View Full Version : A Grade Match Reviews

Tribe
24 Apr 2006, 14:32
Can we get some match reviews from those who attended A Grade games?

There's plenty of us interstate or overseas who'd love to hear how it played out in Round 1.

Cheers

The Big Pineapple
24 Apr 2006, 14:38
Can we get some match reviews from those who attended A Grade games?

There's plenty of us interstate or overseas who'd love to hear how it played out in Round 1.

Cheers

Nuffy O'dwyer always gave an indepth match review of the A grade match he umpired each round last year. Hopefully he can shed some light???

Tribe
24 Apr 2006, 15:44
Maybe everyone's asleep or on holidays. I see OX had a 1 point win, what else occurred that warrants mentioning?

brian speaking
24 Apr 2006, 15:59
Maybe everyone's asleep or on holidays. I see OX had a 1 point win, what else occurred that warrants mentioning?
I think most punters on here are involved with B Grade.

Max Leader
24 Apr 2006, 16:12
Or associated with a losing A Grade team!!!!

aberdaberdo
24 Apr 2006, 17:10
Or associated with a losing A Grade team!!!!

Or perhaps like the vast majority of football lovers no one cares about amateur footy.

Moss Rocket
24 Apr 2006, 17:26
Or perhaps like the vast majority of football lovers no one cares about amateur footy.

It is amazing how many times you pop up on our forum, saying this type of thing! Obviously you care or you wouldn't frequent us with your abracadabra.

digger9
24 Apr 2006, 17:56
i heard my bernards played very well, ill be back next week ready to take them all on

Slay Master G
24 Apr 2006, 21:10

Or like the majority of small minded simpletons like you who live and breath the EDFL as they have no future in any other aspect of life.... Other than home job blonde tips, industrie polos, ear rings, tatoos and beating up your third wife, what else have you got?

brian speaking
24 Apr 2006, 21:16

Name me one paid mercenary who plays for the love of the jumper in your low life, two tiered, sniping, scumbag league.

Simpson. Homer
25 Apr 2006, 17:26
i heard my bernards played very well, ill be back next week ready to take them all on

Mate you gotta be kidding yourself if you thought that effort by Bernards was any good! It wasnt very convincing considering Old Ivanhoe were reduced to 20 men before half time due to injury both whom were their two main targets up forward in Toovey and Hope.

Simpson. Homer
25 Apr 2006, 17:31
Brian & Slay...

couldnt have said it any better myself! Proud to wear my clubs jumper for no money! Its all about the jumper!

sps88
25 Apr 2006, 22:31
i heard Damian "the kid" lynch was playing fullback in xaviers 2s on saturday

anybody know why

froggie6
26 Apr 2006, 09:22
Mate you gotta be kidding yourself if you thought that effort by Bernards was any good! It wasnt very convincing considering Old Ivanhoe were reduced to 20 men before half time due to injury both whom were their two main targets up forward in Toovey and Hope.

WRONG...

Toovey went off at about the 15 min mark of last quarter and Hope played most of the game....

Are you sure you were there. Bernards pretty much did it in a canter.

Simpson. Homer
26 Apr 2006, 09:32
WRONG...

Toovey went off at about the 15 min mark of last quarter and Hope played most of the game....

Are you sure you were there. Bernards pretty much did it in a canter.

WRONG? Don't think so champ... And yeah I was there... after shaming your 2nds into kickin 3.15 for the day I watched the whole game...

Toovey went off half way through the 2nd quarter when we were kickin to the hill end... Hope went off just before that. James Hope dominated the middle but Gordon Hope dislocated his shoulder both were changed sitting in the grand stand by the 10min mark of the third with us...

As for that canter... hmm I wouldnt be placing money on the premiership off that performance.

Question is were you there? or are you running off secondary information that someone has passed onto you?

On the Run
26 Apr 2006, 09:46
WRONG? Don't think so champ... And yeah I was there... after shaming your 2nds into kickin 3.15 for the day I watched the whole game...

