View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

G-Mo77
1 May 2007, 12:56
Sad day indeed, I have pretty close ties with the club, family, friends and a former player there for quite a number of years. The writing has been on the wall for many years, they have recruited players from outside of the town for a long time now and treated local players like yesterdays newspaper which has hurt a lot down the road!

But they have refused to spend some money even though some of it has been there. I don't know the details of it all but they haven't had to many paid players for a long time now. I remember at the end of the 2005 season I had a conversation with the President and a few players at the time and they were in negotiations with Brendan Shepard, who apparently wanted to coach the side. We all stressed that they may have to spend a lot to take any steps forward but it fell on deaf ears and instead they offered the job to Mark Williams who is a terrific footballer but certainly no coach.

While it is sad it also makes me angry that things like this happened over the years it is something that could have been avoided had the Clubs officials actually went out of their way to build the side back to be respectable.

I just wonder what happens to the people there who decided to stay on and try and play for this team are they stuck in the limbo now or are they free to look elsewhere?

Sherman41
1 May 2007, 13:08
obviously from a football side of things it is sad to see creek go and definately a hefty loss for the community, but in all honesty it was a call thaT had to be made, and one that i felt should have been made a few weeks back so the league could administer a new draw or impliment some back up plans etc etc. i have no doubt that creek will once again join the league and they will be welcomed back with opened arms, but until that time it will be a long hard road back for the creekers and they are going to need the full support of those around them. i dont think we can let them back in though until they can atleast produce 2 sides on game day, 1 junior , 1 seniour........so im gathering that as creek has folded now all there clearances will get approved to opposing clubs?

good luck to creek and i hope they can turn it around just like trentham have this year!!!!!!!!.

on another note i do think that the team who has the bye plays who creek were playing is a good idea and a suitable outcome.........i have no doubt the mighty botters will be raring to go come saturday if we play harcourt.... i cant see why harcourt would not want to do this, i mean they have nothing to be scared of do they??:D :D maybe they are worried bout not getting there clearances through on time?????

Old School Biff
1 May 2007, 13:35
obviously from a football side of things it is sad to see creek go and definately a hefty loss for the community, but in all honesty it was a call thaT had to be made, and one that i felt should have been made a few weeks back so the league could administer a new draw or impliment some back up plans etc etc. i have no doubt that creek will once again join the league and they will be welcomed back with opened arms, but until that time it will be a long hard road back for the creekers and they are going to need the full support of those around them.

Them coming back Lazarus style would be more impressive, to me, than Trentham winning a flag this year.

Everyone goes elsewhere to play and it becomes exceptionally hard to get players back once they find a new home. I doubt there is a team that has folded and made a comback.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
1 May 2007, 13:54
Them coming back Lazarus style would be more impressive, to me, than Trentham winning a flag this year.

Everyone goes elsewhere to play and it becomes exceptionally hard to get players back once they find a new home. I doubt there is a team that has folded and made a comback.

Funny that you mention Trentham because they are the only one I can think of off the top of my head. I think they were in recess for many years before reforming in the eighties. Were very strong initially too with a lot of blokes not quite good enough for Kyneton signing on. Different times, those days, but it can be done.

Old School Biff
1 May 2007, 13:59
Funny that you mention Trentham because they are the only one I can think of off the top of my head. I think they were in recess for many years before reforming in the eighties. Were very strong initially too with a lot of blokes not quite good enough for Kyneton signing on. Different times, those days, but it can be done.

That is interesting.

KingRich
1 May 2007, 14:40
Creek are gone make no mistake about that..... They will never reform IMO that is why its so sad..... But life goes on.

The more i think about it the more Harcourt must front up against Talbot this weekend.... Its the only fair thing to do. League must enforce it.

Mobbenfuhrer
1 May 2007, 14:51
Creek are gone make no mistake about that..... They will never reform IMO that is why its so sad..... But life goes on.

The more i think about it the more Harcourt must front up against Talbot this weekend.... Its the only fair thing to do. League must enforce it.

Yep competing should always come before succeeding.

re clubs that have reformed? Umm off top of head : Nambrok (died a few years alater), Purnim (lasted a year or two), it doesn't usually bode too grouse or augur bonzah. East Ballarat and Golden Point were hoping their merger would be a short-term measure, right?

CranktheAnchors
1 May 2007, 16:10

Harcourt need to front up and play Talbot saturday. The draw then becomes complete. They maybe underdone and missing a few key players but the league needs to enforce it. If Harcourt don't play the draw could very easily become ridiculous, confusing and ever more unfair.

I will applaud Harcourt if they play as it ensures everythings in place for our season to finally start.

catch me if u can
1 May 2007, 16:17
Sad to see a club fold but this is a good thing for the competition. Very poor form to pull the pin this late because surely they knew the writing was on the wall for a long time. Creek have been terrible for a long time now and IMO whats the point of continuing on when there is no light at the end of the tunnel.

The walk over sides Creek, Dunolly, Trentham etc are a joke in the MCDFL and purely stand for a chance for forwards to bump up there goal kicking tally's! I would like to see a few less sides and a lot stronger comp in years to come...

I know i will cop a bit of flack for this post but the truth is:

Less clubs = Less struggling clubs and overall better competition

iorn beast thats probably the stupidist thing i've heard for a long time....you obviously have no idea what it is like to be in a struggling club!!! people in the club work so hard for the love of their club and just love seeing their side run out on the feild each weekend no matter what the case is!!! the feeling in thees club is often much stronger than those so call "successful" club because at most of those clubs half the team is only playin for a sh#t load of coin n not for the love of their club.... one day your club might be in the situation of c creek or dunolly and then u mite understand the feelin inside these club....think bout what u say beast:thumbsd:

Thoroughbred
1 May 2007, 16:32
iorn beast thats probably the stupidist thing i've heard for a long time....you obviously have no idea what it is like to be in a struggling club!!! people in the club work so hard for the love of their club and just love seeing their side run out on the feild each weekend no matter what the case is!!! the feeling in thees club is often much stronger than those so call "successful" club because at most of those clubs half the team is only playin for a sh#t load of coin n not for the love of their club.... one day your club might be in the situation of c creek or dunolly and then u mite understand the feelin inside these club....think bout what u say beast:thumbsd:

I've been part of successful and hopeless clubs. Before I cam to this district I played for a completely hopeless team that was relative to Dunolly or CC.

I can promise you there is nothing worse than running out on the ground with the bare 18 players. 6 of which came from the juniors and about the same straight from the reserves.

The feeling in the rooms before hand is one of "How many goals are we going down by today?" Not excitement. Seeing players strap their own ankles, tape their shoulders or give each other a rub down is hardly a good feeling.

KingRich
1 May 2007, 17:04
Harcourt need to front up and play Talbot saturday. The draw then becomes complete. They maybe underdone and missing a few key players but the league needs to enforce it. If Harcourt don't play the draw could very easily become ridiculous, confusing and ever more unfair.

