View Full Version : How do Sydney supporters live with themselves?
Watching that crap week in week out?
Untill they change there style of play I will not go and watch another game that involves Sydney.
Paul Roos should be shot.....
swanniez1983
15 Apr 2006, 23:10
Untill they change there style of play I will not go and watch another game that involves Sydney.
close the door on your way out please...
I couldn't do it. Glad i don't have to.
Sedition
15 Apr 2006, 23:11
Im happy wiv the four points:)
I'll survive another day.
http://www.wegart.com.au/catalog/images/fss2005.jpg
What more can you say?
Carlton Supporters complaining about defensive tactics.:eek:
Jeez what next Ivan Milat joining a victims of crime support group? :confused:
Shrapnel
15 Apr 2006, 23:12
we think about the last 8 time we've played Carlton and we smile.
Schneiderman
15 Apr 2006, 23:13
I clearly remember these very same comments at the start of last year. And I also clearly remember us hoisting the cup aloft last year. I think you may have your answer.
And BTW, how do CARLTON supporters live with themselves? Serving up that flooding all night?
The irony is very delish on the Bigfooty Boards tonight.
This thread tops it off.
:thumbsu: :D
ManWithNoName
15 Apr 2006, 23:15
http://www.wegart.com.au/catalog/images/fss2005.jpg
What more can you say?
How sad is it that this is the only flag you've won in the Weg era?
I'm not denying Carlton being an ordinary team. But how that crap team won a premiership is beyond me.
Minkus_Swan
15 Apr 2006, 23:16
http://www.sportsdelivered.com/slicks/L_AFVD353.jpg
It's not hard really, if you think about it. :)
3rd Grade Maggy
15 Apr 2006, 23:18
I'd reckon they'd live with themselves by realising they won the flag last year and were criticised for the same tactics at this time last year. You don't win the flag in April.
I'm a Carlton man. I'm disappointed we lost but we really only have ourselves to blame. I'm just happy we're having a crack. We would have lost this game by ten goals last year. It's beginning.
ciaobella
15 Apr 2006, 23:20
Whilst it was a fairly unattractive brand of footy by the Swans, the Blues have themselves to blame for losing a tight contest. Yes they play the possession game to the max, however, if the Blues picked up their men and played one on one, the Swans would have no other choice but to kick to a contest and then you've got 'normal' footy!
I'd reckon they'd live with themselves by realising they won the flag last year and were criticised for the same tactics at this time last year. You don't win the flag in April.
I'm a Carlton man. I'm disappointed we lost but we really only have ourselves to blame. I'm just happy we're having a crack. We would have lost this game by ten goals last year. It's beginning.
So you are telling me you walked away from that game with a smile on your face?
You have got to be kidding me. I have never been so frustrated in my life. The only time the game was moderately exciting was when Carlton was in possetion. Which was about 10% of the game.
Schneiderman
15 Apr 2006, 23:22
Whilst it was a fairly unattractive brand of footy by the Swans, the Blues have themselves to blame for losing a tight contest. Yes they play the possession game to the max, however, if the Blues picked up their men and played one on one, the Swans would have no other choice but to kick to a contest and then you've got 'normal' footy!
All the coaches are so wrapped up putting in a 'flood' at every defensive opportunity, that they have forgotten what 'normal' footy is anymore.
Which was about 10% of the game.
Whats that say about your woeful side? Or are you going to try and blame us for umm floooding..yeah..thats it those waskaty swannies and their flooding tactics.
Sydney were ordinary tonight but Carlton were pathetic.
Sedition
15 Apr 2006, 23:24
You have got to be kidding me. I have never been so frustrated in my life. The only time the game was moderately exciting was when Carlton was in possetion. Which was about 10% of the game.
So that is why they lost. It wasn't the Bloodz tactics at all.
Arcadion
15 Apr 2006, 23:28
I'm sure they are living just fine being last years premiers and certainly not done with yet this year.
What does that say about Sydney more like it?
Carlton had so little possetion of the ball, yet we only lost by 7pts. Work that out.:confused:
Shrapnel
15 Apr 2006, 23:35
What does that say about Sydney more like it?
Carlton had so little possetion of the ball, yet we only lost by 7pts. Work that out.:confused:
Ok you waste time working that out and we'll look ahead to next week:thumbsu:
Ok you waste time working that out and we'll look ahead to next week
i was asking you to work it out you tool.
i would rather loose than watch my team perform like the Swans did tonight. Absolutely disgraceful.:thumbsd:
How could you not see that your team were the ubber flooders tonight? Were you not watching the same game?
