View Full Version : Haileybury Vs Melbourne - Biggest game on APS Calendar

Irony
17 Apr 2006, 17:39
I advise everyone to get down on Friday the 28th of April at 2:30, at Haileybury College to watch one of the most skillful and amazing clashes ever seen in APS histroy. Haileybury have a well balanced outfit, with 12 players playing TAC Cup footy and Melbourne Grammar as we all know have many good players in Xavier Ellis and Tom Hawkins. There will be many spectators at this game as well as AFL selectors. Will be an amazing show of skill, class and determination to show who is the best football school in the state!

Friday the 28th of April at 2:30, at Haileybury College - Free entry and lots of food & Drink and entertainment

chooker
17 Apr 2006, 18:06
Can't see a big crowd turning up. Haileybury is soo bloody far away, i predict about 50 max. of their students to stay and watch. Such is the abismal school spirit at Haileybury. Had it been played at MGS the crowd would be triple and a big atmosphere.

Should be a good game, pity it's so early on in the season as both schools won't be at top form so early on.

Ellis won't play. Will he? The AGE injury report today suggests he's 4 weeks away. Good to watch the big Hawkins play, as the Sun yesterday said he'd been dominating the Irish in the U17 games.

Isn't the biggest game on the APS calender, no game with Haileybury is/ever will be! MGS vs. Scotch is the biggest.

I predict MGS to beat Haileybury, in what should be a good game, albeit a hollow and empty atmosphere.

CAPPERisGOD
17 Apr 2006, 18:08
Does anyone know what either sides line up will look like come Friday 28th???

footyismylife
17 Apr 2006, 20:06
Does anyone know what either sides line up will look like come Friday 28th???
i know you wont be playing cause you are a hack.

jcats#6
17 Apr 2006, 23:44
Melbourne Grammar will most likely line up as so:
(From Backline)

Heinz Batten Webb

Slade Casey-Leigh Cumbrae

Lade McLardy Nestel

McCoy Hawkins Shaw

Moore Beaumont L.Ellis

Foll: Davis Measures Westin

I/C:Myer Haralambous Levy Barraclough X.Ellis???

Any suggestions or additions?

mudgeathon
18 Apr 2006, 01:11
While it will be a big game, the biggest games are always

Scotch vs Melbourne Grammar or Xavier vs Scotch. Always pull the biggest crowds no matter how well or poorly each team is going.

Oh Furious One
18 Apr 2006, 03:50
What colors do Haileybury wear?

macca69
18 Apr 2006, 09:47
(From Backline)

Heinz Batten Webb

Lade McLardy Nestel

McCoy Hawkins Shaw

Moore Beaumont L.Ellis

thought X. Ellis was injured?

footyismylife
18 Apr 2006, 15:23
thought X. Ellis was injured?
who knows mate. mayb he will run out against haileybury who knows?
they are leaving it a secret for now

footyismylife
18 Apr 2006, 15:26
(From Backline)

Heinz Batten Webb

Lade McLardy Nestel

McCoy Hawkins Shaw

Moore Beaumont L.Ellis

Would like to see young Gooley drafted into the team. Sartori where is he? I don't know why Andrew Oaten isn't there he has hands of god and is a great kick for goal. the team looks great with the on ballers being stars and Hawkins at CHF. When Vance is back from injury it will be great and when Ellis is back in the Aps finals he will be ripping it up

Irony
19 Apr 2006, 21:08
Can't see a big crowd turning up. Haileybury is soo bloody far away, i predict about 50 max. of their students to stay and watch. Such is the abismal school spirit at Haileybury. Had it been played at MGS the crowd would be triple and a big atmosphere.

Should be a good game, pity it's so early on in the season as both schools won't be at top form so early on.

Ellis won't play. Will he? The AGE injury report today suggests he's 4 weeks away. Good to watch the big Hawkins play, as the Sun yesterday said he'd been dominating the Irish in the U17 games.

