View Full Version : Mark Bolton to reach 100 games. Is he the worst ever?

Lord_Espos
21 Apr 2006, 10:28
He is likely to make this mark sometime this year. Seriously is he the worst ever to reach this mark and play for the Essendon.

I've got a stack of bombers mates (4 of them who I go to the footy with) and they almost cry when he plays....

One of the guys was actually happy that he got dropped/injured this week...

Longy413
21 Apr 2006, 12:16
He'd just edge out Paul Hamilton I reckon.

foj1
21 Apr 2006, 12:28
He'd just edge out Paul Hamilton I reckon.
Paul Hamilton is easily better than Bolton. Would you ever consider playing Bolton on Gary Ablett in a final? Didn't think so!:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Longy413
21 Apr 2006, 12:29
Paul Hamilton is easily better than Bolton. Would you ever consider playing Bolton on Gary Ablett in a final? Didn't think so!:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I wouldn't.

But would Kevin Sheedy?

foj1
21 Apr 2006, 12:37
I wouldn't.

But would Kevin Sheedy?
Fair Call- But I would hope not:)

Nectarine Surprise
21 Apr 2006, 16:09
There is no doubt that he is the worst player at Essendon to get near 100 games in my time (started following in late 70s). That was a very astute call from a Hawthorn Supporter.

As for the comparison to Paul Hamilton. That's a slur of the good name of Paul Hamilton. He would run rings around Bolton. In fact in a hypothetical one on one, Hamilton would gather from the impossible position when Bolton semmingly had the box seat, blind turn Bolton, then accelerate, have 3 to 4 bounces and drill a torpedo goal on the run that went through post high from 75 metres out.

Essendon will never be a finals side when Bolton gets regular games. And as for this view that he is an athlete and can do a job. What rubbish! Paula Ratcliffe, the British marathon runner, is also a good athlete, but I wouldn't want her playing on Adam Goodes. Bolton's so called "run-with" roles constitute him reducing a good player's outpout from 30 quality possessions to 28 quality posessions and maybe touching the ball himself 3 or 4 times.

He's probably a nice bloke, he wins all the pre-season beep test and runs around Princes Park but he is simply not a footballer. He reads the game terribly, only gets the ball when it falls in his hands, is soft at the contest, weak in applying tackles and worse than average overhead.

Sheedy has been great for the club and is a great coach but of all the things weird and wonderful things he's said and done over 26 years, his regular selection of Bolton baffles me more than anything else.

DaSawx
21 Apr 2006, 16:14
Was it a case of Sheedy hoping he'd get better because we wasted a 4th overall pick on him?

Lord_Espos
21 Apr 2006, 16:22
Thanks Nectarine....

You are pretty spot on. Did you notice on Sunday when he fortuitously got the ball he was not quite sure what to do but amazingly kicked a goal. He had a shocked look, like he was kind of surprised that he got it right.

He spent a lot of the game running into other peoples space and not really being quite sure of himself.

A mate of mine knows one of the Richmond scouts and he said that to this date people were surprised that Essendon drafted him so high (number 4 overall). This was in the day when Kouta (Carlton) was getting best on grounds. He was similar to Trent Croad who were considered athletes first.

So I think Essendon took a punt. The word at the time according to the scout was that at junior level Bolton was a bit soft. But as Nectarine said he dominates in the beep tests and stamina stuff.

Just look at American football where teams have learnt that physical specimens don't necessarily win you championships.... you need a football brain. I mean you'd surely take Lance Whitnal over Bolton any day...

:cool:

blumfieldisback
21 Apr 2006, 17:07
I just cant believe that we kept bolton isntead of danny jacobs, because at the time hawthorn were happy to take one or the other for pick 7 (bradley) as rumours suggest.

anyway the worst player to reach 100 games for us would have to be kevin Walsh, like bolton i am glad when he got injured and couldnt play.

Kevin always has is favourites and such as kevin Walsh, Dean Wallis, Henneman and Bolton. I think he has only got one of those right although Walsh made all australian once i think, must have been a bleak year for CHB.

the year that bolton went number 4 didnt luke power go number 7, trent croad went number 3 and he like bolton had excellent athletic ability we were just unfortunate to get a dud.

Brisbane Bombers
21 Apr 2006, 17:19
Tuesday, 25 April 2006

BACKS: Mark Bolton

Mark Bolton Mark Bolton

HALF BACKS: Mark Bolton

CENTRES: Mark Bolton Mark Bolton Mark Bolton

HALF FORWARDS: Mark Bolton
Mark Bolton Mark Bolton

FORWARDS: Mark Bolton

RUCKS: Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton
INTERCHANGE: Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton
IN:
OUT:

we rate him highly at bomberland.com

windyhill
21 Apr 2006, 17:24
Paul Hamilton, did some good jobs for us. Mark Bolton has addled my brain.

The Doctor 46
21 Apr 2006, 19:02
Tuesday, 25 April 2006

BACKS: Mark Bolton

Mark Bolton Mark Bolton

HALF BACKS: Mark Bolton

CENTRES: Mark Bolton Mark Bolton Mark Bolton

HALF FORWARDS: Mark Bolton
Mark Bolton Mark Bolton

FORWARDS: Mark Bolton

RUCKS: Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton
INTERCHANGE: Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton, Mark Bolton
IN:
OUT:

we rate him highly at bomberland.com

Yeah I got that. What a nightmare :D

Longy413
22 Apr 2006, 12:59
I just cant believe that we kept bolton isntead of danny jacobs, because at the time hawthorn were happy to take one or the other for pick 7 (bradley) as rumours suggest.

That's not true.

They were both put up, Hawthorn were only going to take Jacobs if pick 6 was to come to us.