View Full Version : u19 section 1

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

St.Kev's Cowboy
11 Jun 2006, 15:51
question mark man, I think your idea of grading matches before each season is a brilliant idea. It would certainly quieten down blokes like OM28 who are playing in lesser grades thinking they could knock off the 'cream of the crop' in sec 1. My only question is how it would work? There are 50 under 19 teams so that is a lot of matches to watch, judge and then organise. Perhaps instead of practice matches grading games should tak place. Then at least clubs will really get something out of the pre-season hit outs.
Anyway, OM28, IF your side is the best u19s going around we will never know as you won't be playing in that exact side again. But i have to commend you on your teams form this year, top of the ladder in any u19 section is a mighty effort so keep it up.
Wizza14, is there some jealousy in your posting "can't believe how gay this league is"? Did you not quite make it as an amateur footballer pal? Not having a go...no actually I am, the cowboy is fed up with gits coming on to these forums providing no value whatsoever. STOP! The old saying goes, if you haven't got anything interestong to say, shut your gob before the ol' cowboy slaps some serious sense into it.
Sorry, needed to get that out. Anyone know how the unders side went up in QLD? Did hear they didn't even get to play on the GABBA.

OldMelburnian28
11 Jun 2006, 20:55
Not sure about the results of the 19's match cowboy, but heard about the ground change...very disapointing.
In respect to your opinions on the OM's cheers. But you are just another poster who hasn't actually seen us in action. Yes it's true we were beaten convincingly in one of our practice matches, but please take into consideration the amount of players missing, and partially injured. Our start to season (7-0) must be respected by more of these one eyes, pretentious posters!!!
We have ben mckie and stu taylor coming into some great form of late, and an onball brigade which is second to none in all of the vafa 19's division. Now you may be thinking, this guy has just just labelled us "pretentious", and here he is talking up his section 2 side. The fact is i have a high interest in all 19's footy, and pay respect to dominate sides, but in my opinion from wat i have seen no side in this division is good enough to stop to OM boys.

St.Kev's Cowboy
14 Jun 2006, 16:47
Thoughts from under the cowboy hat...
As we all now know the VAFA 19s got knocked off by the QLD 21s side last weekend.
Anyone spoken to any of their teammates that played?
Would there have been AFL scouts in attendance or do they stick to the TAC cup games? I think there would be many players playing in the ammos that could cut it at the top level. Any thoughts?
I did hear the AFL were thinking of putting in an 'older players' draft so players who missed out at junior level (or were late developers) still could have a crack at the big time.
OM28, your boys have certainly had a stellar start to the season, undefeated is a massive effort and if you can hold on to most of the players in the current line up we may see a De La v OM game next year.
Good luck to those playing this week.

inside_player
14 Jun 2006, 20:05
Would there have been AFL scouts in attendance or do they stick to the TAC cup games? I think there would be many players playing in the ammos that could cut it at the top level. Any thoughts?

Doubt that there would b scouts in attendance, having known a scout, they r far too busy looking at the TAC level (they basically know every player on every list). That said, scouts may have been interested in a couple of the AFLQ players. Anyone add to this?

Let's face it, the players who could cut it at the top level and want to give it a crack have gone on to play VFL, after a good year at VAFA level. can anyone think of anyone in the VAFA who has gone thru the ranks of the vafa to get drafted?

oldtimer
14 Jun 2006, 20:34
Doubt that there would b scouts in attendance, having known a scout, they r far too busy looking at the TAC level (they basically know every player on every list). That said, scouts may have been interested in a couple of the AFLQ players. Anyone add to this?

Let's face it, the players who could cut it at the top level and want to give it a crack have gone on to play VFL, after a good year at VAFA level. can anyone think of anyone in the VAFA who has gone thru the ranks of the vafa to get drafted?

Andrew Leoncelli (ox) to Melbourne, Andrew Thompson (om) to St Kilda, Cameron Bruce (mhsob) to melbourne are 3 players who got to the afl via the vafa.

frase18
15 Jun 2006, 14:02
henry playfair from ox

St.Kev's Cowboy
15 Jun 2006, 14:09
Fair enough.
So basically it is possible, it just rarely happens.

VAFA19s
15 Jun 2006, 14:22
The two younger McDonald brothers who played for melbourne, incl James McDonald who is currently doing better than ok; both taken from ox to melbourne.

OldMelburnian28
15 Jun 2006, 15:43
Cowboy are heading to any games this weekend? surely you have better things to do than watch st kevs.

The_Rooz
15 Jun 2006, 16:39
juniors but, all their development came at marcellin. clearly..

please frase18...the instrumental workings of the one b.stanton helped develop those players now at marcellin still trying to work out how to bounce the ball...
good job yr 8 sale trip did haha

footy_nerd
15 Jun 2006, 18:35
Big news this week Kale Plummer has been droped from the reds from the returned from injury Beau Lovett, get out the record books he'll surely bag 10 before half time, and thats only on his left.

adrolaviot
15 Jun 2006, 19:46
Big news this week Kale Plummer has been droped from the reds from the returned from injury Beau Lovett, get out the record books he'll surely bag 10 before half time, and thats only on his left.

