lacking a few foward options, alot of goals will come from midfeild players as shown in their goal kicking (Simon Russell 6, Tyson Warnett 5, will signles to Trev Grahem and James Marks)
Kyabram - Could say premiership Favourites, Function superbly as a team and are quiete strongly all over the feild. Will only strengthen during the year with matty delid coming back in. Tom Pryde and Bernad Weardon (if not playing ones) are keys for them. As i i said before just function superbly as a team, noone would come clsoe to working together like the bombers.
Shepp Swans - Lacking foward power, key foward is big Matty Hebbard who if not manned up properly can and will cause damage. Fairly strong midfeild with Luke Henry, Dash Barolli n Ryan Lewis as on ballers Hully or Jarrod Brain rucking. Once lost momentum drop confidence and find it hard to regain. In saying that if everybody fires will beat any team in the competition.
There is a few teams, anybody else have any review on the other would be handy for all!
Seymour Lions: ( with the ack players ) this is probably the best team that i could think of...
B:Josh Dundon...McKenzie...Ure
HB: Manixx...Mick Dundon...Lawler
C: Brooks...Clifton...Cole
HF: Smith-Williams...Hesse...Hateley
FF: Sidebottom...Green...O'Conner
FOLL:McCarthy...Kliemt...Le Cerf
INTER: Watson... A Lorraine...Gray...Muir...
Peacock...Harjo...Challis..
EMERGENCY: Rob Martino...
any thoughts on the team... feel free to change it around if ya like.. anyone i missed out or missed out on putting in the team that was on the bench just swap it around... GO LIONS
Meat Head
5th March 2007, 21:09
2007 under 18 teams, whos going to be good???
post your best side and who will be players to watch!!!!!!!
Hands Open
6th March 2007, 07:33
Hows Shepp Bears looking? Who are their bottom age stand out players??
marc_murphy88
6th March 2007, 15:46
Both Crawford and Lowden in U'16 Schoolboys.... Lowden is very tall but a bit raw so is more a project player. Crawford played a game for Bears on permit last year and went ok. Bit flashy and lazy but should settle into thirds pretty quickly. Did make Vic Country last yr. All reports say they have a few handy pick ups, but they probably won't compensate for what they lost. Thorsen, Ridings, Dunne, Knight are some new faces.
Marto121
7th March 2007, 15:33
Both Crawford and Lowden in U'16 Schoolboys.... Lowden is very tall but a bit raw so is more a project player. Crawford played a game for Bears on permit last year and went ok. Bit flashy and lazy but should settle into thirds pretty quickly. Did make Vic Country last yr. All reports say they have a few handy pick ups, but they probably won't compensate for what they lost. Thorsen, Ridings, Dunne, Knight are some new faces.
Hey Murph, you're a bit harsh on AJ there.
He played on permit for one game with the Bears as an under 15 in an under 18 competition. Give him time, he's a gun!
How many BOG's have you got Murph, playing 4 years under your age group in the GVFL!?
big tony
7th March 2007, 17:20
tip for league B&F?
no playerf will match it with farren priest of benalla, runner up last year as a 15 year old, super footballer will win it unless plays in first 18
marc_murphy88
7th March 2007, 18:33
Yes Priest is a superb player and should have won the medal last year I might add. Brett Mahoney got 3 votes in a game against the Bears at Mansfield when they got done and he spent almost a half on the pine.
marc_murphy88
7th March 2007, 18:35
2007 under 18 teams, whos going to be good???
post your best side and who will be players to watch!!!!!!!
I'll give you my predicted top 6 in no order.....
Echuca, Kyabram, Benalla, Shepp Bears, Mansfield, Mooroopna
Meat Head
7th March 2007, 19:28
I'll give you my predicted top 6 in no order.....
Echuca, Kyabram, Benalla, Shepp Bears, Mansfield, Mooroopna
thats a fair list...dont know about ky after they've lost a few players to other clubs just recently...
mine in order...
Mansfield
Benalla
Echuca
Mooroopna
Shepp Bears
Rochester
Meat Head
7th March 2007, 19:31
Yes Priest is a superb player and should have won the medal last year I might add. Brett Mahoney got 3 votes in a game against the Bears at Mansfield when they got done and he spent almost a half on the pine.
good call on mahoney too....was at the count last year and i dont think i was the only bloke in the room who was wondering who the hell he was...when i did see who he was, it did remind....dont know whether it reminded me that he was a good player though...
King Kieran
7th March 2007, 19:41
good call on mahoney too....was at the count last year and i dont think i was the only bloke in the room who was wondering who the hell he was...when i did see who he was though, it did reminded me who he was....dont know whether it reminded me that he was a good player though...
