View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
Whats the new coach like out at Avoca anyway Shamui?? Has he taken training yet?
I have spoken to a few Avoca blokes who were going to be leaving and are now staying because of him which is positive news.
Not quite sure Rich, I'm yet to meet him. We've got a meet the coach day and light training run on the 21st. A couple of the boys played under him at Dunolly and from all reports did a pretty good job. From what I hear there is the possiblity of him bringing a couple of key position players with him, but, as you would know nothing is set until they sign on the dotted line.
The loss of Robbo and possibly Hammo will leave big holes to fill. Otherwise we should be able to retain most of the players from last year.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 15:16
I know there are a few that openly shop themselves around every year.... Do you think that the club and their team mates appreciate this?
Probably not. Apparently Hamilton and Robinson are off to Carisbrook. I couldn't play against my home team.
Tapner will stay.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 15:20
Probably not. Apparently Hamilton and Robinson are off to Carisbrook. I couldn't play against my home team.
Tapner will stay.
Brad Hunt staying as well after he was rumoured to be disgruntled and leaving. Hammo is one that seems to be leaving every year so I will believe that when I see it. He was coming to Talbot last year from all reports and then backed out late.
Hamilton and Robbo will be big losses. KPP are Avoca's Achilles heal at the moment so hopefully they can recruit a couple with this new coach as the loss of Hamilton and Wills will hurt. Have plenty of good young onballers.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 15:27
Brad Hunt staying as well after he was rumoured to be disgruntled and leaving.
Pfft. What's he got to be disgruntled about? He's come from Dunolly. At least Avoca win a few games. Where would he go?
Hamilton and Robbo will be big losses. KPP are Avoca's Achilles heal at the moment so hopefully they can recruit a couple with this new coach as the loss of Hamilton and Wills will hurt. Have plenty of good young onballers.
Robbo will be a big loss. I think Hamilton will stay at Avoca. Similar thing to Tapner.
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 15:35
[quote=Thoroughbred;6506450] I couldn't play against my home team.quote]
Its obviously not a massive concern for some as Megs and Luke Robbo both have done it for years. Doesn't surprise that Nick has followed his brother out there if anywhere i guess but I agree I couldn't do it.
Thoroughbred
8 Jan 2007, 15:37
[quote=Thoroughbred;6506450] I couldn't play against my home team.quote]
Its obviously not a massive concern for some as Megs and Luke Robbo both have done it for years. Doesn't surprise that Nick has followed his brother out there if anywhere i guess but I agree I couldn't do it.
That's why I reckon guys like Tapner would only move to Natte if they were going somewhere else.
Billy_The_Kid
8 Jan 2007, 16:20
What is Avoca Looking like for 2007
KingRich
8 Jan 2007, 16:28
What is Avoca Looking like for 2007
Fairly similar to last year. Probably a little weaker with the chance they may lose a couple. There is plenty about Avoca on previous pages Kid.
Sherman41
8 Jan 2007, 16:48
well well well plenty of action on the forum of late..........can only imagine what it s gonna be like closer to the season when all deals are signed sealed and delivered, there are some very promising out looks for many clubs however so u cant write any one off at this stage and no one knows what deals could be done under the table at this stage
Billy_The_Kid
9 Jan 2007, 07:44
What should an assistant coach get paid in this league including travelling??:confused:
Might need some more info on that to make a fair call on that kid? I guess there are alot of things that need to be taken into account - the calibre of player, leadership skills, travelling distance, club payment policies, etc. Are you asking as an assistant coach or club official?
Sherman41
9 Jan 2007, 08:11
um hard to say, i would say maybe $150 -200 a game max, it would have to depend on how good the player is, if he was a non playing assistant coach $100, personally i dont think they need to be payed the big bucks in this league
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 08:31
Depends how far you have to travel and how good you are really.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 08:34
Yeah Shamui has hit the nail on the head. Depends on lots of things: Quality of the player, distance travelled etc.
Sherman, I highly doubt you'd be paying a non playing assistant coach anything unless he was very very very good.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 08:37
Yeah Shamui has hit the nail on the head. Depends on lots of things: Quality of the player, distance travelled etc.
Sherman, I highly doubt you'd be paying a non playing assistant coach anything unless he was very very very good.
Off field coaching duties are often underrated but playing coaches miss a $hitload on the ground. It pays off to have someone tactically minded on the bench.
Although, I wouldn't pay a off field coach unless I had money like Carisbrook or Harcourt.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 08:42
Off field coaching duties are often underrated but playing coaches miss a $hitload on the ground. It pays off to have someone tactically minded on the bench.
Although, I wouldn't pay a off field coach unless I had money like Carisbrook or Harcourt.