I don't know maybe. it seemed to me the only time that the game was entertatining was when Carlton had the ball though. Flooding is one thing but chipping it around constantly for a full 120mins is excruciating to watch.
Der we don't kick to a contest of 4 blues 1 swan. Maybe thats how they play at the blues, whioch is all well and fine if you are playing for draft picks, but at Sydney we are not.
Thanks champ! ;)
We let Sydney play the way they wanted to. The main reason for this was simply not manning up. I've lost count the amount of times there'd be a lose player waiting for the ball, not a Carlton player for miles around him. When we were actually 1v1 and manned up, we won a lot of the contests, and as a result dominated in that short little burst.
It is not Sydney's fault, it was not their game plan, it was out incapability to man up and that I felt was the major problem and why they did whatever they pleased in the first half with not much resistance.
Bloods Rule!
16 Apr 2006, 00:09
We let Sydney play the way they wanted to. The main reason for this was simply not manning up. I've lost count the amount of times there'd be a lose player waiting for the ball, not a Carlton player for miles around him. When we were actually 1v1 and manned up, we won a lot of the contests, and as a result dominated in that short little burst.
It is not Sydney's fault, it was not their game plan, it was out incapability to man up and that I felt was the major problem and why they did whatever they pleased in the first half with not much resistance.
Absolutely right. I don't understand why the Blues did it when they could have manned up and forced a turnover out of the Swans defence. Similarly, why, when there's lest than two minutes left and two scoring shots in it, would a Carlton player punch the ball out of play?
The cure for flooding is kicking around uncontested when you have a lead. You did, so we did, and left the ground with the points.
Absolutely right. I don't understand why the Blues did it when they could have manned up and forced a turnover out of the Swans defence. Similarly, why, when there's lest than two minutes left and two scoring shots in it, would a Carlton player punch the ball out of play?
The cure for flooding is kicking around uncontested when you have a lead. You did, so we did, and left the ground with the points.
Cause if they manned up they would not have lasted and Sydney would have won by a blow out. I see it as trying to lose the match without have a zillion goals kicked against you.
Its frustrating and painful to watch but kudos to Paul Roos if though we played in terrible patches tonight.
Similarly, why, when there's lest than two minutes left and two scoring shots in it, would a Carlton player punch the ball out of play?
For the most part, I reckon it was lack of communication. Probably thought there was a Carlton player there ready to swpie, or had a brain malfunction. In fact, that lack of communication was probably another reason. You had two players colliding with each other for the one ball, players getting run down when a team mate could've easily told him to kick it.
Sydney knew this and used it to their advantage. Crappy paly or not, it could've been avoided, and the blame should go on us for that.
Cause if they manned up they would not have lasted and Sydney would have won by a blow out.
Rubbish.
The reason why we reduced in what looked like to be a potential blowout was the fact that we manned up. When we did, we actually won contests and dominated. Albeit for a short period of time, you cannot say for sure that if we persisted with this from the beginning, it would've meant an entire loss of stamina and eventaul run over from Sydney.
Rubbish.
The reason why we reduced in what looked like to be a potential blowout was the fact that we manned up. When we did, we actually won contests and dominated. Albeit for a short period of time, you cannot say for sure that if we persisted with this from the beginning, it would've meant an entire loss of stamina and eventaul run over from Sydney.
Then why the negative tactics by Pagan?? When you manned up you controlled the game but then went back to zoning off.
Had pagan knew his cattle were up for it he would have employed man on man tactics all throughout the game?
skipper kelly
16 Apr 2006, 00:21
Rubbish.
My belief is, if you manned up then you probably run over the top of Sydney. Thats why I cant understand the defensive tactics.
Then why the negative tactics by Pagan?? When you manned up you controlled the game but then went back to zoning off.
I was suprised by it as much as you.
Had pagan knew his cattle were up for it he would have employed man on man tactics all throughout the game?
Either he did and the players were incapable of following instructions, or Pagan seriously thought his original game plan would actually work. I do not believe Pagan came into this game with the intention to lose, or at make the margin low because he thought the team couldn't win.
BTW, Lappin was a huge loss for us in the first quarter. I don't think we recovered from that.
McDougallcankick5
16 Apr 2006, 00:27
How do you think Sydney would go if they played all out attacking footy?
I know they have a negative game plan most of the time, but they seem to have quite a few speedy, hard running players, a forward line full of talent, and a backline that loves to carry the ball. Is their gameplan due to the close confines of the SCG, or just a plan by Roos to play at all grounds across Australia?
