View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
Thoroughbred
3 Jan 2007, 14:21
Quite a good forward is Matt Brown. Will help address some needs that Clunes have with their forward line.
Was he 2nd or 3rd in the Lexton Plains goal kicking?
KingRich
3 Jan 2007, 14:23
Was he 2nd or 3rd in the Lexton Plains goal kicking?
2nd behind McNamee if I can recall correctly.
Sherman41
3 Jan 2007, 14:29
I heard he was at Maryborough for 07.
it was either one of the two but i am 99% sure he signed with clunes
Thoroughbred
3 Jan 2007, 14:43
2nd behind McNamee if I can recall correctly.
Yeah I knew McNamee beat him but I couldn't recall if Fitzgerald beat him too.
Thoroughbred
3 Jan 2007, 14:43
it was either one of the two but i am 99% sure he signed with clunes
Pity for Maryborough and Bushy.
CranktheAnchors
3 Jan 2007, 17:31
Donald was the last I heard. I know Learmonth enquired as Tim Beacham knows Ivan Pyke well he speaks highly of Sellers. Donald for cash was last I heard but I honestly haven't heard much lately, all has gone quiet. A lot of the Rovers boys were at the Highland games in Burra on New Years Day and I didn't see him there.
Last I heard Sellars was deciding between Rovers and Nyah up near swan hill. Nyah offered $ and a job. Anyone confirm:thumbsu: or deny:thumbsd:
KingRich
3 Jan 2007, 21:20
Last I heard Sellars was deciding between Rovers and Nyah up near swan hill. Nyah offered $ and a job. Anyone confirm:thumbsu: or deny:thumbsd:
Thats the other one I was thinking of! Love your work cranktheank! I dont know anything more though.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 10:24
I think Massina was chasing fairly hard for Kyneton and Natte was doing a bit once they heard he might be on the move.
Sherman41
4 Jan 2007, 10:55
I think Massina was chasing fairly hard for Kyneton and Natte was doing a bit once they heard he might be on the move.
definately hot property ATM isnt he will be interesting to see where he ends up and what he goes for..eg money etc etc
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 11:14
definately hot property ATM isnt he will be interesting to see where he ends up and what he goes for..eg money etc etc
If he was chasing a flag either Learmonth or Natte would be the logical choices. It would be win-win for both parties. A quality player like him into the two teams that nearly made the GF would be a huge inclusion.
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 11:17
If he was chasing a flag either Learmonth or Natte would be the logical choices. It would be win-win for both parties. A quality player like him into the two teams that nearly made the GF would be a huge inclusion.
Natte will go very close next year. C/L and Skipton both losing a few so Natte will be a big chance.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 11:27
Natte will go very close next year. C/L and Skipton both losing a few so Natte will be a big chance.
Pity they aren't in the MCDFL. Another team that might push Harcourt would be most welcome. I saw a few of their games last year, and they are a good young team. If they can hold that group together they will be strong for another 5 years.
LPFL is a tough comp when you're a Maryborough based team playing the Ballarat Region teams. It's a credit to Natte, but you get the feeling that they will one day be in here.
CranktheAnchors
4 Jan 2007, 12:03
Premiership Odds!
Harcourt $2
Newstead $5
Carisbrook $8
Rovers $11
Talbot $21
Avoca, Maldon $31
Cambells Creek, Dunolly $101
Trentham $501
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 12:18
Pity they aren't in the MCDFL. Another team that might push Harcourt would be most welcome. I saw a few of their games last year, and they are a good young team. If they can hold that group together they will be strong for another 5 years.
LPFL is a tough comp when you're a Maryborough based team playing the Ballarat Region teams. It's a credit to Natte, but you get the feeling that they will one day be in here.
They will be in sooner rather than later. They have shown an intent to join this league and will be the next side in.
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 12:23
Premiership Odds!
Harcourt $2
Newstead $5
Carisbrook $8
Rovers $11
Talbot $21
Avoca, Maldon $31
Trentham $501
Nice idea Crank:
Harcourt $2: Will be the team to be beat again. Some reports coming out that they are losing players but generally are able to recruit to cover.
Newstead, Carisbrook $6: Newstead should stay up and if they can recruit a few onballers will push Harcourt. Brook have lost Megs but they have the smarts and money to recruit and keep them team up the top.
Talbot $11: Are still recruiting reasonably well in the off season and hope to gain a couple more quality recruits before the season begins to complement their youth. At this stage they have lost none of last years list so should be quite competitive.
Rovers $21: I think they are in real trouble unfortunately. Quite a few quality players either leaving or nearing retirement.
