2 Aug 2006, 10:34
In My Opinion The Standouts Would Be In No Order
Jarred Mather- Weeribee
Matt Bellingham - Port Colts
Joel Magnabosco - Altona
Brenton Quinn- Sunshine
Michael Spooner- St Albans
Shannon Larkin- Hoppers
But Compared To The Comp Over The Past 5-6 Yers I Would Have To Say It Is Fairly Weak Any Thoughts..........
joel plays seniors likewise with 2 or 3 of the other boys.. and shannon.. geez.. big year?? really??? i know mather is the best easy
Mather the best easily ?
From an Altona point of view, excluding Joel (played seniors all year), how about Steven Kennedy ? Has been sensational for us all year, bottom age player, Jets listed, gets the hard ball, flashes of individual brilliance etc...
Now I saw Mather a few weeks back, whilst being very good, I simply cannot agree with your statement.
Joel is a very good player for his age he plays the wing out at Altona very well, and is that the Spooner that plays in the ones for St Albans if so very good player as well
Well I for one think it'll be a great finals series. I do think it will end up being Willi and Werribee granny but by no way am I saying it will be that way for sure. Port, IMO, and I havent seen much of them, are the only team in the finals i believe cant make the granny, but to all the players on here, i'm more than happy for you to prove me wrong.
As for the team of the year goes, do we count Jets players who've played say 6 games for there local side for whatever reason?
Yeah thats fair enough 6 games
footystar_
2 Aug 2006, 11:50
Mather the best easily ?
From an Altona point of view, excluding Joel (played seniors all year), how about Steven Kennedy ? Has been sensational for us all year, bottom age player, Jets listed, gets the hard ball, flashes of individual brilliance etc...
Now I saw Mather a few weeks back, whilst being very good, I simply cannot agree with your statement.
well if u dnt agree on that, im sure ud agree with me that mather is the best NON jets listed u18 player
From an Altona point of view, excluding Joel (played seniors all year), how about Steven Kennedy ? Has been sensational for us all year, bottom age player, Jets listed, gets the hard ball, flashes of individual brilliance etc....
Kenna has improved outa site this year. Has always been a good player but this year has really stepped up and become brilliant , It will be interesting to see how hes goin in 2-3 years time.
question guys, can Jets players be brought back for finals? (seeing as the Jets will probably miss out on a finals spot themselves), is there a minimum amount of games they have to play for their local teams? wats the deal here, thanks.
footyman44
2 Aug 2006, 18:23
any player must play a minumum of 6 home and away games for their club to qualify for finals. Jets players connot play unless they have played 6 games for thier club.
Mather is a superstar and by far one of the best in the league. Steven Kennedy is also very good player though and both would easily make the team of the year.
I'd say Nick Georgiadis, Ryan Green, John Roberts, Callum Richards would make it from Willy.
Jase Perkins seems to have had a gud year, Kennedy and Mather.
Umm i"ve had a bit of a brain fade so cant think about any other players. When I rem I'll post them
Chelt_Eagle
2 Aug 2006, 21:33
Mather is a superstar and by far one of the best in the league. Steven Kennedy is also very good player though and both would easily make the team of the year.
I'd say Nick Georgiadis, Ryan Green, John Roberts, Callum Richards would make it from Willy.
Jase Perkins seems to have had a gud year, Kennedy and Mather.
Umm i"ve had a bit of a brain fade so cant think about any other players. When I rem I'll post them
Doesnt richards play for the Jets?
R U sure
2 Aug 2006, 21:41
would have to agree bout richards and roberts seen both play.......
perkins will be a superstar needs to get the body right anyone know if he is playing this week........ colts need him up foward struggled with out him
yeah but hes had a real bad year with injuries and had some fatigue syndrome which kept him out for about 8 weeks, couldnt train or nething. He got back but got injured again. He's played 6 games at jets and 6 at willi, or will play 6 or sumthing. I've just heard he'll qualify for finals.
Others i think or have heard have had a good year and would qualify (6 games) are (I aint counting guys playing seniors)
St Albans - Gagula
Albion - Savage
Willy - Green, Richards, Roberts, Georgiadis, Kyriakides, Lishman, Dusink
Werribee - Mather, Taylor, Lubke, Alifraco, Magnabosco
Spotswood - Jensen, S Jones, Noye, Knight
Altona - Kennedy, Lunardi, Lawson
Hoppers/ Port - Havent seen enough of to judge
Now I havent seen that much to judge and I'm probs being biased to Willi cose i know a few boys there and seen them the most. And i'm sure theres players who've had reli good years but because I havent heard of them before this year then I havent reli looked out for them. Neone disagree or agree, want to add neone, especially ne port and Hoppers boys, please do. Looking at the list here aint many talls either so i've p[robs focused on midfield core.
R U sure
2 Aug 2006, 22:11
from port there would be
clifford- full back
perkins- full foward
t.huggins- wing/on ball
z.huggins- sml foward
tiggy train
2 Aug 2006, 22:37
is the team of the year A and B grade in the same team or is there a team for each grade.