TheBrownDog
16 Apr 2006, 00:30
I was pleased to see Sydney win last year for Roosy's sake.
After the lean years he suffered at Fitzroy he deserved it.
But for the benefit of the game, Sydney must not win another flag unless they change their style of footy.
I know they have a negative game plan most of the time, but they seem to have quite a few speedy, hard running players, a forward line full of talent, and a backline that loves to carry the ball. Is their gameplan due to the close confines of the SCG, or just a plan by Roos to play at all grounds across Australia?
I am suprised, apart from swans fans, that no mention is made of not having Tadhg Kennelly give us drive from half back. He is severly missed and with him tonight and Leo Barry getting some of that run back the score would have been higher.
He is one of the missing links of our back 6 atm.
But for the benefit of the game, Sydney must not win another flag unless they change their style of footy.
But how are we always the ones that are picked on? As said countless times, if the opposition has all their players flooding back why should the swans play stupid footy?
If anything the dud teams should be the ones copping all the blame, not the swans.
But how are we always the ones that are picked on? As said countless times, if the opposition has all their players flooding back why should the swans play stupid footy?
If anything the dud teams should be the ones copping all the blame, not the swans.
No. Sydney initiate the flood, so that they can play to their gameplan. I don't really understand how you can't see that. Credit to the swans for finding a way to win, but its just not great football to watch.
FCAGJAT
16 Apr 2006, 00:47
valid post!
However most people think that Sydney are by far the most effective at succeeding with this gameplan and that's probably where the scrutiny comes from.
People are sore losers. They'll look at anything to blame the loss on!
grimlock
16 Apr 2006, 01:22
Carlton decided to drop French in the 'hole' to help Whitnall out against Hall. This effectively meant that the Swans had a spare man whenever they had the ball. And with Roosy's mantra is definitely keep possession whenever possible, it meant a lot of chipping around
To Carlton's credit their plan nearly worked, it was only a couple of kicks in it at the end. If they didn't drop French back, I would say Hall would probably have kicked a few more.
Here It Is
17 Apr 2006, 21:49
For the answer to this, look at these instances from 2005.
R3, Swans v Brisbane Lions Q4 Gabba
R15 Swans v Geelong Q2 SCG
R20 Swans v Brisbane Lions full game Telstra Stadium
PF Swans v St Kilda Q4 MCG
We do what we have to do to win.
I firmly believe that if we play all out attack, no one, and I mean no one, will beat us.
We proved it on at least these four occasions that I remember.
However, it seems to work better when used as a surprise move - simply because no one respects us, and no one expects it, even though we have the Cup.
i would rather loose than watch my team perform like the Swans did tonight. Absolutely disgraceful.
You did watch your team lose, because your team performed worse than our team.
This comment of yours says a lot more about Carlton than it does about the Swans.
Yes, I most certainly did.
We have more in us, you most likely don't (this is praise for Carlton because apart from not manning up and flooding, I thought they played pretty well).
The best part was the premiership winning team work that was so sorely missing in rounds 1 and 2 returned for three quarters (1,2,4).
So while it wasn't our best, the signs were there that the train is getting close to being back on the rails.
For the answer to this, look at these instances from 2005.
R3, Swans v Brisbane Lions Q4 Gabba
R15 Swans v Geelong Q2 SCG
R20 Swans v Brisbane Lions full game Telstra Stadium
PF Swans v St Kilda Q4 MCG
We do what we have to do to win.
I firmly believe that if we play all out attack, no one, and I mean no one, will beat us.
We proved it on at least these four occasions that I remember.
However, it seems to work better when used as a surprise move - simply because no one respects us, and no one expects it, even though we have the Cup.
You did watch your team lose, because your team performed worse than our team.
This comment of yours says a lot more about Carlton than it does about the Swans.
Yes, I most certainly did.
We have more in us, you most likely don't (this is praise for Carlton because apart from not manning up and flooding, I thought they played pretty well).
The best part was the premiership winning team work that was so sorely missing in rounds 1 and 2 returned for three quarters (1,2,4).
So while it wasn't our best, the signs were there that the train is getting close to being back on the rails.
i really do like the way you think:thumbsu: :) :thumbsu:
The Magenius
17 Apr 2006, 22:15
Sydney you have had your fun, you have won a flag but now come on support the AFL who supported you last year !! The game will never grow in NSW if the swans continue to produce a boring spectacle.
7 months on and still as bitter as if you lost th GF yesterday :rolleyes:
vanders
17 Apr 2006, 22:17
Their style of play got them a premiership, so why wouldn't they continue doing it (apart from the fact its not working the greatest for them this year!!:p )?
