View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Thoroughbred
17 May 2007, 10:21
This is a poor post, totally disagree... Comfortably? They would have gone close to beating Maryborough but thats about it..... I hate it when you try to compare teams in different leagues.

Poor post? The quality at Carngham was insane last year. A guy like Ryan Head would be Maryborough's premier player and would have every answer to stop a guy like Crameri or Clarkson.

I'm just drawing a comparison for the guy who seemed to think that the Ross' were wasted in their current competitions. So that is where the comparison started. Some people need a reality check sometimes because Maryborough has had a pretty spectacular fall from grace and they are still acting as though they are the team from the glory days.

KingRich
17 May 2007, 10:44
Talbot recieved some good news over the last week with young Sammy Brown returning home to play for the botters from South Warrnambool. Sam's clearance is in and there is a chance he will be right for this weekend if cleared! Welcome back Sam!

Sherman41
17 May 2007, 12:40
Talbot recieved some good news over the last week with young Sammy Brown returning home to play for the botters from South Warrnambool. Sam's clearance is in and there is a chance he will be right for this weekend if cleared! Welcome back Sam!

thats great news there kinga!!!!!, sammy will def be welcomed back with open arms and be an asset to the team as we have missed his creative flair and run

catch me if u can
17 May 2007, 13:48
thats great news there kinga!!!!!, sammy will def be welcomed back with open arms and be an asset to the team as we have missed his creative flair and run

how did he go at the roosters? they have a pretty strong team....did he play 1st?

Sherman41
17 May 2007, 14:08
how did he go at the roosters? they have a pretty strong team....did he play 1st?

not sure to be honest catch me, never heard what he was playing or how he was going but i would pesume he would have been giving the 1's a push.

KingRich
17 May 2007, 14:30
I followed the results on the net and he played 2s each week and was in the best each and every week which is encouraging. Apparently was unable to train due to work and they have a policy down there of no training = no seniors so he told me so he thinks that had a little bit to do with it. He's keen to come back home to play and have fun which is the main thing for us.

TEE-R-OTTER
17 May 2007, 16:14
Mark Hutchins would be an interesting recruit. Hasnt played for about 10 years( back when he had hair), and would say that years of carpet laying have taken a fair toll on the back and put paid to any comeback for the mighty eagles.

The word Hutchins and Hair don't really mix!
Well hair wouldn't be an issue because i think there is another Hutchins that doesn't go well in the hair department but can play a bit of footy!

woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:12
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974

nonamehack
17 May 2007, 18:22
Round 3.
Maldon ($2.10) v Newstead ($1.65)
Carisbrook ($4) v Harcourt ($1.20)
Dunolly ($2.80) v Trentham ($1.40)
Talbot ($1.20) v Royal Park ($4)
Avoca ($1.15) v Maryborough Rovers ($5)

I'll have $208 on Newstead, $208 on Harcourt and $209 on Trentham

catch me if u can
18 May 2007, 10:33
I followed the results on the net and he played 2s each week and was in the best each and every week which is encouraging. Apparently was unable to train due to work and they have a policy down there of no training = no seniors so he told me so he thinks that had a little bit to do with it. He's keen to come back home to play and have fun which is the main thing for us.

he should do well back at in the mdfl then. strong comp hampden league is there seconds would be as good as most teams in mdfl (no offence intended there)

KingRich
18 May 2007, 11:21
Back to Footy...

Tips for the Weekend:

Maldon v Newstead - Maldon at home to be too strong. My pick for upset of the round
Carisbrook v Harcourt - Will be a tight encounter with Harcourt coming out on top
Dunolly v Trentham - Danger game for Trentham but a game they must win.
Talbot v Royal Park - Talbot comfortably
Avoca v Maryborough Rovers - Will be a good test to see where Rovers are at.

Montyposty
18 May 2007, 11:59
Well said and I think 99% of posters would agree. I didn't bother to reply to a little weasal who attacks someone personally like that from behind a computer! Terrible call idiot!

Here Here, The Pres is the man keeping the club running, he would be the most loyal supporter and gives his heart, soul & time for the love of the TFNC, I am with you on this King, didn't even consider posting back to that post from the lowest of life forms.

Iron Beast
18 May 2007, 12:39
Tips for the Weekend:

Maldon - will get up over Newstead and land me right in the cash!
Harcourt - Will show Carisbrook aren't contenders this year
Trentham - Should get over dunolly in a tight one
Talbot - over Bushsy, KingRich too strong down back and will help his side get over the line
Avoca - to give Rovers a lesson. I hear Elliot may be back in the side though, may help them!

