B: Jacobs Dawson Sewell
HB: Guerra Roughead Smith
C: Young Mitchell Bateman
HF: Ladson Croad Crawford
F: Dixon Williams Brown
R: Everitt Vandenberg Hodge
INT: Campbell Osborne Clarke Lewis
EMG: Ries Birchall Boyle
My tip, Hawks by 27. Too strong in the midfield, and Fevola being out does the Blues no good.
iluvparis
21 Apr 2006, 20:07
HF: Fisher Deluca Murphy
F: Betts Koutoufides McLaren
Three absolute forward-line superstars there.;) Without Fev or Waite I can't see us winning but hopefully we can keep it competitive. Hawks by a few goals with both sides scoring less than 100.
We just don't have the midfield to run with them and we don't have a forward line to speak so I can see this being a reasonably big loss to us. Hawks by 30-50 points.
I expect it to be tight early....don't want to jinx it...but Carlton MUST watch Hawthorn for the entire 3rd quarter (they tore both Fremantle and Geelong to shreds in the 3rd quarter!)
Hawthorn has a fantastic midfield group; probably in the top 2-3 in the league, if the forwards hold onto the pile...Hawks should top the ton and win by 8-9 goals....but my worry is Carlton on the rebound, bringing the ball quickly into our undersized forward line.
I'd tip Hawthorn 4 out of 5 days in this clash...but to avoid jinxing the result I'll tip Carlton by 12 points...
Against popular belief....once Hawthorn get momentum they are one of the more attacking teams in the league...they just need to string a goal or 2 together.
Danger game for Hawthorn, who could be pipped if they under estimate Carlton, I just have a funny feeling we could be a bit flat tonight...
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 20:33
No change to either line-up.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 20:50
CARL: 1.0.(6)
HAW: 0.1.(1)
Croad misses shot at goal.
Fisher goals. 3:40
cbreban
21 Apr 2006, 20:51
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 20:54
CARL: 1.1.(7)
HAW: 1.1.(7)
Betts misses.
Croad marks inside 50. Shocker, boundary throw-in off hands.
Ladson goals.
Goal to the Hawks..
Terrible start by the Hawks!
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 20:57
CARL: 1.2.(8)
HAW: 2.1.(13)
Bateman rushes behind.
Croad receives 50m penalty for Walker stepping over the mark. Goals directly in front, 9 mins in.
My radio must be on delay....NIRS sucks....turn up the crowd noise and umpires whistle!
Alex_au
21 Apr 2006, 21:00
It sucks how the free to air tv coverage starts an hour late :(
Alex_au
21 Apr 2006, 21:01
So is Crawford playing ? and if not who took his place?
Rhombus
21 Apr 2006, 21:02
Ugly, ugly teams!
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:04
HAW: 3.1.(19)
Terrible checking by Blues, Bateman receives chip pass in forward 50. Goals.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:04
HAW: 4.1.(25)
Croad goals.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:08
CARL: 2.2.(14)
HAW: 4.1.(25)
O'hAilpin lines up from 45m. Out on the full.
Holding the ball against Hawks in Carlton goalsquare. Koutoufides lines up. Goals.
londontiger
21 Apr 2006, 21:09
Anyone got the afl.com stat link please?
http://livescores.afl.com.au/livestats-10160401.html
WaLkEr_ThE_StAr
21 Apr 2006, 21:11
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=championlivescores&gameid=10160401
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:12
CARL: 2.3.(15)
HAW: 4.2.(26)
Croad marks again, 8 touches, 2 goals; on fire. 30m out, tough angle. Misses. 22:46.
Dawson pinged in the backline. Walker misses.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:14
CARL: 2.3.(15)
HAW: 5.2.(32)
Brown finds Croad who has 6 marks, 9 touches. Goals number 3.
roostersgal4eva
21 Apr 2006, 21:15
Croad with 3 goals
Giving lance a bath atmo
btw who were the idiots that yelled when we had ths silence for anzac day :mad:
Hawthorn are playing very poorly even though they are 17 up...I'm disappointed!
Carlton 2.4 16
Hawthorn 5.2 32
ciaobella
21 Apr 2006, 21:16
Ugly Ugly game!
Well to be honest you are looking at two bottom eight sides playing. Hawthorn my have thrashed Geelong last week but Hawthorn really aren't that good! Geelong just had a BAD day. And Carlton, well, what can you say?
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:17
QTR TIME
CARL: 2.4.(16)
HAW: 5.2.(32)
Carrazzo shocker from 50m, misses.
Siren.
Hawthorn ARE NOT flooding, it's Carlton.
Hawthorn are a work in progress, give it 2-3 years and they will be a constant top 4 skillful side!
iluvparis
21 Apr 2006, 21:18
Croad with 3 goals
Giving lance a bath atmo
Hawthorn fans;)
ciaobella
21 Apr 2006, 21:19
...btw who were the idiots that yelled when we had ths silence for anzac day :mad:
You're always going to get some jerk/s who have got no respect for anyone - not even themselves.