Well said, NOT! Good luck at Year 9 English this year.
Footy08
7th March 2007, 19:50
u could say that but maybe priest also got votes when he shouldnt have.. u dont win or lose a league BnF by one game.. anyone who wins a BnF at league level deserves it.. yer there might be better players in the league but they r the ones who concistantly play well week after week.. i have played with and against brett, works his arse off and is someone who doesnt just go off natural ability.. was a worthy winner of the award!
big tony
8th March 2007, 07:07
brett mahoney is soft as butter
Meat Head
9th March 2007, 19:55
brett mahoney is soft as butter
he still thirds this year?
Footy08
10th March 2007, 06:27
he still thirds this year?
he is bottom age this year, still has next year to go
Meat Head
10th March 2007, 10:59
he is bottom age this year, still has next year to go
mahoney im talking about?
lion's_roar
10th March 2007, 11:54
mahoney im talking about?
Footy 08 is spot on, Brett turns 17 in about July this year.
The reason there would have been some people who didn't know who he was when he won the medal is that Shepp teams are so engrosed in each other that they really don't know there is a world outside Shepparton.
Mansfield will have a pretty good side this year in the unders, ,but their best players will either be playing Bushies or being given a crack at senior level.
The seniors have lost a few very good players and its a big chance for the kids to step up and make a mark.
Mahoney, Sheahan and Reid all had a taste of it last year (some more than others) and can really make a name for themselves this year, if not on TAC Cup duties.
Meat Head
10th March 2007, 15:37
The reason there would have been some people who didn't know who he was when he won the medal is that Shepp teams are so engrosed in each other that they really don't know there is a world outside Shepparton.
Mansfield will have a pretty good side this year in the unders, ,but their best players will either be playing Bushies or being given a crack at senior level.
The seniors have lost a few very good players and its a big chance for the kids to step up and make a mark.
Mahoney, Sheahan and Reid all had a taste of it last year (some more than others) and can really make a name for themselves this year, if not on TAC Cup duties.
all the best to the kid, i know what its like playing as a 16 yr old in thirds footy...for him to win the medal that is a pretty good effort...and just as good by priest a year younger to come runners up...things are looking good for standard of gv thirds for the next couple of years.
Footy08
11th March 2007, 10:20
i dont think Sheahan will be playin for mansfield this year, got told he was playing at assuption for the year and thats y his no longer even tryin out for the bushies? could be wrong..
roberts-thompson
12th March 2007, 17:07
i dont think Sheahan will be playin for mansfield this year, got told he was playing at assuption for the year and thats y his no longer even tryin out for the bushies? could be wrong..
Yeah on the money there mate he is going to assumption.
And good call LIONS ROAR your right that you cant win the medal from one game... have played against brett and rate him fairly highly, has a big future whether in country footy or where ever he ends up playing...
marc_murphy88
12th March 2007, 20:01
Sheahan will go well at Assumption... he had an awesome year in the Mansfield 1s last season. Anyone see the final they played at Tat v Seymour? He kicked 3 or 4 rippers and him and Browne were majority of the reason they were in front at 3/4 time. If it wasn't for the Saad show in last quarter they woulda won that one. For those two to step up in a side that boasted Hotton, Walker, Stevenson, Storer etc in a final was awesome to watch.
corks
13th March 2007, 14:45
hey just wounding how the benalla 3rds will go this year...
Big Echuca
13th March 2007, 20:00
i think they will be fairly competitive this year, providing their players stay in the 3rds and not in the seniors or with bushys...if they can make it to the finals and qualify blokes like rockliff, martineilo, preist, sammy harris who will surely be in the ones or with bushys they should really push for flag favourites...
on another note i have heard that echucas and rochys lists are looking pretty strong this year? anyone able to give me any feed back on why they are going to be good?
Meat Head
14th March 2007, 22:19
i think they will be fairly competitive this year, providing their players stay in the 3rds and not in the seniors or with bushys...if they can make it to the finals and qualify blokes like rockliff, martineilo, preist, sammy harris who will surely be in the ones or with bushys they should really push for flag favourites...
on another note i have heard that echucas and rochys lists are looking pretty strong this year? anyone able to give me any feed back on why they are going to be good?
good call on benalla there, i reckon they'll be pretty handy...they've got so many players currently in the bushys squad its not funny!
in regard to echuca and rochy...
echuca shouldn't be too bad, i would've thought they'd have a few players with pioneers this year though eg. florence, connors and straun. they're under 16s won the premiership in shepp league last year so they could have some good 17yr olds running round.