I agree that you definately need one if you coach is playing but normally the Senior Coach will appoint someone reliable without needing cash. He'd want to be bloody good at what he does with the magnets to get $100 a game to sit there IMO.
We have had some success with using a bench-coach (someone that is reasonably familiar with the coach and club) to watch over the game from the sidelines. This gives the coach the opportunity to focus completely on the game at hand. As you said though thoruoghbred they need to be in tune with the way the team plays and the way the coach thinks.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 08:51
Bench coaches are great as long as the senior coach appoints them (which he should) and they have half an idea and are empowered to make decisions. If they cant make decisions there is no point. I agree though they are the way to go if you have a playing coach, which most country clubs do.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 09:07
We have had some success with using a bench-coach (someone that is reasonably familiar with the coach and club) to watch over the game from the sidelines. This gives the coach the opportunity to focus completely on the game at hand. As you said though thoruoghbred they need to be in tune with the way the team plays and the way the coach thinks.
Sometimes being too familiar with the club is a bad thing. People worry about making the hard decisions off the field.
Sherman41
9 Jan 2007, 09:13
you may be right maybe they are not payed, but i was just throwing it out there to get an understanding, of what is expected of an assistant coach around the traps, but king rich it would be ignorant not to think that some non playing assistant coaches dont get any incentives at all, as some have to travel and give up there time for such a role, i would be surprised if some were willing to do it for nothing.....king rich i think you are judging your opinion on talbot as they have have locals that do it that play in the two's before hand, and as thoroughbred said clubs with enough money can afford to splash it around if they think it will help them succeed
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 09:30
you may be right maybe they are not payed, but i was just throwing it out there to get an understanding, of what is expected of an assistant coach around the traps, but king rich it would be ignorant not to think that some non playing assistant coaches dont get any incentives at all, as some have to travel and give up there time for such a role, i would be surprised if some were willing to do it for nothing.....king rich i think you are judging your opinion on talbot as they have have locals that do it that play in the two's before hand, and as thoroughbred said clubs with enough money can afford to splash it around if they think it will help them succeed
The playing coach is only in existance due to monetry constraints. It means you can pay your star player and they do a lot of extra work. I think on ball playing coaches don't have a clue what is going on out there. They are too busy being in the thick of the action. The only positions where I think a playing coach is positive are somewhere on the FF or FB line.
Having said this, the off field coach is crucial to a teams success. Most clubs dismiss this automatically as a role you can throw to some 2's player that doesn't get on the cans after the game. A good off field coach and runner can make a huge difference in a team. Especially at the pointy end of the ladder.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 09:55
I'm not just judging Talbot, have been around a few footy clubs in my time (non playing) and my point is simple, there would be very very few "assistant non playing" senior coaches that get paid in leagues in this area. It is a waste of resources IMO and you should be able to get someone who is capable to commit for nothing. Its not a big commitment after all. Most assistants would be someone that the Senior coach knows and would do it for next to nothing. Most assistants volunteer as they want to be involved.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 09:59
I'm not just judging Talbot, have been around a few footy clubs in my time (non playing) and my point is simple, there would be very very few "assistant non playing" senior coaches that get paid in leagues in this area. It is a waste of resources IMO and you should be able to get someone who is capable to commit for nothing. Its not a big commitment after all. Most assistants would be someone that the Senior coach knows and would do it for next to nothing. Most assistants volunteer as they want to be involved.
You're right. Most would do it for nothing. I couldn't see anyone in the MCDFL paying a non playing assistant coach.
If you've got cash, spend it on players.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:04
Changing topic a bit. Word is Trentham have recruited a number of players... What would it take to get them competitive. From memory they had 2-3 decent onballers, no forwards and one decent backman. I would say only 5-6 of them would get a game at a top 5 club. Do you think they will be any chance to move above any of the stronger teams or will they just be challenging with Creek and Dunolly for spoon rights?? Last year unfortunately they were the worst senior team I have ever seen!
Sherman41
9 Jan 2007, 10:06
yes king rich i agree with this as i stated it earlier in this league i dont feel they are that important that they need to payed, but if clubs in this league have the money to throw it around then i would imagine some would offer some incentives. yes generally assistant coaches are ppl who have a fair bit to do with the club, and do not expect money but it is when clubs start getting outsiders it has to be questioned.
all in all though they are fairly important to team success but not that important that clubs need to spend exuberant amounts of money on.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:09
Changing topic a bit. Word is Trentham have recruited a number of players... What would it take to get them competitive. From memory they had 2-3 decent onballers, no forwards and one decent backman. I would say only 5-6 of them would get a game at a top 5 club. Do you think they will be any chance to move above any of the stronger teams or will they just be challenging with Creek and Dunolly for spoon rights?? Last year unfortunately they were the worst senior team I have ever seen!
