View Full Version : Herald Shield - When does it start, what schools to look for.
Whispers
26 Apr 2006, 21:16
Just wondering when the HS starts. Wouldn't be too far now. Also what schools need to be looked at. Obviously St. Bernard's, St. Pat's, Assumption.. Whitefriers? Are they dominant any more?? Just want to hear ppls opinions..
goDees22
26 Apr 2006, 21:58
May 9th i think
goal sneak
27 Apr 2006, 11:35
This comp is a joke. Not strong at all.
Whispers
27 Apr 2006, 13:13
But isn't it the best schools in Victoria playing? Surely it would be the second best Under 18 comp in Victoria so how could you claim that it;s a joke and not strong?
smoking
27 Apr 2006, 13:24
Correct. The top schools all play APS.
saints_rule23
27 Apr 2006, 17:25
Notre Dame i think they one it last year
Flat Track Bully
27 Apr 2006, 18:25
Notre Dame i think they one it last year
Notre Dame, Shepparton, won the Country Shield over Emmaus College, with side containing Marcus Drum and Tim Looby
goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 15:57
But isn't it the best schools in Victoria playing? Surely it would be the second best Under 18 comp in Victoria so how could you claim that it;s a joke and not strong?
No it is not the best schools in Vic. Haileybury are not playing and they would smash all the rubbish teams in the Herald Sun comp as they have 15 TAC players running round in their first 18. Melbourne Grammer with Xavier Ellis and Tom Hawkins are also a strong team who is not in Herald Sun rubbish.
Pull your head out of your arse mate. It doesnt matter how TAC players are playing in your team. The APS only play each other and they claim to be the best. St Berands would probally have about 10+ TAC players and they arent
best school.
goal sneak
28 Apr 2006, 18:00
Pull your head out of your arse mate. It doesnt matter how TAC players are playing in your team. The APS only play each other and they claim to be the best. St Berands would probally have about 10+ TAC players and they arent
best school.
IF your saw the mighty bloods performance today against the highly rated MGS, smashing them by 70 odd points it would be hard to argue that they are the best school team at the moment, possibly ever. The side has so much quality that there are TAC listed players having to run round in the 2nds. This side of champions would beat some of the lower ranked TAC sides. So i think you are the one who needs to pull their head out their arse and realise the Herald Sun is a low quality comp made up of poorer schools.
future29
29 Apr 2006, 20:17
the best school team at the moment, possibly ever.
you need to pull your head out of that :D:D:D:D schools arse and look to the wider world you absoloute tool, best team ever are you kidding ,assumption college have produced ten teams at the minimum better than your pussy arse haileybury school same with xavier venture out of the aps n play the wider world woopdee doo if your a big fish in a small pond grow a brain you tool come play some real footy maggot
goal sneak
30 Apr 2006, 13:26
you need to pull your head out of that :D:D:D:D schools arse and look to the wider world you absoloute tool, best team ever are you kidding ,assumption college have produced ten teams at the minimum better than your pussy arse haileybury school same with xavier venture out of the aps n play the wider world woopdee doo if your a big fish in a small pond grow a brain you tool come play some real footy maggot
Biggest fish in the biggest pond don't you mean. APS is a far superior comp than any other. These public schools and poorer private schools have no chance to match it with the likes of haileybury where everyone wants to attend so can therefor get the best players on scholarships.
Greatest team ever = Bloods (2004-present)
future29
30 Apr 2006, 19:31
Biggest fish in the biggest pond don't you mean. APS is a far superior comp than any other. These public schools and poorer private schools have no chance to match it with the likes of haileybury where everyone wants to attend so can therefor get the best players on scholarships.
Greatest team ever = Bloods (2004-present)
isnt it funny your school pays for people to be at your school to play footy yet at assumption people pay our school to play for it. Your a fool no idea about college footy at all assumption and xavier can both produce ten teams better than this pretend team you have at the moment.
goal sneak
1 May 2006, 19:59
isnt it funny your school pays for people to be at your school to play footy yet at assumption people pay our school to play for it. Your a fool no idea about college footy at all assumption and xavier can both produce ten teams better than this pretend team you have at the moment.