Please don't post such rubbish.

St.Kev's Cowboy
15 Jun 2006, 21:57
Right you are OM28, if I were still watching St.Kev's I would have better things to do, haven't seen them play since rd3 (moved out to the sticks)
Closest teams are Therry & Rupo (even they're both a hike!!)
Might be staying at my cousins in the city so hopefully will get out and see some sort of Ammo footy. Can't beat a bunch of blokes playing for the love of the game, money (i find) wrecks the spirit sometimes in the regional leagues.
Can Marcellin pull out of their MASSIVE slump this week?
What of Banyule after their victory over the Kevins a couple of weeks back?
Does anyone know if any key players from the unders are playing up in their ones this week?

bucko23
16 Jun 2006, 19:08
old melburnian u havent played against the old paradians yet do u think they willl be a threat?

OldMelburnian28
16 Jun 2006, 21:04
Have had a good start to the season, but a couple of close losses hints at their weakness in pressure games. Should win easily tomorrow but wont come close to the OM's. We are too fast and too physical, but im hoping you will bring it. What is 'it'? Whatever you want it to be!
They say 'ignorance is bliss', i'd like to keep it that way :)

ditchdavey
18 Jun 2006, 18:39
So what happened yesterday down at Rupertswoon banyule? close game? I hear a rupo players kicked 9 of the 12 goals?
Any banyule players from the premiership side last year??

strauchany
21 Jun 2006, 00:40
whats with this om bloke still being in this post, im pretty sure this is "u19 section 1"
take ur div 2 talk back down a league

footy_nerd
22 Jun 2006, 18:31
couldn't agree more, om needs to learn that his team is only in section 2, maybe a swift slap kick to the head may help him to realise this.

Onto this weeks games,

rupo should account for old xavs in a tough game of the round battle in the predicted wet weather, the leagues toughmen will be to physical for a undersized xavs outfit. Expect Mcphee and Quigly for the woodsmen to continue their good form and prove that they deserved a place in the u19 rep team. Watch for the likes of Foley, Bradley, and Allport to do as they please throughout the midfield will pick up plenty of it - they love the hard stuff.

De La should contiune their winning streak against a disappointing bernards unit in recent weeks. The boys from the snakepit will be looking for a big improvement from sammuel scott who hasn't looked like getting near it at training let alone in a game. He'd be hard pressed to find a footy in footys 'r' us. Look for delas sharp shooter thompson to contiue on his merry way in front of the big sticks.

Uni Blues should easily beat St Kevs who have been in a word 'pathetic' this year and if it wasn't for the insipid performance of the purple horses hoofs from harry trot and the ulers they would be facing certain relegation. Heads will be on the chopping block at selection table next week if they can't put results on the board.

Collegians and Old Scotch in a tight one at Harry Trot oval, will be a tough day at the office especially if it rains as predicted, Scotch by 10. Cox is a star for old scotch and the collegians midfield need to tighten up to be a chance.

The Ulers play marcellin in what is now a must win game from the boys from banyule. With 3 teams on the bottom and St Kevs and Collegians likely to get beat a good chance for them to get of the bottom and go a game clear in 8th place and get some much needed breathing room from that fearful relegation spot. They are really missing some of their guns from last year such as Tisasickasingsigaris and skiko who have moved up to play seniors this year. They looked a little better last week against the woodsmen, if they can keep the improvement going should win by 4-5 goals.

billy_31
22 Jun 2006, 23:18

VAFA19s
23 Jun 2006, 21:54
OS over Collegians by 8 goals
Marcellin by 18pts
Uni by 50pts
OX by 4 goals
De La by a similar margin

VAFA19s
24 Jun 2006, 18:23
Shocking display from 'the leagues toughmen' down at T H King today: 107pt victory to a xavs squad with 9 regulars out. As for quigly, kicked 1 goal and did nothing but ask 'do you know who i am? i made the rep squad ... yada yada yada' all day. In a word: disappointing.

But seeing the unbelievable talk that has been delivered on this thread, im expecting a bounce-back next week against de la... guess time will tell. However if things go the way i, and one can assume every non-rupo supporter out there thinks they will, never again let they be mentioned on this thread in the same breath as uni, de la & xavier ever again.

Shame on you footy_nerd; enjoy the egg

DG-Man
25 Jun 2006, 14:38
Onto this weeks games,

rupo should account for old xavs in a tough game of the round battle in the predicted wet weather, the leagues toughmen will be to physical for a undersized xavs outfit. Expect Mcphee and Quigly for the woodsmen to continue their good form and prove that they deserved a place in the u19 rep team. Watch for the likes of Foley, Bradley, and Allport to do as they please throughout the midfield will pick up plenty of it - they love the hard stuff.

