View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
KingRich
18 Jan 2007, 09:28
They have made some stupid decisions but they just cant get the 2 fundamentals of running a succesful footy club right:
1) Making enough money to pay players and run the club
2) Looking after their current players well enough to make them stick around.
Yes its hard from the bottom but they have to do something. If their locals are leaving then maybe they need to bust their arse and raise the cash to give them a little something to keep them there. Once they get off the canvas then they have some bargaining power with recruits and it will snowball. Being rooted to the bottom and getting flogged every game does make it very difficult!
Thoroughbred
18 Jan 2007, 09:33
They have made some stupid decisions but they just cant get the 2 fundamentals of running a succesful footy club right:
1) Making enough money to pay players and run the club
2) Looking after their current players well enough to make them stick around.
Very few locals actually play. If you don't have locals playing for the club, what is the point of it all?
I respect anyone that has the balls to take on the position but, it is getting to the point of no return. There is not a winning attitude with the players. There were games this year where they were competitive at half time only to get blown away in the second half.
That says to me that they are both unfit and lack the winners edge.
KingRich
18 Jan 2007, 09:40
From my experience they just dont have any belief and dont wanna push for anything more. A lot of the Dunolly boys just laugh and carry on out on the ground when they are getting smashed or they go the knuckle. At least the Trentham boys get fired up and dont like to lose. Just an observation and I know there would be a few Dunolly Boys that try their arse off.
Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 09:43
That says to me that they are both unfit and lack the winners edge.
Correct. They are hopelessly unconditioned both mentally and physically.
Most of the Dunolly players see themselves and the club as a team that does not win. Being around winnners and a winning culture can cause amazing things to happen in a football club. Self belief is crucial to any club trying to go somewhere.
If they see themselves as a bottom of the ladder team, that is where they will end up. No football team hands you a win because they feel sorry for you. I'm yet to hear an address from a coach where he says to hand the game over to a poor team because he feels sorry for them.
The situation is lose - lose at the moment and they need somebody extraordinary to change their mindset and their style of play. Starting now is far too late if they are trying to turn this around. 90% of those guys need to start running and lifting before Christmas if they want to turn things around.
They needed to be hunting for a coach and players the second their season was over last year.
KingRich
18 Jan 2007, 09:46
They needed to be hunting for a coach and players the second their season was over last year.
I would suggest they needed to be hunting half way through last year! The only way i can see for a club to get out of that sort of hole is to find a sustainable way to make some serious cash. pay and get some good players there and then work their butts off to keep them.
Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 09:47
I know there would be a few Dunolly Boys that try their arse off.
Trying your arse off in a game isn't enough these days. Training and working hard in the off-season and pre-season is what helps teams get over the line in the tight games.
Some wise words from Vince Lombardi, "Winning is not a sometime thing; it's an all time thing. You don't win once in a while, you don't do things right once in a while, you do them right all the time. Winning is habit. Unfortunately, so is losing."
Thoroughbred
18 Jan 2007, 09:52
I would suggest they needed to be hunting half way through last year! The only way i can see for a club to get out of that sort of hole is to find a sustainable way to make some serious cash. pay and get some good players there and then work their butts off to keep them.
Who are the people they should have approached? Rumour has it that they approached Brad Hunt and a number of guys like that.
SiMoSaYs
18 Jan 2007, 09:55
Who are the people they should have approached? Rumour has it that they approached Brad Hunt and a number of guys like that.
Brad Hunt!!! hahahahahahha
Simo
KingRich
18 Jan 2007, 09:56
I dont know who they SHOULD approach. Anyone that has half an inkling of leaving their current club. I would start with ex-dunolly players such as Hunty etc. Throw a bit of money and promise the world and just get them there if possible. If a couple come back then more may follow. Hunty is firmly entrenched with his Avoca mates now and I would think whereever they go he will go and at the moment they are staying at Avoca.
I dont know but as a player at Dunolly I would be disappointed if Dunolly administrators had not approached 50+ players this offseason. No good sitting on your hands and hoping for the best.
Thoroughbred
18 Jan 2007, 10:06
Brad Hunt!!! hahahahahahha
Simo
We think the same obviously.
$500 a game too. That is what Clunes reportedly paid Weatherly. Some things don't stack up.
Thoroughbred
18 Jan 2007, 10:08
I dont know who they SHOULD approach. Anyone that has half an inkling of leaving their current club. I would start with ex-dunolly players such as Hunty etc. Throw a bit of money and promise the world and just get them there if possible. If a couple come back then more may follow. Hunty is firmly entrenched with his Avoca mates now and I would think whereever they go he will go and at the moment they are staying at Avoca.