Avoca $31: Lost a few but apparently new coach is well respected and should go ok.
Maldon $61: Lost some quality players from last year, cannot see them challenging.
Dunolly, Trentham, Creek $201: Trentham will surely improve, assume the others will hold their ground.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 12:39
They will be in sooner rather than later. They have shown an intent to join this league and will be the next side in.
Doubt it. I heard they got the go ahead but the committee said 'no'.
Pity, they'd be the best local team to push Harcourt ATM.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 12:41
Premiership Odds!
Harcourt $2
Newstead $5
Carisbrook $8
Rovers $11
Talbot $21
Avoca, Maldon $31
Trentham $501
I'd put Talbot at better odds than Rovers. Some good recruits. Talk of Jamie Bond returning (Surely not going to happen though).
Rovers are losing players quickly. Although they started preseason early and from all accounts are looking to take it up another notch. Although it is hard to do when your best players leave.
Has Dunolly even appointed a coach yet? I heard they have got plenty to spend.
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 12:50
Doubt it. I heard they got the go ahead but the committee said 'no'.
Pity, they'd be the best local team to push Harcourt ATM.
Wasn't aware that the committee had said no, I always thought it was a directive from the VCFL as it would cripple the Lexton Plains. But that would make sense also.
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 12:52
I'd put Talbot at better odds than Rovers. Some good recruits. Talk of Jamie Bond returning (Surely not going to happen though).
Rovers are losing players quickly. Although they started preseason early and from all accounts are looking to take it up another notch. Although it is hard to do when your best players leave.
Has Dunolly even appointed a coach yet? I heard they have got plenty to spend.
Rovers started early but apparently only got 7 I think from memory to their first training so not sure how much benefit that will be to their 07 aspirations.
I assumed Coombes is coaching again but haven't heard any confirmation of this.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 12:54
Wasn't aware that the committee had said no, I always thought it was a directive from the VCFL as it would cripple the Lexton Plains. But that would make sense also.
That was the rumour going around.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 12:58
Rovers started early but apparently only got 7 I think from memory to their first training so not sure how much benefit that will be to their 07 aspirations.
I'd say their window of opportunity has gone.
I assumed Coombes is coaching again but haven't heard any confirmation of this.
That is a coaches position where you would really earn your money if you actually wanted the club to improve.
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 13:26
That is a coaches position where you would really earn your money if you actually wanted the club to improve.
They just need to ensure they keep what they have and do a little recruiting. THey have some good juniors coming through, just need to make sure they hang onto them. Over the last few years they have lost some of their more talented players (eg Brad Hunt) and they need to make sure this doesn't happen. They just need to start improving each year and building. If they have money as has been mentioned there is no excuse really, just need to put in the hard work to maintain what they have and recruit some handy types to help them out.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 14:03
They just need to ensure they keep what they have and do a little recruiting. THey have some good juniors coming through, just need to make sure they hang onto them. Over the last few years they have lost some of their more talented players (eg Brad Hunt) and they need to make sure this doesn't happen. They just need to start improving each year and building. If they have money as has been mentioned there is no excuse really, just need to put in the hard work to maintain what they have and recruit some handy types to help them out.
It's hard to recruit players when you...
a) Don't win games
b) Lose by 300 points
No good recruits just play for the love of it. So you will generally have to pay a player a lot more to go to a $hit team than a high performing team.
I think all 3 of those teams would have played in a Grand Final in the last 10 years. It is amazing hwo quickly it can all turn to $hit.
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 14:05
It's hard to recruit players when you...
a) Don't win games
b) Lose by 300 points
No good recruits just play for the love of it. So you will generally have to pay a player a lot more to go to a $hit team than a high performing team.
I think all 3 of those teams would have played in a Grand Final in the last 10 years. It is amazing hwo quickly it can all turn to $hit.
Exactly and when you bottom out in country footy it can be a long way back to the top if you make it at all! Dunolly is a decent sized town, if managed correctly over the next 2-3 years they should be able to get a competitive side together.
Thoroughbred
4 Jan 2007, 14:16
Exactly and when you bottom out in country footy it can be a long way back to the top if you make it at all! Dunolly is a decent sized town, if managed correctly over the next 2-3 years they should be able to get a competitive side together.
It is a shame players go elsewhere. There are a few good players that were Dunolly based in the area.
Shane Hutchins and his brother would be handy to get back.
The Brady's are handy footballers who are out at Natte.
Both Jarrod and Dean Graco would be good to get back.
I know the older 2 McNamee's played out there and I think James played a season or two when he was yonunger.
There are around 10 players that could make some difference should they head back there.
chookie5
4 Jan 2007, 20:59
Premiership Odds!