I will applaud Harcourt if they play as it ensures everythings in place for our season to finally start.

If Harcourt dont play then they will be giving out 8 points for one game where every other premiership game is worth 4 points. Both Talbot and Harcourt get a free 4 points and I dont think it is right even though Talbot benefit from this greatly. Harcourt must front up and this league needs to have the balls to make them IMO. The decision on creek could have been made earlier and/or Harcourt needed to be made aware that this could have been the scenario they were in.

KingRich
1 May 2007, 17:10
Just had a call off a man in the know! Apparently VCFL will enforce that Harcourt take on Talbot this Saturday and the rest of the draw will more than likely be redone!

I am a supporter of the league administration but this has been handled very poorly! Cant wait for the footy to start!

catch me if u can
1 May 2007, 17:42
I've been part of successful and hopeless clubs. Before I cam to this district I played for a completely hopeless team that was relative to Dunolly or CC.

I can promise you there is nothing worse than running out on the ground with the bare 18 players. 6 of which came from the juniors and about the same straight from the reserves.

The feeling in the rooms before hand is one of "How many goals are we going down by today?" Not excitement. Seeing players strap their own ankles, tape their shoulders or give each other a rub down is hardly a good feeling.

fair reply mate...i just think what iorn beast said was totally inconsiderate and came for a totally selfish point of view! i believe there can be no positive draw from such a situation as he suggests.
that is an interesting point u make about your experiance in a hopeless club to mate! i can tell you that 2 seasons ago i was playing/coaching at dunolly football club (not as senior coach)... it really was one of my most enjoyable seasons of footy ever. before that year and since that year the worst result i've had with footy is making the preliminary final...however that year our seniors didnt win a game but it, as i said earlier was one of my most enjoyable season of football ever!!

oh and just a tip..if dunolly get through this year there could be some ex big name dunolly players back there next year:thumbsu: GO THE EAGLES

fifth quarter
1 May 2007, 22:30
magnificent maxie martin said on radio 2nite he and the mcdfl c'tee hoped harcourt footballers and netballers would take the field against the botters on sat.
apparently a fair few apple eaters were heading off on other things not realising (or expecting) they would be called on to play in rd. 1 imagine the phone lines will be running hot tonight and wednesday

maxie also said c creek can remain as a paid-up member of the vcfl for TWO YEARS without playing competitively but at the expiry of 2 years must get teams back on the field if they are to remain within the vcfl

mobbsee and old schl biffo --- ycw went into recess in the early 80s in the old bendigo golden city f.l. days when there 2 divisions .... the days of the amalgamation of the bendigo and the golden city leagues.
after 12 months on the sidelines they came back and joined the loddon valley league quite a few of the lvfl clubs were not happy having a bendigo-based club joining rural ranks

KingRich
1 May 2007, 23:43
Been a very interesting night on the track tonight with constant updates over phone calls coming from the Harcourt area! They adamant they dont want to play but we are ready to go and playing group voted that we wanted to play them. League is supporting us as far as I can tell and they will either play or forfeit the 4 points. We will wait and see what their reply is but one would think they are too proud a club to forfeit the points! We are expecting to play Harcourt on Saturday and cant wait for the challenge!

bucko
2 May 2007, 00:09
Proposed MCDFL Draw is to be approved at I.T Meeting on Wednesday Night at Maryborough resource centre.

http://www.mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=5700&OrgID=368

Old School Biff
2 May 2007, 11:19
oh and just a tip..if dunolly get through this year there could be some ex big name dunolly players back there next year:thumbsu: GO THE EAGLES

I have heard this too. Ran into a few guys in Ballarat and the list of names is pretty impressive and would give finals a shake if they all came back. Jason and Mark Hutchins are two big names thrown around but a few of the others are just pipe dreams IMO and will never leave their current clubs.

Steve_Addlem
2 May 2007, 12:23
With Cambells Creek folding does this leave room for the mighty Natte Bealiba Swans to join the MCDFL?

Old School Biff
2 May 2007, 12:37
With Cambells Creek folding does this leave room for the mighty Natte Bealiba Swans to join the MCDFL?

The guys I know at the Swans are very happy in the LPFL and don't want to play district league. They recruit well from Ballarat and feel that it would dry up if they only played around Maryborough and Castlemaine.

The door is open for them and Navarre but neither want in at this stage.

Iron Beast
2 May 2007, 13:29

The MCDFL is known as a joke competition and it is largely due to the massive gap between the good and the bad teams. The more bad teams that leave the better the competition becomes and IMO that is a positive.

In your case i ask why aren't you playing at dunolly this year afterall it is a hell of a lot further from ballarat where your currently playing ;)

I just think there are to many clubs metaphoically drinking watered down cordial, its time to reduce the amount of cups and increse the quality of what everyone's drinking!

Sherman41
2 May 2007, 14:53
i think it would be fair enough to say that the league does look alot more even this year with the ammount of recruiting that has gone on...to me there is prob atleast 8 teams that could push for top 5 and be most teams on their given day....is shaping up as one of the most even MCDFL seasons for a while IMO...time will tell however

Iron Beast
2 May 2007, 15:02
It's good to see the quality lifting up a bit because i was witness to Carisbrook v Royal Park last year in finals and it was a disgrace. Conditions were perfect and the standard was terrible! Royal Park had countless has been footballers crawling around at snails pace throwing elbows and it looked very poor on the leagues behalf! Carisbrook were merely propped up by a few handy players and the rest struggled.

My tips for this year:
Harcourt (undefeated)
Carisbrook
Avoca
Talbot (purely because the way KR is talking them up)

Won't bother tipping the rest because they won't play more then one week in the finals!

showusya
2 May 2007, 15:03
shane field is obviously a fair player..he will be missed out at carisbrook, particularly inside forward50..previous posts indicate they are again a genuine premiership contender, have they a full-forward in the wings to cover this loss or where will the goals come from? ive heard of a bloke sanders from last year, the games that he played were reportedly very good. will he be lining up again?

Sanders is a top player if sound could kick 80 plus goals no worries. I was talking to tatch the other day and he said that he still thinks Cass is a chance to play up forward for them. Apparently thomson doesn't rate him at maryborough.

Iron Beast
2 May 2007, 15:10
Sanders is a top player if sound could kick 80 plus goals no worries. I was talking to tatch the other day and he said that he still thinks Cass is a chance to play up forward for them. Apparently thomson doesn't rate him at maryborough.

Cassidy was playing two's at borough 4 or 5 years ago and from what i have seen he is no wine!