Magnabosco shouldnt even be considered for team of the year is just an average player who likes to put tickets on himself is not much chop and we all no how he ran to bench when a scuffle was on so if i was picked in a team of a year and knew they had cowards in it i would be a bit upset
WRFLBOY1
3 Aug 2006, 15:32
is the team of the year A and B grade in the same team or is there a team for each grade.
Magnabosco shouldnt even be considered for team of the year is just an average player who likes to put tickets on himself is not much chop and we all no how he ran to bench when a scuffle was on so if i was picked in a team of a year and knew they had cowards in it i would be a bit upset
True...True
Magnabosco is a CAT!
footystar_
3 Aug 2006, 16:36
True...True
Magnabosco is a CAT!
keep talkin it upppp...
how do use say i ran 2 a bench behind a coach, when our coach was in the middle of the ground trying to tell players to get out, i wasnt in the fight throwing punches or gettin hit, but i was definitatly not holding back, i was along side my good mate biccy brendo when it happnd so shut ur fukn mouth.. sstop talkin bhind the screen
from port there would be
clifford- full back
perkins- full foward
t.huggins- wing/on ball
z.huggins- sml foward
wouldnt think t huggins has had a very good yr, abit soft and loves to give the little cheapies.
from hoppers i nominate:
Leigh Mcintosh - BP
Tyrone Belleville - FB/CHB
Luke Morsello - FP
Matthew Zamperoni - CHF/HFF
Todd Caulfield - HFF
Mitch Merrifield - HBF/C
ahh yes, seen Morsello play actually, forgot about him. Does neone want to have a crack at there team of the year? Probs a bit hard to cose you dont see everyone play all the time.
Consider some B grade players aswell ...
what about Chris Revell,Jon Blake or Errol Henderson?
WRFLBOY1
4 Aug 2006, 10:40
keep talkin it upppp...
how do use say i ran 2 a bench behind a coach, when our coach was in the middle of the ground trying to tell players to get out, i wasnt in the fight throwing punches or gettin hit, but i was definitatly not holding back, i was along side my good mate biccy brendo when it happnd so shut ur fukn mouth.. sstop talkin bhind the screen
Don't lie...you were holding back...don't forget a few ppl on this site were there too...and i saw you pooh your pants last time Colts played Werribee... Don't worry maybe eventually you'll find a ticker somewhere!!!
WRFLBOY1
4 Aug 2006, 10:44
T. Huggins has missed half the year with a broken hand... and early in the season was instrumental in the colts success... And is now finding some form again...
Don't lie...you were holding back...don't forget a few ppl on this site were there too...and i saw you pooh your pants last time Colts played Werribee... Don't worry maybe eventually you'll find a ticker somewhere!!!
Come on Coward move on everyone seen it those that didnt were well informed so let it go little boy
WRFLBOY1
4 Aug 2006, 19:16
Only one tough match to pick this round for tips...
Colts V Willi ... will be a good match despite last weeks result for the Colts
Werribee easily over Albion
Hoppers the same over Altona
Lastly Spotswood to beat St.Albans without much trouble
anyone agree?...
footy124
4 Aug 2006, 19:25
agree with the tips..anyone know ins and outs for colts and willi??
not sure about Willi and Colts, but here are the ins and outs for Hoppers if anyone is interested...
Ins: Matty Young, Barry Langley(Capt), Matthew King, Josh Bellagante, Daniel Jensen (all back from jets)
Outs: Shannon Low, Steve Zhang, Michael McVilly, Matthew Stevens, and someone else but i just cant remember who atm.
IMO, Low, Zhang and McVilly are very stiff to be dropped this week, they have shown alot since coming up from the B's and were really gelling well in team gameplay, our results showed tht. With all due respect we play Altona this week and i would have rathered these 3 blokes played.
Yeah, Colts and willy shuld be good game cose i'm guessing neither will be at all close to full strength.
16possies
5 Aug 2006, 00:19
wat ever happened to brett hor from colts havent seeen him last couple of wweeks. injured???? osteitis maybe????
Kid rock
5 Aug 2006, 00:28
Brett's gone back to Perth to live
footy124
6 Aug 2006, 22:58
r16-so spotty by 10 points over st albans, willi by 3 points over colts n hoppers by 10 goals over altona..what happened with the other game albion -werribee.
Anyone got details on matches??best players??
Did st albans play well or spotty missing a lot of players?
port must of played well??
hoppers looking dangerous heading into finals.