Toovey went off half way through the 2nd quarter when we were kickin to the hill end... Hope went off just before that. James Hope dominated the middle but Gordon Hope dislocated his shoulder both were changed sitting in the grand stand by the 10min mark of the third with us...

As for that canter... hmm I wouldnt be placing money on the premiership off that performance.

Question is were you there? or are you running off secondary information that someone has passed onto you?

Were you the bloke that deliberately stomped on a St.Bernards player's head?

aberdaberdo
26 Apr 2006, 09:47
Name me one paid mercenary who plays for the love of the jumper in your low life, two tiered, sniping, scumbag league.

Very nasty. And after Mummy and Daddy paid all that good money on school fees as well.

Plumber
26 Apr 2006, 10:29
Abers, I just wanted to know why it smells so much after I cross the Yarra? Is it the skins & hides factory you work in or just a reflection of the area in general.

Simpson. Homer
26 Apr 2006, 10:41
Were you the bloke that deliberately stomped on a St.Bernards player's head?

haha yeh deliberately... the bloke was trying to run off and your bloke grabbed his ankles and tripped him... your bloke understood and there was nothing in it except for that little bloke with his poor little ankle in ice wanting to box on for no reason

Simpson. Homer
26 Apr 2006, 10:45
Very nasty. And after Mummy and Daddy paid all that good money on school fees as well.

surprised you understood the vocab he used... 'plumber' it is... no wait, MUST be the reflection! Not only is it sore on the nose but the eyes get a terrible work out too!

froggie6
26 Apr 2006, 11:07

Was in the thick of the senior game...unlike yourself. I wouldnt place my money on a premiership after that performance either. But its only Rd 1. One tip though...youll need to run out games better than that to avoid the yoyo. Welcome to A Grade...

Destination A Grade
26 Apr 2006, 11:32
Was in the thick of the senior game...unlike yourself. I wouldnt place my money on a premiership after that performance either. But its only Rd 1. One tip though...youll need to run out games better than that to avoid the yoyo. Welcome to A Grade...

One must be careful what one says in a public forum.

I would have thought that there were positives and negatives for every club in the opening round. Plenty of things to work on for the rest of the year down at Old Ivanhoe, but we take some positives with us.

To Clarify, G Hope injured 2nd Quarter, Toovey went off in the last quarter - should be right for OT this week.

holding
26 Apr 2006, 11:57
HAHA the YO YO has been working overtime the last 2-3 years and i would have to say it'll be working again this year unless they can perform miracles down there at Chelsworth.

DLS might be a chance to stay up but OI are as ordinary as the jumper they try and play in.

Frederik Kanoute
26 Apr 2006, 19:39
I can see OI winning a few games if they slow it down. they have the bodies but not the speed or the legs to run out a game. could get a reputation for that and be showed up every week if teams figure it out

vafa spy
26 Apr 2006, 23:17
Unfortunately too many teams that come up from B-grade do not realise just how big the jump in standard is and how 15mins of bad football can kill them.

OI gave St B's a 4 goal start and also stopped in the last qtr from all reports. It is going to take a lot more than this to win games of A-grade footy. The Hoes are a talented side but i fear that like St Kevin's last year may just drop away too much in their bottom 5-6 players. I seem to recall St Kevin's running Uni Blues to within 4 goals opening round last year and similar things being said.

Max Leader
27 Apr 2006, 10:41
When was the last time a Scotchy got 5. Must have been a good'n.

Welcome to Ammos Mr. Graham

SurftheWorld
27 Apr 2006, 10:43
Unfortunately too many teams that come up from B-grade do not realise just how big the jump in standard is and how 15mins of bad football can kill them.

OI gave St B's a 4 goal start and also stopped in the last qtr from all reports. It is going to take a lot more than this to win games of A-grade footy. The Hoes are a talented side but i fear that like St Kevin's last year may just drop away too much in their bottom 5-6 players. I seem to recall St Kevin's running Uni Blues to within 4 goals opening round last year and similar things being said.