Mobbenfuhrer
18 May 2007, 12:50
Please report posts that you think are in poor form. Otherwise you are leaving the post there to do its damage, you may as well be harbouring. :mad:

KingRich
18 May 2007, 13:05
Brook Boys.....

Tell us about the interstate clearance you guys are organising for an ex local...... Costing you boys a fortune I hear!

Thoroughbred
18 May 2007, 13:30
I think Carisbrooks first week against Avoca has made them realise they need to splash the cash big time if they are gonna go anywhere this year. Roumer is that Chipper (ex. clunes) is coming back from S.A and they are very keen in trying to secure him. Also heard they are openning the cheque book right up in order to keep young robbo!

KingRich
18 May 2007, 13:34
I think Carisbrooks first week against Avoca has made them realise they need to splash the cash big time if they are gonna go anywhere this year. Roumer is that Chipper (ex. clunes) is coming back from S.A and they are very keen in trying to secure him. Also heard they are openning the cheque book right up in order to keep young robbo!

I thought Robbo was a done deal to Natte???

Thoroughbred
18 May 2007, 13:43
I thought Robbo was a done deal to Natte???

Aparently carisbrook have upped the anti and submitted a big offer to the kid. Natte are aparently very disapointed and i would imagine they wouldn't follow suit. Be interesting to see where the kid lines up this week!

Iron Beast
18 May 2007, 13:49
Well it is looking like it is going to be a good farming year, so brook may be banking on their farm doing well to play these players

KingRich
18 May 2007, 13:56
Aparently carisbrook have upped the anti and submitted a big offer to the kid. Natte are aparently very disapointed and i would imagine they wouldn't follow suit. Be interesting to see where the kid lines up this week!

Interesting that he has gone ahead and put his clearance in and now is considering his options when money has been floated??? Does this say anything about the kid???? How many senior games has this kid played??? It must be a substantial amount of money if he is now considering turning his back on a club that he has put a clearance in too.....

Iron Beast
18 May 2007, 14:02
Interesting that he has gone ahead and put his clearance in and now is considering his options when money has been floated??? Does this say anything about the kid???? How many senior games has this kid played??? It must be a substantial amount of money if he is now considering turning his back on a club that he has put a clearance in too.....

Correct, i totally agree with you Rich. Its interesting after he committed to Natte to play with his brothers and cousins and now he is considering turning his back on them for a bigger cash offer. I would have thought he has played 5 senior games at most!

KingRich
18 May 2007, 15:48
Tips for the Weekend:

Talbot - over Bushsy, KingRich too strong down back and will help his side get over the line
Avoca - to give Rovers a lesson. I hear Elliot may be back in the side though, may help them!

Dont think Carisbrook are contenders this year IB???? You seem to have a deep-seeded hatred for them!

Sherman41
18 May 2007, 16:04

yeah i have also heard this, but i have also heard that carnham linton have placed a good offer in for chipper to....what i cant understand is that he made the move over there to give it a crack and then 2 months into the season he is coming back home again, not sure on the exact details of whats happened but u would think he would stick the season out and give it a proper crack instead of throwing in the towell...in regards to kieran robbo is def a strabge move and brook must rate him pretty highly to be throwing decent cash at him, as he never evn played a seniuor game for them last year did he.

KingRich
18 May 2007, 16:12
yeah i have also heard this, but i have also heard that carnham linton have placed a good offer in for chipper to....what i cant understand is that he made the move over there to give it a crack and then 2 months into the season he is coming back home again, not sure on the exact details of whats happened but u would think he would stick the season out and give it a proper crack instead of throwing in the towell...in regards to kieran robbo is def a strabge move and brook must rate him pretty highly to be throwing decent cash at him, as he never evn played a seniuor game for them last year did he.

Any reason why he wont go back to Clunes?

CranktheAnchors
18 May 2007, 16:28

Don't think you can read too much into this rich. The kid is what 16 and probably bit confused currently. Doesn't really say much about him as a person IMO. Any figures on what either club offered him?

KingRich
18 May 2007, 17:55
Don't think you can read too much into this rich. The kid is what 16 and probably bit confused currently. Doesn't really say much about him as a person IMO. Any figures on what either club offered him?