16possies
7 Aug 2006, 00:58
anyone wanna hav a go at predictions on who will win best n fairest from each club??
i'll have a stab at Matthew Zamperoni for Hoppers Crossing, so consistent this season at CHF.
dunno about other clubs, but from wat i've seen/heard:
Ryan Green - Williamstown
Matthew Bellingham - Port Colts
Jarrod Mather - Werribee
"Marshy" - St.Albans
Steve Kennedy(by a mile) - Altona
Nick Jensen - Spotswood
Patrick Savage - Albion
not really sure about St.Albans that Marsy bloke killed us last time, same with Spotswood.
r16-so spotty by 10 points over st albans, willi by 3 points over colts n hoppers by 10 goals over altona..what happened with the other game albion -werribee.
Anyone got details on matches??best players??
Did st albans play well or spotty missing a lot of players?
port must of played well??
hoppers looking dangerous heading into finals.
coach has got the boys at peak fitness and pysical condition, training over the last 5-6 weeks has been absolute torture, but it's showing in the results that it's working, i've been saying for a few weeks now that there is a good feeling around the place, but we will have to see come finals time.
the colts willi game was very tight and close all day. Colts played very well and although willy had more chances they didnt play very well at all IMO. A few boys kept willi in it and they got a few goals clear in the last before colts got back in front. Willi were able to kick the last 2 goals before the colts kicked a number of behinds late. Willi's ruckman went down with wat looked like a broken ankle and a colts player abused him which was pathetic IMO, but in saying that the colts boys and there bench told him to shut it and also thought it was very poor which was fantastic to see i thought.
footystar_
7 Aug 2006, 23:15
Don't worry maybe eventually you'll find a ticker somewhere!!!
NATHAN DAVIES HEY!
a real sly man behind a computer screen aint u!
remember interleauge, were u an emergancy?
R U sure
7 Aug 2006, 23:43
and you sat on the bench all night and didnt get a sniff
16possies
8 Aug 2006, 00:08
i'll have a stab at Matthew Zamperoni for Hoppers Crossing, so consistent this season at CHF.
dunno about other clubs, but from wat i've seen/heard:
Ryan Green - Williamstown
Matthew Bellingham - Port Colts
Jarrod Mather - Werribee
"Marshy" - St.Albans
Steve Kennedy(by a mile) - Altona
Nick Jensen - Spotswood
Patrick Savage - Albion
not really sure about St.Albans that Marsy bloke killed us last time, same with Spotswood. agree with most think "kenna" from altona has had a great year and same with marshy and green and bellingham has played well in all or most of the games he played but dont think hes played many (correct me if im wrong). thanks kanga for the post!!:thumbsu:
hail the greatman
8 Aug 2006, 21:40
footy star i can garuntee u thats its not nathan davey. Plus he had a broken hand so thats why he couldnt play in the interleague game. so dont make assumptions cause its no good to drop names
Jase Perkins full forward
jarrod mather rover
chadda from werribee dont no his proper name. defintly on the wing.
Anyone willing to nominate their likely candidates for "Team of the Year" ?
Is it only for A division, or is Team of the Year for both A and B divisions?
Jase Perkins full forward
jarrod mather rover
chadda from werribee dont no his proper name. defintly on the wing.
Perkins at full forward would be a waste, put him in the foward pocket as he can still kick a bag and get the third best defender.
Luke Morsello in the other pocket for sure and you have a very potent forward-line already. Todd Caulfield and Matthew Zamperoni to play FF and CHF, both players have had massive years for us.
Steve Kennedy in the centre, Ryan Green on the wing maybe.
Chris Bryant from Werribee to play CHB. Who do you guys think can play in the ruck?
I think John Roberts from Willi wuld challenge for the FF or CHF spot. Bar that I agree with what people have said so far. Green in the centre i reckon, Richards in the guts also or HFF swapping with Green. I'd put Kennedy up forward, killed Willi up there i thought. Dusink wuld be up there for rucking.
Do the coaches actually pick a team of the year?
dont know if the coaches pick it, but there is a team of the year every season for the Under 18 and senior competitions.
the colts willi game was very tight and close all day. Colts played very well and although willy had more chances they didnt play very well at all IMO. A few boys kept willi in it and they got a few goals clear in the last before colts got back in front. Willi were able to kick the last 2 goals before the colts kicked a number of behinds late. Willi's ruckman went down with wat looked like a broken ankle and a colts player abused him which was pathetic IMO, but in saying that the colts boys and there bench told him to shut it and also thought it was very poor which was fantastic to see i thought.i was at the colts willi match and i think the colt where stiff to have lost, was a good hard game but
Kozzis Dizzy
9 Aug 2006, 21:34
i was at the colts willi match and i think the colt where stiff to have lost, was a good hard game butvery stiff, certain goal, not touched....that's footy hey!
