View Full Version : Maryborough Castlemaine District FL
Sherman41
23 May 2007, 13:41
That's what made me think a job in Maryborough or with a Brook person might be the hook. I doubt a club around wouldn't put an offer in if things weren't kept quiet.
Great pick up Brook!
as far as i am led to believe chipper was on $450 at clunes according to his pay packet, i believe he is living with bazza gorman now down in melbourne and that is the conneciton with brook, bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner, chipper was on $ 700 a game in SANFL, word is carnham matched it, and brook have bettererd it from a very very good source rumour has it at $ 850 a game, IMO that is ridiculous if true no player in this league is worth that much. in all honesty i think $850 is a bit of an overexageration but i reckon $600 would prob be around the mark, yes he will be a good player in this league but the footy will be alot different and he will actuall yhave to go get the ball, pressure will be on him to perform
CranktheAnchors
23 May 2007, 14:02
as far as i am led to believe chipper was on $450 at clunes according to his pay packet, i believe he is living with bazza gorman now down in melbourne and that is the conneciton with brook, bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner, chipper was on $ 700 a game in SANFL, word is carnham matched it, and brook have bettererd it from a very very good source rumour has it at $ 850 a game, IMO that is ridiculous if true no player in this league is worth that much. in all honesty i think $850 is a bit of an overexageration but i reckon $600 would prob be around the mark, yes he will be a good player in this league but the footy will be alot different and he will actuall yhave to go get the ball, pressure will be on him to perform
HARRIS, Justin From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Victor HarbourCarisbrook
Was he meant to be playing in the SANFL or not? Says here a different league. Sherman are you inferring that gunny and chief are going brook? I couldn't see brook paying anything more than $500 personally.
Sherman41
23 May 2007, 14:20
HARRIS, Justin From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Victor HarbourCarisbrook
Was he meant to be playing in the SANFL or not? Says here a different league. Sherman are you inferring that gunny and chief are going brook? I couldn't see brook paying anything more than $500 personally.
word has it he was stuffed around by north adelaide or who ever it was, and was playing for that district team, but yes he played and trained with north in SANFL for a while, in reagrds to gunny and chief, yes thats what i am infering and have been led to believe....although personally i dont think gunny will leave rovers, but think chief will go.....dont under estimate there spending power crank, they have a very large following which would provide fantastic revenue for the club..... word has it that young kieran robinson who has only played a hand full of seniour games for the club was offered $200 to stay at brook and not go to natte, so what would that make chipper worth ????
KingRich
23 May 2007, 14:45
Could all this spending this season see them perhaps be heading back to the dark days a few years ago when they were on the bottom??? Will they upset the locals by bringing in too many imports???
Its a fine balancing act at a footy club.
Thoroughbred
23 May 2007, 14:50
Could all this spending this season see them perhaps be heading back to the dark days a few years ago when they were on the bottom??? Will they upset the locals by bringing in too many imports???
Its a fine balancing act at a footy club.
I get the feeling that 2008 will be a good year for any team that saves their pennies in 2007.
CranktheAnchors
23 May 2007, 15:00
word has it he was stuffed around by north adelaide or who ever it was, and was playing for that district team, but yes he played and trained with north in SANFL for a while, in reagrds to gunny and chief, yes thats what i am infering and have been led to believe....although personally i dont think gunny will leave rovers, but think chief will go.....dont under estimate there spending power crank, they have a very large following which would provide fantastic revenue for the club..... word has it that young kieran robinson who has only played a hand full of seniour games for the club was offered $200 to stay at brook and not go to natte, so what would that make chipper worth ????
I'm starting to get the feeling brook might have a bit behind them. So is it fact they offered $200 to young robbo then? I agree don't think gunny would go to brook. While Harcourt spent the dollars last year was Carisbrook saving the dollars with their mediocre year?
Thoroughbred
23 May 2007, 15:18
I'm starting to get the feeling brook might have a bit behind them. So is it fact they offered $200 to young robbo then? I agree don't think gunny would go to brook. While Harcourt spent the dollars last year was Carisbrook saving the dollars with their mediocre year?
Blown way out of proportion. Natte offered him a chance to play with family and Brook offered him $100 a week which is what I have been told. I could well be wrong.
My view is that Avoca is doing the best. On top of the ladder, they spend f-all on players and are getting more numbers to training than the bottom half of the ladder combined.
I'm dead against big money being spent as it starts a dangerous precedence, but I'm pretty sure the Avoca approach will be what brings home the flag in 2007.
Sherman41
23 May 2007, 16:02
Blown way out of proportion. Natte offered him a chance to play with family and Brook offered him $100 a week which is what I have been told. I could well be wrong.
My view is that Avoca is doing the best. On top of the ladder, they spend f-all on players and are getting more numbers to training than the bottom half of the ladder combined.
I'm dead against big money being spent as it starts a dangerous precedence, but I'm pretty sure the Avoca approach will be what brings home the flag in 2007.
well it may or may not have been $100 bucks, but i have been told from a very good source that would know it was $ 200 bucks offered by brook and that young robbo then went to natte and told them to up there offer if they wanted him.
i have no doubt that avoca will also be up the top end this year, but i doubt that they have spent f-all , im sure most of the players they have recruited this year would be on some sort of incentive. u dont go from 6th to top 3 without spending some coin.
Thoroughbred
23 May 2007, 16:12
well it may or may not have been $100 bucks, but i have been told from a very good source that would know it was $ 200 bucks offered by brook and that young robbo then went to natte and told them to up there offer if they wanted him.
i have no doubt that avoca will also be up the top end this year, but i doubt that they have spent f-all , im sure most of the players they have recruited this year would be on some sort of incentive. u dont go from 6th to top 3 without spending some coin.
I have heard the same with the youngest Robbo. He's only 17 for crying out loud.
Bellenger would not come cheap and he would be paying the guys he brought but he wouldn't be near what Brook is going to pay Harris.
thirsty
23 May 2007, 16:18
I have heard the same with the youngest Robbo. He's only 17 for crying out loud.
Bellenger would not come cheap and he would be paying the guys he brought but he wouldn't be near what Brook is going to pay Harris.
Will be interesting to see if Harcourt go out and try to match Carisbrook now!
Rojer_Ramjet
23 May 2007, 16:26
Everyone seems to have their very very reliable sources don't they. Not sure what is correct but there has been alot of speculation. I sense an Avoca connection there Thoroughbred.