I have been reading this thread from time to time. Safe to say Rupo aren't in the same league as the big boys despite what this chaps quote above says. Perhaps time to pull your head in. Seen Xavs play before and they are very tough, regardless of body size.

strauchany
25 Jun 2006, 21:59
Congrats to rupo who have made an important discovery...they arent that good and therefore as vafa19s said, wont need be mentioned again with the true prospects of the 19s premiership. A quick shout out to my friend from old melburnians, the team who he has been saying is the best side in the under19s comp, would hold down their spot in div 1 etc etc...seriously, now that you have lost, stop posting on this thread
In other news, who played well for xavs and blues this weekend?

cfc05
26 Jun 2006, 19:17
Geez talking up the blues bit much here arnt we, St Kevins from all i heard out played them most of the game. Saw they lead at every change aswell, for a top 3 side against a "pathetic" side, 4 points that good an effort?

De La and Xavs the clear stand outs of the comp in my opinion.

Eddie Woloschek
26 Jun 2006, 19:46
Congrats to rupo who have made an important discovery...they arent that good and therefore as vafa19s said, wont need be mentioned again with the true prospects of the 19s premiership. A quick shout out to my friend from old melburnians, the team who he has been saying is the best side in the under19s comp, would hold down their spot in div 1 etc etc...seriously, now that you have lost, stop posting on this thread
In other news, who played well for xavs and blues this weekend?

Rupertswood has not been the same club since ben.carbonaro walked out to join some semi-pro VFL outfit. Oh, the humanity!

Champs wear da No.16
27 Jun 2006, 16:38
footy nerd who are u to have all these opinions. do u see any of the games or do u get feedback from others. r u a player urself

Sedat Sir
28 Jun 2006, 19:12
footy nerd who are u to have all these opinions. do u see any of the games or do u get feedback from others. r u a player urself

Now cmon champs, isnt this why we learned footy fans discuss these riviting topics; because we all have passionate opinions. And yes some may seem a little outrageous at times but as the old saying goes mate "opinions are like haircuts, not everyone may like em but weve all got one"

nicho_magic
29 Jun 2006, 15:15
Shocking display from 'the leagues toughmen' down at T H King today: 107pt victory to a xavs squad with 9 regulars out. As for quigly, kicked 1 goal and did nothing but ask 'do you know who i am? i made the rep squad ... yada yada yada' all day. In a word: disappointing.

But seeing the unbelievable talk that has been delivered on this thread, im expecting a bounce-back next week against de la... guess time will tell. However if things go the way i, and one can assume every non-rupo supporter out there thinks they will, never again let they be mentioned on this thread in the same breath as uni, de la & xavier ever again.

Shame on you footy_nerd; enjoy the egg
rupo were pathetic, a pack of whingers, who didn't show one bit of class. they may as well have watch mecuri all day.

fitzroy_fanatic
30 Jun 2006, 03:55
rupo were pathetic, a pack of whingers, who didn't show one bit of class. they may as well have watch mecuri all day.

from what i here rupo had up 10 out of there starting 18 unable to play due to injury against old Xavs, so before all you pretty private school boys get on your high horse dont ride of the rupee train just yet. all it takes is their on ball brigade (mcphee, spinner, allport, christenson) and their ominace forward line (smith, baddeley, pretty) to make a return and no1 will de-rail the rupee train.

old xavs were quite soft from what i hear and a full fit outfit will easily take control of their lack of height both up forward and defence eg. (grit-what a hack)

strauchany
30 Jun 2006, 10:15
I think what you'll find fitzroy random is xavs, like most during holidays, were also without many of their key players, so taking into account that they won by 100+ points, it seems unlikely that 'on ball brigade' and 'ominace forward line' would'nt really figure...remember they were below the xavs before the game, with those on ballers and forward line in play....and now they stay below the xavs

VAFA19s
30 Jun 2006, 18:23
9 players out against rupo incl: ruckman, chf, chb, full back, both back pockets, wing, back flank, forward pocket. Oh and if fitzroy is your team (one can only assume) - as a result of the injuries the 2's had to fill these gaps making their team far weaker also. Should be a great finals series in div red!

footy_nerd
30 Jun 2006, 18:54
Round 10 - the season starts again

With all teams having played each other already this year you can now get a good understanding where everyone sits. The top 4 seem pretty settled with De La and Xavs seeming to be premiership favoutrites at this stage, however if the boys from the snakepit and the lumberjacks from sunbury can get their injuries right they still could push for a grand final spot. Collegians, St Kevs and the ulers look to have a fight on their hands if they are to avoid relegation.

Champs were 16, i have managed to get to a few games this year and have also watched a few videos of other games, so that is where i get my info from. This ben carbanaro talk is rubbish, from what i have heard rupo have never travelled so well both of and on the field since he departed. Rumour has it he was asked to leave? can anyone confirm......

Onto last weeks results.......
3 out of 5 tips not to bad with the ulers inaccurate display in front of goal denying me a correct tip. Didn't Xavs look good against what can only be described as an insipid performance by the woodsmen, the boys from sunbury got their pants pulled down thats for sure.

This week.

Bernards should easily account for collegains, who would of thought after being undefeated for a whole season and winning a grand final by over 100 points they would be staring relegation in the face. How times can change in undergage football. On a brighter note good to see their seniors doing well unstopable it seems in B grade this year. Scott needs to get some confidence back, maybe a couple of games in the u12s might help ignite his flame.

Uni Blues by 35pts over Marcellin. Have shown signs this year Marcellin but today won't go their way. Would be a massive win from the Marcellin lads if they got up and would really tighten up the top 6 teams.