dont know too much about rochy, have heard they are struggling for numbers but the numbers they have, are spose to be pretty handy players. oconnor tuohey and oliver were training with the pioneers last i heard? and the same with that young oakley kid i think
acadex
21st March 2007, 16:12
who do rochy have that is good?
acadex
21st March 2007, 16:16
good call on benalla there, i reckon they'll be pretty handy...they've got so many players currently in the bushys squad its not funny!
in regard to echuca and rochy...
echuca shouldn't be too bad, i would've thought they'd have a few players with pioneers this year though eg. florence, connors and straun. they're under 16s won the premiership in shepp league last year so they could have some good 17yr olds running round.
dont know too much about rochy, have heard they are struggling for numbers but the numbers they have, are spose to be pretty handy players. oconnor tuohey and oliver were training with the pioneers last i heard? and the same with that young oakley kid i think
i dont think rochy are going to be to good you need more than four players, occoner isn't really that flash and he is always injured, oliver is bloody good as rob think they will still be battling. They will finish mid range on the ladder probably not finals contenders.
Meat Head
21st March 2007, 17:51
i dont think rochy are going to be to good you need more than four players, occoner isn't really that flash and he is always injured, oliver is bloody good as rob think they will still be battling. They will finish mid range on the ladder probably not finals contenders.
hmm...i don't think anyone really cares what you think stinky box, you would want to be a fairly good player yourself to say they have no good players. i know the rochy boys pretty well and i think they are gonna have a pretty competitive side...no shepp united of course! ha but should go alright if they can keep their players in the thirds this year
Footy08
21st March 2007, 22:00
hmm...i don't think anyone really cares what you think stinky box, you would want to be a fairly good player yourself to say they have no good players. i know the rochy boys pretty well and i think they are gonna have a pretty competitive side...no shepp united of course! ha but should go alright if they can keep their players in the thirds this year
shepp united will surprise alot of people this year... i wouldnt be laughin just yet
Meat Head
21st March 2007, 22:19
shepp united will surprise alot of people this year... i wouldnt be laughin just yet
nah dude not laughin at all, fully aware of the side shepp united has this year...take a look at the ladder i posted
Footy08
21st March 2007, 22:49
nah dude not laughin at all, fully aware of the side shepp united has this year...take a look at the ladder i posted
oh yer fair enough then! sorry bout that.. i recon ur ladder would be very close.. benalla with a full side will be awesome.. with 5 players in the bushies this year.. but then bears in 2nd place with no bushies... i think they could slip down a few.. especially when id be gussin most of there top thirds will be playin seniors due to them not bein to flash this year..
acadex
22nd March 2007, 11:06
meat head you are obviously a footy geek and iam ever so sorry for ever doubting your ability to predict the future of every footy team in the GV. alright brother i will certinally write back to you when rochy are struggling.
On-Baller
22nd March 2007, 19:23
listen here mate you should just piss back off to vt. mate benalla will be there abouts
souts
22nd March 2007, 19:48
meat head u seem to know every player/team in victoria! i agree with stinky box i wouldn't expect them to play finals! there got some handy players but not enough match winners to play finals. how many have they got playign for bendigo?
S Wrench
23rd March 2007, 10:42
Pretty sure most of the thirds players will play in the thirds this year, with our senior side having a bit more depth they won't need to bring up players as much.
Utility_07
23rd March 2007, 12:51
I agree with you S Wrench........ The word is over here that Rochester are going to be good this year, i hear that there in need of a good coach to pull them into line of a saturday night, this may be the difference between them being finals contenders or not........
loch_99
24th March 2007, 07:00
Nothin wrong with havin a good time utility. Rochy will get to finals
acadex
27th March 2007, 09:51
Nothin wrong with havin a good time utility. Rochy will get to finals
why does every love the sh.it out of rochy they have been **** right through under 14s, under 16s and know all of a sudden they have become superstars it dosnt make sence to me i think this is a little bit of bull.sh.it and rochy boys need to stop licking one and other wangers. james hird dosn't rate them
kurt_11
28th March 2007, 10:32
why does every love the sh.it out of rochy they have been **** right through under 14s, under 16s and know all of a sudden they have become superstars it dosnt make sence to me i think this is a little bit of bull.sh.it and rochy boys need to stop licking one and other wangers. james hird dosn't rate them
Stinky box who are you kidden. For a town with about 3,000 people i reakon those boys no how to play. **** one of the smallest towns in league and still lanage to push if not make finals nearly every year. They are not a town of super stars. They just hav a bit of confidence in their side. You would have to be from one of those clubs who spend heaps of money on players or try and talented kids to play for you but still struggle through the season. Have a look at your self and get back to me.
