View Full Version : Wooden Spoon Race - Lions and Bombers fight it out!!

Pages : [1] 2

_Ron_
19 Apr 2006, 21:14
For me, Essendon have it wrapped up. After i saw their abysmal defensive effort against the lions it clinched the deal although i did notice Sheedy adopting flooding tactics last week against the dogs to try and nullify the shaky backline.

Brisbane will challenge them for the title and i believe it's purely between these 2 teams.

Carlton, demons and the tigers are clearly better teams then the 2 afformentioned sides mentioned above.

:)

morgoth
19 Apr 2006, 21:15
Richmond by a mile, no full back, CHB or CHF. Finished for 2006.

_Ron_
19 Apr 2006, 21:20

Want to put real money on that?

Bentleigh
19 Apr 2006, 21:21

Lets hope so.

Better than comming 9th.

VANDA
19 Apr 2006, 21:23
Another spoon for the growing RFC colection.

Bentleigh
19 Apr 2006, 21:25

Actully, we don't have all that many.

DaSawx
19 Apr 2006, 21:32
For me, Essendon have it wrapped up. After i saw their abysmal defensive effort against the lions it clinched the deal although i did notice Sheedy adopting flooding tactics last week against the dogs to try and nullify the shaky backline.

Brisbane will challenge them for the title and i believe it's purely between these 2 teams.

Carlton, demons and the tigers are clearly better teams then the 2 afformentioned sides mentioned above.

After coming within 11 points of the competitions hottest team, without our captain and main goalkicking threat for a quarter and a half, outplaying them for the first 2 quarters?

TheBrownDog
19 Apr 2006, 21:35
Brisbane have too many home games to collect the spoon.

And Essendon have too much spirit to collect the spoon.

Lock in Richmond.

_Ron_
19 Apr 2006, 21:41
That's it, i'm heading straight to betfair and i'm laying richmond not to win the spoon. Will be easy money!!

Flag Man
19 Apr 2006, 21:44
Brisbane.

Insipid.

Cowardly.

Mikes4
19 Apr 2006, 21:47
Insipid.

Cowardly.

I thought that is how most would have described the Kangaroos on Monday?

rychenroller
19 Apr 2006, 21:54
There are only 2 contenders for the spoon

Hawthorn/Ross are outsiders

sheller891
19 Apr 2006, 22:02
That's it, i'm heading straight to betfair and i'm laying richmond not to win the spoon. Will be easy money!!

thats weak

put your money where your mouth is put money on essendon or brisbane for the spoon if you are so sure

but no one would believe you anyway - if you told them you did put money...
so really no one cares

Grimreepah
19 Apr 2006, 22:06
Brisbane.

Insipid.

Cowardly.

Flagman

dense

very

mantis
19 Apr 2006, 22:10

How much are you betting? I've bet $10,000 on the sainters to win it. :p

Mcchawk
19 Apr 2006, 22:19

Typical one eyed Collingwood moron. Cos the Pies mate are gonna win the flag aren't they :rolleyes:

You've beaten Hawthorn and North mention them of course.

Richmond and Carlton you see as easybeats so mention them.

You know nothing on football

Bomberland06
19 Apr 2006, 22:27
the only team going to win the wooden spoon will be richmond or brisbane

take ya pick

Grimreepah
19 Apr 2006, 22:31
the only team going to win the wooden spoon will be richmond or brisbane

take ya pick

OK. I pick Richmond.

windyhill
19 Apr 2006, 22:35
Hmmm,Ron is speaking as a bloke with vast experience in utensils.

passthebottle
19 Apr 2006, 22:48
Hmmm,Ron is speaking as a bloke with vast experience in utensils.
Got him.:thumbsu: :)

Rawhead
19 Apr 2006, 22:53
Oh noes, not the spoon!!

!!