Anyone travelling out to R J Brockwell oval should bring at last a 10 pack of pens and a reem of A4 paper to record all the of goals Xavs will kick. Xavs by over 25 goals, the ulers will be lucky to score. Look for a big bag from Xavs star forward Benson and Hedges (richie benson).

Memo to St Kevs, don't bother showing up the season has slipped away from you, 1 and 8 doesn't read well, bad luck and get ready for next year in u19 red. Scotch by 10 goals. Any other year Scotch would be fighting relegation but due to consistentley poor performances by the bottom 3 teams they have somehow managed to get 3 wins on the board and perhaps a couple of upsets in the backhalf of the season could set them up for next year. Scotch really need a bigger input from the chef (edward kitchen), has been lively at times but needs to do more - your thoughts

Finally to the match of the round Rupo v De La. Massive game for both teams, If De La win they would almost certaintely secure the double chance, but if rupo get up, the top 4 get closer together. De La punished the sunbury boys in their first section1 encounter and i don't expect the going to be so easy this time for the De La boys. Rupo have some big names back for this clash and word is they are raring to go and plan to make up for the disappointment of last week. De La's injuries may hurt them, but i still suspect they will get up. De La by 20pts. Expect Allport to get the job on my man thomson, a little quiet last week but the champion players always get up for the big encounters, will be an interesting tussle and depending on who comes out on top may just secure that persons spot in the u19s section 1 team of the year.

frase18
1 Jul 2006, 19:24
Bernards should easily account for collegains, who would of thought after being undefeated for a whole season and winning a grand final by over 100 points they would be staring relegation in the face. How times can change in undergage football.
you really don't have any idea about anything do you buddy?

footy_nerd
2 Jul 2006, 12:38
Frase 18, what in said in my post suggests i have no idea about anything. Bernards should beat collegians - they did
collegians did go undefeated for a whole season - in 2004
collegians did win the 2004 grandfinal by over 100 points
with only 1 win so far in 2006 and sitting on the bottom of the ladder they are certaintly a good chance for relegation......

obviously times have changed for the boys down at harry trot, and due to the high turnover of players through underage competitions due to be players being ineligiable to play because of age times and fortunes can quickly turn around.

maybe it is you who has no idea......

mma1
3 Jul 2006, 14:23
att:footy nerd what have you got to say for yourself st kevins smashed scotch do you have any idea about anything

adrolaviot
4 Jul 2006, 16:35
Is anyone game enough to put forward a u19 - Section 1 "Team of the half year"? I would be interested to see yours especially, footy nerd.

weapon_of_choice
4 Jul 2006, 17:04
Reveal Your Identity Footy Nerd!!

billy_31
9 Jul 2006, 21:04
Reveal Your Identity Footy Nerd!!
it seems footy nerd is on vacation?????????? :D

footy_nerd
9 Jul 2006, 22:58
Yes boys the nerd man has been and still is on vacation, skiing the powder that Mt Hutt NZ has to offer, just slipped into an internet cafe to check up on the progress over the weekend. No real suprises in the results extremely disappointed in collegians being unable to field a side, nothing short of a disgrace and something needs to be done about it.

Comming home on friday so over the comming weekend should be able to review some games that were taped over the weekend and give a bit of a review and since everyone has called for it perhaps its time nerd man to come up with a U19 section 1 team of the half year.

Untill then happy footballing lads.

VAFA19s
10 Jul 2006, 19:31
Great round of footy

Sportsman
11 Jul 2006, 19:41
Rupertswood has not been the same club since ben.carbonaro walked out to join some semi-pro VFL outfit. Oh, the humanity!

Yeah, I notice that he hasn't been around for a while.

Do you think Ben was good for Rupo or bad?

Eddie Woloschek
12 Jul 2006, 11:34
Yeah, I notice that he hasn't been around for a while.

Do you think Ben was good for Rupo or bad?

It's just sad, nay, tragic, that the Pasta Man has turned his back on VAFA football. But he's still to be heard often after midnight on SEN Radio, calling in and annoying the suitcase out of the broadcaster and the listening public.

VAFA19s
12 Jul 2006, 14:53
my word there are certainly a lot of rupo-bashers on here. It's all this thread seems to be about these days.. sad really.

Sportsman
12 Jul 2006, 15:21
It's just sad, nay, tragic, that the Pasta Man has turned his back on VAFA football. But he's still to be heard often after midnight on SEN Radio, calling in and annoying the suitcase out of the broadcaster and the listening public.

I find him to be interesting and a wealth of information.

How do you find him annoying?

I never saw it as a sad thing when he left VAFA football, he was developing his football career further.

cfc05
12 Jul 2006, 17:35
Good to see footy nerd no longer posting his un-informed comments and tips, has been shown up quiet badly on his last efforts!!!

All those complaining about having people out (rupo boys) have got to realise this is U/19 footy and as such every team will have 5+ a week out with other committments, injuries or seniors.