KingRich
23 May 2007, 16:31
All points to a super competitive year Gents and I think its great. Brook may have been lacking another gun to really challenge later in the year and they have it now. I believe one of Avoca, Brook Harcourt & Talbot could all challenge on their day.
At the end of the day the talent is important but the main thing is to get the boys to gel together and play for the jumper so we will see who does that best. That is something money cant buy.
thirsty
23 May 2007, 16:42
All points to a super competitive year Gents and I think its great. Brook may have been lacking another gun to really challenge later in the year and they have it now. I believe one of Avoca, Brook Harcourt & Talbot could all challenge on their day.
At the end of the day the talent is important but the main thing is to get the boys to gel together and play for the jumper so we will see who does that best. That is something money cant buy.
Looks like Brook are forming a much better team than they had when they won back to back. Which they needed to to rival Harcourt. Now i think they will be the ones to beat for sure. However Sanders will be important to them. If he doesn't play they will come back to the field.
KingRich
23 May 2007, 16:52
Looks like Brook are forming a much better team than they had when they won back to back. Which they needed to to rival Harcourt. Now i think they will be the ones to beat for sure. However Sanders will be important to them. If he doesn't play they will come back to the field.
Sanders is critical as I still think they lack Big Men, particularly forwards. They are still vulnerable. I still think Harcourt deserve flag favouritism... When they get their full side on the park they will be tough to beat.
CranktheAnchors
23 May 2007, 16:57
Harcourt are definately still flag favourites. 10 goal better side than everyone else last year. Carisbrook still lack big men and I think are still a bit of Harcourt. However are doing everything right atm.
MightyRoar
23 May 2007, 18:31
Round 4 Odds with Crankingbet!!!!
Harcourt ($1.20) v Maldon ($5)
Trentham ($10) v Carisbrook ($1.10)
Royal Park ($1.40) v Dunolly ($3)
Rovers ($4.50) v Talbot ($1.25)
Newstead ($5) v Avoca ($1.20)
Royal Park v Dunolly is an interesting game. Can Dunolly win 2 in a row for the first time in the MCDFL. (That is since rejoining)
Well I'll have $500 on Talbot and $50 on Dunolly!!
candy man
23 May 2007, 19:00
thoroughbred, think you may find avocas budget to be slighty more than just towels and socks..mr bellinger would be one of the higher paid coaches within the league, can tell you that he was asking $500+ from another club not in this league! and his high profiled recruits lloyd, pilgrim would not come cheap..
perhaps you need to accept that all clubs now shell out some coin, which yes in some cases has risen to unfortunate proportions but that looks like the way its going to be, these good players cant do much about that
Mothman
24 May 2007, 00:58
Harcourt are definately still flag favourites. 10 goal better side than everyone else last year. Carisbrook still lack big men and I think are still a bit of Harcourt. However are doing everything right atm.
I heard a rumour that the Big Megsy Field is contemplating coming back to the Brook. Apparently he is having seconds thoughts with the move west and could b chasing work around the Maryborough area!!
If this is the case then I would imagine it would give opposition teams a big headache with Sanders and Field in the forward line again!! Also to add the inclusion of Harris.............................how much would the Brook be forking out to have the big fella back??
The Rock Spider
24 May 2007, 04:03
I heard a rumour that the Big Megsy Field is contemplating coming back to the Brook. Apparently he is having seconds thoughts with the move west and could b chasing work around the Maryborough area!!
If this is the case then I would imagine it would give opposition teams a big headache with Sanders and Field in the forward line again!! Also to add the inclusion of Harris.............................how much would the Brook be forking out to have the big fella back??
that as well as the inclusion of Johnboy "the aarvark" Campbell and craig "silky" wright to the line up should make some major problems with most backlines in the league, beware people the snout is about!
alfie the pigeon
24 May 2007, 04:19
:eek: Sanders is critical as I still think they lack Big Men, particularly forwards. They are still vulnerable. I still think Harcourt deserve flag favouritism... When they get their full side on the park they will be tough to beat.
yes but they lack the ferocity of the brolga, a massive factor which dennis "ramjet" cometti would surely agree with. Do not underestimate the ferocity of a brolga on heat, it is surely a savage creature :eek:
Montyposty
24 May 2007, 08:56
bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner,
: Jason Hare has talked to Osh and is putting in a clearance to Brook also, not sure why it hasn't gone thru yet to Brook but he spoke with Osh last weekend. Gunny? Osh hasn't been told anything about that one.
Have also heard the Rumour about the Big Megs as off with the girl I believe he followed up there.
Sherman41
24 May 2007, 12:13
bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner,
: Jason Hare has talked to Osh and is putting in a clearance to Brook also, not sure why it hasn't gone thru yet to Brook but he spoke with Osh last weekend. Gunny? Osh hasn't been told anything about that one.
Have also heard the Rumour about the Big Megs as off with the girl I believe he followed up there.
it seems as if everyone wants to jump on the carisbrook bandwagon ATM, as someone mentioned earlier, how much money have they got???? , if chipper is on the money he is said to be on, how can they afford meggsy??
catch me if u can
24 May 2007, 14:14
dead right there...everyone in country vic knows bellenger is one of the most money hungry players getting round! i'm not sayin his not worth it but he does seem to just go to the club who is will to fork out the most cash for him.
thirsty
24 May 2007, 14:33
it seems as if everyone wants to jump on the carisbrook bandwagon ATM, as someone mentioned earlier, how much money have they got???? , if chipper is on the money he is said to be on, how can they afford meggsy??
I'm sure the pres will chip in for his mate Meggs especially with all the seed he has sold now the rains are here.
KingRich
24 May 2007, 15:17
I think they have the cash... I would be more concerned about the loyal players that have been around for a while that will be dropped. Its a balancing act so they wouldn't want too many coming in.
Footy Maniac
24 May 2007, 16:06
WHAT a shame --- what a waste really, I suppose --- to see the Ross boys piddling about in the leagues they are in currently.
They were tough, durable players for Maryborough in the major league BFL. What is it with blokes who won't commit to the training and discipline required at the higher level.
OK, so you may say they're getting on in age a bit. Then take a look at Reed Wills --- out of Maryborough to district league Loddon Valley, to have a gallop with Newbridge.
I have heard it said (by the Maryborough senior coach, actually) R. Wills couldn't be bothered with the extra training, fitness levels and discipline needed to cut it with Maryborough in the major league.