Warwick
19 Apr 2006, 22:56
hahahahahahah :D :D

Brisbane's two friends pipe up: Ron and Flag Man.

ahahhahahahaha :D :D

Jealousy really is a curse. :)

Dry Rot
19 Apr 2006, 22:57
Good to see the BigFooty experts picking the wooden spoon at this point in the season.

If you're so smart in April, who will win the flag this season?

Rawhead
19 Apr 2006, 23:01
Brisbane, Richmond and Essendon in for a shot IMO.

Grimreepah
19 Apr 2006, 23:08
Anyone give Port a chance?

The Majestic
19 Apr 2006, 23:11
Should bookmark this thread and see how close they get.

Rawhead
19 Apr 2006, 23:12
I was thinking about this the other day, the ingredients that go in to a premiership team, what was the most important factors.

we have in (my) order

Desire to win
Experience of the players
Availability of first choice players
Team work
Talent of individual players
Fitness

and it was thinking about a footy team this way that makes me think this:

Any team on a given day can win a game of footy, the teams in the comp are much closer than people would have believe to the point where simply where a team plays will have a bearing on whether or not they win. I believe the desire to win is most important, have this and you already have the game half won.

Who wants it most.

The Majestic
19 Apr 2006, 23:15
I have no idea who will win the spoon, as long as it's not Collingwood I couldn't care less.

As for the flag, I would think maybe West Coast.

rychenroller
19 Apr 2006, 23:17
Typical one eyed Collingwood moron. Cos the Pies mate are gonna win the flag aren't they :rolleyes:

You've beaten Hawthorn and North mention them of course.

Richmond and Carlton you see as easybeats so mention them.

You know nothing on football

moron?

what drew you to this conclusion? coz I have an opinion on the spoon?

I said the pies are gonna win the flag didnt I?

******** off

I said Richmond and Carlton are easybeats didnt I?

toddy
19 Apr 2006, 23:19
I think people forget how hard it is to beat brisbane at the gabba (other than West Coast) with 13 games in Queensland (1 at Carrara) they will win too many games for wooden spoon. I think the team to win the spoon will have to win only 5-6 games, richmond, carlton, melbourne, north at this stage seem most likely but it certainly is more even than in previous years. By no means do i think brisbane will finish top 4 but certainly things will have to go drastically wrong (more than at current) for them to finish last.

Snuka
20 Apr 2006, 01:34

Agreed, clearly the worst 2 teams. Although both are only 1 game behind the Saints and Geelong. They must be pretty bad too.:D

You may be right about either one taking the spoon but I'm not sure how Carlton, dees or Tigers are 'clearly' better, or even Sydney, Port or Kangas are. All lost more games then they've won. Surely they ALL suck!

And BTW, every team floods.

itsintheblood
20 Apr 2006, 09:19

Use spellcheck you moron.

POBT
20 Apr 2006, 10:00
I think people forget how hard it is to beat brisbane at the gabba (other than West Coast) with 13 games in Queensland (1 at Carrara) they will win too many games for wooden spoon.

An interstate side would have to be substantially worse than the rest of the competition to come last IMO. The home ground advantage is too great. If Brisbane wins half their home games, they'll have 6-7 wins. Even if they don't win anywhere else, the chances are that there will be a team with a worse record than this.

Having said that, Brisbane would only be 2 injuries away from potentially being the worst side in the comp - no Brown and Michael for the season would be devastating and the wooden spoon might loom then.

drew_j
20 Apr 2006, 10:09
I don't think Essendon will get the spoon because Sheedy doesn't play for priority picks. I think that rule has changed this year though, or is the change for priority picks for teams that win under 5 games come in next year? If it's next year not Dons, if it is in now then they are a chance, tho I hate to admit it. Others fighting off will probably be Richmond, the Roos and maybe Melbourne.

Pred
20 Apr 2006, 10:35
Brisbane.

Insipid.

Cowardly.Harsh, very harsh.