De La and Xavier rarely complain about having people playing seniors, and they do most weeks. I see Keogh getting in the best most weeks for SKOB seniors(dunno how hard that is though.) ****, Ratray and co for Scotch are playing two's seniors instead of 19's - Dumb choice really, but still not playing 19's. The Fact of the matter is many sides have integral parts of their line up playing seniors, and this comes with 19's footy...so stop whinging!!
Rupertswood are not that great a side and i wont be suprised if St Kevins... a battler gives them a serious run for their money this week.

Xavier is the premier team of the comp, with De La clear second. Only other challengers will be Uni and St Bernards if everything goes right for them.

frase18
13 Jul 2006, 01:39
gimme a shoutout Ben, even though you do talk rubbish on the radio.

inside_player
14 Jul 2006, 21:08
with the seniors having a bye, proves to be an interesting round.

unfortunately the draw hasn’t helped would have been good to see a xavs-dela with 19s back from seniors. Really could have silenced / substantiated a lot of people’s excuses re. 19s playing seniors. (bar of course rupo whos seniors r playing this week)

cfc05
15 Jul 2006, 18:10
As i predicted, Rupo were no match at all for SKOB...losing by a massive margin, especially considering the conditions. Clearly has outlined there are only 4 chances of this yrs flag... 2 obvious contenders.

Other results?

littlefooty
18 Jul 2006, 11:16
Is anyone game enough to put forward a u19 - Section 1 "Team of the half year"? I would be interested to see yours especially, footy nerd.

any "team of the half year" would have to include henry weddell of uni. has got about half a dozen BOGs and is in the best pretty much every week.

bucko23
20 Jul 2006, 16:22
at the end of the year is as the case with the senior levels is the official under19 "team of the year"

Bell Ringer
20 Jul 2006, 16:49
As a long-time reader, first time-poster, I'd be interested to know people's thoughts on the following:

1. Are DLS and Xavs certs to play-off on GF day?
2. Will the Woodsmen turn their midseason slump around and play finals?
3. And who'll drop out if they do?
3. Are both The Yulers & The Violet Crumbles going to get 2K kicked against them come season's end?

Interesting to note that the Yuler up on report has escaped sanction by the tribunal on Tuesday. Good on him I say - there's not too many who dodge the VAFA firing squad.

cfc05
22 Jul 2006, 12:37
the woodsmen are nothing, they are not a top 4 side!!! Xavier and De la are clearly the best two sides in the comp. Uni Blues and Berndars could put up a fight on their day but the odds would have to be very short for a Xav V De La granny.

Saw today Mercuri is playing 19's for Xavs (or is injured) and that murphy, dixon and keogh are all named for SKOB ones...... could be a very scary result for the kevinians unless they have improved ten fold!!

Looks like most other sides have the "regulars" returning to seniors this week after the bye.

Dudley Hamstrung
25 Jul 2006, 14:30
Anyone know what the reports from the Rupo v Marcellin game was for?

Cfc05 your opinion is valid and it is yours to put forward, but Rupo are still right in the finals hunt. They beat St.Bernards last time (not sure if the dogs had outs) and were fairly competitive agains DeLa a few weeks back.
I am looking forward to seeing the way the year pans out, regardless of where our unders finish up.
Bell ringer having seen the amount of players Banyule lost to their seniors and judging by the way Collegians season is going I'd say they are a fair chance. It is unfortunate but the way it goes when a side dominates at top age then falters while the younger players get used to higher grade footy.

fish1
25 Jul 2006, 15:50
[quote=Dudley Hamstrung]Anyone know what the reports from the Rupo v Marcellin game was for?

The eagles were easily beaten (90),one of their big men copping 2 for a love tap to the bread basket of one of the woodsmen.

It looks like the eagles have given up after losing their points to the Ulers for an unreg player.

The Rock #32
6 Aug 2006, 11:54
Bernard's vs. Rupo. Biggest game of the year so far. Whoever wins plays finals. What are peoples thoughts?

VAFA19s
6 Aug 2006, 15:09
The next 3 weeks:
Bernards v. Rupo
Bernards v. Xavs, Rupertswood v. Banyule
Bernards v. De La, Rupertswood v. Xavs.

I reckon that bernards might get over the line against rupo, then fall short in the following two, leaving them 10-8 for the season.
Rupo, on the other hand, will almost certainly get the win against banyule but not sure they will match it with bernards and probably not against xavs either; leaving them on 10-8 also.

So unless rupo beats bernards this week, looks to be a percentage decider for the final spot in the 4... If so, bernards to take that spot.

In short, i agree. A bernards win should see them through on percentage, a rupo win should see them through on points. Get down to Ascot Vale (not the snakepit? bernards certinaly could have used that advantage..) if you can, it's sure to be a cracker!

VAFA19s
6 Aug 2006, 15:14
Having said that De La v. Uni certainly looks as much as, if not more so, the game to watch for the round. The added importance of deciding finals places aside, from what i've seen this game would be one to watch if anyone is purely after a great game.

