View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 03:59
U say the club holds no animosity towards these players yet you don't want to waste your time and computer costs to clear them.
You say its 'strange' that these fellas have been to social events in Avoca when they are only getting cleared from the footy club not the whole town. Again you hold no animosity but you would rather not see them around the town anymore?
The club may have moved on but have you Wonker . Remember Wonker the club is always bigger than the individual don't lose sight of this champ.
Crank your always a cool cat and I love your opinions but your fishing hard here! Wonk has been a valued member of this forum, always honest and has given great info! Avoca is disappointed of course but that is obvious, wonk is trying to remain impartial. Unless you have something to add let sleeping dogs lie! Cheers Crank
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 04:03
Well stated Wonker, couldnt have said it better myself. The club has decided to take a new path and not tolerate mediocrity or troublesome players who aren't happy with the playing environment. Only time will tell if the right decision has been made, but if pre season is any indication, the club is on the right track with great numbers and a lot more interest from supporters and sponsors in comparison to recent seasons. This is also supported by the better prospects recruiting wise through the appointment of new coaching staff for the 07 season.
All is on the up for the Bulldogs.
In saying that Terry was a young coach who did a fantastic job on the field from what I saw. He had a bad incident from the clubs perspective and has been punished according to what they thought. Good on Avoca for setting their standard but I think it is fairly obvious its a tough decision for them to make. Time will tell if its the right decision but they must stand by it!
Neverwasbeen2
29 Mar 2007, 08:58
Just got my Computer back, fella's,
Missed a fair while, lots of good thread talk, now we see really can see where each club is at. Creek I hear has a coach who was once appointed coach of Dunolly some years ago. But never made it thru to the season starting, promising heaps of Bendigo players but never delivering. But has promised the creek fraternity some 10 players, & yes they are believed to be from H/Court. Unsure of Reserves players or not, but even if they are they still will be good senior players for the Creeks club. Eyles is training the house down in the apple town. Hasn't lodged a clearance yet, which is unknown why, possibly to not show, other clubs what is coming to H/court. Threw a big carrot out to a Bendigo bomber player who declined, so yes are shopping around still and by seasons start no doubt will have a couple of quality players coming in. C/B: still haven't lodged Toby Liston a proposed recruit from previous threads I see any news there Fella's. Also no ruckman to fill Meggsy spot any news coming in there. Talbot: Tom Sutherland hasn't lodged another clearnace either fella's since he was rejected. What the go there?
Lunch time matinee
29 Mar 2007, 10:04
Well stated Wonker, couldnt have said it better myself. The club has decided to take a new path and not tolerate mediocrity or troublesome players who aren't happy with the playing environment. Only time will tell if the right decision has been made, but if pre season is any indication, the club is on the right track with great numbers and a lot more interest from supporters and sponsors in comparison to recent seasons. This is also supported by the better prospects recruiting wise through the appointment of new coaching staff for the 07 season.
All is on the up for the Bulldogs.
What makes you think that if the boy's had not been in trouble last season that they would have played with Avoca in 07. Both now live and work in Ballarat and were approached by many clubs to play. The response from Avoca sounds like they gave these players the boot. They may have wanted to move on anyway. But to not at least approve or not knock back their clearance rather then let it go through to time limit is a slap in the face for these players.
Thoroughbred
29 Mar 2007, 10:27
Well stated Wonker, couldnt have said it better myself. The club has decided to take a new path and not tolerate mediocrity or troublesome players who aren't happy with the playing environment.
One bad apple causes the rest to rot. Good policy.
Thoroughbred
29 Mar 2007, 10:30
What makes you think that if the boy's had not been in trouble last season that they would have played with Avoca in 07. Both now live and work in Ballarat and were approached by many clubs to play. The response from Avoca sounds like they gave these players the boot. They may have wanted to move on anyway. But to not at least approve or not knock back their clearance rather then let it go through to time limit is a slap in the face for these players.
Who cares? I think Avoca is right in doing so. Give them the clearance and don't do the whole 3 knock backs and appeals jig. Everyone hates that and they end up hating the club.
I'm sure the 2 Robbo's aren't sitting around moping that because they had a time limit acceptance. I think people are being too precious here.
Thoroughbred
29 Mar 2007, 10:32
Missed a fair while, lots of good thread talk, now we see really can see where each club is at. Creek I hear has a coach who was once appointed coach of Dunolly some years ago. But never made it thru to the season starting, promising heaps of Bendigo players but never delivering. But has promised the creek fraternity some 10 players, & yes they are believed to be from H/Court.
Talking to some Dunolly committee members, he promised the same and all that came were a bunch of guys that would be lucky to play decent 2's. Although beggers can't be choosers.
fifth quarter
29 Mar 2007, 11:16
rich, neverwas and thorough -- rod donalson the bloke you are refering to was on radio last nite and sounded pretty positive about the creek
sed ground "looked like the mcg" it was that green and lush
obviously numbers are down but he added he hoped to organise praccy matches for the creek troops once numbers had picked up
at this stage trainining only once a week for the creek
donalson will step it up to 2 nights a week very soon he sed
Lunch time matinee
29 Mar 2007, 11:58
Who cares? I think Avoca is right in doing so. Give them the clearance and don't do the whole 3 knock backs and appeals jig. Everyone hates that and they end up hating the club.
I'm sure the 2 Robbo's aren't sitting around moping that because they had a time limit acceptance. I think people are being too precious here.
Read the quote mate, my statement is that instead of running the clearance into a time limit, just clear them and get on with it. I agree that it's no worth mucking around with knocking back clearance and going to appeal if the player definetly wants to go. That's not precious, that's getting on with the business of finalising your playing group.
Thoroughbred
29 Mar 2007, 12:38
But to not at least approve or not knock back their clearance rather then let it go through to time limit is a slap in the face for these players.
Is this the part you wanted me to read again?
I have put in bold the bit where I believe people must be a little precious.