Well, Jock maybe he wasn't all that happy at the Borough, he did get badly injured last year also. Willsy is definitely being well looked after at Newbridge and is happy and is playing some great footy. The coaching staff and the players love the guy! He's fitting in nicely. Go the W Train!! :thumbsu:
Billy_The_Kid
24 May 2007, 16:24
[/b]
dead right there...everyone in country vic knows bellenger is one of the most money hungry players getting round! i'm not sayin his not worth it but he does seem to just go to the club who is will to fork out the most cash for him.
Things look alright at Avoca ATM with the new coach Bellenger. Some credit should be shown where it is deserved Avoca are the club that is on the top of MCDFL
the_boot_of_gum
24 May 2007, 16:43
Things look alright at Avoca ATM with the new coach Bellenger. Some credit should be shown where it is deserved Avoca are the club that is on the top of MCDFL
mate i dont think catch me was saying anything about how good avoca were going...more just stating the fact that they to pay out substanial amount to players! and this is fair enough...thats where country footy has gone. i jus think i silly how avoca people alway go round saying they dont pay players when i is clear that they do
KingRich
24 May 2007, 17:03
Did anyone hear Benchy on Fresh FM last night?
Billy_The_Kid
24 May 2007, 17:08
mate i dont think catch me was saying anything about how good avoca were going...more just stating the fact that they to pay out substanial amount to players! and this is fair enough...thats where country footy has gone. i jus think i silly how avoca people alway go round saying they dont pay players when i is clear that they do
Avoca have one of the best incentive schemes going around and I am sure they would be paying a few players travel money but I am aware that all the players apart from the coach are entitled for the incentives.
CranktheAnchors
24 May 2007, 17:22
Avoca have not done a thing wrong thus far and would be quite happy with how things are travelling. Avoca and every other team in the league would know it is only Round 4 and know there is alot of water to flow under the premiership bridge. I agree totally with your last sentence boot of gum!
Iron Beast
24 May 2007, 17:55
[/b]
Mate coming from a Hutchins that is a very big call... Pull your head in buddy and pipe down!
Sherman41
25 May 2007, 00:02
I think they have the cash... I would be more concerned about the loyal players that have been around for a while that will be dropped. Its a balancing act so they wouldn't want too many coming in.
i agree rich that yes they prob do have the money, but jesus would love to see how much they pay players a week to play.....and how it rates to other clubs, that would be very very interesting to see how clubs stack up, unfortunately though a question that will never get answered.
carisbrook have a fantastic supporters base and sponsorship base that must obviously be providing a healthier income than most of us think.
in relation to avoca its great to see they are back up and running again,and full credit tho them for the hard work..... but i will refuse to believe no matter how good there incentive scheme is that costs are at a minimum.....after all if they have a hefty incentive scheme it is still money they are dishing out to there best players, who would most likely be payed players anyway.
To help you with a few figures Avoca forked out exactly $14 700 in total last season which included the coach's payments and the incentive scheme.
If you don't believe what I am putting forward just ask the two boys who headed to Carisbrook this season as they know roughly how much the club would have paid out.
Last Sat the youngster who kicked 8 goals got to take home $300 in cash. Don't you think it is healthier for a club if the players who play the best footy get to take home the loot?
As far as Tony Bellenger goes, he has already gained great respect from all sections of the club and to his credit has the team ticking along nicely. You might remember that many had written Avoca off around christmas, but through shear hard work and a strong junior development program the club has managed to turn its fortunes around.
Avoca has derived enormous enjoyment out of its wins to date and the fact that the club finds itself on top of the ladder has exceeded all expectations.
With the amount of young talent in its ranks, it would be no surprise to see Avoca perform admirably for the next year or two.
TEE-R-OTTER
25 May 2007, 10:53
Mate coming from a Hutchins that is a very big call... Pull your head in buddy and pipe down!
Yeah that's right, pipe down.
This is a footy forum, no one is supposed to have an opinion on here or say anything:confused:
Montyposty
25 May 2007, 11:45
Have also heard the Rumour about the Big Megs as off with the girl I believe he followed up there.[/quote]
Sherman: :thumbsu: Gunny came and saw the Rovers Match Commitee lastnight, he is putting a clearance into Brook, You were on the money. Noticed Chief has also put in a clearance. Gunny will be playing against you guy's tommorow thou.
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 12:21
To help you with a few figures Avoca forked out exactly $14 700 in total last season which included the coach's payments and the incentive scheme.
As far as Tony Bellenger goes, he has already gained great respect from all sections of the club and to his credit has the team ticking along nicely. You might remember that many had written Avoca off around christmas, but through shear hard work and a strong junior development program the club has managed to turn its fortunes around.
With the amount of young talent in its ranks, it would be no surprise to see Avoca perform admirably for the next year or two.
Wonker i am over the belligerent crap that you continue to put up on this site. I am all for the Avoca Football Club and Tony Bellenger but some of your comments are total ridiculous. To say the strong junior development program which has been recently implemented is assisting in the club being up there at the moment is a total joke. You have an aging list and it will be the older recruits that may bring some sucess in 07.
All i can say is you can keep feeding us this utter $hit about not spending much money and all these initives your club is running which makes you better then everyone else in the league but the simple truth is when the money runs out and the older players retire you will be a middle of the road side and unfortunately for you guys its not far around the corner.
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 12:32
Round 4 Odds with Crankingbet!!!!
Anyone want a lesson in tipping just follow the beasts lead! I'll have $2,835 on Talbot ($1.25) into Harcourt ($1.20) into Brook ($1.10) into Avoca ($1.20)
Wouldn't have a clue on how you calculate this but it is a sure thing!
catch me if u can
25 May 2007, 12:44
mate i think you'd find both the hutchins boys play for **** all. not sure u really no what your talking about when it come to them!
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 12:44
chipper was on $450 at clunes, $700 a game in the SANFL, word is carngham matched it, and brook have bettererd it from a very very good source rumour has it at $850 a game, IMO that is ridiculous if true no player in this league is worth that much. I reckon $600 would prob be around the mark.
The clunes figure is spot on, heard it from a few guys who were definetely in the know. Chipper didn't play any games in the SANFL so i think this figure is a total crock of $hit. Would have been the case if he got a game in the ones but he couldn't cut the mustard over there! Would have been on a bit but i would be guessing $200-$400 at the very maximum! The reason i say this is at North Ballarat if you play seniors you get good money but if you plays twos its generally only $100 to $200 a week and this is what i am using as a comparison. To suggest he is being offered $850 is ridiculous, for one he isn't worth it and secondly he is not the sort of player teams tend to pay big money for! Ie. 6ft 6'' Ruckman / Goal kicker that can take a grab
thirsty
25 May 2007, 12:50
Anyone want a lesson in tipping just follow the beasts lead! I'll have $2,835 on Talbot ($1.25) into Harcourt ($1.20) into Brook ($1.10) into Avoca ($1.20)
Wouldn't have a clue on how you calculate this but it is a sure thing!