No idea Natte....Heard Brook could be around the 200 mark which is quite substantial for a 16 year old kid.

candy man
18 May 2007, 18:01
geez there are some super critical and by the looks fairly jealous ppl on this thread..the guy is what, 16 yrs old, just a kid and the other team started it by offering him $$$, the home club would be silly not too counter that bid..he is obviously young and probably pretty confused..with friends in one ear and brothers in the other!! i think you are all jumping to conclusions by suggesting it is simply $$ thats making him re-consider IMO

Sherman41
18 May 2007, 18:02
Any reason why he wont go back to Clunes?

i have no idea kinga, i know he is good mates with bazza gorman and that is prob where brook comes into it, but i dare say he will go where the money is and i dont think clunes wil lhave the money to afford him at this point of time, as they have prob budgeted without having him for the season

Lunch time matinee
18 May 2007, 18:24

Ahh the rumour mill is pumping now. And all everybody is doing is quoting what somebody else tells them whether it's true or not. My very reliable source from Brook tell me that there will be quite a few new faces that have'nt been seen this year as yet that they will hit the ground over the next couple of weeks and apparently quite a classy list. My tip is that Brook will go down tomorrow by 5 goals not enough quality player available yet, but next time?? As for all this money, perhaps they might just spending what they did'nt in 2004/05/06.

candy man
18 May 2007, 18:38
Round 3.
Maldon ($2.10) v Newstead ($1.65)
Carisbrook ($4) v Harcourt ($1.20)
Dunolly ($2.80) v Trentham ($1.40)
Talbot ($1.20) v Royal Park ($4)
Avoca ($1.15) v Maryborough Rovers ($5)

hey cranky...

all the moneys on maldon so im on the bandwagon..

$500 on maldon

cheers candy

Dr.Phil
18 May 2007, 18:42
ill have 100 on brook and 100 on maldon into avoca. Thanx Crank.

Old School Biff
18 May 2007, 18:56
geez there are some super critical and by the looks fairly jealous ppl on this thread..the guy is what, 16 yrs old, just a kid and the other team started it by offering him $$$, the home club would be silly not too counter that bid..he is obviously young and probably pretty confused..with friends in one ear and brothers in the other!! i think you are all jumping to conclusions by suggesting it is simply $$ thats making him re-consider IMO

I thought the other team, being Natte, started it by offering him a chance to play with his brothers and cousins.

CranktheAnchors
19 May 2007, 00:06
MightyRoar $50 Dunolly @ $2.80, $50 Maldon @ $2.15
KingRich $500 Talbot $1.20, $200 Trentham @$1.40, $200 Maldon $2.10
IronBeast $1,350 Maldon $2.10
Old School Biff $600 Talbot @ $1.20, $200 Maldon $2.10
Rojer Ramjet $500 Talbot x Avoca @ $1.38
NoNameHack $208 Newstead @ $1.65, $208 Harcourt $1.20, $209 Trentham @ $1.40
CandyMan $500 Maldon @ $2.15
Dr. Phil $100 Brook @ $4, $100 Maldon into Avoca ($2.10x$1.15)=$2.41

Good Luck to all teams. Wheres Clarky playing Rich?

CranktheAnchors
20 May 2007, 12:39
Standings After Round 3

Iron Beast $2,835
Candy Man $1,725
Old School $1,565
Dr. Phil $1,556
King Rich $1,285
Morrie Morals $1,200
Rojer Ramjet $1,190
MightyRoar $907
Nossi5 $850
Nonamehack $0

Very interesting round.

Maldon 14.11 (95) vNewstead 10.9 (69) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315238&comp=5700&orgid=368)Carisbrook 10.13 (73) vHarcourt 7.10 (52) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/27.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315239&comp=5700&orgid=368)Dunolly 9.22 (76) vTrentham 9.7 (61) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315240&comp=5700&orgid=368)Talbot 20.11 (131) vRoyal Park 4.3 (27) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/27.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315241&comp=5700&orgid=368)Avoca 18.17 (125) vMaryborough Rovers 7.6 (48) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/space.gif

All the home teams won.

Newstead seemed to have slipped a touch with Maldon probably goin to be hard to beat at home.

Carisbrook play out of their skins? Or Harcourt not the team it once was?

Dunolly seemed to have all the play with 31 scoring shots to 16. Trentham missing a few?

Talbot accounted for Bushy easy enough.

Same with Avoca.