This is crunch time for them. They will need to do a lot of work. Dunolly was lucky that their worst year was in the Loddon Valley league. Stepping back into ours is a fair drop in standard which definetly eased some of the tension. Trentham have nowhere to go but fold if they suffer another year similar to 2006.
Trentham need to look at it over a longer period. Get themselves off the bottom and get a few wins. That will relieve the tension significantly.
Any news on CC or Dunolly?
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:11
When do clearances open?? I was told they could be signed at any time but none have been registered with the league as yet.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:11
If Trentham would provide a hot shower to the Visitors once in their life I would give them a lot more respect!
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:21
When do clearances open?? I was told they could be signed at any time but none have been registered with the league as yet.
I think they are open now.
I think they will be more competitive than last year, but it would be hard to see them making their way too far up the ladder. I think the key for them is a strong committee. Maybe in 2-3 seasons time they could be a very competitive side. Is it true they have recruited some 2nds players from Harcourt that couldn't get a regular senior gig?
Montyposty
9 Jan 2007, 10:25
What more have you heard KingRich? Other than the possibility of the Daylesford youngsters.
Also on the Talbot recruiting you guy's will have to manage your list very carefully to avoid upsetting these younger players that were so promising last year, as the pace and skills were a great improvement on previous years. The older blokes you have mentioned might not complement the team as much as you suggest.
Montyposty
9 Jan 2007, 10:26
I think they will be more competitive than last year, but it would be hard to see them making their way too far up the ladder. I think the key for them is a strong committee. Maybe in 2-3 seasons time they could be a very competitive side. Is it true they have recruited some 2nds players from Harcourt that couldn't get a regular senior gig?
Have heard this rumour also.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:28
Starting a new topic.
Hypothetically, which five current players in the area (not playing MCDFL) would you want in your team?
My five would be (in no particular order)...
1. Matt Aston
2. Joel Malone
3. Stew Crameri
4. Stephen Ross
5. James McNamee
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:32
What more have you heard KingRich? Other than the possibility of the Daylesford youngsters.
Also on the Talbot recruiting you guy's will have to manage your list very carefully to avoid upsetting these younger players that were so promising last year, as the pace and skills were a great improvement on previous years. The older blokes you have mentioned might not complement the team as much as you suggest.
The older blokes mentioned will have to earn their stripes and are not walk up starts to the seniors on name only and they understand this. They are working hard to get themselves right. In saying that, the club will always welcome back homegrown(more than 5 years service to the club) and loyal players at any opportunity.
All the young players in the club want success and understand the need to recruit players to assist them. Whilst I understand what you are saying, its obvious that Talbot needs to recruit to challenge for a flag. Everyone is pulling in the one direction at the moment so we'll wait to see who suits up for round 1.
As for Trentham, I spoke to a Trentham official about a month ago and he mentioned that they had recruited a few players that they believe are quite good and are working on a few others. I have also heard the rumour of the Harcourt reserves.
bloodhound!
9 Jan 2007, 10:33
If Trentham would provide a hot shower to the Visitors once in their life I would give them a lot more respect!
Tied for first with Mount Pleasant as having the most disgusting, filthy scumiest visitors facilities that i have had the displeasure of using. Both are like standing in disease.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:35
Starting a new topic.
Hypothetically, which five current players in the area (not playing MCDFL) would you want in your team?
1. Matt Aston
2. Joel Malone
3. Stew Crameri
4. Stephen Ross
5. James McNamee
I really dont see enough of Maryborough to comment properly on this.
I would agree with the above list, perhaps throw in a Mick Jennings, Jamie Bond if playing, Skinner, Chadwick.
I believe Ash Evans will be returning from Queensland this year so he would up there. be interesting if he heads home to Natte or back to Burra.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:37
Tied for first with Mount Pleasant as having the most disgusting, filthy scumiest visitors facilities that i have had the displeasure of using. Both are like standing in disease.
Ha Ha Ha, was worse when you had to share the showers with the home team and umpires! 1 year many a year ago there was a fair blue in the showers after the game. I can imagine there would be nothing worse than trying to protect yourself on a slippery surface in the birthday suit!:D
A little bit of carpet on the concrete wouldn't hurt to avoid the early stages on hypthermia that you have contracted whilst playing.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:42
Football is about winning flags and creating a strong club. If the lower portion of the regular 2006 players think they will get a senior game with no worries in 2007 they are stupid.
The club is obviously on the improve. You can't be a lower end player in a non finals team and think you will get a game without busting your a$$.
The younger kids with talent will be better players for the experience of last year but will learn even more from the finals hardened players coming back.
Competition for a game creates a better training environment and attendances.
