View Full Version : Changes for R5 vs Brisbane
Gunnar Longshanks
23 Apr 2006, 17:58
IN: Cousins, Hansen
OUT: Waters, Rosa
The young guys have had their run. Back to the WAFL for a spell.
I wouldn't bring back Cuzz or Hansen.
Give them both a good rest because in reality the boys should beat brisbane comfortably without them.
I know we shouldn't get ahead of ourselves but we should win by 40+ without too much fuss.
sdb4884
23 Apr 2006, 18:11
No, no, no. Why does everyone think that Waters deserves to be dropped after every match, and Rosa too?
I think its worth resting Cousins for the Lions match :thumbsu: and well Hansen, we dont really need him at the moment. Next week: NO CHANGE.
Gunnar Longshanks
23 Apr 2006, 18:16
I think its worth resting Cousins for the Lions match :thumbsu: and well Hansen, we dont really need him at the moment. Next week: NO CHANGE.If they're both fit, they should both come in.
We missed them both today. Not sure how you figure that we "don't need" Hansen. It's not as though our other key forwards have been dominant.
If both are right, we should bring them both back.
sdb4884
23 Apr 2006, 18:20
Staker, Lynch, Graham, Hunter, Seaby are good enough for me at the moment. Let Hansen kick a bag at WAFL level then maybe we can find a spot for him. I think it would be a huge risk to bring back Ben, but if he is 100% well we may have to squeeze one out.
Gunnar Longshanks
23 Apr 2006, 18:26
Staker, Lynch, Graham, Hunter, Seaby are good enough for me at the moment. Let Hansen kick a bag at WAFL level then maybe we can find a spot for him. I think it would be a huge risk to bring back Ben, but if he is 100% well we may have to squeeze one out.Hunter is a pinch-hitter.
He's not a permanent forward.
How many goals have the other 4 kicked in past two matches?
Hansen remains our first-choice CHF. Period.
Black JuJu
23 Apr 2006, 18:46
haha talk of resting Benny.
Still under rated..stunning....
Surely today proves how vital the man is?
Gunnar Longshanks
23 Apr 2006, 18:50
haha talk of resting Benny.
Still under rated..stunning....
Surely today proves how vital the man is?Exactly.
I don't think it's any coincidence that Fletcher, Kerr and Embley failed to have their usual impact in Cousins' absence.
Obviously if Cousins is less than 100% then we shouldn't play him. But if he's ready to go, there's no point keeping him on the sidelines.
theorangeapple
23 Apr 2006, 18:51
I wouldnt be suprised if Cousins missed again.
Hansen should return.
My guess is:
IN: Hansen
OUT: B. Jones.
Surely Sampi gets dropped, 0 possessions ffs, he was a embarassment today. Cuzz shud play, resting him another week is pointlesss
IN: Cousins Hansen
OUT B Jones Sampi
daddy_4_eyes
23 Apr 2006, 19:00
Lets not get complacent and rest Cousins for the sake of it. Brisbane has more than enough champion players to cause us a headache if they get their act together.
RoSa..RoX..4..eVa.S2
23 Apr 2006, 19:02
I think Hansen's had a good couple of weeks rest and should come back in but it might be better to rest cousins for one more week just to be sure.
sinepari
23 Apr 2006, 19:05
Rosa should keep his spot, I thought his disposal was great today.
B.Jones will be dropped I think. Probably for cousins.
Hansen, another week.
let Hansen gain some match fitness in the WAFL since none of our talls deserve to be dropped.
IN: Cousins
OUT: Waters
while I like his toughness, some of his disposal is suspect and he is probably closest to being dropped out of the 22 so let him go for Cuz, assuming his right.
Vic Eagles Member
23 Apr 2006, 20:12
If they're both fit, they should both come in.
We missed them both today. Not sure how you figure that we "don't need" Hansen. It's not as though our other key forwards have been dominant.
Correct.
Clearly a good poster here, I've agreed with pretty much everything you've put down here.
sdb4884
23 Apr 2006, 21:07
Correct.
Clearly a good poster here, I've agreed with pretty much everything you've put down here.
meh, why tinker with a winning lineup bar Cousins.
If Hansen and Cousins are fit, bring them back. Cuz should return, probably in place of Rosa. I am in favour of Waters staying in the team though, even if he doesn't rack up heaps of possesions he plays good physical footy, which is good for us to have.
Gunnar Longshanks
23 Apr 2006, 21:36
meh, why tinker with a winning lineup bar Cousins.
Because the addition of Hansen will make a winning side better.
Black JuJu
23 Apr 2006, 22:30
Correct.
I can't believe you bothered to create another alias Gunnar, everyone already knows you're tops! ;)
Gunnar Longshanks
23 Apr 2006, 22:58
I can't believe you bothered to create another alias Gunnar...If that were the case, I wouldn't create an alias who also supported WC. What would be the point in that?
Black JuJu
23 Apr 2006, 23:02
ahh the old double bluff eh.
yeah no doubt, you'd never make your other alias an Eagles fan, no way!
