View Full Version : Pick the 7 senior premiers and runners up. Get in before the season starts.

uglydermie
17 Apr 2006, 16:35
Ugly Dermie reckons:
XAVS FROM UNI BLUES
ST KEVINS FROM BLACKS
ST BEDES FROM REDS
BULLEEN TEMPLESTOWE FROM OLD CAREY
IVANHOE FROM AQUINAS
BENTLEIGH FROM KEW
POWERHOUSE FROM ELTHAM

A cold slab of Crown for the closest (MUST BE IN BEFORE 2PM SATURDAY 22ND APRIL).

overtheline
17 Apr 2006, 18:16
Ugly Dermie reckons:
XAVS FROM UNI BLUES
ST KEVINS FROM BLACKS
ST BEDES FROM REDS
BULLEEN TEMPLESTOWE FROM OLD CAREY
IVANHOE FROM AQUINAS
BENTLEIGH FROM KEW
POWERHOUSE FROM ELTHAM

A cold slab of Crown for the closest (MUST BE IN BEFORE 2PM SATURDAY 22ND APRIL).

Overtheline reckons:
Hailybury from Xavs
Collegians from Brighton
Fitzroy from Ajax
Carey from St Leos
Werribee from Aquinas
Bentleigh from Elsternwick
Powerhouse from Bulleen.

brian speaking
17 Apr 2006, 19:08
Overtheline reckons:
Hailebury from Xavs
Collegians from Brighton
Fitzroy from Ajax
Carey from St Leos
Werribee from Aquinas
Bentleigh from Elsternwick
Powerhouse from Bulleen.

Old Xaverians from University Blues
Collegians from University Blacks
St Bedes Mentone Tigers from Ormond
Old Carey from Rupertswood
Werribee from Peninsula Old Boys
Elsternwick from Kew
Box Hill North from Eltham

The Big Pineapple
18 Apr 2006, 09:24
TBP thinks:

Old Xavs from The Bloods
OC from Brighton
St Bedes from Ormond
Rupertswood (ex Ben.Carbonaro) from Old Carey
Werribee from Ivanhoe
Bentleigh from Kew
Powerhouse from Eltham

Red Roy
18 Apr 2006, 11:21
Red Roy Thinks:

Xavs From Old Hail

Collegians from blacks

St bedes From fitzroy

Prahran from Old Carey

Werribee from Oakleigh

elsternwick from ????

Albert park from ????

Red Roy
18 Apr 2006, 11:22
Red Roy Thinks:

Xavs From Old Hail

Collegians from blacks

St bedes From fitzroy

Prahran from Old Carey

Werribee from Oakleigh

elsternwick from ????

Albert park from ????

Elsternwick from bentleigh

Albert Park from Bulleen

Coach Hollywood
18 Apr 2006, 16:21
This being my first year as part of the VAFA I doubt I know enough about all the leagues to comment, but I think there are a few good sides I've seen already who will be a chance this year, so here goes.

A GRADE - Xavs from Hailybury.
B GRADE - Brighton From Collegians
C GRADE - Fitzroy from Old Paradians
D GRADE - Old Carey from Bulleen Temp
D2 GRADE - Ivanhoe From Penninsula
D3 GRADE - Elstenwick from Bentleigh
D4 GRADE - Eltham College from Bulleen

uglydermie
18 Apr 2006, 16:56
where do you hale from Hollywood? Welcome aboard. VAFA rules mean you must have at least 3 beers after away games and 6 at home. Stick with this advice and you can't go wrong!

Allears
18 Apr 2006, 17:01
where do you hale from Hollywood? Welcome aboard. VAFA rules mean you must have at least 3 beers after away games and 6 at home. Stick with this advice and you can't go wrong!

Must agree"If you drink n drive and make it home, your a bloody legend''. :p

bullant10
18 Apr 2006, 17:06
A - xavs From Uni Blues

b - Blacks From Collegians

c - Reds From St Bedes

d - Bulleen Temp From Old Carey

d2 - Aquinas From Ivanhoe

d3 - Elsternwick From Bentleigh

d4 - Powerhouse From Bulleen Cobras

uglydermie
18 Apr 2006, 17:09
Must agree"If you drink n drive and make it home, your a bloody legend''. :p
Where are your premiers Ears?

bullant10
18 Apr 2006, 17:14
uglydermie,
Where will banyule end up this year? Heard they are struggling a bit.

overtheline
18 Apr 2006, 17:21
This being my first year as part of the VAFA I doubt I know enough about all the leagues to comment, but I think there are a few good sides I've seen already who will be a chance this year, so here goes.