Harcourt $2
Newstead $5
Carisbrook $8
Rovers $11
Talbot $21
Avoca, Maldon $31
Trentham $501
il have $50 on Trentham cranksta...
quality recruits and the hopes of a nation behind them, the feel good story of the year :thumbsu:
CranktheAnchors
4 Jan 2007, 21:27
I'd say their window of opportunity has gone.
Sellers to Nyah confirmed. Reliable source.;)
clifton's lookalike
4 Jan 2007, 21:46
if it's confirmed then why you on CMFL site asking if anybody on here has heard about it? they would want to be paying him an absolute stack and provided him a descent job for him to go there
CranktheAnchors
4 Jan 2007, 22:10
if it's confirmed then why you on CMFL site asking if anybody on here has heard about it? they would want to be paying him an absolute stack and provided him a descent job for him to go there
I was asking to see whether your end has heard about it mate. that's why.
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 08:35
Could be the start of the Rovers exodus perhaps..... What did he do for a living down here?
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 08:36
il have $50 on Trentham cranksta...
quality recruits and the hopes of a nation behind them, the feel good story of the year :thumbsu:
I'll take that bet chookie!
snappytom
5 Jan 2007, 08:56
Interesting for me to see the odds chart for this year.
the league sure has changed a bit since i was there.
i played with rovers in 73 and 74 under coach kirk but have been in WA ever since and lost contact with the league decades ago.
primrose,chewton,royal park and a team from up near bendigo that i cant recall the name of(was it kangaroo flat?) seem to have gone and new teams taken their spots.
is the league stronger for those changes?
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 09:11
Interesting for me to see the odds chart for this year.
the league sure has changed a bit since i was there.
i played with rovers in 73 and 74 under coach kirk but have been in WA ever since and lost contact with the league decades ago.
primrose,chewton,royal park and a team from up near bendigo that i cant recall the name of(was it kangaroo flat?) seem to have gone and new teams taken their spots.
is the league stronger for those changes?
Royal Park is still there mate they were just missed in those odds but they will be middle of the road. THere are 11 teams in the comp. League is better for it I think. More people involved and the league has a larger following perhaps now. Standard has been up and down for a few years now but was fairly solid last year.
Thoroughbred
5 Jan 2007, 09:13
2nd that. Very, very reliable source.
Sherman41
5 Jan 2007, 13:26
2nd that. Very, very reliable source.
its amazing the places ppl will go for money......but as they say money makes the world go round.
snappytom
5 Jan 2007, 13:37
The thing i remember most about the time i was there was the comaraderie between players and supporters.
Every sunday morning before the sun got up a bloke named father ryan would set up in the park with a few cartons of beer and set fire to the 44 gallon rubbish bins for warmth,and one by one the team and supporters would roll up for sunday morning beer and brekky ,used to get quite a roll up.
ive never encountered that sort of day after a game mateship in any other league ive been involved in.
of course that was over 30 yrs ago and todays game is so different,as are the laws.
but i must say it was a pleasure to be involved in
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 13:46
The thing i remember most about the time i was there was the comaraderie between players and supporters.
Every sunday morning before the sun got up a bloke named father ryan would set up in the park with a few cartons of beer and set fire to the 44 gallon rubbish bins for warmth,and one by one the team and supporters would roll up for sunday morning beer and brekky ,used to get quite a roll up.
ive never encountered that sort of day after a game mateship in any other league ive been involved in.
of course that was over 30 yrs ago and todays game is so different,as are the laws.
but i must say it was a pleasure to be involved in
Most teams I would say are still pretty tight with many loyal supporters. From Talbots perspective players and supporters are very tight! Good to hear from you Snappy Tom anyway, any chance you'll catch a game this year?
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 14:05
Guy on Central Murray board just said that Sellars to Nyah is signed, sealed and delivered!
bloodhound!
5 Jan 2007, 14:11
Most teams I would say are still pretty tight with many loyal supporters. From Talbots perspective players and supporters are very tight! Good to hear from you Snappy Tom anyway, any chance you'll catch a game this year?
In my time at Harcourt alot of the boys and supporters would rock up to the waddingtons on a sunday with a couple of boxes and help cart 2 truckloads of wood.
Thoroughbred
5 Jan 2007, 14:39
its amazing the places ppl will go for money......but as they say money makes the world go round.
New job, new location and some cold hard cash to go with it. A paying footy career only lasts 10-15 years at best so why not make the most of it.
You're a long time retired and $200-300 (example only) for 2 hours of footy beats half of most people's weekly pay check in Australia.