Nah, what am I saying? You're right. Those two players will be so fired up from a Time Limit clearance that they will go up another gear on the track just to spite Avoca. It will be burning in their minds every time they play the bulldogs from now on.
Sherman41
29 Mar 2007, 12:40
Missed a fair while, lots of good thread talk, now we see really can see where each club is at. Creek I hear has a coach who was once appointed coach of Dunolly some years ago. But never made it thru to the season starting, promising heaps of Bendigo players but never delivering. But has promised the creek fraternity some 10 players, & yes they are believed to be from H/Court. Unsure of Reserves players or not, but even if they are they still will be good senior players for the Creeks club. Eyles is training the house down in the apple town. Hasn't lodged a clearance yet, which is unknown why, possibly to not show, other clubs what is coming to H/court. Threw a big carrot out to a Bendigo bomber player who declined, so yes are shopping around still and by seasons start no doubt will have a couple of quality players coming in. C/B: still haven't lodged Toby Liston a proposed recruit from previous threads I see any news there Fella's. Also no ruckman to fill Meggsy spot any news coming in there. Talbot: Tom Sutherland hasn't lodged another clearnace either fella's since he was rejected. What the go there?
i believe tom will sign another clearance tonight at training
CranktheAnchors
29 Mar 2007, 13:18
Crank your always a cool cat and I love your opinions but your fishing hard here! Wonk has been a valued member of this forum, always honest and has given great info! Avoca is disappointed of course but that is obvious, wonk is trying to remain impartial. Unless you have something to add let sleeping dogs lie! Cheers Crank
Don't think I'm fishing here Rich. Wonker does have some great info for the thread just can't see his neutral stance like you can. Anyway i'm happy to bury the subject and get back to the footy talk.
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 14:05
Talbot: Tom Sutherland hasn't lodged another clearnace either fella's since he was rejected. What the go there?
They only rejected it this week and he didn't train Tuesday so I would say that is why.
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 14:09
rich, neverwas and thorough -- rod donalson the bloke you are refering to was on radio last nite and sounded pretty positive about the creek
obviously numbers are down but he added he hoped to organise praccy matches for the creek troops once numbers had picked up
I hope they get up and play in all sincerity. All these blokes that have left enmasse I assume realise that they are killing the club. I wouldn't be happy with that. They should be able to drag a few in for the first 3 rounds if we start on time as Bendigo starts late.
This is more positive news compared to what I heard at training the other night anyway!
Thoroughbred
29 Mar 2007, 15:02
I think that was the guys name. He has a history of successful coaching in under age football. I know things did not go well at Dunolly but I'm sure he'll have a crack at the Creek.
All the best to him as he's doing something that nobody would really want to do.
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 15:12
I spoke to a bloke last week who has trained with Brook a couple of times this pre-season and he said that they were looking good on the track and should go alright this year. We haven't heard much about their recruiting and their clearances in thus far are mostly known local players. Have they been able to replace Field? Will they have the goal scoring power this year which they lacked last year?
SiMoSaYs
29 Mar 2007, 15:14
Was there much rain around the area last night for the grounds??
Simo
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 15:33
Was there much rain around the area last night for the grounds??
Simo
Bout 6mls in Talbot someone told me.
I think the words that were used in my earlier post were "offered an open clearance" - the two Robbo boys can verify that if you ask them. I don't know whether that actually constitutes being given the boot.
But I must agree with you 'Lunch Time' - I think that Nick R was always going to leave. If what Nick indicates is right, he is on at least $200 a game at Brook.
With the club structure and the type of player the Avoca club is recruiting it would be hard to pay that sort of money to Nick and still be able to look the other boys in the eye.
You can't blame Nick if he takes up the offer. After all his current wage is not huge and he is more than likely paying off a house so the extra cash will come in handy.
With Nick being a former league B&F winner and former coach you could probably say that Carisbrook has got value for their money.
Look how many goals they got out of the last player they recruited from Avoca in Shane 'Meggsy' Field.
KingRich
29 Mar 2007, 22:42
Why have the likes of Shane Field and Luke Robinson left Avoca and not come back Wonker? Both born and bred in Avoca.
There's probably hundreds of reasons king - all $$$$$$$. - Luke is reported to be on about the $180 per game mark and Shane I would imagine would have been on a bit more than a pie and coke.
What does a club do? Avoca hasn't been in a position over the last decade to splurge its money and in fairness to these boys you really can't hold them back.
Also the club was held back 'big time' by a group of crusty old men called the VCFL appeals board. Its decision to refuse Avoca's clearance to the MCDFL by appeal over a three year period cost the club a huge amount of energy at an administration level and a definite loss of players.
It just wasn't happening in the LPFL for Avoca. On a personal note during that time my daughter played netball for Talbot, my son sought and got a clearance to Rovers. My other son sought and was refused a clearance from Avoca to Rovers - and consequently walked away from the game.
Because of this, my own personal interest dropped off as I vowed never to travel south of Ballarat to attend a game of football. This was duplicated throughout, and the club was in dire straits.
The change of league has revitalised interest - that tribal thing is happening again with great rivalries being developed already.
Also it's terriffic to catch up with old mates and have a beer in oppossing club rooms after the game. Something that didn't happen in the other league unless you were playing Natte or Navarre.
Having said that I think the LPFL are a bit better organised with their U14 football and netball competitions. The netball committee is working hard to rectify this, while progress in getting a viable U14's football comp seem to have ground to a halt. I know that this is one of the major reasons why the Natte club has not persued its initial move to join the MCDFL
I hope that helps to give an incite into why things happen the way they sometimes do King.
SiMoSaYs
30 Mar 2007, 11:30
There's probably hundreds of reasons king - all $$$$$$$. - Luke is reported to be on about the $180 per game mark and Shane I would imagine would have been on a bit more than a pie and coke.
What does a club do? Avoca hasn't been in a position over the last decade to splurge its money and in fairness to these boys you really can't hold them back.