Sanders is the best player in the MCDFL and its a bit sad seeing him wasted playing out there. If Jamie Elliot could kick a 100 on one leg, Sanders if fit and keen would kick 125 + easily

Rojer_Ramjet
2 May 2007, 15:11
It's good to see the quality lifting up a bit because i was witness to Carisbrook v Royal Park last year in finals and it was a disgrace. Conditions were perfect and the standard was terrible! Royal Park had countless has been footballers crawling around at snails pace throwing elbows and it looked very poor on the leagues behalf! Carisbrook were merely propped up by a few handy players and the rest struggled.

My tips for this year:
Harcourt (undefeated)
Carisbrook
Avoca
Talbot (purely because the way KR is talking them up)

Won't bother tipping the rest because they won't play more then one week in the finals!

Carisbrook did well to finish third then with a few handy players and alot of strugglers.

Throw Newstead into 5th minimum.

Steve_Addlem
2 May 2007, 15:15

I cannot see Cass playing for Brook at this stage of the year. Would take him half the season to get a clearance.

catch me if u can
2 May 2007, 15:19
The MCDFL is known as a joke competition and it is largely due to the massive gap between the good and the bad teams. The more bad teams that leave the better the competition becomes and IMO that is a positive.

In your case i ask why aren't you playing at dunolly this year afterall it is a hell of a lot further from ballarat where your currently playing ;)

I just think there are to many clubs metaphoically drinking watered down cordial, its time to reduce the amount of cups and increse the quality of what everyone's drinking!

haha gee didnt know u knew so much about me!!

And yes it is a very weak comp...no offence to any one..and i can see your reasoning behind what u are sayin about gettin the weak teams out to raise the standard. but i guess all i'm trying to say is that its not such an easy thing for people who really love their club to simple let it fold..this is why clubs go on for so long struggling. :thumbsu:

showusya
2 May 2007, 15:19

I think Talbot should just be happy with the points. If Harcourt front up they won't get any.

Old School Biff
2 May 2007, 15:26

The MCDFL missed the boat with getting on board with the Ballarat Football League. It's not a strong enough comp like the CHFL. At the end of last season there were 3 teams that could well have folded and you don't have enough teams to let that happen.

I think the Lexton League should have merged with the MCDFL all those years back. Maybe with the exception of Marnoo.

showusya
2 May 2007, 15:26
Cassidy was playing two's at borough 4 or 5 years ago and from what i have seen he is no wine!

Sanders is the best player in the MCDFL and its a bit sad seeing him wasted playing out there. If Jamie Elliot could kick a 100 on one leg, Sanders if fit and keen would kick 125 + easily

Cass would walk into any side in the district league

thirsty
2 May 2007, 15:31
Cass would walk into any side in the district league

I think you will find Cass will play at maryborough if he plays.

Sherman41
2 May 2007, 16:09
I think Talbot should just be happy with the points. If Harcourt front up they won't get any.

there is no point denying that getting a give me 4 points against harcourt would def be a gift, but personally and in the opinion of alot of others around the club, we would much prefer to play and earn the points, it has been a long preseason and we just want to get out there and hit the ground running........obviously it will be a big ask but we feel it is prob the best time to get them, and will b a great first round hit out to find out where we are....if as u say harcourt are certainties it will not come easy to them..we will make them earn it.

Steve_Addlem
2 May 2007, 16:09

Talbot should take the points. Steve doesn't feel like umpiring this week.

catch me if u can
2 May 2007, 16:16
I have heard this too. Ran into a few guys in Ballarat and the list of names is pretty impressive and would give finals a shake if they all came back. Jason and Mark Hutchins are two big names thrown around but a few of the others are just pipe dreams IMO and will never leave their current clubs.

yeah they may be pretty comitted to there current clubs but theres alot of ppl out there with a fair soft spot for dunolly and wouldnt suprise me if they came back for one last crack

Halffullonfence
2 May 2007, 17:48
See John Tadd cleared to Trentham any news on brother Mick ????

CranktheAnchors
2 May 2007, 19:25
Jason Hutchins .

Can you catch him? Hmmmmm

blow in
2 May 2007, 21:21

Mark Hutchins would be an interesting recruit. Hasnt played for about 10 years( back when he had hair), and would say that years of carpet laying have taken a fair toll on the back and put paid to any comeback for the mighty eagles.

wonker
3 May 2007, 00:21

It doesn't look very promising that the Talbot V Harcourt game will go ahead this weekend. Harcourt is saying that it has players with prior commitments, registrations to complete and players to be cleared as per the previous time line.
Talbot is saying that the season has started and that Harcourt should have had an inkling that Creek could fall over and should have been ready to play.
The league has directed that the season start as per the revised draw and if the impasse can't be broken prior to Saturday the league will have to decide a course of action at its next meeting which is to be held in 2 weeks time.
One alternative would be to play the game on the long weekend - a scenario that Talbot aren't to keen on at this point of time.
If the game was held that weekend or even under lights on the Friday night of the long weekend it could be a blockbuster as both Talbot and Harcourt could be sitting at the top of the table at that time. Also it would be the only game of football being held in the district that weekend.
It could be a boost in the arm financially for the home club Talbot.
I couldn't imagine it would do the Carisbrook v Avoca gate any harm if the Talbot v Harcourt game doesn't eventuate this weekend as scheduled.
Other people's thoughts??

AC Rocket
3 May 2007, 09:37
It doesn't look very promising that the Talbot V Harcourt game will go ahead this weekend. Harcourt is saying that it has players with prior commitments, registrations to complete and players to be cleared as per the previous time line.
Talbot is saying that the season has started and that Harcourt should have had an inkling that Creek could fall over and should have been ready to play.
The league has directed that the season start as per the revised draw and if the impasse can't be broken prior to Saturday the league will have to decide a course of action at its next meeting which is to be held in 2 weeks time.
One alternative would be to play the game on the long weekend - a scenario that Talbot aren't to keen on at this point of time.
If the game was held that weekend or even under lights on the Friday night of the long weekend it could be a blockbuster as both Talbot and Harcourt could be sitting at the top of the table at that time. Also it would be the only game of football being held in the district that weekend.
I couldn't imagine it would do the Carisbrook v Avoca gate any harm if the Talbot v Harcourt game doesn't eventuate this weekend as scheduled.

Thank you Wonker, great sense in your response.

Everyone is bagging Harcourt about this issue, but don't forget if it was your club in Harcourt's position?

I spoke to Max Martin yesterday and beleive a stand alone Sunday game at Princes Park on the long weekend would be perfect.

Castlemaine FC have the week off due to their Anzac clash, Maryborough play away on the Saturday. And the Bendigo Bombers play in Bendigo on the Monday. No Sunday games at all.

Through this method the gate would be a sharp increase for Talbot, both gate and catering. Also it would give the league an opening to contact the Fresh 895 to broadcast this particular match.

And I agree that both sides would be travelling pretty well when this game comes around, and it really could be a huge windfall for the league.

Alternatively - Harcourt turns up underdone and short of numbers to Talbot - the gate and catering is not as big because stuff all players and supporters will be there - and the match would not nearly be as good a spectacle as later in the year.