Isn't the biggest game on the APS calender, no game with Haileybury is/ever will be! MGS vs. Scotch is the biggest.

I predict MGS to beat Haileybury, in what should be a good game, albeit a hollow and empty atmosphere.
It will be a massive game with the whole school been let off to watch it and pst players, parents and supporters of Haileybury will be their in strong force.
And for you to pedict Melbourne winning without X.Ellis is a complete joke. Melbourne Grammar = X.Ellis and T.Hawkins, without one of them it equals a bunch of spastics waiting to get smashed in 9 days

wsm28
19 Apr 2006, 22:20
It will be a massive game with the whole school been let off to watch it and pst players, parents and supporters of Haileybury will be their in strong force.
And for you to pedict Melbourne winning without X.Ellis is a complete joke. Melbourne Grammar = X.Ellis and T.Hawkins, without one of them it equals a bunch of spastics waiting to get smashed in 9 days

Big call mate, most said that hailebury would beat MGS last year yet they were completely outclassed. couple of new good players this year coming up from year 11. should be a good game

footyismylife
19 Apr 2006, 22:28
wonder what would happen if we took 2 of your best players out mate. YOU WOULD LOOSE BY MORE THEN MGS BEAT YOU BY LAST YEAR

shake_this17
25 Apr 2006, 01:06
Friday should be a good game. This is what the Haileybury side will most likely look like come Friday:

Backs: Hellier Erikson Sheldon
C.H.B: Luxa Chadwick Lillie
Centre: Hill Gilder Driscoll
C.H.F: Lynch Comben Tunic
Forwards: Smith Francis Collins

Followers: Andrews, Beckwith, Succuzzo

Pine: McIntyre, Martin, Keady

jcats#6
25 Apr 2006, 23:06
Any team with lillie in it deserves to get thrashed

dutchy12
26 Apr 2006, 20:08
MGS side went up today

Xavier Ellis was named and will play

chooker
26 Apr 2006, 20:48
MGS side went up today

Xavier Ellis was named and will play

I saw the team, and Ellis should be a handy inclusion. Coming straight out of the cast and onto the footy field.

MGS to smash them.

Irony
26 Apr 2006, 22:55
Hahaha boys dont u worry Xavier Ellis will not get a possie on Friday, lets just say we have some nice suprises for that kid, also Lillie is a gun and will play on Hawkins and smash him.
Haileybury by 5 goals and they will be dedicating this one to our lately passed mate Simon (Nobby) Brown.
This is the most probable team:
Backs: Hellier Erikson Luxa
C.H.B: Sheldon Comben Tunic
Centre: Hill Chadwick Lynch
C.H.F: Smith Francis Driscoll
Forwards: Lillie Gilder Collins

Bench: McIntyre, Martin, Keady

jcats#6
26 Apr 2006, 23:40
First of all, how is Lillie going to be on Hawkins and smash him when he is named in the forward pocket? I saw Lillie play in the 10's competition and he was dominated by a second-string ruckman. Also to say that Xav Ellis will not get a touch is just stupid, he is a No.3 Draft Pick and by far the most talented and skilled player in the APS, unless your little surprise involves breaking his legs before the game he will single-handedly rip up your little Haileybury team full of no-names.

shake_this17
27 Apr 2006, 00:15
It is going to be a tough match for both sides. Andrews and Lillie will be working together to shut down Melbourne Grammars Tom Hawkins. I no that Hawkins is massive, although Lillie stands at about 195cm - 87kg and has played very well for Haileybury in pre season matches. Andrews stands at about 193 - 85kg and has a massive leap and can push forward and kick goals. (I no Hawkins is bigger than both of them, but the two’s athleticism might work in Haileyburys favour). The Haileybury side will have a big desire to win this match for a former player Simon Brown who passed away last summer. With this pushing them and talent all around the ground I think they will be to good for Melbourne Grammars side and I predict, Haileybury by 3 - 4 goals.

