View Full Version : Round 3 Slaps and Sledges

davey_magik
16 Apr 2006, 18:34
Slaps-

Rivers- You are a star. IMO he and Matt Egan will fight it out for AA CHB this year. He reads the play so well, very rarely beaten 1 on 1 and doesn't give up.

McLean- He isn't even fully fit and he will be a star. Sometimes it seemed like the Adelaide rucks were tapping it to him. Aside from that error with Bruce on the wing I thought he was great all day.

Bruce- Back in form and we don't play a side with Guerra this week. He is our best midfielder now. Can get the hard ball, finish well, reads the play and does the 1%ers. Will win our B&F I'd say.

Green and Yze- They suddenly got hard? Yze's chase down in the middle was great and although he kicked a point he actually showed something. And Green has really impressed me this year the way he has gone in hard. Isn't a true midfielder, but has been good on the wing and should push forward more.

Sledges-

ND- Coached alright today, but why doesn't he just tell them to go long and down the corridor? That was when we got on top. We can't afford to chip it around against Sydney and if we go long we are a good chance.

ND again- Miller should not have gone down back.

The goal umpire- Enough said.

Carroll- Tries hard and is a good defender, but we shouldn't really give the ball to him.

Canna7
17 Apr 2006, 12:47
Rivers is a natural defender and it really shows. When Carroll and Miller are down back they just don't have the brains (although Carroll is still a handy full back and Miller is a decent centre half forward). But Rivers reads the play so well, he knows when to drop off and make it a 2 on 1 contest, he can take a contested mark and he has courage.

Will be a star.

Deestroy
17 Apr 2006, 13:02
Slaps:

Rivers - Thank god he is back.
McLean - Can't wait till he's fully fit.
Bruce - He's back.
Bartram - Looks like we've found a tagger, who would have thought Daniher would have confidence in an 18 year old?
Neitz - Best game from him in a long time.
Yze - Saw him lay a tackle, it was high and he gave away a free but at least it was there.
Clearances - First time since forever I can remember such clear supply out of the middle, set up quite a few goals.

Sledges:

Ward - I was one of your supporters, but get out of the team.
Davey - When taking the ball out of defence I thought he tried to do WAY too much. Sometimes you don't need to have 5 bounces and try to evade 15 players, just kick the thing!
Robbo - Must be injured, shouldn't be playing.

JonnyW
17 Apr 2006, 15:29
I can't understand why ND persists in playing Miller in the backline, it is painfully obvious he isn't a defender. He isn't accountable enough to be a backliner.

Miller plays his best when he is CHF, leading and marking, providing a link between the midfield and deep inside the forward line.

Otherwise I was fairly impressed with the demons efforts, they showed they had some heart, which is all most of us ask for. Neitz was a strong leader, Bruce was impressive, Rivers was very good, and Bartram showed promise (3rd most tackles in the league atm).

If we can string four quarters of consistent and competitive footy, such as the last quarter we will start to win games.

melbournemartin
17 Apr 2006, 16:42
as if we could afford to drop Robbo.

our supply to him has just been poor and we have been unable to keep our forward line open for him.

Deestroy
17 Apr 2006, 17:10
as if we could afford to drop Robbo.

our supply to him has just been poor and we have been unable to keep our forward line open for him.
We can afford to rest Robbo if he is injured, which by the way he is playing he seems to be.

He has spent a lot of this year getting in the way, a prime example was when Miller led straight at the ball and Robertson cut accross with his man and took away any chance of a mark.

If he is injured and could get back to full fitness with a couple of weeks off we should absolutey do it, we've carried far to many half fit players this year.

AllStar7
17 Apr 2006, 17:21
We can afford to rest Robbo if he is injured, which by the way he is playing he seems to be.

He has spent a lot of this year getting in the way, a prime example was when Miller led straight at the ball and Robertson cut accross with his man and took away any chance of a mark.

If he is injured and could get back to full fitness with a couple of weeks off we should absolutey do it, we've carried far to many half fit players this year.

Agree with you 100%.

If by some freak chance we decide to come good and salvage this season, we need Robbo to be fit. His knee is obviously not right.