How could the Lions possibly win the spoon with that mega-super-dooper-star CHF Johny Brown? :)

Warwick
20 Apr 2006, 10:37
Harsh, very harsh.

How could the Lions possibly win the spoon with that mega-super-dooper-star CHB Johny Brown? :)

Johny Brown 3
Warren Tredrea 1

Pred
20 Apr 2006, 10:40
Johny Brown 3
Warren Tredrea 1

:)Martin Pike 4

Garry Ablett Snr 0

So??

Jeremias
20 Apr 2006, 10:43
Actully, we don't have all that many.

thats why it is a growing collection

CLICK HERE! (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=growing)

Jimbeam
20 Apr 2006, 10:43
spoon candidates, carlton, richmond, melbourne, north melbourne, hawthorn, dons in that order.. Why that order because some sides still have not got their 3rd tier players exposed enough to run out a full 22rds consistently. It could go anyway but those above sides are in the mix.. i'd back melbourne first, then richmond then nrth melbourne.

DONSDOMINATE
20 Apr 2006, 10:49
spoon candidates, carlton, richmond, melbourne, north melbourne, hawthorn, dons in that order.. Why that order because some sides still have not got their 3rd tier players exposed enough to run out a full 22rds consistently. It could go anyway but those above sides are in the mix.. i'd back melbourne first, then richmond then nrth melbourne.

let me guess colling wood is awesome because you have beaten 2 very average teams in Hawthorn and the Roos

Jimbeam
20 Apr 2006, 10:56
let me guess colling wood is awesome because you have beaten 2 very average teams in Hawthorn and the Roos

yes we will be lucky to drop a game for the rest of the year considering we have 10 new players on the list from last year.. :D :D :D :D

Grimreepah
20 Apr 2006, 11:09
Harsh, very harsh.

How could the Lions possibly win the spoon with that mega-super-dooper-star CHF Johny Brown? :)

Ahh Pred. The obsession with JB continues. Good to see.

Longy413
20 Apr 2006, 11:19
Martin Pike 4

Garry Ablett Snr 0

So??

So Pike retired more satisfied?

Rawhead
20 Apr 2006, 12:23
Yeah, I'd say so.

Pred
20 Apr 2006, 12:41
So Pike retired more satisfied?Oh silly me, we're talking about personal satisfation here. I thought we were talking about number of premierships as a measure of the greatness of a player.

Pred
20 Apr 2006, 12:42
Ahh Pred. The obsession with JB continues. Good to see.No obsession here, Grim. But the more guys like you arc up at any less than glowing comment in JB's direction, the more likely I am to comment ;)

Longy413
20 Apr 2006, 12:48
Oh silly me, we're talking about personal satisfation here. I thought we were talking about number of premierships as a measure of the greatness of a player.

Were you?
I didn't see that mentioned anywhere.

My mistake.

Grimreepah
20 Apr 2006, 12:59
No obsession here, Grim. But the more guys like you arc up at any less than glowing comment in JB's direction, the more likely I am to comment ;)

That's funny, I thought you raised it out of the blue.

Mutant
20 Apr 2006, 15:26
Brisbane no chance of the spoon too much quality and pride.

surpstar
20 Apr 2006, 15:55
Tigers have the spoon wrapped up
Should have backed them when they were paying decent odds pre-season

7zark7
20 Apr 2006, 15:59

Here here

Longy413
20 Apr 2006, 16:01
Here here

Where, where?

7zark7
20 Apr 2006, 16:02

I second that

tigertRANCE
20 Apr 2006, 16:38
Lets hope so.

Better than comming 9th.

Agree Benters. But we'd still stuff it up in the draft. Pattison & Polo at picks 16 & 20 look like real winners don't they. :(

GO TIGES!!!

tigertRANCE
20 Apr 2006, 16:40

Not a chance.

GO TIGES!!!

The Dice Man
22 Apr 2006, 23:45

Lock in Richmond.