I dont know but as a player at Dunolly I would be disappointed if Dunolly administrators had not approached 50+ players this offseason. No good sitting on your hands and hoping for the best.
Exactly. The worst thing that can happen is they say no.
KingRich
18 Jan 2007, 10:09
$500 a game too. That is what Clunes reportedly paid Weatherly. Some things don't stack up.
The worst thing with Hunty is he has all the talent in the world. Just lacking in other areas.
Don't Argue
18 Jan 2007, 10:59
There is no comparison there.
CranktheAnchors
18 Jan 2007, 14:24
Carisbrook have just started up again with good numbers on the track. Rabbsy, Lizard or Sheep which ever, has been looking in tip top form but
there is a story floating around that he may play for Dookie again with his brother and the phat man...
So did the Carisbrook players look fit or not? Who looks like they could be in for a big year?
KingRich
18 Jan 2007, 14:38
Been very quiet out Carisbrook way after the announcement of their coach late last year. Any recruiting news as yet? have they lost many?
I may be wrong but are you saying Avoca paid Hunty $500 a game?
shibby44
18 Jan 2007, 17:27
Shibby i think you might be talking about a different Lizard. The Lizard i know didn't get his name from burning up the track or his elegent kicking ability (maybe lack of). But i agree he is a loyal dedicated club person and should stay at the nest this season. He is tough and will put his body on the line. Suited to backline, but all three of them are. Out of this league (injury free) i would put him in the top 15 and his brothers in the top 10 (No offence Lizard).:thumbsu: Is the Brook looking like a destination for you this season Shibby??
Yeah it looks like it, the players out there a nice enough and the ground is in great condition. where do you play?
blow in
18 Jan 2007, 21:29
I happened to have a week off footy last year and returned to my ex club, Dunolly. They happened to be playing the mighty hawks that day, and if Dunolly was the worst team in Victoria last year, they certainly gave you guys a fright. I arrived half way thru the 2nd quarter and they were down by 11 goals, yet with a couple of minutes to go there was only a goal in it, and a few supporters were starting to look for somewhere to hide. Anyway, thats the only dunolly game i have witnessed in the past few seasons and it seemed to me that every guy out there that day wanted to win and were also enjoying being out there with their mates.
[quote=wonker;6563158]Im not sure what qualities Brad Hunt is lacking 'King'. He is a fine young man who has grown both as a person and a footballer in his short time at Avoca. I know for a fact that Brad didn't get paid a cent from the club in match payments. Brad did collect quite a bit of money throughout the year from the Avoca Club's generous incentive scheme as did quite a few of his team mates. It is a sheme where the best players on the day collect the loot. Brad came third in the Club's B&F award which enabled him to line up for the cash quite a few times.
Also remember that Brad comes from a family of football champions who are also a champion family.
Brad has great respect for coach Tony Bellenger and Tony has the greatest respect for Brad as they were team mates at Dunolly during Tony's coaching days there
localfootyguru
18 Jan 2007, 21:48
Well said wonker and right on the money in regards to Brad Hunt. He will be playing with the Bulldogs in 2007 and yes (you won't believe it) he was not receiving any match payments apart from incentives. Not that any other Bulldog player was getting paid either.
You are spot on guru
KingRich
19 Jan 2007, 08:36
I happened to have a week off footy last year and returned to my ex club, Dunolly. They happened to be playing the mighty hawks that day, and if Dunolly was the worst team in Victoria last year, they certainly gave you guys a fright. I arrived half way thru the 2nd quarter and they were down by 11 goals, yet with a couple of minutes to go there was only a goal in it, and a few supporters were starting to look for somewhere to hide. Anyway, thats the only dunolly game i have witnessed in the past few seasons and it seemed to me that every guy out there that day wanted to win and were also enjoying being out there with their mates.
Good call Blow In. That day was almost a disaster for the young hawks. I personally didn't play that day and was in the outer and they were furious at the hawks. I will say that we had a lot out through injury and unavailability that day and we certainly underestimated them. They played hard and well that day, I will give them credit for that. They were up and we were down that day, but results from the rest of the year and the last few years suggest that what people have said earlier is on the money.
Trentham were the worst team in Vic though Blow In as even Dunolly beat Trentham by over 100 points!
KingRich
19 Jan 2007, 08:37
[quote=wonker;6563158]Im not sure what qualities Brad Hunt is lacking 'King'. He is a fine young man who has grown both as a person and a footballer in his short time at Avoca. I know for a fact that Brad didn't get paid a cent from the club in match payments. Brad did collect quite a bit of money throughout the year from the Avoca Club's generous incentive scheme as did quite a few of his team mates. It is a sheme where the best players on the day collect the loot. Brad came third in the Club's B&F award which enabled him to line up for the cash quite a few times.