Also the club was held back 'big time' by a group of crusty old men called the VCFL appeals board. Its decision to refuse Avoca's clearance to the MCDFL by appeal over a three year period cost the club a huge amount of energy at an administration level and a definite loss of players.
It just wasn't happening in the LPFL for Avoca. On a personal note during that time my daughter played netball for Talbot, my son sought and got a clearance to Rovers. My other son sought and was refused a clearance from Avoca to Rovers - and consequently walked away from the game.
Because of this, my own personal interest dropped off as I vowed never to travel south of Ballarat to attend a game of football. This was duplicated throughout, and the club was in dire straits.
The change of league has revitalised interest - that tribal thing is happening again with great rivalries being developed already.
Also it's terriffic to catch up with old mates and have a beer in oppossing club rooms after the game. Something that didn't happen in the other league unless you were playing Natte or Navarre.
Having said that I think the LPFL are a bit better organised with their U14 football and netball competitions. The netball committee is working hard to rectify this, while progress in getting a viable U14's comp seem to have ground to a halt. I know that this is one of the major reasons why the Natte club has not persued its initial move to join the MCDFL
I hope that helps to give an incite into why things happen the way they sometimes do King.
I guess it's a hard decission isn't it, do you play high incentives so everyone get's a share of the pie so to speak or pay out everyweek to a few players to secure them.
I guess for the better player that auction themselves out they will go for the guarenteed $$$$$ a week rather than the incentive scheme where they are not guarenteed the $$$!
It's very sad how it's going with things like this, as i think the incentive scheme has great merits as all players have the oppertunity to be financialy rewarded.......but loyalty seems to have gone out the window in exchange to lining your pockets for a couple of years...:thumbsd:
Simo
KingRich
30 Mar 2007, 14:47
Seems strange that they both left and have not ventured back though. Thanks Wonker.
Sherman41
30 Mar 2007, 15:50
I guess it's a hard decission isn't it, do you play high incentives so everyone get's a share of the pie so to speak or pay out everyweek to a few players to secure them.
I guess for the better player that auction themselves out they will go for the guarenteed $$$$$ a week rather than the incentive scheme where they are not guarenteed the $$$!
It's very sad how it's going with things like this, as i think the incentive scheme has great merits as all players have the oppertunity to be financialy rewarded.......but loyalty seems to have gone out the window in exchange to lining your pockets for a couple of years...:thumbsd:
Simo
i tend to disagree a little simosays, cos generally clubs who play players also have a incentive scheme, and it is the players who are not reaping those awards that generally receive the incentives, unless payed players play a blinder........i believe that if players are good enough to make a decent living out of playing football for money then that is there decision, as they have to be prepared to do all the travelling and extra's that come with it. u have to rememeber u cant play footy forever so y not make the most of it while you can..
SiMoSaYs
30 Mar 2007, 15:52
I think in Avoca's case they only pay the incentives, hence why they are so large......
Reread wonkers post
Simo
KingRich
30 Mar 2007, 15:56
I'd like to think there is still plenty of room for club loyalty in the world but obviously this is becoming less common each day. I have great respect for good players that stick with one club for nothing when they could easily go elsewhere and make some money.
Sherman41
30 Mar 2007, 16:18
I'd like to think there is still plenty of room for club loyalty in the world but obviously this is becoming less common each day. I have great respect for good players that stick with one club for nothing when they could easily go elsewhere and make some money.
no doubt, club loyalty is very important in country footy, cos without those players, u cannot have a club. i also respect club loyalty, but sometimes, change is good and u cant hold players back who are thriving to play at the next level.
Seems strange that they both left and have not ventured back though. Thanks Wonker.
I think that they have made their homes elsewhere King which is not unusual in this age of the transient population. You probably couldn't say that Shane 'Megsy' Field will never play for Avoca again.
If the gigantic amount of coin he is reported to be receiving this season is true, then why would he be back at present.
I think you have one 'James Bond' over there King. Would you elaborate as to the reasons why he hasn't ventured back?
KingRich
30 Mar 2007, 16:24
Wonker/Shamui who is this Anthony McLean from Murtoa?? Any Good??
Also interesting to see that Klai Jermyn has applied for a clearance from Maine to Newstead. Erratic but talented player that played for Harcourt the season before last. Will get a torrid reception when he plays Harcourt I would think!
KingRich
30 Mar 2007, 16:26
I think you have one 'James Bond' over there King. Would you elaborate as to the reasons why he hasn't ventured back?
I honestly wouldn't know and I think its a mystery to most at the club. A few that are close to him would be in the know. Just one of those things. We'd love to have him back one day in any capacity to be honest. Its been a bloody long time since he was seen in a Talbot Guernsey now though!
KingRich
30 Mar 2007, 16:27
This year would have to be one of the biggest years for clearances into the league from recent memory. Granted Trentham account for a lot but there seems to be a lot of players making their way into the league this year.
[quote=KingRich;7071195]Wonker/Shamui who is this Anthony McLean from Murtoa?? Any Good??
You might have to ask your old mate Smasher on the NCFL thread - at the moment he is an unknown quantity.
We will get a look at him and the other surprise recruit this Sunday when Avoca plays Moyston/Willaura at the Avoca Public Park.
With the amount of recruits coming into the league at present the standard must only get stronger you would think.
KingRich
30 Mar 2007, 16:40
[quote=KingRich;7071195]Wonker/Shamui who is this Anthony McLean from Murtoa?? Any Good??
You might have to ask your old mate Smasher on the NCFL thread - at the moment he is an unknown quantity.
We will get a look at him and the other surprise recruit this Sunday when Avoca plays Moyston/Willaura at the Avoca Public Park.
With the amount of recruits coming into the league at present the standard must only get stronger you would think.