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 14:42
New job, new location and some cold hard cash to go with it. A paying footy career only lasts 10-15 years at best so why not make the most of it.
You're a long time retired and $200-300 (example only) for 2 hours of footy beats half of most people's weekly pay check in Australia.
Be $300 easily I would think to make the move IMO.
Who do you follow just out of interest Thoroughbred?
Thoroughbred
5 Jan 2007, 15:54
Be $300 easily I would think to make the move IMO.
Who do you follow just out of interest Thoroughbred?
Well that is serious money when the average Australian earns around $500 for a 40 hour week. Making $300 for a non coaching role is good money.
I might just keep my allegance out of this thread for the time being. Within 60 minutes travel of Maryborough is the only clue I'll give.
KingRich
5 Jan 2007, 16:06
Well that is serious money when the average Australian earns around $500 for a 40 hour week. Making $300 for a non coaching role is good money.
There would be a few in this league on that coin I would think plus there is a bit more money up the Murray way.
I might just keep my allegance out of this thread for the time being. Within 60 minutes travel of Maryborough is the only clue I'll give.
Fair enough too.
Sherman41
5 Jan 2007, 16:20
your right it is easy money.....and quite frankly when u way up the options it is hard to resist because there is no better feeling than being financially stable and a good paying footy gig definately helps, i mean he will prob make $450-500 dollars a week out of his job and lets say $300 on top of that which makes around $800 a week, thats some seriously good money right there. personally wouldnt be big on travellling 2-3 times a week but if located up there definately another plus
CranktheAnchors
6 Jan 2007, 12:23
Heard a whisper it was around the 400 dollar mark.
Thoroughbred i'll guess ballarat way over bendigo just a guess though.
KingRich
6 Jan 2007, 23:41
I'm thinking Ballarat too Crank.
$400 a game is very tough to say no to. That plus a job to move 2 hours away is not too bad at all.
Hopefully he plays well for Nyah and earns the cash, I'm sure he'll go alright.
localfootyguru
7 Jan 2007, 20:14
Fom the Avoca FC website. Lets hope the continual changes at the Bulldogs slow down for a while.
Tony Bellenger appointed Avoca Coach.
The Avoca FNC is extremely pleased to announce the appointment of Tony Bellenger (pictured right) to the position of Senior Coach for the 2007 season.
Tony is a hard at it on-baller and comes to the club with a wealth of experience, having accumulated six Senior Grade Best & Fairest awards during his 13 year senior football career.
He first played senior football for Newbridge as a 15 year old and after progressing through the ranks with that club, he then moved to Inglewood as Assistant coach for three years.
He coached Dunolly for two years and then headed to Wandella in the Golden Rivers FL where he coached a Runners Up team. Last season Tony was Assistant Coach to Brent Dyer at Newbridge which finished third in the LVFL and he is now looking forward to the challenge of leading Avoca back into the finals.
The netball team will also be happy as Tony's wife Brooke will also be joining him and donning the netball skirt for the reigning premiers.
A formal meet the coach day will be held on Sunday January 21st commencing with a training run at 11pm. All club supporters and current and new players are invited to attend.
Montyposty
8 Jan 2007, 06:47
Guy on Central Murray board just said that Sellars to Nyah is signed, sealed and delivered!
Job he has got is something to do with selling Windows.
If he moves up, which by the sounds of thing's he is, it will be very interesting to see if he can break from the appron strings of his mother. Bigger $$$ than $400 "Sherman" I hear. His Ute is why he needs to head off, needs the coin to pay for it.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 08:21
There would be a few in this league on that coin I would think plus there is a bit more money up the Murray way.
$300 is pretty small change for most decent clubs around the state which is a sad thing to say. In district style footy I would only pay that sort of money to proven higher standard footballers though.
What do you reckon the highest paid player gets in our league?
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 08:22
Thoroughbred i'll guess ballarat way over bendigo just a guess though.
What makes you say that? The fact that I've posted a couple of comments in the LPFL?
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 08:25
Fom the Avoca FC website. Lets hope the continual changes at the Bulldogs slow down for a while.
Tony Bellenger appointed Avoca Coach.
The Avoca FNC is extremely pleased to announce the appointment of Tony Bellenger (pictured right) to the position of Senior Coach for the 2007 season.
Tony is a hard at it on-baller and comes to the club with a wealth of experience, having accumulated six Senior Grade Best & Fairest awards during his 13 year senior football career.
He first played senior football for Newbridge as a 15 year old and after progressing through the ranks with that club, he then moved to Inglewood as Assistant coach for three years.