The Rock Spider
20 May 2007, 14:06
Standings After Round 3

http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315238&comp=5700&orgid=368)Carisbrook 10.13 (73) vHarcourt 7.10 (52)
Carisbrook play out of their skins? Or Harcourt not the team it once was?

i think everyone might have underestimated carisbrook, they seem like they have great chemistry and some diamonds in the rough, such as the young up and comer nathan wright, who attacks the ball with brolga-like ferocity and has the determination of a hungry ardvark. They say he gets his speed from chasing around unaware 1st year ladies on the uni social scene.

The Rock Spider
20 May 2007, 14:26
i think everyone might have underestimated carisbrook, they seem like they have great chemistry and some diamonds in the rough, such as the young up and comer nathan wright, who attacks the ball with brolga-like ferocity and has the determination of a hungry ardvark. They say he gets his speed from chasing around unaware 1st year ladies on the uni social scene.
they also say he has an extremely hairy back. And no i am not willing to give up my sources

Sherman41
20 May 2007, 14:26

nathan wright and hardness are too words that shouldnt be used in the same sentence!!!!!:D :D , what is your take on that roger ramjet?????

on a serious note though, this result was severely unexpected i feel by alot of ppl around the traps. this vicory by carisbrook could set there season up for a top 3 spot, it means that teams like avoca and talbot can not afford to drop winnable games from here on in.

did harcourt have any noticable absentee's?

very impressed with avoca's win again aswell, they seem to be heading in the right direction.

wonker
20 May 2007, 15:36
I couldn't believe how much Rovers have slipped since last year. The couple of Hedges boys and Brad Fraser were outstanding. There's not too much more you can say about the rest.

Another important win for Avoca in the scheme of things but probably not a real indication of where the club is, at this point of time.

The long awaited clash between past player Trotter and Avoca's new ruckmen resulted in a pretty big win in favor of the Avoca ruckmen. Perhaps Trotter has slipped a bit since he used to carve sides up in the past.

Jock Clark 2
20 May 2007, 21:36
The Botters have slipped up to 2nd on the ladder.
They take on Royal Park this week, Round 4. Harcourt will look to bounce back at home vs. Maldon.
Tough one for Dunolly vs. Bushy Park but after Saturday's win they'll be fired up.

Dr.Phil
20 May 2007, 22:25
Hey crank,
Just inquiring about my betting account. After round to i had 1115 i won 400 on brook and 241 on maldon into avoca. i beleive i am 1756 not 1556 just wondering though crank am i right. just dont wanna get ripped of of my hard earned cash.
Cheers. Dr.Phil

bomba9191
20 May 2007, 22:26
mate i have one name for everyone watching the league this year: Luke Treacy

happy_feet
20 May 2007, 23:27
mate i have one name for everyone watching the league this year: Luke Treacy

yeah is that the guy who plays for Carisbrook? rumour has it that he is just killing it this year. could he be the recruit of the year?????

CranktheAnchors
21 May 2007, 02:00
Hey crank,
Just inquiring about my betting account. After round to i had 1115 i won 400 on brook and 241 on maldon into avoca. i beleive i am 1756 not 1556 just wondering though crank am i right. just dont wanna get ripped of of my hard earned cash.
Cheers. Dr.Phil

Gday Phil dunno what u do for a living but I hope its not accounting cos u only won 300 profit on brook and 141 on maldon into avoca. I believe u are 1556. Good betting on the w/e but never doubt crank he's always right.

I'm glad u edited that post wonker not football discussion. That stuff is not warranted on this site buddy.

wonker
21 May 2007, 05:53
[
I'm glad u edited that post wonker not football discussion. That stuff is not warranted on this site buddy.[/quote]

Agreed Crank - crossed the line there. That part of the post wasn't football related. In the past I have tried to be informative without being controversial - reflective thinking is a great thing.

But I must say it has been a pretty hot topic around the traps.

Lunch time matinee
21 May 2007, 10:54
Tips for the Weekend:

Any further thoughts now Iron Beast??:eek:

Dr.Phil
21 May 2007, 11:24
So you are right yet again crank, may i never question you again.
Talbot, brook, avoca & harcourt for top three spots will be interested to see who misses out. When they play each other going to be crucial, any thoughts or is there another team i am missing? I believe any of these teams could also finish top, should make for interesting viewing?

Phil out.

wonker
21 May 2007, 11:34
So you are right yet again crank, may i never question you again.
Talbot, brook, avoca & harcourt for top three spots will be interested to see who misses out. When they play each other going to be crucial, any thoughts or is there another team i am missing? I believe any of these teams could also finish top, should make for interesting viewing?

Phil out.

Who for fifth place?