Playing at the SCG this week, we don't really need a CHF so you can throw Neita and Miller deep, and even play Green up forward (as Daniher finally did on Sunday). If we bring in Bate and Moloney we could cover his loss.

It is far better to rest him for a week or two, than have him struggle all year with an injury. Unlike Yze, there is no games record issue :rolleyes:

bullish23
18 Apr 2006, 15:06
Hi guys, I went to the game at carrarra with my best mate who is a demons fan. I thought the dees were very, very stiff. We were sittin in perfect position to judge the davey goal, and it was definately a goal. We could not believe it wasn't awarded.

I thought Neitz, River, Maclen and Bruce were your best. Nathan D Brown, was also good. Why was he dropped in the first place?? I also thought yze showed something, and if I was daniher, I would be playing him forward every week. He is wasted on the half back flank.

Further the endeavour by the dees was fantastic. They really worked their backsides off to get back in the game. I firmly believe adelaide will be in the GF this year, so I wouldn't be too disheartened. You guys aren't to far away from getting back on track.

chipper
18 Apr 2006, 15:55
Hi guys, I went to the game at carrarra with my best mate who is a demons fan. I thought the dees were very, very stiff. We were sittin in perfect position to judge the davey goal, and it was definately a goal. We could not believe it wasn't awarded.

I thought Neitz, River, Maclen and Bruce were your best. Nathan D Brown, was also good. Why was he dropped in the first place?? I also thought yze showed something, and if I was daniher, I would be playing him forward every week. He is wasted on the half back flank.

Further the endeavour by the dees was fantastic. They really worked their backsides off to get back in the game. I firmly believe adelaide will be in the GF this year, so I wouldn't be too disheartened. You guys aren't to far away from getting back on track.

Couldn't agree with you more Bullish. Why was Nathan D Brown dropped in the first place. You'd have to ask Neal that one. Really, I'm lost for a possible reason. He might have played 2 bad games I think in the last 3 years and that's no exageration. Always steps up to the plate.

I reckon Neal may have some weird thing in his head that as you approach the 30 year old mark he views his players in a different way. Not sure why with Browny though, fit as he's ever been an as you can see by his game against Adelaide, can play.

goDees22
18 Apr 2006, 22:07
Couldn't agree with you more Bullish. Why was Nathan D Brown dropped in the first place. You'd have to ask Neal that one. Really, I'm lost for a possible reason. He might have played 2 bad games I think in the last 3 years and that's no exageration. Always steps up to the plate.

I reckon Neal may have some weird thing in his head that as you approach the 30 year old mark he views his players in a different way. Not sure why with Browny though, fit as he's ever been an as you can see by his game against Adelaide, can play.

has a complete and utter lack of awareness of when he has to get rid of the thing, and isn't really very accountable for a small backman. Is however, gutsy, tough, and a great team player, and played a very good game on the weekend.

cannons
19 Apr 2006, 11:03
has a complete and utter lack of awareness of when he has to get rid of the thing, and isn't really very accountable for a small backman. Is however, gutsy, tough, and a great team player, and played a very good game on the weekend.
Yeah, he does lack awareness, although still a great player for Melbourne, dropping him was stupidity.
I think Green was actually quite decent. I think he did try hard and did a bit of tough stuff. Is improving that area. I know I've always been one to have a go at Green, but maybe he's on the improve.
I also think Byron Pickett has been a pretty good acquisition. He's been handy so far this season.

Deestroy
19 Apr 2006, 15:37
I don't mind Brown on the wing/free in the forward line. His lack of accountability isn't tested and his lack of awareness doesn't cost goals. Hopefully he can keep the form up.

goDees22
20 Apr 2006, 18:57
Yeah, he does lack awareness, although still a great player for Melbourne, dropping him was stupidity.
I think Green was actually quite decent. I think he did try hard and did a bit of tough stuff. Is improving that area. I know I've always been one to have a go at Green, but maybe he's on the improve.
I also think Byron Pickett has been a pretty good acquisition. He's been handy so far this season.
Yep i was happy with greens commitment on the weekend. Threw himself on edwards' boot and gave a mini shirtfront to scott thompson, went in hard, at least he is trying to improve