Well i wuldnt have called it a certain goal, but i believed that they played very well all day and that they didnt deserve to lose. Who do you think were the best players? Didnt think there were many standouts for either team? but it was willi's main players that got them home in the end
a couple others for consideration for TOTY
L mildenhall port no2 good running half back. wears his opponents like a glove, has superb skills and is damaging when he runs of his man
A Molivas werribee no5 smart forward with good ability to read the ball of the packs and snap a few goals
M Knight spotty no9 likes playing the loose role in defence and racks up the touches all day long and punishes sides with his disposal
Westacott hoppers no 23 i think. he just runs all day and carves teams with his disposal and ball winning ability seen him twice this year and loves the wing and is suited perfectly to hoppers ground using his pace
Kid rock
9 Aug 2006, 23:48
Kengo Hirata of the colts is another gun player, killed it on the weekend, was very hard at the footy. could be considered for toty
Kozzis Dizzy
10 Aug 2006, 00:16
Well i wuldnt have called it a certain goal, but i believed that they played very well all day and that they didnt deserve to lose. Who do you think were the best players? Didnt think there were many standouts for either team? but it was willi's main players that got them home in the endWhat's the deal with u Kegs? Player, supporter or just keen observer? You seem to get to quite a few games, do you have an aliance with any team in particular? If you had to tip a team now to take out the flag who would it be? I'm tipping Werribee would be fairly confident now especially with the Colts almost knocking Willy off, I think it just goes to show that the Colts were just not with it the week before playing at Hoppers - to get beat by that much and then almost knock off Willy - they obviously can match it with the best of them, just have to be switched on and the discipline needs to be there.
R U sure
10 Aug 2006, 00:20
bellingham chf or on the ball.....
m.clifford full back.
j.murphey (colts) or willys ruckman
Who has kicked the most goals in the league? Or is up on the list? That would give a good indication of a good Full Forward/Forward Pocket selecion.
footystar_
10 Aug 2006, 13:49
The team is A and B, well thats how it was last year.
I think Leno might have a few right.
Jace Perkins will be a forward Pocket
Adam Alifraco will be a wing, who's nickname is CHADDA
Jarrod Mather Definiatly in the middle
Stevie Kennedy will be a half forward.
that's all i could really saw atm.
but yer.
2mora night solgiers res.
werribee 18a vs stalbans
WRFLfan
10 Aug 2006, 14:26
Heres a template to pick your team of the year
Backs:
Half Backs:
Centre:
Half Forwards:
Forwards:
Ruck:
Ruck Rover:
Rover:
Interchange:
Notable Misses:
What's the deal with u Kegs? Player, supporter or just keen observer? You seem to get to quite a few games, do you have an aliance with any team in particular? If you had to tip a team now to take out the flag who would it be? I'm tipping Werribee would be fairly confident now especially with the Colts almost knocking Willy off, I think it just goes to show that the Colts were just not with it the week before playing at Hoppers - to get beat by that much and then almost knock off Willy - they obviously can match it with the best of them, just have to be switched on and the discipline needs to be there.
I know some willi boys, used to play at willi, thats why i'm biased a bit twoards willy. I think the finals will be very tight, werribee and willi GF. Atm Werribee would be favourties for sure but its hard to pick before the finals and i'm sure many teams will get players back.
footy124
10 Aug 2006, 22:50
The matches this week fellas.
Looks like sum big wins for some and possibly a couple closer ones.
My tips are Port by 6 goals, Willi by 3 goals in the match of the round, Hoppers by 100+ and Werribee by 100+ as well.
Altona vs Port
Willi vs Spotswood
Hoppers vs Albion
Werribee vs St Albans
Yeah, will be bloody good game between spotty and willy, other than that the rest of the games pretty straight forward. I'll tip willy cose they have Jets boys back and as far as i know, spotty have no players back
good site this
11 Aug 2006, 09:48
Backs: Mick Gagula Mark Van Den Oever Matty Taylor
Half Backs: Michael Knight Michael Lubke Callum Richards
Centre: Adam Alifraco Ryan Green Shannon Larkin
Half Forwards: Steve Kennedy Matty Bellingham Jonathon Roberts
Forwards: Aaron Molivas Jase Perkins Luke Morsello
Ruck: Tim Dusink
Ruck Rover: Ryan Noye
Rover: Jarrod Mather
Interchange: Daniel Jensen Murat Ergunen Matty Lishman Shannon Franklin
Notable Misses: Todd Caulfield Matty Young
Yeah, not a bad line up at all, good work good site this.
footystar_
11 Aug 2006, 14:47
Backs: Mick Gagula Mark Van Den Oever Matty Taylor
Half Backs: Michael Knight Michael Lubke Callum Richards
Centre: Adam Alifraco Ryan Green Shannon Larkin
Half Forwards: Steve Kennedy Matty Bellingham Jonathon Roberts
Forwards: Aaron Molivas Jase Perkins Luke Morsello
Ruck: Tim Dusink
Ruck Rover: Ryan Noye
Rover: Jarrod Mather
Interchange: Daniel Jensen Murat Ergunen Matty Lishman Shannon Franklin
Notable Misses: Todd Caulfield Matty Young
Mark Vannders plays at full forward and in the ruck for werribee, hasn't been seen at full back all year!
matty taylor plays rover and half forward, never seen at back pocket.