Beast .. since you have a hatred for brook ... what do you think about their recruiting spree?
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 12:52
mate i think you'd find both the hutchins boys play for **** all. not sure u really no what your talking about when it come to them!
Hutchy was on big coin when he walked out of Dunolly to go to Murrabit. He was one of the blokes that helped cause the demise of Dunolly by continually wanting big money and putting very little back into the club. You said earlier in the post a few big names would be going back there next year and roumer has it that he is the man and its about time he puts something back in!
Whispers around town suggest your on a fairly sizeable amount for a young fella too!
Old School Biff
25 May 2007, 12:57
The clunes figure is spot on, heard it from a few guys who were definetely in the know. Chipper didn't play any games in the SANFL so i think this figure is a total crock of $hit. Would have been the case if he got a game in the ones but he couldn't cut the mustard over there! Would have been on a bit but i would be guessing $200-$400 at the very maximum! The reason i say this is at North Ballarat if you play seniors you get good money but if you plays twos its generally only $100 to $200 a week and this is what i am using as a comparison. To suggest he is being offered $850 is ridiculous, for one he isn't worth it and secondly he is not the sort of player teams tend to pay big money for! Ie. 6ft 6'' Ruckman / Goal kicker that can take a grab
He will kick 3-4 each game.
I would be pretty sure that he would not be payed the said amount in the SANFL. Your comparison to the VFL is very accurate. Senior players get a fair bit, but the reserve list players only get on average $150. So it is a tough job for North Ballarat and etc to try and get a quality list of 40 players. If you're good enough to play 2's at North Ballarat, you'll be a great district league player. See Glen Handley for an example. He would be a top 10 CHFL player and getting a decent pay packet with it.
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 13:02
Beast .. since you have a hatred for brook ... what do you think about their recruiting spree?
I'm all for bringing quality recruits into the league as it helps lift the overall standard of the competition. My only concern is for the guys who make the effort to play for the equivalent to a pie and a coke who might get the boot. Carisbrook don't look after some guys as well as they should and its only because they are loyal to the club! I think its a slap in the face to guys like young Nathan Wright who i imagine isn't on big coin compared what he may get elsewhere who is playing well for his belovered club for bugger all and then guys who aren't proven players are being offered $200 a game! Hardly seems fair IMO. Any thoughts?
KingRich
25 May 2007, 13:03
Iron Beast goes bang....... You love ruffling the feathers!
Finally it looks to be some nice weather for footy tomorrow. With a few games appearing one sided we may see some big scores for the first time this year!
Talbot has a tough assignment at Rovers IMO. We will have to work hard for the win.
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 13:09
He will kick 3-4 each game.
Should be right to kick 3-4 a game but i wouldn't want to be paying $200 a goal for someone! He will no doubt be a good player in MCDFL but i question how seriously he will take it, one would hope he leaves the nightlife alone and sticks to what he does best and thats ripping it up on the footy field. Would love to have a chat to Owen Weatherly for an honest assessment of where Chipper is at.
keetarn
25 May 2007, 13:26
Should be right to kick 3-4 a game but i wouldn't want to be paying $200 a goal for someone! He will no doubt be a good player in MCDFL but i question how seriously he will take it, one would hope he leaves the nightlife alone and sticks to what he does best and thats ripping it up on the footy field. Would love to have a chat to Owen Weatherly for an honest assessment of where Chipper is at.
I dare say that would be a very wise move iron beast and to search even further about his night life. I just hope you get the response your actually looking for......:rolleyes:
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 13:28
Sanders is critical as I still think they lack Big Men, particularly forwards. They are still vulnerable. I still think Harcourt deserve flag favouritism... When they get their full side on the park they will be tough to beat.
Getting Sanders playing is critical if carisbrook is going to be a real force this year. If Chipper has been offered $850 (which i don't believe) and young Robo has been offered $200, Sanders must be worth $1k a game at that rate...
keetarn
25 May 2007, 13:31
Iron Beast goes bang....... You love ruffling the feathers!
Finally it looks to be some nice weather for footy tomorrow. With a few games appearing one sided we may see some big scores for the first time this year!
Talbot has a tough assignment at Rovers IMO. We will have to work hard for the win.
especially you king rich as you are in wonderful form at the moment.:eek:
the_boot_of_gum
25 May 2007, 13:33
Hutchy was on big coin when he walked out of Dunolly to go to Murrabit. He was one of the blokes that helped cause the demise of Dunolly by continually wanting big money and putting very little back into the club. You said earlier in the post a few big names would be going back there next year and roumer has it that he is the man and its about time he puts something back in!
Whispers around town suggest your on a fairly sizeable amount for a young fella too!
Beast Beast Beast...Hop out of bed on the wrong side this morning did we? you know a fair bit about these boys it seems! i question a couple of things u mention though!
1. Shane hutch putting very little into the club? did he not play there for around ten years in which time reject many substantial offers to go else where and while he was at the club won a league under 17's b&f, he also kick 100 goals one year won a seniors b&f and was always up there in the best players
2. His so called "walk out on the club". there is more than 1 reason he left dunolly. money i'm lead to believe was not 1 of them. Talk to any murrabit boys or even Kolora Noorat boys and you will find that he takes far less cash than he is actually offered
mate you seem to know a fair bit about footy but every now and then mate your not quite the expert u think u are ;)
Thoroughbred
25 May 2007, 13:40
Beast Beast Beast...Hop out of bed on the wrong side this morning did we? you know a fair bit about these boys it seems! i question a couple of things u mention though!
1. Shane hutch putting very little into the club? did he not play there for around ten years in which time reject many substantial offers to go else where and while he was at the club won a league under 17's b&f, he also kick 100 goals one year won a seniors b&f and was always up there in the best players
2. His so called "walk out on the club". there is more than 1 reason he left dunolly. money i'm lead to believe was not 1 of them. Talk to any murrabit boys or even Kolora Noorat boys and you will find that he takes far less cash than he is actually offered
mate you seem to know a fair bit about footy but every now and then mate your not quite the expert u think u are ;)
Huthcy was good value for Dunolly and if people really want to look at the fall of the club you should go no further than...
