View Full Version : A Dag's confession
Mr Ripper
18 Dec 2001, 18:36
As incredulous as it seems, I've never owned a proper ABBA album (other than the obligatory ABBA Gold compilations).
I'm ecstatic to report that this embarrassing situation was rectified on the weekend, when Mr Ripper took the bit between the teeth, grabbed a fistful of readies and headed down to the local music shoppe (JB at Northland ;)) in search of compact disc magic courtesy of the Swedish supergroup.
I emerged successful, having obtained all of ABBA's 8 studio albums (all digitally remastered! :eek: ).
Spent much of my time since re-acquainting myself with inexplicably forgotten classics such as King Kong Song, Intermezzo No. 1, Happy Hawaii, If It Wasn't For The Night, and the superb I've Been Waiting For You.
They are magnificent.
Mr Eagle
18 Dec 2001, 18:48
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
I emerged successful, having obtained all of ABBA's 8 studio albums (all digitally remastered! :eek: ). Wow, digital technology must be truly fantastic if it can stop ABBA music sucking! :D
Mr Ripper
18 Dec 2001, 19:16
Pffft. Philistine :rolleyes:
Mooster7
18 Dec 2001, 19:22
With ABBA, I couldn't ever tell the difference between the boys and the girls. They were all sooooooo pretty..... Made me feel sexually ambiguous.
Also, the Swedes remained neutral in WWII (even though they had a perfectly adequate medium tank). They wiled out the war supplying critical iron ore to Germany. That always left a bad taste for me, until the ex took off with a Swede. I never bothered to thank him.
If you dig them, Rip, congrats on the score. Peace,
Mooster
lioness
19 Dec 2001, 18:39
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Wow, digital technology must be truly fantastic if it can stop ABBA music sucking! :D
:D :D :D :D :D
LOL nah seriously rip, great to hear your abba collection is complete!!!!!!! :D
Dippers Donuts
19 Dec 2001, 21:00
Originally posted by Mooster7
With ABBA, I couldn't ever tell the difference between the boys and the girls. They were all sooooooo pretty..... Made me feel sexually ambiguous.
Benny had the beard...
If ABBA never existed the world would be a better place but hey if you like em Ripper congrats on getting all there albums....
Blues_Brat
20 Dec 2001, 01:54
Including the often overlooked, ABBA: The Album? I am impressed. :cool:
Originally posted by jod23
If ABBA never existed the world would be a better place
:rolleyes:
Pretty stupid comment, really. :o
Although, the same could be said for all those art-nazis out there.
Originally posted by Dippers Donuts
Benny had the beard...
ROFLMAO - I nearly cacked meeself!
play on
22 Dec 2001, 23:43
As incredulous as it seems, I've never owned a proper ABBA album (other than the obligatory ABBA Gold compilations).
I'm ecstatic to report that this embarrassing situation was rectified on the weekend, when Mr Ripper took the bit between the teeth, grabbed a fistful of readies and headed down to the local music shoppe (JB at Northland ;)) in search of compact disc magic courtesy of the Swedish supergroup.
I was looking for an ABBA CD at HMV at Northland yesterday. At the time, I thought of you, and I thought you said that you had got the ABBA CD from HMV. But only now have I noticed that you got it at JB, at Northland. Seeing as though I didn't go to JB, I missed out. I will just have to wait until after Christmas.
Originally posted by Olmy
:rolleyes:
Pretty stupid comment, really. :o
Although, the same could be said for all those art-nazis out there.
Well cmon lets be honest here, if ABBA didnt exist and we didnt have to listen to there terrible terrible music the world would certainly be better off.
Mr Ripper
23 Dec 2001, 10:44
if ABBA didnt exist and we didnt have to listen to there terrible terrible music ...in YOUR opinion.
Waltzing Woof Biscuit
23 Dec 2001, 11:57
Rip,
Firstly, can't believe you didn't con mum and dad into a trip to Brashs to buy The Best Of Abba when you were a nipper. But, welcome to the fold brother. For an extra eighty bucks, I'd recommend you invest in the four CD set 'Thank you for the music', which has plenty of rarities, alternate versions and studio demos and banter (mostly in Swedish, but they're probably only talking about tennis).
Blues_Brat
23 Dec 2001, 17:16
Originally posted by Waltzing Woof Biscuit
Rip,
Firstly, can't believe you didn't con mum and dad into a trip to Brashs to buy The Best Of Abba when you were a nipper. But, welcome to the fold brother. For an extra eighty bucks, I'd recommend you invest in the four CD set 'Thank you for the music', which has plenty of rarities, alternate versions and studio demos and banter (mostly in Swedish, but they're probably only talking about tennis).
The Best of Abba was the first record that my parents bought for me. Shame I didn't treat it too well, luckily when I was old enough to appreciate these things I found a mint copy in a second hand record store. :)
Well cmon lets be honest here, if ABBA didnt exist and we didnt have to listen to there terrible terrible music the world would certainly be better off.
It's only your opinion that their music is terrible, yet you seem to think that your opinion is the justification behind saying it would be a better world without them? :o You obviously think your opinion is worth more than that of the millions who own their records and enjoy listening to their music.
