View Full Version : Favourite Band/ Favourite Song
Stegelator
23 Dec 2001, 12:30
What's ya favourite badn and Favourite song?
mine: Fav band:
Smashmouth
Fav Song:
Pacific Coast Party (Smashmouth)
Macca19
23 Dec 2001, 12:35
Favourite Band: Prodigy
Favourite Song: Break n Enter
Mooster7
23 Dec 2001, 12:47
Tough question. I don't think I have an absolute favorite band. I do have favorite songs from several bands. Is that legal, Steg?
Jimi Hendrix - Voodoo Chile (slight return)
Led Zeppelin - The Rain Song
Zeppelin song to cover - The Lemon Song
Cold Chisel - Bow River (live)
Rolling Stones - Sympathy for the Devil
Stones cover - Start Me Up
Beatles - A Day in the Life
Beatles cover - Daytripper
Stevie Ray Vaughan - SRV's cover of Hendrix's Little Wing
I could probably go on and on. I do love to cover Van Halen's Erruption & You Really Got Me, but it's like walking a tight-rope. No such thing as a good attempt.
Mooster
The Hitman
23 Dec 2001, 14:05
Pearl Jam/Creep - Radiohead
The Hitman
Oasis - Don't Go Away
Supergrass - Moving
Travis - Driftwood
Coldplay - Trouble
Fav Band -Matchbox Twenty [International]
-Cold Chisel [Aussie]
Fav Song - Long Day -Matchbox Twenty
-Cryin Shame - Johnny Diesel & The Injectors
-When The War Is Over [Cold Chisel]
Shinboners
23 Dec 2001, 15:15
Favourite band (International): Belle and Sebastian
Favourite band (Australian): The Lucksmiths
Favourite song (International): "Spring" by Saint Etienne
Favourite song (Australia): "100 Ways To His Heart" by Other People's Children
Something for kate - clint
The_Flying_Egg
23 Dec 2001, 15:59
Pearl Jam - Better Man
brampta
23 Dec 2001, 16:15
Nobody specified if it was of all time, or recently?! :/
Favourite Band: Ohh tough. Usually I cant get the answer to this one lower than about 20. Ok what the hell I'll go with the Offspring because they're the band I've grown up with.
Favourite Song: Oh another tough one. So many songs, so little space. Ok well Powderfinger's Pick you Up always makes me cry, as does Extreme's More than Words. And I love Shimmer - by both Fuel and Shawn Mullins...kinky :D
Favourite band (international): The Smiths
Favourite band (Australia) : Powderfinger
Favourite song (international): Bat out of Hell
Favouriter song (Australia): Whatever makes you happy
It's so hard to pick just one each, and I often like some things more, but these have been pretty consistant.
Bulldog1954
23 Dec 2001, 18:50
Oasis - Don't Look Back in anger
Live - Lakinis Juice
Crikey!!! Too many to mention., and I'm always buying new CDs and absorbing new sounds.
Arch Enemy's Silverwing is as close to perfect as most truly heavy sh1t will ever get, and Rainbow's A Light In The Black has an unblievable combination of riffs, pounding drums and blistering solo.
Best Aussie song : easy. The Crusade by Pegazus (playing live at Edwards Tavern, Prahran, January 25 - there's a plug, fellas).
Shinboners
23 Dec 2001, 19:55
Originally posted by mandy5
Favourite band (international): The Smiths
Now there's a band that brings back some memories........
Oh mother, I can feel the soil falling over my head.......
The Hippie
23 Dec 2001, 21:36
Favourite band - Tesla
Song - Bringing On The Heartbreak - Def Leppard
Bloody hard to narrow a favourite song down to just one, there's too many I love to listen to.
Favourite Bands.
Australian - Jebediah
UK - Beatles/Oasis
USA - Garbage
Favourtie Songs.
Australian - Harpoon, Jebediah
UK - any Beatles track...ill pick one...ummm..Girl. Oasis, anything off Definitely Maybe or Whats the Story
USA - Milk, Garbage.
