View Full Version : u19 section 1
Champs wear da No.16
21 May 2006, 19:09
just to like to know peoples thoughts on the use of the interchange bench. do people think tht teams who dont use it well, will be caught out later in the year?
frase18
21 May 2006, 20:14
just to like to know peoples thoughts on the use of the interchange bench. do people think tht teams who dont use it well, will be caught out later in the year?
you idiot
It's under age football mate it won't affect them at all.
inside_player
22 May 2006, 14:39
dont write off marcellin... ordinary at the moment YES.
however, with something like 6 under 19 eligble players playing in the 1s how could you possibly write them off. I still have them edging out Bernards for 4th spot come the end of the yr. The finals who knows
De La
Rupo ( if they keep that gun forward out of the 1s)
Xavs
Marc.
Bernards
Uni
Scotch
Collegians
Skevs
Banyule
On another note Under 19 rep team selections were a joke.
johnfromtheVAFA
22 May 2006, 14:55
I think you have rated rupo to high.
Da La
Xavs
Uni
Bernards
Rupo(big push for finals)
Scotch
Marcilin
St kevs
Collegians
Banyule
They rupy will have a big chance to play finals but with losses to da la and uni they probly have a bit to go to make it a top 2 year. But i would love them to prove me wrong. I too want some news on Uni hasnt been alot on them who are there guns down their?
BlueBoys88
22 May 2006, 14:56
You are a fool inside player. Marcellin will not be in the top 6 let alone the top 4, and rupo, they were well and truly found out on the weekend by ub's. The top 4 teams in the competition this week, will be the sides battling for top position come finals time, the rest will round out the bottom.
frase18
22 May 2006, 15:04
You are a fool inside player. Marcellin will not be in the top 6 let alone the top 4, and rupo, they were well and truly found out on the weekend by ub's. The top 4 teams in the competition this week, will be the sides battling for top position come finals time, the rest will round out the bottom.
lets be honest here, as if you can really predict whats going to happen in u/19s footy? it is just so dependant on how the senior team is going and whos actually playing 19's on the weekend. if everyteam had a full list to go on, no team would get within 5 goals of marcellin, xavs or uni, the rest of the league is just rubbish.
linger_isgod
22 May 2006, 15:07
lets be honest here, as if you can really predict whats going to happen in u/19s footy? it is just so dependant on how the senior team is going and whos actually playing 19's on the weekend. if everyteam had a full list to go on, no team would get within 5 goals of marcellin, xavs or uni, the rest of the league is just rubbish.
No room for De La there?
VAFA19s
22 May 2006, 15:07
I reckon it'll look something like:
Xavs
De La (too hard to separate 1 & 2 at the moment)
Uni
Bernards
Marcellin
Rupertswood
Scotch
Skevs
Collegians
Banyule
At the moment i think dairy bells/uni/xavs are miles in front however. As such, 4th is surely a fight between bernards/marcellin.
St.Kev's Cowboy
22 May 2006, 16:44
Not making any ladder predictions until after the Scotch Rupo and uni b xavs games this week.
Officially over St.Kevs. Gonna try and get top the Scotchy Rupo game this week to see what all this unnecessary fuss is about. Certainly talked the talk but got taught a lesson in walking the walk by the Blues.
I think though De La, Xavs, St Bernads, Uni Blues and Rupo (to push if they don't lose any players to the ones)
Anyone see any of the games on the weekend?
What would a likely Under 19 Section 1 side look like? Any ideas?
VAFA19s
22 May 2006, 22:35
Hang on i still don't get the deal with rupertswood.
Got killed by de la 113-30
Beat collegians by only 1pt, beat skevs by a touch under 60 (no great feat)
Beat Marcellin who clearly have lost many players to the ones and are far from up there with the current team
Got beaten by Uni by 40pts.
Seems to me that they haven't beaten much, and have been pretty well flogged when they've played decent teams. Where is the hype coming from? I don't think they can realistically be included in a top 4 based on these performances, but thats just me. Anyone agree? If not, on what basis?
(i conceed that i don't know anything about if they've lost players to their firsts etc...)
johnfromtheVAFA
23 May 2006, 10:41
Rupo will push for finals they have been touched up but they are a good side and will be up there with marcillin and bernards in the fight for that 4th spot. Uni, xavs and da la have the top 3 sorted. but an interestin tussel for 4th.
inside_player
23 May 2006, 11:34
can anyone account for unis improvement from the start of the season?? by all reports they were pretty average 1st couple of rnds
VAFA19s
23 May 2006, 12:23
Not sure, but the fact that they aren't based on school and have never played together prior to this year might have something to do with it. Woulda taken time to get to know each other as blokes & footy players... now they've played a few games together i'd imagine they'd be getting better?
m.diddy
23 May 2006, 13:01
Not sure, but the fact that they aren't based on school and have never played together prior to this year might have something to do with it. Woulda taken time to get to know each other as blokes & footy players... now they've played a few games together i'd imagine they'd be getting better?
exactly right, few mates from there said this was the case.