Iron Beast
21 May 2007, 11:45
Any further thoughts now Iron Beast??:eek:

Yeah must say it was a big surprise, thought harcourt would be better then they are at the moment. May be the kick in the ar$e they need to fire up and re capture there form from last year. I'm still not off them, they will come back from the upset because when it comes to the crunch they no how to win games of footy! Also Carisbrook may be better then there first round form suggest... Will be in the top four without question!

Top 4 in no particular order will be as i quoted way earlier on in the post:
Harcourt (should be the top dog)
Talbot (next three could go either way)
Avoca
Carisbrook

No other team has a chance and mark my words who ever comes in fifth will be knocked out first round!

ablett19
21 May 2007, 11:49
yeah is that the guy who plays for Carisbrook? rumour has it that he is just killing it this year. could he be the recruit of the year?????

Could well be.... He can play, however there is also another recruit for Talbot who will be highly fancied as recruit of the year. #17 I think he was on the weekend, massive man, can take a good grab, b.o.g performance. They call him the Tommahawk!!!!!!!!!

Lunch time matinee
21 May 2007, 12:49
Yeah must say it was a big surprise, thought harcourt would be better then they are at the moment. May be the kick in the ar$e they need to fire up and re capture there form from last year. I'm still not off them, they will come back from the upset because when it comes to the crunch they no how to win games of footy! Also Carisbrook may be better then there first round form suggest... Will be in the top four without question!

Top 4 in no particular order will be as i quoted way earlier on in the post:
Harcourt (should be the top dog)
Talbot (next three could go either way)
Avoca
Carisbrook

No other team has a chance and mark my words who ever comes in fifth will be knocked out first round!

Agree, I think that Harcourt are still the team to beat and they will get better as the season progress's. I don't think Carisbrook will get ahead of themselves after this win, but they may now have a bit more belief.

Sherman41
21 May 2007, 13:24
Could well be.... He can play, however there is also another recruit for Talbot who will be highly fancied as recruit of the year. #17 I think he was on the weekend, massive man, can take a good grab, b.o.g performance. They call him the Tommahawk!!!!!!!!!

agreed ablett 19 , would take the big tommhawk any day of treacy, have heard that the kid goes ok, but i think his mates on here might be pumping his tires up a little too much...time will tell.

showusya
21 May 2007, 14:19
agreed ablett 19 , would take the big tommhawk any day of treacy, have heard that the kid goes ok, but i think his mates on here might be pumping his tires up a little too much...time will tell.

At least it is his mates pumping his tyers up ... and not himself like you sherman.

KingRich
21 May 2007, 14:21

After a quietish game against Harcourt and having missed last week this week was easily his best performance for the brown and gold. Played most of the day in the ruck and CHB and was very impressive was the TommaHawk......

Bushy weren't much tho either......

Wing_Nut
21 May 2007, 14:27

I heard from a very trustworthy source that he has been invited down to Melbourne Storm training to show the coaching staff his talents. Has anyone else heard this? Could be a great story of a delinquent kid making good of his life...

Dee5
21 May 2007, 14:40

Id take Treacy..he is the real deal!! Though i haven seen the tommahawk yet!

Squirt
21 May 2007, 15:08
Wonker,
Have been very impressed with the up and coming youth out at Avoca, Do you think you will lose any such as NicK Coghlan to the rebels?

Sherman41
21 May 2007, 15:29
At least it is his mates pumping his tyers up ... and not himself like you sherman.

ok showusya!!!!, would like to know when in the recent future that has been the case???? cant recall doing such a thing on this site.....atleast i am still able to voice my opinion when everyone knows who i am, and not hide behind my computer screen like alot of other ppl do.......

Dr.Phil
21 May 2007, 15:35
he is a nice bloke, but as the classic saying goes you'd surely take a good big man over a good little man..or however it goes you know what i mean..as for big men, how are the other recruits going out there gorman, bucknall, horvath, the robinsons, henrdrikson, etc..

also rich, who did clarkey play for on the weekend?

candy man
21 May 2007, 16:00
I heard from a very trustworthy source that he has been invited down to Melbourne Storm training to show the coaching staff his talents. Has anyone else heard this? Could be a great story of a delinquent kid making good of his life...

this guy must be a huge man king or sherman! these forums are often the breeding ground for ridiculous rumours however its always great to see country ppl being plucked from obscurity and given an opportunity to make it at higher levels if it proves true..
is his background rugby, either way seems a diamond in the rough and a fantastic pick up for the talbot lot! good luck to them

KingRich
21 May 2007, 16:24
he is a nice bloke, but as the classic saying goes you'd surely take a good big man over a good little man..or however it goes you know what i mean..as for big men, how are the other recruits going out there gorman, bucknall, horvath, the robinsons, henrdrikson, etc..

also rich, who did clarkey play for on the weekend?