If Bench and Wills put down some team rules and everyone sticks to them, it is simple to select the best players in the finals. If a old head comes in and doesn't abide, don't play him.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:44
I really dont see enough of Maryborough to comment properly on this.
I would agree with the above list, perhaps throw in a Mick Jennings, Jamie Bond if playing, Skinner, Chadwick.
I believe Ash Evans will be returning from Queensland this year so he would up there. be interesting if he heads home to Natte or back to Burra.
Ash Evans to Natte. He won't go to Maryborough. Big inclusion for them.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:46
Ash Evans to Natte. He won't go to Maryborough. Big inclusion for them.
Bloody oath. Last time I spoke to him he was play QAFL up there which is quite a good standard. If fit will carve up that league.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:49
Bloody oath. Last time I spoke to him he was play QAFL up there which is quite a good standard. If fit will carve up that league.
Well he did come 3rd in the Bendigo Leage B&F in 2004 so I think any league will suit him.
Flag year for Natte?
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 10:52
Well he did come 3rd in the Bendigo Leage B&F in 2004 so I think any league will suit him.
Flag year for Natte?
Yeah your right. Natte's best chance for a while. Other teams weakening, Natte getting stronger. I always thought their best chance would be when Prickles Martin went back there but looks like this year, with luck, could be their year. Of course Skipton, even tho they lose some, will be hard to beat as always as they always draw some Uni students every year to play for them.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 10:59
Yeah your right. Natte's best chance for a while. Other teams weakening, Natte getting stronger. I always thought their best chance would be when Prickles Martin went back there but looks like this year, with luck, could be their year. Of course Skipton, even tho they lose some, will be hard to beat as always as they always draw some Uni students every year to play for them.
They've got some quality players like the following...
Coach James McNamee
Steven Ross
Brent Mortlock
Clint Ross
Wenden Robinson
Jeremy Robinson
The 3 Berlunds
Jamie Andrews
I'd like to see them in here but I think more than ever they have got some unresolved issues in that league and a flag would suit them nicely. I can't see Macca accepting anything other than a flag this year as the goal.
They've got some quality players like the following...
Coach James McNamee
Steven Ross
Brent Mortlock
Clint Ross
Wenden Robinson
Jeremy Robinson
The 3 Berlunds
Jamie Andrews
I'd like to see them in here but I think more than ever they have got some unresolved issues in that league and a flag would suit them nicely. I can't see Macca accepting anything other than a flag this year as the goal.
They have got some stars as you have pointed out Thoroughbred. The thing that has impressed me about Natte is the development of their fringe players. Napes Ross is one that comes to mind (there are others but their names escape me right now!!) He has developed into an important member of their squad. I think with their mix they have got the goods to go all the way.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 11:20
They have got some stars as you have pointed out Thoroughbred. The thing that has impressed me about Natte is the development of their fringe players. Napes Ross is one that comes to mind (there are others but their names escape me right now!!) He has developed into an important member of their squad. I think with their mix they have got the goods to go all the way.
Yeah he's not the likely sort but from the games I have seen, he is very good. The older Ross is a handy ruckman too. I saw them beat Carnham in that final at Lexton. He carved it up in the ruck.
They should be in our league as it would greatly strengthen it. You have to tip the cap to them for being competitive compared to those Ballarat based teams.
They play an impressive brand of football and I have heard they are only losing 1 player but have already signed a CHF and CHB from Ballarat.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 11:53
Yeah he's not the likely sort but from the games I have seen, he is very good. The older Ross is a handy ruckman too. I saw them beat Carnham in that final at Lexton. He carved it up in the ruck.
They should be in our league as it would greatly strengthen it. You have to tip the cap to them for being competitive compared to those Ballarat based teams.
They play an impressive brand of football and I have heard they are only losing 1 player but have already signed a CHF and CHB from Ballarat.
Height was their only major weakness last year. If they can address that they should be going alright!
You got any inside knowledge of any MCDFL clubs their thoroughbred to share with us??:thumbsu: :)
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 12:05
Height was their only major weakness last year. If they can address that they should be going alright!
You got any inside knowledge of any MCDFL clubs their thoroughbred to share with us??:thumbsu: :)
Just what's been put up here. Things are pretty stagnant at the moment. A few big recruits coming to a certain club, but there is no point putting names up as it might actually spoil negotiations.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 12:09
Just what's been put up here. Things are pretty stagnant at the moment. A few big recruits coming to a certain club, but there is no point putting names up as it might actually spoil negotiations.
Fair enough. Any clue to the rough geography of the club, in town, out of town or Bendigo club?? How good are the recruits?? What type of players??