Champs wear da No.16
6 Aug 2006, 22:54
interesting to see what happens this week. i know that bernards have half a dozen in the ones atm so i wonder if the club is more worried bout playing under 19 finals or staying clear of the relegation zone in the seniors.

also doesnt the tac cup have a bye round this weekend that could also cause other problems with many teams getting players back.

johnfromtheVAFA
11 Aug 2006, 13:21
Word has it that bernards to drop six back from seniors to meet rupo any truth to this? In my opion they will need it, rupo were to good last time too fast. and with a big ground will run em ragged. but interesting to see the line ups some inclucions no doubt. :thumbsu:

Champs wear da No.16
11 Aug 2006, 15:53
just like to say JOHN that last time these two teams met, bernards had no where near there best 18 in. im not trying to make excuses for last time but if bernards play anywhere near there best i think they will be to strong for rupo. rupo did play very well last time but if they r to show up with the same team again they are goin to have to play extremely well to win the game. is there any major changes to the rupo team for this weekend.

should be a vey good game and can say to those who r reading this to try and come down and watch the game.

johnfromtheVAFA
13 Aug 2006, 19:16
bernards to good on the day. a brilliant first quater 12 goals. had rupo chasing that margin all day. bernards stocks were bolsted by a number of inclusions but that was no excuse for the first quater not saying rupo were bad they werent great but the first quater from bernards was some of best footy i have seen. Not sure if they will make an impact come finals as it is highly unlikely they can field that side come september. But if they can continue that form from the weekend they could cause an upset or two.

Champs wear da No.16
13 Aug 2006, 22:13
bernards to good on the day. a brilliant first quater 12 goals. had rupo chasing that margin all day. bernards stocks were bolsted by a number of inclusions but that was no excuse for the first quater not saying rupo were bad they werent great but the first quater from bernards was some of best footy i have seen. Not sure if they will make an impact come finals as it is highly unlikely they can field that side come september. But if they can continue that form from the weekend they could cause an upset or two.

why do you beleive that they arent going to be able to field the team they played on saturday in september.

Vafa06
14 Aug 2006, 11:53
On what grounds do you know that St.Bernards cant field that side come september? The senior team are not in the finals making more under 19's who are playing up available and therefor making them even stronger then last weekends performance. St.Bernards will field their strongest teams in the upcoming weeks and will have a massive impact on the finals.

VAFA19s
14 Aug 2006, 18:37
Looks as though the rupo train may have been de-railed.Seems like both bernies & them will end up with equal points at the end of the season, meaning that they will have to make up at least 23% to grab the last finals spot... doesn't look too likely unless:Bernies get smashed both weeks;Rupo hold xavs to much less than 107pts this time (assuming xavs win) & comprehensively win next round.I ask, though, is it for any point? Seems to be pretty clearly a two horse race this time 'round...Either way, makes for some great fighting footy in the last couple of rounds, with some big clashes to definately have a look at.

adrolaviot
14 Aug 2006, 22:54
Many of the posters have said they think the finals is a 'two horse race'... Indeed there are only two teams that have a chance of winning, although one of those teams is many lengths ahead. When De La played Xavs round two, Xavs were missing a couple of VERY important members their starting 18 and when they had them back for the second clash, it was a ten goal victory. I hope for the sake of spectating that De La can put up a fight come finals but the Xavs are a genuine quality outfit and I can't see them being stretched at all. Also Footy Nerd where were you on that team of the half year? Couldn't produce - shocking form by you.

St.Kev's Cowboy
15 Aug 2006, 17:42
With a top 4 in u19 sec 1 it will never be a two horse race. Although the top 2 this year in DeLa and X's have been a street in front of the rest, any combination of injuries, promotion to 1's, nerves or even un-expected opposition moves could cause an upset. One thing we all know as footy fans/players is that finals aren't 'just another game'. The intensity and pressure is at a far greater level.

The Rock #32
16 Aug 2006, 18:23
With a top 4 in u19 sec 1 it will never be a two horse race. Although the top 2 this year in DeLa and X's have been a street in front of the rest, any combination of injuries, promotion to 1's, nerves or even un-expected opposition moves could cause an upset. One thing we all know as footy fans/players is that finals aren't 'just another game'. The intensity and pressure is at a far greater level.
I agree with u mate finals footy is a totally different brand of football. yes, i wont go past xavs and de la as being the ones to beat but they have been high on confidence all year and the question is can they be cool under pressure wen it comes down to the wire. blues and bernards have nothing to lose so it looks set for a good finals series to cap of the season.

Bell Ringer
23 Aug 2006, 13:21
What the hell has gone wrong with Old Scotch over the last two weeks?!? I know they weren't a serious finals chance but two loses by a combined total of 412 points is ridiculous! Does anyone have an answer for these pathetic performances?

linger_isgod
23 Aug 2006, 16:49
Can't make finals.

Can't get relegated.

Can't give a ****.

u19 red fan
23 Aug 2006, 18:18
heard that a bloke called Paul "Milney" Flegletaub stared for xavs 2's team and is pushing for their ones team!!

Bell Ringer
23 Aug 2006, 18:58
Can't make finals.

Can't get relegated.

Can't give a ****.
If this were to be the case I'm sure those involved with the OS seniors would be reeeally excited about the next generation of footballers coming through...:rolleyes:

m.diddy
24 Aug 2006, 22:10
heard that a bloke called Paul "Milney" Flegletaub stared for xavs 2's team and is pushing for their ones team!!
Where'd you hear this U19 red fan? Because i've heard it mentioned a few times the last couple of days, who is he and what kind of player is he?