Also remember that Brad comes from a family of football champions who are also a champion family.
Brad has great respect for coach Tony Bellenger and Tony has the greatest respect for Brad as they were team mates at Dunolly during Tony's coaching days there
In regards to Brad Hunt I can only go on what he does against Talbot. I like the kid, but he has gone missing against Talbot each time. I just think he has the talent to be one of the elite in the comp, but for whatever reason he hasn't got there yet.
[quote=wonker;6563197]
In regards to Brad Hunt I can only go on what he does against Talbot. I like the kid, but he has gone missing against Talbot each time. I just think he has the talent to be one of the elite in the comp, but for whatever reason he hasn't got there yet.
I'd have to agree with you there Rich, games against Talbot have not been a happy Hunting ground for Brad. I've got to say though he is probably the most versatile player we have. He continually lines up in key positions (CHB, CHF, FB, midfield) and gives it his all week in, week out. All in all he's a top bloke on and off the ground and Avoca would be well served to try and hang on to his services in the future.
Montyposty
19 Jan 2007, 11:03
[quote=KingRich;6564658]
Can anyone tell me what type of player Ben Murray from Lake Wendouree is and if he's any good?
Are you worried he might take your Spot, KingRich? Or are you looking at him as your Two's player, By the Way King are you worried, I would be with these prospective recruits of Talbot's coming.:)
Don't Argue
19 Jan 2007, 11:16
[quote=wonker;6563197]
I too think he is an alright bloke but he currently lacks the mental toughness to go that bit further. If anyone doesn't agree with me then that is fine. However, if the guy has all the skills, a good size, athletic and etc, why can't he make a dent in the MCDFL? It's all in the head.
KingRich
19 Jan 2007, 12:07
[quote=KingRich;6564658]
Can anyone tell me what type of player Ben Murray from Lake Wendouree is and if he's any good?
Are you worried he might take your Spot, KingRich? Or are you looking at him as your Two's player, By the Way King are you worried, I would be with these prospective recruits of Talbot's coming.:)
Just curious as to what type of player he is! I'll play whereva I'm put mate as long as Talbot is winning. I think you'll find my spot will be right though!
smasher100
19 Jan 2007, 12:10
[quote=Montyposty;6565493]
Just curious as to what type of player he is! I'll play whereva I'm put mate as long as Talbot is winning. I think you'll find my spot will be right though!
That's right! Not to worry when your warming up the bench
KingRich
19 Jan 2007, 12:24
Ah my old mate Captain N!
bobbill
20 Jan 2007, 10:23
Some news for MCDFL people with Bellenger as coach of Avoca Dom Lloyd who played at YCW in LVFL last year and W/burn in the NCFL before that has signed on as Ass. Coach at Avoca, Lloyd is a hard at it onballer, half back flanker and has spot on skills. Will be a great pick up for Avoca.
CranktheAnchors
20 Jan 2007, 16:42
Some news for MCDFL people with Bellenger as coach of Avoca Dom Lloyd who played at YCW in LVFL last year and W/burn in the NCFL before that has signed on as Ass. Coach at Avoca, Lloyd is a hard at it onballer, half back flanker and has spot on skills. Will be a great pick up for Avoca.
Thanks for the news bob Avoca may just crack the five.
Grimmett
20 Jan 2007, 18:27
Sorry to ask this guys as nothing shi'ites me more than people asking about something already discussed in th ethread. I was wondering if somebody coul dsteer me to where I can get a copy of the 2007 draw, if it is available? It may have been posted in the thread or a link to it posted to it. If somebody knows the page number I'm happy to extract it myself.
Cheers, Grimmett.
EDIT: Never mind. Looked on the MCDFL website and found it. I assume it's accurate.
Don't Argue
22 Jan 2007, 08:38
Big suprise Jamie 'Chalk-Bones' Elliot is injured again, if he was a race horse he would have been shot three years ago.
Lucky he plays the sort of game where he can outsmart 99% of all his opponents. It's hard to knock a 100 goal FF.
Mongrel
22 Jan 2007, 16:28
Ah my old mate Captain N!
can anyone tell me what sort of footballer glenn travaille is?
looking at him as a possible recruit
smasher100
22 Jan 2007, 16:34
Lloyd is crap! Couldn't get a kick in the NCFL
SiMoSaYs
23 Jan 2007, 06:32
This is about the third time we have been over him, if you read bck through I am sure you will find quite a few replys about him
Simo
Montyposty
23 Jan 2007, 06:38
Mongrel: See page 44 & 45 of this thread, tells you all about what people on this thread & league think of this snake, who has a very much over rated opinion of himself.