I don't think it matters who wins or takes 4 points if they play on Saturday or the Queens Birthday, because I think both sides will be well entrnched in finals football.

Sherman41
3 May 2007, 12:19
Thank you Wonker, great sense in your response.

Everyone is bagging Harcourt about this issue, but don't forget if it was your club in Harcourt's position?

I spoke to Max Martin yesterday and beleive a stand alone Sunday game at Princes Park on the long weekend would be perfect.

Castlemaine FC have the week off due to their Anzac clash, Maryborough play away on the Saturday. And the Bendigo Bombers play in Bendigo on the Monday. No Sunday games at all.

Through this method the gate would be a sharp increase for Talbot, both gate and catering. Also it would give the league an opening to contact the Fresh 895 to broadcast this particular match.

And I agree that both sides would be travelling pretty well when this game comes around, and it really could be a huge windfall for the league.

Alternatively - Harcourt turns up underdone and short of numbers to Talbot - the gate and catering is not as big because stuff all players and supporters will be there - and the match would not nearly be as good a spectacle as later in the year.

I don't think it matters who wins or takes 4 points if they play on Saturday or the Queens Birthday, because I think both sides will be well entrnched in finals football.

well as fair as i have been told, harcourt were given a weeks notice that they would have to play this weekend, harcourt have begged us to play on queens birthday, but we are not happy with that solution, as it is the only weekend we have off for the season now, and lots of ppl generally go away, which would put us in a similar position to them ATM, the league has enforced them to play and so has the vcfl, if the league does a back flip on this it will be very very disappointing. we have already had to wait long enough harcourt should be ready to go.

Old School Biff
3 May 2007, 12:54
Mark Hutchins would be an interesting recruit. Hasnt played for about 10 years( back when he had hair), and would say that years of carpet laying have taken a fair toll on the back and put paid to any comeback for the mighty eagles.

I meant Shane.

SiMoSaYs
3 May 2007, 13:02
Also remember guy's that Harcourt were on the brink of folding but 5 years ago and look at them now.....
Simo

Iron Beast
3 May 2007, 15:24
Carisbrook did well to finish third then with a few handy players and alot of strugglers.

Throw Newstead into 5th minimum.

Thats what i mean about the league rojer, it is a joke you blokes finished 3rd last year.

Butler rucking was a joke, tatchell is hopeless he spends more time getting rub downs and faking for free kicks then worrying about the footy. Sheep at full back too slow and not a senior footballer in a good side, Megs was too fat last year and could hardly get a kick, the list goes on and these guys are aparently some of your better players!

Having said that i will admit that you guys were light years in front of Royal Park they honestly were pathetic.

candy man
3 May 2007, 16:50
Originally Posted by KingRich http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7396757#post7396757)
Get your facts straight Iron Beast. I think you will fine that the league has changed their quarter length in line with the AFL now.
:thumbsu: Good to see they are 'moving with the times' so to speak!

Thats what i mean about the league rojer, it is a joke you blokes finished 3rd last year.

Butler rucking was a joke, tatchell is hopeless he spends more time getting rub downs and faking for free kicks then worrying about the footy. Sheep at full back too slow and not a senior footballer in a good side,Megs was too fat last year and could hardly get a kick, the list goes on and these guys are aparently some of your better players!

Having said that i will admit that you guys were light years in front of Royal Park they honestly were pathetic.

wow beastie boy, tell us what you really think! you've certainly pulled no punches, u'd wana b a pretty super footballer the way you've gone out and bagged everyone else for having a go!! either way, you have no credibility for your lack of research and ill-informed statements on this thread, everything you say is derogatory to someone else, get off your high horse

Thoroughbred
3 May 2007, 17:11
wow beastie boy, tell us what you really think! you've certainly pulled no punches, u'd wana b a pretty super footballer the way you've gone out and bagged everyone else for having a go!! either way, you have no credibility for your lack of research and ill-informed statements on this thread, everything you say is derogatory to someone else, get off your high horse

That game was possibly the worst example of district league footy I have ever seen. (Minus Dunolly, Trentham and Creek's performances). For a final it was a little embarrassing.

As for the 3 players singled out. Tatchell has games where he is on, but playing for frees seems to have crept into his game. Megs has lost around 20kg since last season so fat might have been a fair call. From memory though, it was Megs rucking for the most part.

There probably is a better way of putting it though than what Iron beast did.

Iron Beast
3 May 2007, 17:15
Originally Posted by KingRich http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7396757#post7396757)
Get your facts straight Iron Beast. I think you will fine that the league has changed their quarter length in line with the AFL now.
:thumbsu: Good to see they are 'moving with the times' so to speak!

My comments have been correct to date, the 25 mins + time on has always occured in the past and has apparently only just been changed so hats off to the guys who made that call. It was stupid having the extra long quarters as it only aided teams to kick bigger scores and win by bigger margins. Correct me if i am wrong but i would rather see close games of footy rather then blow outs. One round last year i noted the closest margin in the MCDFL was approximately 10 goals... Thats a flogging and it was the closest, just portrays a poor image on the league.

To be honest my footballing days have long past me by but i hate the way the leagues are all going at the moment. There is too much money and too many people that think they are better then they are (that goes for teams too).

If anyone can tell me Royal Park were honestly a good side last year you have no concept of what the game is about. They were Slow, poorly skilled, had no structure and no one even had a crack. PATHETIC SIDE!

My comments on Carisbrook players were fairly accurate i would think.
Butler is too old to play in the Ruck (Too physically demanding)
Megs was too Fat (Lost 20 odd Kg's and is now back on track)
Tatchell is skilled but is slow, soft and a whining sook (no cure)
Shamus is too heavy, poor skills and desire is his only key feature (needs to get fit)

On the other side of the coin i am happy to admit.
Sanders is a champion player, has the works!
Luke Robinson goes well
Nathan Wright has ability and is creative
Nick McKinely is a very serviceable player
Young centerman will be a very good player in a year a two

Not too sure on who else is in the side but if anyone feels the need to list them i will elaborate on there pro's and con's in a fair manner as above.

The truth is the trend of the quality of the MCDFL is sadly getting worse an the alarming thing is i bet teams are increasing paying more money as years go on.

CranktheAnchors
3 May 2007, 17:20
Crankingbet!

Round One.

Maldon $1.65 v Rovers $2.30
Carisbrook $1.60 v Avoca $2.25
Dunolly $8 v Newstead $1.08
Talbot $3 v Harcourt $1.30
Trentham $1.90 v Royal Park $1.90

Crank's Best Bet-Maldon in the wet conditions.
Be wary of the Carisbrook v Avoca game it is the match of the round.

Private Message your application for an account with Crankingbet.