Hawthorn fans;)
Mate not us :p
Essendon ;)
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:20
Shockingly disrespectful. :thumbsd:
On a side note, according to NIRS the ground is chockers.
Croad is having a day out!
Shockingly disrespectful. :thumbsd:
Agreed, but hey you get those people going to football matches. At the end of the day it's only a small % of people that cheer during the minutes silence, I always respect the diggers but football covers a massive demographical audience....that's the beauty of football..scum bags and people from the higher end of town standing side by side.
roostersgal4eva
21 Apr 2006, 21:24
You're always going to get some jerk/s who have got no respect for anyone - not even themselves.
no excuse :thumbsd::mad:
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:25
2ND QTR
Carl: 2.4. (16)
Haw: 6.2. (38)
Mitchell goals.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:28
2ND QTR
Carl: 2.5. (17)
Haw: 6.3. (39)
Behind to Hawks. Walker moved onto Croad, Whitnall down forward.
Umpires attempting to take over the game now.
Carrazzo from 45m, failed to make distance, Whitnall marks and misses.
This flood is ********ing me off!
Let the boys run!
ciaobella
21 Apr 2006, 21:30
no excuse :thumbsd::mad:
Definately not!! Just stating the obvious. Maybe these idiots should be sent to Gallipoli and be subject to the conditions the diggers did as punishment. If that doesn't teach them respect and I don't know what will!
iluvparis
Getting close to danger time for us now. Looks like we've stepped back into our old inaccurate kicking for goal habits of the last couple of seasons.
EDIT - LANCE!!!!!!!!!
metallichris
2ND QTR - 6 mins
Carl: 3.5. (23)
Mitchell shoved right into the glass wall of the bench, no free kick.
Lance from 70m bounces through a goal.
ciaobella
21 Apr 2006, 21:36
Those who are complaining about flooding and chipping around - give it a rest! Get used to it. What do you expect coaches to do when the ball is being bombarded into their back line? Give the opposition forwards plenty of room to move around??!!:confused:
It's up to the coaches to come up with tactics to stop the flooding and chipping around!
If a team floods then you're obviously taking far too long to get the ball down there and if a team is chipping around in the back line then man the hell up! Sounds pretty simple to me!!
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:38
2ND QTR - 14 mins
Carl: 4.5. (29)
Croad yet to touch the footy in this quarter.
Errors galore, ping-pong from 50m line to 50m line.
Stevens marks inside 50m. Goals from 30m.
Sideshow Fev
21 Apr 2006, 21:44
This is a training run!
10 point lead is really a training run?
Will be even more funnier when/if you lose. Tosser :)
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:46
2ND QTR - 21 mins
Carl: 4.6. (30)
Ugly scrum of a game. Hodge concedes.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:47
2ND QTR - 22 mins
Haw: 6.4. (40)
Croad keeps feet against Walker and misses.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 21:50
HALF-TIME
Haw: 6.4. (40)
Ugly, ugly game. Skill errors as far as the eye can see.
Lonie_from_50
21 Apr 2006, 21:52
Whose errors more notable Chris? Are the Hawks playing ******** football, or just not good football and the Blues can match them?
roostersgal4eva
21 Apr 2006, 21:54
Definately not!! Just stating the obvious. Maybe these idiots should be sent to Gallipoli and be subject to the conditions the diggers did as punishment. If that doesn't teach them respect and I don't know what will!
lol
i wouldnt be subjecting the diggers memory to those morons though
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:02
Whose errors more notable Chris? Are the Hawks playing ******** football, or just not good football and the Blues can match them?
From what I am hearing (Triple M coverage), it's more of the Hawks playing worse, with regular efficient kickers miskicking the ball like Crawford, can't remember some of the other offenders. But Carlton haven't been great either.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:13
3RD QTR
Haw: 7.4. (46)
Croad marks 60m out, goes to Williams on the lead, within 30 seconds. Williams 30m out in front, goals. Excellent play.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:15
3RD QTR
Haw: 7.5. (47)
Hawks winning a lot of the ball from the centre. Brown marks tough angle about 40m out. Hits the woodwork.
Ominous signs for the Hawks.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:18
3RD QTR - 6 mins
Haw: 8.5. (53)
Crawf getting a lot of the pill but misusing it.
Hodge bullet pass to Everitt on the lead, 40m out, 45 degree angle. Goals.
Hawks looking like they'll blow this game right open.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:22
3RD QTR - 10 mins
Carl: 4.8. (32)
Haw: 8.5. (53)
Carrazzo 35m out tough angle. Misses.
Fisher marks, 45m out, slight angle. Misses too. Wasting opportunities.