Sherman41
9 Jan 2007, 12:47
as i predicted , there is a fair bit of discussion on here about potential recruits and recruits, but most clubs will be keeping there prize recruits pretty close to there chest until signed.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 13:08
There is nothing gained from clubs naming players before they are signed.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 13:18
Fair enough. Any clue to the rough geography of the club, in town, out of town or Bendigo club?? How good are the recruits?? What type of players??
I have heard of recruits coming from the Bendigo League. IE Maryborough are set to lose a few into the district league. But the players I have heard are from solid Bendigo clubs.
Although all talk at the moment.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 13:20
as i predicted , there is a fair bit of discussion on here about potential recruits and recruits, but most clubs will be keeping there prize recruits pretty close to there chest until signed.
There's no point blabbing as other clubs will realise that these guys are up for grabs and put their bid in. Keep it quiet and snap them up before their home club even realises that there is trouble brewing.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 13:41
I have heard of recruits coming from the Bendigo League. IE Maryborough are set to lose a few into the district league. But the players I have heard are from solid Bendigo clubs.
Although all talk at the moment.
So these recruits will be coming to Bendigo clubs or to brook one would think.
Billy_The_Kid
9 Jan 2007, 13:43
What did the Avoca Footy club lack last year?
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 13:47
Have a read back through the pages Billy. It has been discussed as late as yesterday from memory.
Thoroughbred
9 Jan 2007, 14:04
A winning score in most games
CranktheAnchors
9 Jan 2007, 16:00
Hay fellas alot been happening in the past few days.
Heres a few of my views on what has been discussed.
Assistant Coach should be payed on there playing ability only and maybe a pie and a coke after the game.
Hammo won't go to brook. IMO
Showers at Trentham are a life changing experience.
Natte looking good B+F winner Luke Berlund gone. Jeremy Robinson unlikely.
Lastly no news on Newstead which makes me wonder. The runners up team hasn't had a mention in a month. Is no news good news? Anyone heard anything?
CranktheAnchors
9 Jan 2007, 16:02
What's your interest in Avoca Billy you wouldn't happen to be a mate of Bellengers?
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 16:09
Natte looking good B+F winner Luke Berlund gone. Jeremy Robinson unlikely.
Lastly no news on Newstead which makes me wonder. The runners up team hasn't had a mention in a month. Is no news good news? Anyone heard anything?
Where is Robinson going? Back to Brook?
Newstead have reappointed Oliver so I would assume Trethowan etc are staying. If they keep that side and add some onballers they will be a force. Haven't heard anything for a while though.
Black&WhiteArmy
9 Jan 2007, 16:28
Starting a new topic.
1. Matt Aston
2. Joel Malone
3. Stew Crameri
4. Stephen Ross
5. James McNamee
Aston is an obvious choice. An out an out champion that not only any team in the MCDFL would love to have play with them but any team in country football I’d say.
Stew Crameri is a man mountain. No one would get near him.
Joel Malone is another good choice.
Jenza’s footy has dropped off a bit in recent years. I think his best footy was when he was really young & 1st played senior footy. Still think that district footy is made for him though.
Evans if around would be a definite top 5 pick. Champion.
Steven Ross is a match winner.
I think all clubs would love to have Ben Kick in their team also. Tough & a ball winner
Martin Dell would destroy teams in the MCDFL. Should have won MB B&F. Made the BFL team of the year.
All teams love height & Brad Carmody showed his class when he played his year or two at Brook.
Adam Hurse also made VCFL when he played at Brook I think. He was much improved this year.
I haven’t seen Matt Brown play since he left MB as a on baller but apparently he’s turned into a real champion goal kicker.
A bit MB biased I know, but seeing that I mainly watch MB games I can’t help but be impressed with these guys.
Black&WhiteArmy
9 Jan 2007, 16:33
Just while I mention Matt Brown, I’ve been told that we were keen to get him back this year & that a few of the MB local teams were interested also.
I’ve heard that Clunes had approached him, Ben Kick, Brendon Lloyd, Trent Bursil, Ryan Morgan & both Luke & Nick Robinson to all play this season. They all live in Ballarat & apparently train together & have shown interest in getting them to all go as a group.
snappytom
9 Jan 2007, 18:13
some names ring a bell there,memory lane stuff.
when i was in the league the malones had the pub near the railway bridge and the kid played for bushy park
frank aston worked on the rail and married father ryans daughter and a crameri had the chaff feed set up in town
maybe these ones are sons of guns?
other names i recall from my days there at rovers were wills,wagstaff,melbourne.walkley,durbs,elliott and kirk the coach.
i suppose its not unnatural for families to follow in the footsteps in country footy.
over here in the west its very hard,most of the teams i played for here in the 70s and 80s no longer exist or have meged with the enemy
a bit like rovers and bushy merging!!! sort of knocks the rivalry side of it out.
jarod roughead at hawthorns uncle brendon has lived in maryborough for decades,did he play footy?and his kids now?
jumpingjackflash
9 Jan 2007, 21:14
A winning score in most games
that is one of the best comments i've ever seen on this site.
so obvious, yet so funny.:thumbsu:
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 21:29
All teams love height & Brad Carmody showed his class when he played his year or two at Brook.