Michael Lubke is a big centerman switchin in the ruck when need be. never at center half back
Well then they would miss out on the team as good site this obviously believe they arent good enough to get in the team of the year in those positions.
Mark Van Den Oever was a bit odd i thought, wouldnt have thought he'd make the team but other than that i thought it was ok
good site this
11 Aug 2006, 17:09
Mark Vannders plays at full forward and in the ruck for werribee, hasn't been seen at full back all year!
matty taylor plays rover and half forward, never seen at back pocket.
Michael Lubke is a big centerman switchin in the ruck when need be. never at center half back
Yea fair enough, i haven't seen any games this year but ive played with all 3 and they have played around those positions when ive played with them. To fit them in they had to play different positions.
good site this
11 Aug 2006, 17:11
Well then they would miss out on the team as good site this obviously believe they arent good enough to get in the team of the year in those positions.
Mark Van Den Oever was a bit odd i thought, wouldnt have thought he'd make the team but other than that i thought it was ok
Yea i got a bit stuck there Vanders goes ok so i thought i could put him there.
WRFLfan
11 Aug 2006, 17:14
Yea i got a bit stuck there Vanders goes ok so i thought i could put him there.
Fair enough people pick and poke at your team, but it would be nice to see them do one instead of just potting blokes Footystar
footystar_
11 Aug 2006, 17:33
Fair enough people pick and poke at your team, but it would be nice to see them do one instead of just potting blokes Footystar
I wasn't potting anyone.
Look the team looked quite good of what I saw.
I play with them Werribee boys and they don't play in them positions, that's all I was saying!
If you want to see a team, here is my attemped team.
Seeing I don't know any B players I'll just do an A grade team.
I'll put Jonny Blake in though.
From Backs:
Chris Braynt (Werribee), Michael Gagula(St Albans), Jon Blake(B grade)
Michael Knight(Spotty), Chris Crisarfi(Altona), Murat Ergunun(Spotty)
Adam Alifraco(Werribee), Jarrod Mather(Werribee),Steven Kennedy(Altona)
Cullum Richards(Willi), Matty Bellingham(Port), Matty Taylor(Werribee)
Ryan Green(Willi), Jace Perkins(Port), Trent Franklin (Port)
Tim Dusink(Willi), Mitch Banner(Werribee), Matty Young(Hoppers)
Don't know many from Albion, Stalbans and what not. so theres a quick rushed team!
Yeah good effort, i'm not gonna try just yet to do a team cose i dont no enough about a few teams but just looking at it its not a half bad team. I'd have John Roberts in the team though but in saying that its hard to kick anyone out. Gagula at full back isnt what i'd go though.
WRFLfan
11 Aug 2006, 17:53
I wasn't potting anyone.
Look the team looked quite good of what I saw.
I play with them Werribee boys and they don't play in them positions, that's all I was saying!
If you want to see a team, here is my attemped team.
Seeing I don't know any B players I'll just do an A grade team.
I'll put Jonny Blake in though.
From Backs:
Chris Braynt (Werribee), Michael Gagula(St Albans), Jon Blake(B grade)
Michael Knight(Spotty), Chris Crisarfi(Altona), Murat Ergunun(Spotty)
Adam Alifraco(Werribee), Jarrod Mather(Werribee),Steven Kennedy(Altona)
Cullum Richards(Willi), Matty Bellingham(Port), Matty Taylor(Werribee)
Ryan Green(Willi), Jace Perkins(Port), Trent Franklin (Port)
Tim Dusink(Willi), Mitch Banner(Werribee), Matty Young(Hoppers)
Don't know many from Albion, Stalbans and what not. so theres a quick rushed team!
See its not hard to be nice is it
toe_jam
13 Aug 2006, 20:09
who do u think will win the flag this year and who do u think will be runner up for u18a?
footyman44
13 Aug 2006, 22:20
Werribee are definitly the red hot favourites to win back to back flags, they are pure class. Hoppers are coming good at the right time but dont know weather they could make it to the granny. Williamstown are definitly a class act when on song, especially if they have a full side, definitly a big chance to make it to grand final. Spotswood are the shinboners of the comp. They dont have a very strong list but can produce results against good sides. If they can beat Hoppers this week to secure double chance definitly can go all the way. If they dont have second chance not sure, may run out of legs. Port colts have shown glimpses throught the year they can match it u to the good sides but not sure if they have the class to get all the way. If they have a full side also could be smokies. Sure to be a VERY close finals series with very tight matches
footballobserver
14 Aug 2006, 16:46
Backs: jon blake chris crisafi matty taylor
Half Backs: ryan noye micheal knight callum richards
Centre: stuart jones ryan green shannon larkin
Half Forwards:murat erungen jonathon roberts matt young
Forwards: nick jensen jace perkins aaron molivas
Ruck:tim dusink
Ruck Rover:jarrod mather
Rover:steven kennedy
Interchange:luke morsello mitch banner adam alifraco micheal lubke
Notable Misses: corey lawson matt belingham mick gagula scott bell
remember the team of the year goes on performance for the year not reputations
=KaNga=
14 Aug 2006, 18:35
Last weekends matches...