Montyposty
23 Jan 2007, 06:44
Rovers have appointed Leigh Hooper as an assistant assistant coach, he comes from M/B and is talking to alot of his mates similiar age. Nobody so far has said they are coming over the lake (Ha Ha walk across the Mud). But are heading down the youth track again by all reports.
Billy_The_Kid
23 Jan 2007, 07:46
Lloyd is crap! Couldn't get a kick in the NCFL
Lloyd has been at a training run and his skills were spot on for January big things to come for Avoca as fist training run had plenty on the track, Club looking to be BIG improvers this year. Thanks for your information smasher, sounds like you should join and play before you comment on some ones skills.
SiMoSaYs
23 Jan 2007, 08:33
Lloyd has been at a training run and his skills were spot on for January big things to come for Avoca as fist training run had plenty on the track, Club looking to be BIG improvers this year. Thanks for your information smasher, sounds like you should join and play before you comment on some ones skills.
Your going on one training run..... how do you know this smasher guy didn't see him play in NCFL and is commenting on that??
Simo
'Dom' Lloyd was vice-captain of W'burn two seasons ago and figured in YCW's best players lmost every game last year. Must have some ability.
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 08:37
Rovers have appointed Leigh Hooper as an assistant assistant coach, he comes from M/B and is talking to alot of his mates similiar age. Nobody so far has said they are coming over the lake (Ha Ha walk across the Mud). But are heading down the youth track again by all reports.
How old is Leigh Hooper? From memory he is a handy footballer. Is O'Shea still coaching?
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 08:38
'Dom' Lloyd was vice-captain of W'burn two seasons ago and figured in YCW's best players lmost every game last year. Must have some ability.
Well that sounds good enough for me. Should be a good pick up. Has Nick Robbo gone or is he staying? What about Ash Robinson?
Someone mentioned that Avoca will be the big improvers this year... What is the reasoning behind that? Not saying they wont just want an opinion.
Montyposty
23 Jan 2007, 08:41
Dunolly have appointed Butch Kennedy as season 07s coach.
Any other News on recruits in league?
Mr McClennan was the Bushy player at Natte training.
How old is Leigh Hooper? From memory he is a handy footballer. Is O'Shea still coaching?
Gee King I thought you must have been on Holidays as nothing posted Yesterday. Yes Oshea still coaching, Hooper around 21-22 yrs. Also to note Big Jus Perry has lost 26 kilo's, watching what he eats and runs everyday.
Newstead News coming out of the B/Duck is Oliver still coaching but not playing, Rambo & Christmas off to Maine. Unsure of any recruits as yet.
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 08:49
Yeah had a well earned, knew you'd miss me Monty.
Olly not playing, all fullbacks will be happy to hear that but we'll wait and see how long that lasts. Christmas and Rambo to maine if true is a massive loss for Newstead. If true they certainly wouldn't be in premiership calculations I wouldn't think.
As a side note, a mate drove past Dunolly oval the other day and said from the road looked to be green and in reasonable knick which is good news. Some good rains lately should have certainly helped all grounds I would think.
I think the feeling for optomism at Avoca can be put down to the great feeling that is developing around the club - a bit like the Talbot of old. The club seems to be aiming at a top five possy but could be a little of the pace as far as reaching the pinnacle this year. The latest on Nick Robby is that he is heading to Brook to play with his brother Luke. Unfortunately its alleged that Luke took a 'swing' only to miss and hit a wall which has resulted in him having an operation and will probably miss playing for a chunk of the season. As for Ash Robby - destination unknown.
Thoroughbred
23 Jan 2007, 09:17
That is an interesting appointment. I knew Hooper was fishing around but I thought Bushy or Natte were the likely destinations.
I have heard him speak very highly of O'Shea so that probably make sense.
smasher100
23 Jan 2007, 09:17
Your going on one training run..... how do you know this smasher guy didn't see him play in NCFL and is commenting on that??
Simo
Spot on there Simo. Seen the kid play many times, would not be worth the coin he is probably on. Anyone got any ideas what he would be on out there? Not sure myself what Assistant Coaches are paid.
Thoroughbred
23 Jan 2007, 09:19
Yeah had a well earned, knew you'd miss me Monty.