A GRADE - Xavs from Hailybury.
B GRADE - Brighton From Collegians
C GRADE - Fitzroy from Old Paradians
D GRADE - Old Carey from Bulleen Temp
D2 GRADE - Ivanhoe From Penninsula
D3 GRADE - Elstenwick from Bentleigh
D4 GRADE - Eltham College from Bulleen

Coach hollywood wouldn't be associated with Ivanhoe by any chance? They reckon they have 20 new recruits every year! Parade second in C?
Wait and see with ivanhoe for me and parade won't come second.

footy_nerd
18 Apr 2006, 17:46
i am suprised no one has picked old geelong in d grade. they were premiers last year and looked pretty good throughout the year.

good to see lots of people have given rupertswood a chance they are a young hard running side with lots of courage and determination, i know this isn't a thread about d grade but how do you boys reckon rupo and old geelong will go this year do you reckon it could be a repeat from d1 grand final last year

Coach Hollywood
19 Apr 2006, 12:34
UglyDermie - I hale from the DVFL, so you won't have to worry about me hanging around for a beer after the game, I'll be putting plenty back this season!
Overtheline - I only had Old Paradians in the GF after seeing them play against Ormond in a practice match, Ormond were very ordinary and only 1 good player stood out for them, where as Parade were very impressive. I therefore based my assement on the rest of C Grade from that one game?
And yes go the Hoers!

Moss Rocket
19 Apr 2006, 13:58
i am suprised no one has picked old geelong in d grade. they were premiers last year and looked pretty good throughout the year.

good to see lots of people have given rupertswood a chance they are a young hard running side with lots of courage and determination, i know this isn't a thread about d grade but how do you boys reckon rupo and old geelong will go this year do you reckon it could be a repeat from d1 grand final last year

Nerdman,

My spies tell me Old Geelong have had a heap of players leave after GF glory and have not recruited anyone of note. I believe they will struggle big time. Rupy will be very good. Expect Old Carey and BTemp to be very good. Banyule and Yarra Valley will also struggle! Should be a big year in D grade!

uglydermie
19 Apr 2006, 15:30
Coach: say hi to Rawley for me. I have been going toe to toe with him for 15 bloody years. Great fella indeed!

Coach Hollywood
20 Apr 2006, 14:18
Yeah great bloke Rawls, One of the real stalwarts of the VAFA.
Loves the Black & White and footy in general, he can talk under water also. I'll let him know you said g'day, he'll be happy to know he's not only bloke who's been running around for 15+ years. Any news on the other D2 clubs? I Don't know much about the others?

buckaz
20 Apr 2006, 14:23
d4 premiers will definately be powerhouse from bulleen :cool:

uglydermie
20 Apr 2006, 14:41
NOT sure about Banyule Bullant10. I believe they are young and talented but may be lacking a few senior heads. Not long now till we find out.... Good luck to yourself - Clearly a Bullant. Do you pull on the boots? I might walk down the hill and have a look at a few games. The Local Derby V Old Carey should be a cracker.

Coach Hollywood
20 Apr 2006, 15:19
Buckaz, Don't you rate the Turtles? Should they at least play finals?
Where do you think the Brunswick Boys will finish aswell?

buckaz
20 Apr 2006, 15:26
hollywood..just giving my predictions for premier and runner up. Turtles are definately a force, but hard to see them push aside bulleen. Powerhouse are in another league, don't know who the man mountain is at full foward but he is unstoppable, and their running game is the best in the d4 by far. North Brunny are a tough team, but won't pressure the top 4, i think richmond central may chalk up two wins against north brunny this year, not just the one they chalked up last year. richmond central are a slightly better side this year, but lack the tall timber. but we are talking about finalists here:
powerhouse
bulleen
turtles
hawthorn

bullant10
20 Apr 2006, 16:20
NOT sure about Banyule Bullant10. I believe they are young and talented but may be lacking a few senior heads. Not long now till we find out.... Good luck to yourself - Clearly a Bullant. Do you pull on the boots? I might walk down the hill and have a look at a few games. The Local Derby V Old Carey should be a cracker.

try to mate, when the injuries allow, getting on these days so every chance i get i make the most of!

Son of a Gun
20 Apr 2006, 16:43
Nerdman,

My spies tell me Old Geelong have had a heap of players leave after GF glory and have not recruited anyone of note. I believe they will struggle big time. Rupy will be very good. Expect Old Carey and BTemp to be very good. Banyule and Yarra Valley will also struggle! Should be a big year in D grade!

Yarra are in real trouble, will struggle to field 2 sides let alone be competitive in D Grade.

bullant10
20 Apr 2006, 16:55
Yarra are in real trouble, will struggle to field 2 sides let alone be competitive in D Grade.

have not heard much from st leos or old mentonians. Leos were always competitive last year and prob would expect the same if they haven't lost too many?

Anyone got any early tips for comp b&f and premiers/runners up?

Fwaygo
21 Apr 2006, 12:50
hollywood..just giving my predictions for premier and runner up. Turtles are definately a force, but hard to see them push aside bulleen. Powerhouse are in another league, don't know who the man mountain is at full foward but he is unstoppable, and their running game is the best in the d4 by far. North Brunny are a tough team, but won't pressure the top 4, i think richmond central may chalk up two wins against north brunny this year, not just the one they chalked up last year. richmond central are a slightly better side this year, but lack the tall timber. but we are talking about finalists here:
powerhouse
bulleen
turtles
hawthorn

Syndal would have to be right up there, coming back from D3, having comfortably beaten Powerhouse last year and only just getting pipped in their 2 clashes. Very strong backline there would be able to hold any 'gun' recruits.