He coached Dunolly for two years and then headed to Wandella in the Golden Rivers FL where he coached a Runners Up team. Last season Tony was Assistant Coach to Brent Dyer at Newbridge which finished third in the LVFL and he is now looking forward to the challenge of leading Avoca back into the finals.
The netball team will also be happy as Tony's wife Brooke will also be joining him and donning the netball skirt for the reigning premiers.
A formal meet the coach day will be held on Sunday January 21st commencing with a training run at 11pm. All club supporters and current and new players are invited to attend.
He sounds exactly what the Dogs need. Although the word is that there will be a number of exits.
Sherman41
8 Jan 2007, 09:27
$300 is pretty small change for most decent clubs around the state which is a sad thing to say. In district style footy I would only pay that sort of money to proven higher standard footballers though.
What do you reckon the highest paid player gets in our league?
well your right $300 is small change to most decent clubs these days, but when u throw in a job for him, his missus and a house it a fair effort as u are virtually providing a living for a guy for 6 months.....
i would have to say the most highly paid players in this league would be up around the $400 mark.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 09:43
well your right $300 is small change to most decent clubs these days, but when u throw in a job for him, his missus and a house it a fair effort as u are virtually providing a living for a guy for 6 months.....
i would have to say the most highly paid players in this league would be up around the $400 mark.
They are providing a great living for the guy.
It is a huge commitment for Nyah and they would be hoping that this is a long term move. If you can gain a recruit at the age of 20-24 and have them for 5 or 6 years, you have done something very good for the club. A one year recruit is a waste of money. Short term/high expense success equals years of $hitful results.
How much do you reckon Learmonth, Natte and Donald would have offered him?
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 10:19
They are providing a great living for the guy.
It is a huge commitment for Nyah and they would be hoping that this is a long term move. If you can gain a recruit at the age of 20-24 and have them for 5 or 6 years, you have done something very good for the club. A one year recruit is a waste of money. Short term/high expense success equals years of $hitful results.
How much do you reckon Learmonth, Natte and Donald would have offered him?
Natte couldn't afford that price I would guess and he wouldn't be worth it in that style of comp. Heaps have left Donald so they would have had some coin to offer, prob around the $300 mark and Learmonth I'm not too sure although one would think they would already have a fair bit of money tied up with current players. The job and the type of club it is etc would have been the deciding factors I think as I would think Donald would match the price.
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
8 Jan 2007, 10:26
So how good is this bloke? What sort of player is he?
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 10:46
Natte couldn't afford that price I would guess and he wouldn't be worth it in that style of comp. Heaps have left Donald so they would have had some coin to offer, prob around the $300 mark and Learmonth I'm not too sure although one would think they would already have a fair bit of money tied up with current players. The job and the type of club it is etc would have been the deciding factors I think as I would think Donald would match the price.
I'd say either Natte or Carisbrook would be the richest clubs within 30 minutes of Maryborough. Natte has a heap of quality on ballers yet lack talls so I think there money could be spent elsewhere. They must have some spare change because many of their best players are locals.
Learmonth has a heap of good players too and I agree that they would have a fair bit tied up.
He must like challenges as Nyah won only one game last season with a percentage of 50.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 10:50
I'd say either Natte or Carisbrook would be the richest clubs within 30 minutes of Maryborough. Natte has a heap of quality on ballers yet lack talls so I think there money could be spent elsewhere. They must have some spare change because many of their best players are locals.
Learmonth has a heap of good players too and I agree that they would have a fair bit tied up.
He must like challenges as Nyah won only one game last season with a percentage of 50.
I didn't realise Natte had much cash. Brook would be the richest one would think.
Nyah have always had money to spend so I would think they are capable of turning it around quickly. Not sure if Sellars is the main man to do that though.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 10:53
He's silky skilled, wouldn't be quite 6 foot and I would play him off a half back flank. His penetrating kicks were of value at Maryborough when he was there and still has that skill.
I think the fuss is because he was in that VCFL Victorian team. If he didn't play in that I would suggest he would not have had the offers from many of these clubs.
I would probably just squeeze him into my MCDFL top 10.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 10:55
I didn't realise Natte had much cash. Brook would be the richest one would think.
Nyah have always had money to spend so I would think they are capable of turning it around quickly. Not sure if Sellars is the main man to do that though.
Many of those farming towns seem to have $$$.
It's funny how Sellers moving has created far more interest than Megs' departure.