Whether you listen to, or enjoy their music or not, you obviously you have no appreciation of the ground they actually broke in musical and production terms.
Whether you, or I think their music is good, it's hardly justification for your stupid comment, that the world would be better off without their music.
After all, millions of people around the world own their records, and enjoy their music. We are talking about the enjoyment of millions of people here, as opposed to your own dissatisfaction.
I mean, do you seriously think, that for one minute, it would be a better world, if ABBA didn't exist for your needs alone and those who do enjoy them therefore miss out?
Pretty selfish train of thought there. Although, it wouldn't surprise me if you thought yourself able to tell other people what is "good" music and what is "bad" music, and what people should and shouldn't listen to and expect them to agree.
Personally, I hate Abba's music - let me just make that clear.
BUT this is what I referred to last week about Jod's arguing...
How is Michael Jackson a musical genius, and how are the Beatles musical geniuses (pl?), and Jim Morrison, and all the others Jod likes, when no mention is given to bands who can be dissected in the same manner.
For example :
Michael Jackson - writes some of his own stuff, but has had help along the way, most notably from Quincy Jones. Does not play instruments on his recordings as far as I am aware. According to Jod, a musical genius. Many #1 singles and albums, popular worldwide.
How is this different from Kylie Minogue, Robbie Williams, Spice Girls... (none of whom I like, by the way).
Beatles - write their own stuff, with most of it written by two band members. Play their own instruments. Lasted for about 8 years, but were immensely successful the whole way. Musical geniuses according to Jod.
How is this different from Abba who "if... we didnt have to listen to there (sic) terrible terrible music the world would certainly be better off " ?
Geez you guys are all way too serious.
My comment "Well cmon lets be honest here, if ABBA didnt exist and we didnt have to listen to there terrible terrible music the world would certainly be better off." Is just my way of telling all you people how much i cant stand there music. I meaning my opinion, im sick of every musical post that everyone makes in this thread, you have to mention In My Opinion...its obvious if this is what im writing its my opinion...
Geez you guys are all way too serious.
My comment "Well cmon lets be honest here, if ABBA didnt exist and we didnt have to listen to there terrible terrible music the world would certainly be better off." Is just my way of telling all you people how much i cant stand there music. I meaning my opinion, im sick of every musical post that everyone makes in this thread, you have to mention In My Opinion...its obvious if this is what im writing its my opinion...
The only thing that's obvious, budgie-nuts, is that you're an art-nazi through and through, and lack reasonable and objective input to most discussions regarding music.
The only thing thats obvious Olmy is your inability to grow up and to have a laugh...take a chill pill man.
Shinboners
25 Dec 2001, 11:10
The only thing thats obvious Olmy is your inability to grow up and to have a laugh...take a chill pill man.
So Jod, would these be the same chill pills that YOU should've taken after your response to my comments about Jim Morrison's lyrical ability?
Shinboners
25 Dec 2001, 11:15
Originally posted by Darky
Personally, I hate Abba's music - let me just make that clear.
BUT this is what I referred to last week about Jod's arguing...
Another key plank to the Jod technique on arguing about music is the number of hit songs, classics, and ability to attract fans from all over the world. He used it to back up his arguments about the Beatles and tried to use it in the Oasis vs Radiohead argument.
Now surely, under his criteria, Abba would have to be geniuses as well. Just count the number of hit songs, number one albums, and their appeal around the world (in fact, at their height, they were Sweden's largest export earner). Currently, Abba imitators, Bjorn Again, are one of Australia's biggest entertainment earners, the musical Mamma Mia has been a massive success....so that surely satisfies the longevity of the songs as well.
Originally posted by Shinboners
Currently, Abba imitators, Bjorn Again, are one of Australia's biggest entertainment earners, the musical Mamma Mia has been a massive success....so that surely satisfies the longevity of the songs as well.
To be fair to Jod and the longevity of the Beatles' songs, Oasis are doing pretty well too. :o
Mr Ripper
25 Dec 2001, 14:04
Onya Fred!
lioness
25 Dec 2001, 15:22
I like a few ABBA songs but yeah not really my thing. However I find them immensely interesting. :)
Another key plank to the Jod technique on arguing about music is the number of hit songs, classics, and ability to attract fans from all over the world. He used it to back up his arguments about the Beatles and tried to use it in the Oasis vs Radiohead argument.
Now surely, under his criteria, Abba would have to be geniuses as well. Just count the number of hit songs, number one albums, and their appeal around the world (in fact, at their height, they were Sweden's largest export earner). Currently, Abba imitators, Bjorn Again, are one of Australia's biggest entertainment earners, the musical Mamma Mia has been a massive success....so that surely satisfies the longevity of the songs as well.
Not denying any of there number 1's or oodles of fans but there music is terrible...
Originally posted by Darky
To be fair to Jod and the longevity of the Beatles' songs, Oasis are doing pretty well too. :o
Cheers Darky.
Mr Ripper
25 Dec 2001, 20:20
Not denying any of there number 1's or oodles of fans but there music is terrible... ...in YOUR opinion.
...in YOUR opinion.
Well its obvious that if i write it its in my opinion....