BlueBoys88
23 May 2006, 16:27
Vafa19's is 100% correct. Rupo are a long way off a serious finals contender this year for mine. Reports from the weekend are that they were consistently beaten all over the ground, and especially up forward. Did they have forward line players injuries or promoted on the weekend?
St.Kev's Cowboy
24 May 2006, 16:28
At this stage and on the above points I'll have to agree with you Blue Bagger, Rupo have definately come up short so far against the top teams. Should have beaten Collegians by much more but took the foot off the gas in the last qtr evidently. De La, Xavs teams to beat.
Marcellin will need to do alot to convince this ol' Cowboy they're any shot at the finals. Two 15+ goal defeats in two weeks is not exactly a step in the right direction.
When does the Rep side get trimmed down? Anyone on this forum get selected or know any that did?
Cheers
digger9
24 May 2006, 20:00
good win by us on the weekend i hear, bernards travelling nicely but still i dont think we are up with the top teams such as de la. this is one of my last posts on big footy unfortunately, as some of you have blown me out of the water saying my opinion isnt valued....that is wrong. if it wasnt valued YOU WOULDNT BE WRITING BACK...yes thats right.so stik that up all your clackers. i am just going to keep digging that hole as my day job, so all you computer nerds get out on the track instead of sittin on this thread. i will be a regular reader of all your comments and especially yours VAFA 06. but unfortunately not write back due to the threat from vafa06. i am scared...really.
my ladder
de la (choke)
uni blues (premiership)
scotch (drink)
BANYULE (the bolter....in your dreams)
the others (who cares if you dont finish in the top 4?????//)
good luck to you all for the rest of the threading, keep stitching upyourselves and get back to me when you have something constructive to say.
clearly i have no idea at all, so opinions best kept to yourself.
m.diddy
24 May 2006, 22:08
good win by us on the weekend i hear, bernards travelling nicely but still i dont think we are up with the top teams such as de la. this is one of my last posts on big footy unfortunately, as some of you have blown me out of the water saying my opinion isnt valued....that is wrong. if it wasnt valued YOU WOULDNT BE WRITING BACK...yes thats right.so stik that up all your clackers. i am just going to keep digging that hole as my day job, so all you computer nerds get out on the track instead of sittin on this thread. i will be a regular reader of all your comments and especially yours VAFA 06. but unfortunately not write back due to the threat from vafa06. i am scared...really.
my ladder
de la (choke)
uni blues (premiership)
scotch (drink)
BANYULE (the bolter....in your dreams)
the others (who cares if you dont finish in the top 4?????//)
good luck to you all for the rest of the threading, keep stitching upyourselves and get back to me when you have something constructive to say.
clearly i have no idea at all, so opinions best kept to yourself.
No wonder people don't value your opinion. :rolleyes:
number 16,
Is this a loaded question?
Do yu have some sort of anger towards interchange benches?
Are you a prolific bench warmer?
Who wears number 16? Paul Barnard?
I prefer coaches to make substitutions rather than interchanges;) , i think you pick your best side on the field, and if some of them begin to get tired then you should use the guys on the bench to give some fresh legs coming into the last 10minutes of the 4thQ. BUT this is football not soccer! you have 4 guys on the bench, they should be used all through out the game!
For those interested, i am a professional bench warmer!
OldMelburnian28
24 May 2006, 22:56
"The smell of a dry summer’s field is made all the sweeter with the scent of a well oiled handkerchief”
VAFA19s
28 May 2006, 13:02
Is the form of marcellin in the last couple of weeks going to continue, or are they expecting some players back? - i know they've had more than a few guys playing for their old boys in the past couple of weeks. Are they looking to come back this season or are they set in the 1's?
Also happy to see skobs get up for a win; have some quality players and should be travelling a bit better than they are i reckon.
OldMelburnian28
29 May 2006, 16:42
Another great win for my boys on the weekend! Showed class, speed, commitment and pure dominance over the trinity boys. These kids aren't just superior for section 2, they would be a top 2 favourite in section 1.
Axel1980
30 May 2006, 00:25
OldMelburnian28 shame about the rest of your club
wizza14
30 May 2006, 10:42
"The smell of a dry summer’s field is made all the sweeter with the scent of a well oiled handkerchief”
i cant believe how gay this league is
johnfromtheVAFA
30 May 2006, 11:20
not one person on this thread care what you think wizza get lost, we cant believe how gay you are, nice name wizza? theres a poof if i havent seen one
VAFA19s
30 May 2006, 12:38
ship off wizza & Oldmelbournian; last time i checked OM's weren't even in this league. dont hold a candle to anyone in A grade, wouldn't hold one to any of the top 7 in 19's div 1.
johnfromtheVAFA
30 May 2006, 14:34
Banyule going from chocolates to boiled lollies in the spcace of one pre season. Whats the deal down at bear land?
banyules boys
30 May 2006, 20:48
they are a force to be recond with thoes boys down at the 'rupi' they where tough last year but my god havent they turned it on this year and proved critics wrong week in week out id be worried boys because when there there to play boy do they play if they dont make the finals this year at least then ill do the boundry in the grandfinal naked.