footyismylife
27 Apr 2006, 19:35
Lets get this striaght
Lillie is a hack and will be no match for hawkins. Be realistic Hawkins is the best CHF in the APS and Lillie is a alright footy player but will be no match for Tom. Ellis won't be in for a suprise mate. Ellis has a AFL contract, the best player in the aps and will be hard to stop. You can't deny how good he is. This little suprise ey what does it involve. Are u somehow going to break his leg or ram him cause you'll just get the same back from Tom Hawkins. Imagine him slamming into

football king
27 Apr 2006, 19:58
Hahaha boys dont u worry Xavier Ellis will not get a possie on Friday, lets just say we have some nice suprises for that kid, also Lillie is a gun and will play on Hawkins and smash him.
Haileybury by 5 goals and they will be dedicating this one to our lately passed mate Simon (Nobby) Brown.

First of all, Xavier Ellis is the best player in the league and Tom Hawkins will walk strait onto the geelong team next year. The fact you think some arguably decent year 11 will "smash" one of the best youngsters in the country is ridiculous and embarassing, and reflects your intelligence. Second of all, what are you gonna do to Xav? you are so unbelievably condescending about your team and its ability its a joke. If Xav isnt going to get a possie on friday then why is contracted to an AFL club? By the way, when i was watching Hawkins play in the u/18 international rules against ireland i didnt see lillie or that other joke of a player that u named playing, so i will be eager to see him "smashed" come friday.

Grammar by a couple of kicks

pj23
27 Apr 2006, 20:03

well xav will be waiting for the surprise and we will dedicate the win to the passing of fair footy in the aps you scholarship paying pricks

shake_this17
27 Apr 2006, 20:34
Bloods side was finalized today:

Backs: Hellier Erikson McLachlan
C.H.B: Lynch Comben Luxa
Centre: Hill Sheldon McIntyre
C.H.F: Collins Francis Driscoll
Forwards: Smith Gilder Succuzzo

Followers: Andrews, Beckwith, Chadwick

Bench: Lillie, Keady, Nickolopalous

WHAT A SIDE!!!!!

BIGfootyfan34
27 Apr 2006, 21:08
as much as hailebury want to drum up this game we all know there will be little support for their scholarship team,as an outsider i am goin for the navy blue cos their a gutsy team and have been consistantly good for a fair while now. I saw a young fella play the other week for mgs against a S.A team and he fair dinkum starred, definately one to watch, flaming red dog??ne one know his name,oh and tall blonde kid played well for them,number 15? ne one know these two and if so wat yr level??

footyismylife
27 Apr 2006, 21:17
as much as hailebury want to drum up this game we all know there will be little support for their scholarship team,as an outsider i am goin for the navy blue cos their a gutsy team and have been consistantly good for a fair while now. I saw a young fella play the other week for mgs against a S.A team and he fair dinkum starred, definately one to watch, flaming red dog??ne one know his name,oh and tall blonde kid played well for them,number 15? ne one know these two and if so wat yr level??
Flaming Red dog is Charles Shaw year 10 and number 15 blonde fella was Ollie Lade. Definatly not the best mgs have to offer but good players

Gissa
27 Apr 2006, 21:32

WHAT A SIDE!!!!!
B:$Hellier $Erikson $Mclaclan
HB:$Lynch $Comben $Luxa
C:$Hill $Sheldon $McIntyre
HF:$Collins $Francis $Driscoll
F:$Smith $Gilder $Succuzzo
Foll:$Andrews $Beckwith $Chadwick
Bench: free of charge

football king
27 Apr 2006, 23:23
Most of the haileybury kids that post on this site wouldnt be in the 1st 18 i would think. I feel so sorry for u guys. I mean how bad would it be to have to pay like 50 grand a year to cover the guys who go to your school on scholarship. As a grammar boy, i will be going to the main oval at haileybury on friday knowing that if grammar win and have a consistent season, atleast i am not paying for a premiership

goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 13:18

WHAT A SIDE!!!!!

No Tunic? Is he injured or just not getting a game?