Sherman41
8 Jan 2007, 10:55
he is a farly handy player put it that way, he is not a gun but he does read the play well and is a beautiful kick of the footy, can kick the ball 60 metres which would have to be his best assett, has gotten himself quite fit in the last 2-3 years and slimmed down and is quite a solid unit now and not as slow as he used to be, would be best suited IMO as a running half back flanker and designated kicker form a behind, does not have the height to play forward. he generally plays as a link up player that likes to get free and kick the football whenever he can, very good at kicking to position and setting up forward thrusts
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 11:02
I still reckon he can play a role as a 2nd or 3rd tall forward. He would be 6ft and has the smarts to play as a medium forward. Played all his juniors as a forward. Senior years he has played as a backman and provided the run from the backline. I think he is versatile though and is capable of playing key back as well.
Agree with thoroughbred in that his VCFL selection has raised his stocks probably more than they should. I would have him in my MCDFL top 10 I would think, but yeah only just.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 11:06
Many of those farming towns seem to have $$$.
It's funny how Sellers moving has created far more interest than Megs' departure.
Yeah it has. I will follow his fortunes closely next year at Great Western. Will be interesting to see if he can emulate his form in a higher league. If he is applying himself as has been suggested then I think he can. Has been known to be quite lazy. Has all the talent in the world though.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 11:08
I still reckon he can play a role as a 2nd or 3rd tall forward. He would be 6ft and has the smarts to play as a medium forward. Played all his juniors as a forward. Senior years he has played as a backman and provided the run from the backline. I think he is versatile though and is capable of playing key back as well.
Agree with thoroughbred in that his VCFL selection has raised his stocks probably more than they should. I would have him in my MCDFL top 10 I would think, but yeah only just.
He won back to back B&F's at Rovers but I wouldn't say he is their MVP. I'll give that to Elliot or Fraser.
I think by playing him forward you miss out on the long penetrating kick. Half back flank can be a very attacking position if you play it right. He'd be good for 2 goals a game off a hbf.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 11:09
He won back to back B&F's at Rovers but I wouldn't say he is their MVP. I'll give that to Elliot or Fraser.
I think by playing him forward you miss out on the long penetrating kick. Half back flank can be a very attacking position if you play it right. He'd be good for 2 goals a game off a hbf.
Players like him generally garner a lot of votes in the B&F. He is the golden boy at Rovers after all! Wonder what Jock thinks of the move!?!?!?!
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 11:12
Yeah it has. I will follow his fortunes closely next year at Great Western. Will be interesting to see if he can emulate his form in a higher league. If he is applying himself as has been suggested then I think he can. Has been known to be quite lazy. Has all the talent in the world though.
Pity he didn't go to Maryborough in 2004. The forward line would have been quite formidable with Bond, Elliot, Reynolds and co. Chuck Megs in there and any back line would have been stretched.
That would have been the test for him. A solid Major League team when the BFL actually was strong.
snappytom
8 Jan 2007, 11:14
When i was at rovers snowy elliott was the skipper and gun player,is the elliott now playing his son?
talk of money in the bush nowdays is interesting,far cry from my days when even the players had to pay the dollar or whatever it was to get in the gate.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 11:16
Players like him generally garner a lot of votes in the B&F. He is the golden boy at Rovers after all! Wonder what Jock thinks of the move!?!?!?!
He'd know that Rovers are up for a lean year with or without Sellers.
Have you signed Jamie Bond at Talbot yet King Rich?
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 11:19
When i was at rovers snowy elliott was the skipper and gun player,is the elliott now playing his son?
Yeah it's his son.
talk of money in the bush nowdays is interesting,far cry from my days when even the players had to pay the dollar or whatever it was to get in the gate.
They still pay the money to get in, but there is a nice envelope full of cash waiting for them on the other side of the gate.
Sherman41
8 Jan 2007, 11:37
ah the old jamie bond rumour hey, i believe he is contemplating playing again, but not at talbot as far as i believe, firsty it was avoca he was rumoured to but obviously thaT IS a load of s%^t, but think maryborough would be the only place he would think about comping out of retirement for
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 11:49
ah the old jamie bond rumour hey, i believe he is contemplating playing again, but not at talbot as far as i believe, firsty it was avoca he was rumoured to but obviously thaT IS a load of s%^t, but think maryborough would be the only place he would think about comping out of retirement for
I heard Avoca too but dismissed it automatically.
I also heard Natte was putting some effort into recruiting him. They could slot him in at CHF or FF very comfortably. As could most teams I guess.
Talbot would be logical. Talbot is obviously keen to get the throne back and nobody would be a bigger sentimental recruit for Talbot than Jamie. Finish his footy career with a Talbot flag would be very fitting.
Maryborough are done and dusted already this year. Crameri, Clarkson and a few others leaving will hurt them. I personally could not see the sense in coming back and playing in a team that will not make the finals and will be likely to hold the ladder up.