MightyRoar
3 May 2007, 18:53

Butler rucking was a joke, tatchell is hopeless he spends more time getting rub downs and faking for free kicks then worrying about the footy. Sheep at full back too slow and not a senior footballer in a good side, Megs was too fat last year and could hardly get a kick, the list goes on and these guys are aparently some of your better players!

Yeah you certainly dont mind speaking your mind Beast do you!!

Butler whether he is too old or not has always been a servicable ruckman and more than a handy change ruckman I must add as I think you will find the big fat fella played in the ruck for the majority of the season!!

As for Megs being too fat and hardly getting a kick........well tell me a club that wouldn't have him at that playing weight if he's gunna kick ya 90 odd goals for the season!! If he only had 90 kicks for the season and kicked 90 goals then I think he has well and truly done his job, and mainly from rucking isn't too bad of an effort I would have thought!!

Tatchell, haven't seen him play for years but know that he is a handy footballer and always has been. Slow or not, gives 110% week in week out and very servicable at that!!

To be honest my footballing days have long past me by but i hate the way the leagues are all going at the moment. There is too much money and too many people that think they are better then they are (that goes for teams too).

As for this comment about there being too much money in football nowadays, u r right, but that is football now(its business like) and that there r too many people and teams thinking that they are better than they are............well this has always been the case and always will be, so do yaself a favour and build a bridge!! :p

AC Rocket
4 May 2007, 08:41
well as fair as i have been told, harcourt were given a weeks notice that they would have to play this weekend, harcourt have begged us to play on queens birthday, but we are not happy with that solution, as it is the only weekend we have off for the season now, and lots of ppl generally go away, which would put us in a similar position to them ATM, the league has enforced them to play and so has the vcfl, if the league does a back flip on this it will be very very disappointing. we have already had to wait long enough harcourt should be ready to go.

Harcourt was informed on Tuesday night after training that they would be required to play - obviously after Campbell Creek's demise.

Harcourt will play on Saturday, but will investigate this further with the VCFL.

However, there will be no excuses from the two Lion's teams that take to the park.

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 11:57
Megs kick the majority of his big bags against the weak sides in the comp and there is no glory in that.

I am merely stating what i thought of the players judged by the game against Royal Park (1st Final) and a few others i saw throughout the year.

Megs needed to lose the weight if he was ever gonna be any good again and its a credit it to him that he has and i will back him in for a big year!

Tatchell can give 110% but it only adds up to about 50% of what a good footballer can give a side. Hate the way he acts for free then sooks when he doesn't get them and if he does get them there the only kicks he gets for the game.

thirsty
4 May 2007, 12:43
My comments have been correct to date, the 25 mins + time on has always occured in the past and has apparently only just been changed so hats off to the guys who made that call. It was stupid having the extra long quarters as it only aided teams to kick bigger scores and win by bigger margins. Correct me if i am wrong but i would rather see close games of footy rather then blow outs. One round last year i noted the closest margin in the MCDFL was approximately 10 goals... Thats a flogging and it was the closest, just portrays a poor image on the league.

If anyone can tell me Royal Park were honestly a good side last year you have no concept of what the game is about. They were Slow, poorly skilled, had no structure and no one even had a crack. PATHETIC SIDE!

My comments on Carisbrook players were fairly accurate i would think.
Butler is too old to play in the Ruck (Too physically demanding)
Megs was too Fat (Lost 20 odd Kg's and is now back on track)
Tatchell is skilled but is slow, soft and a whining sook (no cure)
Shamus is too heavy, poor skills and desire is his only key feature (needs to get fit)

On the other side of the coin i am happy to admit.
Sanders is a champion player, has the works!
Luke Robinson goes well
Nathan Wright has ability and is creative
Nick McKinely is a very serviceable player
Young centerman will be a very good player in a year a two

Not too sure on who else is in the side but if anyone feels the need to list them i will elaborate on there pro's and con's in a fair manner as above.

The truth is the trend of the quality of the MCDFL is sadly getting worse an the alarming thing is i bet teams are increasing paying more money as years go on.

Who do you follow Beast? I'll think you will find Tatchell is in the 10 footballers in the league when it is wet and it will be this weekend.

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 13:00
Who do you follow Beast? I'll think you will find Tatchell is in the top 10 footballers in the league when it is wet and it will be this weekend.

I watch a fair bit of footy from a few different leagues but i don't really follow anyone! Tatchell is a very ordinary footballer and has no spot in a good side. Might be an ok wet weather footballer but when it comes to the crunch come finals time he won't be of any assistance to Carisbrook. Would have been a joke if he was appointed carisbrook playing coach this year which was the talk before boung was given the nodd.

thirsty
4 May 2007, 14:11
I watch a fair bit of footy from a few different leagues but i don't really follow anyone! Tatchell is a very ordinary footballer and has no spot in a good side. Might be an ok wet weather footballer but when it comes to the crunch come finals time he won't be of any assistance to Carisbrook. Would have been a joke if he was appointed carisbrook playing coach this year which was the talk before boung was given the nodd.

Well you obviosly don't follow Carisbrook too much coz the fact is tatch has been in the best players for Carisbrook in all their finals over the last few years and in fact has won their best in finals trophy in 99 (a premiership year) and last year. He would have been second best in finals to Chook stewart and Trants in the latest two premierships.

Typical of blokes like you on bigfooty who slag everyone off to sit on the fence and not tell where your allegiance really lie.

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 14:25
Well you obviosly don't follow Carisbrook too much coz the fact is tatch has been in the best players for Carisbrook in all their finals over the last few years and in fact has won their best in finals trophy in 99 (a premiership year) and last year. He would have been second best in finals to Chook stewart and Trants in the latest two premierships.

Typical of blokes like you on bigfooty who slag everyone off to sit on the fence and not tell where your allegiance really lie.

Glad to see your going all the way back to 99. That was 8 years ago buddy and he has gone down hill big time since then. At the end of the day my last comment on Big footy about Tatchell is too slow, too unfit and he is a sook!

Mobbenfuhrer
4 May 2007, 14:32
... my last comment on Big footy about Tatchell ...

I'm holding you to this. :)

thirsty
4 May 2007, 14:38
Glad to see your going all the way back to 99. That was 8 years ago buddy and he has gone down hill big time since then. At the end of the day my last comment on Big footy about Tatchell is too slow, too unfit and he is a sook!

What are your credentials then? Must have been a champion to have some of your recent opinions on other players.

Appin Vet
4 May 2007, 14:42
Thirsty my friend, how are you.
Now tell me this, how is young Luke Treacy going for the 'brook?

thirsty
4 May 2007, 14:45
Thirsty my friend, how are you.
Now tell me this, how is young Luke Treacy going for the 'brook?

Going well F.I.G. Aparently brook are wrapped with him so far. They start this week so i guess they will find a little more out then. How did he go up there at the magnificent Kerang Footy ground?

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 14:46
What are your credentials then? Must have been a champion to have some of your recent opinions on other players.