Surprise upset from Altona to kncok off Port Colts, watch out for Altona in 2007, if they can keep their core players together from this season then they will be a massive threat especially with their Under 16's who are as talented as any junior side there has been coming through to under 18 football.
Another notable game was Hoppers thrashing Albion by 20 goals, we have really hit good form over the past month or two and this sets up a battle for the double chance (3rd position) against Spotwood this week as the woodsmen dropped their game against Willi.
With the form we are in, I'd expect us to beat Spotty, but I am expecting a massive battle on our hands, cant wait for it!
footy124
14 Aug 2006, 23:56
FootballObserver...
Daniel lunardi- I have to disagree on this one. Even though has seemed to kick goals this season, surely theres better options for team of the year…
Jon blake plays for a B side and I thought this was for A div but maybe I’m wrong. Also isn’t this based on how well they have played in the U 18 comp THIS YEAR, not seniors etc and not reputation. Surely he hasn’t played enough matches in 18’s comp.
Interesting to see Altona beating Port last round. Hoppers vs Spotty is obviously the big one this week. Im tipping Hoppers to win though with the form their in. Should be close.
FootballObserver...
Daniel lunardi- I have to disagree on this one. Even though has seemed to kick goals this season, surely theres better options for team of the year…
Jon blake plays for a B side and I thought this was for A div but maybe I’m wrong. Also isn’t this based on how well they have played in the U 18 comp THIS YEAR, not seniors etc and not reputation. Surely he hasn’t played enough matches in 18’s comp.
Interesting to see Altona beating Port last round. Hoppers vs Spotty is obviously the big one this week. Im tipping Hoppers to win though with the form their in. Should be close.
The 'Team of the Year' is for both A and B div players. But you would suspect the majority of players selected would be from A div considering the competition.
I agree with you on Jon Blake. He has hardly played enough 18's footy to warrant a place as the only B div player to make it. And Blakey has been far from dominating the competition. There are numerous other players that spring to mind when deciding on a 'TOTY'.
good site this
15 Aug 2006, 12:56
[quote=Falcon]The 'Team of the Year' is for both A and B div players. But you would suspect the majority of players selected would be from A div considering the competition.quote]
In this case it will give me a chance to make a better side because ive watched more B grade footy this year.
Backs: Jon Blake(WF/S) Chris Crisarfi(Alt) Michael Gagula(St.A)
H/B: Michael Knight(Spot) Josh McCabe(WF/S) Callum Richards(Willi)
Centres:Adam Alifraco(Werr) Ryan Green(Willi) Shannon Larkin(Hoppers)
H/F: Steven Kennedy(Alt) Matty Bellingham(Port) Jonathon Roberts(Willi)
F: Chris Revell(NF) Jase Perkins(Port) Luke Morsello(Hoppers)
Ruck: Beau Bentley(Alba)
Ruck Rover: Ryan Noye(Spot)
Rover: Jarrod Mather(Werr)
Bench: Tim Dusink(Willi) Jamie Sirianni(Alba) Aaron Molivas(Werr) Mitchell Banner(Werr) Murat Ergunan(Spot) Ryan Tishler(WF/S)
6- B grade(there were more lat year because the standard of footy was better)
18- A grade
toe_jam
15 Aug 2006, 18:45
does any know how the willi ruckmen is, will he be playin finals?
hcfc_legend
15 Aug 2006, 21:10
does anybody give hoppers a chance to beat werribee, i know they can beat williamstown because they did a few weeks ago by a point whats there chances against werribee?
The willi ruckman hurt his ankle, not sure of the actual injury, hes a chance to play finals, but will probs miss the first one or two i dont no reli.
hcfc_legend
15 Aug 2006, 21:19
team of the year
back: Michael Gagula(Sta), Chris Bryant(Wer), Todd Caufield(Hop)
HalfBack:Michael Knight(Spot), Craig Sargent(Alt), Jarrod Magnabosco(Wer)
Centre:Adam Alifraco(Wer), Ryan Green(Wil), William Phillips(Spot)
Half Forward:Matthew Taylor(Wer), Matthew Bellingham(Port), Trent Lee(Wer)
Forwards:Jace Perkins(Port), John Roberts(Wil), Steven Kennedy(Alt)
Ruck: Tim Dusink(Wil)
Rover:Jarrod Mather(Wer)
Bench: Shannon Larkin(Hop), Mitch Banner(Wer), Darren Cain(Alb), Pat Savage(Alb), Mitch Merrifield(Hop), Matty Young(Hop)
[quote=Falcon]The 'Team of the Year' is for both A and B div players. But you would suspect the majority of players selected would be from A div considering the competition.quote]
In this case it will give me a chance to make a better side because ive watched more B grade footy this year.