1. Leaving the LPFL for the Loddon Valley league. Way too much travel and talent in that league for Dunolly to cope with. They should have gone into the MCDFL instead and they would have been playing finals with the team Bellenger had.
2. Not renewing Bellenger's contract in 2003 was the end. Dan Brady reluctantly took the position and had to face 10 senior players get clearances within a month of the season starting.
* Hutchins moved to Murrabit and has been very loyal to that club. After kicking 100 goals in the LPFL in a crap team, he could have commanded $500 - $1000 a game from teams like Carngham and those that are willing to pay. But he played on for Dunolly despite their poor performances. So for anyone to put the blame of the current position anywhere other than points 1 & 2, doesn't know the facts.
Thoroughbred
25 May 2007, 13:50
I dare say that would be a very wise move iron beast and to search even further about his night life. I just hope you get the response your actually looking for......:rolleyes:
Goat got him a spot over in Adelaide and I too would seek a reference if I was the Carisbrook president or coach.
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 13:50
Here is the leader board and the odds for this week, was getting hard to find.
Iron Beast $2,835
Candy Man $1,725
Old School $1,565
Dr. Phil $1,556
King Rich $1,285
Morrie Morals $1,200
Rojer Ramjet $1,190
MightyRoar $907
Nossi5 $850
Nonamehack $0
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 13:57
You seem to know a fair bit about the Hutchins boys, close connection i sense! Know all the ins and outs of the various leagues/clubs they have played in. Interesting....
KingRich
25 May 2007, 14:10
I'm all for bringing quality recruits into the league as it helps lift the overall standard of the competition. My only concern is for the guys who make the effort to play for the equivalent to a pie and a coke who might get the boot. Carisbrook don't look after some guys as well as they should and its only because they are loyal to the club! I think its a slap in the face to guys like young Nathan Wright who i imagine isn't on big coin compared what he may get elsewhere who is playing well for his belovered club for bugger all and then guys who aren't proven players are being offered $200 a game! Hardly seems fair IMO. Any thoughts?
It is a very good point you make here IB. I cant imagine all the young Brookers would be happy with the current situation of splashing money round and importing players. But we will wait and see. A fair bit of pressure on Brook now to perform I would think! All of a sudden they have become the hunted which will suit Harcourt and Avoca i would think!
Of the 3 other new recruits to Brook in Hare, Chivers & Gunn... Will they all play seniors??
Lunch time matinee
25 May 2007, 14:32
You seem to know a fair bit about the Hutchins boys, close connection i sense! Know all the ins and outs of the various leagues/clubs they have played in. Interesting....
I dare say you two may know each other more than you think. One has got a loud mouth, the other has got no legs.:D (sorry boy's that's probably a bit rough)
SiMoSaYs
25 May 2007, 14:34
Have not agreed with everything you have posted beast but this is spot on for any club paying out the cash... Why pay a local kid when you know he will stick around anyway, pretty sad i beleive but makes buisness sence dosn't it......
Simo
KingRich
25 May 2007, 14:38
I dare say you two may know each other more than you think. One has got a loud mouth, the other has got no legs.:D (sorry boy's that's probably a bit rough)
What do you mean by no legs LTM?
LTM Can you shed any light on the current Carisbrook situation??
SiMoSaYs
25 May 2007, 14:44
What do you mean by no legs LTM?
Short..........
Lunch time matinee
25 May 2007, 14:52
Getting Sanders playing is critical if carisbrook is going to be a real force this year. If Chipper has been offered $850 (which i don't believe) and young Robo has been offered $200, Sanders must be worth $1k a game at that rate...
There seems to be a huge amount of discussion about money and what people think players are being paid by various clubs, this is obviously part of any discussion on footy threads as it is unfortunatley to much a part of country footy these days. IMO I don't think any club in this league nor any other league purposely go all out anymore just to win a premiership, why ? because whilst it is what we all play for and clubs aim for, it is no longer the be all and end all. Too many country towns in the past 10 years or so have seen the effect when clubs fold, the reason may not be just money, but it has in some situations. Footy is a way of life for many families in rural communities and you can't tell me that any hierachy purposely goes throwing the cash around just for a Premiership, in the long run it's not worth the risk or impact it can have. Sure clubs go out spending some money, some more than others, but not to the extent to what some people portray on this thread. I think most people are only guessing unless they are part of the finance department at their club. I'm sure we would all agree that you can work hard recruiting from October - March every year, you may talk to 10 players and after a 1000 phone calls and meetings you may get 2. Then all of a sudden you may pick up 4-5 players just like that when you least expect it, why because of money? No because of mates, which thankfully still means more than the former.
KingRich
25 May 2007, 15:01
There seems to be a huge amount of discussion about money and what people think players are being paid by various clubs, this is obviously part of any discussion on footy threads as it is unfortunatley to much a part of country footy these days. IMO I don't think any club in this league nor any other league purposely go all out anymore just to win a premiership, why ? because whilst it is what we all play for and clubs aim for, it is no longer the be all and end all. Too many country towns in the past 10 years or so have seen the effect when clubs fold, the reason may not be just money, but it has in some situations. Footy is a way of life for many families in rural communities and you can't tell me that any hierachy purposely goes throwing the cash around just for a Premiership, in the long run it's not worth the risk or impact it can have. Sure clubs go out spending some money, some more than others, but not to the extent to what some people portray on this thread. I think most people are only guessing unless they are part of the finance department at their club. I'm sure we would all agree that you can work hard recruiting from October - March every year, you may talk to 10 players and after a 1000 phone calls and meetings you may get 2. Then all of a sudden you may pick up 4-5 players just like that when you least expect it, why because of money? No because of mates, which thankfully still means more than the former.
Agreed but I think there is some clubs in this league that do go after flags with money and generally aren't successful and I'm not talking about Brook here.
Chippa wouldn't be playing for peanuts... mates or no mates.
Iron Beast
25 May 2007, 15:05
http://www.nafc.com.au/lib/images/funshoot/mf112.jpg
After due consideration i reckon this bloke is worth every cent that he gets. He will provide a lot entertainment and good times at the Brook footy club in 07. I'm on the Chipper band wagon big time!
KingRich
25 May 2007, 15:18
I see Matthew Balshaw has put in a clearance to leave the Lions to go to Ocean Grove.....