Woops!

mcphee_is_a_gun
22 Apr 2006, 23:49
Woops!
what a big differnce a week makes to the tiger ferals. :thumbsd:

weagles_fan
23 Apr 2006, 00:01
Looks like you were right about something Ron. And to all those WC hating Lions fans who had a huge whinge over me tipping them for the spoon :)

The Dice Man
23 Apr 2006, 00:02

And how has your week been? :D

Bentleigh
23 Apr 2006, 14:14

Lock in Richmond.

It'd be shame if we beat you at home hey?

Bentleigh
23 Apr 2006, 14:16
Agree Benters. But we'd still stuff it up in the draft. Pattison & Polo at picks 16 & 20 look like real winners don't they. :(

GO TIGES!!!

Tambling, Meyer, Pattion & Polo.

At this stage abit worrying hey?

Lets see what happens over the next 36 months or so.

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 17:07

You pick essendon, what about the rubble ar richmond, kangas, melbourne? i think carlton might take it out again

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 17:41
You pick essendon, what about the rubble ar richmond, kangas, melbourne? i think carlton might take it out again

Let's look at the sides you mentioned shall we? :)

Tigers - Played a bad quarter in round 1. Played 4 solid quarters against the saints and were in it all the way to the final siren. Played another bad quarter in round 3 and defeated the lions at the Gabba easily, something Essendon failed at dismally. Tigers will beat Essendon any day of the week, anywhere in any conditions if they turn up and have a real crack.

Melbourne - Lost by 5 points to the crows after a dodgy goal umpiring decision (away) and defeated the swans (SCG) in one of the best games iv'e seen this year. Melbourne will thump Essendon in current form.

Blues - Been testing every side they have come across. Pagan has turned a rabble into a competeive outfit and with Fevola and Waite in the team will simpily outclass Essendons defense.

North - They were better then the eagles today but failed badly up forward. That will not be a problem against Essendons backline though.

End of discussion.

Cogz24
23 Apr 2006, 17:41

Good luck to your season without your captain :thumbsu:

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 17:43
Wonder what happened to all the people saying Richmond were shoe ins for the spoon?

All gone into hiding?

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 17:50
Let's look at the sides you mentioned shall we? :)

Tigers - Played a bad quarter in round 1. Played 4 solid quarters against the saints and were in it all the way to the final siren. Played another bad quarter in round 3 and defeated the lions at the Gabba easily, something Essendon failed at dismally. Tigers will beat Essendon any day of the week, anywhere in any conditions if they turn up and have a real crack.

Melbourne - Lost by 5 points to the crows after a dodgy goal umpiring decision (away) and defeated the swans (SCG) in one of the best games iv'e seen this year. Melbourne will thump Essendon in current form.

Blues - Been testing every side they have come across. Pagan has turned a rabble into a competeive outfit and with Fevola and Waite in the team will simpily outclass Essendons defense.

North - They were better then the eagles today but failed badly up forward. That will not be a problem against Essendons backline though.

End of discussion.

hows about this for your end of discussion you f**king twit, if they have been so competitive then why are all their percentages worse then essendons, im not a mathematician but that means that we havent been losing by as much as they other teams, meaning we were closer to winning.

END OF DISCUSSION, come back and talk about footy when your team wins another flag DUD

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 17:55
Well Sheedy does flood. It's the only thing he has at his disposal to keep the scoreline respectable otherwise the bombers would get flogged by 20 goals every week.

Watch the pies game on Tuesday. Now Sheedy knows his mob has no chance of beating the pies yet he will flood so such a degree that not even moses could part the masses yet they'll still get killed as the ball will rarely get to the other end.

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:00
Well Sheedy does flood. It's the only thing he has at his disposal to keep the scoreline respectable otherwise the bombers would get flogged by 20 goals every week.

Watch the pies game on Tuesday. Now Sheedy knows his mob has no chance of beating the pies yet he will flood so such a degree that not even moses could part the masses yet they'll still get killed as the ball will rarely get to the other end.

