View Full Version : Round 4 Melbourne VS Sydney
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 14:32
Swans up by a goal, resulting from a disastrous umpiring effort.
Should have been in the back to Whelan, then should have been too high on Miller, instead they paid a free to Hall.
Disgusting.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 14:35
melbourne hit the lead by a point, Yze not shown any respect by Roberts-Thompson - this matchup could hurt the swans if htey don't do soemthing soon.
Brock McLean is dominating the clearances, Bruce and Rivers playing well also.
Neitz injured again.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 14:43
Freekick to McDonald, Robbo marks on the lead.
Yze gets pinged for sometihngm who bloody knows. Melbourne playing a very small forwardline.
Rivers spoils again.
Mate just dropped around to get his car, had a dart and a yarn, scores now 20-20
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 14:44
Another bs fre kick to sydney results in a goal to Hall.
Bombers_Forever
23 Apr 2006, 14:46
Get used to it rick....the Swans milk every free they can and usually get it.
Adelaide Hawk
23 Apr 2006, 14:49
Ted Richards. Any player 30 metres out straight in front who can't even score should give the game away. Pathetic effort.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 14:58
Bruce goals, Demons hit the lead. Great kick.
Pickett runs it out ofhte middle, hits Yze on the chest. Yze should play forward every game.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 14:59
Yze goals. rJ's comment vindicated.
Bombers_Forever
23 Apr 2006, 15:05
Ted Richards. Any player 30 metres out straight in front who can't even score should give the game away. Pathetic effort.
That is why Sheedy never put him in attack and put him in defence with us.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:12
Neitz goals. Should have been paid a mark, but we'll take the dodgy free instead.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:15
swans goal, lead by 1 point.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:20
swans still up by a point, have all the momentum though.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:26
Big Paul Johnson is robbed for a free, but goals anyway in a show of defiance against this terrible umpiring.
Half Time score:
Melbourne 47
Sydney 42
Best so far for Melbourne: Pickett, Bruce, Rivers, McLean
Best for Sydney: none of them have really shown anything, Hall has been ok I guess
melbournemartin
23 Apr 2006, 15:28
Paul Johnson kicks great goal on the Siren. Dees by 5 at half time.
Does anyone else reckon that should have been 50 according to the new rules? He took a dive yes but the contact was there.
Melbournes best so far:
Pickett (Doesn't seem to have an opponent, just running through the middle doing what he likes)
McLean (On his first quarter preformance alone)
Whelan (Doing a lot of good things down in defence, Davis only has a point to his name)
I get the feeling that Hall could explode at any second but he has been well held so far (from limited oppertunities though)
He has 2 goals but both from free kicks and one was a bit dodgey (Miller holding the ball)
Should be a ripper of a second half. I'm tipping it to be neck and neck until 5 minutes to go until 1 of the teams just breaks off and wins by about 2-4 goals. Which team, I don't know.
Neitz injury looks bad though. Could be really costly since we are playing the Roos next week and he should have been able to do well on Hay.
Matching Mole
23 Apr 2006, 15:34
Jesus, is the Gameday page or the Unjustified Melbourne Whinge Board. There's been some dodgy decisions both ways - like your Cap getting a free kick for someone having the temerity to mark it over his head. Weak.
Great game by the way. Big improvement from the Swannies this week, and some pleasing run off the backline - FINALLY. Tiger backs helps.
As said above, should be a great second half.
Just heard McLean may be injured, not sure of the details though :(
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:36
Jesus, is the Gameday page or the Unjustified Melbourne Whinge Board. There's been some dodgy decisions both ways - like your Cap getting a free kick for someone having the temerity to mark it over his head. Weak.
Great game by the way. Big improvement from the Swannies this week, and some pleasing run off the backline - FINALLY. Tiger backs helps.
As said above, should be a great second half.
You referring to the mark where Neitz took a grab, then copped a leg in the back?
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:37
Just heard McLean may be injured, not sure of the details though :(
ah that sucks, he was dominating the middle in the first quarter.
Matching Mole
23 Apr 2006, 15:40
You referring to the mark where Neitz took a grab, then copped a leg in the back?
It was half a mark from Neitz, and an honest attempt from Leo. No penalty.
Sucks to see Neitz injured though.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:48
So you were lying when you said this:
"free kick for someone having the temerity to mark it over his head"
As noone else even touched the ball.
TheMase
23 Apr 2006, 15:49
Yze gets pinged for sometihngm who bloody knows. Melbourne playing a very small forwardline.