VAFA19s
31 May 2006, 10:50
ohhh i smell a bet.....
$20 says you wouldn't do it in jocks. any other contributors?
footy_nerd
31 May 2006, 17:56
hey vafa 19's i'll give you 40 if you grow a d i c k and stop speaking some much s hi t,
VAFA19s
31 May 2006, 19:32
Mate you're clearly the s hi t talker on here; 'senior member of the xavs committee' my a*se. But seeing as i already have a d ick, & don't seem to talk much :D:D:D:D at all; ill take that $40 off ur hands if u want? Get outa here with your unimportant know-nothing comments and your insults and get out on the park you self-proclaimed nerd.
The_Rooz
31 May 2006, 23:13
the boys from the bear cave (not to sound too AFL) are sufferring a rebuilding phase. they have implemented 15 or so new players into the u19s squad and need some time to 'gel'. Dont worry about the bears if i know them as well as i think i do, they will bounce back with force and put a win on the board for the non-private school associated teams, who dont rely on past students to come up through the ranks.
Old Xaverian
1 Jun 2006, 17:52
the boys from the bear cave (not to sound too AFL) are sufferring a rebuilding phase. they have implemented 15 or so new players into the u19s squad and need some time to 'gel'. Dont worry about the bears if i know them as well as i think i do, they will bounce back with force and put a win on the board for the non-private school associated teams, who dont rely on past students to come up through the ranks.
They may need time to gel in a lower section, as section 1 isn't the grade to try and re-build.
Considering uni blues don't rely on a private school for players, nor do rupertswood they both seemed to have gelled quite well.
The_Rooz
1 Jun 2006, 21:26
ruperts get their players from tac thats the reason they beat marcellin and they both dont seem to being too well, uni blues wont make top four and neither will rupertswood...not saying that banyule will. just stating that the teams who have a big supply of players are often the better teams in the comps. disagree?
will anyone agree with me that the werribee team of 03' and 04' in sections 2 and then 1 respectively were clearly the best under 19 to run around in a long time. seems since their departure from the top flight due to senior duites for the start of 05' it seems the under 19(1) comp has gone to water.
Did Werribee win Division 1 in 04?
no, injuries and senior promotion denied that, but they were still winning with a massively depleted list. were easily the best team running around
What makes a team like old scotch for instance have a better supply? They represent one school and get all their players in the U19 comp from that one school which is about 200 or so year 12's, which only half probably play footy. Compared to banyule which represents a whole region in melbourne.
As if Private schools all have more players to choose from, Xavier and De La are clearly two best sides atm and both have two teams where as St Kevins have a squad of 25 to choose from this week. Are you trying to tell me Banyule dont have this many to chose from??
Rupertswood are not that great a side, they are doing well atm but come years end they wont be a big force.
k-9 hero
2 Jun 2006, 13:05
Pathetic point.
St.Bernards '03 didn't lose a game, beat Uni Blues, who were stiff that year because any other year they would have won it with their pants down.
The next year when Weribee played, wasn't nearly as strong as the year before and they didn't get close.
Hooper, Pell >>>>> C.Lee, D.Lee
no, injuries and senior promotion denied that, but they were still winning with a massively depleted list. were easily the best team running around
All teams have injuries, depleted lists, senoir promotion etc. You need to be winning Div 1 flags to claim best team status. Simple as that! No ifs , bts, maybes etc.:)
OldMelburnian28
2 Jun 2006, 13:29
All teams have injuries, depleted lists, senoir promotion etc. You need to be winning Div 1 flags to claim best team status. Simple as that! No ifs , bts, maybes etc.:)
Valid point dg man, no if's but's or maybes
"the dog would've caught the rabbit if it didn't stop for a sh*t". http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif
accurate1
2 Jun 2006, 18:24
Wbee side not in the best eight 19 (1) sides of the past few years .. Uni Blues 03 were sensational but stiff to meet St Bernards who were slightly better and unbeaten premiers which is very rare ... and there is daylight the rest ... by the way that Wbee side of 04 were 6-0 before they faced a St Bern side that smashed them by 6 goals .. that St Bern side was 15 goals behind the 03 unit ... hope that clarifies
inside_player
2 Jun 2006, 20:38
Wbee side not in the best eight 19 (1) sides of the past few years .. Uni Blues 03 were sensational but stiff to meet St Bernards who were slightly better and unbeaten premiers which is very rare ... and there is daylight the rest ... by the way that Wbee side of 04 were 6-0 before they faced a St Bern side that smashed them by 6 goals .. that St Bern side was 15 goals behind the 03 unit ... hope that clarifies
marcellin last year some of the best u 19s tallent going around. de la this yr
hmmm seems like a i have ruffled a few feathers in here with my wild, unheralded and outlandish comments. for all those who posted in utter disgust opposing my claims it was nothing more than some mild mannered humour in a time of extreme boredom.