Originally posted by Nic
Something for kate - clint
Nic - have you heard Jebs cover of that song. SFK and Jebs switched songs to cover, SFK did a pretty good and different version of Harpoon and Jebs covered Clint. I heard Clint first by Jebs and its one of my favourite songs and when i heard the original by SFK it wasnt as good. Prolly just the order in which i heard them.
Just letting you know if you wanted to check it out.
come on ppl... stop copping out and naming a couple of bands (*#@&!
fave band... blur
fave song (by blur)... chemical world..
The Starchild
24 Dec 2001, 07:09
shut up coxon punk
fav band's ever: KISS and Radiohead
fav song: way too hard to say one, got about 50
right now into rockabilly a bit, skank love a good skank, wouldn't expect the youngies to even understand what skanking is. Band:Restless Song:um try Why didn't I stay at home?
Originally posted by The Starchild
shut up coxon punk
fav band's ever: KISS and Radiohead
fav song: way too hard to say one, got about 50
right now into rockabilly a bit, skank love a good skank, wouldn't expect the youngies to even understand what skanking is. Band:Restless Song:um try Why didn't I stay at home?
Do your rockabilly tastes include Reverend Horton Heat? Man that guy rocks!
The Starchild
24 Dec 2001, 07:35
Originally posted by Darky
Do your rockabilly tastes include Reverend Horton Heat? Man that guy rocks! Nah funnily I'm only just getting in to it like the last 12 months thats it. Went to a joint in Bendigo a month or two back they had this hotrod show up there, me and my mate are building a 57 Ford full flames down the side everything so we went to check out ideas for our rod and ended up getting really pissed with these guys, full rockin hair and all (i have a normal hair but my mate is full ducktails) and f#ck I skanked like never before real funny night that.
I reckon more chicks should dress like those rocker chicks do, like in the 50's, nice hair, over the top red lipstick, checkered dresses, very hot.
Let me know some songs from this guy can you?
The Rev toured here in April 2001 I think... I regret being too tight to part with the $32. :(
It's a bit harder and wilder than you might expect, sort of what you might get crossing the Stray Cats with Living End or The Hellacopters, if that helps.
Best Songs :
Beer (party..... get naked... buy us beer... ) LOL
Psychobilly Freakout
Five-O Ford
Big Sky
Folsom Prison Blues
It's Martini Time
Baddest of the Bad
Big Dwarf Rodeo
Most songs are under three minutes, and are quick to download off WinMX or whatever source you may use.
IAMDASH
24 Dec 2001, 09:53
Too tought to pick an all time favourite band and song. My band of the year however is The Monarchs. Favourite song of the year is Amen Brother from their album Make Yer Own Fun.
Mcchawk
24 Dec 2001, 10:13
International/ all time
Favourite band- The Beatles
Favourite song- "All across the universe" The Beatles- One of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard.
Australian
probably AC/DC
Walk all over you- great start, musically brillant a gem on a great album.
Looking back I've got really weird taste.
Originally posted by jod23
Nic - have you heard Jebs cover of that song. SFK and Jebs switched songs to cover, SFK did a pretty good and different version of Harpoon and Jebs covered Clint. I heard Clint first by Jebs and its one of my favourite songs and when i heard the original by SFK it wasnt as good. Prolly just the order in which i heard them.
Just letting you know if you wanted to check it out.
Yeah, I have the Harpoon EP (because I couldnt buy SFK's Roll Credit EP). Must say, I love both versions of Harpoon, but am not overly fond of Jebediah's version of Clint, prolly cos I heard SFK's version first and loved it.
Really like Jebediah's cover of I ran, though.
Mcchawk - Across the Universe is definitely one of my favourite songs as well.
McFlurry
24 Dec 2001, 12:19
Incubus - Nice to Know You, Echo and other tracks
Soundgarden - Black Hole Sun
windyhill
24 Dec 2001, 16:08
Motley Crue:Shout at the Devil
Originally posted by Nic
Yeah, I have the Harpoon EP (because I couldnt buy SFK's Roll Credit EP). Must say, I love both versions of Harpoon, but am not overly fond of Jebediah's version of Clint, prolly cos I heard SFK's version first and loved it.
Really like Jebediah's cover of I ran, though.