All i've heard is that he is easy on the eye and kicked one of the best goals in VAFA history on the weekend.

u19 red fan
24 Aug 2006, 22:14
m.diddy, he is a bloke who has just cruised through his junior footy without really putting in the hard yards but of recent weeks has just turned it on. Only seen him play a couple of times as he only plays when he wants to, on his terms, and i can confirm that his goal last week was the best the VAFA has seen. Would be a more than handy inclusion in the xavs 1's come finals, just dont know if they would have a jumper to fit his guns in!

m.diddy
24 Aug 2006, 22:17
m.diddy, he is a bloke who has just cruised through his junior footy without really putting in the hard yards but of recent weeks has just turned it on. Only seen him play a couple of times as he only plays when he wants to, on his terms, and i can confirm that his goal last week was the best the VAFA has seen. Would be a more than handy inclusion in the xavs 1's come finals, just dont know if they would have a jumper to fit his guns in!
Sounds like Old xavs may have this premiership in the bag then with this boost.

Must be coached well down in the two's?

u19 red fan
25 Aug 2006, 12:34
u better believe it m.diddy, just curious u wouldn't happen to know this "millney" bloke would u because that would be pretty special considering how his stature is growing in ammos? and woulnt know about the xavs 2's coaching havent seen much of them this year, i just follow good players such as Flegletaub!

m.diddy
25 Aug 2006, 14:15
u better believe it m.diddy, just curious u wouldn't happen to know this "millney" bloke would u because that would be pretty special considering how his stature is growing in ammos? and woulnt know about the xavs 2's coaching havent seen much of them this year, i just follow good players such as Flegletaub!
I met him once, Built like a brick **** house. Heard a bit about him from a mate who plays at Old Xavs, they say he's the best small forward go around and kicks them from all over the place.

About the coaching, this guy from old xavs said that it is his debut season coaching for the 2's and is an absolute guru. I think his name is Tom maule

u19 red fan
25 Aug 2006, 18:47
interesting stuff m.diddy, well i hope he gets his shot in the 1's and takes it from there. Would love to see him put his name in the draft too, but thats a bit down the track seeing he is still only 15 or that's what im told!

bobkelso
25 Aug 2006, 20:00
would you two absolute gooses stop blowing one of your mates' trumpets. clearly he is a hack who you are trying to pump up. stop being such damn fools and get off this thread

u19 red fan
26 Aug 2006, 00:50
clearly havent seen him play or there is no way u would treat Milney with such disrespect, just wait until u see his pace!

VAFA19s
28 Aug 2006, 12:16
I agree. one does not conjure the nickname 'milney' without reason. backmen beware...

strauchany
29 Aug 2006, 02:10
ive heard about this milney bloke, apparently he has been knocking over the big xav ruckmen at training, where will he be playing this weekend, would love to watch?

m.diddy
30 Aug 2006, 15:15
ive heard about this milney bloke, apparently he has been knocking over the big xav ruckmen at training, where will he be playing this weekend, would love to watch?
Hasn't one of the 1's ruckmen got a broken nose at the moment? Are these two incidents related?

u19 red fan
30 Aug 2006, 17:37
doubt milney could reach the ruckman's knee let alone nose, but he does lay a solid bump so could be

Rover7
30 Aug 2006, 21:39
How old is this Milney bloke?

Champs wear da No.16
31 Aug 2006, 15:46
only contenders 4 the flag are xavs and bernards. uni are out of form and dela r a bunch of sooks. bernards cant win the flag because of a problem tht happens every game day.

hint: keeping players fresh is a key and it showed in the bernards vs dela game in the final round.

m.diddy
31 Aug 2006, 18:46
How old is this Milney bloke?
16 or something.

u19 red fan
1 Sep 2006, 11:47
i heard 15, he is that good who cares!

fuzzyswan
1 Sep 2006, 16:42
only contenders 4 the flag are xavs and bernards. uni are out of form and dela r a bunch of sooks. bernards cant win the flag because of a problem tht happens every game day.

hint: keeping players fresh is a key and it showed in the bernards vs dela game in the final round.

mate, that's a very big call. no doubt xavs are the team to beat, but to suggest that bernards are next best when the only half decent side this year they've beat is rupertswood (once). I would be VERY surprised if they roll uni this week. i know that u'll probably have a few down from seniors, but suggest this makes u the second best team in the league seems like abit of a crock to me.

VAFA19s
1 Sep 2006, 19:23
agreed; crock

m.diddy
10 Sep 2006, 20:21
Xavs too good, for bernards today, winning easily.

OldMav
10 Sep 2006, 22:37
Xavier flexing their 'power' getting the under 19 grand final moved so it wouldn't clash with their Seniors. Poor effort from the administrators bowing down to ridiculous pressure.

-mav

fish1
11 Sep 2006, 10:59
I beleive that is fair enough if it gets more people to the game then y not.

VAFA19s
11 Sep 2006, 12:42
Thank the lord for Gerrard Sholly! More footy to see this weekend! What's it to you OldMav (if that is your real name)?