it would've been incredibly pig headed ad stupid of me to make claims like that and be serious about them, it was only a joke just in curiousity to see what the responses were.
werribee of those two years was a good team but nothing in comparison to the teams of uni blues and bernards in section 1 2003 and to a lesser extent one of the best 19's teams ive seen caulfield in 2001 i think it was. however an interesting point to make is in those two years werribee had only 1 tac cup listed player in their squad who only played a handful of games.
finally in response to the accurate 1's refernece to the st bernards vs. werribee at bernards game, werribee were missing 3 players to seniors duties, including a captain, and 4 or 5 top line players meaning 6 under 18's, who lets face it were fairly terrible had to play after they had played that morning in the under 18 comp. so a so called 6 goal "smashing" wasn;t a bad result considering....
then look to the return game at soldiers reserve, im pretty sure werribee won that game by a margin much greater than 6 goals...dont remember exactly but i think it was somewhere around the 10-13 goal range
St.Kev's Cowboy
4 Jun 2006, 04:19
Rightio then!
How bout anyone that has seen some serious unders footy in the past few years give us the best few forwards, backs, onballers and rucks?
Can't wait to see the results.
Gee it would be brilliant if there was a 'best of team' for each division each year where everyone picked got a plaque or something.
Having a big one,
Cowboy...
Keep on ridin'...
the_kid_can_play_footy
5 Jun 2006, 17:49
Rightio then!
How bout anyone that has seen some serious unders footy in the past few years give us the best few forwards, backs, onballers and rucks?
Gee it would be brilliant if there was a 'best of team' for each division each year where everyone picked got a plaque or something.
Having a big one,
Cowboy...
Keep on ridin'...
here u go cowboy,
in the year 2003 rupi had a formidable team some of the best forwards and onballers. they worked really well together.
Forwards- Little, Brennan, Gaunt, Potter.
On ballers- Phillips. Moule and Sullivan.
most i believe have moved on to play some great senior footy.
I believe Old Carey had some guns to.
Angus, Resugnalo, Evans.
St.Kev's Cowboy
5 Jun 2006, 19:19
Is that Brennan as in the one in the A-D4 squad? Little as in Hawthorn and Potter as in St.Bernards? Reasonable line up, all have moved on to big things. What about the other bloke? Haven't heard much of Gaunt, can he play? Anyone played against/with him tell us what sort of player?
Can't believe St.K's lost to Banyule. I know i'm off the bandwagon but they surely can't be that bad! Banyule have improved I take it. Uni Blues had their chances but wasted them judging by the score. Anyone there tell us what sort of game it was? Did DeLa play ordinary or are the Uni B's better than we've rated them?
Cheers
Rightio then!
Having a big one,
Cowboy...
Keep on ridin'...
yer that would be nice but it wouold be hard because so many different opinions..what we should do is have a finals best side..easier that way
[quote=St.Kev's Cowboy]Is that Brennan as in the one in the A-D4 squad? Little as in Hawthorn and Potter as in St.Bernards? Reasonable line up, all have moved on to big things. What about the other bloke? Haven't heard much of Gaunt, can he play? Anyone played against/with him tell us what sort of player?
Can't believe St.K's lost to Banyule. I know i'm off the bandwagon but they surely can't be that bad! Banyule have improved I take it. Uni Blues had their chances but wasted them judging by the score. Anyone there tell us what sort of game it was? Did DeLa play ordinary or are the Uni B's better than we've rated them?
I was at the de la and uni blues game and half the behinds were rushed by de la to uni,,but uni have gelded well and look to be a top four side though de la had several players missing though injury, uni will give it a shake.. but de la played poorly and played only 25mins of footy as uni were at there best for the game, but de la and xavs still look the goods....can anyone tell me anything about who they think ae the good players for de la and uni in section 1
BlueBoys88
5 Jun 2006, 21:08
here u go cowboy,
in the year 2003 rupi had a formidable team some of the best forwards and onballers. they worked really well together.
Forwards- Little, Brennan, Gaunt, Potter.
On ballers- Phillips. Moule and Sullivan.
most i believe have moved on to play some great senior footy.
I believe Old Carey had some guns to.
Angus, Resugnalo, Evans.
I dont think anyone is interested in a side from 2003 guys. If we're gonna fly the flag, give credit to st bernard's that year.
BlueBoys88
5 Jun 2006, 21:15
I dont think anyone is interested in a side from 2003 guys. If we're gonna fly the flag, give credit to st bernard's that year.
Also rupertswood weren't the best side that year. Old trinity had some bad injuries and should've taken the premiership.
St.Kev's Cowboy
5 Jun 2006, 22:20
Blueboy I think they may have been in different sections as well.
Rupertswood 2003 were still in sec 3. Was just asking each person on this thread who the best fwds/backs/rucks they've seen/played with were.