OI played Old Essendon in a Pre-Season Practice match and went down to OEG by 5-6 goals. Now does that mean OI are not good enough for A'grade and OEG should be up there or OEG are the BIG improvers in B'grade from last year?

Axel1980
27 Apr 2006, 11:07
The Scotchy that got 5 is a just silly

He has never ever been reported before, the OM player even said there was no elbow YES the contact was a little late but not worthy of 5 In my opinion

On the Run
27 Apr 2006, 11:23
OI played Old Essendon in a Pre-Season Practice match and went down to OEG by 5-6 goals. Now does that mean OI are not good enough for A'grade and OEG should be up there or OEG are the BIG improvers in B'grade from last year?

I think anyone who knows anything about football will tell u that practice match results don't mean much. Like Allen Jeans once said 'they're like dancing with your sister.They don't count.'

OI had alot of senior players out that day, so it can't really be compared.

OEG have lost a few players but picked up a gun in Chris Goullet.

Tribe
27 Apr 2006, 11:36
Lads,

As the title of the thread suggests i was actually looking for any meaningful match reports (biased as they may be) from the weekends games.

Either none of you saw any games (unlikely) or are more interested in sledging each other than filing a few words on what you saw (v likely).

If there is anyone who can contribute anything sensible it would be appreciated.

Regards.

Drizzle
27 Apr 2006, 12:14

Means OEG will promise again but probably fall over at the crunch time again

Moss Rocket
27 Apr 2006, 12:28
Lads,

As the title of the thread suggests i was actually looking for any meaningful match reports (biased as they may be) from the weekends games.

Either none of you saw any games (unlikely) or are more interested in sledging each other than filing a few words on what you saw (v likely).

If there is anyone who can contribute anything sensible it would be appreciated.

Regards.

Tribe: Uni v Xavs. Heard from a friend today that Uni were 27 points up, and in control with 9 minutes to go. They had an extra man, and put him down in defence. Xavs starting getting a little more of the ball and they put 2 back in defence (really only creating 1 x Xav loose man as they were playing 17. Xavs got on a roll. Bowen and Pasceri basically scored the last 28 points of the day as Xavs scored 4.4 in the remaining 9 minutes. My friend suggested that it was Uni's decision to stack the backline and not continue to try and win the ball in the middle, that caused these 8 shots in 9 minutes. Great win. All reports suggest that these 2 clubs will be at the right end of the table come years end.

Skidmore32
27 Apr 2006, 12:50
xavs headin towards another premiership

goodstory
27 Apr 2006, 14:14
I thought this was A grade match reviews so i'm not sure why we're talking about OEG. Greatest pretenders in the amateurs, cats who fight amongst themselves and the greatest number of individuals running around for their own gain.

Tribe
27 Apr 2006, 14:29
Well played Moss Rocket, at least someone can read and write around here!

smoking
27 Apr 2006, 15:50
Saw OM vScotch. Prettyordinary game. Scotch dominated 1st quarter but kicked badly. After half time pretty even. Old faces played best for Scotch.For OM's it was younger players who started to play well. Sangster started to work out how to play a bit towards the end.

Simpson. Homer
1 May 2006, 14:16
Great game of footy went down at Chelsworth on Saturday afternoon... Good comeback from 5 goals down by OI to beat rivals OT... two games between these two this year, two great games of football have been the result!

Supergrass
1 May 2006, 14:31
I heard that Xavs were basically at full strength (minus Graham) in losing to St Bernards by a couple of goals. Can anybody confirm/deny this?

fish1
1 May 2006, 15:42
Does anyone Know Sean "Georgie Boy" Connell. From Marc OB's

Disco Bickie
1 May 2006, 15:47
Does anyone Know Sean "Georgie Boy" Connell. From Marc OB's
Notice how the thread is "A Grade Match Reviews" and not the "Does any body know..." thread.

Please stick to the topic.

fish1
1 May 2006, 15:56
Notice how the thread is "A Grade Match Reviews" and not the "Does any body know..." thread.