I read you loud and clear! ;) ;) ;) :thumbsu:
In : Cousins and Hansen (If they are ready)
Out : Bones and Waters
Special Agent
24 Apr 2006, 00:13
In : Cousins and Hansen (If they are ready)
Out : Bones and Waters
No way both Bones and Waters will be dropped.
Gunnar Longshanks
24 Apr 2006, 00:46
ahh the old double bluff eh.
yeah no doubt, you'd never make your other alias an Eagles fan, no way!
I read you loud and clear! ;) ;) ;) :thumbsu:The problem is that my "alias" joined BigFooty before I did.
Doesn't that throw a spanner in the works for your theory?
Black JuJu
24 Apr 2006, 01:05
The problem is that my "alias" joined BigFooty before I did.
Doesn't that throw a spanner in the works for your theory?
I just assumed it was some kind of elaborately planned self congratulation scheme.
Don't worry, your secret is safe with me "Gunnar Longshanks", IF that is your real name. ;)
What game of footy was I watching today, I thought Rosa was one of our best. Drop him and destroy the kids confidence.......You idiot!!!!!!!!!
and Waters, well his whoosh'a love child so you have buckleys and none of him getting dropped.
Bestbird
24 Apr 2006, 02:29
Will be an interesting selection this week
Cousin and Hansen very good chances of being inclusions but none really deserve to be dropped
Out of B Jones, Waters or Rosa.
Don't think Hurn is to far away either, looking a cut above the WAFL already and with Banfield also set to return things are looking great depth wise.
Eagles 4 Mine
24 Apr 2006, 10:38
Isn't it amazing so many poeple jump on Waters/Rosa to be dropped at least they touch the footy what about SAMPI he did nothing you can't reward someone for doing nothing.
I find it bloody funny how poeple seem to look over that fact if you drop anyone it should be your worst player it's not like Sampi has only had one or two bad games he has had a few.(not only this season):confused:
Cousins can play as a resting forward a rotate with any of the midfielders guarantee he will always be in the game.
imonebadddman
24 Apr 2006, 11:42
I wouldnt be suprised if Cousins missed again.
Hansen should return.
My guess is:
IN: Hansen
OUT: B. Jones.
I agree. No need to rush Cousins and risk him doing his hammy and being out for 3 more weeks
hawkeye23
24 Apr 2006, 12:01
If they're both fit, they should both come in.
Gunnar, I don't know what game you were watching, but from where I sat at the ground in Canberra, having Graham down back freed Hunter to go forward (4 goals was the outcome of this, I believe), leaving Lynch to push up the ground.
Waters and Rosa can both benefit from playing Brisbane. I'd sooner drop Sampi than Rosa.... not one possie for Samps, from memory. How much longer do we persist with him? Bones was ordinary once again as well.
peterss
24 Apr 2006, 12:53
IN: Cousins
OUT: Bones
Give Hansen another week and on Sampi yesterday was his only bad game for the season...He will stay in
nameless
24 Apr 2006, 12:58
Is leppitsch back? would be a good test for hansen to play on him, even if leppa isnt at his prime he's still very good.There is no way cousins would be "rested", if hes right, he'll play.
Hard to know who to take out. I think when banners comes back waters might play up forward, which could mean sampi gets dropped. If you had to drop two players, it would be b jones and sampi.
Graham was awesome down back, freed up hunter who just keep taking marks, amazing reader of the ball.
peterss
24 Apr 2006, 14:21
Pretty sure Leppitsch isnt playing this week as hes still serving his suspension.
imright
24 Apr 2006, 14:22
If Cousins is fit; a midfielder for a midfielder.
In: Cousins Out: Fletcher
Controversial maybe, but IMO Fletcher has been the least effective of the midfielders. Has been OK statistically but not up to his usual standard and hasn't really hurt the opposition. A week or 2 in the WAFL would put him in good stead.
Rosa and Waters are developing nicely. Sampi will bounce back, he should have been rotated through the midfield to shake the tag. Bones was solid, adds flexibility and deserves another go.
Gunnar Longshanks
24 Apr 2006, 17:49
Isn't it amazing so many poeple jump on Waters/Rosa to be dropped at least they touch the footy what about SAMPI he did nothing you can't reward someone for doing nothing.No-one's "jumping on" Rosa and Waters.
We've got a lot of depth, and these young guys aren't automatic selections. It's possible to advocate moving these guys back to the WAFL for a spell without saying "they're duds - drop them".
Sampi had a bad game. No doubt about that. But he's still our best specialist small forward, so he'll be retained.
sydney eagle
25 Apr 2006, 14:36
Only bring back Hansen if we are SURE that he is fit to play. Cousins has to come back in if he is fit. He may not be captain any longer but he is still a leader and inspiration to his teammates ! Hansen MIGHT be able to come in for Lynch, or perhaps play one of them off the bench.
Sampi was terrible against us but I thought he was okay against Richmond and the Crows.
I thought Pratt played him really well and used his extra height and weight well against him, laid some pretty ferocious tackles on him early and didn't really give him a lot of room.
94_Eagles
25 Apr 2006, 15:59
I predict no changes this week. Give Cousins another week to get the hamstring right and Hansen will have to come back through the WAFL.
imright
25 Apr 2006, 16:00
Sampi was terrible against us but I thought he was okay against Richmond and the Crows.