Good to see Uni take it up to DeLa. The fact they rushed all those behinds obviously means they were under some serious pressure.
I like the idea ????. Best finals sides, as they say the great players step up in the big games.
Have heard The Kid's best, anyone elses?
Also spoke to one of the Rupo 19's boys about Werribee (thought they may have played in their section a few years back - was wrong) who said they did play them in a praccy match and got absolutely slapped to kingdom come. Were a very, very polished unit evidently.
Get these best of teams in, will make for some interesting reading.
Cheers;)
last year's marcellin side, when the side finally had everyone playing, the outcome was inevitable. pity about this year...
the_kid_can_play_footy
5 Jun 2006, 23:45
Is that Brennan as in the one in the A-D4 squad? Little as in Hawthorn and Potter as in St.Bernards? Reasonable line up, all have moved on to big things. What about the other bloke? Haven't heard much of Gaunt, can he play? Anyone played against/with him tell us what sort of player?
Cheers
yeah St kev thats brennan from 2003, i think he kicked a lazy 75 golas in the seniors last year, correct if i wrong anyone... and u spot on with little, and potter. little is not far of senior selection i hear and potter is leading the A section goal kicking. gaunt has struggled with injury in the past yr but is a talent lurking in the change rooms. he has a massive leap and is quiet the utility.
And blue boy they might have been in 2003 but they seem to have gone on to play some prety good footy, just to prove the quality of the under 19 sections all the way through. there is no doubt there were better players in higher sections.
last year's marcellin side, when the side finally had everyone playing, the outcome was inevitable. pity about this year...
yeah it's a pitty blokes go to wedding's instead of playin footy.
haha zinggg
footy_nerd
7 Jun 2006, 12:03
now that rupo has just smashed bernards over the weekend i wonder what peoples thoughts are on the woodsmen thus far. Whislt they haven't beaten the top two sides they have pro0ven they belong in section 1 and will be a formidable force come finals time.
Congratulations to all the boys that made the 19s rep side. Any suprise inclusions or exclusions, i hear Quigly and Mcphee from rupo were pretty unlucky to miss out.
BlueBoys88
7 Jun 2006, 14:25
Rupo have no chance of winning the grand final, but they do however belong in section one. Play well as a team (and did so to beat my mob) but no real standouts that will lift to another level come finals to win the flag.
linger_isgod
7 Jun 2006, 14:29
U/19 Squad Announced
1. Josh Richmond, 188cm 85kg - MHSOB
2. Aaron Taylor, 184cm 78kg - Werribee
3. Jacob Spinella, 182cm 79kg - St Bernards
4. James Keogh, 192cm 88kg - St Kevins
5. Nick Harrison, 192cm 92kg - Old Haileybury
6. Brendan Neville, 180cm 78kg - St Bedes / Mentone
7. Paul Maaskant, 176cm 72kg - Aquinas
8. Andrew Scott, 180cm 78kg - Collegians
9. Ben Hershan, 184cm 84kg - Ajax
10. David Lowe, 176cm 74kg - De La Salle
11. Blair Mason, 185cm 86kg - Old Brighton
12. Zane Coventry, 200cm 90kg - University Blues
14. Brett Collins, 181cm 70kg - St Bedes / Mentone
15. Corey Jankie, 182cm 80kg - Ajax
16. Jack Matherson, 185cm 78kg - Prahran
17. Tom Jacobi, 179cm 70kg - Old Brighton
18. Robert Chisholm, 186cm 85kg - Ormond
19. Tom Chisholm, 180cm 75kg - Old Haileybury
20. Jarrod Bannister, 185cm 80kg - Therry Penola
21. Lachie Evans, 178cm 75kg - MHSOB
22. Lachlan Baddeley, 188cm 82kg - Rupertswood
23. Cameron Lee, 175cm 70kg - Werribee
25. Cameron Maclaren, 184cm 82kg - Marcellin
At a glance it looks like a short-ish team; 11 blokes under 6', as well as only 6 guys over 85kg. But i guess if you can play, size doesn't matter. Even so, from who i know, looks like a pretty accurate team - but i think it was hard to decide the list after only a few praccy's; no doubt the original squad would have looked different after a few rounds had been played.
Just wondering if guys who are rostered onto VFL lists were allowed to play in this team?
linger_isgod
7 Jun 2006, 17:17
How many of these guys play Seniors footy instead of 19s?
adrolaviot
7 Jun 2006, 23:07
At a glance it looks like a short-ish team; 11 blokes under 6', as well as only 6 guys over 85kg. But i guess if you can play, size doesn't matter. Even so, from who i know, looks like a pretty accurate team - but i think it was hard to decide the list after only a few praccy's; no doubt the original squad would have looked different after a few rounds had been played.
Just wondering if guys who are rostered onto VFL lists were allowed to play in this team?