Also, what happened to the big fat party animal on sunday? Couldn't find a tractor to pull him onto the ground?

????
11 Sep 2006, 14:27
on page 19 about that mileny bloke...you guys talk the most amount of **** ever....if he was any good he'd be playing TAC CUP OR AT LEAST XAVS 1'S UNDER 19. as for de la and xavs in the grand final ...if DE LA HAVE NO FORWARD LINE WHAT SO EVERY AND BENSON HASNT GOT A KICK AGAINST DE LA (KICKS BAGS AGAIMST HACK SIDES) SO IF HE CAN PROVE HIMSELF AND PLAY WEN IT MATTERS AGAINST GOOD OPPOSTION THEY WILL WIN BY 10 GOALS. ALONG. I ALSO REMEMBER SOMEONE SAYING AT THE START OF THE YEAR WHEN OLD MELBURNIANS WHERE 10 WINS AND UNDEAFETED THAT THEY COULD BEAT ALL THE SECTION 1 TEAMS....LEARN TO KICK STRAIGHT FIRTS 5.21 ONT HE WEEKEND AND YOU LOST STRAIGHT SETS LOL...POOR OLD HAILBURY ALSO LOST STRAIGHT SETS.......MY TIPS FOR THIS WEEKS ARE XAVIER OVER DE LA BY 45 PTS IF THEY BRING THERE A GAME.....OLD CAREY BY A GOAL...AND OLD MENTONIANS TO LOSE BY 60PTS TO MAZONOD IN BLUE SECTION

m.diddy
11 Sep 2006, 15:14
on page 19 about that mileny bloke...you guys talk the most amount of **** ever....if he was any good he'd be playing TAC CUP OR AT LEAST XAVS 1'S UNDER 19. as for de la and xavs in the grand final ...if DE LA HAVE NO FORWARD LINE WHAT SO EVERY AND BENSON HASNT GOT A KICK AGAINST DE LA (KICKS BAGS AGAIMST HACK SIDES) SO IF HE CAN PROVE HIMSELF AND PLAY WEN IT MATTERS AGAINST GOOD OPPOSTION THEY WILL WIN BY 10 GOALS. ALONG. I ALSO REMEMBER SOMEONE SAYING AT THE START OF THE YEAR WHEN OLD MELBURNIANS WHERE 10 WINS AND UNDEAFETED THAT THEY COULD BEAT ALL THE SECTION 1 TEAMS....LEARN TO KICK STRAIGHT FIRTS 5.21 ONT HE WEEKEND AND YOU LOST STRAIGHT SETS LOL...POOR OLD HAILBURY ALSO LOST STRAIGHT SETS.......MY TIPS FOR THIS WEEKS ARE XAVIER OVER DE LA BY 45 PTS IF THEY BRING THERE A GAME.....OLD CAREY BY A GOAL...AND OLD MENTONIANS TO LOSE BY 60PTS TO MAZONOD IN BLUE SECTION
Don't you just hate the old caps lock button?

Anway the reason why milney isn't playing 1's is due to an injury he suffered last summer, don't know the full details.

u19 red fan
11 Sep 2006, 23:25
Don't you just hate the old caps lock button?

Anway the reason why milney isn't playing 1's is due to an injury he suffered last summer, don't know the full details.

Aren't u lucky m.diddy that i'm hear to give u the facts on milney. It is true that he didn't play on the weekend against burnards. This is because he was interstate being wooed by the lions. They were showing him around the club and want him to go up there and be involved for a year so that next year or 2 when he goes into draft they can take him. Exciting times for milney! But u never know who might fly back in time for the gf, COME BACK MILNEY!

strauchany
12 Sep 2006, 14:34

CAPSLOCK..."LOL"...****a
All that crap about milney, give the guy respect, he is 15, has interstate duties and is under the age that his tac side, sandringham dragons, allow kids to play, pretty common knowledge. But i believe mr vafa19s you are right, i also did not notice and loud hawaiian shirts at the game, nor did i notice his little buddy who tries to make out he is great, obviously off having 'slabs' of beer, Priorities big kev...get excited.
AS with the other stuff.....this is u19 section 1 info, lets keep other divisions off the site
I think you will also find xavier isnt a just benson, unlike say rupo who need quigley to dominate...and then agaisnt good sides do nothing, they can actually play as a team

koc#41
12 Sep 2006, 20:56
Aren't u lucky m.diddy that i'm hear to give u the facts on milney. It is true that he didn't play on the weekend against burnards. This is because he was interstate being wooed by the lions. They were showing him around the club and want him to go up there and be involved for a year so that next year or 2 when he goes into draft they can take him. Exciting times for milney! But u never know who might fly back in time for the gf, COME BACK MILNEY!

thats good that you have said that, because thats known as draft tampering

VAFA19s
12 Sep 2006, 21:46
tamper this, koc.

u19 red fan
13 Sep 2006, 10:41
thats good that you have said that, because thats known as draft tampering

happenes all the time, marc murphy spent many weeks up at brisbane last year, brisbane were trying to convince him to go there too. so ur wrong, seems to be a bad habbit u have Koc! but as always ill accept ur appology