SCARD
28 Apr 2006, 17:38
Oh dear. Game did lack atmosphere, mainly because it was over by quarter time. Melbourne were totally out of their depth. Haileybury won the game by 76 points.

goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 17:48
Oh dear. Game did lack atmosphere, mainly because it was over by quarter time. Melbourne were totally out of their depth. Haileybury won the game by 76 points.

LOL yeah the Melbourne Boys did better than I thought they would. Good to see they limited the damage to double figures.

Wonder what excuses they got.

Irony
28 Apr 2006, 18:05
Just got back from the game between Melbourne and Haileybury and it's safe to say that Melbourne will not be a contender this year as Haileybury absolutely destroyed them from the first bounce and eventual winners by 13 goals. Melbourne had two good players for the day and that was it, they were embarrasing belted at the hands of a merciless Haileybury. The first quarter started of with Haileybury kicking 6 goals to 1 and from there on it was a one sided game, with Melbourne lucky not to be beaten by over 100 points had Haileybury kep the footy down in the last quarter.

I will re iterate the fact, Melbourne are nothing without Vance and Xavier Ellis and until they play Melbourne will struggle to win a game. Looks like its gonna be down to round 8 when Haileybury plays Scotch.

goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 18:17
Looks like its gonna be down to round 8 when Haileybury plays Scotch.

Its already over

Esham
28 Apr 2006, 18:21
Just got back from the game between Melbourne and Haileybury and it's safe to say that Melbourne will not be a contender this year as Haileybury absolutely destroyed them from the first bounce and eventual winners by 13 goals. Melbourne had two good players for the day and that was it, they were embarrasing belted at the hands of a merciless Haileybury. The first quarter started of with Haileybury kicking 6 goals to 1 and from there on it was a one sided game, with Melbourne lucky not to be beaten by over 100 points had Haileybury kep the footy down in the last quarter.

I will re iterate the fact, Melbourne are nothing without Vance and Xavier Ellis and until they play Melbourne will struggle to win a game. Looks like its gonna be down to round 8 when Haileybury plays Scotch.
vance was playing wasnt he? i thought i saw him..

and tunik wasnt playing because hes so damn **** he didnt make the side

goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 18:23
and tunik wasnt playing because hes so damn **** he didnt make the side

LOL he is better than most the melbourne players. Shows the strength of the Haileybury side

pj23
28 Apr 2006, 19:32
LOL yeah the Melbourne Boys did better than I thought they would. Good to see they limited the damage to double figures.

Wonder what excuses they got.

no excuses mate just don't get to cocky cause their are still a couple teams that will knock off your tac up side

footyismylife
28 Apr 2006, 19:59
one bad game mate. What would happen if we took haylieybury's 2 best players away. You wouldn't perform nearly as well. First game of the year for a new outfit who have played 1 game together as a full team without experimenting. Come finals time mgs will be a much better outfit. Will be a better game if the two teams meet again

goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 20:54
one bad game mate. What would happen if we took haylieybury's 2 best players away. You wouldn't perform nearly as well. First game of the year for a new outfit who have played 1 game together as a full team without experimenting. Come finals time mgs will be a much better outfit. Will be a better game if the two teams meet again

That is crap (cr@p) mate. If you took away haileyburys best 2 players it would not make a huge difference as the best between haileyburys best and worst is minimal. Matthew Tunik missed out on a game today and was on chargers list last year as an underage. So they will be replaced with another good player. Where with Melbourne they have no depth just a couple of stars and a couple of stars is not enough to beat a class outfit like haileybury.

GO THE BLOODS!

wsm28
28 Apr 2006, 21:47
That is crap (cr@p) mate. If you took away haileyburys best 2 players it would not make a huge difference as the best between haileyburys best and worst is minimal. Matthew Tunik missed out on a game today and was on chargers list last year as an underage. So they will be replaced with another good player. Where with Melbourne they have no depth just a couple of stars and a couple of stars is not enough to beat a class outfit like haileybury.