I prefer not to talk footy with Smasher Wonker!!! LOL
Sherman41
30 Mar 2007, 17:30
This year would have to be one of the biggest years for clearances into the league from recent memory. Granted Trentham account for a lot but there seems to be a lot of players making their way into the league this year.
i think the vast numbers of clearances that have come through may have to do with clubs realising that they needed to recruit well to match is with the best eg harcourt.
you play footy to win premierships, and if things kept going the way they were then harcourt would have them on a platter like last season
MightyRoar
1 Apr 2007, 16:01
I think that they have made their homes elsewhere King which is not unusual in this age of the transient population. You probably couldn't say that Shane 'Megsy' Field will never play for Avoca again.
If the gigantic amount of coin he is reported to be receiving this season is true, then why would he be back at present.
Originally Posted by KingRich http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7070527#post7070527)
Gday there guys, your spot on there Wonker in that the big fella has relocated and is now living in the Western, hence is why he is not back playing with the bulldogs at present. As the guy is only 27 I would say that he still has a few more years left in him, so still has time on his side to venture on back to the old stomping ground eventually to finish off where it all started. Also players of his ilk that r good enough to earn a quid from playing footy, you can't entirley blame them from moving away from their home town to do so, as look at the cost of living and soforthe nowadays. Extra money of that kind can pay their houses off and sets them up in life and for some may even be their main source of income.
As I happen to live with the big fella and have a fair insight into his football intentions, without hinting too much, I invisage that the big fella will play out his career at the club where it all started................:rolleyes:
catch me if u can
1 Apr 2007, 23:31
i've been away from this league for a few years and was just wondering what teams are lookin good this year? any one got a ladder position ect?
also heard a whisper that dunolly have been in some pretty serious talks with some ex players heard they mite be talkin to the greaco boys and the hutchins boys...any truth in it?
[quote=MightyRoar;7090460]Originally Posted by KingRich http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7070527#post7070527)
Gday there guys, your spot on there Wonker in that the big fella has relocated and is now living in the Western, hence is why he is not back playing with the bulldogs at present. As the guy is only 27 I would say that he still has a few more years left in him, so still has time on his side to venture on back to the old stomping ground eventually to finish off where it all started. Also players of his ilk that r good enough to earn a quid from playing footy, you can't entirley blame them from moving away from their home town to do so, as look at the cost of living and soforthe nowadays. Extra money of that kind can pay their houses off and sets them up in life and for some may even be their main source of income.
As I happen to live with the big fella and have a fair insight into his football intentions, without hinting too much, I invisage that the big fella will play out his career at the club where it all started................:rolleyes:
I love the blue writing Mighty Roar - how did you do that? It's heartening to learn that he might be back one day. We still see plenty of the big fella. You had better come too Mighty Roar as I know that you would fit in very well at the kennel.
Heard a whisper that Baz Gorman might be heading Carisbrook way this season. Baz was good value at Avoca because while he was around you always had someone to laugh at your jokes.
The result of the practice match against Moyston/Willaura was a one sided affair with Avoca running out winners by 16 or 17 goals. A good hit out, a great social day but sadly mis-matched as the opposition is at the very early stages of building a competitive outfit. They have some good people involved in the club so you would expect to see considerable improvement over the next couple of years. Never saw a kick all day so will have to ask Shamui who played well. I was kept busy all day turning snags. It was good to see your brother back running around in the red white and blue stripes again Shamui.
The netballers are talking about starting the season on time - what happens there - especially if they drop the last three games off at the end of the season as King indicated was the delegates decision.
KingRich
2 Apr 2007, 14:20
There are STRONG rumours floating around that I am hearing that the season will start on time. I think it will.
As for the Netballers starting on time if we dont... Its a good theory but I doubt they could make it work. A lot of netballers rely on Footballers to get to the games etc so I'm not sure if it will work but its something that should be looked at as there is no reason why they should be waiting as the asphalt is ready to go!
Heard Brook got a fair touchup from Wedderburn on the weekend. Did they have many out? Anyone see the game?
MightyRoar
2 Apr 2007, 16:36
[quote=MightyRoar;7090460]Originally Posted by KingRich http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7070527#post7070527)
I love the blue writing Mighty Roar - how did you do that? It's heartening to learn that he might be back one day. We still see plenty of the big fella. You had better come too Mighty Roar as I know that you would fit in very well at the kennel.
Heard a whisper that Baz Gorman might be heading Carisbrook way this season. Baz was good value at Avoca because while he was around you always had someone to laugh at your jokes.
The result of the practice match against Moyston/Willaura was a one sided affair with Avoca running out winners by 16 or 17 goals. A good hit out, a great social day but sadly mis-matched as the opposition is at the very early stages of building a competitive outfit. They have some good people involved in the club so you would expect to see considerable improvement over the next couple of years. Never saw a kick all day so will have to ask Shamui who played well. I was kept busy all day turning snags. It was good to see your brother back running around in the red white and blue stripes again Shamui.
The netballers are talking about starting the season on time - what happens there - especially if they drop the last three games off at the end of the season as King indicated was the delegates decision.
Well Willy as you'd probably remember I've always had aspirations to play at the kennel and tried to come there many years ago, however had no luck in doing so. Would still like to have a kick there someday, so you never know, might just come across with the big fella when/if he returns there.
As for the blue writing mate, click on the letter A in the tool bar when you reply to a quote and go from there!!:thumbsu:
[quote=wonker;7098615]
Well Willy as you'd probably remember I've always had aspirations to play at the kennel and tried to come there many years ago, however had no luck in doing so. Would still like to have a kick there someday, so you never know, might just come across with the big fella when/if he returns there.
As for the blue writing mate, click on the letter A in the tool bar when you reply to a quote and go from there!!:thumbsu:
How many football clubs do you reckon you can play for mighty? Becoming a bit of the town bike.
[quote=wonker;7098615]
Geez Mighty, that was a long time ago....we must be getting old!
Lads, A quick wrap up of the Avoca V Moyston Willaura match - As atated by Wonka they were a little undermanned but accounted for themselves fairly well. Played about 5 qtrs with the Bulldogs running out easy winners. Better playes would include B. Veitch, T. Barker, T Bellenger, M Wardlaw, J Tapner. Wonka's star recruit was probably the best man on the ground, as stated previously "watch this space"....