What so cos he has a brain in his head and knows how to use a game plan effectively its flooding, your useless just like you club, wont be too long till it goes the way of fitzroy and non too soon

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 18:08
Was just explaining the percentage gap. I admire coaches like Wallace who try and win the game, not defend it hence Richmonds poor percentage when things don't go there way.

By the way, no no need to be nasty Paul, we are all friends here and so what is the bombers do win the spoon, it'll be hardly suprising considering they have a bunch of useless hack players.

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:12
Was just explaining the percentage gap. I admire coaches like Wallace who try and win the game, not defend it hence Richmonds poor percentage when things don't go there way.

By the way, no no need to be nasty Paul, we are all friends here and so what is the bombers do win the spoon, it'll be hardly suprising considering they have a bunch of useless hack players.

Real mature, atleast our hacks can play, everything going well in st land, no premierships in 40 years, their number 1 pick from their poor year (goodard) is a hack. atleast our hacks have premiership medallions to show, whats stkilda got, you have one of the best teams on paper but yet still cant win a premiership. if i was saying anything about hacks id say that your over rated team is going no where.

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 18:21
Well i certainly don't disagree with you on Goddard or Thomas being a hack. However we have something that no other side has and that is Justin "I will carry the saints to a flag" Koschitzke.

So the saints past has been atrocious.. point taken!!

I live for the future however and not in the past and at least i don't have to worry about my side winning more wood unlike the bombers.

Ari
23 Apr 2006, 18:24

Bombers beat last years premiers round 1, then lost by three goals to brisbane at home.

Last week they lost lloyd just after half time and without a forward and their ruckman fell by 11 points to an unbeaten western bulldogs.

What im trying to say here is youre a knob who doesnt know what he's talking about. ;)

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:25
kossie is good but he wont win you a flag, even if we do win the wooden spoon we will still win a premiership before you guys do.

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 18:31
Bombers beat last years premiers round 1, then lost by three goals to brisbane at home.

Last week they lost lloyd just after half time and without a forward and their ruckman fell by 11 points to an unbeaten western bulldogs.

What im trying to say here is youre a knob who doesnt know what he's talking about. ;)

Or we would look at it from another light. Sydney have started the season very poorly and have gotten better significantly as each week has gone by and the bombers had 3/4 of their team in the bulldogs forward line.

M29
23 Apr 2006, 18:31
youre a knob who doesnt know what he's talking about. ;)
Look at what team the spoonman follows. He's an expert in the feild.

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:38

haha, :)

may aswell talk up stkilda while they can win a game, after that they will win the spoon until they go the way of fitzroy....

Ari
23 Apr 2006, 18:38

I think it goes something along the lines of <sing>Nineeeeeeeeteen sixty six, Nineeeeeeeeteen sixty six, Nineeeeeeeeteen sixty six, Nineeeeeeeeteen sixty six.</sing>

Coughlan
23 Apr 2006, 18:42
Essendon only average 10 goals a game without lloyd

lock it in
http://jas-townsend.com/images/large/ws-148.jpg

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:44

lock it in

10 goals a game would still be a better average then richmonds with a full list

Coughlan
23 Apr 2006, 18:47
10 goals a game would still be a better average then richmonds with a full list
your clutching at straws a bit dont you think paul:)

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:49
your clutching at straws a bit dont you think paul:)

atleast i wont be clutching onto the wooden spoon at the end of the season like your pathetic team;)

M29
23 Apr 2006, 18:50

lock it in
Better than richmonds average with richo and troy 'useless' simmonds.

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 18:52
Funny how the useless side that is Richmond defeated the the bears in second gear while that champion outfit down at windy hill were well beaten.