Clarky was on permit to Burra I believe. Did not play for Talbot anyway.

Thoroughbred
21 May 2007, 16:27
this guy must be a huge man king or sherman! these forums are often the breeding ground for ridiculous rumours

I do remember hearing that Luke Traecey was supposed to be a man mountain on here. That didn't turn out to be true. He's a good size, but man mountain? He'd be 180cm and about 80kg by the look of him.

Regardless of him not being a man mountain, he will be a gun player.

bloodhound!
21 May 2007, 16:29
nathan wright and hardness are too words that shouldnt be used in the same sentence!!!!!:D :D , what is your take on that roger ramjet?????

on a serious note though, this result was severely unexpected i feel by alot of ppl around the traps. this vicory by carisbrook could set there season up for a top 3 spot, it means that teams like avoca and talbot can not afford to drop winnable games from here on in.

did harcourt have any noticable absentee's?

very impressed with avoca's win again aswell, they seem to be heading in the right direction.

Harcourt had Eyles, berry, evans and sean smith out plus a couple of other regular senior players. coach daniel smith had his first run in a long time and will be better for it.
Was told that brook had a few out as well so great effort from them.

Steve_Addlem
21 May 2007, 16:36
Harcourt had Eyles, berry, evans and sean smith out plus a couple of other regular senior players. coach daniel smith had his first run in a long time and will be better for it.

Harcourt did have a few out but i see sean smith played. Daniel Smith looked a bit ginger but was still very polished came off towards the end. I'm fairly confused about all the talk about recruits to this league? Are any of them man mountains?

Thoroughbred
21 May 2007, 16:38
Harcourt did have a few out sean smith played however. Daniel Smith looked a bit ginger but was still very polished came off towards the end. I'm fairly confused about all the talk about recruits to this league? Are any of them man mountains?

I would say there are few man mountains in the MCDFL. Unless the majority of the guys posting in here are midgets.:D

Lunch time matinee
21 May 2007, 17:04

I heard Brook had Sanders, Tatchell, Eddo, Rowey, McKinley's, Lachy Hurse, Liam McIntosh, Keiren Robinson and Tranter with a couple of new recruits due in this week. Was'nt at game but heard alot of the young blokes played well. They still think there's alot of work to be done to get somewhere near though, which there is to match it with Avoca, Talbot and Harcourt later in the season when it really counts.

zakster
21 May 2007, 17:10
much better eh rich with your brown and goldees
tho as u say bushy werent much
rovers mite b a toughr test

KingRich
21 May 2007, 17:11
I heard Brook had Sanders, Tatchell, Eddo, Rowey, McKinley's, Lachy Hurse, Liam McIntosh, Keiren Robinson and Tranter with a couple of new recruits due in this week. Was'nt at game but heard alot of the young blokes played well. They still think there's alot of work to be done to get somewhere near though, which there is to match it with Avoca, Talbot and Harcourt later in the season when it really counts.

Berry hasn't played all year so far.... Cant recall what he said was wrong with him but its obviously something that is lingering!

Fair list of outs there for the Brook to still get up and have a win!

KingRich
21 May 2007, 17:13
much better eh rich with your brown and goldees
tho as u say bushy werent much
rovers mite b a toughr test

I expect Rovers to be a much tougher test yes! I dont think we sustained any injuries this week which is great and we may get 1 or 2 back this week which will be handy.

alfie the pigeon
22 May 2007, 01:30
the 3 toed sloth is a quiet and passive creature, and goes undetected in the tree tops because of its stealth mode. despite having three toes it exhibits amazing dexterity and coordination, some compare it to barry dawson and the kids from dawsons creek.

thirsty
22 May 2007, 10:54

Lunch time ... I think you are wrong about Tranter. I'm pretty sure he will be asking you for a clearance back to Maryborough very soon.

thirsty
22 May 2007, 10:56
Lunch time ... I think you are wrong about Tranter. I'm pretty sure he will be asking you for a clearance back to Maryborough very soon.

Bar sales should have been up Sat arvo with Tatchell, Edwards and Hurse on the sidelines.

KingRich
22 May 2007, 11:34
Justin Harris's clearance has gone in for move to Brook..... Big Signing!