Olly not playing, all fullbacks will be happy to hear that but we'll wait and see how long that lasts. Christmas and Rambo to maine if true is a massive loss for Newstead. If true they certainly wouldn't be in premiership calculations I wouldn't think.
Write them off now. Time to think about 2008.
Na, you never know with those clubs who they are going to pick up. When clearances open we will have some idea if there are guys coming in or not.
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 09:49
Spot on there Simo. Seen the kid play many times, would not be worth the coin he is probably on. Anyone got any ideas what he would be on out there? Not sure myself what Assistant Coaches are paid.
How old is this bloke?
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 09:52
I think the feeling for optomism at Avoca can be put down to the great feeling that is developing around the club - a bit like the Talbot of old. The club seems to be aiming at a top five possy but could be a little of the pace as far as reaching the pinnacle this year. The latest on Nick Robby is that he is heading to Brook to play with his brother Luke. Unfortunately its alleged that Luke took a 'swing' only to miss and hit a wall which has resulted in him having an operation and will probably miss playing for a chunk of the season. As for Ash Robby - destination unknown.
Tts amazing what enthusiasm and optimism can do at a footy club. Can quite often make up for a lack of personnel sometimes. I truly think they need to recruit a key position forward of some description as I think this is where they have struggled last year. If they can replace Nick in the middle with these 2 new coaches then the midfield should be fine, just need to find a way to kick goals.
At this stage you would still think the top 5 would be a stretch, but by the sounds of it other teams are dropping off so there will be spots up for grabs.
Saw Luke out in Rat on Saturday night and didn't notice any plaster, but i cant honestly recall.
Thoroughbred
23 Jan 2007, 10:08
Fu<k all at Avoca. Rumour has it that Nick Robbo was getting less than $200 for coaching last year so I would say this guy is coming for around or less than $100 a week.
smasher100
23 Jan 2007, 10:19
Fu<k all at Avoca. Rumour has it that Nick Robbo was getting less than $200 for coaching last year so I would say this guy is coming for around or less than $100 a week.
HAHA. No wonder they can't get any players if that's all they offer. While I'm not for buying a premiership, you still need to spend a little on your core top players to be any chance.
SiMoSaYs
23 Jan 2007, 10:23
HAHA. No wonder they can't get any players if that's all they offer. While I'm not for buying a premiership, you still need to spend a little on your core top players to be any chance.
Avoca work on the big insentive payments rather than paying players week in week out even if they don't preform
Simo
Don't Argue
23 Jan 2007, 10:25
Avoca work on the big insentive payments rather than paying players week in week out even if they don't preform
Simo
I'm not big on incentives. It is very hard to recruit players with an incentive program.
smasher100
23 Jan 2007, 10:27
Simo
Yeah that's a good way to go about it.
Spot on there Thorouhgbred on both counts but remember that 'all' players at Avoca are eligible for the club's lucrative incentive scheme where the players who perform on the day take home the loot. This applied to Nick Robbo also
I saw someone talking about Travaille- great clubman, champion footballer I would say go for him. The player I would be chasing is a guy named Trotter. He is mate of Travaille's and can play football. He is about 6'6", rarely misses a tap out in the centre, is a towering overhead mark and makes his prescence felt when he moves up forward.
Don't Argue
23 Jan 2007, 10:38
I saw someone talking about Travaille- great clubman, champion footballer I would say go for him. The player I would be chasing is a guy named Trotter. He is mate of Travaille's and can play football. He is about 6'6", rarely misses a tap out in the centre, is a towering overhead mark and makes his prescence felt when he moves up forward.
Isn't he from Ballarat? Has he ever played at a higher level?
I heard he wasn't quite as dominant as you say though.
learmonth
23 Jan 2007, 10:46
Isn't he from Ballarat? Has he ever played at a higher level?
I heard he wasn't quite as dominant as you say though.
Whats Trotters 1st name, and where has he played in the past...How old..???
I think his first name was Brett or Brent and he played for Rovers last season. Was probably one of the main reasons that the Rovers club went so well last season
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 11:04
Trotter missed finals as well and was a big reason why they couldn't win a game in the finals.
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 11:06
Also, in regard to Avocas incentive system. Firstly I will state I'm a big fan of it and I like the idea immensely. Rewards the good players and locals are happy as no player gets favoured.
But....
Do people think this type of model of large incentives but no player payments can win premierships? My argument is that it is very difficult to recruit without paying a player guaranteed money. Yes the argument will be that if they are good enough they will get it anyway, but most players want the security of the guaranteed money every week. Just wanted to know peoples opinions and even the Avoca's boys opinion. Do you find it difficult to recruit without offering money?