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:54
Funny how the useless side that is Richmond defeated the the bears in second gear while that champion outfit down at windy hill were well beaten.

every team plays above them selves once in a while, you should be happy of that fact otherwise you useless mob would never win

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 18:56

also by the way its the lions now, and you better hope someone will merge with your team before they go under like poor old fitzroy

M29
23 Apr 2006, 18:56
You are contradicting yourself if you think we are a champion outfit. Peanut...

Stuck21
23 Apr 2006, 18:58
atleast i wont be clutching onto the wooden spoon at the end of the season like your pathetic team;)

Didn't that 'pathetic team' beat the bombers last time they played each other?

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 18:58
You are contradicting yourself if you think we are a champion outfit. Peanut...

These bombers supporters are not to bright either.

Coughlan
23 Apr 2006, 19:00
still clutching at straws are'nt you paul, because im such a nice guy i will give you these to clutch onto
http://www.bubbleteastore.com/images/FatStraws_w200.jpg

and they can go along with your very own wooden spoon

dont forget the bummers have this to look foward to with their exiting list with superstar recuits like Scott Camporeale and Chris Heffernan

http://kitchencarvers.com/images/wooden_spoon_homepicture.jpg

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 19:01
also by the way its the lions now, and you better hope someone will merge with your team before they go under like poor old fitzroy

I will not disgrace Fitzroys name by naming the bears as the lions and the saints have no merger worries with our huge band of supporters and bandwagoners we are in fine shape. However if Essendon keep up these horrible performances and perform up to expectations and challenge for the spoon every year for the next decade, well the gold coast might be the bombers next home.

Ps. Maybe Tassie!!

footy_paul
23 Apr 2006, 19:04
still clutching at straws are'nt you paul, because im such a nice guy i will give you these to clutch onto
http://www.bubbleteastore.com/images/FatStraws_w200.jpg

and they can go along with your very own wooden spoon

dont forget the bummers have this to look foward to with their exiting list with superstar recuits like Scott Camporeale and Chris Heffernan

http://kitchencarvers.com/images/wooden_spoon_homepicture.jpg

atleast those two are better then troy simmonds, and we didnt lose a high pick? haha, idiot

M29
23 Apr 2006, 19:05
These bombers supporters are not to bright either.

Neither are you it seems... Carry on, you have school tomorrow.

M29
23 Apr 2006, 19:07
However if Essendon keep up these horrible performances
How was round 1 horrible? Round 2 was one of our better interstate efforts, if you had a clue you'd know this. Last week? Horrible? Knob end...

Coughlan
23 Apr 2006, 19:10
atleast those two are better then troy simmonds, and we didnt lose a high pick? haha, idiot
haha idiot, you may want to check the facts first because we didnt lose any high draft picks for simmonds either, we lost Aaron Fiora, and anyway Troy is better then them both, is starring ATM in the ruck and around the game.
Do you remember when we played your insipid lot last year and big matty lloyd turned around trying to be tough but crapped himself when he saw it was troy simmonds so backed off. What an inspiring leader he is :)

Stuck21
23 Apr 2006, 19:11

Did richmond lose a high pick in getting him? I thought they traded aaron fiora to St. Kilda, the saints traded heath black to Freo and freo traded Simmonds to richmond. So Richmond lost Fiora and gained Simmonds. Don't see where they lost a high pick for him.

David Hille is just fantastic too, would towel up simmonds :rolleyes:

Stuck21
23 Apr 2006, 19:12
Round 2 was one of our better interstate efforts

Yet you still lost to that rabble in brisbane

ColDawg
23 Apr 2006, 19:13
Yer that means they lost a high draft pick cause Firoa was a high draft pick............

_Ron_
23 Apr 2006, 19:15
I can't wait until the tigers play Essendon. What round fellas? .. Will be a massacre!!

Stuck21
23 Apr 2006, 19:15
I can't wait until the tigers play Essendon. What round fellas? .. Will be a massacre!!

in round 6

M29
23 Apr 2006, 19:22
Yet you still lost to that rabble in brisbane
We are rubbish interstate. Anything under 4 goals is better than expected.