Lunch time matinee
25 May 2007, 15:20
Agreed but I think there is some clubs in this league that do go after flags with money and generally aren't successful and I'm not talking about Brook here.
Chippa wouldn't be playing for peanuts... mates or no mates.
Perhaps chocolate peanuts ?? :D
Sherman41
25 May 2007, 15:37
After due consideration i reckon this bloke is worth every cent that he gets. He will provide a lot entertainment and good times at the Brook footy club in 07. I'm on the Chipper band wagon big time!
i agree with u beast yes he will be very good value for the club on and off the field but alot will depend on his state of mind, last time i saw him he was looking really really fit in all honesty, and had trimmed down quite a bit, if he can maintain hid dedicaTION HE showed over there and leave his friday night sociaL life behind will be just as damaging as any player in the comp. the only reason i have speculated on the price he has been offered and what he was meant to be receiving in adelaide is because as i said it came from a very very good source , very very close to him, so someone is obviously telling porky pies, or chinese whispers........in realation to gunny and chief was on the money with that one and def correct on what he was getting at clunes.
catch me if u can
25 May 2007, 16:48
just heard some news from dunolly. paul edwards is out for apx 6 weeks due to a fractured fibia(leg). will be a huge blow for dunolly to lose him as he would have to be close to there best player. with him out of the team does that take away any chance of dunolly beating park this week and notching up two win for the fist time in a long time?
keetarn
25 May 2007, 16:51
Entertainment and good times they'll be.
[/b]
Massive call there...I have it on good authority that the Avoca Footy Club were thrilled to get such a quality coach and player for so little coin. From what I've seen he has delivered the goods thus far as well.
Wonker i am over the belligerent crap that you continue to put up on this site. I am all for the Avoca Football Club and Tony Bellenger but some of your comments are total ridiculous. To say the strong junior development program which has been recently implemented is assisting in the club being up there at the moment is a total joke. You have an aging list and it will be the older recruits that may bring some sucess in 07.
All i can say is you can keep feeding us this utter $hit about not spending much money and all these initives your club is running which makes you better then everyone else in the league but the simple truth is when the money runs out and the older players retire you will be a middle of the road side and unfortunately for you guys its not far around the corner.
Iron Beast, Not sure if I would consider Avoca's list as ageing.
The following is Avoca's list that have played senior football this season.
10 of these players are under 21 and 9 have come through the junior development program.
10 are aged between 24 and 29, 6 being locals and all with many years left in them.
Only 3 players are over 30.
Nick Coghlan 17
Joshua Grant 17
Shaun Orr 18
Brendon Veitch 19
Matt Veitch 19
Tom Barker 20
Jason Fletcher 20
David Miles 20
Carl Moser 20
Brad Hunt 21
Alexander Gordon-Cooke 24
Daniel Lloyd 24
Adrian Pilgrim 25
Braxton Hassett 26
Justin Tapner 26
Paul Hamilton 27
Ben Howell 27
Vernon Svilicic 27
Jason Walkley 27
Tony Bellenger 29
Michael Wardlaw 32
Travis Ross 34
Trevor Field 37
Sherman41
25 May 2007, 19:32
getting away from the money side of things, were a month into footy now and was wondering who are the flyers at each club, and how all the recruits are stacking up?????
keetarn
25 May 2007, 21:27
getting away from the money side of things, were a month into footy now and was wondering who are the flyers at each club, and how all the recruits are stacking up?????
How would you rate yourself so far sherman 41 and the recruits at your club?
Dr.Phil
25 May 2007, 23:12
ill have 200 on dunolly only value.
Cheers Crank.
CranktheAnchors
25 May 2007, 23:53
ill have 200 on dunolly only value.
Cheers Crank.
King Rich $500 Talbot $1.25
$500 Royal Park $1.40
Old School Biff $1000 Talbot $1.25
$50 Dunolly $3
Mighty Roar $500 Talbot $1.25
$50 Dunolly $3
Iron Beast $2835 ($1.20x$1.10x$1.25x$1.20=$2)
Beast - would like to invite you out to Avoca's training on any given Thursday night, Will even shout you a beer at the bar. What you will find is about forty odd of the districts kids participating in Auskick from 4 p.m.
At 5 p.m. about 12 to 14 under 14's turn up and are put through their paces. At 5.30 about 20 to 24 kids front for U 17's training under the guidance of coach Brad Hunt and assistant Adrian Pilgrim. At 6 to 6.15 between 40 to 45 Reserves and Senior players go through their hoops. I think that puts the figure in excess of 100 players utilising the ground every week.
Even though it is obvious you don't agree Beast, the Avoca club has chartered a course that it thinks will give it a bright future and as I have stated before only time will tell if it is on the right track.
I can't ever recall making any statement along the lines that the Avoca club's present initiatives make it think that that it is better than everyone else in the league.
If someone out there has some figures etc that refute what I have been saying please post them on this sight or as the saying goes 'forever hold you peace.'
After years in the wilderness it is nice to think that the club has got to a stage where it finally commands respect from opposition teams.
P.S. Do you actually know what the word 'belligerent' means Beast?
Mobbenfuhrer
26 May 2007, 11:03
Crank you missed my bet, $20 on Dunolly/
Beast - would like to invite you out to Avoca's training on any given Thursday night, Will even shout you a beer at the bar. What you will find is about forty odd of the districts kids participating in Auskick from 4 p.m.
At 5 p.m. about 12 to 14 under 14's turn up and are put through their paces. At 5.30 about 20 to 24 kids front for U 17's training under the guidance of coach Brad Hunt and assistant Adrian Pilgrim. At 6 to 6.15 between 40 to 45 Reserves and Senior players go through their hoops. I think that puts the figure in excess of 100 players utilising the ground every week.
Even though it is obvious you don't agree Beast, the Avoca club has chartered a course that it thinks will give it a bright future and as I have stated before only time will tell if it is on the right track.
I can't ever recall making any statement along the lines that the Avoca club's present initiatives make it think that that it is better than everyone else in the league.
If someone out there has some figures etc that refute what I have been saying please post them on this sight or as the saying goes 'forever hold you peace.'
After years in the wilderness it is nice to think that the club has got to a stage where it finally commands respect from opposition teams.
Hmmm, one would think your fighting out of your weight here beast.
How about you come up with some original posts telling us what you think, instead of putting sh!t on those that post informative news on their respective clubs.
Old School Biff
27 May 2007, 10:40
Good effort Wonker on the turn around. Good initiative to drop back a weight category and it really seems to have paid off. I'm glad the VCFL let you in.