Crawf 22 touches, not all of them quality, though.
iluvparis
21 Apr 2006, 22:24
I expect it to be tight early....don't want to jinx it...but Carlton MUST watch Hawthorn for the entire 3rd quarter (they tore both Fremantle and Geelong to shreds in the 3rd quarter!)
Perhaps the Brits could have used you in the pre-planning stage 90 years ago. Very prophetic so far.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:26
3RD QTR - 14 mins
Carl: 5.9. (39)
Haw: 8.6. (54)
Russell misses. Wasting, wasting, wasting.
Umpires riling up the Triple M commentators.
Brown marks 35m out, tough angle. Misses.
Kouta marks from Carrazzo miskick, 20m out, tightish angle. Get's his second.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:28
3RD QTR - 16 mins
Haw: 9.6. (60)
Croad snares another, his fourth. 16 touches, 10 marks.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:30
3RD QTR - 18 mins
Haw: 10.6. (66)
Williams marks 45m out, 55 degree angle. Passes to Osborne, 30m out, 45 degree angle. Goals.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:32
3RD QTR - 20 mins
Carl: 6.9. (45)
Lance marks in goalsquare, coming off with the blood rule. Betts to take the kick. Goals.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:38
3RD QTR - 26 mins
Carl: 6.12. (48)
Fisher marks inside 50, tight angle. Misses to the right.
Rushed through by the Hawks. Whitnall back on. Hodge, right ankle worries.
Whitnall misses from just inside 50.
MrAaron
21 Apr 2006, 22:39
Sorry to say but tonight the Blues are hopeless. If teh hawks were playing any decent team tonight they would be down by 5-7 goals by now easily. Very poor effort tonight.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:43
3-QTR TIME
Carl: 6.13. (49)
Lance marked inside 50 after the siren, not paid. Blues coming hard, peppering the goals. Sets up a nice last quarter.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:53
4TH QTR - 3 mins
Carl: 6.14. (50)
Haw: 11.6. (72)
Mitchell concedes.
Willaims goals, 40m out directly in front. Third goal.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 22:57
4TH QTR - 7 mins
Haw: 12.6. (78)
Mitchell to kick for goal. Goals.
iluvparis
21 Apr 2006, 22:57
6.14 indoors is absolutely disgraceful kicking and doesn't deserve to win the match.
GAME OVER
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:00
4TH QTR - 9 mins
Haw: 13.6. (84)
Osborne swoops on the footy, goals.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:02
4TH QTR - 11 mins
Carl: 7.14. (56)
Haw: 13.6. (84)
Whitnall paid a mark inside 50m. Goals 25m out, right in front.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:04
4TH QTR - 13 mins
Haw: 14.6. (90)
Croad pumps through his fifth. Game is gawn.
Hawthorn are in the 4 baby!
Disappointing display..but a sign of a good team is a team that can win when playing poorly!
Carlton are destined to the bottom 4!
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:09
4TH QTR - 20 mins
Haw: 14.9. (93)
Crawf snaps and hit the post.
Two behinds to Hawks.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:12
4TH QTR - 22 mins
Haw: 15.9. (99)
32 touches to Crawf, half of them useless.
Clarke goals.
Crowd: 45, 102.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:13
4TH QTR - 23 mins
Carl: 8.14. (62)
Haw: 15.9. (99)
Whitnall marks from Bentick clearance, 45m out, 45 degree angle. Drills it for his third.
Crawf's been great tonight
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:18
4TH QTR - 27 mins
Carl: 9.14. (68)
Haw: 15.10. (100)
Behind to Roughead.
Stevens goals.
Anyone listening to MMM.
Didn't Sam Newman get in trouble for this last year...
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:20
FULL TIME
Carl: 9.14. (68)
Haw: 15.10. (100)
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:21
Crawf's been great tonight
Got a lot of the pill but didn't use it efficiently at all really.
I don't really believe in that, he was everywhere all night.
Good link player, if you work hard you get those important linking possesions.
And he rarely turns it over.
BOG for mine.
Corrosion
21 Apr 2006, 23:34
I must say I'm really disappointed with our effort tonight. Not having Fevola or Waite is no excuse. When you go into Three Quarter Time at 6.13.49 you're not going to win. Too many costly errors by the boys tonight. Didn't take advantage of the scoring opportunities, as their was some horrendous kicking. We should've been closer, but yet again, our accuracy has let us down.
Full credit to the Hawks though. They played the better footy on the night, and converted the majority of their chances, something we weren't able to do. Congratulations Hawks.
iluvparis
21 Apr 2006, 23:45
Up to 3/4 time on TV and I have to say this is an awful game to watch. Hawks have been bad and we have been worse. Just mistake, after mistake, after mistake.
Hawthorn have a great start going to the season, 3-1 now, but can't see them holding a spot in the 8 for 22 rounds.
metallichris
21 Apr 2006, 23:57
And he rarely turns it over.
Did a lot tonight.