Adam Hurse also made VCFL when he played at Brook I think. He was much improved this year.
Only saw Carmo when he played against Talbot but I wasn't super impressed I must admit. Always seemed quite slow. Smart footballer yes, but you get the feeling he got a bit lazy after his M/Borough days.
Gadget Hurse is another who would be very handy for brook to get back. Is the type of player they need definately.
KingRich
9 Jan 2007, 21:32
Just while I mention Matt Brown, I’ve been told that we were keen to get him back this year & that a few of the MB local teams were interested also.
I’ve heard that Clunes had approached him, Ben Kick, Brendon Lloyd, Trent Bursil, Ryan Morgan & both Luke & Nick Robinson to all play this season. They all live in Ballarat & apparently train together & have shown interest in getting them to all go as a group.
Yeah I spoke to Brown and he said he had spoken to Burra. As it turns out and as Sherman reported he is going to Clunes. Interesting, and smart thinking, that Clunes speak to all those players. Word is they have cash to splash around since Weatherly, Harris etc left. Where does Trent Bursill play now?? I also heard that Morgs was going to leave Redan?? Luke Robbo is pretty firmly entrenched at Brook, cant see him leaving. Lloydy doesn't mind Bungaree so he says. I've seen Bursill and Graco training just the 2 of them on the eastern oval one day last year or the year before I think. Fairly dedicated boys!
Billy_The_Kid
10 Jan 2007, 07:30
What's your interest in Avoca Billy you wouldn't happen to be a mate of Bellengers?
I do no Bellenger just want to see what the club would be like thats all
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 07:48
Newstead have reappointed Oliver so I would assume Trethowan etc are staying. If they keep that side and add some onballers they will be a force. Haven't heard anything for a while though.
dont think robinson will go back to brook king rich, may just be taking the year off footy to persue his piloting career or as he goes to uni in melbourne down that way somewhere, not exactly sure why he woudln't play at natte again this year but they are the only reasons i can think off. would be very surprised if he went back to brook.
in regards to newstead , think they will be top 4 again, and as previously mentioned they are a big tall team that needs to recruit more onballers, maybe they are just keeping there recruits close to their chest, im sure with olivers creditablility and the places he has been he is sure to know many ppl that could be potential recruits....
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 07:55
I do no Bellenger just want to see what the club would be like thats all
so would it be fair to say that maybe bellenger has approached you to play for avoca...........??? and you are interested to find out what the club is like from an outsiders perspectivve before you commit..........., or are u just generally ineterested??????
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 08:35
Yeah I spoke to Brown and he said he had spoken to Burra. As it turns out and as Sherman reported he is going to Clunes. Interesting, and smart thinking, that Clunes speak to all those players. Word is they have cash to splash around since Weatherly, Harris etc left. Where does Trent Bursill play now?? I also heard that Morgs was going to leave Redan?? Luke Robbo is pretty firmly entrenched at Brook, cant see him leaving. Lloydy doesn't mind Bungaree so he says. I've seen Bursill and Graco training just the 2 of them on the eastern oval one day last year or the year before I think. Fairly dedicated boys!
Clunes is actually a low budget club reportedly. Weatherly was playing and coaching for apparently $500 a week. Best value coach in Victoria at that point. All players get paid around $35 a week. There are very few big cash players.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 08:37
I heard his studies are getting fairly heavy on him so the travel back home every week is too much.
I don't think they'd worry too much about him leaving.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 08:48
Clunes is actually a low budget club reportedly. Weatherly was playing and coaching for apparently $500 a week. Best value coach in Victoria at that point. All players get paid around $35 a week. There are very few big cash players.
Justin Harris was on a bit. That will free up some cash.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 08:50
After a fairly successful year in the LPFL he and McNamee could have both gone back and helped Maryborough out significantly. McNamee is obviously not seeing he is coaching Natte.
Brown was on all reports $200+ dollars at Lexton. He'd be taking a fair pay cut to play at Maryborough.
Brown has played the majority of his footy at Maryborough so that might entice him back.
Can't see either coming to the MCDFL though for a while.
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 08:54
not to sure about low budget club, but yes prob not as wealthy as others, form what i have seen they have a pretty good set up, and do very well out of club functions financially. all non contact players get $35 a game, and contracted players get well whateva the club thinks there worth, and they do have a fairly pricey incentive program aswell.