It isn't a sin to be paying footballers these days. It's the nature of the beast. You can't tell me Pilgrim went there for anything less than $150. He shopped around in 2006 in a big way.
Mothman
27 May 2007, 11:21
Good effort Wonker on the turn around. Good initiative to drop back a weight category and it really seems to have paid off. I'm glad the VCFL let you in.
It isn't a sin to be paying footballers these days. It's the nature of the beast. You can't tell me Pilgrim went there for anything less than $150. He shopped around in 2006 in a big way.
i don't like to pick on avoca people but pilgrim would have to be one of the most overrated pleyers i've ever seen the only way he gets money is when he talks himself up. he has no proof that he's ever been a good player if i was coaching avoca i would have him in the reserves with that other toss pot walters. i've heard a whisper over the weekend that avoca are just preparing themselves for the 3 field boys :(julian, megsjoint coaches) and cameron to come back and lead the club to a premiership nexy year
Thoroughbred
27 May 2007, 13:56
i've heard a whisper over the weekend that avoca are just preparing themselves for the 3 field boys :(julian, megsjoint coaches) and cameron to come back and lead the club to a premiership nexy year
The impression I got was that this year was going to be another wait for Julian year. Tony has turned the club around and I can't see how a club could even consider not renewing his contract. Would Field come back for a non coaching position?
Pyrenees Puma
27 May 2007, 15:49
Probably a good thing you are not coaching avoca mothman,as for pilgrim a more quality individual would be hard to find.Im sure pilgs couldnot buy a pie and a can of coke with his player payments as he pulls on the jumper for nothing more than to help his mates, and he believes in the direction the club is heading (believe it or not).As for the avoca coach imo we have the best coach in the league. Im sure the club could slot julian into the avoca team somewhere.As for megs a cameron i thought they have already made there choices as to there playing future and its not at avoca i don't like to pick on avoca people but pilgrim would have to be one of the most overrated pleyers i've ever seen the only way he gets money is when he talks himself up. he has no proof that he's ever been a good player if i was coaching avoca i would have him in the reserves with that other toss pot walters. i've heard a whisper over the weekend that avoca are just preparing themselves for the 3 field boys :(julian, megsjoint coaches) and cameron to come back and lead the club to a premiership nexy year
Iron Beast
27 May 2007, 19:04
The beast has caused some conjecture about the way things are going in the MCDFL and various teams involved.
My comments on Avoca's list was directed more at the fact a few of your key players i believe may be gone in a couple of years time. If Bellenger leaves and his possy of players go with him, as well as the retirement of players like Wardlaw, Ross, Field who are surely close to retirement IMO the club may find they will struggle a bit. Although there are good young fellas coming through these players are going to be very tough to replace.
I think that having lots of young blokes coming through is a very positive thing and helps make the club more sustainable for the future. I Retract my statement and applaud that inititive... Overall Wonker it was your constant comments about payments and incentives etc that was pi$$ing me off and i took aim at you guys and should have looked into it a little more in depth.
Another team i am getting on board in a big way is the brook, my concern was largely due to the lack of talls and a possible goal kicker... But by one of my main men cranked up the amps and unleashed 9 of the finest yesterday and IMO has dispelled that myth. I hear after he watched the reserves he may have been feeling the pressure to perform as there was a cameo roll played by an ex full forward who may be pushing for a spot come finals time!
All in all the beast may have been a bit out of aim with a few misguided comments but one thing i have to say is can tip!!!
The impression I got was that this year was going to be another wait for Julian year. Tony has turned the club around and I can't see how a club could even consider not renewing his contract. Would Field come back for a non coaching position?
Avoca has already had preliminary talks with Julian Field regarding his imminent return to the club. Julian has a successful plumbing business that he runs in Ballarat which keeps him extremely busy. He has already notified the club that he wouldn't have the time to devote to the main coaching role at this stage and when he returns it would be as a player. Julian did say that he would like to fill a role in an advisory capacity. Something that would sit quite comfortably with present coach Tony Bellenger as he likes the players to have some ownership of ther own destinies.
Julian probably wouldn't mind me making public the fact that he was paid $200 a game at Redan last season plus incentives. Granted he was in the incentives almost on a weekly basis so one would expect that he sometimes got to take home a little more than his base $200.
The fact that he was equal club best & fairest winner last season, former Liston medal winner and was voted BOG in last year's Ballarat League grand final and to play for this conservative amount of money tells you a bit about the fellow.
He said to me one day - 'Wonker, it was worth every penny of the $40 000 that I missed out on that was on offer from other clubs, to play in a premiership with my mates. Obviously something money just can't buy.
Of course it would be ideal to have the Mothman sitting in the sticks with our talented young ones feeding the ball into him at full forward. Could register another ton. Mothman might be able to tell me if a player has ever kicked a ton for two separate teams in the MCDFL before.
As for Cameron Field - his thoughts over the past couple of seasons have been that he may contemplate a return to the Avoca Club when it gets itself back on its feet. I just hope for Cam's sake that there will actually be a spot for him at the club if he does one day want to return.
the 3 toed sloth is a quiet and passive creature, and goes undetected in the tree tops because of its stealth mode. despite having three toes it exhibits amazing dexterity and coordination, some compare it to barry dawson and the kids from dawsons creek.
Another excellent post as usual Alfie.
Hey can I try some that thing you're smoking..................................................... ....................................
........................................... Wow!!!!! strong sh$t that.
CranktheAnchors
27 May 2007, 21:24
King Rich $500 Talbot $1.25
$500 Royal Park $1.40
Old School Biff $1000 Talbot $1.25
$50 Dunolly $3
Mighty Roar $500 Talbot $1.25
$50 Dunolly $3
Iron Beast $2835 ($1.20x$1.10x$1.25x$1.20=$2)
Harcourt 24.17 (161) vMaldon 4.3 (27) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315243&comp=5700&orgid=368)Trentham 8.7 (55) vCarisbrook 22.20 (152) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/27.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315244&comp=5700&orgid=368)Royal Park 22.11 (143) vDunolly 8.5 (53) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/17.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315245&comp=5700&orgid=368)Maryborough Rovers 8.3 (51) vTalbot 12.16 (88) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/cons/d/27.gif (http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=315246&comp=5700&orgid=368)Newstead 6.10 (46) vAvoca 16.15 (111) http://mcdfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/space.gif
Standings after Round 4. Great betting Iron Beast.