Backs: Jon Blake(WF/S) Chris Crisarfi(Alt) Michael Gagula(St.A)
H/B: Michael Knight(Spot) Josh McCabe(WF/S) Callum Richards(Willi)
Centres:Adam Alifraco(Werr) Ryan Green(Willi) Shannon Larkin(Hoppers)
H/F: Steven Kennedy(Alt) Matty Bellingham(Port) Jonathon Roberts(Willi)
F: Chris Revell(NF) Jase Perkins(Port) Luke Morsello(Hoppers)
Ruck: Beau Bentley(Alba)
Rover: Jarrod Mather(Werr)
Bench: Tim Dusink(Willi) Jamie Sirianni(Alba) Aaron Molivas(Werr) Mitchell Banner(Werr) Murat Ergunan(Spot) Ryan Tishler(WF/S)
6- B grade(there were more lat year because the standard of footy was better)
18- A grade
Beau Bentley is the best ruckman in the B comp no doubt about it , i havnt seen Timmy Dusink play but ive heard some extremely good things about him ... so who is better?
sherminator
15 Aug 2006, 23:18
good thread to start.
Jarred Magnabosco altona 18a backline player with pace and reads/sets up play well
Daniel Lunardi altona 18a forward with great hands should kick alot this year
Jayden Post altona 18a, tall forward with good set of hands can kick a good goal
Steven Kennedy is a very classy midfielder, fast, reads the play well and is quite consistent. I know because I went to school with him.
And what school was that .. i think ya might be lying mate.
footystar_
16 Aug 2006, 16:59
I reckon he is too
why do use think he is lying..
cos he said i went to school with kenna?
kenna use 2 go altona high, now he goes to essendon keilor i catch the same train as him in the morning.
how do u know what school this kid goes to .?
footystar_
16 Aug 2006, 17:32
@#$% germ ! no-one wants to talk to you, hear from you, or have to read your opinions.
get fukt u little cocksukn bitch behind a computer screen.. u know who i am fukn tell me whoo u are grow sum fukn balls m8..
AHH GET FUKT
footystar_
16 Aug 2006, 18:46
Whilst I may know who you are, I simply don't care. Maybe you should get off the pc and concentrate on getting a kick young fella.
yer ok mate. ill do that 4 u.
Kozzis Dizzy
16 Aug 2006, 21:44
just wondering who is the dirtiest team in the u18 a comp...any one have any thoughts also who is the most important player to thier team in the finals series any thoughtsWerribee, it's hard to keep clean out at the farm!
toss up between Jase Perkins & Matt Bellingham for Colts most important
why do use think he is lying..
cos he said i went to school with kenna?
kenna use 2 go altona high, now he goes to essendon keilor i catch the same train as him in the morning.
how do u know what school this kid goes to .?
Coz im his best mate ... both left Altona Secondary at the end of 2005 as all the year 10's did.
footy124
17 Aug 2006, 21:51
OOk..matches this w/e in the last round of home & away season before the finals with my tips in bold.
Altona vs Werribee- Comfortable win by 10 goals
Port Colts vs Albion- Should win by at least 7 goals
Spotswood vs Hoppers- Close game, but with Hoppers form i'd expect them to get over the line by 3 goals.
St Albans vs Williamstown- Will win by more than 8 goals.
hcfc_legend
17 Aug 2006, 22:12
OOk..matches this w/e in the last round of home & away season before the finals with my tips in bold.
Altona vs Werribee- Comfortable win by 10 goals
Port Colts vs Albion- Should win by at least 7 goals
Spotswood vs Hoppers- Close game, but with Hoppers form i'd expect them to get over the line by 3 goals.
St Albans vs Williamstown- Will win by more than 8 goals.
couldn't tip any other way. But hoppers should win by at least 50 points.
anyone think hoppers can make the grand final??
and also what would altona's chances be if port hadn't of come into the comp with all there wins, altona are better then port on a good day, and are better then spotty to! they came close to willi. would anyone of seen them doing damage this year?
footy124
17 Aug 2006, 23:13
If Hoppers get that 3rd spot, i think they could make the granny.
Altona are better than Port on a very bad day for Port. They lost to Spotty all 3 times they played them, though came close, especially on 1 occassion(2 points). Came close to Willi, 1 of the times they played them but they also lost to St Albans once. No damage was done or could be done by Altona this year. Maybe next year with there 16's coming up.
hcfc_legend- obviously you dont rate spotty very highly?
ford_dealer
18 Aug 2006, 12:13
Dont you mean Port are only better than Altona, When Altona have a really bad day.
Altona have beaten Port twice this year.. the most recent one when they didnt even have a bench.
Hoppers should beat spotty and get the second chance... although it doesnt really matter, because these two teams are going to play each other in the second week of the finals anyway.. one will lose to willy, and the other will beat port in the first week.