GO THE BLOODS!

Mate, is Hailebury were to take away their 15 scolarships and MGS were to take away their 4 or what ever then the side would absolutly destroy hailebury by probably more than 100 points.

football king
28 Apr 2006, 21:52
That is crap mate. If you took away haileyburys best 2 players it would not make a huge difference as the best between haileyburys best and worst is minimal. Matthew Tunik missed out on a game today and was on chargers list last year as an underage. So they will be replaced with another good player. Where with Melbourne they have no depth just a couple of stars and a couple of stars is not enough to beat a class outfit like haileybury.

GO THE BLOODS!

Talk as much as u want. wait will the finals wen we have vance, ellis and webb back in the mix and are playing like a proper side that can mesh. also get your facts strait, vance did NOT play, so stop contradicting your posts by saying he didnt then he did then he didnt. I honestly cannot wait until the finals wen we can play u again.

also remember, $440,000 is a lot of money to pay for a premiership

goal sneak
29 Apr 2006, 09:29
Talk as much as u want. wait will the finals wen we have vance, ellis and webb back in the mix and are playing like a proper side that can mesh. also get your facts strait, vance did NOT play, so stop contradicting your posts by saying he didnt then he did then he didnt. I honestly cannot wait until the finals wen we can play u again.

also remember, $440,000 is a lot of money to pay for a premiership

You are a tool buddy. Find me a post where i said vance played. That is just bull:D:D:D:D and if you say something like that again i will sue you for defamation. Also there are no finals in APS so all you can hope for is for Haileybury to lose 2 matches which just won't happen. God luck in your quest for 2nd

dutchy12
29 Apr 2006, 12:01
You are a tool buddy. Find me a post where i said vance played. That is just bull:D:D:D:D and if you say something like that again i will sue you for defamation. Also there are no finals in APS so all you can hope for is for Haileybury to lose 2 matches which just won't happen. God luck in your quest for 2nd

Mate there is a round robin type finals system at the end of the year. MGS will have to play well now to get there and hoepfully if they do they can playt hailbiry and have a red hto crack at it this time

goal sneak
29 Apr 2006, 12:46
Mate there is a round robin type finals system at the end of the year. MGS will have to play well now to get there and hoepfully if they do they can playt hailbiry and have a red hto crack at it this time

No there isn't

shake_this17
29 Apr 2006, 13:24
No there isn't

Yeh man there is..... After the 8 home/away rounds, the top 4 sides will play off in a redraw, which will give these sides a crack at the premiership.

My prediction after the 8 rounds: (1) Haileybury (2) Scotch (3) Xavier (4) Melbourne.... then the finals...

Does anyone know where the games will be played... like who’s home game will it be? Will it depend on how the side ended up after the 8 rounds, like ladder ranking? Eg) if Melbourne and Haileybury meet again in the finals, will it be played at Melbourne or Haileybury?

footyismylife
29 Apr 2006, 16:33
No there isn't
there is you absolute hack. So that means the job is not yet done yet by the "bloods" You don't think mgs will bounce back after this lose. Mgs doesnt have the depth but then again niether do you guys your're seconds are crap. Imagine a match with NO scholarships mgs would destory your team you would have some of your 3rds team playing. Your're school is bound to go bankrupt some time in it's life with the amount of money you boys spend on a schoolboy football team.

Esham
29 Apr 2006, 16:47
there is you absolute hack. So that means the job is not yet done yet by the "bloods" You don't think mgs will bounce back after this lose. Mgs doesnt have the depth but then again niether do you guys your're seconds are crap. Imagine a match with NO scholarships mgs would destory your team you would have some of your 3rds team playing. Your're school is bound to go bankrupt some time in it's life with the amount of money you boys spend on a schoolboy football team.
Its not Finals or a Round Robin. All it is is a Redraw in which the Top 4 play against each other. There is no Preliminary Finals or Grand Final, so you can't call it finals.

chooker
29 Apr 2006, 18:03
Its not Finals or a Round Robin. All it is is a Redraw in which the Top 4 play against each other. There is no Preliminary Finals or Grand Final, so you can't call it finals.