Guys on VFL lists are were not allowed in the team as they are contracted with their clubs to get paid to play, meaning that they are not amateurs. I'd imagine there would have been a few of them in the team, should they have been allowed.
junior 5
8 Jun 2006, 12:50
Im a huge fan of the under 19's football and reguarly got down to have a look at games last year. I was really impressed by the way marcellin played there football and they were deserved winners of the premiership. They some guns playing in the 1's now who are still eligible for under 19's. Guys Like Stephen Pesavento, Jake Symes, Jonathan Bortolotto, Simon Abrahams and Daniel Fraser to name a few. If these players wer playing 19's this yr marcellin would win hands down. Thoughts on these players and my statement?
adrolaviot
8 Jun 2006, 13:08
Im a huge fan of the under 19's football and reguarly got down to have a look at games last year. I was really impressed by the way marcellin played there football and they were deserved winners of the premiership. They some guns playing in the 1's now who are still eligible for under 19's. Guys Like Stephen Pesavento, Jake Symes, Jonathan Bortolotto, Simon Abrahams and Daniel Fraser to name a few. If these players wer playing 19's this yr marcellin would win hands down. Thoughts on these players and my statement?
IF those blokes were playing 19's this year, there is no chance what so ever that they would win hands down, if at all. The Xavier and De La teams of this year would dispatch of MArcellin's 2005 Premiership u19 team. Don't give those blokes that much of a wrap considering that Marcellin aren't even competitive in the seniors and if they don't beat Melbourne, could be facing relegation. Don't build them up too much as there is a fair chance that they wouldn't get a game in a good senior A grade side.
Not sure about hands down. Xavs have some great players this year, and i think they will win the comp. If Marcellin had the players you nominated, yes they would be stronger. But i think Xavs depth and talent would still be too strong.
Don't build them up too much as there is a fair chance that they wouldn't get a game in a good senior A grade side.
they won the grand final by 10 goals and if not for promotions wld have only lost 3 players from that team, but seeing they had the promotoins there was alot of players that thought they had won a flag and gave up football.
But you can only play with the cattle that are on the park and this year they haven't got them.
adrolaviot
8 Jun 2006, 14:23
they won the grand final by 10 goals and if not for promotions wld have only lost 3 players from that team, but seeing they had the promotoins there was alot of players that thought they had won a flag and gave up football.
But you can only play with the cattle that are on the park and this year they haven't got them.
No one is disputing the fact that they were hands down the best side last year. However the argument at hand is that this years De La and Old Xavs 19s team would thump last years Marcellin u19s side. Marcellin were the best of the crop last year but this year the Xavs and De La boys have picked up over half their team through new players and are twice the teams they were last year.
The Marcellin blokes named above would not get a game in a good senior a grade side and are only making up the numbers of a struggling A grade side facing relegation.
you are a goose, who do you play for if you even play, id be very surprised if you even knew what positions they played, let alone their ability
adrolaviot
8 Jun 2006, 14:51
you are a goose, who do you play for if you even play, id be very surprised if you even knew what positions they played, let alone their ability
Pull your head in champ. You would be suprised. Bort - Midfeild/ goalsneak, has ability but is not an A grade player just yet. Symmes - Full back, was taking the kickouts earlier on this year, had a bag kicked on him against Xavs. Pes - utility can play anywhere. Abrahams - good foot skills and finds a bit of it, however gets knocked of the pill a fair bit and is a while off seniors. None of these blokes would get a game for Old Scotch. I forget who else you mentioned but stand by what I said.
Pull your head in champ. You would be suprised. Bort - Midfeild/ goalsneak, has ability but is not an A grade player just yet. Symmes - Full back, was taking the kickouts earlier on this year, had a bag kicked on him against Xavs. Pes - utility can play anywhere. I forget who else you mentioned but stand by what I said.
symes has taken kickouts once, 2 weeks ago against haileybury, pesavento - centre half back, has never played anywhere else. And you couldnt have forgetten the others cause mentioned, they are in a previous post and werent mentioned by myself. I suggest before you kick a team thats down that you either know anything about the game, or just put your keyboard away big boy.
adrolaviot
8 Jun 2006, 15:00
symes has taken kickouts once, 2 weeks ago against haileybury, pesavento - centre half back, has never played anywhere else. And you couldnt have forgetten the others cause mentioned, they are in a previous post and werent mentioned by myself. I suggest before you kick a team thats down that you either know anything about the game, or just put your keyboard away big boy.
Disregarding the kickouts comments, you are pretty much confirming that my comments were spot on. Marcellin would be better off throwing a bloke like Tom Stafford in the seniors - the kid is a gun and showed us all by winning the league B+F last year.
i find it hard to see that i confirmed your comments as your wrap on pesavento was completely wrong, and to say symes is a full back is hardly news. And if you really do know as much about the team as you think you do you'd realise stafford has been out for a bit due to unfortunate circumstances, also he has played a couple of games but wasn't quite up to it yet, he'll emerge either later this year or next and be a very very good player.
junior 5
8 Jun 2006, 17:00
thoughts on cam maclaren, been in the seniors for 2 yrs and is stillelgible for 19's. Marcellin boy
oldtimer
8 Jun 2006, 17:06
all these 3 - pesa, symes and abrahams played football at Banyule!!
juniors but, all their development came at marcellin. clearly..
oldtimer
8 Jun 2006, 17:11
juniors but, all their development came at marcellin. clearly..