Yes its a good system and keeps all current locals etc happy and keeps costs static most years but will it allow Avoca to win a flag in an era where country footy is moving increasingly towards larger spending to win flags?
Don't Argue
23 Jan 2007, 11:07
Trotter missed finals as well and was a big reason why they couldn't win a game in the finals.
So he's actually alright then?
How much would he be on a week?
Don't Argue
23 Jan 2007, 11:12
Do people think this type of model of large incentives but no player payments can win premierships? My argument is that it is very difficult to recruit without paying a player guaranteed money. Yes the argument will be that if they are good enough they will get it anyway, but most players want the security of the guaranteed money every week. Just wanted to know peoples opinions and even the Avoca's boys opinion. Do you find it difficult to recruit without offering money?
A big fat NO there King. Avoca was said to be offering $300 for best on. A gun player can get that sort of money guaranteed every single week at many clubs.
You need to pay the good players the big bucks or your opposition will.
Montyposty
23 Jan 2007, 11:14
Don't know $$ but yes doesn't lose a tap in middle. Played at Avoca in 05, Very big Fella looks imposing, I don't think he takes enough pack marks around the ground thou. Fits in very well at the club.
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 11:15
Goes alright in our league yeah. Likes a beer as well all do. I think he would give a good account of himself in a higher league. Was more the fact that Rovers were getting killed in the centre most games that meant they missed him in the finals.
Don't Argue
23 Jan 2007, 11:17
Don't know $$ but yes doesn't lose a tap in middle. Played at Avoca in 05, Very big Fella looks imposing, I don't think he takes enough pack marks around the ground thou. Fits in very well at the club.
I've never seen him play. The mail from a few Rovers boys is that he is a hard man and makes his presence felt.
Does anyone on the opposition want to comment on that either way?
Also, in regard to Avocas incentive system. Firstly I will state I'm a big fan of it and I like the idea immensely. Rewards the good players and locals are happy as no player gets favoured.
But....
Yes its a good system and keeps all current locals etc happy and keeps costs static most years but will it allow Avoca to win a flag in an era where country footy is moving increasingly towards larger spending to win flags?
I think it was a great scheme that worked very well at Avoca last year. The success of a scheme such as this is very much dependant on the playing group. It worked so well for us because there wasn't the ill-feeling you sometimes get at a club when players are recruited with big wraps, get paid heaps and then don't perform. Almost every player was a local last season and it created a real sense of unity among the playing group as you were playing with blokes you had grown up with. Even better was the fact that we all had a chance at taking home considerable coin at the end of the game. We ended up better off than teams that reportedly spending up to $5k to put a team on the ground each week.
Montyposty
23 Jan 2007, 12:33
I think it was a great scheme that worked very well at Avoca last year. The success of a scheme such as this is very much dependant on the playing group. It worked so well for us because there wasn't the ill-feeling you sometimes get at a club when players are recruited with big wraps, get paid heaps and then don't perform. Almost every player was a local last season and it created a real sense of unity among the playing group as you were playing with blokes you had grown up with. Even better was the fact that we all had a chance at taking home considerable coin at the end of the game. We ended up better off than teams that reportedly spending up to $5k to put a team on the ground each week.
Maldon? Well said. But Shamui, you still need a bit of both money payments and incentives, like certain players are eligible for incentives and others are not, that then can make up the difference of payments of the gap between them.
I agree totally monty. My thoughts are the club was probably a little apprehensive to pay out big coin to attract players because they didn't get value for money last time.
On to other matters, what is the mail out of Bushy? Haven't heard much on them or Maldon for that matter. Also does anyone know how Campbells Creek are travelling?
i heard today that Cambell's Creek are still struggling. It's a pity really because the two little fellas that do all the work at Creek are top blokes. It's difficult to run a club if the admin is a bit light on. While on that subject I was told that Bushy didn't have anyone in attendance at the last delegates meeting. Perhaps their administration might be a little light on as well. Also heard that a couple of their players were being courted by the Navarre club. As for Maldon, at this stage there is not much talk. I see from the Bendigo Addy that they have appointed a non-playing coach. Maldon had some great kids in their U17's, If they can bring them along it will provide a future for the club.
CranktheAnchors
23 Jan 2007, 17:48
Gee King I thought you must have been on Holidays as nothing posted Yesterday. Yes Oshea still coaching, Hooper around 21-22 yrs. Also to note Big Jus Perry has lost 26 kilo's, watching what he eats and runs everyday.
Newstead News coming out of the B/Duck is Oliver still coaching but not playing, Rambo & Christmas off to Maine. Unsure of any recruits as yet.