How much cash are we talking lads??? Considering he was on $500 at Clunes before he left and one would think he has improved his football over in SA. $500 minimum I would think.

keetarn
22 May 2007, 11:42
We'll Tommy sutherland of Talbot is one huge unit. Other than him yes you'd probably struggle to find a tall thick set type of player in this league.

Lunch time matinee
22 May 2007, 12:00

Thirsty you clearly have had to much to drink. My very close source tell me that is wrong, but worth throwing into the conversation. Do you think he may go their to play FF in the 2's?

KingRich
22 May 2007, 12:14
We'll Tommy sutherland of Talbot is one huge unit. Other than him yes you'd probably struggle to find a tall thick set type of player in this league.

Craig Brown-Kerr??? Stephen Oliver??? to name two off the top of my head.

KingRich
22 May 2007, 12:17
Thirsty you clearly have had to much to drink. My very close source tell me that is wrong, but worth throwing into the conversation. Do you think he may go their to play FF in the 2's?

I'm with LTM on this one. As a Brook man himself I reckon he'd know!

Lunch time matinee
22 May 2007, 12:30
I'm with LTM on this one. As a Brook man himself I reckon he'd know!

Not a Brook man, but my best mate is, he has some pull out their, so he can comment on this. Trants could still comfortably play at BFL level if he wished, but not sure he's got that desire.

KingRich
22 May 2007, 12:37
Not a Brook man, but my best mate is, he has some pull out their, so he can comment on this. Trants could still comfortably play at BFL level if he wished, but not sure he's got that desire.

:D Def a Brook man LTM! One who would DEF be in the know at the club too!

But I'm only speculating mate!

keetarn
22 May 2007, 12:48
Craig Brown-Kerr??? Stephen Oliver??? to name two off the top of my head.
Definaetly two big men there Rich but Sutherland's age gives me indication that he will develop into a big impact player within this league. These two guys have been valuable assets to there club but i think there impact days are gone as far as pace, splittiting packs, kicks over 50 metere's and high marking is concerned.

Mothman
22 May 2007, 13:00
Definaetly two big men there Rich but Sutherland's age gives me indication that he will develop into a big impact player within this league. These two guys have been valuable assets to there club but i think there impact days are gone as far as pace, splittiting packs, kicks over 50 metere's and high marking is concerned.

talking about big blokes who can kick over 50 metres, splits packs and a good mark overhead how has the brook covered the massive hole left by shane field as he was the leagues best and most consistant full forward over the last 5 or 6 years??

keetarn
22 May 2007, 13:10
talking about big blokes who can kick over 50 metres, splits packs and a good mark overhead how has the brook covered the massive hole left by shane field as he was the leagues best and most consistant full forward over the last 5 or 6 years??
Yes would have to agree there on Shane Field Mothman but i seen Sutherland play on the weekend and he has these attributes of kicking 50+ metere's, pace, and splitting packs awsome to watch.

Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 13:18
Justin Harris's clearance has gone in for move to Brook..... Big Signing!

How much cash are we talking lads??? Considering he was on $500 at Clunes before he left and one would think he has improved his football over in SA. $500 minimum I would think.

I would be very surprised if he was on $500 at Clunes. They are a very small budget club. Weatherly was on $500 a week for coaching and he has the wood on chipper in every single category.

Massive signing for Carisbrook though. What or who's the link out there?

CranktheAnchors
22 May 2007, 13:33
I would be very surprised if he was on $500 at Clunes. They are a very small budget club. Weatherly was on $500 a week for coaching and he has the wood on chipper in every single category.

How good is this bloke? Got a fair bit of hype about him. What's he done? How old is he?

keetarn
22 May 2007, 13:39
How's jarrod Gorman going at the brook? i still believe he has alot ability and is not to be written off as some people within the footy fraternity already have..

thirsty
22 May 2007, 14:05

A spot you made your own for a while there.

I think he is talking about playing in two weeks time. But we won't be holding our breath. Bondy is putting a bit of pressure on him.

Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 14:28
How good is this bloke? Got a fair bit of hype about him. What's he done? How old is he?

He'd be 21 and would probably find himself in the top 5 players of the league. He'll be worth 3-4 goals a game for Brook. To be honest, anyone going from SANFL to MCDFL is going to kill it aren't they?

Pretty impressive effort by Brook to outbid Carngham-Linton. :thumbsu:

KingRich
22 May 2007, 14:36

Word is $500 at Clunes and I think that is fairly accurate.... Would be on that at least at Brook I would think. I wonder if this will effect their willingness/ability to hang on to young Kieran Robinson now???