Sheparding out of a marking contest .. definitely the right decision.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:51
big Paul Johnson kicks his second.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:52
Davey kicks a ripper, made up for the one he was robbed of last week :)
Teddy waaaaay too worried about the shepherd then.
GoSydneySwans
23 Apr 2006, 15:54
Get used to it rick....the Swans milk every free they can and usually get it.
I strongly doubt you could be any further off the mark there.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:54
I strongly doubt you could be any further off the mark there.
Disagree. Your team is a disgrace.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:56
Johnstone gets paid a well earned free. Game seems to have gone up a notch in intensity.
Inconsistent umpiring - non call on Carrol
Adelaide Hawk
23 Apr 2006, 15:57
Melbourne leads by 23.
I know it's early, but I honestly feel if Melbourne gets the next goal this game is over.
Matthews gets a cheap free.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 15:59
Inconsistent umpiring - non call on Carrol
No it's consistent, consistently crap. Barry got away with the same tihng about 30 seconds after Carrol did.
Adelaide Hawk
23 Apr 2006, 16:00
Chambers gets his first kick in AFL football. It only took 4 matches to do it :)
Is this Paul Johnsons best game ever?
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:01
Is this Paul Johnsons best game ever?
It's only his 11th game ever. But yes, it is.
Paul Johnson injured, not sure how bad, only one fit man left on the bench :(
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:04
Good to see him running into an empty forwardline, gotta luuuuurrrrve that flood.
Bombers_Forever
23 Apr 2006, 16:04
Pickett has been strong all game except for one bump. Can the Dees keep up this intensity for the entire game?
66-50 to Melbourne. Swans coming back strongly
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:06
Swans goal, melbourne with 3 injured for the game.
6 minutes left in the 3rd, we could very well run out of puff. Sydney look to have lifted.
"Rides 3" on DVD - Dodo has cheap broadband
GoSydneySwans
Disagree. Your team is a disgrace.
The umpiring this match has been even, which is a nice change for us. If you look back at the post I quoted to start off with though, it was from a Bombers supporter. If you happened to catch the Bombers vs. Sydney game, particularly the first quarter, it was one of the worst umpiring efforts you'll see all year. We're continually getting the worst deal in the competition from the umpires, and have been for years. We almost got knocked out of the finals last year because we lost a game to West Coast that clearly should've been ours (resulted in an umpire being 'suspended' because the umpiring was so bad)
As I said, this game has been good and I'm not whinging about the umpires right now at all, but for anyone to say Sydney milk the umpires, in particular an Essendon fan who we have had numerous unfair encounters with, is definitely wrong.
rick James
Simon Godfrey...
Nathan Brown runs half a kilometre without bouncing.
So does LRT
Davis = Hammy
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:10
melbourne chipping around the backline.
Malch............Malkov..................Malshe............. ...
goals!!
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:16
Melbourne lead by 2 points at 3 quarter time, one on the bench, we're probably screwed.
66 - 64 Dees in front.
Seesawing affair - war of attrition
This last quarter promising to be a ring-a-ding-dinga..
I'm having one of those "Can't stop eating" days.
melbournemartin
23 Apr 2006, 16:19
Going to be hard with no Neitz to stand up and kick a few at FF. I was about to say that PJ has done well in filling in for Neitz as he has kicked 2 but he is gone too :(
Our engine room will be hurt by McLean's absense.
Pickett is playing a supurb game, best on ground by a country mile. Miller is playing very well on Hall but Hall is such a great player that at any time he could suddenly pile on 3-4 goals in a quarter.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:22
66 - 64 Dees in front.
Seesawing affair - war of attrition
This last quarter promising to be a ring-a-ding-dinga..
I'm having one of those "Can't stop eating" days.
Yeah I'm having one of those 'contemplating my existence' days. I did some sleep walking last night, ended up cutting my finger somehow. Stupid Brain.
Yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!! !
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:24
Yze had no right to kick that goal. Disgusting.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:25
Camera looks at the crowd in Sydney, some fat kid with glasses carrying a big stick - and he doesn't look like he's all there in the head either. Demons might do well to drop this one lest Mongo goes on a rampage.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:26
Yze falls over for no apparent reason and coughs it up. Wierd.
Schneider lines up - looks like Melbourne sent the runner out re: Mongo
1 point the diff
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:28
damn those swans.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:29
Go dees
Jeff White - Goal!!!!!!! Dees by 7
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:30
White goals from outside 50, thanks to Davey's defensive pressure. Dees by 7.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:31
yze marks ont eh boundary about 30 metres out, across the face, robbo collects, then somehow Davey takes a mark above 3 swans defenders in the goalsquare.
Strange game.