This years WRFL under 18 competition, would be of the worst standard in the last 5 years. I doubt werribee could come within 10 goals of the Spotty's, Altona's or St.Albans of 3 - 4 years ago
R U sure
18 Aug 2006, 14:53
Most Importent Players For All Teams In Finals
Hoppers-westy On A Wing Big Ground Could Cause Trouble And There Full Foward (dont Know His Name Soz) Big Boy Good Hands
Werribee- Jarred Mather Class Onballer
Spotty-ryan Noye Hard At It Great Skill
Willy- Callum Richards And Johno Roberts
Port Colts- Shannon Franklin And Tyson Huggins When These 2 Decide To Play Footy Both R Outstanding
=KaNga=
18 Aug 2006, 16:50
Most Importent Players For All Teams In Finals
Hoppers-westy On A Wing Big Ground Could Cause Trouble And There Full Foward (dont Know His Name Soz) Big Boy Good Hands
Werribee- Jarred Mather Class Onballer
Spotty-ryan Noye Hard At It Great Skill
Willy- Callum Richards And Johno Roberts
Port Colts- Shannon Franklin And Tyson Huggins When These 2 Decide To Play Footy Both R Outstanding
Yea Westy would be pretty important, but the one you are thinking of that plays FF for us is Jason Butty, great hands and will take any mark, just gotta kick it to him, but has been out of form the past 2 weeks.
toe_jam
20 Aug 2006, 14:51
so what are tour tip for next week im tipin
willi vs spoty
hoppers vs port
hcfc_legend
20 Aug 2006, 17:18
spotty beat the undermaned hoppers crossing, hoppers didn't play as good as they should of.
willi lost in an upset to stalbans, once stalbans have a full side, and willi don't have jets players they are weak.
altona didnt kick a goal against werribee.
Spotty will beat willi and play Werribee, Hoppers to bear Port and play Willi.
Following week
Werribee will beat Spotty go grand final, Hoppers to beat willi.
hoppers to beat spotty and play werribee
Hoppers Vs Werribee GF!
footy124
20 Aug 2006, 17:46
You said Hoppers would win by more than 50 points! Who didnt play and whos coming back this week?-Surprising to see St Albans beat Willi. How did Port play? The score from Werribee/Altona game gives the impression that the Vikings didnt get much of the ball. Werribee definately in line to win flag, especially after willi getting done.
=KaNga=
20 Aug 2006, 19:12
no, we had pretty much a full side on the weekend, with the usuals at the Jets. We just had a shocker of a day and Spotswood were grinding it out to perfection, at home they are a real force but on the big ground of Whitten oval they might get found wanting. Spotswood just scrapped and scrapped all day, they filled every hole on the ground and we just could not run with the ball at all.
Full credit to Spotty, we will just have to do it the hard way now.
Big upset the loss to willi, but in saying that they had i think it was 11 of there starting 18 out, although still shuld have won. Willi also had nothing to play for as they culdnt move up or go ne lower on the ladder and st albans last game of the year they wanted a win. Spotty beating Hoppers surprised me a bit, but full credit to them and the hoppers player who posted and didnt make ne excuses, just admitted to being beaten on the day. I expect willi to beat spotty, hoppers to beat port next week
WRFLBOY1
21 Aug 2006, 20:42
spotty beat the undermaned hoppers crossing, hoppers didn't play as good as they should of.
willi lost in an upset to stalbans, once stalbans have a full side, and willi don't have jets players they are weak.
altona didnt kick a goal against werribee.
Spotty will beat willi and play Werribee, Hoppers to bear Port and play Willi.
Following week
Werribee will beat Spotty go grand final, Hoppers to beat willi.
hoppers to beat spotty and play werribee
Hoppers Vs Werribee GF!
Talking ya team up a fair bit there mate... dont be too cocky
hail the greatman
21 Aug 2006, 21:22
big news coming out the colts this weekend is that matthew bellingham and trent franklin will miss this weeks game with injuries to there ankles and shannon franklin who has been suspended for a week for striking
this should make the task alot easier for hoppers this week with a depleted colts outfit
there is also a doubt of lewis mildenhall who has been stuck in his bed since thursday with a case od the flu
this week doesnt look to be a good 1 at the colts
WRFLBOY1
22 Aug 2006, 21:58
big news coming out the colts this weekend is that matthew bellingham and trent franklin will miss this weeks game with injuries to there ankles and shannon franklin who has been suspended for a week for striking
this should make the task alot easier for hoppers this week with a depleted colts outfit
there is also a doubt of lewis mildenhall who has been stuck in his bed since thursday with a case od the flu
this week doesnt look to be a good 1 at the colts
That'll make for a very depleted Colts side!!!
R U sure
22 Aug 2006, 22:14
just spoke to a couple of the colts boys...........
bellingham is definatly out was over trainin on crutchs needs surgery to repair the bone
franklin is about 20% chance of playin
footy124
23 Aug 2006, 13:56
so whos going to win this weeks first finals matches....
Willi vs Spotty
Hoppers vs Port