Thats why we pump Xavier
mate you've got to pull your head out and have a good hard look at yourself and your :D:D:D:Dhouse APS, the herald sun shield is a far more superior comp to the APS, get real about yourself buddy....
go fullta
1 May 2006, 22:19
Notre Dame, Shepparton, won the Country Shield over Emmaus College, with side containing Marcus Drum and Tim Looby
yep im from emmanuel college and we were runner up to notre dame last year, hopefully emmanuel college can go one better this year!!
next round we play a geelong team, dunno who tho!!:)
goal sneak
1 May 2006, 22:52
mate you've got to pull your head out and have a good hard look at yourself and your :D:D:D:Dhouse APS, the herald sun shield is a far more superior comp to the APS, get real about yourself buddy....
Just because you are scum mate and can't afford to attend an APS school and your scholarship application got knocked backed cos you are sh*t doesn't mean you have to take it out on the APS. Go back to your trailerpark.. scum
Just because you are scum mate and can't afford to attend an APS school
Your parents pay for it, you stupid little virgin.
Whispers
2 May 2006, 22:55
yep im from emmanuel college and we were runner up to notre dame last year, hopefully emmanuel college can go one better this year!!
next round we play a geelong team, dunno who tho!!:)
From Geelong myself and I reckon St. Joeys are the only team that plays Herald Sheild. Grammer and College in APS? Don't under estimate the Joeys boys though.. have produced some very quality players in the past!
eddiesmith
8 May 2006, 00:32
Herald Sun Shield started for ACC sides 2 weeks ago, think the next round is on Wednesday
Friars got thumped by St Bernards, not quite the dominant side of previous years
Whispers
8 May 2006, 12:39
Herald Sun Shield started for ACC sides 2 weeks ago, think the next round is on Wednesday
Friars got thumped by St Bernards, not quite the dominant side of previous years
Heard that St. Joeys Geelong bet Mazenod by around 145 points. Rested their Falcon players in the 2nd half....
i went 2 an aps school for a bit but changed over, so i could further my sport by playin tac/premier cricket on weekends instead of playing school sports. id say only difference between aps sides and herald sun sides is the teamwork and thats it (cos aps schools play together week in/week out & some kids had 2 play good to stay at that school- it happened at mine anyways).
i would rather win a herald sun shield than an APS final for sure though.
eddiesmith
8 May 2006, 20:54
Heard that St. Joeys Geelong bet Mazenod by around 145 points. Rested their Falcon players in the 2nd half....
:eek::eek::eek::eek:
I think the Friars have St Joeys this week :o
rocky17
10 May 2006, 16:48
:eek::eek::eek::eek:
I think the Friars have St Joeys this week :o
Just saw the first half, Joeys winning 8 goals to 2 at half time.
Whispers
10 May 2006, 16:56
Just saw the first half, Joeys winning 8 goals to 2 at half time.
Who was playing well Rocky!?
rocky17
10 May 2006, 21:00
Who was playing well Rocky!?
Jackson Sheringham was unstoppable, only a couple of poor kicks at goal had let him down.
Ryan Williams was sitting at full forward and just outclassed his opponent.
Joe Macula carving it up in the middle, very surprised he got cut from Falcons this year.
Just for everyone's information...
Everytime an APS school has entered the Herald Sun Shield they have failed to make the final.
It's no surprise that no APS sides enter the Shield now as the schools don't want to lose their reputation.
And who really cares about Haileybury? Any school could go out and buy the best 22 players from Victoria if they wanted to that badly. It's just that most other schools have other agenda's other than "buying" football success:)
Seriously when people look back at the teams that have won these premierships and shields, people will see an asterix next to all Haileybury success.
Money can't buy respect, and I hope Haileybury's attitude to football doesn't sick too heavily into their player's mindsets, because if they do it will be detrimental to the clubs that end up drafting them.
Whispers
11 May 2006, 15:59
Jackson Sheringham was unstoppable, only a couple of poor kicks at goal had let him down.
Ryan Williams was sitting at full forward and just outclassed his opponent.
Joe Macula carving it up in the middle, very surprised he got cut from Falcons this year.