I love Jebs Harpoon but SFK's version was still quite good. I dont particularly like SFK' Clint, the same reason though, i heard Jebs cover of it first. Yeah i like I Ran too, the original was terrible :D
Also just downloaded last night a cover of When the Generals Talk by Midnight Oil. Jebs covered that for a tribute album or something i think...pretty good version.
Doggiesrule1020
7 Jan 2002, 20:50
Favourite Bands
Backstreet Boys
Westlife
Blue
Misteeq
98 degrees
A1
Boys 2 men and any r and b groups
Favourite Solo Artists
any r and b singers
Favourite Songs
any backstreet boys ,westlife or blue songs
favourite song at the moment would have to be heard it all b4 by sunshine anderson and whenever wherever by shakira
Radiohead - Street Spirit (the greatest album closer ever).
Aussie Band: CrashPalace - Perfect (gratuitous plug for mates, take 2).
Originally posted by Nic
Mcchawk - Across the Universe is definitely one of my favourite songs as well.
Yeah great song Nic, wish I could have put SFK as my favourite Aussie band but old AC/DC still holds true for me. SFK one more killer album and I think they'll take that mantle though.
Magpie-Fletch
8 Jan 2002, 12:05
Pennywise - Fight Till You Die.
Fear Factory - Edgecrusher or Self Bias Resistor.
Favourite Band - Blondie.
Favourite Blondie Song - Attack of the Giant Ants.
Favourite Aussie Band - The Clouds.
Favourite Clouds Song - Bower of Bliss.
Blues_Girl
8 Jan 2002, 16:56
Originally posted by Doggiesrule1020
Favourite Bands
Backstreet Boys
Westlife
Blue
98 degrees
A1
You have superb taste in music!!! :)
Doggiesrule1020
8 Jan 2002, 17:03
Thanks Blues girl I take it you have a similar taste.
Blues_Girl
8 Jan 2002, 22:03
Originally posted by Doggiesrule1020
Thanks Blues girl I take it you have a similar taste.
Very similar taste!!!!
Crowded House/Don't Dream It's Over
Fave Band
The Beach Boys
Fave Song
California Girls ('Summer Days (and summer nights!!!)', 1965)
From the incredible intro to the harmonies on the verses, it's one of the best pieces of pop ever heard. And for a special treat, seek out the a capella version. You'd be amazed at exactly how much work has gone into those vocals.
A couple of special mentions: Soulful Old Man Sunshine (circa 1968), Mona ('The Beach Boys Love You', 1977), Kiss Me, Baby ('Today', 1965). The Little Girl I Once Knew (1965), Slip On Through ('Sunflower' 1970), It's Gettin Late ('The Beach Boys', 1985)
McCartney5
9 Jan 2002, 23:57
Oasis - Don't Look Back in Anger
No offence but some of u ppls taste makes me sick. I wont say cause everyone has there own tastes.
Favourite Bands:
Incubus
Metallica
Silverchair
System of a down
Favourite Albums:
S.C.I.E.N.C.E- Incubus
Make Yourself- Incubus
Morning View-Incubus
Justice for all-Metallica
Toxicity-SOAD
Favourite Songs
new skin-incubus
heart shaped box-nirvana
Captain Sensible
16 Jan 2002, 16:30
The Birthday Party are my favorite band of all time. Take your pick out of their songs but 'Release the bats' and 'Loose' (an old stooges cover) are classics.
I also love The Buzzcocks-my favorite is a song called 'What do I get?' Black Flag-Any song from 'damaged' will do and The Stooges
PowerGirl36
16 Jan 2002, 17:02
Originally posted by McFlurry
Incubus - Nice to Know You, Echo and other tracks
Mmmmm, yes! Love those and also Are You In? and Blood on the Ground :cool:
Favourite Band: Blur
Favourite Song: For Tomorrow
Rusty Brookes
30 Jan 2002, 10:24
Originally posted by localyokel
The Birthday Party are my favorite band of all time. Take your pick out of their songs but 'Release the bats' and 'Loose' (an old stooges cover) are classics.