Some news on the steaders finally. Couple of big losses there and I would imagine that Pedretti would just about be passed it too.
As for Hooper was just a battler in the BFL can't see him doing a great deal in the MCDFL.
CranktheAnchors
23 Jan 2007, 17:58
What is Avoca's incentive scheme? I heard Carisbrooks is relatively non-existent this may be due to player payments or something else anyone know about there's aswell or any other clubs for that matter?
BillyBobby
23 Jan 2007, 18:21
Whats Hoopers credentials? I think that none of his mate will make the journey accross the lake.... If he does they wont be superstars....
BillyBobby
23 Jan 2007, 18:37
Good thing that you said that Budge "alleged" to have swung and missed someone.... there is a story to it but you should just ask him urself...
KingRich
23 Jan 2007, 20:37
i heard today that Cambell's Creek are still struggling. It's a pity really because the two little fellas that do all the work at Creek are top blokes. It's difficult to run a club if the admin is a bit light on. While on that subject I was told that Bushy didn't have anyone in attendance at the last delegates meeting. Perhaps their administration might be a little light on as well. Also heard that a couple of their players were being courted by the Navarre club. As for Maldon, at this stage there is not much talk. I see from the Bendigo Addy that they have appointed a non-playing coach. Maldon had some great kids in their U17's, If they can bring them along it will provide a future for the club.
Bit ordinary when the meeting is in Maryborough that no one could make it but you cant read much into it. Moo Cow runs that club doesn't he?
Agree with Maldons kids but there is always so many factors pulling kids away from the Bendigo clubs and influence from the larger clubs around that area.
KingRich
24 Jan 2007, 12:45
Talbot had their first pre-season run in Brat in conjunction with Natte Bealiba last night. Went well from all reports and will be an ongoing thing until Talbot begins training full time up at Talbot. Numbers were a little low from both sides with lots away on holidays but over the next few weeks should get bigger.
Both sides seemed in reasonable shape.
Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 13:25
Talbot had their first pre-season run in Brat in conjunction with Natte Bealiba last night. Went well from all reports and will be an ongoing thing until Talbot begins training full time up at Talbot. Numbers were a little low from both sides with lots away on holidays but over the next few weeks should get bigger.
It was a good little hit out. Sometimes the smaller sessions force you to work a bit harder.
I'd say next week we will have 10+ senior players there.
Benchy was looking in fine form too. Very fit, contested and moved well. He'll be a big plus for you guys this year.
Good to hear Rich. It's a great idea to get the two clubs training together. Any word on the recruiting front at Talbot?
KingRich
24 Jan 2007, 13:30
Good to hear Rich. It's a great idea to get the two clubs training together. Any word on the recruiting front at Talbot?
Same old story this time of year Shamui, just trying to nail blokes down and once clearances start we will know more. We have secured a few and hoping to get a few more. At this stage we know we will at least improve and be stronger next year, certainly wont go down. The ones we have secured have been mentioned on here previously I believe. Have to wait and see who signs and who doesn't as all clubs are doing.
Training with Natte will bear fruit I feel. Its not something you could do with a club in your own league obviously but I think we can push each other along and share a few ideas. The idea is just to give the Ballarat based players a chance to have a good session with the balls with some familiar blokes.
Don't Argue
24 Jan 2007, 13:36
Training with Natte will bear fruit I feel. Its not something you could do with a club in your own league obviously but I think we can push each other along and share a few ideas. The idea is just to give the Ballarat based players a chance to have a good session with the balls with some familiar blokes.
Yeah, we did it in Melbourne and it worked really well. We'd train at Punt Road and the following teams met up.
- Fish Creek
- Mirboo North
- Natte
- Lake Bolac
It was a great idea and beat a run around that 'Tan.
CranktheAnchors
24 Jan 2007, 16:08
Any news on last years grand finalists Harcourt and Newstead?
KingRich
24 Jan 2007, 16:09
Nothing much on Harcourt except they are losing a few (Thomosons etc) but you would imagine they'll find replacements. Newstead have apparently lost Christmas and Ramsey to Castlemaine and Oliver will be non-playing coach so some holes to fill there for them.
CranktheAnchors
24 Jan 2007, 16:16
Nothing much on Harcourt except they are losing a few (Thomosons etc) but you would imagine they'll find replacements. Newstead have apparently lost Christmas and Ramsey to Castlemaine and Oliver will be non-playing coach so some holes to fill there for them.
The thompson brothers? Who are the ecetera's?