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 08:58
Justin Harris was on a bit. That will free up some cash.
$500 to be exact, was prob over payed IMO, good player but not a match winner,although in a better side may have been different. that scash will allow at least 2 good footballers to the club
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 09:03
not to sure about low budget club, but yes prob not as wealthy as others, form what i have seen they have a pretty good set up, and do very well out of club functions financially. all non contact players get $35 a game, and contracted players get well whateva the club thinks there worth, and they do have a fairly pricey incentive program aswell.
Not low budget for MCDFL but for the CHFL it is extremely low budget. I have heard that Ballan offered a certain player in this region $20k for the season.
That is more than Weatherly got for coaching and kicking 100 goals in back to back seasons.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 09:13
Not low budget for MCDFL but for the CHFL it is extremely low budget. I have heard that Ballan offered a certain player in this region $20k for the season.
That is more than Weatherly got for coaching and kicking 100 goals in back to back seasons.
I would think Clunes would be middle of the road in that League cash wise. They have a lot of loyal players which helps. Hepburn, Ballan, Daylesford, Waubra would be at the top of the tree you would think with Learmonth, Buninyong Dunnstown next I guess then prob the rest a bit lower. I have also heard of Clunes contract and incentive system and its a good idea and seems too work well.
Montyposty
10 Jan 2007, 09:25
I would think Clunes would be middle of the road in that League cash wise. They have a lot of loyal players which helps. Hepburn, Ballan, Daylesford, Waubra would be at the top of the tree you would think with Learmonth, Buninyong Dunnstown next I guess then prob the rest a bit lower. I have also heard of Clunes contract and incentive system and its a good idea and seems too work well.
Clunes: In a fair bit of trouble this year, have been told they are going to lay low, so no recruiting coming and Brown won't be going there.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 09:33
Clunes: In a fair bit of trouble this year, have been told they are going to lay low, so no recruiting coming and Brown won't be going there.
Interesting Monty.... Is this reliable?? I am fairly certain that Todd Featherston will be going from Rovers. I know of a couple of other lesser players that are definately going also.
Montyposty
10 Jan 2007, 09:35
Interesting Monty.... Is this reliable?? I am fairly certain that Todd Featherston will be going from Rovers. I know of a couple of other lesser players that are definately going also.
Like Thoroughbreed said these guy's won't be big $ so that's the only recruits they will get. But won't have the $ to convince Brown. ;)
Montyposty
10 Jan 2007, 09:37
Featherston is quite a big unit at the minute also, so not in shape and won't be able to give himself every chance of making a great impression in CHFL.:rolleyes:
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 09:37
that type of money is ridiculous!!!!!!!!, u would want to be an absolute gun and a definate match winner.
just gonna throw this one out there for A nibble, when geoff dickson was coach of carisbrook and rumoured to be leaving i heard carisbrook offered him something like $12k's for coaching to intice him to stay, is that true???? or was it more???? in the end he stayed on coaching so there must have been something enticing on the table.....
smasher100
10 Jan 2007, 09:47
that type of money is ridiculous!!!!!!!!, u would want to be an absolute gun and a definate match winner.
just gonna throw this one out there for A nibble, when geoff dickson was coach of carisbrook and rumoured to be leaving i heard carisbrook offered him something like $12k's for coaching to intice him to stay, is that true???? or was it more???? in the end he stayed on coaching so there must have been something enticing on the table.....
For christ's sake, its spelt Dixon -- not Dickson
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 09:52
That is laying low. Featherston will not make any form of dent in that league.
The fact that Chief Chivers is only playing 2's at Clunes says to me that Featherston won't be anywhere near as pivotal is he was for Rovers.
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 09:57
For christ's sake, its spelt Dixon -- not Dickson
ahhh captain negativity, from the north central board, y dont u take your negativity elsewhere.....
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 09:59
\
As someone alluded to on another thread that is ridiculous money and the player that accepts that would want to put in and be a good club man and not just take his money and run for the year. Its a lot of BBQs and hot dogs sold to raise that type of money and would be tough for that player to look all the volunteers in the eye if he is not putting in for the club.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 09:59
Featherston is quite a big unit at the minute also, so not in shape and won't be able to give himself every chance of making a great impression in CHFL.:rolleyes:
If not in shape will struggle. If in shape should be a valuable contributor up forward. Still time for him to get fit!
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 10:00
That is laying low. Featherston will not make any form of dent in that league.
The fact that Chief Chivers is only playing 2's at Clunes says to me that Featherston won't be anywhere near as pivotal is he was for Rovers.
chief hardly committed to playing last year dont think he played much at all really, his 2's appearances may have been because of his inability to train and busy social life on friday nights. have actually never seen him play b4 so not sure on how good he is, but i know he does go alright in a dust up......