If he plays, I tip Talbot. He is looking very fit too.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 12:01
Time will tell Thoroughbred, If I had answers to give i would give them but I dont at the moment.
We pretty much speak to him every year to make his return before he retires. Would be very hard to stop in this league.
Sherman41
8 Jan 2007, 12:05
I heard Avoca too but dismissed it automatically.
I also heard Natte was putting some effort into recruiting him. They could slot him in at CHF or FF very comfortably. As could most teams I guess.
Talbot would be logical. Talbot is obviously keen to get the throne back and nobody would be a bigger sentimental recruit for Talbot than Jamie. Finish his footy career with a Talbot flag would be very fitting.
Maryborough are done and dusted already this year. Crameri, Clarkson and a few others leaving will hurt them. I personally could not see the sense in coming back and playing in a team that will not make the finals and will be likely to hold the ladder up.
If he plays, I tip Talbot. He is looking very fit too.
i think you are clutching at straws here thoroughbred, i would be 99% sure he will not play at talbot, i have heard from a very very reliable source that he may be contemplating playing again but has not mentioned anything to them at all, about who he may play for, he just smirks when asked if he is playing.
yes it would be good though if jamie did decide to finish his career where he started and would definately help talbot out a lot...
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 12:06
Time will tell Thoroughbred, If I had answers to give i would give them but I dont at the moment.
We pretty much speak to him every year to make his return before he retires. Would be very hard to stop in this league.
Good luck. It would be great for the entire league.
Where would you play him CHF or FF?
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 12:10
i think you are clutching at straws here thoroughbred, i would be 99% sure he will not play at talbot, i have heard from a very very reliable source that he may be contemplating playing again but has not mentioned anything to them at all, about who he may play for, he just smirks when asked if he is playing.
You honestly think the most decorate Maryborough player ever, would go back and play at Maryborough when they are losing all their decent young players? Add Ash Noonan to my list from before.
I think a Pagans Paddock style role in a District League would suit him very well at his age.
Just my personal opinion, but I can't see what is to be gained from going back to Maryborough.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 12:26
Good luck. It would be great for the entire league.
Where would you play him CHF or FF?
I would play him at FF in all honesty. One on one would be unstoppable. Leave Glen Wills, Nath Smith and Matt Bond to patrol half forward. Benchy could slot in down near Jamie with a crumber, Sammy Brown or a Buxy around them would be quite potent. All hypothetical of course.
Not sure how mobile he is these days so would like to play him deep on his own. Dont know of many defenders in our league that could stop him in all honesty.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 13:17
I would play him at FF in all honesty. One on one would be unstoppable. Leave Glen Wills, Nath Smith and Matt Bond to patrol half forward. Benchy could slot in down near Jamie with a crumber, Sammy Brown or a Buxy around them would be quite potent. All hypothetical of course.
Not sure how mobile he is these days so would like to play him deep on his own. Dont know of many defenders in our league that could stop him in all honesty.
Couldn't be stopped in a Pagans paddock style. The opposition would have to double team him and with the other options you mentioned, it would be a risky move.
He'd get the 100 no worries.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 13:26
Couldn't be stopped in a Pagans paddock style. The opposition would have to double team him and with the other options you mentioned, it would be a risky move.
He'd get the 100 no worries.
You would think so. We have recruited a few more midfielders for next season so the supply to the forwards should be better anyway.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 13:33
You would think so. We have recruited a few more midfielders for next season so the supply to the forwards should be better anyway.
So who has actually put pen to paper other than Bench and Wills?
Have you got any names for any teams in the area? Including Maryborough and Natte?
Hey boys, trust you all had a good christmas and a happy new year:thumbsu:
There may be a little bit in the Bond-to-Avoca rumour. Not saying it is a sure thing but as I understand some people around the club have been trying to persuade him to pull on the boots for the dogs. Would be a great asset to the club, but personally I can't see it happening.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 13:51
Hey boys, trust you all had a good christmas and a happy new year:thumbsu:
There may be a little bit in the Bond-to-Avoca rumour. Not saying it is a sure thing but as I understand some people around the club have been trying to persuade him to pull on the boots for the dogs. Would be a great asset to the club, but personally I can't see it happening.
Much like the Tim McKay from the Lexton League was going there?
Can't say I'd heard that one, but we'd take him as well:D
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 14:05
Can't say I'd heard that one, but we'd take him as well:D
You wouldn't be the only team talking to Bond and McKay. I can't see you getting either but it is worth a shot.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 14:21
So who has actually put pen to paper other than Bench and Wills?
Have you got any names for any teams in the area? Including Maryborough and Natte?