Not claiming to have been a superstar but have done the following;

242 senior games, 6 games with Weribee
won a major league B&F
won 2 club B&F's, 2nd in 2, 3rd in 2
captained my side to a flag
kicked over 100 goals in a season

Here is my track record

Appin Vet
4 May 2007, 14:50
Do you want that framed Beast?

Luke went fairly well. He missed the Premiership in 2004, but played in the 2006 2pt loss. Hard worker who is more suited to a forward roll. But can play back if needed. Doesn't mind a goal either.

thirsty
4 May 2007, 15:01

won a major league B&F

Here is my track record

Not bad ... why don't you come play for maryborough then.

Lunch time matinee
4 May 2007, 16:55

won a major league B&F

Here is my track record

Here's my track record -

Played 200 + games with Essendon
Won 5 B&Fs
Captained the 2000 premiership side
Best mates with Kevin Sheedy and Leigh Matthews
Once got on the piss with Vossy, KB, BT and Eddie Maguire
Once botted a smoke off the great Gally Ablett.
and once went taggers with Sammy Newman on Paris Hilton !!

Does that mean that I know everything about the great game of footy?
Does that mean that I have the ability to understand players and how they play the game? No and neither do you. I don't care what you say you've done ,you only think you know it all. From my experiences with those who have played a bit of footy, the better players don't brag nor do they criticise others. That's because they know what they have done and don't need too, or is that you Akermanis the great man!! ;)

KingRich
4 May 2007, 17:14
Talbot to play tomorrow and about time too! We will all see where our respective teams are at tomorrow wont we!

Go Botters! Bring it on!

And to whoever said Talbot should just take the 4 points is a clown! New season and no fear and we think we can take it up to them! They are not unbeatable and we are happy to take up the challenge!

KingRich
4 May 2007, 17:18

Perhaps it would be a good draw card Wonker but from my perspective I want an even fair draw. If we dont play this weekend we miss the break during the year which I think is crucial. We are ready to play this weekend and the communication from the league has been fairly ordinary to say the least. Our boys want to get on the park. We have other issues to consider such as memberships, functions organised Sat night, Major Raffle Draw on Saturday + canteen catering etc which has already been ordered! Our hands are tied to some degree as well so with that in mind we feel Harcourt should be made to front up which they are now doing and good on them for that!

Old School Biff
4 May 2007, 17:19
Not bad ... why don't you come play for maryborough then.

You need 10 players with that resume to get a win over anyone this year other than North.

Sherman41
4 May 2007, 17:20
i am not trying to take sides here but iron beast is only stating his opinion and after all that is what these forums are all about.....if we all had the same opinion the world would be a boring place, i mean look at how much discussion he has provided......in saying that though i think we shoudl move on from that topic now, they are all proven players in this league and iron beast is probably only trying to compare them to the standard of footballers he has encountered in his day..

on a seriuos note, it's great to see the harcourt and talbot games is definately going ahead this weekend...

Old School Biff
4 May 2007, 17:21
Does that mean that I know everything about the great game of footy?
Does that mean that I have the ability to understand players and how they play the game? No and neither do you. I don't care what you say you've done ,you only think you know it all. From my experiences with those who have played a bit of footy, the better players don't brag nor do they criticise others. That's because they know what they have done and don't need too, or is that you Akermanis the great man!! ;)

Give me a break LTM. You have got on the case of some people so your comment here is hypocritical. Or you are a totally $hi+ player seeing the 'good ones' don't need to bag people out.

KingRich
4 May 2007, 17:27
Crankingbet!

Round One.

Good to see someone focusing on the weekends action....

If I was a betting man I would have $20 on Trentham. I reckon at home and with so much to prove they will shock bushy and score a good win and I'd also throw $20 on the mighty hawks. Certainly deserve to be posted as underdogs but think they will give a good account of themselves!

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 17:51
Maldon to beat Rovers by 5 goals (In an MCDFL Nail biter, HAHA)
Carisbrook over Avoca 8 goals (avoca will be a late improver)
Newstead by 20 goals (text book MCDFL)
Harcourt to beat Talbot by 10 goals
Trentham over Royal Park 12 goals in a blood bath!

KingRich
4 May 2007, 18:03
Maldon to beat Rovers by 5 goals (In an MCDFL Nail biter, HAHA)
Carisbrook over Avoca 8 goals (avoca will be a late improver)
Newstead by 20 goals (text book MCDFL)
Harcourt to Talbot 10 goals
Trentham over Royal Park 12 goals in a blood bath!

Iron Beast your posts indicate that slowly but surely you are turning into a w****r! There is no way known Talbot will lose by 10 goals and your constant bagging of the league is getting tiring! Try saying something positive!

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 18:06
Iron Beast your posts indicate that slowly but surely you are turning into a w****r! There is no way known Talbot will lose by 10 goals and your constant bagging of the league is getting tiring! Try saying something positive!

What's a fair margin then Richy?

They are clearly the team to beat in the competition and the only thing that will save you guys from a blow out will be the wet!

candy man
4 May 2007, 18:15
Crankingbet!

Round One.

great idea crank, il be a part of your betting syndicate..

i will be hypothetically betting for the year, with a starting cap of $1000..

this weeks bets are $50 on maldon $1.65 into harcourt $1.30 @ $2.14 to return $107
and $10 on the carisbrook v avoca game for either side to win under 15.5 pts (if crank will give me odds)

other tips are
maldon, 32 pts
carisbrook, just, 8 pts.
Newstead, 92 pts
Harcourt, 43 pts
Trentham, 24 pts. everyone else is picking them

cheers

Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 18:26
I like the betting idea with $1000 to start with. Lets do it weekly to see who can finish with the most at the end of the year. The winnings will accumulate and there is no caps on bets, but once your out your out!

I will place the lot on Newstead at $1.08 to return $80 on top of investment!

Everyone else get your bets in ASAP

My reason for this bet is to have a safe bet first round so i can see how everyone is fairing and what the comp is going to be like this year. Next week i will put my balls on the line and make some hard calls

Morrie Morals
4 May 2007, 18:32
Crankingbet!

Round One.

G'day Crank. I'll have a hundred on Avoca at $2. 25 thanks very much. By the sounds of it the game will be a Steven Quartermaine block buster. I had the pleasure of watching most of Carisbrook's intraclub practise match and if thats anything to go by, the Brook will need several strong late inclusions to knock Avoca off this weekend. One gets the impression that it will be close but odds of $2. 25 are too good to pass up. Time to crunch your numbers again i think Crank.

CranktheAnchors
4 May 2007, 19:06
Ok then Crankingbet is under way!

Morrie Morals $100 @ $2.25 = $225.
Iron Beast $1000 @ $1.08 = $1,080 Like your style. Mr. Crank might have to pay J. Brown to line up for Dunolly.
Candy Man $50 ($1.65x$1.30)=$2.14 = $107

Carisbrook v Avoca

Brook over 15.5pts = $2.10
Either team under 15.5pts= $3.20
Avoca over 15.5 pts = $3.00

MightyRoar
4 May 2007, 19:34
Originally Posted by CranktheAnchors http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7420232#post7420232)
Crankingbet!