KingRich
24 Jan 2007, 16:49
Charlie and Xavier are heading to Castlemaine. There are a couple of other senior players that are leaving but their names escape me. A few reserves players rumoured to be leaving. Only known recruit they have is Paul Eyles but you can bet that there will be more.
BillyBobby
27 Jan 2007, 03:28
Charlie and Xavier are heading to Castlemaine. There are a couple of other senior players that are leaving but their names escape me. A few reserves players rumoured to be leaving. Only known recruit they have is Paul Eyles but you can bet that there will be more.
I think that you have nothing better to do KingRich than talk ********.... no clearences has have been put in yet chook?
BillyBobby
27 Jan 2007, 03:29
Thompsons are possoms................
BillyBobby
27 Jan 2007, 03:31
Paul Eyles is a legend...... big dissapointment if he player at that low standard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!
BillyBobby
27 Jan 2007, 03:34
Whateva? it's only Jan...... Steve Oliver is a freak..... He could kick 10 on one leg!
KingRich
27 Jan 2007, 14:48
Talking s h i t is what makes this site go round BillyBobby! If there is nothing to read then you wouldn't be on here! You have managed to post 4 posts of crap just now! Everything I have said is what others on this thread have already stated earlier! Nothing better to do at 4:30 in the morning Billy?
coconut
28 Jan 2007, 13:09
Obviously there is very little to do in maryborough at 4.30 am on a Saturday morning Billy Bobby?? Eyles will dominate in the league in regards to game tempo, but has he got the support around him in the trenches?
KingRich
28 Jan 2007, 17:32
Drove past Talbot's ground today and it actually looks surprisingly green from the road. The new year rain and couple of smaller subsequent showers seem to have kept the grass alive and all looks fine for round 1 I would say. Must admit I didn't have a closer look but I would say it looks better than this time last year.
Sherman41
29 Jan 2007, 10:30
some intereseting developments on the front since i have been away, gotta love qld!!!!!! just a few things i will comment on, leigh hooper will not make much difference to rovers, handy player with good enough skills but not a match winner or high possession ball winner IMO, good on him for having a crack and if he can lure players then u never know.
brent trotter handy footballer 6'6 and very strong does boxing so keeps in pretty good shape def a handy KPP or back up ruckman.
as for talbots ground heard it is in good nick form a reliable source and the grass is green and coverage is good. dunolly's ground had also come a long way in last month and seems to be getting greeener every time im there for cricket.
KingRich
29 Jan 2007, 10:35
Good to see the Sherminator back! I reckon the New Years rains and the couple of subsequent showers and cooler conditions will ensure the league starts on time as Talbot's is traditionally one of the slowest grounds to come up.
Localfootyfan
29 Jan 2007, 11:54
Whateva? it's only Jan...... Steve Oliver is a freak..... He could kick 10 on one leg!
Billybobby,
Do you not realise that most good players would be most likely signed before Christmas awaiting for clearances to open in Feb???
I can assure you there would be at least 10 clearances awaiting this time and that allot of these rumours have some substance to them. a few guys from the club doing the chasing are having a few beers discussing it and someone over hears it. Pull your head out of the sand!!
Keep up the good work the rest of you guy's, some good reading in here!!
bloodhound!
29 Jan 2007, 12:10
Thompsons are possoms................
Want to explain what you mean by that??
Spoke to Xavier on Friday and him and Charlie have actually not decided yet what they are doing contrary to an earlier post of mine. Definitely undecided on where they will play at this stage. Charlie is actually in New York at the moment.
KingRich
29 Jan 2007, 13:05
Spoke to Xavier on Friday and him and Charlie have actually not decided yet what they are doing contrary to an earlier post of mine. Definitely undecided on where they will play at this stage. Charlie is actually in New York at the moment.
Interesting. Good for the league in general if they stay but bad for the clubs looking to chase a flag as those 2 ALWAYS seem to lift come finals.
Sherman41
29 Jan 2007, 13:17
Interesting. Good for the league in general if they stay but bad for the clubs looking to chase a flag as those 2 ALWAYS seem to lift come finals.
agree with that king rich, blood hound i think u should tell charlie not to hurry back,lol:D
CranktheAnchors
29 Jan 2007, 13:45
Hay bloodhound,
There would be no chance of them splitting up. eg one going to maine and one staying at Harcourt.?
It would be a package deal?
bloodhound!
29 Jan 2007, 14:32
Hay bloodhound,
There would be no chance of them splitting up. eg one going to maine and one staying at Harcourt.?
It would be a package deal?
I really doubt they would split up but you never know i think they are still keen to play together just not sure where yet......they are never short of offers as you would imagine but they are both laid back fellas and never rush into anything.