Good too see Jacko and Rino trying out for the Vic Country squad... Joe Macula was dogged by Buddha! Hopefully a VFL club can see his potential.
Cats fan 16
13 May 2006, 00:23
Good too see Jacko and Rino trying out for the Vic Country squad... Joe Macula was dogged by Buddha! Hopefully a VFL club can see his potential.
this joeys team will go very far. Jacko is an absolute freak as is williams. The team is very even and team full of falcons is always going to be hard to beat. Hot tip; Joeys for the herald shield.
Not sure how you could call the St Joes team ''very even'' because ive heard about these gun falcons players and how far they will take the school for the herald shield but when they are taken out of the side for ACC games and sides like dela make the long trip down the coast and beat them pretty convincingly, it doesnt look too ''even'' at all.
Cats fan 16
17 May 2006, 11:57
Not sure how you could call the St Joes team ''very even'' because ive heard about these gun falcons players and how far they will take the school for the herald shield but when they are taken out of the side for ACC games and sides like dela make the long trip down the coast and beat them pretty convincingly, it doesnt look too ''even'' at all.
Thats because the whole team is basicly made up of falcons players, and when u take them out for Acc games, ofcourse the team is going to struggle, as your taking 3/4 of the team away. With a full side the team is even, as it has falcons players across the whole ground.
I go to a government school so i don't know much about the Herald Sun Shield apart from the Grand Finals are played at the 'G an that St. Bernards won it a couple of years ago. What does APS and ACC mean.
Whispers
24 May 2006, 16:58
St. Joeys are into the semi final after a solid win over St. Bernards by 37 points. 10.13 to 5.6 I think the final score was.... they looked unreal! Agree Rocky??
rocky17
24 May 2006, 17:02
St. Joeys are into the semi final after a solid win over St. Bernards by 37 points. 10.13 to 5.6 I think the final score was.... they looked unreal! Agree Rocky??
Joey's really dominated, didn't give St. Bernards a chance. IMO though, it really should've been a 10-12 goal win at least. missed that many easy chances it wasn't funny.
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 17:33
:D:D:D:D, think we needed St Bernards to win to keep the ACC season alive, oh well
Friars thumped Mazenod in the dead rubber
Long JOhn
24 May 2006, 21:12
Parade into semis with a 150 point win over st francis
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 21:15
Parade into semis with a 150 point win over st francis
Seems like if the Friars were in the other half of the draw they would have made the semis, guess thats life then
Long JOhn
24 May 2006, 21:24
Seems like if the Friars were in the other half of the draw they would have made the semis, guess thats life then
When friars played parade,,,,parade had 9 of there best 18 out
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 21:28
When friars played parade,,,,parade had 9 of there best 18 out
Yep, thats always the excuse :rolleyes:
Funny how all these sides seem to rest everyone every week, I remember when we went unbeaten for almost 2 years we rested at most a couple a week and won by 100 points no matter who played, its called depth
Long JOhn
24 May 2006, 21:35
Yep, thats always the excuse :rolleyes:
Funny how all these sides seem to rest everyone every week, I remember when we went unbeaten for almost 2 years we rested at most a couple a week and won by 100 points no matter who played, its called depth
take 9 outta that team and theyd get beat aswell. U guys werent good enough to make semis or acc granny,,,
flipout
24 May 2006, 21:42
Haha, parade are in the semis, whitefriars aren't :D good luck next year whitefriars :p bad luck to you mate if you're year 12 and missed a chance to play on the G, I'm sure you will enjoy posting stuff on this site while the parade boys go out and play footy.....ya pig
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 21:43
Haha, parade are in the semis, whitefriars aren't :D good luck next year whitefriars :p bad luck to you mate if you're year 12 and missed a chance to play on the G, I'm sure you will enjoy posting stuff on this site while the parade boys go out and play footy.....ya pig