KingRich
2 Apr 2007, 22:29
Lads, A quick wrap up of the Avoca V Moyston Willaura match - As atated by Wonka they were a little undermanned but accounted for themselves fairly well. Played about 5 qtrs with the Bulldogs running out easy winners. Better playes would include B. Veitch, T. Barker, T Bellenger, M Wardlaw, J Tapner. Wonka's star recruit was probably the best man on the ground, as stated previously "watch this space"....
Any clues on the star recruit??
patty O'furnicha
3 Apr 2007, 09:31
How did new Assistant Coach Lloyd go? did he play?
Dom didn't play mate, I think his Grandmother is crook. We're hoping he'll be good to go for round 1.
Montyposty
3 Apr 2007, 10:50
There are STRONG rumours floating around that I am hearing that the season will start on time. I think it will.
As for the Netballers starting on time if we dont... Its a good theory but I doubt they could make it work. A lot of netballers rely on Footballers to get to the games etc so I'm not sure if it will work but its something that should be looked at as there is no reason why they should be waiting as the asphalt is ready to go!
Heard Brook got a fair touchup from Wedderburn on the weekend. Did they have many out? Anyone see the game?
Saw your coach there King Rich. Out at Carisbrook. No Sanders, Tatchell, Edwards, Graco's, Lang, Nick McKinley, No Ruckman if they have one, No sign of the New Rover (Liston), Baz Gorman played, so did Treacey only real new faces, other than the Robbo's from Avoca & Bursill boy's look like they are back. So looks to be differenty outfit Brook will line up with. Hard to tell really how they look as Wedderburn are meant to be strong this year and a better league. Wedderburn did have a player playing F/F how was on the lions list not long ago Schammer his name is. Spoke to a bloke on there Commitee, he just dominated the game.
KingRich
3 Apr 2007, 11:03
How did Treacy go? What type of player is he?? Fair list of outs.... Have they managed to secure a Ruckman for this year does anyone know?? This was a weakness last year and now with Megs gone becomes a large hole!
Wonker has that start recruit signed yet heard a whisper he has played a bit of major leage football
Bulldog99
3 Apr 2007, 12:19
Saw your coach there King Rich. Out at Carisbrook. No Sanders, Tatchell, Edwards, Graco's, Lang, Nick McKinley, No Ruckman if they have one, No sign of the New Rover (Liston), Baz Gorman played, so did Treacey only real new faces, other than the Robbo's from Avoca & Bursill boy's look like they are back. So looks to be differenty outfit Brook will line up with. Hard to tell really how they look as Wedderburn are meant to be strong this year and a better league. Wedderburn did have a player playing F/F how was on the lions list not long ago Schammer his name is. Spoke to a bloke on there Commitee, he just dominated the game.
Lots of outs & a very young & undersized side took to the field. The boys went very well against a very good side with lots of promising signs. The new faces were probably best with the two new Robbo's finding the pill & in a great sign for the club both Bursill's were looking dangerous with young Burs particulary getting heaps of the ball. Great to see them back. Tracey was definately in brooks best & it'll be interesting to see where they play him. Not big for a forward but big for a midfielder. He looks like he goes very well. great bloke too! Wrighty looks like he could be even more dangerous again this year. Will have a very good on ball side....
Don't Argue
3 Apr 2007, 12:25
Natte's practice match against Maryborough tonight has been cancelled due to the council not allowing Maryborough to train or play on the ground.
The ground has been marked as too hard and the rumour is that the council has even ordered them not to turn the lights on for any training as the ground is rock hard and they don't want to be liable for any injury claims.
Things are looking grim for the district if the #1 oval can't even make the grade.
Sherman41
3 Apr 2007, 12:51
Natte's practice match against Maryborough tonight has been cancelled due to the council not allowing Maryborough to train or play on the ground.
The ground has been marked as too hard and the rumour is that the council has even ordered them not to turn the lights on for any training as the ground is rock hard and they don't want to be liable for any injury claims.
Things are looking grim for the district if the #1 oval can't even make the grade.
you have got to be kidding me!!!!!. surely it cant have got any worse since the night series.....and having just played cricket on it, i dont see what all the fuss is about, would play there any day of the week ahead of alot of other grounds...:thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Dom didn't play mate, I think his Grandmother is crook. We're hoping he'll be good to go for round 1.
Sadly Dom's grandmother passed away late last week. He spoke of her very affectionately and was no doubt very close to her. Unfortunately she was taken too early as do too many others. As I said on an earlier thread family comes a way ahead of football.
I know that the 'kid' reads the big footy threads and the club passes on its sincere condolences to him and his family
The club can't wait to see him back on the track. Dom has been a stand out at training and I know that he will be back as soon as possible.
I would say that the league has little chance of starting on time. I think a decision is to be made toworrow night,
MightyRoar
3 Apr 2007, 13:09
[quote=MightyRoar;7103175]
How many football clubs do you reckon you can play for mighty? Becoming a bit of the town bike.
G'day nossi, hows the married life treating you buddy. I have in deed played for a few clubs but must adimt have always wanted to play for the kennell and from all reports on me becoming a bit of a town bike, not a bad ride from what the chicks say!! :D
you have got to be kidding me!!!!!. surely it cant have got any worse since the night series.....and having just played cricket on it, i dont see what all the fuss is about, would play there any day of the week ahead of alot of other grounds...:thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Would you be prepared to sign of on the grounds and accept any litigation that may follow. It sure worries me when I have to put the pen to paper.
MightyRoar
3 Apr 2007, 13:13
[quote=MightyRoar;7103175]
Geez Mighty, that was a long time ago....we must be getting old!
Yeah Shamui was some time ago, probably back in the mid 90's if I can remember correctly!!
SiMoSaYs
3 Apr 2007, 13:17
Would you be prepared to sign of on the grounds and accept any litigation that may follow. It sure worries me when I have to put the pen to paper.
thats the problem with todays society, everyone want's to blame someone if something goes wrong......