Pesa played in the 19's in 2004, of course with 19's their development always comes after they turn 17.
Care to make sense of this comment!!
adrolaviot
8 Jun 2006, 17:17
thoughts on cam maclaren, been in the seniors for 2 yrs and is stillelgible for 19's. Marcellin boy
Haven't seen him play in two years so I can't comment personally. From what I have heard he has talent that could set the world on fire, but doesn't really seem to care too much about his footy. You would expect him to dominate this Saturday.
Pesa played in the 19's in 2004, of course with 19's their development always comes after they turn 17.
Care to make sense of this comment!!
im very good mates with the great man and believe me he was more set on school footy that year and i dont think it hurt him too much to leave and play for a proper side in 2005.
oldtimer
8 Jun 2006, 17:50
im very good mates with the great man and believe me he was more set on school footy that year and i dont think it hurt him too much to leave and play for a proper side in 2005.
I'm not questioning their departures. I'm questioning your comment about Marcellin was able to develop the players. (in 1 year) Don't you think most of the development is done in their former 17 - 18 years.
inside_player
8 Jun 2006, 19:30
I'm not questioning their departures. I'm questioning your comment about Marcellin was able to develop the players. (in 1 year) Don't you think most of the development is done in their former 17 - 18 years.
i know that a number of marcellins under 19s players played be4 they finished school. served as a handy way of trailing new players and getting players to play for their school over other clubs.
as for the comparison of teams of this year, last year and the year before etc. from what ive seen i would nominate De La to be the greatest threat to that team. They have quality all over the ground. Xavs are are bunch of egos in boots (yellow 1s ;) ) who have as much tallent as last yr but are playing against lesser opposition, no match IMO.
adrolaviot
8 Jun 2006, 19:37
De La to be the greatest threat to that team. They have quality all over the ground. Xavs are are bunch of egos in boots (yellow 1s ;) ) who have as much tallent as last yr but are playing against lesser opposition, no match IMO.
Possibly the most stupid thing I have ever heard. Xavs team of 06 would beat Xavs team of 05 by AT LEAST 15 goals. They only lost about 3 players of the starting 18 and gained about 20 new quality players.
In regards to Xavs and De La, when they played during the season Xavs were missing 5 of their starting 18 and there was only 3 points in it. You might have some egg on your face at the end of the year when Xavs are at full strength.
inside_player
8 Jun 2006, 22:10
hey, they may well b better but 15 goals i doubt it. thought xavs had quite a lot of good players last yr they have some good 1s this yr... the diff is they didnt play good TEAM footy last yr, as for this yr they still dont seem to play as good a team game as de la (imo thats what will win u the gf), number of legit excuses come to mind, new players, players fighting for spots etc... this is why i gave dela the nod over the xavs.... but by far the best 2 teams.... bernards, rupo, uni and eagles are left for spots 3 and 4 come end of the yr.
i am watching xavs-uni in a couple of weeks will b more than happy to swallow my pride if they prove otherwise.
Take a jump inside_player. NO idea what you're talking about clearly. If you saw xav v. uni a few weeks AGO (particularly the 3rd quarter) you'd refrain from making such comments in a second. The 1%'s that team makes as well as the running-handballing style of play indicates a team that plays only for one another.
I'd like to know how many games you've seen of each team to make such comments? I'm not talking about the one where they played each other either, neither team played NEAR their best on that day (i certainly hope thats not what is compelling you to give them 'the nod' in your enlightened opinion). Pull your head in.
Oh, and v. de la (who also had some players out so should be interesting i agree) xavs were missing their CHF, CHB, Full back & a wing, not to mention another 2 additions since then who didn't do pre-season but have walked into the team... Not to mention that a player no longer IN THE TEAM got best on ground for them.
ok there is alot of talk aobut sides, last year is over and marcellian was a very good unit but you cannot compare sides from year too year..because all players are older as years go on
xavs are a good good side and i think tihs year we will see a close finals series not like last year ,cmon who wants to see a side win by 10 goals.
de la and xavz are too even and no matter what happens in 4 weeks time when they play ,,flags arnt given in june..wait till the finals sewries
last year rupertswoods won a string of games last year too go down in the grannieand are improving play xaxs this week should be interesting.my tip xavs by 45points
uni blues to be there but fall short
DE LA on there day yes BUT still a question mark..we will see when they play xavs
its only 7 weeks in the talk is good BUT things can dramatically chnage towards and in finals time trust me so xavs who beat everyone by 25 goals and dela who win always dont get ahead of urselves.. because when competition arrives and pressure is on when it matters we will see
my early predictions is dela over xavs by 10 pts in gf
WHAT ARE YOUR OPINONS ON EARLY FLAG ODDS AND WHO WILL BE THER????