Sorry Big Balls

fish1
1 May 2006, 15:58

Does anyone know dom quinn?

On the Run
1 May 2006, 16:05
I heard that Xavs were basically at full strength (minus Graham) in losing to St Bernards by a couple of goals. Can anybody confirm/deny this?

Yeah that is right although Ford had a run around in the two's.

St.Bernards had a few out that would walk straight into the team, so its fair to say the dogs are in for a big year.

Will lose Bingham at the tribunal this week.

Disco Bickie
1 May 2006, 16:16
Does anyone know dom quinn?
Who gives a :D:D:D:D?

Moss Rocket
1 May 2006, 17:54

Certainly were and certainly did. Had 3-4 good players out, but who doesn't. Disposal, decision making, uncharacteristic errors. Not the usual Xavs prerformance. Still almost came over the top, but a little too late. St.B's look ok and will be right up there come years end.

pinelodge
2 May 2006, 13:46
The hoers showed real fight coming back from the brink on saturday, Hope and Thompson leading the way. They should make it 2 in a row againts old Melbournians on sunday at elsternwick park.

Supergrass
2 May 2006, 14:54
The men from the Park of Chelsworth shouldn't pencil in the 4 points against OM's just yet.

By all reports they were well outplayed in Round 1 and came from behind against a side that most have tipped to finish out of the four in Round 2.

Note that OM's also staged a 2nd half recovery to fall just short.

Supa Frank
2 May 2006, 16:19
The men from the Park of Chelsworth shouldn't pencil in the 4 points against OM's just yet.

By all reports they were well outplayed in Round 1 and came from behind against a side that most have tipped to finish out of the four in Round 2.

Note that OM's also staged a 2nd half recovery to fall just short.

OM's are not finished yet!! If they can find a bigman to help out Sangster you will be surprised how good they could be!!

My early prediction still stands though, Rice will be first to go!!!!

On the Run
8 May 2006, 11:53
St. Bernards played well on the weekend to defeat Haileybury. Losing the captain and star defender early was a real blow for the dogs but Loughlin stood up. Ballerin was also a huge loss. Potter starred up forward while Josh Madden played a great game although he can't remember most of it as he was concussed.

Jenke was good for the visitors as was Hopwood who kicked 2.5.

Great to defeat Nicho as well.

justin timberlake
8 May 2006, 12:59
St. Bernards played well on the weekend to defeat Haileybury. Losing the captain and star defender early was a real blow for the dogs but Loughlin stood up. Ballerin was also a huge loss. Potter starred up forward while Josh Madden played a great game although he can't remember most of it as he was concussed.

Jenke was good for the visitors as was Hopwood who kicked 2.5.

Great to defeat Nicho as well.

Haven't been watching Brokeback Mountain whilst at work have you mate?

Drizzle
8 May 2006, 13:29
Watched the Doggies and Bloods

It's a bit deceptive down at the Grand Hyatt aka the 'pit these days. You lap up the luxury in the best facilities in the ammos but then step out onto the ground where the tirade of abuse still flows and the place is as hostile as ever.

Add to that they have a young side that have a fair dinkum go for each other. Only had 18 and a half fit men by the end of the day yet still managed to find something to come back from a couple goals down well into the last. They certainly won't be humiliated like they were a couple times last year and in what looks to be a fairly even season could go a long way.

PS. Watched a bit of the 19's playing out the back oval. They now sit atop the table and looked to have at least half a dozen who could step up and play if needed.

Max Leader
8 May 2006, 15:57
Was Mollard the attacker or the recipient????

http://www.vafa.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=105567

froggie6
8 May 2006, 15:59
He's got plenty of mates in the ""Smashed Crab" department on that website

Dont know about smashed crabs, they are prob just happy to be 3-0 and moving nicely this season.

Jealousy is a curse...

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2006, 16:00
Dont know about smashed crabs, they are prob just happy to be 3-0 and moving nicely this season.

Jealousy is a curse...
Kudos to you and your good start to the season.

VAFA wins don't get you good looking chicks though.

froggie6
8 May 2006, 16:09
Kudos to you and your good start to the season.