Ha, when I was in yr12 we won the Shield and didnt lose a game, smashed Parade by over 100 (Well we smashed everyone by over 100 :D)
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 21:44
take 9 outta that team and theyd get beat aswell. U guys werent good enough to make semis or acc granny,,,
Take 9 out of the team who no one could get within 100 points of and we still would have not lost a game
flipout
24 May 2006, 21:47
Well, thats good for you and the whitefriars team of 1987, that is really relevant to the year 2006, where parade are in the semis, and whitefriars are not
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 21:49
Well, thats good for you and the whitefriars team of 1987, that is really relevant to the year 2006, where parade are in the semis, and whitefriars are not
Richmond supporter, of course 2 years ago is ancient history to you :) Cant believe Parade made the granny last year, atleast the Friars gave em a smashing they deserved
flipout
24 May 2006, 21:56
I think it's about time you got over your old school and how good they were back then, and move on with life, it is 2006 and parade are in the semis, and whitefriars are not, well done on your achievments 2 years ago mate, if that's what you want to hear
eddiesmith
24 May 2006, 21:59
I think it's about time you got over your old school and how good they were back then, and move on with life, it is 2006 and parade are in the semis, and whitefriars are not, well done on your achievments 2 years ago mate, if that's what you want to hear
It just shows how poor the ACC is when parade are in the semis or maybe how stupid the draw is when the 3 best teams are in 1 group for the shield and the other side is :D:D:D:D teams
BTW if Parade are actually a chance for the ACC final this year, any chance they will put up a fight this year? Last year was so boring and one sided :) Or maybe it was too cold for them?
Bourky23
25 May 2006, 19:49
St Pats will be good again
Bourky23
25 May 2006, 19:59
St. Pats won their qualifiers against warrugul and traralgon by 70 points and 30 points respectively in two 20 minute half games..names to watch in the cup are Chris Horstman, Jack Bailey, Michael Todd, Will Kelly, Justin Emery and Sam Walker....i'm mates with a few of these guys and i'll let ya know whats going on with the 2004 champs
eddiesmith
25 May 2006, 22:21
St. Pats won their qualifiers against warrugul and traralgon by 70 points and 30 points respectively in two 20 minute half games..names to watch in the cup are Chris Horstman, Jack Bailey, Michael Todd, Will Kelly, Justin Emery and Sam Walker....i'm mates with a few of these guys and i'll let ya know whats going on with the 2004 champs
2004 Champs? Champs of what?
rainman06
25 May 2006, 23:26
speaking of the ACC final, who looks well placed to make it ? i understand there are a few teams still in the hunt...
eddiesmith
25 May 2006, 23:47
speaking of the ACC final, who looks well placed to make it ? i understand there are a few teams still in the hunt...
School Plyd Won Draw Lost Pts For Agst %
1 ST BERNARDS 5 4 0 1 16 321 165 194.55
2 PARADE 5 4 0 1 16 300 309 97.09
3 DE LA SALLE 5 3 0 2 12 320 183 174.86
4 ST JOS GEEL 5 3 0 2 12 404 254 159.06
5 WHITEFRIARS 5 3 0 2 12 287 275 104.36
6 ST BEDES 5 2 0 3 8 222 276 80.43
7 MAZENOD 5 1 0 4 4 86 478 17.99
Thats before yesterdays games which Friars, Parade, St Joeys Geelong won
St Joeys are in the final with the bye next week are onto 20 points with Parade but with a huge % advantage and Parade and St Bernads play off for the 2nd spot practically next week with De La a small chance
So the ladder now would be something like
Parade 20
St Joeys Gee 16
St Bernards 16
Whitefriars 16
De La 16? Could be 12
St Joeys go straight up to 20 with the bye. Only chance Friarss or De La can make it is overtaking St Bernards on % meaning St Bernards beat Parade by aqbout 1 point next week whilst they have a big win they might be a chance, if De La lost yesterday they are out
long_live_alstey
26 May 2006, 22:21
Do you watch any of these matches eddiesmith?
eddiesmith
27 May 2006, 01:49
Do you watch any of these matches eddiesmith?
Just the Friars games and usually the grand final (Which lately has involved the Friars anyway :p)
long_live_alstey
27 May 2006, 10:26
I umpired Friars this season against St Bernards...
where do you get those ladders from ?
eddiesmith
27 May 2006, 18:55
where do you get those ladders from ?
ACC website