Simo
KingRich
3 Apr 2007, 13:19
My understanding is that the Council not the clubs would be liable anyway??? There is absolutely nothing wrong with Princess Park, harder than it usually is but still perfectly fine to play on. The Bendigo League night series will be canned then 1 would think.
Don't Argue
3 Apr 2007, 14:05
It was just a scheduled practice match. Not the night series. But from my understanding, Maryborough is not even allowed to train on it so the finals on Wednesday night may not go ahead.
The council has apparently, cut the power to the lights. I don't know whether it is actually that drastic but my understanding is they have been told they can't train or play on it.
Don't Argue
3 Apr 2007, 14:07
My understanding is that the Council not the clubs would be liable anyway??? There is absolutely nothing wrong with Princess Park, harder than it usually is but still perfectly fine to play on. The Bendigo League night series will be canned then 1 would think.
The council is liable. They own the ground, they take care of the ground and it is their responsibility if someone was to be injured on it.
AC Rocket
3 Apr 2007, 16:52
Hey boys, Central Goldfields Shire ovals are being tested today and will be completed today.
Talbot is one that has passed in all facets. Princes Park to be tested later this evening.
Question marks over Royal Park's ground, Dunolly's Harcourt's and Newstead's.
Question marks over Royal Park's ground, Dunolly's Harcourt's and Newstead's.[/quote]
How is the Rovers ground?
AC Rocket
4 Apr 2007, 06:38
How is the Rovers ground?[/quote]
Would assume it would definitely be right to go April 14 or 21, for the TAC triple header, BFL Lightning premiership, or Bendigo Bombers match.
Sherman41
4 Apr 2007, 10:43
How is the Rovers ground?
Would assume it would definitely be right to go April 14 or 21, for the TAC triple header, BFL Lightning premiership, or Bendigo Bombers match.[/quote]
the thing that is really sh_tt_ng me is thaT, it has been a long pre season and i just wanna play footy like alot of other blokes do, prob the most annoying thing is just not knowing when the season will start, as we havent got a definate answer yet.
im sure if you put the question to the players, a hell of a lot of players would be for starting on time.
and i cant possible imagine, how rovers and hedges ovel could not pass test, as they are 2 of the best grounds in the league to play on.
Hey boys, Central Goldfields Shire ovals are being tested today and will be completed today.
Talbot is one that has passed in all facets. Princes Park to be tested later this evening.
Just got off the phone to Max Martin and he informed me that a decision has been made to officially start the season at the later time of Sat 5th May. The state of the grounds are as follows. Good -Maldon, Carisbrook, Talbot Avoca and Trentham. Not playable Harcourt, Hedges Oval, Dunolly, Newstead, Campbell's Creek with Jubilee Oval to be inspected at around 10 a.m. today. Princess Park is currently listed as being under stress. The league, like every one else would like to see the season start on time but at the moment it seems its hands are tied.
In saying that. he did concede that if a deluge happened during Easter there is a slight chance that the season would commence on time.
The netballers, in a narrow vote also decided to start their season at the later time.
The other BIG question is will Campell's Creek survive?
The first three games will be the ones dropped off not the last three as previously indicated on this site. The reason for this was that many people and clubs had booked up activities to co-incide with home games, byes etc. Some people had booked churches for weddings, got tickets to league games etc. etc so I suppose it makes sense to go that way,
An age reporter in Martin Flanaghan is heading to Avoca today to do a story on the 'Effects of the Drought on football in country Victoria. I am to meet with him at about 1.30 p.m. That is the reason I rang Max to see if there was anything that the league would like to add.
Check out the blue writing Mighty Roar - who said they can't teach an old dog new tricks.
SiMoSaYs
4 Apr 2007, 11:14
Very Very Disapointing!!!
football head
4 Apr 2007, 11:51
to officially start the season at the later time of Sat 5th May.
hopefully there is someone on this forum that can help me with this question, as i have been unable to get answers from any of the ballarat or bendigo leagues..what is the reason as to the season being pushed back for "3" weeks?? why isnt it a shorter time frame, perhaps just one or two? seems funny that the leagues have choosen a 3 week delay....
Thinking of you and your family at this sad time Dom.
From Bomber and family.
West Coburg are looking for a practice match on the 14th of April. Has to be at your ground due to ours being unavailable. If interested please contact the club via the website www.wcfc.com.au
Thanks!
Sherman41
4 Apr 2007, 14:19
this is extremely dissapointing, very very unhappy with this decision, if it goes ahead!!!!!!!we have been in a drought for bloody 7 years now, what the f_uc k will another 3 weeks do, this is extremely frustrating from my point of view......and as to y the first 3 weeks will be dropped off seems, strange.
CranktheAnchors
4 Apr 2007, 14:33
and as to y the first 3 weeks will be dropped off seems, strange.
Wonker answered this question.
The first three games will be the ones dropped off not the last three as previously indicated on this site. The reason for this was that many people and clubs had booked up activities to co-incide with home games, byes etc. Some people had booked churches for weddings, got tickets to league games etc. etc so I suppose it makes sense to go that way,
Steve_Addlem
4 Apr 2007, 14:36
I'm happy with the decision.
Respect the umpires.
KingRich
4 Apr 2007, 14:38
If it rains then it will still start on time but I agree with the "Why 3 weeks question"? What happens if it still doesn't rain then what???
The annoying thing for me is that the first round can easily be played. There are only 4 games to be played and Brook and Avoca are at home from memory. newstead play maldon so they could switch and Harcourt play creek which could be switched to a sunday at any of the other grounds. I cant see why we are not playing a round of football that is ready to go. So we wait and it doesn't get any better then what??? Get us on the park and get it going, worry about grounds when the time comes I say!
KingRich
4 Apr 2007, 14:38
I'm happy with the decision.
Respect the umpires.