Round One.

I'll have $500 on Carisbrook to return $800!!

Is anyone going to keep tabs on who has won what and what money they have left to bet with??

nossi5
4 May 2007, 20:24
Ok then Crankingbet is under way!

Morrie Morals $100 @ $2.25 = $225.
Iron Beast $1000 @ $1.08 = $1,080 Like your style. Mr. Crank might have to pay J. Brown to line up for Dunolly.
Candy Man $50 ($1.65x$1.30)=$2.14 = $107

Carisbrook v Avoca

Brook over 15.5pts = $2.10
Either team under 15.5pts= $3.20
Avoca over 15.5 pts = $3.00

I will have $300 on carisbrook to win by over 15.5pts

The Rock Spider
4 May 2007, 21:19
G'day Crank. I'll have a hundred on Avoca at $2. 25 thanks very much. By the sounds of it the game will be a Steven Quartermaine block buster. I had the pleasure of watching most of Carisbrook's intraclub practise match and if thats anything to go by, the Brook will need several strong late inclusions to knock Avoca off this weekend. One gets the impression that it will be close but odds of $2. 25 are too good to pass up. Time to crunch your numbers again i think Crank.
yeh what is the word on the brook's recruits? would seem that they were shaping up pretty nicely during the off season so that prediction seems a little bit out of left field. would take carisbrook for mine, with lukey treacy to put through 4-5 and turn some heads, will be the silent assassin on the word of a couple of uni blokes

KingRich
4 May 2007, 23:01
What's a fair margin then Richy?

They are clearly the team to beat in the competition and the only thing that will save you guys from a blow out will be the wet!

I'd be disappointed if we weren't within 5 goals. I'd like to think we can win. Time will tell! Round 1 we are all equal though.

KingRich
4 May 2007, 23:13
Crankingbet!

Round One.

I'm in gents great idea! Lets keep it simple and leave out the margins tho boys or poor old crank will do a pooper valve trying to work it all out!

I will have $100 on Trentham and $50 on Talbot for a start. Confident with Trentham and Talbot will be a handy return if we can get up!

CranktheAnchors
5 May 2007, 01:03
MightyRoar $500 on Brook @ $1.60 = $1,300
Nossi5 $300 on Brook over 15.5pts @ $2.10 = $620
King Rich $100 on Trentham @ $1.90 = $190
King Rich $50 on Talbot @ $3 = $150

I'm not too fussed on the margins boys just need a bit of notice. I'll keep track of them and it should be a bit of fun. Good luck to all teams tomorrow and we will see who knows their MCDFL the best by years end.

No bets with an edit will be accepted!

CranktheAnchors
5 May 2007, 01:09
and candyman $10 on Either team under 15.5pts @ $3.20 = $32.

Bets close of a Friday night too. Don't want people having inside info on game day.

zakster
5 May 2007, 19:23
rich, shermo and all other botters
have to have a solid re-think guys
apple eaters only got a few days notice and still got up

Shamui
5 May 2007, 20:43
Lads, just got home from the Avoca V Brook game. Pleased to say the bulldogs got up by around 23 pts. Avoca led all day after jumping out of the blocks to a 5 goal lead in the 1st qtr. To thier credit brook fought back to within 2 goals early in the 3rd. The dogs then piled on 4 unanswered goals to take a 6 goal lead into the last. Probably should have won by more but we let brook back in late in the game. Although there were better players it was a great all round team effort. Some undiciplined acts by some of the Carisbrook boys led to a couple of send-offs throughout the game. Nick and Ash Robbo played servicable games without being outstanding. Better players for Avoca were: Mick Wardlaw, Ben Howell, Adrian Pilgrim, Tony Bellenger, Dom Lloyd, Scatter Walkley. There were probably quite an few others that could have been in there as well. One thing that stood out was how much they miss Meggsy both on the ball and up forward.

Nossi, Mighty - WTF were you blokes thinking??

Anyway, I'm off to have a celebratory beer!!

Shamui out.

The Mighty Maroons
6 May 2007, 00:24
Well everybody pleased to say that going by the scores that Dunolly had a respectable lose really wasnt a blow out at all.:)

MightyRoar
6 May 2007, 09:00
Lads, just got home from the Avoca V Brook game. Pleased to say the bulldogs got up by around 23 pts. Avoca led all day after jumping out of the blocks to a 5 goal lead in the 1st qtr. To thier credit brook fought back to within 2 goals early in the 3rd. The dogs then piled on 4 unanswered goals to take a 6 goal lead into the last. Probably should have won by more but we let brook back in late in the game. Although there were better players it was a great all round team effort. Some undiciplined acts by some of the Carisbrook boys led to a couple of send-offs throughout the game. Nick and Ash Robbo played servicable games without being outstanding. Better players for Avoca were: Mick Wardlaw, Ben Howell, Adrian Pilgrim, Tony Bellenger, Dom Lloyd, Scatter Walkley. There were probably quite an few others that could have been in there as well. One thing that stood out was how much they miss Meggsy both on the ball and up forward.

Nossi, Mighty - WTF were you blokes thinking??

Anyway, I'm off to have a celebratory beer!!

Shamui out.

Well good to see the Doggies up and running again. As for my stupid bet, all I can say is I guess me heart is still with the Black and Red!! :thumbsd:

KingRich
6 May 2007, 19:57
None of my bets came through. Trentham not as good as some may have thought but I will give them time.

What are everyones thoughts from the opening round??

Harcourt blew Talbot away early and we didn't have a major on the board at halftime. Fought back strongly in the second half to make the scoreline respectable. We have a lot of improvement in us and a couple of boys to come back into the lineup so not a bad result against presumably the top side. To their credit Harcourt had a few out I must say though but had a decent side on the park.

Avoca getting up over Brook was interesting.... Did Treacy play??

Good to see Dunolly putting in a credible performance and Rovers getting up over Maldon was a surprise! A very even comp as suspected and we will have to wait a couple of weeks to get an even formline I think!

CranktheAnchors
6 May 2007, 21:26
Standings After Round 1.

Morrie Morals $1,125
Iron Beast $1,080
Candy Man $940
King Rich $850
Nossi5 $700
MightyRoar $500

KingRich
6 May 2007, 21:55

No need for panic yet Zakster. We had plenty of new players and we will take time to gel. A good first up performance! Do you really think it mattered that they only have 3-4 days notice to play??? I dont.

Talbot reserves were very impressive in accounting for an undermanned Harcourt side that still had plenty of talent in it. With the inclusion of a few more key players over the coming weeks they should continue to improve and push for a top 3 spot.