Actually Shermo might know more than I about Chippa's pay packet......

KingRich
22 May 2007, 14:43
Well put it this way... .The only reason he would not return to Clunes or go to a higher standard of footy is cash. He doesn't have that many mates at Brook that I can think of so in my humble opinion I would think Brook are paying him a bit...... & Good luck to them if they have it!

Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 14:54
Word is $500 at Clunes and I think that is fairly accurate.... Would be on that at least at Brook I would think. I wonder if this will effect their willingness/ability to hang on to young Kieran Robinson now???

Actually Shermo might know more than I about Chippa's pay packet......

I have to say this is quite a coup for the MCDFL and should firm Carisbrook as a genuine contender. He is a very classy footballer and will take some stopping.

Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 14:55
Well put it this way... .The only reason he would not return to Clunes or go to a higher standard of footy is cash. He doesn't have that many mates at Brook that I can think of so in my humble opinion I would think Brook are paying him a bit...... & Good luck to them if they have it!

He might be working in Maryborough or something like that though.

KingRich
22 May 2007, 14:57
I have to say this is quite a coup for the MCDFL and should firm Carisbrook as a genuine contender. He is a very classy footballer and will take some stopping.

I would say if they weren't considered a genuine contender before they should be now.

I dont think it would just be a job in Burra that would make him play there. He has pretty strong roots at Clunes.....

Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 15:12
I would say if they weren't considered a genuine contender before they should be now.

I dont think it would just be a job in Burra that would make him play there. He has pretty strong roots at Clunes.....

True. I would have expected a player coming back from the SANFL to put it out there and let the mid season bidding commence. I'm sure most BFL, CHFL, LPFL and MCDFL teams would love to have Chipper in their side.

His return was very under the radar and I am impressed with Carisbrook snapping that one up with no fuss.

He must have been one of the big name recruits that CL thought they would get!

keetarn
22 May 2007, 16:39
Good luck to the brookers and chipper on there newly formed relationship. As a player i believe that there are as good as players as chipper already running around in this league so his influence will be outstanding against the lesser sides and simular to his teammates against the good sides because when he gets the ball he will be targeted quickly.

KingRich
22 May 2007, 16:46
True. I would have expected a player coming back from the SANFL to put it out there and let the mid season bidding commence. I'm sure most BFL, CHFL, LPFL and MCDFL teams would love to have Chipper in their side.

His return was very under the radar and I am impressed with Carisbrook snapping that one up with no fuss.

He must have been one of the big name recruits that CL thought they would get!

Agreed Old School. Talk of this was kept quiet until a couple of days ago. They have done well!

C/Linton had him pencilled in from all reports so they will be disappointed!

Old School Biff
22 May 2007, 16:52
Agreed Old School. Talk of this was kept quiet until a couple of days ago. They have done well!

C/Linton had him pencilled in from all reports so they will be disappointed!

That's what made me think a job in Maryborough or with a Brook person might be the hook. I doubt a club around wouldn't put an offer in if things weren't kept quiet.

Great pick up Brook!

CranktheAnchors
22 May 2007, 20:46
Round 4 Odds with Crankingbet!!!!

Harcourt ($1.20) v Maldon ($5)
Trentham ($10) v Carisbrook ($1.10)
Royal Park ($1.40) v Dunolly ($3)
Rovers ($4.50) v Talbot ($1.25)
Newstead ($5) v Avoca ($1.20)

Royal Park v Dunolly is an interesting game. Can Dunolly win 2 in a row for the first time in the MCDFL. (That is since rejoining)

KingRich
23 May 2007, 00:28

Royal Park v Dunolly is an interesting game. Can Dunolly win 2 in a row for the first time in the MCDFL. (That is since rejoining)

Generally some clear cut games here I think but you have offered some value. I think Dunolly are a show for sure and Newstead and Maldon are capable of the upset on their day!

Talbots odds are also prob a little generous... Not sure we have proven a lot thus far against mediocre opposition apart from Harcourt.

KingRich
23 May 2007, 00:36

Not sure of my bankroll Crank but here goes anyway...I'll have:

$500 on Talbot and $500 on Royal Park although Dunolly is very tempting!

Old School Biff
23 May 2007, 11:23

I'm going to go with...

- $1000 on Talbot.
- $50 on Dunolly

Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 12:05
Can I take $20 on Dunolly?

Where did I get my $20 from? Can I gamble away the BRLFFFL coffers?