LOL Hi Steve.... LOL
If it rains then it will still start on time but I agree with the "Why 3 weeks question"? What happens if it still doesn't rain then what???
The annoying thing for me is that the first round can easily be played. There are only 4 games to be played and Brook and Avoca are at home from memory. newstead play maldon so they could switch and Harcourt play creek which could be switched to a sunday at any of the other grounds. I cant see why we are not playing a round of football that is ready to go. So we wait and it doesn't get any better then what??? Get us on the park and get it going, worry about grounds when the time comes I say!
Rich/Sherman, you boys aren't backward in voicing your displeasure at the season being put back.....long pre-season taking its toll?:D
SiMoSaYs
4 Apr 2007, 17:07
Rich/Sherman, you boys aren't backward in voicing your displeasure at the season being put back.....long pre-season taking its toll?:D
probably just the same as any player, want's to play footy!!
Simo
KingRich
4 Apr 2007, 18:16
Am very sick of training and not playing yes Shamui! Just very keen to get the season under way! Its Footy Season haven't you heard???
[quote=nossi5;7103699]
G'day nossi, hows the married life treating you buddy. I have in deed played for a few clubs but must adimt have always wanted to play for the kennell and from all reports on me becoming a bit of a town bike, not a bad ride from what the chicks say!! :D
yeah mate all going well. i think everyone had a good night. you certainly looked like you were having a good night. Yes can remember when you wanted to go to the kennel, have often thought about going back there myself( back where it all began) but times have changed mate and it will probably never happen.
Would assume it would definitely be right to go April 14 or 21, for the TAC triple header, BFL Lightning premiership, or Bendigo Bombers match.
I cant possible imagine, how rovers and hedges ovel could not pass test, as they are 2 of the best grounds in the league to play on.[/quote]
Tonight's football night series grand final was cancelled due to the state of Princess Park. I think they must have shared the prize money as the game will never be played. They are expecting an allocation of waste water to be used on the oval to cater for the upcoming TAC matches.
The netball final was played with Serp/Bears Lagoon defeating Natte Yallock.
Jubilee oval failed the test and has not been passed as suitable to be played on by the Central Goldfields Shire.
I had a look at the Natte oval on my way through to Bealiba. They are obviously trying hard to get it ready by flooding it from the river. The grass looks a little tufty and there would have to be about 250 sheep and lambs running on it at present.
It's a pity that the ovals have taken such a battering. The Natte oval was a show piece in years gone by.
I wonder who signs off on the grounds in the LPFL as the league intend to commence on time.
Don't Argue
5 Apr 2007, 10:37
wonker nattes oval has improved out of sight in recent weeks and it definetly will be up and going for round one. The ground has been seeded with rye grass and also quiet a lot of super has been put on. There also has been a lot of water going onto the ground and even if the grass cover isn't great it will be soft and thats all they test for. The reason for running a mob of sheep on there is too mow down the grass a little and also stomp in the rye grass seed into the surface increasing the chance of it shooting. It seems to be doing the trick at the moment and they will be off by tonight and hopefully the ground will continue to keep getting better.
Don't Argue
5 Apr 2007, 10:43
Also anyone interested in playing some games in the Natte Seconds before the MCDFL season starts please send me a personal message. We are a little bit short on numbers and a few players might help us get up and firing. This is a good chance for anyone who is sick of training and just wants to get out on the park. Any help would be muchly appreciated.
wonker nattes oval has improved out of sight in recent weeks and it definetly will be up and going for round one. The ground has been seeded with rye grass and also quiet a lot of super has been put on. There also has been a lot of water going onto the ground and even if the grass cover isn't great it will be soft and thats all they test for. The reason for running a mob of sheep on there is too mow down the grass a little and also stomp in the rye grass seed into the surface increasing the chance of it shooting. It seems to be doing the trick at the moment and they will be off by tonight and hopefully the ground will continue to keep getting better.
The club can only be admired for the effort it is putting in. I hope to get to the first game Don't Argue.
Don't Argue
5 Apr 2007, 10:55
We're encouraging everyone from the MCDFL to get out and get behind Natte for the first couple of games. We are playing at home an they should be very good matches for viewing.
I cant possible imagine, how rovers and hedges ovel could not pass test, as they are 2 of the best grounds in the league to play on.
Tonight's football night series grand final was cancelled due to the state of Princess Park. I think they must have shared the prize money as the game will never be played. They are expecting an allocation of waste water to be used on the oval to cater for the upcoming TAC matches.
Jubilee oval failed the test and has not been passed as suitable to be played on by the Central Goldfields Shire.
I had a look at the Natte oval on my way through to Bealiba. They are obviously trying hard to get it ready by flooding it from the river. The grass looks a little tufty and there would have to be about 250 sheep and lambs running on it at present.
It's a pity that the ovals have taken such a battering. The Natte oval was a show piece in years gone by.
I wonder who signs off on the grounds in the LPFL as the league intend to commence on time.[/quote]
One thing to say about Maryborough night series. Poorly ran and will not get clubs to play in next year.
BillyBobby
5 Apr 2007, 12:54
I wonder who signs off on the grounds in the LPFL as the league intend to commence on time.
One thing to say about Maryborough night series. Poorly ran and will not get clubs to play in next year.[/quote]
How can it be poorly run when they can't get water to bring the ground up to scratch? Every team was informed early in the day if their game got cancelled so I thought it was run pretty good considering the circumstances.
Don't Argue
5 Apr 2007, 13:05
The Maryborough night series is very poorly ran. Two years ago natte had one of their games cancelled due to a sprinkle of rain and we were informed at 5:00pm for a 7:00pm game. This made it very hard to contact players to tell them it was cancelled. Many of the players were already on there way up from Melbourne which was very disappointing for them as they had made the effort.
They need to get it right or knock it on the head.
MightyRoar
5 Apr 2007, 13:08
Also anyone interested in playing some games in the Natte Seconds before the MCDFL season starts please send me a personal message. We are a little bit short on numbers and a few players might help us get up and firing. This is a good chance for anyone who is sick of training and just wants to get out on the park. Any help would be muchly appreciated.