Look to be honest I cant mention too many names as there are a number who have not 100% committed as yet. But I will mention a few as there is nothing worse than someone sayings lots but saying nothing if you know what I mean. A lot of ex players are returning in Nigel Oswin, Clay Sendall, Mark Tardrew, Jason Allen to name a few off the top of my head. There are a couple more that I'm not thinking of that will come to me later. Club is hopeful of signing a few other new recruits over the coming weeks.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 14:23
A mate of mine that plays for Skipton mentioned that McKay was leaving but not sure if that was to another club or retirement. If he is playing on and has announced leaving Skipton so early then he is obviously already signed up somewhere else. Bond has been asked by Avoca to coach and said no my sources tell me and now they have filled that position they have obviously moved on.
I would highly doubt that Bond would play with a club in the same league as Talbot also. Just my opinion. I know a lot at the club would be disappointed.
Look to be honest I cant mention too many names as there are a number who have not 100% committed as yet. But I will mention a few as there is nothing worse than someone sayings lots but saying nothing if you know what I mean. A lot of ex players are returning in Nigel Oswin, Clay Sendall, Mark Tardrew, Jason Allen to name a few off the top of my head. There are a couple more that I'm not thinking of that will come to me later. Club is hopeful of signing a few other new recruits over the coming weeks.
Have heard Sendall has sold his house and is headed overseas later in the year? Would be a handy pick-up if he sees out the season though.
I would highly doubt that Bond would play with a club in the same league as Talbot also. Just my opinion. I know a lot at the club would be disappointed.[/quote]
Yeah, fair call Rich. I guess there is still a little bit of loyalty left in footy.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 14:33
Have heard Sendall has sold his house and is headed overseas later in the year? Would be a handy pick-up if he sees out the season though.
Dont believe that is true as of a couple of weeks ago when I last spoke to him but things may have changed. As far as I know he will suit up this year, injuries permitting.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 14:34
I would highly doubt that Bond would play with a club in the same league as Talbot also. Just my opinion. I know a lot at the club would be disappointed.
Yeah. That's why I reckon he might be a chance out there.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 14:36
I'm tipping a very big year for Talbot. All the talk around town is Harcourt and Carisbrook. Talbot might surprise a few. These guys coming back know how to win flags.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 14:41
I'm tipping a very big year for Talbot. All the talk around town is Harcourt and Carisbrook. Talbot might surprise a few. These guys coming back know how to win flags.
We will certainly improve that is what I will say. Have maintained out list from last year and should be able to add 7-10 senior players which should hopefully get us up near the top 3-4.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 14:44
We will certainly improve that is what I will say. Have maintained out list from last year and should be able to add 7-10 senior players which should hopefully get us up near the top 3-4.
7-10 senior players is a lot more than a physical number. Players that were played out of position last year can now move into their appropriate roles.
Also, your young players get another year older and better.
Don't discount Talbot this year.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 14:53
7-10 senior players is a lot more than a physical number. Players that were played out of position last year can now move into their appropriate roles.
Also, your young players get another year older and better.
Don't discount Talbot this year.
you obviously saw a few Talbot games last year Thoroughbred to know that we are young and players were played out of position....?????
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 14:55
you obviously saw a few Talbot games last year Thoroughbred to know that we are young and players were played out of position....?????
Maybe. Might have played against them too. Or for them...
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 14:57
Maybe. Might have played against them too. Or for them...
You have pretty good grammar which discounts most of my team mates!:D
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 15:01
You have pretty good grammar which discounts most of my team mates!:D
Haha. Just pretty good?
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 15:02
Haha. Just pretty good?
Well compared to me (The Benchmark for this thread:thumbsu: :D ) you are pretty good! With or against Thoroughbred and I'll leave it at that?
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 15:07
Whats the new coach like out at Avoca anyway Shamui?? Has he taken training yet?
I have spoken to a few Avoca blokes who were going to be leaving and are now staying because of him which is positive news.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 15:08
Well compared to me (The Benchmark for this thread:thumbsu: :D ) you are pretty good! With or against Thoroughbred and I'll leave it at that?
I shall remain nameless and teamless on this thread.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 15:10
Whats the new coach like out at Avoca anyway Shamui?? Has he taken training yet?
I have spoken to a few Avoca blokes who were going to be leaving and are now staying because of him which is positive news.
Most of the Avoca guys are all talk.
Tapner has been going to Natte for the last couple of years. It'd never happen.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 15:12
Most of the Avoca guys are all talk.
Tapner has been going to Natte for the last couple of years. It'd never happen.
I know there are a few that openly shop themselves around every year.... Do you think that the club and their team mates appreciate this?