I thought Pratt played him really well and used his extra height and weight well against him, laid some pretty ferocious tackles on him early and didn't really give him a lot of room.
The beauty of Sampi is that he only needs a few minutes to make an impact on a game plus he demands a decent defender as well. Pratt had him under lock and key for the whole game. JW should have given him a run on the ball to try and break the tag.
Sampi is another one of these players that have that X-factor about him.
otis_david
25 Apr 2006, 16:27
In: Cousins
Out: Bones
Rosa and Waters have both been playing well and don't deserve to be dropped. Sampi can be excused for a poor game, his man beat him one on one but he's still our most dangerous forward. Hansen should be eased back through the WAFL IMO.
Vic Eagles Member
25 Apr 2006, 19:59
Hansen remains our first-choice CHF. Period.
Correct.
If Cousins is fit; a midfielder for a midfielder.
In: Cousins Out: Fletcher
Controversial maybe, but IMO Fletcher has been the least effective of the midfielders. Has been OK statistically but not up to his usual standard and hasn't really hurt the opposition. A week or 2 in the WAFL would put him in good stead.
not controversial so much as silly. fletcher was BOG last week, 4th in our B+F last year, and AA the year before.
fletcher is one of our best, and a key part of our midfield.
hurn was peel's best in the wafl this week with 29 possies and a goal. last week he kicked 4 in the first quarter didnt he? surely hes due for a match.
imright
25 Apr 2006, 20:36
not controversial so much as silly. fletcher was BOG last week, 4th in our B+F last year, and AA the year before.
fletcher is one of our best, and a key part of our midfield.
Nah, can't agree with you on Fletcher being BOG against Richmond. Got lots of stats but thats whats happens when floods occur during games lots of marks and chipping around. Fletcher's general kicking at the moment leaves alot to be desired.
Fletcher still an important part of the midfield but if Cousins is to come in someone has to go out.
I suppose on form it would make more sense to give Sampi the boot because he had doughnut touches but I think his goal potential his worth keeping.
Maybe I'm just playing favourites. BTW it is controversial because you suggested it was silly.:p
Exactly.
I don't think it's any coincidence that Fletcher, Kerr and Embley failed to have their usual impact in Cousins' absence.
Obviously if Cousins is less than 100% then we shouldn't play him. But if he's ready to go, there's no point keeping him on the sidelines.
No doubt, our midfield was smashed without Cousins.
Cuz, Judd, Cox and Glass. The 4 most vital players in our side. If Cousins is 100% he will play, its as simple as that.
Fletcher wont be dropped. Dont be silly.
Cousins and Hansen will come straight back in if they are 100%. Both are vital to us. Hansen is our best key forward and Cousins is our best player period.
Who to drop? I dont know.
Sampi will keep his spot though, thats the life of a small forward. Kicks 3 in a quarter against Richmond last week to help us tear open a match winning lead, the next week he doesnt get a stat. The endevour was clearly there though so he will obviously keep his spot.
hurn was peel's best in the wafl this week with 29 possies and a goal. last week he kicked 4 in the first quarter didnt he? surely hes due for a match.
I haven't caught enough WAFL to see but do you reckon he is fit enough to play out 4 quaters at AFL level yet?
I can't see how he would be..
Give him longer in the WAFL but by next year he will be a regular :thumbsu:
Lynch drops a mark
26 Apr 2006, 15:14
I haven't caught enough WAFL to see but do you reckon he is fit enough to play out 4 quaters at AFL level yet?
I can't see how he would be..
Give him longer in the WAFL but by next year he will be a regular :thumbsu:
He would take the spot of Rosa or Waters, neither play full games either
imright
26 Apr 2006, 20:00
Fletcher wont be dropped. Dont be silly.
Cousins and Hansen will come straight back in if they are 100%. Both are vital to us. Hansen is our best key forward and Cousins is our best player period.
Who to drop? I dont know.
Sampi will keep his spot though, thats the life of a small forward. Kicks 3 in a quarter against Richmond last week to help us tear open a match winning lead, the next week he doesnt get a stat. The endevour was clearly there though so he will obviously keep his spot.
Yes you're right the reality is Fletcher won't be dropped. I suppose you can't have too many midfielders the way the game is played these days. I think poor old Bones will miss out again.
Lynch drops a mark
27 Apr 2006, 19:28
changes for R5
Out: Niko
In: HURN !!!
- SEN
changes for R5
Out: Niko
In: HURN !!!
- SEN
Bullplop, Nicoski injured??? surely he wasnt dropped
Milkman
27 Apr 2006, 19:39
Bullplop, Nicoski injured??? surely he wasnt dropped
Pulled up sore after last week.
great game last week guys..
not that we are stiff opposition this year!
now..is cousins going to get the nod to play this week?
94_Eagles
28 Apr 2006, 12:32
No gigs, he won't get a gig this week?
Geddit?
sydney eagle
28 Apr 2006, 13:13
After all the things that I read before the draft about Hurn I am looking forward to seing how he goes this week.