upthere
1st April 2007, 00:27
y would u say brett mahoney is soft as butter
acadex
14th April 2007, 16:22
Stinky box who are you kidden. For a town with about 3,000 people i reakon those boys no how to play. **** one of the smallest towns in league and still lanage to push if not make finals nearly every year. They are not a town of super stars. They just hav a bit of confidence in their side. You would have to be from one of those clubs who spend heaps of money on players or try and talented kids to play for you but still struggle through the season. Have a look at your self and get back to me.
well, nope i play for a club that is very similar to yours no super stars, just a team that works together, and play for one and other, thats all i need to say on the matter. i know most of you rochy boys and after today my opinion still stands
fevy25
17th April 2007, 10:32
as if stinky box is right i play for the same club and our players are good and id say all of our players are local and all talented players. least we dont hav big heads like brodie monaque!!! rochester need to pull there heads in and realise your club is useless
bradrowe#32
17th April 2007, 17:48
as if stinky box is right i play for the same club and our players are good and id say all of our players are local and all talented players. least we dont hav big heads like brodie monaque!!! rochester need to pull there heads in and realise your club is useless
I assume you and your friend play for Kyabram?
fevy25
17th April 2007, 22:28
I assume you and your friend play for Kyabram?
nah mate wot makes u say that! besides i no for a fact that your players are from more then your shit town!
S Wrench
17th April 2007, 22:32
nah mate wot makes u say that! besides i no for a fact that your players are from more then your shit town!
huh?
bradrowe#32
18th April 2007, 15:18
I doubt very much your town even has a school, judging by your nonsensical sentence.
acadex
20th April 2007, 07:34
I doubt very much your town even has a school, judging by your nonsensical sentence.
get a life brad your a loser
bradrowe#32
20th April 2007, 10:08
get a life brad your a loser
Nice to know that you posted this reply at 7.34 this morning. Did you stay up all night thinking about that 'insult'?
Who is the real loser here?
acadex
20th April 2007, 14:50
Nice to know that you posted this reply at 7.34 this morning. Did you stay up all night thinking about that 'insult'?
Who is the real loser here?
some people have to work in the morning unlike you, you probably some VCAL dead shit dont write back your ****er
bradrowe#32
20th April 2007, 15:42
some people have to work in the morning unlike you, you probably some VCAL dead shit dont write back your ****er
Haha, you'd be brilliant to play on. Just whisper a few words into your ear at the opening bounce and you'd spend the whole game having a sook.
Grow some balls, champ.
acadex
23rd April 2007, 20:46
Haha, you'd be brilliant to play on. Just whisper a few words into your ear at the opening bounce and you'd spend the whole game having a sook.
Grow some balls, champ.
yeah man you are like right on there :thumbsu:
walshy 4
17th May 2007, 23:00
yeah man you are like right on there :thumbsu:
sav it 4 da feild boys
Demons4ever
10th July 2007, 21:24
You could be right footy08, the dees are travelling well. Interesting to go back and look at the threads from earlier this year, no one really mention United. Have they got in under the radar of clubs. I have seen a few early games and they struggled to click but still won. They then lost in a shocker to Tat, I missed the Shepp game but have seen everygame since the Mooroopna game. They improve every week and don't really seem to have any major weaknesses for long periods of the game. They seem really fit and strong and in close games just seem to out last the other sides. They are really impressive, but I see their draw is really tough. After Benella they play all the sides in the 6 and those knocking on the door. I am sure their coach would have loved to have drawn Euroa, Swans and Rochy twice. Do you thing the hard draw will help their finals efforts?
whitewater
25th July 2007, 12:02
You could be right footy08, the dees are travelling well. Interesting to go back and look at the threads from earlier this year, no one really mention United. Have they got in under the radar of clubs. I have seen a few early games and they struggled to click but still won. They then lost in a shocker to Tat, I missed the Shepp game but have seen everygame since the Mooroopna game. They improve every week and don't really seem to have any major weaknesses for long periods of the game. They seem really fit and strong and in close games just seem to out last the other sides. They are really impressive, but I see their draw is really tough. After Benella they play all the sides in the 6 and those knocking on the door. I am sure their coach would have loved to have drawn Euroa, Swans and Rochy twice. Do you thing the hard draw will help their finals efforts?
it should help them through it because they can build up there confidence and know what there up against in finals but still its the toughest draw in the comp by far.
acadex
30th July 2007, 11:55
it should help them through it because they can build up there confidence and know what there up against in finals but still its the toughest draw in the comp by far.
nah check out mansfield it is way harder
ENGNE
10th August 2007, 23:28
your all crap and id carve you all up so shut ya f***ing pie holes and stop crying just because you not as good as me bahahahahahahaha