It seems a bit strange for such a comment to come from a Carlton supporter :confused:
Dry Rot
17 Apr 2006, 22:23
I live in a street full of them.
They seem pretty happy since September.
The Magenius
17 Apr 2006, 22:44
7 months on and still as bitter as if you lost th GF yesterday :rolleyes:
Yep must just be sour grapes I guess. How do you explain all non-eagles supporters saying the same thing ???
30,000 members and more queing on Saturday to sign up suggests your theory has no legs.
Antonius
17 Apr 2006, 23:32
How sad is it that this is the only flag you've won in the Weg era?
Hilarious...this is the only post the Swans fans haven't replied to :thumbsu:
spell_check
18 Apr 2006, 00:02
You know you've "pwned" people when no one answers to it.
Here It Is
18 Apr 2006, 00:26
I own all the WEGS dating back to 1909. That's four.
So bloody what if they are backdated.
This includes the most recent WEG, which in my opinion is the most important one until someone else wins one.
PS I can categorically guarantee that Sydney will be premiers for more than one year.
I'm willing to bet money on it.
You know you've "pwned" people when no one answers to it.
Hardly. It is indisputable fact that the Swans hadn't won a premiership for 72 years. Ain't much point debating it.
As for the game, it was a pretty dreadful spectacle. No denying that.
But it was the tactics of both teams that contributed towards it.
It was a few years ago that a heavily injury depleted St Kilda played similar tactics against the Swans, in what must be one of the absolute worst games in recent history. That time, the Eade-led Swans panicked and kept bombing the ball forward, only to have it rebounded at will. At least this time they thought their way through things and were patient enough to create sufficient scoring shots to win.
No-one wants to sit through games like that week in week out, but contrary to popular belief, that wasn't that typical of a Swans game. And I'd rather they came away with a much needed four points than not.
The Magenius
18 Apr 2006, 01:43
PS I can categorically guarantee that Sydney will be premiers for more than one year.
Please explain.
I own all the WEGS dating back to 1909. That's four.
So bloody what if they are backdated.
This includes the most recent WEG, which in my opinion is the most important one until someone else wins one.
do you know something that i don't? :confused: PM me if you do:D
Here It Is
18 Apr 2006, 22:33
Please explain.
What needs to be explained?
Arcadion
13 May 2006, 16:59
I'm sure they are living just fine being last years premiers and certainly not done with yet this year.
Sydney are back people. Definitely contenders. I didnt watch the game today but somehow I don't think their style of footy was bad at all :)
Matching Mole
13 May 2006, 17:02
What a lovely bump.
To everyone who wrote us off after two bad games - we were always going to come good. To think people were predicting us for the spoon!
Schneiderman
13 May 2006, 17:04
Definitely contenders.
With all due respect, we are the defenders. Any team that is under the misunderstanding that we are somehow not up to last year better take a reality check. Same team, same ethos, and we know how to win.
Not saying we'll win another flag, but a little respect may need to be restored.
spell_check
13 May 2006, 19:12
Hey, they actually kicked 20 goals or more for once. Miracles do happen!
I'm jumping out of my skin:D
SaintsSupporter
13 May 2006, 20:32
They finally play an attacking style of football, only the second time in 5 years, and all of a sudden they're not boring, according to Swans fans. Pfft.
Here It Is
16 May 2006, 00:44
They finally play an attacking style of football, only the second time in 5 years, and all of a sudden they're not boring, according to Swans fans. Pfft.
With the absolute tripe your mob served up for Robert Harvey on Friday night, I'm surprised you still feel your style of play is superior.
That was a gutless display for one of your greatest ever players.
i thought we employed an "attacking style" when we beat you guys in the PF :D
Shrapnel
16 May 2006, 01:36
Swans are actually the 3rd highest scoring team this year..not just because of the richmond game either..have kicked over 100 3 times with one game 97 points. Lowest score is 80 which is pretty good considering 7 teams AVERAGE under 90 points per game.
You just don't get it do you SaintsSuppoter, but that's not surprising coming from a supporter of a club which has a coach with no tactical knowledge about the game or any idea of how to get the best out of a group of talented players.
How you must look on at Paul Roos with envy......................
DST
:D
The Magenius
16 May 2006, 23:24
What a lovely bump.
To everyone who wrote us off after two bad games - we were always going to come good. To think people were predicting us for the spoon!
No one wrote you off, people are just sick of watching sydneys game style, dominated by short-kicking, a lack of contested marking.