Yeah, well it sorta is finals. Cos if you come 1st, in the first redraw round you play the team that comes 4th, then the 2nd round is the team that comes 3rd then the last redraw round is the team that comes 2nd. So if all goes to plan that last game will be a grand-final between 1st vs 2nd (at the end of the normal season), IF the 1st and 2nd team win all their redraw matches.

Haileybury are cheats anyway.

Irony
30 Apr 2006, 12:30
Hahaha all u boys are just jealous because Haileybury absolutely destroyed Melbourne Grammar on Friday. Haileybury arent cheats cause every school is buying scholarships now, Brighton Grammar have quite a few now, as do Scotch, Caulfield, Melbourne, Geelong. So everyone is doing it now so just get ready for another Haileybury premiership 3 in a row.
My prediction is
Haileybury undefeated
Scotch 1 loss to Haileybury
Xavier 2 losses - Haileybury and Scotch
Melbourne 3 losses to the above teams and will be lucky to make finals at all.

CentreHalf-Back
1 May 2006, 12:55
Which Brighton Grammar players are on scholarships? I know Tregear has been there since year 7, the same with Calder. Would be interested to hear some other names ...

smoking
1 May 2006, 16:38
Which Brighton Grammar players are on scholarships? I know Tregear has been there since year 7, the same with Calder. Would be interested to hear some other names ...
BGS give their scholarships in year 7. Tregear is on one. Don't know about Calder. Have 6 current sports scholars in year 8. Hailebury has about the same in year 8.

chooker
2 May 2006, 22:57
Hahaha all u boys are just jealous because Haileybury absolutely destroyed Melbourne Grammar on Friday. Haileybury arent cheats cause every school is buying scholarships now, Brighton Grammar have quite a few now, as do Scotch, Caulfield, Melbourne, Geelong. So everyone is doing it now so just get ready for another Haileybury premiership 3 in a row.
My prediction is
Haileybury undefeated
That's a real good fixture you've got there. As my great friend, pj23, said MGS don't play Scotch. Get your facts right buddy.

Back to the footy, who do Haileybury have this week? They will most likely win by playing soft, unaccountable and selfish football. Doesn't work against the powerhouse sides of the competition.

Chugga
2 May 2006, 23:39
My prediction is
Haileybury undefeated

There's little doubt amongst everybody involved in APS football that Haileybury rort the system. Some schools give out scholarships, but there's a difference between giving out 1-2 as opposed to the 16-17 that Haileybury give out.

It must be a fantastic feeling singing the song after the game. Do they even know the words?

As Chooker said, soft and unaccountable football may work against spineless/talentless teams like MGS, but it doesn't stand up against a half decent team.

shake_this17
6 May 2006, 00:30
soft and unaccountable football.

omg mate, stop posting on this website, your embarrassing yourself ! ! ! !

blueboys1
15 May 2006, 16:15
Haileybury are the best APS team by a long way and they should win every game
So far they have beaten every team very easy (ave winning margin is 77points) and if they can kick straight they will win by more
They work well together and share the ball around
There should be a few to go on and play in the AFL
If you get the chance to see this great team in action make sure you do so when they talk about the best team of all time in the APS you can say you watched them play

Irony
15 May 2006, 21:14
Yep its true Haileyburys current team is th best team the APS has seen for quite some time. After last weeks game against Brighton the Brighton coach said in his speech that he thought this was the best APS team he had ever seen in his 12 yrs of coaching and just two weeks ago the Melbourne coach said exactly the same thing.
Its true boys, Haileyburys team is an unbelieveably talented team, and all this talk about non school spirit/ team spirit is rubbish as nearly every single boy in that team hangs out with each other during or after school. They love the school and are best mates.

blueboys1
16 May 2006, 10:58
Final Scores Haileybury14 18 101 Melbourne 4 2 26