VAFA wins don't get you good looking chicks though.

I can attest that they do...my mrs loves winners...

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2006, 16:12
I can attest that they do...my mrs loves winners...
Then your Mrs is a footy mole.

Handsome.B.Wonderful
8 May 2006, 16:16

Could not have hooked him any better TBP.
You must be a fantastic fisherman

EDFL MAN
8 May 2006, 16:17

You get that when you find them at One Bar! :eek:

froggie6
8 May 2006, 16:19

really...but shes an A grade footy mole and super hot. And mate as long as you have Handles Handley, Cheese O'Brian and that fag Julian Kav up on the sewage tip Keilor Hill, B grade is all you'll have.

Why dont you sack them TBP and come play warriors at St Bernies...

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2006, 16:20
Could not have hooked him any better TBP.
You must be a fantastic fisherman
Don't mind throwing the odd line in, sometimes I only have the well to fish from though.

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2006, 16:22
really...but shes an A grade footy mole and super hot. And mate as long as you have Handles Handley, Cheese O'Brian and that fag Julian Kav up on the sewage tip Keilor Hill, B grade is all you'll have.

Why dont you sack them TBP and come play warriors at St Bernies...

You can bag Handles and you can bag the cheese but Julian is ten times the bloke you'll ever be.

Handsome.B.Wonderful
8 May 2006, 16:48
Don't mind throwing the odd line in, sometimes I only have the well to fish from though.

There's nothing wrong with a good well. I myself have been known to sneak off to a secret well when the fish are not biting. I can't disclose which one but it was passed onto me by a St Bernards man who was having trouble with its maintenance.

Supergrass
8 May 2006, 16:49
Mollard was apparantly the instigator.

My sources say that he may not be playing for a fortnight.

TBP, clubs should not be villified for putting the effort in with their websites (Xavs, Fitzroy Reds, Bernards, Uni Blacks etc, etc), provides a valuable insight into the weekend's games.

Perhaps you could start a column on the OEG site "Pineapple Prophecy", "The Citrus Times" or "Fruity Follies"?

Slay Master G
8 May 2006, 16:53
You can bag Handles and you can bag the cheese but Julian is ten times the bloke you'll ever be.

TBP

I think 10 times better is under estimating young Julian, somwhere in the range of 40-50 times better would be more appropriate, remember, we are comparing him to a rooster from StBernards.

Speaking of roosters, imagine the lineup of ferals at the Pit on Saturday when they played Old Haileybury. Could you get a worse combination of supporters in one VAFA venue??

Perhaps only a Parade v. StBede's game could match it!

The Big Pineapple
8 May 2006, 16:53
Mollard was apparantly the instigator.

My sources say that he may not be playing for a fortnight.

TBP, clubs should not be villified for putting the effort in with their websites (Xavs, Fitzroy Reds, Bernards, Uni Blacks etc, etc), provides a valuable insight into the weekend's games.

Perhaps you could start a column on the OEG site "Pineapple Prophecy", "The Citrus Times" or "Fruity Follies"?

SG,

With all due respect wasn't vilifying anyone, purely highlighting OTR's unfortunate bad looks. Also agree with your thoughts on club putting effort into their website.

Now that I'm a semi retired footballer it allows me to keep my ear to the ground much longer and stay in touch with all the ins and outs of VAFA football. So a weekly column is not out of the question.

Cheers

TBP

holding
8 May 2006, 20:14
Just off the "bernards boy's are the ugliest in the VAFA" topic for a second

Does anyone know what Scott Mollards has done? What the charges are?

Scribe
8 May 2006, 21:39

Does anyone know what Scott Mollards has done? What the charges are?

Headbutting Matty Davies - wait to see the result but I'm tipping more than a fortnight's rest for Moldini.

The Big Pineapple
9 May 2006, 08:25
two good looking blokes id say. with more than adequate footballing ability between them. Jealousy is a curse...ST BERNARDS 3-0 in A section, East Keilor Grammar- rot away in B section where you rightfully belong. Big Pine, you are a tool. Justin Timberlake-your name says it all.........