Mr Ripper
25 Dec 2001, 21:33
You're expressing it as if it's undeniable fact, though.
Not denying any of there number 1's or oodles of fans but there music is terrible... Just insert an "I reckon" between the "but" and the "there" (sic) and it's problem solved.
You're expressing it as if it's undeniable fact, though.
Just insert an "I reckon" between the "but" and the "there" (sic) and it's problem solved.
LOL will take that on board...
ABBA has given scores of people worldwide a laugh when they were on the charts and a good nostalgic vibe (like old people love the soppy WWII tunes) since then so what's the beef?
I think Australia loves them more than any other country. This has been reflected in conversations about peoples' favorite songs where ABBA is always mentioned here and not to my experience in Europe and US. (maybe UK)
Also Aussie films use their music a lot.
When we first moved here we went to a club where they had a great band playing but we were the only couple on the dance floor. Then during the break the recorded music came on and everyone was bopping to the :eek: Monkees and :confused: ABBA! :D :D
Grow up? What type of comment is that supposed to be? You don't even know me! Besides, juding by the consensus on here, it's you who has a problem with maturity. I mean, you've shown the objectivity of a firing squad, and the reasoning abilities of a train on a one-way track. Very skilled, I'm sure.
Firstly, I'm older than you, and as far as I'm concerned, I could quite easily reply with the comment that you should "get a decent education", as judging by your comments, you don't seem to have much of a grasp on the fact that other people have different opinions to you.
Anyway, you claim to be having a laugh, well, what makes you so sure where not all having a reciprocated laugh at your expense, laughing boy? Didn't you pick up on the joke? Someone, please show the boy a mirror and a couple of quick smacks in the face.
Didn't you pick up on the joke? Someone, please show the boy a mirror and a couple of quick smacks in the face.
Another reason why you should grow up, you have resulted to violence now....very mature :rolleyes:
Haven't you heard that saying? Pfft! It was hardly serious, and the fact that you took it seriously shows just how over-sensitve you are! I mean, you can't handle it when someone has a difference of opinion to yourself and go off in a hissy fit!!! :o
You obviously didn't even understand what I just said! You seem to think, you are having a joke around on here with flippant responses, and that everyone else is entirely taking things too seriously in their responses. In reality, I'd say, that pretty much every reply to your crap on the 'music' board is entirely of piss-taking nature, although, you don't seem to see it . . .
Besides, how can someone "result" to violence? I think the word you are looking for is "resort". You don't really have a good grasp of the English language, now, do you?
At any rate, it was obvious that the saying was used in a tongue in cheek manner. I can't believe you actually took it seriously.
You really have a problem, don't you? Tell you what, if you find 20c on the ground, how about purchasing some perspective and humility. It'll at least be 20 times more than the amount you already have.
Firstly, you could start by at least acknowledging that others have a valid point of view, rather than merely denigrating them with your flippant "know-it-all" remarks. You seem to think that your actions aren't offensive, well, wake up and realise that your type of contributions to a discussion, are NOT conducive to one which lends itself to objectivity, friendliness, reasoning and respect for others views. I mean, you continually pose your views as being some type of upheld "fact" or "common knowledge". If you have any objectivity in your head at all, you will surely realise that people of all persuasions have different views, and the way you laud your views as being somehow more "correct" than that of others, is an insult to the intelligence of the others who contribute to a discussion.
Anyway budgie-nuts, what would you know of maturity? Considering your distinct show of disdain towards others, and your inability to treat others with differing opinions to yours with any respect, I'd say quite surely, that you are the one with a serious maturity problem. Besides, you don't see people on here arguing with me, the way they do with you, now, do you? Wake up and smell the roses!
At any rate, I'm hardly likely to care whether you think I'm mature or not, considering your comments reek of someone posing themselves as being able to provide an intellectual apraisal, whereas, in reality, they come off sounding more like measly attempts from the perspective of an intellectual lightweight.
Waltzing Woof Biscuit
27 Dec 2001, 07:37
(in fact, at their height, they were Sweden's largest export earner).
Totally agree. I mean, Bjorn was only 5'10, and he was the tallest!!
My god Olmy...your writing a novel!! :D
I got the ABBA Gold Greatest Hits CD yesterday at HMV in the city.
Mr Ripper
7 Jan 2002, 12:45
What's your verdict, play on?
I love it. It has most of the songs that I love. Their is only one song that I love that was not on the CD. When I kissed the teacher. I think that is the name of the song anyway. But still, a great CD, made even better by the fact that I have not heard most of the songs on that CD for a number of years.
Mr Ripper
7 Jan 2002, 22:35
Read it and weep, joddy! :p :D ;)
From memory, play on, WIKTT is on the More Abba Gold CD.
Dippers Donuts
9 Jan 2002, 08:57
Was When I kissed the Teacher from the arrival album?
I seem to remember this song because as a tiddler my sister had the aforementioned album, thus the connection...
BTW, picked up the (no doubt paralleled import) tape of Abba gold the other day for $10 at my local servo!!
Love the sitar on "I have a dream", reminds me of Spinal Tap every time I hear it!
"Listen (aah) to what the Flower People say"