the number of you toss xavier people (especially ones in yellow boots, 5ft tall, hit then gym for a pre season that will turn to old man fat one day) that get on this site and rubbish talk is ridiculous, not one decent player from xavier would jump on this site, its just the rabble from underneath that live in the hype that the good players provide. inside_player at least is giving non-biased view and is legitimate.
frase18,
Some great 'legitimate' comments from inside_player have been made; "Xavs are are bunch of egos in boots (yellow 1s ;) ) who have as much tallent as last yr but are playing against lesser opposition" ANYONE who witnessed last year and this year knows that comment is rubbish & he'd do well to adjust it a bit - but a great generalisation like that brings HEAPS of legitimacy to his comments!
As for yourself frase, making comments re:marcellin as inside_player is (particularly more rubbish like 'all their development came at marcellin. clearly..') just shows ur as unbiased as he is and without a whisp of legitimacy. So don't go on here type-casting people when you're just as guilty.
as a matter of fact the comment was about a bloke who you probably have no idea is, and actually is correct, how can it be a biased comment if it is about the development of a player? im not saying whos going to win this weekend. just hop off your high horse junior, its about time people made toss's like yourself be accountable for the unsubstantiated rubbish you give lower clubs, while basking in the light of xav's success even though you probably have nothing to do with it.
OldMelburnian28
9 Jun 2006, 15:03
Listen to me all of you gits! The fact that you have been arguing about the same thing for so long is a disgrace, i think it's time you all pull your opinionated heads in. The facts continue to stand that my boys in section 2 embarress every side in section 1!!!
So get over your sh*t yellow boots and petty tiffs and pay some respect to the best 19's side currently going round.
blueboys1
9 Jun 2006, 21:49
i cant believe how gay this league is
But you are gay we all know that c...sucker
ok after melburinains win the flag(if noby makes a run 4 it like banyule and rupo last year agianst carey and camberwell) and dela wins we can organise a m,atch and they wont get within 8 goals
but i think that its possible that they could be the best under 19 side (or any1 else) and its disapointing if they are not in section 1 the premier comp but thats why their shuold be grading matches like a pre season cup
but thats the way the system works so thats life
I agree, most of this yap is stupid (incl. my comments). Going to only comment on things to do with the league this year etc.
Oh and i loved PLAYING against marcellin, especially enjoying singing the song, just before the old boy 1's did after a similar thumping ;).
Speaking of gits, get back on the ski slopes Old Melbournian and out of this thread.
The Roofseal
9 Jun 2006, 23:17
gday fellas....just want to let u guys know im a big fan of those marcellin boys who are eligable to be playing 19s but are in the 1s. I watched them alot at school level 2 years ago and there is alot of talent. People like Fraser, Abrahams and Bortelloto or however u spell it they are great kids and have a great future with the marcellin old boys. there is this kid ive herd sop much about, saw him play in yr 12 and has the ability to rip open a game with his classy marks and goals...im speaking of Cam Maclaren. Also with the 19s this year i see they r struggling a bit and i would have to say because of the kids having to play 1s. Would easily win the flag at full strength in 19s again. Also ive herd that there are some other good players in the 19s so the future looks very good for marcellin.
GO TRINITY
The Roofseal
10 Jun 2006, 19:25
But you are gay we all know that c...sucker
Tone it down brother or get out
GO TRINITY
Champs wear da No.16
10 Jun 2006, 20:02
hey old melb bloke if you think that you could be the best in section 1, i dont know how you could come to tht conclusion coz i played u in a praccy and i can say u boys werent to flash as we beat u by bout 15 goals unless u picked up some new blokes and even if u did i know we didnt play u with a our full team either.
adrolaviot
10 Jun 2006, 21:33
gday fellas....just want to let u guys know im a big fan of those marcellin boys who are eligable to be playing 19s but are in the 1s. I watched them alot at school level 2 years ago and there is alot of talent. People like Fraser, Abrahams and Bortelloto or however u spell it they are great kids and have a great future with the marcellin old boys. there is this kid ive herd sop much about, saw him play in yr 12 and has the ability to rip open a game with his classy marks and goals...im speaking of Cam Maclaren. Also with the 19s this year i see they r struggling a bit and i would have to say because of the kids having to play 1s. Would easily win the flag at full strength in 19s again. Also ive herd that there are some other good players in the 19s so the future looks very good for marcellin.
GO TRINITY
No one cares ;), and by placing "GO TRINITY" at the end of every post isn't going to lead people to believe that you are not really a Marcellin poster.
The Roofseal
10 Jun 2006, 21:45
No one cares ;), and by placing "GO TRINITY" at the end of every post isn't going to lead people to believe that you are not really a Marcellin poster.
To be honest mate i actaully couldnt careless wat u think...i no whoi im associated with dont care wat u think