I also love The Buzzcocks-my favorite is a song called 'What do I get?' Black Flag-Any song from 'damaged' will do and The Stooges
Dig where you're comin from localyokel. I'd say the Stooges "Search and Destroy" is my favourite all time song despite the crappy production. Funhouse is my favourite all time album.
As for the Buzzcocks I love "Ever Fallen in Love".
TwiggyDunn
30 Jan 2002, 11:52
Gee there sure are some very dodgey selections amongst all this.
LOL
Favourite International Band: Alien Ant Farm - Geeks!
Australian Band: Area 7 what an absolutely SH IT band!
fave song: nobody likes a bogan!
RoosLuver
31 Jan 2002, 19:16
Fav Band - City High
Fav Song - What would you do?
:D
Mr. Blonde
31 Jan 2002, 19:39
All time Fave band is Pearl Jam.
At the moment I like The Strokes, The White Stripes, You Am I, The Eels.
Too many songs to list. I do like Hercules by Midnight Oil.
oldmanblakes12
12 Feb 2002, 19:06
Radiohead - Fake Plastic Trees
best band and best song by far
BomberGal
13 Feb 2002, 15:36
Fave band:
Lifehouse (fave song from Lifehouse is Hanging By A Moment... and sometimes I vary with the other songs on the album)
Fave song:
Don't Wanna Miss A Thing by Aerosmith.
Grimace
13 Feb 2002, 15:44
Fave band: Incubus
Fave song: anything off the Make Yourself album atm
SydneyBomber
13 Feb 2002, 17:33
Fave song of the moment: 'Completely Dehumanized'
Fave band at the moment: December Wolves
NIN - 'Wish' are all time faves.
International - Soundgarden
Aussie - Reguritator
I know, very old school.
U2, REM, Led Zepplin, Powderfinger, that's all I can think of for now
summer romance - INCUBUS
you will be a hot dancer - INCUBUS
breathe in, breathe out - PASSIONS THEME
Chris_23
5 Mar 2002, 14:34
Favourite 2 bands...
Foo Fighters
- Everlong (The Colour And The Shape)
- Exhausted (Self Titled)
Pink Floyd
- Wish You Were Here (Wish You Were Here)
- Fearless (The Division Bell?)
Originally posted by Shinboners
Favourite band (International): Belle and Sebastian
Favourite band (Australian): The Lucksmiths
Favourite song (International): "Spring" by Saint Etienne
Favourite song (Australia): "100 Ways To His Heart" by Other People's Children
Wow! Such shoegazer taste in a footy column!
I must agree with Spring by Saint Etienne. Beautiful song.
But my fav's: Song (Int) "Unfinished Sympathy" Massive Attack
Song (local) "Kosciusko" Midnight Oil
Fave band (Int) Basement Jaxx
Fave band (local) Shihad
Originally posted by localyokel
Rockin!! I think I might have to reconsider my faves again....*sigh*
:cool:
FreoDocker
9 Mar 2002, 01:53
Favourite band (international): Travis or Zero 7.
Favourite band (Australia) : Powderfinger
Favourite song (international): Glory and Consequences (Ben Harper)
Favouriter song (Australia): Holy Grail (Hunters and Collectors)
Fave band - Red Hot Chili Peppers, but Incubus may be equal favourite if they are good enough live when I see them this week! :)
Song: too many, to hard to pick. But I agree with M29, I love Moving by Supergrass.
Originally posted by WKB
Favourite Band: Blur
Favourite Song: For Tomorrow
she's a twentieth century girl... holding on for dear life..
ah.. fantastic..
u've got great taste ! :p
Originally posted by Malibu
Song: too many, to hard to pick. But I agree with M29, I love Moving by Supergrass.
Very catchy isn't it. Their new album is comming out this year can't wait.
Originally posted by M29
Very catchy isn't it. Their new album is comming out this year can't wait.
Thanks for the heads up - I had no idea. :)
yes... cant wait..
hope they tour... their concerts are often raved about..
i'll be growing my mop & sideburns in anticipation
Grimace
11 Mar 2002, 19:28
i dunno if i've made this obvious but i love incubus
i'm listening to 'you'll be a hot dancer' atm and it's becoming my new favourite song (even though it's quite old)
haha im listening to psychocylicybin :D :D