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 10:11
If not in shape will struggle. If in shape should be a valuable contributor up forward. Still time for him to get fit!
I think the step up is higher than most people think. There would be CHFL teams that would hand Maryborough their a$$ these days. I'm not sure he would be much more than a role player.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 10:14
I think the step up is higher than most people think. There would be CHFL teams that would hand Maryborough their a$$ these days. I'm not sure he would be much more than a role player.
Where would last years Harcourt side finish on last years CHFL ladder?? I cant comment as I didn't see enough games but I would think they would be quite competitive. No other sides our comp last year would even push the top 6 in CHFL from last year I wouldn't think though.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 10:18
\
As someone alluded to on another thread that is ridiculous money and the player that accepts that would want to put in and be a good club man and not just take his money and run for the year. Its a lot of BBQs and hot dogs sold to raise that type of money and would be tough for that player to look all the volunteers in the eye if he is not putting in for the club.
The hot tip. He is only an average player in his current team.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 10:22
Where would last years Harcourt side finish on last years CHFL ladder?? I cant comment as I didn't see enough games but I would think they would be quite competitive. No other sides our comp last year would even push the top 6 in CHFL from last year I wouldn't think though.
It's always tough to say but the teams they would definetly not get near are...
1. Waubra
2. Hepburn
3. Daylesford
4. Learmonth
5. Bungaree
I still think a UEFA Champions League would be a good way to sort out these little debates. The grand finalists from each league play off in a Champions Lightning premiership.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 10:29
1. Waubra
2. Hepburn
3. Daylesford
4. Learmonth
5. Bungaree
I still think a UEFA Champions League would be a good way to sort out these little debates. The grand finalists from each league play off in a Champions Lightning premiership.
Would be brilliant to watch I reckon but would struggle to happen. Unless someone could come up with some decent prize money I dont think clubs would be interested.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 10:46
Would be brilliant to watch I reckon but would struggle to happen. Unless someone could come up with some decent prize money I dont think clubs would be interested.
It would be excellent to run it at a place like Ballarat or something in October. Just enough time to have your premiership party and get back into it.
$20k for Major League teams to win
$10k for Minor.
I think you'd get businesses behind it as it would mean a lot of tourists to the town. Pubs, hotels, nightclubs and etc should pitch in and sponsor coz it would mean plenty of cash for them.
You could even break it into conference finals. IE MCDFL, Lexton Plains, CHFL in the Ballarat Conference. Loddon Valley, Heathcotte League in the Bendigo or whatever.
Then have the final championships at a central hub.
Sherman41
10 Jan 2007, 10:46
1. Waubra
2. Hepburn
3. Daylesford
4. Learmonth
5. Bungaree
yeah definately would be a great spectacle, but i would think that harcourt would be better than that in that league admittedly i havent seen waubra or hepburn play b4, but most of harcourts seniour team have played BFL b4 and that is a higher league than the chfl so i reckon last years team would have been top 4 atleast
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 10:51
yeah definately would be a great spectacle, but i would think that harcourt would be better than that in that league admittedly i havent seen waubra or hepburn play b4, but most of harcourts seniour team have played BFL b4 and that is a higher league than the chfl so i reckon last years team would have been top 4 atleast
Good point but a few players from Maryborough would not get a game at the five teams I mentioned. So BFL means jack $hit now. 4-5 years ago, it carried weight.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 10:52
i think they would be in the top 5 also! They are the best side that has been in the MCDFL for quite a while i think.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 10:56
i think they would be in the top 5 also! They are the best side that has been in the MCDFL for quite a while i think.
They are a talented team and play well together. That is why this state needs something like the champions league. End these debates because everyone thinks their own league is the $hit.
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 10:57
I think it could be more viable than interleague IMO. If the prize money is right, clubs and players would commit. Just not sure where that money will come from unfortunately.
Thoroughbred
10 Jan 2007, 11:02
I think it could be more viable than interleague IMO. If the prize money is right, clubs and players would commit. Just not sure where that money will come from unfortunately.
Sponsors. And the AFL could kick back a little to Grass roots.
It would get many spectators and would be huge for a place like Ballarat.
Maryborough could do it with the following leagues
-MCDFL
-LPFL
-CHFL
-Loddon Valley
KingRich
10 Jan 2007, 11:06
Would take someone with above average level of intelligence to submit a proposal to AFL to get the funding for a start. No one at the VCFL or the leagues will have the inclination to do it. I also highly doubt that you could get enough in sponsorship. To ensure you get the full strength sides you would need to offer each player a big financial carrot to attend. If the sides aren't full strength it will turn into a joke.
I love the idea though dont get me wrong!