Dr.Phil
6 May 2007, 23:09
Hey Crank,
Is it to late to get a gig in the betting game? Some interesting results on the weekend. I think it shows that betting wont be easy, and there will be several upsets with the eveness of the competition. Congrats to Steve Adlum and his mate for another terrible game of umpiring.:thumbsd: . As a spectator on the weekend it wasn't hard to see the game was over umpired, and that the boys in white have been watching to much tv.

I am interested to see others views on there games, what did you think about the umpiring wonker, Shamui? Though in saying that this is not taking nothing away from Avoca they did deserve to win and look to be a top side.

Montyposty
7 May 2007, 09:28
Hey Crank,
Is it to late to get a gig in the betting game? Some interesting results on the weekend. I think it shows that betting wont be easy, and there will be several upsets with the eveness of the competition. Congrats to Steve Adlum and his mate for another terrible game of umpiring.:thumbsd: . As a spectator on the weekend it wasn't hard to see the game was over umpired, and that the boys in white have been watching to much tv.

I am interested to see others views on there games, what did you think about the umpiring wonker, Shamui? Though in saying that this is not taking nothing away from Avoca they did deserve to win and look to be a top side.
Special note: To I believe it was from being told Lin Silivic or how-ever his name is spelt for his special contribution as boundary umpire in that game. He threw the ball in looking straight at the contest & threw it over the ruckmans head all day to the standing Avoca onballers, can't believe the umpires let that also go, where Steve Ad blew his whistle for every other bloody thing during the day, also say I thought that it was over umpired also, with the bigger body umpire also joining in the shannigins of Addlem, but struggled with his arm signals the correct way during his calls. I say umpires let the bloody game go, No one pays to see you blokes the centre of attention all day. But sorry Steve thats how you like it. No wonder the league is struggling for umpires when new blood has to deal with you.

Steve_Addlem
7 May 2007, 10:55
Excuse me. I think saturday was one of my better performances. Spot on with the decisions. Players need to read the rule book they have no idea.

Rule 14.1.3 - Prior Opportunity

If you are tackled with or without the ball it will be holding the ball.

P.S. Picked up saturday night and she was glamorous. Perks of being a great umpire.

Sherman41
7 May 2007, 12:33

zakster, haroucrt are the cream of the crop, there is no doubt about that and if a 4 goal loss to them causes us to have a re-think then you are dillusional.....we started slow and got ourselfs back in the game....to write us off at this stage would be silly, as richie said need a few more weeks yet to determine where were at.....harcourt are not unbeatable this year IMO, avoca and brook should give them good run for money aswell.

CranktheAnchors
7 May 2007, 14:06
Hey Crank,

Round 2

Avoca ($1.25) v Maldon ($3.50)
Newstead ($2) v Carisbrook ($1.75)
Harcourt ($1.04) v Dunolly ($10)
Trentham ($3) v Talbot ($1.30)
Rovers ($1.40) v Royal Park ($2.80)

Dr. Phil you join if you like. Minimum bet is $50.

Iron Beast
7 May 2007, 14:35
In all honesty thumbs up to the teams and the league! Looks like the MCDFL is a lot closer this year then it has been in quite sometime. What was everyones thoughts on the shorter quarters, personally i think you would have to go back a long time to see that no team kicked over 20 goals for the round as well as there not being any really big blow outs!

Avoca seems to be the big improvers which i did expect, but not until later in the year once they had played more together. Its a credit to them to come out firing round one and knock off the brook! Whisper was my main man played a fair role in the loss too, you can't do much when its 17 on 18 and the big show's off riding the pine!

Iron Beast
7 May 2007, 14:40
Round 2

Avoca ($1.25) v Maldon ($3.50)
Newstead ($2) v Carisbrook ($1.75)
Harcourt ($1.04) v Dunolly ($10)
Trentham ($3) v Talbot ($1.30)
Rovers ($1.40) v Royal Park ($2.80)

Crank i will let my $1080 all ride on the Bulldogs against the Don's. Might be a close one due to second week blues for the dogs but they should hold all the right answers and get home in a close encounter.

I think you have given some pretty good odds here, tough to pick them with any real value! :)

catch me if u can
7 May 2007, 15:13
Hey Crank,

he is a joke of an umpire and just wants everyone to be looking at him for every minute of the game. fair enough umpires players make mistakes from time to time and no one is perfect...but he has been making the same mistakes for 10 years...if a footy player plays that bad all the time the would not get a senior game and the same should go 4 steve!! what are the selectors thinking? i know there is short supply but often even the umpires who are umpiring with him laugh at his decisions and can see what a joke he is!!!! by far worst umpire i've seen in victoria:thumbsu:

showusya
7 May 2007, 15:36
In all honesty thumbs up to the teams and the league! Looks like the MCDFL is a lot closer this year then it has been in quite sometime. What was everyones thoughts on the shorter quarters, personally i think you would have to go back a long time to see that no team kicked over 20 goals for the round as well as there not being any really big blow outs!

Avoca seems to be the big improvers which i did expect, but not until later in the year once they had played more together. Its a credit to them to come out firing round one and knock off the brook! Whisper was my main man played a fair role in the loss too, you can't do much when its 17 on 18 and the big show's off riding the pine!

Beast,

Who was the big show to get sent off?

fifth quarter
7 May 2007, 15:37
i must admit i am with the z-man, rich and shermo
u lot have been spruiking over summer and early autumn for month after month .... we cant wait to get the season underway
comes round 1 and you scramble three ... thats 3 ... points for an entire half of footy
no goals ... zero goals, zilcho, nought, nothing, not a sausage
can you blokes take off the rose tinted glasses and put some proper ones on so you can see clearly

KingRich
7 May 2007, 16:30
i must admit i am with the z-man, rich and shermo
u lot have been spruiking over summer and early autumn for month after month .... we cant wait to get the season underway
comes round 1 and you scramble three ... thats 3 ... points for an entire half of footy
no goals ... zero goals, zilcho, nought, nothing, not a sausage
can you blokes take off the rose tinted glasses and put some proper ones on so you can see clearly

There were many reasons for the lack of scoring which dont need to be gone into. We didn't get many praccy matches in due to the uncertainty of season and as such the structure of the side is far from settled. We will improve each week and who cares what the scores were at halftime..... final result was 4 goals which is certainly more than respectable considering the position we found ourselves in at the main break. Would hardly say we have been spruiking! Merely stating continuously that we are keen (as footballers not the club as a whole) to get the season underway! Have only ever stated we will improve and improve we have and will as the season progresses. The Z-Man has the intelligence of a half eaten pie judging by his posts!

In regard to the shorter quarters I felt they were noticeably shorter at Talbot. Not sure if the umpires/time keepers have got time-on sorted as yet but would expect that to improve during the season as everyone becomes accustomed to it. Umpiring at Talbot was ok. Some poor decisions as their often is but they were ok I thought.