With the amount of credibility you have here, your taunts don't mean much!

The Big Pineapple
9 May 2006, 08:27
Headbutting Matty Davies - wait to see the result but I'm tipping more than a fortnight's rest for Moldini.
He'll get 6 weeks if the tribunal is consistent.

justin timberlake
9 May 2006, 11:18

We could have a whole website for this topic

Plumber
9 May 2006, 12:51

Don't think so, not much in it apparantly. Ive heard the bloke on the receiving end played it up beautifully to milk a free kick...did it well.

Destination A Grade
10 May 2006, 09:35
The Big Pineapple predicts the severity of a tribunal result.

Mollard out for 6.

http://vafa.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=105334

Must have been a good one despite Plumbers description.

Slay Master G
10 May 2006, 09:42
The Big Pineapple predicts the severity of a tribunal result.

Mollard out for 6.

http://vafa.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=105334

Must have been a good one despite Plumbers description.

TBP

You are before your time and should apply to the VAFA for Mick Sholly's job.

DAG

How are you coping with Geelong...?

I haven't been to Motel for a while so I haven't caught up with you

The Big Pineapple
10 May 2006, 09:50

When the pineapple speaks, people listen!

Destination A Grade
10 May 2006, 09:52
Geelong is easily one of the ugliest parts of the world. Cold and Windy is the order of the day - everyday.

Haven't been to Motel with the regular gusto of late either. Sunday games, consistantly making an ar$e of myself and a solid 6 year stint has detered a few from rocking up week after week.

I say we catch up at The Boutique on the Friday of the Queens Birthday Weekend.

Max Leader
10 May 2006, 10:17
Geelong is easily one of the ugliest parts of the world. Cold and Windy is the order of the day - everyday.

Haven't been to Motel with the regular gusto of late either. Sunday games, consistantly making an ar$e of myself and a solid 6 year stint has detered a few from rocking up week after week.

I say we catch up at The Boutique on the Friday of the Queens Birthday Weekend.

I refer you to yesterday's property section of the Herald Sun. Boutique was close to being placed into receivership.

How would the ammo community handle this disaster.?

Maybe run a telethon to save this icon. Could we get Mel and Kochie to headline the diaster relief.

Instead on the World's Greatest Shave fund raiser we could do a World's Greatest Bowl Cut fund raiser!!!!

Slay Master G
10 May 2006, 10:35
I refer you to yesterday's property section of the Herald Sun. Boutique was close to being placed into receivership.

How would the ammo community handle this disaster.?

Maybe run a telethon to save this icon. Could we get Mel and Kochie to headline the diaster relief.

Instead on the World's Greatest Shave fund raiser we could do a World's Greatest Bowl Cut fund raiser!!!!

I'm not surprised that Boutique's financial woes have coincided with the start of the VAFA season, Flash Friday's would now be empty and running at a loss with VAFA players having quiet nights. As I'm on the long term injury list, I think it's my duty to get down this Friday and show my support!

Personally, I would be distraught if Boo Boo's was to close and would happily get a bowl cut with blonde tips to try and raise awareness for this disturbing issue.

Handsome.B.Wonderful
10 May 2006, 12:48
Personally, I would be distraught if Boo Boo's was to close and would happily get a bowl cut with blonde tips to try and raise awareness for this disturbing issue.

Sounds like a worthwhile fundraiser, as long as your bowl cut doesn't grow into the Trevor Hendy wig you were sporting as a youngster SMG.

justin timberlake
10 May 2006, 12:54
I'm not surprised that Boutique's financial woes have coincided with the start of the VAFA season, Flash Friday's would now be empty and running at a loss with VAFA players having quiet nights. As I'm on the long term injury list, I think it's my duty to get down this Friday and show my support!

if Booters was placed into receivership, surely your prior experience in the insolvency industry would come in handy SMG? You and i could joint appointees? What a trade-on that would be..........