I reckon ya should give Scotty a ring mate, heard a rumour that the big mellon head was thinking of coming back to the stomping next season for a kick!! :D
Don't Argue
5 Apr 2007, 13:09
which scotty are we talking about MightyRoar?
I haven't sorted nossi5 yet Mighty Roar - any clues as to where he plays at present.
BillyBobby
5 Apr 2007, 13:32
The Maryborough night series is very poorly ran. Two years ago natte had one of their games cancelled due to a sprinkle of rain and we were informed at 5:00pm for a 7:00pm game. This made it very hard to contact players to tell them it was cancelled. Many of the players were already on there way up from Melbourne which was very disappointing for them as they had made the effort.
They need to get it right or knock it on the head.
When it starts raining and we chop the hell out of the ground it doesn't go down well with the cricketers when their grand final is on, thats why it got cancelled that late.
The night series is designed to give teams a run on the park, just trying to help everyone out.
Don't Argue
5 Apr 2007, 13:41
If it is designed to just be a run in the park i find it a bit rich they charge $7 for entry. That particular night there would have been less then 1mm or rain fall and they just pulled the pin. I personally think it had a bit to do with the relationship between Natte and Maryborough at that point in time as well. It was a cheap shot at us for recruiting some of there players i believe.
I think they should get serious with it and try and get more better teams in it or just can it. It's unfair on teams who are trying to run a structured pre season campaign to have games cancelled and moved to other nights all the time. I agree cricket must be considered but come on!
patty O'furnicha
5 Apr 2007, 14:04
Sadly Dom's grandmother passed away late last week. He spoke of her very affectionately and was no doubt very close to her. Unfortunately she was taken too early as do too many others. As I said on an earlier thread family comes a way ahead of football.
I know that the 'kid' reads the big footy threads and the club passes on its sincere condolences to him and his family
The club can't wait to see him back on the track. Dom has been a stand out at training and I know that he will be back as soon as possible.
I would say that the league has little chance of starting on time. I think a decision is to be made toworrow night,
That's no good at all. Well hopefully he's on the park soon. The club would be itching to see him on the park.
patty O'furnicha
5 Apr 2007, 14:07
I know your not a burn supporter but no one has given a run down of how they looked on the NCFL thread, Can anyone give me some info on how they went and who played well? (if you can)
Cheers
davis 24
5 Apr 2007, 14:11
I know your not a burn supporter but no one has given a run down of how they looked on the NCFL thread, Can anyone give me some info on how they went and who played well? (if you can)
Cheers
do people think that 2 maryboroughs grounds will be ready for the bfl lighting premiership
I haven't sorted nossi5 yet Mighty Roar - any clues as to where he plays at present.
You're slipping Wonka!
Here's some clues - Former jnr Bulldog, spent some time at brook as well I reckon. Loves Collingwood, in particular Nathan Buckley.
BillyBobby
5 Apr 2007, 15:40
do people think that 2 maryboroughs grounds will be ready for the bfl lighting premiership
They sure will be, i've heard that they are going to use the water from the maryborough pool, no joke!
BillyBobby
5 Apr 2007, 15:46
If it is designed to just be a run in the park i find it a bit rich they charge $7 for entry. That particular night there would have been less then 1mm or rain fall and they just pulled the pin. I personally think it had a bit to do with the relationship between Natte and Maryborough at that point in time as well. It was a cheap shot at us for recruiting some of there players i believe.
I think they should get serious with it and try and get more better teams in it or just can it. It's unfair on teams who are trying to run a structured pre season campaign to have games cancelled and moved to other nights all the time. I agree cricket must be considered but come on!
I personally think it had nothing to do with the M/B - Natte relationship, I thought through the past that M/B hadn't held too many players going back to Natte eg. Towny, Pig, Jock, Bruno etc
CranktheAnchors
5 Apr 2007, 17:15
2000th Post!!!!!
Thoroughbred
5 Apr 2007, 17:37
I personally think it had nothing to do with the M/B - Natte relationship, I thought through the past that M/B hadn't held too many players going back to Natte eg. Towny, Pig, Jock, Bruno etc
It wouldn't have had anything to do with a Natte-MB relationship. But Maryborough owe Natte and other District clubs big time.
Natte & the District teams have propped Maryborough up on many occassions. Pig, Clint, Jack Cossar, Bruno, and Prickles were all in there and playing 1's at one period of time. I think all are premiership players at Maryborough. Look at their 98 & 99 flag teams. Hardly a product of the Maryborough FC in there.
The other thing that gets me about Maryborough is the fact that they all whine about Natte and Carisbrook stealing 'their' players. I ask anyone to name 1 single player in the Natte line up that could be classed as a product of the Maryborough FC. There are a few at Brook. But I'll put the house on it that there is not at Natte. Lee Stewart is not counted in this as he has only just signed.
:thumbsd:
Lunch time matinee
5 Apr 2007, 18:35
It wouldn't have had anything to do with a Natte-MB relationship. But Maryborough owe Natte and other District clubs big time.
Natte & the District teams have propped Maryborough up on many occassions. Pig, Clint, Jack Cossar, Bruno, and Prickles were all in there and playing 1's at one period of time. I think all are premiership players at Maryborough. Look at their 98 & 99 flag teams. Hardly a product of the Maryborough FC in there.
The other thing that gets me about Maryborough is the fact that they all whine about Natte and Carisbrook stealing 'their' players. I ask anyone to name 1 single player in the Natte line up that could be classed as a product of the Maryborough FC. There are a few at Brook. But I'll put the house on it that there is not at Natte. Lee Stewart is not counted in this as he has only just signed.
:thumbsd:
James McNamee, Wendyn Robinson ??
KingRich
6 Apr 2007, 12:55
Weren't the McNamees out at Dunolly not long ago?? Was that before or after Burra???