TheMase
23 Apr 2006, 16:32
yze marks ont eh boundary about 30 metres out, across the face, robbo collects, then somehow Davey takes a mark above 3 swans defenders in the goalsquare.
Strange game.
Took one of those Swans out of the contest to enable him to do that :mad:
Great defense Swanees - Davey goals - Dees by 13
For a match between two boring sides that I couldn't give a crap about, this ones turning out alright.
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabbleeeeeeeeeeeet
Dees by 7
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:34
swans goal
Soft free
Poor tackling - Robbo goals - Dees by 13
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:35
Sure was, should have been 50 though
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:36
Robbo goals, mongo can NOT be spotted. Repeat: Mongo has dissappeared.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:37
Looks like Davey busted his wrist. Rad.
looking like to be the first win for melbourne :)
Looks like Davey busted his wrist. Rad.
One of those days :mad:
Davey off with a wrist - Hall drops an easy one.
Free to Buchanan - it was there too..
Bazza marks............and goals
Swans will not lie down
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:41
Davey back on now. I'm gunna kill something if we lose this.
Demons up by a goal.
Brett Kirk misses a la Richie Vandenberg
In fact they may be the same person...
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:44
Whelan brilliantly trips McVeigh. Demons still holding on.
Rushed behind - 5 points in it.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:46
I am crappin myself.
I bet you are - shocking free to Robbo - off hands - 6 points
50 metres!!!!!!!
Rick James seen slinging the rope over the beam
Scores are level.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:47
Barry pushes Robbo, debatable. Very debatable, Mongo is losing it right now.
Robbo kicks a behind, back to a goal difference.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:49
Schneider goals, all tied up.
The umpires really want to influence the result by the look of it. Not in particular favour to either team, just probably want to get their names in the paper.
That was a f'ing joke of a call.
Schneider goals, all equal.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:51
after watching ther replay of that rivers call, I'm f'ing flabbergasted.
Bombers_Forever
23 Apr 2006, 16:51
That free against Barry was a joke and the one against Rivers was the square up.
TheMase
23 Apr 2006, 16:52
after watching ther replay of that rivers call, I'm f'ing flabbergasted.
Rule is you have to throw the ball back DIRECTLY to the player. He was a metre away and thus it was an obvious attempt to waste time and certainly not directly to the player.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:53
That free against Barry was a joke and the one against Rivers was the square up.
that's the only explanation I can think of.
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:54
Rule is you have to throw the ball back DIRECTLY to the player. He was a metre away and thus it was an obvious attempt to waste time and certainly not directly to the player.
It was directly too him, the rule doesn';t state at what height you have to throw it. schneider could easily have grabbed it.
BBBBBBBrrrrrrrrrrrrrruuuuuuuuuuucccccccccccccccceeeeeeeeeeee e!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:55
Johnstone!!! Bruce!!!!!! Goaaaaaaaal
weagles_fan
23 Apr 2006, 16:55
Go Demons!!!!suck ******** Swans You Tiny Field Using Cheats
Malch.....Malsh.............Mal...........misses
Congratulations Dees - Mongo on the loose - rJ off suicide watch
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:57
MALCHESKI SUCKS!!!!! hahahahahaahhahaha
GOLD GOLD GOLD GOLD GOLD!!!!! GO DEEEEEEEEZZZZZ
Go Demons!!!!suck ******** Swans You Tiny Field Using Cheats
Mmmm. Still some issues from 2005 maybe?? Get over it. :)
Great win considering the circumstances!!
TheMase
23 Apr 2006, 16:57
It was directly too him, the rule doesn';t state at what height you have to throw it. schneider could easily have grabbed it.
Directly to him is directly to him. Last time i checked schneider is quite small and his body does not extend over his head.
It was stupid move by Rivers nothing more nothing less.
Congrats on the win.
what a game :thumbsu: good job dees
rick James
23 Apr 2006, 16:58
Directly to him is directly to him. Last time i checked schneider is quite small and his body does not extend over his head.
It was stupid move by Rivers nothing more nothing less.
Congrats on the win.
It was a terrible call. A terrible terrible call that luckily we were able to overcome.
Lynch drops a mark
23 Apr 2006, 16:58
Demons :mad:
whats with the swans, another slow start to the year
TheMase
23 Apr 2006, 16:59
It was a terrible call. A terrible terrible call that luckily we were able to overcome.
You are wrong.
Bombers_Forever
Great game by both teams- gutsy from the Dees without injured players on the bench. A thriller of a game- you can't criticise either team for that effort
rick James
You are wrong.
Nah, actually I'm right, and my team won too. So that's two things that make me > you.