Iron Beast $5,670
Old School $1,785
Candy Man $1,725
King Rich $1,610
Dr. Phil $1,356
Morrie Morals $1,200
Rojer Ramjet $1,190
MightyRoar $982
Mobbenfuher $980
Nossi5 $850
Nonamehack $0
Thoroughbred
28 May 2007, 12:43
Avoca has already had preliminary talks with Julian Field regarding his imminent return to the club. Julian has a successful plumbing business that he runs in Ballarat which keeps him extremely busy. He has already notified the club that he wouldn't have the time to devote to the main coaching role at this stage and when he returns it would be as a player. Julian did say that he would like to fill a role in an advisory capacity. Something that would sit quite comfortably with present coach Tony Bellenger as he likes the players to have some ownership of ther own destinies.
Julian probably wouldn't mind me making public the fact that he was paid $200 a game at Redan last season plus incentives. Granted he was in the incentives almost on a weekly basis so one would expect that he sometimes got to take home a little more than his base $200.
The fact that he was equal club best & fairest winner last season, former Liston medal winner and was voted BOG in last year's Ballarat League grand final and to play for this conservative amount of money tells you a bit about the fellow.
He said to me one day - 'Wonker, it was worth every penny of the $40 000 that I missed out on that was on offer from other clubs, to play in a premiership with my mates. Obviously something money just can't buy.
Of course it would be ideal to have the Mothman sitting in the sticks with our talented young ones feeding the ball into him at full forward. Could register another ton. Mothman might be able to tell me if a player has ever kicked a ton for two separate teams in the MCDFL before.
As for Cameron Field - his thoughts over the past couple of seasons have been that he may contemplate a return to the Avoca Club when it gets itself back on its feet. I just hope for Cam's sake that there will actually be a spot for him at the club if he does one day want to return.
Good post.
Rojer_Ramjet
28 May 2007, 13:35
Good post.
Definitely from Avoca.
Rojer_Ramjet
28 May 2007, 13:36
Where did Clarky from Talbot play this week?
Thoroughbred
28 May 2007, 13:52
Definitely from Avoca.
Rojer this site is about talking footy, not trying to figure out who people are. It disappoints me when lately everytime i post you comment on my avoca bias. We all have soft spots for someone and you don't see me mentioning you "Must be from Carisbrook" after everyone of your posts.
Rojer_Ramjet
28 May 2007, 14:55
Rojer this site is about talking footy, not trying to figure out who people are. It disappoints me when lately everytime i post you comment on my avoca bias. We all have soft spots for someone and you don't see me mentioning you "Must be from Carisbrook" after everyone of your posts.
That's half the fun of the site. I'll try not to disappoint you again however. Did you see the Kanga's take on the Bulldogs on the weekend thoroughbred?
fifth quarter
28 May 2007, 16:27
With all the interleague games going on around the state at the moment and more to come this weekend and even next tuesday night in bendigo, has the mcdfl got a nearby league keen to play it
wot about the lexton or even the loddon valley
With all the interleague games going on around the state at the moment and more to come this weekend and even next tuesday night in bendigo, has the mcdfl got a nearby league keen to play it
wot about the lexton or even the loddon valley
Definately not this year - was discussed at an earlier league delegates meeting and a decision was made not to pursue one. One must remember that our season was late starting and the last thing the league was thinking of at that stage was the possibility of staging an inter-league match. It's probably far too late into the season know to even contemplate one.
While on the inter-league subject - an U14's (commencing at 10.30a.m.) followed by an under 16's match will be played at the Avoca ground this Sunday 3rd June. It will see the MCDFL compete against the Lex/Plains FL with a view to picking a squad from both league's to go further.
zakster
28 May 2007, 19:48
:confused: ok guys so did the gun recruit justin harris have a gallop for the brookers satrday or was he just a spectator :confused:
KingRich
28 May 2007, 22:25
Where did Clarky from Talbot play this week?
No idea Roj......
Looking forward to a less one sided round of footy this week! Avoca v Harcourt and Rovers v Newstead looks to be the close ones of the round.
Crowd was unusually small at Rovers on the weekend. Word is a few were at Bushy so that might explain it. How does everyone think crowd numbers have been thus far this year????
AC Rocket
29 May 2007, 07:54
[quote=KingRich;7669281]No idea Roj......
Looking forward to a less one sided round of footy this week! Avoca v Harcourt and Rovers v Newstead looks to be the close ones of the round.
Agreed Rojo,
Back onto the footy boys - massive game over at Avoca. Would you put them as favourites at present?
dr evil
29 May 2007, 12:33
Agreed Rojo,
Back onto the footy boys - massive game over at Avoca. Would you put them as favourites at present?
Will trentham win a game this year .has harris been cleared to the brook
KingRich
29 May 2007, 12:46
Agreed Rojo,
If the beat Harcourt then I would think they are favourites yes. Avoca have accounted for Brook already this year and if they beat Harcourt (Who are the current flag favourites) I would think they would be favourite. Brook and Talbot haven't proved much yet so I would think the winner of this game would be the front runner.
Swimming_Turtle
29 May 2007, 13:52
Can someone tell me how Tom Sutherland from Talbot is going. I heard is was going to play in the Wimmera, but ended up at Talbot.
Iron Beast
29 May 2007, 13:54
Avoca have still got a lot to prove before i would go putting any money on them for the flag, lets be honest they beat a well underdone and undermanned brook side out of the blocks and then haven't come up against a good side since. The only teams to take any notice of in the MCDFL are Harcourt, Carisbrook, Talbot and Avoca. I would be incredibly surprised if any of the other teams manage to register a win against these quality sides.
I will put any amount of money on with anyone that Avoca won't finish on top of the ladder.
Iron Beast
29 May 2007, 13:55
Can someone tell me how Tom Sutherland from Talbot is going. I heard is was going to play in the Wimmera, but ended up at Talbot.
Go back about ten pages buddy, apparently he is a bit of a gun and meant to be the recruit of the year. No further comment is required!
KingRich
29 May 2007, 14:00
Avoca have still got a lot to prove before i would go putting any money on them for the flag, lets be honest they beat a well underdone and undermanned brook side out of the blocks and then haven't come up against a good side since. The only teams to take any notice of in the MCDFL are Harcourt, Carisbrook, Talbot and Avoca. I would be incredibly surprised if any of the other teams manage to register a win against these quality sides.
I will put any amount of money on with anyone that Avoca won't finish on top of the ladder.
If Avoca beat Harcourt this weekend I will almost take that bet IB!